Loading

Key Features

12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS image sensor
Coupled with Nikon's EXPEED image processing and NIKKOR optics, breathtaking picture quality is assured.

Vari-angle color LCD monitor
Position the 2.7-inch monitor freely for fresh shooting perspectives. Screen flips inward for safe keeping.

One-button Live View
Easy Live View access offers 4 autofocus modes, including Face-priority AF.

Low noise ISO sensitivity from 200 to 3200
Engineered for exceptional low-light shooting.

11-point Autofocus System with 3D Focus Tracking
Fast and accurate autofocus delivers razor sharpness.

In-camera Retouch image editing
Creative in-camera image editing, featuring Soft Filter, Straighten, Color Outline Effect, Perspective Control, Red-eye Correction, Image Overlay, Monochrome and more—all without a computer.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Nikon’s renowned 420-pixel RGB 3D Color Matrix Metering II, teamed with the exclusive Scene Recognition System, evaluates each scene for unmatched exposure accuracy.

GPS Geo-tagging
GP-1 GPS unit (optional) automatically identifies and records every image’s latitude, longitude and altitude, with satellite time-of-day.

D-Movie Mode with sound
Record 720p HD movie clips enhanced by NIKKOR interchangeable lens quality and versatility.

19 Auto-exposure Scene Modes
Capture stunning photos in challenging picture-taking situations including Sunsets, Candlelight, Silhouette, Portrait, Landscape, Beach/Snow, and more.

Continuous shooting as fast as 4 frames per second
Combined with fast power-up and split-second shutter response, decisive moments are captured easily without annoying shooting lag.

Built-in image sensor cleaning
Effective 4-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning keeps images spot free.

Auto Active D-Lighting
Restores lost shadow and highlight detail in high contrast exposures—Selectable and Auto modes available.

Picture Control Settings for personal image control
Standard, Neutral, Vivid, Monochrome, Portrait, Landscape and 9 customizable settings.

