Loading

Key Features

12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS imaging sensor: Coupled with Nikon's EXPEED image processing technologies and NIKKOR optics, breathtaking image fidelity is assured.

World’s first D-SLR with an HD movie mode: Record exceptional 24fps movie clips with sound at up to 720p HD (1280 x 720 pixels) in Motion JPEG format, enhanced by NIKKOR interchangeable lens quality and versatility.

3-inch super-density 920,000-dot color LCD monitor
High resolution, 170-degree wide-angle viewing guarantees confident image review and movie playback.

11-point AF system: Consistently fast and accurate autofocus, reinforced by the Nikon Scene Recognition System, delivers razor sharpness in a wide variety of conditions.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II with Scene Recognition System: Nikon's renowned 420-pixel RGB 3D Color Matrix Metering II, teamed with the exclusive Scene Recognition System, evaluates images, referencing an on-board database of over 30,000 photographic scenes, for unmatched exposure accuracy.

Auto Active D-Lighting: Selectable and Automatic, Active D-Lighting optimizes details within shadows and highlights, taming high-contrast situations in real time.

In-Camera Image Editing
Creative freedom stems from exclusive in-camera image editing, featuring Fisheye effect, Straighten and Distortion Control as well as D-Lighting, Red-eye Reduction, Image Overlay, Monochrome and more.

Continuous shooting as fast as 4.5 frames-per-second: Combined with fast 0.15ms power-up and split-second 65ms shooting lag, dramatic action and decisive moments are captured easily.

Low noise ISO sensitivity from 200 to 3200: High signal-to-noise components and design deliver exceptional performance, even at high ISO setting.

Built-in image sensor cleaning
Effective 4-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning frees image degrading dust particles from the sensor's optical low pass filter.

One-button Live View: Easy to use Live View activates access to 3 contrast detection focus modes including Face Priority AF.

Comprehensive exposure control: Five advanced scene modes plus Program Auto, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority and Manual.

Durable, high precision shutter
Testing to over 100,000 cycles assures shutter life and accuracy.

GPS geo-tagging
GP-1 GPS unit (optional) provides automatic real-time geo-tagging.