Durable, high precision shutter
Testing to over 100,000 cycles assures precision and long shutter life.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D5000 4.7 5 1579 1587
Awesome The Nikon D5000 is a great camera to who is starting in Photography World. It's amazing and takes good pictures. July 23, 2011
Great Quality for price! I've had my camera for about two weeks so far & I've used it every day! It is so much fun! Every picture turns out beautiful. It captures bright colors in great clarity. It isn't heavy for the size that it is. I also love the fact that it also records video. I learn a new feature about the camera every day. July 16, 2011
Nice and Easy! The Nikon D5000 is a very pretty easy camera to learn. It adjusted fast and easy as well. Picture quality is awesome. Simple camera for any event. July 10, 2011
This product has good quality I love the product although it took me a while to figure it out at first, but overall its a great product June 29, 2011
Outstanding Camera This is an amazing camera. The photos I've taken using VR have been sharp, with no color distortion nor blurring at all. I have used Nikon products for the past thirty years and have never had a camera quite so satisfactory to my needs.. The adjustable viewing screen is very useful in places where it is difficult to get a decent straight ahead shot, - the ability to shoot over the crowd and get just the right photo is truly a bonus and great innovation. June 22, 2011
" I never leave home without it " I Don't just like this Nikon D5ooo I love My Nikon D5ooo, I treat it like my child. This Nikon D5ooo has been working awesome, I go to the Disney World Parks and it has taken the most awesome shots in the parks. I love to take pictures I never went to school for it but I have a eye for Photography. I use a 18 - 70 mm Lens with mine. My Husband Calls it my American Express Card " I never leave home without it " June 21, 2011
I love this Camera My old Nikon FM2 was gathering dust, and I was using a really good point-and-shoot, when I decided to the the plunge and buy a digital SLR. I charged the batteries, ran through the basic shooting setup, and snapped my first picture. Holy cow - what a difference! If you know just a little bit about lighting, composition, and depth-of-field, you really can take a bad picture with this thing. June 19, 2011
Good!! It's a very good camera for Beginner's and Semipro's. X-tra good with Nikkor 50/1,8! :) June 16, 2011
i love my d5000 its easy to use and took very nice photos. i always carry my d5000 wherever place i go. i dont wanna miss a thing...to captured with my cam. I give a 5***** for this cam. highly recommended. June 7, 2011
worth buying i have been using D5000 from 8 months........... dint faced any problem yet....... very easy to use....... nice features........... no idea about the video cause i never used vid feature........ but photo quality is good.........and you'l enjoy taking photos from ur D5000....... itl be good choice for faimly and other outdoor uses...... you can see the sample photos iv uploded ....... hobbyist's should definitly buy this product cause its not that expensive now :) May 31, 2011
Great Camera Does a great Job especially with Telephoto Lens. I would recommend this camera with the 18mm-55mm and the 55mm-200mm lenses. May 30, 2011
Value meets Pro Quality I have owned the D5000 since June, 2010 (as of the time of this writing ONE year). Colleagues and fellow-shutterbugs have been amazed at the quality of the images that have been produced with this camera. I am going to spare you the technical talk and give you the PRO's and CON's as I see them. I consider myself a professional amateur if-you-will -- a professional graphic designer (design magazines and print materials) who knows the impact of good images for my work. I'm going to write this from the perspective of someone who needed excellent quality but not the budget of pro equipment -- could likely be you too if you are reading this review. PRO's: - This camera has the same CMOS sensor and feature packages that $1,500-$3,000 Nikon cameras have. You do have to fiddle and personalize your menu choices a little more on this consumer/pro model, but the features are there. - Once you are used to the "Nikon" way of navigating and using controls, this camera really is a dream to use. - This camera can use the DX model lenses that have auto-focus built into them. Most newer lenses from Nikon are compatible with the D5000, and the older glass will fit, but many will have to be manually focused. Be aware some third party lenses (Tokina, Sigma, etc...) will not have the internal motors necessary to auto-focus -- more below in CON's... - Navigation to get to the main settings used frequently when in the field (white balance, ISO, exposure compensation, etc...) can be accessed relatively quickly and with not too many clicks... - Battery performance impressive. I shot 1,200 shots in continuous mode recently at a graduation event. Didn't have to change batteries once. I did buy two back-up batteries on amazon that I keep charged just in case I need them in the field. - No question about it -- this camera will produce professional grade pics that will knock your socks off. This really is all the camera that 95% of people will ever need! - Nikon resale value is excellent. The better bodies and lenses hold, and in some cases appreciate in, value! - The BEST camera you are going to find for the money. Period. CON's: - The lack of internal focusing motor in D5000 does limit some lenses that you can use. I'm a wide-angle junkie! I would have loved to have acquired the Tokina 11-16mm wide angle lense on the market today (getting amazing reviews), but because the D5000 does not have the focusing motor, I would have to manually focus the lense for each shot. For my event assignments, not always practical. I got the 10-24mm Nikon lense instead -- and people have been amazed with the results. I'm still very happy, but you should be aware that you will be limited by some choices because this body hits the "consumer/pro" category. - I don't find the rotating, swivel LCD screen to be especially useful. You might. I keep it locked in with the LCD pointing out for image review and menu navigation all the time. - Video capabilities is not a reason to buy this camera. Not Nikon's market, and it shows. Can't autofocus in video mode...kind of gimmicky really. Used it once, was not impressed. But not why I bought the camera either. - Feels a little small-ish in my hands. I'm 6'1" male, 200 lbs with proportional hands to match. My next camera will likely be the D7000 (apparent replacement for D90). I think it will fit my hands a little bit better, but I can't complain; I'm getting great pics and it's not uncomfortable, just slightly small for my particular hands. The next step up in size and quality Nikon bodies (internal focusing motors, for one) are also a significant step up in price! BOTTOM-LINE: I'll put images produced by my D5000 up against images out of a D90, D300, and even D3 any day of the week. Spend your time on the art of photography and not so much the technology, and you'll be surprised where your affordable D5000 will take your photography skills. I've invested 4 years with a D50 and now D5000 and am so glad I did. I have next steps mapped out and a wish-list, but I am content with where my photography has come. It has become a real passion for me! Along those lines I HIGHLY RECOMMEND "The Art of Photography" by Bruce Barnhaum. Long considered the bible for photographers. Newest 2010 edition has been updated for digital relevance. Happy shooting! May 30, 2011
Very disappointed I am extremely disappointed with the D5000 Nikon camera and lense. After limited use during the first 12 months, this camera performed in very unacceptable manner. Then, with great frustration I took the camera to an independent shop for their inspection. They found there was a loose mirror in the base and the connection points for the lense were not allowing the 18-55 lense to work correctly. The camera was never damaged or mishandled, yet it is clearly defective. The camera and lense are currently at the Nikon repair facility and they are estimating $300 to fix the camera and lense . . . unbelievable for a camera that has taken less than 200 pictures. May 30, 2011
Nikon's warranty I had a problem with a lens that failed. Nikon reviewed the problem and without a problem I was supplied with a replacement camera and lens. The camera worked great until the lens internally broke, but Nikon and Best Buy made it right. Great customer service! Thanks. May 25, 2011
Outstanding features too many to learn. My first experience with digital as for 50 years I have always used film. I am hooked on this camera and only wish I could learn all its unique features faster. I love action photo's and portrait photography and this camera more than fits the bill. The attached flash is a little weak with telephoto but will invest in a good off camera flash for concerts and rodeo events. Great investment May 19, 2011
This camera is everything I wanted it to be... I love the D5000. No issues with it ever! It is everything I wanted in a camera for a great price. May 8, 2011
It’s magic I have always been intimidated with photography, The D5000 changed my life. I have learned so much about photography since I got the D5000. I can’t believe the things I can do. Friends and Family have been so impressed with my photography that they told me the camera must be magic. My next door neighbor and my sister went so far as to buy one for their self. I have now started doing photography professionally. I can’t believe people actually pay me to take pictures, it is a wonderful country. I have just ordered a D7000, just because I can’t believe Nikon could have actually improved on the D5000. I am sure I will be writing a review once I get through the learning curve. ChuckMS May 3, 2011
Amazing Camera I got this camera in early 2010 and it has been great. I have taken it through 13 states and 5 provinces and have taken some amazing picture with it. I got a kit with the 18-55mm and 55-200 mm lens and these work very well and focus nicely. Overall I am very impressed and will most likely buy from Nikon again. May 3, 2011
Useless after 3 months... The D5000 has good IQ, but... ... LCD is awful with only 2.7" and 230k dots ... does not support AF lenses ... manual setting is difficult (camera seems to be designed to use mainly in auto mode) ... no official battery grip available ... mine broke down in less than 3 months of use!! Now it won't autofocus, shutter won't release, buttons fail... warranty is useless where I live... Get a D90 or D7000 if you can afford. Or switch to Canon as I did... April 27, 2011
This camara has some pretty great features. I love all the different settings that d5000 offer. There is some thing for any type of photo opt. April 25, 2011
I love this camera! I bought this camera for a motorcycle trip to Sturgis last year. We covered 16 states in 16 days and I was able to get some awesome pictures! I took a lot while riding down the road and they all came out clear! The speed is unreal. It has a lot of potential that I am just now exploring! April 22, 2011
D5000 ignites the passion Incredible camera with many features. So many that it reignites passion for photography for someone who was skeptical of DSLR after thirty some years with manual 35mm's. I'd recommend this camera to any level photographer... In Fact, I Have!!!!!! THANK YOU NIKON!!!! April 21, 2011