D90 4.7 5 4814 4823
My favorite camera to carry and use. The D90 has been out for a while but it's still my favorite. I'm a professional photographer who uses a company-owned D300 every day in a wide variety of situations, but I sometimes prefer to bring my own D90 to assignments because of a couple of things. The camera body is lightweight and compact and the layout of its controls makes it easier to use, while the photos it makes are of excellent pro quality. It also gives me full control when using Nikon's CLS remote flash. The features and menu controls are akin to those found in the D300 but lack some of the fine tuning. For example, the D-lighting is either on or off with no settable values. The burst frame rate is too slow for sports shooting but I use the D300 for that anyway. One of the things I like most is the rotating mode dial which allows me to quickly switch between auto and fully manual exposure modes, something I do often. Exposure compensation settings for both available light and flash output are familiar and effortless as well. This camera seems to be designed as I would like a camera to be designed. The controls are intuitively easy to find and use, the menus are not laden with overly complex drill-down settings, and most of the advanced capabilities are still there when you need them. May 25, 2012
Great camera, Best price! I got the D90 when it first came out. The Nikon D90 is a great camera. In my opinion It's Nikon's best sub $ 1000 DX format DSLR. A friend purchased the D300 around the same time (cost twice as much) I tried it and preferred the D90. He even admitted that my photos were sharper. The D90 has great handling that will let you react faster to conditions, meaning you get better pictures. I've never taken to a camera as quickly as I did to the Nikon D90. Within my first few shots I could tell I had a great, easy to use camera in my hands. Everything about it made getting good shots so easy and the VR works great. I still think it's a great choice and the price is lower now. Don't think you can lose with the D90. May 25, 2012
A Supercharged D80 Not too heavy, easy to use, has many of the options of the big boys, built like most Nikons (rugged), if you liked the D80 you'll love the D90!! May 25, 2012
D90 great camera Being a professional videographer I am always interested in the quality of the image. I bought the D90 when I had time to get back into photography . (as my kids got older) My last 35mm was a film camera. The image quality of this camera is superb and more true to color than the other brands. This was the perfect time for me to get into digital photography. Now with a digital SLR, the use of the camera is similar to a professional video camera. They both use a CMOS chip, that can be adjusted to the specific look I desire. White balance, color enhancement etc. are all the same as the video camera. I like the ability to assign function buttons so I can change parameters without entering the menu. This allows me to make quick adjustments without taking my eye off the viewfinder. The Creative Lighting System is easy and fun to use and helps with my flash photography. The camera is relatively light weight and fits well in my hand. I am thoroughly enjoying this camera. May 25, 2012
GREAT CAMERA BUT SUPPORT? I enjoy the camera and am very pleased with it overall. I think the battery life is exceptional. One complaint. There were NO problems converting RAW to JPEG with Windows XP. However, when I switched to WIN 7 x64 conversion became almost impossible. The process took a very long time and generated TMP files. 10 to 20 of these per conversion. Very unacceptable. I contacted support but did not receive an answer. I Googled and did not find an answer. However, the answer is WIN 7 may create a user with a lock on the folder where VIEW NX2 wants to store the converted files. You may not convert files out of that user setting. TMP files will result. Pay attention to your user account settings. I thought NIKON support could have directed me to this possibility, even though it seems to be a WIN 7 setting. Thank you, JK May 25, 2012
Superior camera for the amateur photographer I have been using my D90 now for two years. Migrating from a D70s and an F100 film camera, I found the D90 to be just the instrument to satisfy my needs until such time as I may elect to move to FX. The D90 accepts all of the FX lenses I have acquired as well as DX ones, a feature critical to my selection. The 3" LCD screen is high resolution enabling me to view in better detail exposures in a way not possible with the D70s. I still shoot with the D70s as my back-up camera. I do long for a viewfinder on a DX camera approaching that of the F100. I suspect I shall have to wait until I move into FX. I know the D7000 is also a fine up-grade, but for now I am totally satisfied and happy with my D90. May 25, 2012
Affordable Perfection I had been away from photography for many, many years. So long, in fact, the entire digital photography era had developed. I knew I wanted a viable body that would allow me to photograph quality images, while allowing me to budget for the expense. After much evaluation, I settled for the D90. I have not been disappointed. In fact, I continue to be amazed at what the D90 is capable of doing. It has performed flawlessly and I find more than enough information about the body when I want to learn more. Great camera!! Would do it all over again. May 25, 2012
My D-90 Thoughts I went from a D-70 to a D-90 and am very pleased with the results. I have no interest in movies, and have never used this feature. Feature wise and image wise, this is a fantastic camera. My only complaint is that for my hands this body seems a little small. I thought that the D-70 felt more comfortable but this is no reflection on the quality of the camera. May 25, 2012
EXTRAORDINARY CAMERA FOR AMATEURS AND PROFESSIONALS I HAVE ENJOYED THIS CAMERA BECAUSE OF THE EXCEPTIONAL POSSIBILITIES AND DIVERSITY. ADDED A NIKOR 18-200 OR A NIKOR 70-300, I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO TAKE THE SHOTS I WANT. IT IS NOT HEAVY AND EASY TO USE, EVEN WHEN YOU DON'T READ ALL OF THE 'ENCYCLOPEDIA" OF THE MANUAL. IT IS A STEP UP TO THE D-80 THAT I HAD, AND STILL OWN. i USED VIDEO WITH IT AND IT COMES OUT WITH A VERY HIGH DEFINITION. May 25, 2012