The D5000 is a compromise: it's the sensor from the D90 and a user interface similar to a compact digital - more buttons than a compact, more need for the menu than a pro camera. On the good side, it takes better pictures than a compact, with somewhat of a size and weight penalty, but not enough to cause injury. On the negative side, it needs to be set up for a given shooting situation, then left alone. You get four things to play with: Shutter/Aperture, Exposure Compensation, Flash On/Off and one other that you can pick from a limited menu (I set it to ISO speed). Beyond that, you're diving into the menu system and mutliple button pushes. I intended to use the articulating screen for taking candid shots of people. My intention was to walk around with the screen flipped down, looking at the camera instead of the subject. That doesn't work for two reasons: shutter lag and autofocus time. In live view, with manual focus and exposure, I measured the shutter lag at 0.6 seconds. The source of the lag is the mirror flapping down and back up again before the picture is taken. The delay is too long to capture the moment in street photography. while not in live view, looking through the viewfinder, the shutter lag is very low - too small to accurately measure this way. The other disadvantage to live view is the time it takes to autofocus. The camera can take two or three seconds, then decide it can't focus after all. If the subject isn't stationary, you have to use manual focus, or preset the focus and lock it. If you use autofocus, put it in AF-C mode (Continuous Servo Autofocus), so the camera takes the picture BEFORE it decides that it's focused. That last part is casually mentioned in the manual, but without it the camera cranks back and forth on the focus and you get a picture of your subject's hind end as they leave your field of view. One more thing: since it won't trigger flash remotely, this may not be what you'd want for a studio camera. There are several ways to work around this: wired flash, Pocket Wizard, etc. but you'd cut yourself off from being able to fully use CLS. If you think you're going to get serious about studio photography, you probably don't want to set that limitation for yourself right off the bat. All in all, I still like the camera. It takes great pictures, it's flexible and pretty easy to use and it works for a lot of situations. April 17, 2011
What's up with Nikon? Out of the box this camera and kit lens was a poor auto focus camera and both the camera and lens had to be repaired. So my question to all these problems are "How adequate is Nikon Inc.'s quality control. And wheen did a DSLR need to make 1080P movies. become a GPS. Next you'll make it so it will answer telephone calls. play MP3 songs, and be an iPad or netbook. I've practically given up photography because it's become too intense of a time waster and way too time consuming with computer work that it is a heart beat away from a heart attack. The cameras weigh less and need more adaptation to decrease camera shake - too bad. They do more to fake photos than actually provide a sense of realism. I used to love the weight of a Nikon F3 with an high eyepoint pentaprism. My best shots were taken with ISO 25 Kodachrome and a 135mm f2.8 all glass lens. You could hand hold this without a tripod. So I'm disappointed about Nikon's new digital wonders and when I save up my mortgage payment, I'll consider buying a D3 and hope it's heavier than the new "all you can be, you can do" because we can make chips that do everything and take the fun out of photography" unless you like to spend hours in front of a 24" monitor making the photo better! April 16, 2011
I LOVE THIS CAMERA!! It has great features for both beginning photographers and experts. April 16, 2011
Excellent Camera! I wanted a new digital SLR camera and the Nikon D5000 was my final choice. The camera is fast and easy to use. I particularly like the movable LCD screen. It allows shooting from many different angles with ease. I also use it to check my composition and lighting then continue shooting using the view finder. I usually carry a camera with me where ever I go and the D5000 with an 18 -105 Nikkor lens works. April 15, 2011
This is a great camera even for the beginner. I would buy this camera again. I have used other brands before that were great cameras and this one stands up with the rests of them. April 15, 2011
D5000-- A good starting point Join Nikon family with entry level DSLR..great sensor.. d5100 is about to release.. but D5000 remains a good camera.... can be very slow in shooting once you get used to all the setting. But has some good features... built in motor would have been great... Its a great value for money.. get a battery grip if it feels little tiny in your hands... April 14, 2011
Great camera for this 78 year old. It's small and light for a DSLR. I hurt my elbow a couple of years ago with a heavier DSLR that I carried around all day on a trip out West. I like the fold out screen and live screen view that makes it easy for this 78 year old to take pictures of things close to the ground (such as flowers, tombstones, etc.) without my having to lay down on my belly. Also, I keep the fold out screen turned in to protect it during transport. Images are great. High ISO settings for pictures of my grandchildren in school plays have very little noise. Highly recommended. April 14, 2011
D5000 for the birds Yes the settings were on auto and I was using a flash as the shadow tells, but all in all, not a bad picture of a grouse 25 or 30 yards away. April 14, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 54
<<prev | next>>
127 Questions | 159 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
127 Questions | 159 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D5000
 
4 Answers

Can you take extremely up close pictures with this camera?

Sep 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5000
Has staff answer
+2points
5out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful3
For example, would you be able to focus in on a screw and see the scratches on its threading etc...
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
With one of the compatible macro lenses, yes.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Dec 15, 2011 by
by
Kate
Orange County, CA
Location : 
Orange County, CA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
nope
Oct 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The camera has a close-up scene mode, but for extremely close focus you will need to use a Macro lens. Nikon's macro lenses are called Micro-NIKKOR lenses and most of them will let you get so close that you can photograph objects at life-size. To read more about Macro lenses, read this article: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E....
 
Products related to my answer
 
Sep 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff2

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you had the right lens and set up then yes.
Sep 14, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5000
 
3 Answers

Why does my D5000 only support SD cards and not SDHC? am i missing something

Dec 9, 2011 by
by
RichC
 on D5000
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
if have tried putting a SDHC in my camera and it says it doesnt support it. Is there a setting, am i missing something. is there SD cards more than 2 gb. Thanks
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
RichC
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
One thing to note about the Nikons staff answer. They are giving the approved list of SD cards able to be used on the D5000. This does not mean that other SD cards cannot be used. Sandisk recommends the 32gb Extreme SDHD which is not on the Nikon list. As far as I know, other SDHC card should work on the D5000, though it is always a case that you should find out as much about the product before you buy. I would first check your firmware first, even if it doesn't work it won't do any harm.
Dec 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
Answer Title: Approved SD cards for D5000
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Dec 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The camera should do, Update your firmware: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17162 and see if that makes a difference.
Dec 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Sarah
IL
Location : 
IL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry, that was the mobile link.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16431/~/user's-manual---d5000---guide-to-digital-photography
What else do you need?
Feb 6, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is the manual:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16431/~/user's-manual---d5000---guide-to-digital-photography
Feb 6, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it can be downloaded here
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13948#Anchor-1
Feb 6, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+7points
7out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
I have the D5000 with the 70-300mm VR lens. Could you please tell me if there are any teleconverters that are compatible with this combination? If not, could you tell me if any teleconverter lens is compatible with the D5000 and the auto focus still works? Thank you.
3 years ago
by
RobnL
League City, TX
Location : 
League City, TX
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Since it has an F mount it can be attach to your camera. However, not all lenses can be used with a teleconverter. In general wide angle lenses or wide angle zoom lenses cannot be used. Also, lenses with relatively slow maximum apertures (slower than f2.8) cannot be used with teleconverters.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Unfortunatley the answer is no, no tc's will fit on this lens.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5000
 
2 Answers

Tips on achieving bokeh effect?

Apr 8, 2011 by
by
Abby
Maine, USA
 on D5000
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
How can I get the bokeh effect?
3 years ago
by
Abby
Maine, USA
Location : 
Maine, USA
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
What you need to do to achieve Bokeh in your images is use the maximum aperture on your camera's lens. Lenses that have f/stops of f/2.8 or wider (f/2, f/1.8, f/1.4) are ideal for use with this technique. With the aperture wide open, you can also increase the distance between your subject and the background to make it go out of focus more.
To choose the aperture you want (wide open) use the camera in manual mode - where you will have to manually set the aperture and shutter speed, or aperture priority, where you set the aperture and the camera chooses the shutter speed.
Depending upon how much light is in the scene, you may also have to alter your ISO to be able to achieve the widest f/stop.
Feb 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Bokeh effect is nothing but the blurred part of the out-of-focus image. This effect is normally seen in the photography mostly around the light sources. This effect helps to focus on the object while making the background visually appealing.
Apr 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5000
 
2 Answers

Is this camera able to take videos ?