Quality & Performance at a Reasonable Price The D90 lives up to the Nikon reputation of quality and performance all in a reasonably priced package. My D90 has been with me and performed well in tropical jungles, deserts, sub-zero temperatures and storms off-shore in the Gulf of Mexico. The only time it failed was when I dropped it 20 feet onto the deck of an oil platform. Even then the technicians at Nikon Customer Service were able to quickly return it to peak performance. The forensic photography I do requires a sharp image and exposure that reveals both shadow and highlight detail. The D90 provides both. I have blown up images taken with the D90 to poster size to reveal facts to a jury and projected images for a judge. In each case the Nikon images have provided the detail required in both the shadows and highlighted areas. I have used Nikon cameras and lenses since I first purchased a Nikon F in the early 70's. The D90 continues this fine tradition. May 25, 2012
Great Camera, always reliable the Nikon D90 has been my introduction to the world of digital. After four full years of awesome pictures and more than 19k clicks, is perfect like new. Reliable, sturdy, ergonomic and makes really nice images. Highly recommended even now (May 2012) used, if you can find it in good conditions. May 24, 2012
I love my D90 when it works, but sometimes it is a lemon Most of the time, my D90 DSLR is a dream - the clarity of the shots, the ISO range, the ease of optimizing the settings. However, the autofocus connection between the lens and the body sometimes fails and when it does, it is extremely aggravating. When it first happened, 2 months after purchasing the camera, Nikon required I send it to them for repairs; they would not allow the dealer to exchange it for a new one. They were not able to reproduce the problem, so it was returned to me after having it for 45 days. The problem is intermittent. The most frustrating part of the problem is loses accuracy before it fails completely. Once it does fail, I have to remove and reinstall the lens, remove the battery and curse a few times before it begins to work again. It is not until I download the shots that I discover the focus has been off for 20-40 shots. I just returned from a great vacation in Hawaii and a number of my shots are fuzzy when displayed on my computer screen, even though they looked great on the camera's monitor. Needless to say, I am very disappointed. May 24, 2012
wish I had more time to use this camera easy to use features, just wish it had auto focus when using the video. May 24, 2012
A Whole Lotta Camera I started my DSLR experience with a used D70. It was overwhelming at first, but eventually the controls became familiar, and then it died. Well, I was hooked on the DSLR and after reading lots of reviews I saved up to buy a D90. This camera has over 24,000 clicks and has provided tons of enjoyment. My grandchildren appear frequently in my photos. However I really like landscapes and often print them at 20"x30" to hang on my walls at work. Likes: Excellent photo quality. Controls are well-laid out and most of the useful ones are buttons, avoiding tedious digging through menu options. Eleven focus zones are plenty. Auto white-balance is decent. LCD display is excellent. Uses old Nikon lenses- a real plus! Wish List: I would like the default file numbering to be continuous and not restart at 1000; would be better at 100,000. I would like to see this camera be more weather-resistant. It is missing the ability "recognize" manual lenses and to fine-tune the focus. I wish it had a little cleaner results at high ISO. It would be great if there was a more precise optimal focus indicator for manual focus situations. I know this is the first DSLR to do decent video, but it something that I rarely use and this feature is not make-or-break in my decision to buy. I bump the default sharpness to 5. The Nikon 18-200mm is my walk-around lens and the D90 goes with me pretty much wherever I go. It was my good fortune to buy several used (~30 year old) Nikon lenses that work perfectly. Manual lenses give the green focus dot to aid my aging eyes, but again it would be great if it were more precise. I have the SB600 flash. May 24, 2012
Great camera to find out how much fun DSLR shooting can be! I have owned this camera for about two years now and still am finding features and tools. It is a workhorse that is affordable and can do amazing things above point and shoot cameras. I would suggest to stay away from DX lenses though because this baby will encourage you to delve into full format eventually. The controls are easy and the menus are simple to follow. I paid much more for my Nikon so take advantage of the price break! May 24, 2012
The D90 is everything I expected and totally suits my needs. I mated the Nikon D90 body with a Nikkor 18-200mm 1.35-5.6GII lens and a Nikon SB600 Speedlight for the perfect combination to suit my needs. Everything has worked perfectly without the need to carry multiple pieces of equipment. A great machine. May 24, 2012
One great enthusiast camera from Nikon Considering that it not a professional camera and definitely not aimed at beginners I find that the D-90 meets my needs at this time. It feels good in the hand, has all the bells and whistles that an enthusiast wants or needs and is priced to satisfy most budgets. I opted to upgrade my lenses to the 16-85 and the 70-300 VR lenses. Both meet my needs and are great lenses for me to use. I have had this camera for a while now, and the Nikon Company has come out with some cameras that have upgraded and updated features that would be nice to have, but not necessarily needed enough to buy a new camera. Am I satisfied? Yes I am. May 24, 2012
Solid body, reliable, very competent camera I am a serious hobbiest. I migrated to the D90 from a D70 for it's faster frame per second continuous shooting capability; it's superior processing engine and bigger file size. I've been very pleased with the performance of the D90. Image quality is very high at ISO's 800 and below. I often shoot at ISO 1200 and find the image quality very acceptable. The camera has a number of useful features inluuding the exposure delay mode (though I'd rather have a mirror up mode) and 2-stop bracketing (though I'd rather have 5-stops). I frequently use the remote IF trigger for shutter release. It's a separate item, but well worth the money. The custom setting options are helpful. I do not use the presets as I shoot consistantly in manual or shutter priority mode. The display is bright and clear. The menu is not a useful as I'd like. This is due to the large number of functional and operational options the camera provides. I added a battery pack to my D90. Also a worth while purchase. In addition to extending the number of frame captures on one charge it's useful for shooting with the body in the 'portrait' orientation. May 24, 2012
D90 - Versatile Choice I purchased my D90 mainly for taking photos of my daughter's sports - field hockey and softball but found the D90 to be a great camera for family and trevel photos. The fast focusing was great for action photos and most lenses will work in the autoexposure mode. I have lenses from superwide (12mm) to zoom telephotos (120-400mm) and all work great. I like the ruggedness (I shot 100 to 200 photos per game) and ease of use. The D90 gives you a wide range of choices from manual to program exposoure setting. Although I recommend this camera, there are now even better choices - 7000 & 5100 that i would take a look at. I would like to have an articulating view screen like the 5100. The camera is heavy for long travel trips. May 24, 2012
Light Weight and Easy to Operate This a great camera which gives you the option of automatic or manual settings. Want to do some quick and easy shooting, the automatic settings allow you to do just that. Want to be more creative with your photography. This camera allows you to choose the ISO, aperature, and shutter speed that you want to get that specuial effect. All this in a light weight body. The image quality has proven to be crisp up to a 13" x 19" print. I have not tried any larger prints. The video quality is good. One thing I would like to see improved is the ability to view the live view in bright sun. The glare makes it difficult to see. May 24, 2012
It Works the Way it Should I have owned and used Nikon SLRs for 45 years and never had a failure. I have the D90 for about a year now and love it. To begin with the pictures are as good or better than my film Nikons. The body and lenses are smaller and lighter than my older ones, which is very important at my age. I thought I would never use a built-in flash, but always having it available for fill or just extra light is a convenience. I'm not into videos, but having available when my grand daughters are doing something is a welcome extra. May 24, 2012
My D90 I now own two newer DSLR Nikons, but I still find myself reaching for the D90: it's the right weight and size and I love the quality images it captures. I brought the camera with me to Rome and ended up shooting everything with the 18-105 kit zoom with VR. May 24, 2012
great purchase It was a great purchase, great camera. I did not have problems. Thank you. May 24, 2012
NIKON always THE BEST. unique camera with amazing perfomance..thanks to NIKON. May 24, 2012
It does everything I ask it to The D90 is my first DSLR. I had a bit of a learning curve to climb but the D90 keeps up with everything I try with flying colors. I use MANUEL mode for night shots and for panoramas, I consistently impress myself, and my work peers, with the pictures that I am able to capture. I am especially thrilled with the battery life, I always carry a spare but am able to get 300+ photos on only a half of charge. May 24, 2012
EVERYTHİNG İS OKEY EXCEPT NOT A FİRM AND DURABLE BODY What I mean that Nikon D90 body structure isnot waterproof.So when I used it in summer months that I got sweat too much,and all the persparation,sweat goes into the body part of cemera and the OK part didin't work at all.This has happened also during the thin rain. Because of not resistant to water,I had taken camera to the nikon service two times.My only rejecting Nikon D90 is that reason,other aspects is marvelous.. May 24, 2012
Overall good camera. Serious photographers will want more. I do not consider this a good low light camera. Even with a good lens with VR I still get lots,of camera shake and find that I must use a tripod to get crisp shots. Forget hand holding at all in any kind of low light. I find a tripod restricting. I've. Even told by users that the new D7000 is a much better camera and produces sharper images by far. Love the body of the D90 and how it handles. Love all the settings and how it is all at your fingertips. Overall a good camera. I believe more serious photographers would want something Bette that produces better quality. As my photography improves, I find that I want more from a camera. May 24, 2012
my D 90 The D90 is the best camera that I have used to date. It has a amazing lens, the lens will capture it all , with focus and clarity ! The shutter is fast , for all types of action shots ! I love this camera May 24, 2012
It is a good camera. I used Pentax SLR before. D90 is better on the mechanical side which gives better shutter speed and less vibration in operation. However, the software for D90 is not user-friendly. It took me about 2000 shots to work out the best settings. The auto programs for scenery and portrait shootings rarely gives good pictures. Its exposure meter needs a lot of offsets. May 24, 2012
Still a great camera Despite there being newer models out there, this is my go-to camera when traveling. It's size, weight and picture quality is terrific. May 24, 2012
Page: 3 4 5 6 7 ... 162
<<prev | next>>
156 Questions | 401 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
156 Questions | 401 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Sort by:
D90
 
12 Answers

How do I take a black & white Photo??

Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Tiptee
Oklahoma
 on D90
+27points
30out of 33found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful30unhelpful3
I'm new to photography & can't figure out how to take a black & white Photo with my D90
3 years ago
by
Tiptee
Oklahoma
Location : 
Oklahoma
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
12 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Tiptee:

Two ways you can take B&W photo with the D-90 SLR.
One is before taking a picture push "MENU" on the left side of the camera back. Select "SHOOTING MENU" then with right arrow by the "OK" select "SET PICTURE CONTROL". Push the right arrow again by the OK on the right of the screen. Push down arrow to highlight Monochrome, and push OK. Now you can take Monochrome pictures.

Or after taking a color picture, go to "MENU". Select "RETOUCH MENU". Push arrow down to "Monochrome" and push OK. Select picture on the screen that you want to change to Monochrome and push "OK". Then "OK" again to confirm change. You will have a made a second copy in black & white of a color picture. You will still have the color copy also. Hope this helps you.
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
Shutterbug
So. Calif.
Location : 
So. Calif.
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can scroll through the menue, Camera, Set Picture Control, Monochrome, Toning-B&W.
However, you are probably better off taking the photo in Color and changing to Black and White in post with software.
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have your image displayed on the LCD display and press the OK button in the center of the multi-function button. Select monochrome from the menu that pops up, then black and white. Although I prefer to convert to B&W in post processing such as Lightroom, Photoshop, Apeture etc. Hope that helps.
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
Kliwks
Rhode Island
Location : 
Rhode Island
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the MENU button on the back of the D90. Using the arrows around the "OK" button, select "Shooting Menu", which is the second menu down (it looks like a camera), select "Set Picture Control", and select "Monochrome". Press "OK', and you should be set!
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
ohbrustin1
Wisconsin (we have a lousy governor)
Location : 
Wisconsin (we have a lousy governor)
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Go to Shooting Menu > Set Picture Control, push OK on the 4 way switch, scroll down to Monochrome and push OK. You are set to shoot black and white.
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
Gene

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You don't. Sensor get light from your lens and capture the image. It comes in color right? :)

Then you grab your image (JPG or RAW) and turn it into the B&W snapshot. You can do it on your computer: iPhoto on MAC or Photoshop on PC. But you can do it right on your camera. On d90 hit the menu and then select Retouching (square with the brush) and choose Monochrome. Then select 1 of the 3 options and it will load your image list from your SSD card. Select image you like to turn B&W (hit OK) and BAM - you got 2 copies - colored and monochrome. Enjoy!
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
LazyInNYC
New York, NY
Location : 
New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You must go to «shooting menu» - «set picture control» - «monochrome»

After you have various option like sepia...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Two ways:
1. You can take your color photo and edit it in your favorite photo editing software.
2. You can push the "info" button on your D90. This will bring up the information screen. Push the "info" button again, and it will highlight the items on the bottom of the screen. Move the highlighted area to "Set Picture Control", and choose "Monochrome." Your photos will now be taken in black and white.
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
dps
Abilene, Texas
Location : 
Abilene, Texas
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the Menu button, then press the navigation buttton left (left of center OK button). Then move up or down until the Shooting Menu appears. Scoll through the Shooting Menu to find "SET PICTURE CONTROL". Press OK and scoll down to Monochrome. In case you are interested, you will notice an OK at the right, but if you hit the right button instead of OK, you find some interesting options not available for color. You can choose a whole series of tones to apply. There are specialized filters and if you have not chosen Active D-Lighting, full control of contrast (Ansil Adams, Eat your heart out). If you often return to the same places that have consistant lighting, you might want to save the set-up with MANAGE PICTURE CONTROL. Then when you return to that location, just choose the C1-C9 that you have saved. I hope that you can save PRE White balance settings in there
-Dooodlebug.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
DooodleBug
Maryland
Location : 
Maryland
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
To Shoot B&W with the D90. Do the following. Open MENU to SHOOTING MENU(first item). Go to Set Picture Control. Push the OK button and slect MC*Monochrome* push OK again. Close MENU. Once set you can start shooting B&W.
Another way is go ahead and shoot in color then convert to B&W. Then go to MENU again open RETOUCH MENU and pick Monochrome then you can choose B&W or SEPIA or Cyanotype. then you pick the picture you want to convert to B&W push ok then save. It will create a new B&W picture. You do not lose the original color picture.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
N1DQU
Pittsfield,Ma
Location : 
Pittsfield,Ma
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
go to MENU and then select SET PICTURE CONTROL and then select MONOCHROME and then exit by pressing MENU button. that should set you up in taking black and white photo. enjoy and have fun taking photos..
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
pnut
yokosuka, japan
Location : 
yokosuka, japan
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Open menu, in the photo menu, choose the first item. There it probably says SD and that is the standard. You can here change it to B/W.

Good luck!
 
Products related to my answer
 
 
 
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Grober
Älmhult, Sweden
Location : 
Älmhult, Sweden
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
Has staff answer
D90
 
11 Answers

What lenses go with this camera (nikon d90)?

Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D90
Has staff answer
+24points
24out of 24found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful24unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
11 Answers

Answers

-3points
3out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful6
Answer: 
Any Nikon lens.
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
Nikkor FX and DX series, FX series are professional ones and you can use them with Nikon FullFrame Digital SLR cameras like D700 and D3 series. But working with DX series are easier because of AF and Image Stabilizer on it.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Imanjohn
Tehran, Iran
Location : 
Tehran, Iran
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
As far as I know, almost all the DX Nikkor lenses that Nikon makes plus some.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Thank you for your question. Since the first Nikon Single Lens Reflex (SLR) camera was produce they have used the same bayonet on all their lenses. That means you can use any Nikon SLR lens on any current and/or older camera body. But be aware that the older lens do not have motors built-in to the lens and they will require that you use the manual setting on the camera body to determine the correct exposure and you will be required to manually focus the lens.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
ForensicPhotog
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
18-105MM AND 18-55MM LENSES PREFER FİRST PLEASE.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
Answer: 
Hi,

on a natgeo expedition i only took 18-200vrii. took almost 5000 pics and after that my conclusion is that for 95% of the time 18-200 vrII is perfect for all conditions.

imran
pakistan
 
Products related to my answer
 
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
paktire
pakistan
Location : 
pakistan
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Any of the newer Nikon lenses will work great. There are also some other lenses made by Sigma, Tamron and Tokina which will work fine. I recommend using the stabilized lenses. Nikon recently introduced some fairly inexpensive VR lenses. (One being the 55-300mm) If you can afford the 70-200 f2.8 it is an awesome lens. I have also taken some great photos with the 70-300 VR. The 50mm f1.8 is extremely sharp and very inexpensive.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
outdoor photoman
Helena, Montana
Location : 
Helena, Montana
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
mine came with a Nikon DX 18-105 lens
I love it an the D90
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Rick
Dallas
Location : 
Dallas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
I use five different lenses. 1) 11-16mm Tokina f/2.8, 2) 18-105mm Zoom Nikkor VRII, 3) 70-300mm Zoom Nikkor VRII, 4) 50mm Prime f/1.8D Nikkor, and 5) 35mm Prime f/1.8G Nikkor. This group gives me the versatility I want from ultra wide to a long reach telephoto zoom. The 35mm Prime for normal range low light indoor shooting and the 50mm Prime for portrait shooting.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Joseph
Atlanta
Location : 
Atlanta
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
This page is for the D90 body—no lens is included at that price. The Nikon Store doesn't have any D90 kits right now, either, but it does have a D7000 kit that comes with the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm lens.

Check your local retailer. If they have a kit, it likely includes the 18-105mm lens.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click this link and view the chart. Note that AF-F/AF-I lenses will allow the most (electronic) compatibility.

http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
Has staff answer
D90
 
11 Answers

How can I view and open NEF files from my D90 on CS3?

Apr 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D90
Has staff answer
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
11 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to update pugs in
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you have the newest RAW (NEF) plug-in from Adobe installed on your computer also. Download free from their site.
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Transport through Bridge
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
Gene

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Download Adobe Camera Raw. It has support for the NEF files. And it's for free!!!
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Grober
Älmhult, Sweden
Location : 
Älmhult, Sweden
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
RAW-NEF Files have been opened with photoshop CS 3and over very easily.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Install a plug-in patch available online free from Adobe.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Nikon Family: 11-20 years

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can open NEF files using Adobe Bridge. Download your files using Adobe Bridge and open in Camera Raw. Click on the raw image and Camera Raw will open up (using a Mac).
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Rider
Laurel, MD
Location : 
Laurel, MD
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can't because Adobe products are too expensive!
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have been using Photoshop CS5 but I think the method will be the same on CS3. Camera Raw is a program used to open and process NEF files (and other brands' raw files) and is a part of Photoshop CS. You have to make sure your version of Camera Raw supports Nikon D90 (to check, go to Adobe website). To open and process your NEF, simply open Photoshop, go to File - Open, locate your NEF file and double click to open. The file will automatically open in Camera Raw.
Hope this helps.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
lucianlucan
New York, NY
Location : 
New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try updating your complete CS3 package which includes Camera RAW, the component necessary to open RAW images. Its probable that you are using a Adobe Camera RAW database that doesn't have the D90.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
castlev
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Each new camera is different from previous models, so software to read the newer files would need to be updated. Please contact the third party software vendor to see what update options they offer to read images from newer cameras in their software. Of course, for the best quality NEF conversion we recommend the use of Nikon Capture NX 2 or View NX 2.
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
Has staff answer
D90
 
11 Answers

Is the D90 MS Windows 7 compatible?

Apr 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Texas
 on D90
Has staff answer
+3points
5out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful2
I'm contemplating moving into DSLR cameras from several years of Canon P&S. All my 35mm film cameras were Nikons and I want to keep using my existing Nikkor AF lenses. However, we just got a new computer with Windows 7 (64-bit install) and I just need to know if the D90 would be compatible. Thanks!
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
11 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
If your question is whether the camera itself is compatible with Win7, the answer is that any camera is compatible with any operating system, since you're shooting either RAW or .jpg files. If nothing else you can pull the memory card and use a card reader (most newer laptops come with a built-in SD card reader), but Win7 recognizes my camera when I plug it in just fine.

If your question is whether the software that comes with the D90 is Win7 compatible, the answer is yes, it is. However, there are better alternatives for working with, storing and organizing photos.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
deejayqueue

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, Nikon D 90 is compatible with Windows 7.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just got a new PC with windows 7 and I have no problems with compatibility between windows 7 and my D90.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Nikonfan
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
That's no problem. Eveything will work fine.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is. I have a Windows 7 PC and a MacBook Pro. It works with both. It's the software that determines what you can do. As long as it is for Windows or a PC, you will be fine.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Greg
Yorba Linda, CA USA

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the D90 is compatible with Windows 7 64 bit. I use Camera Control 2.8 as well as Capture NX
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Nikon33
Prescott Valley, AZ
Location : 
Prescott Valley, AZ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I use ViewNX from Nikon to download pictures off my D90:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Imaging-Software/NVNX/ViewNX.html

It works on my Win7 x64 laptop.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Robert
Johns Creek, GA
Location : 
Johns Creek, GA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you want to check compatibility, you are probably talking more about software than the camera itself.

If you are shooting JPEG, probably any Windows / Linux / Mac / iPad will handle your photos wether it is connecting the camera directly to your PC or by inserting the SD card using a SD adapter / Slot.

The problems comes when using the RAW images. In that case I know that Adobe Bridge (Photoshop) and Adobe Lightroom are more than capable to open the RAW images coming out of the D90.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
castlev
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you'll be able to work with the D90 on your Windows 7 computer. The D90 ships with the software and cable you need to import your photos. And even if it didn't, there are plenty of free applications that manage photo importing from D-SLR cameras.

Also, the D90 is a great choice since you already have NIKKOR AF lenses. The camera has a built-in focusing motor, so you can use both AF and AF-S lenses. (AF lenses rely on the camera's built-in focusing motor, AF-S lenses have their own internal focusing motor.)

Enjoy!
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
D90 Fan
Pennsylvania
Location : 
Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am using Win 7 64 bit with no problems. Use Photshop CS4 and Lightroom 3.
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
Ed
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Over 65
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the D90 is compatible with Windows 7.
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
D90
 
11 Answers

can i charge my nikon d90 battery in the camera via the usb cable?

Apr 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D90
+1point
4out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
11 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nope. Use the charger that came with the en-el3 battery. If you take over 700+ pictures at a time then get a second spare battery.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. In fact, since the camera has to be on while it's connected to the computer to transfer files, it drains the battery. Use the charger that's supplied with the camera.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
deejayqueue

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No not possible.You should use MH-18 A QUİCK CHARGERS.It gets nearly 2,30 hours for charhing..
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't believe that's possible. The battery charger is certainly the way to go here, and to tell you the truth, you would be better off buying a small card reader for image transfers to the computer. Going through the camera uses battery life, and worse yet, is slow when compared to the card readers. Card readers can be bought at any Target or Wal-Mart store for under $15.00...thins is cheap enough where the increase in speed makes it worth while to get one.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
JOE38671
Memphis, Tn
Location : 
Memphis, Tn
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. You need to remove the battery and insert it into the included charger.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
My D90 does NOT seem to charge in camera, I guess adding charging circuits would add weight. I wanted to be able to charge on-the-go. On ebay a found a 120v wall charger with a USB port and 12v car cord and it came with a 2000mAh battery for about $22. All works and I can charge while driving but I do prefer to use my official Nikon Batteries, nothing is wrong with the ebay battery I just trust Nikon much more.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
outdoor-guy
NE Poconos Pennsylvania
Location : 
NE Poconos Pennsylvania
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No - You need the external charger to properly charge the battery. Use charger MH-18a
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Nikon33
Prescott Valley, AZ
Location : 
Prescott Valley, AZ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, but since being connected to the USB port drains power more quickly than shooting, the EH-5a power adapter can be purchased to power the camera while tethering it.

http://nikonusa.com/Find-Your-Nikon/Photography-Accessories/Power-Adapters/25364/EH-5A-AC-Adapter.html

Robert
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Robert
Johns Creek, GA
Location : 
Johns Creek, GA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't think you can. Thats only useful for transferring images or for tethering.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
castlev
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nope.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunatley not no.
Apr 11, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
Has staff answer
D90
 
11 Answers

which lens is included in the kit

Apr 12, 2011 by
by
Mark
 on D90
Has staff answer
-3points
0out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
3 years ago
by
Mark
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Travel
Role: Semi-professional photographer
11 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
My D90 came with the 18-105 f/3.5-5.6G ED VR.
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
dr.alf
barboursville
Location : 
barboursville
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
18-105mm VR 4.5f
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
18 - 105 mm
But don't buy a kit, choose your camera budy and lenses separately, lenses in kits are not the same good quality as the professional ones!
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Imanjohn
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
18 - 105 3.5-5.6 G ED Vibration Reduction Lens. Great additions would be a 50mm 1.8 prime lens and a 70-300 zoom.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The lens included Nikon D90 is 18-105mm f/3,5-5,6 G ED VR.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The lens included in the kit is a Nikkor AF-S, VR 8 mm to 105mm f/3.5 - 5.6, which is a very good all around lens.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Phil the Clicker
Guantánamo Bay Naval Station, Cuba
Location : 
Guantánamo Bay Naval Station, Cuba
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 G DX VR & AF-S 70-300mm 1:4.5-5.6 G ED VR
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
My D90 kit came with the 18-105mm f3.5 - 5.6 GED and I love it. Majority of my shots are taken at the 18mm setting, I zoom to achieve 'in camera' cropping occasionally.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
outdoor-guy
NE Poconos Pennsylvania
Location : 
NE Poconos Pennsylvania
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S VR DX Nikkor Zoom Lens
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
castlev
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Some dealers put kits together with different lenses, sometimes one or two. You will need to verify with your local dealers to see what they have available.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Depends on the kit. Right now, Nikon isn't selling any D90 kits in its online store (it's selling D90 bodies only), but it is selling a D7000 kit that includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6 VR lens—a great all-in-one zoom lens. Check it out below.

If you're set on a D90 kit, check your local retailers. I've seen the D90 packaged with that same 18-105mm lens.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
D90 Fan
Pennsylvania
Location : 
Pennsylvania
Age: 18-24
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
D90
 
11 Answers

are there basic settings to use if you are just wanting to take still pictures..

Apr 23, 2011 by
by
Michele
jacksonville, florida
 on D90
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
i want to take pictures of my childs school play, i just purchased the d90 and am so excited but all the settings confuse me.. are there some basic settings that I should use to get great pictures like the ones shown on this site/
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Michele
jacksonville, florida
Location : 
jacksonville, florida
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
11 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
i would go with program mode and take a few test shots to check how high you should go with the iso. of course you want to keep the iso as low as possible to prevent excess noise. this will allow you to use it as if it's in auto but you can do it without the flash more easily
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'm assuming you have the 18 - 105 kit lens that came with the camera. If they allow flash, and you have an off the camera Nikon flash (SB600 or higher), you can put it on P and leave your ISO setting on Auto for up to 3200ISO and you will get good pictures. Because of ambient lighting at the play being mixed with the flash, I would leave the white balance on A. If you don't have an external flash, I would try and get as close as I can with the pop up flash. Definitely under 30 feet if you can. If you can get there a little earlier before the play starts, take a few shots of the stage with these settings and see how they come out as far as exposure is concerned. I would use the AF-A autofocus and the grid screen focusing screen. If this is confusing use the Auto on the left dial and let the D-90 decide. It does amazingly well.
May 6, 2011 by
by
nikonuser
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. Set the camera on P (Program...a/k/a "pretty") mode. You'll love it!
May 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am an advocate of totally manual settings with exception of AF. The AF system works excellent with some exceptions in certain lighting conditions such as fog. then focus manually. Enjoy!
May 3, 2011 by
by
Jonathan
Covington, Kentucky
Location : 
Covington, Kentucky
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
First of all, please take some spare time (if you have any) & read your book. Want to know what's really great? Nikon has an online tutorial for the D90. I found it very enlightening. In addition to that, notice the dial on the left side of your camera. It will have your scene preference modes such as sports, close ups (the flower), & portrait.
You also have your manual, aperture priority, shutter priority, & program modes.I also recommend a good quality Nikon flash for your camera. It will help keep from draining your camera's battery when taking flash photography (indoors & low light conditions).
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
May 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
you can go into full auto mode until you start to feel comfortable with the camera. It will adjust everything for you and you will get good quality pictures from auto. Once you are used to how it feels and seeing what it does in auto start to play. :)

Best thing is to find a college or university- maybe even a local school who offer a basic course in SLR photography. I took one as a refresher and it was great.

Some of the best advice I had when I read about DSLR is to set your camera up on a tripod and start taking pictures - changing the settings as you go, and then checking the differences out when you have played and played with them. The best part of digital- you only pay for what you print- all the rest are g