Apr 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5000
+7points
7out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes - in full hd. but only 5 mins at a time (though you can of course make lots of 5 min videos). sound though is shockingly bad (i dont believe you can add a microphone either). just pop it in live view mode and hit the ok button. i would also put the lens into manual mode. the results are pretty good (not that i record a lot of video but it is handy and quality is great
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
DarrenM

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JamesD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5000
 
2 Answers

How do I turn the flash off when shooting outdoors?

May 5, 2011 by
by
Newbie
Dallas
 on D5000
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I hit a setting somewhere, not sure what combo, and now everytime I take outdoor pics the flash pops up and flashes.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Newbie
Dallas
Location : 
Dallas
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Turn the mode dial from whatever you have it on to the icon that looks like a lightning bolt with an arrow but crossed out. Then flash won't pop up. But if the flash pops up the camera must think you need it, usually your pics will come out better when you listen to the camera when you are a starter.
Jun 25, 2011 by
by
Talkalot
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
well, give the A program a try (aperture priority). :) most enthusiast or pro photographers don't use any other program besides M or A. or select one of the modes on the mode switch that shows no flash. (see your manual in that matter.)
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5000
 
2 Answers

memory

May 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5000
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
is Sandisk 32 GB Extreme SDHC Cards (SDSDX3-032G-A31) or SanDisk 32GB Extreme Pro - SDHC - UHS Speed Class 1 - High Performance memory card SDSDXP1-032G-X46 compatable with nikon d5000 camera. if yes which one do you recomend for memory?
thank you
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes- and I would recomend the 32 GB Extreme SDHC Cards. If you were getting a camera such as the D3s, I would recomend the pro one but the D5000 only shoots at 4fps so you don't need an extremely fast memory card. Just so you know the 32GB card will hold around 15 thousand photos on the D5000, I use an 8GB and its 3000 photo capacity is enough for me. Don't forget you can always dump it onto your computer!!
Jun 25, 2011 by
by
Talkalot
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Approved SD cards for D5000
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5000
 
2 Answers

Faster Shutter Speed

Jun 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Texas
 on D5000
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
I just got the D5000 and I have been going through the manual but still have a question. How do I get the shutter speed to be as fast as it goes? I have a 5 month old and he moves very quick to get good pictures. I have been playing with the shutter speed for it still is shooting slow?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You go into Shutter Priority Auto on the mode dial (S) and then rotate the dial on the BACK OF THE CAMERA (Not on the top) left or right to select the shutter speed (Which is to the right of the F stop on the display) If you are shooting in low light you will need a high ISO setting and maybe flash. Hope this helps.
 
Products related to my answer
 
 
 
Jun 25, 2011 by
by
Talkalot
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
if you use the built-in flash, it'll stick at 1/60 in A mode, so either use S mode, or go to a higher ISO and don't use a flash.
Jun 21, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5000
 
2 Answers

Is there a setting so that my D5000 will take multiple shots at one time?

Jun 26, 2011 by
by
revlandon
midland, tx
 on D5000
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
revlandon
midland, tx
Location : 
midland, tx
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you just hold down the shutter button when the camera is in "continuous shutter-release mode" To put it in this mode, follow these instructions: When about to take a picture, press the button with an "i" on it at the bottom of the left side of your camera. Then go to the "release mode" setting under the ISO setting and press "ok." Then choose Continuous mode (icon has three stacked frames).
Jul 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
In release mode of shooting menu, select continuous shot
Jun 26, 2011 by
by
SaikatC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers