Loading

Key Features

12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS sensor: Nikon's exclusive digital image processing system advances DX-format image quality to new levels.

Continuous shooting from 6 frames per second up to 8 frames per second*: The new optional MB-D10 multi-power battery pack makes the D300 a powerful performer for a wide variety of shooting disciplines.

* When using the EH-5a AC adaptor or the MB-D10 multi-power battery pack with batteries other than rechargeable Li-ion En El3e.

Fast, accurate 51-point auto focus with 3D focus tracking and three dynamic AF modes: Exacting auto focus precision at blazing speeds!

Nikon's exclusive EXPEED Image Processing Concept: The foundation of Nikon’s newest Image Processing Systems, EXPEED culminates the concepts, innovations and years of Nikon’s digital image processing technologies at blazing processing speeds.

Dynamic integrated dust reduction system: Self-cleaning ultrasonic sensor unit minimizes degradation of image quality due to dust particles.

New Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 4 preset options; standard, neutral, vivid and monochrome, as well as 9 customizable settings.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with advanced dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism: The D300 has been tested to 150,000 cycles making it the perfect choice for photographers who demand high performance and agility.

The 3.0-inch super density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: 170-degree, wide-angle viewing and tempered-glass protection makes critical image review possible.

Low-noise files at ISO from 200-3200; The D300's DX-format CMOS sensor, with a high signal-to-noise ratio, empowers photographers to produce exceptionally clean files from a broad 200-3200 ISO range. Expanded range of options include Lo-1(ISO 100 equivalent) and Hi-1(ISO 6400 equivalent).

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System (SRS): The improved 1,005-pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II provides even more intelligent auto exposure capabilities, along with smarter auto white balance detection and faster, more accurate AF performance.

Selectable 12-Bit or 14-Bit A/D Conversion: The choice of selecting bit-depths at 12-bit (4,096 tones) or 14-bit (16,384 tones), both yielding incredible image quality through a full 16-bit processing pipeline, enables photographers to choose smaller files at faster operating speeds, as opposed to larger files with smoother tonal gradations at slower operating speeds.

Two Live View shooting modes: Use either hand-held or tripod when shooting in a studio, remote situations or from challenging angles.

Nikon's Active D-Lighting Image enhancement: Provided on the fly while shooting, Active D-lighting produces broader tone reproduction in both shadows and highlights by controlling light intensity and exposure compensation while applying localized tone control technology to achieve the right level of contrast across the entire image for sharp, detailed results.

D300 4.7 5 44 44
I great advanced camera with wonderful flexibility My chief goals at the time were to get good image quality at high ISO numbers and to get good reviewable images on the screen especially when shooting wild life. The camera has survived falls in Alaska and has adapted to taking picture of butterflies, Brown Bears, and people and Races on the water in various weathers. It delivers image quality. August 9, 2011
The D300 has been a solid performer for what I need to do. It use it more on the road/outdoors more than in my studio. I'd recommend it to a friend or colleague. August 8, 2011
All but perfect The control locations make better sense as they seem to be more intuitive. The increase of peformance of noise to ISO setting is much better than my D 80. The only negative, I have found, is a double exposure without 'continuous' options selected. This happens infrequently but still too often. May 7, 2011
For the price In my opinion this is a camera with most the features a pro would wanna have. Cannot complaint about the weight because its made robust and with weather seals. Performance is good for a semi pro and I am able to achieve a very good learning curve. Handling - good grip better with the MB 10. Its not an entry camera. April 15, 2011
Great camera like a rock.. I used Nikon D300 for almost 3 years now. It is a heavy duty and endured thousand of images I took. Some of the pictures won in local photo contest. I trust this camera very much, and very manageable. Since I got Nikon D7000, I will use this as backup in my photo shooting such as weddings, portraitures, quinceañeras and others. April 14, 2011
great camera Always reliable, robust Nikon quality camera. Amazing at low light levels for this 4 year old technology. Noise levels are acceptable at 3200 ASA setting. Easy camera to set up on the fly without complicated menus to deal with. December 16, 2010
D300 This is a good camera. I found it to be a spectacular camera out doors when a flash was not needed. My older D80 out performed the D300 indoors so I kept the D80 and added the Newer D90 to my collection and sold the D300. If I could afford 3 camers I would keep the D300. I just think that the D80 and D90 are a little easier to use. December 4, 2010
Quality issue Very dissapointed in what appears to be declining Nikon quality. I have been using Nikon for over 40 years and my old film cameras still work. I had to spend around $300 on the D300 to have the shutter replaced after less than 2000 frames! Not what one should expect from a camera costing around $1,600.00. All the features in the world are worth nothing if the camera breaks down so quickly. If you decide to buy I would recommend buying the extended warranty. June 1, 2013
Just out of warranty and won't turn on My step-father was a huge Nikon fan. Years ago, instead of going to prom, my parents talked me into them getting a Nikon FG I believe it was instead. I was a senior in high school. It froze up and refused to turn on while I was in college. I think there was some problem with that model, I later heard but this was before the internet and I was in school in another state so if they'd mailed me anything, I didn't receive it. So, years later, after feeling like I still deserved something after giving up my prom, I invested myself in the Nikon D300, spending several thousand dollars. I've had it four years and had bought a 3 year warranty through Adorama camera. Now, just out of warranty it won't turn on. I've tried everything. I got it to turn on once and was very excited but just tried it again and it won't turn on. My husband is trying to convert me to a competing brand. I may be a slow learner but I just went out and got a NIkon D3200 which is not a pro camera but if they keep breaking, I don't want to spend a lot of money on them but I have all the lenses etc. Just one of my lenses is not motorized so I'll need a new replacement. I have to say, while I'd love to recommend Nikon, my experience has been very disappointing over half a lifetime... December 28, 2012
Page: 2 3
<<prev
22 Questions | 25 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
22 Questions | 25 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D300
 
3 Answers

Slow continuous shooting speed (D300)

Sep 2, 2011 by
by
SteveK
Washington State
 on D300
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have a D300 and the continuous sheet speed is very slow regardless of where I have the camera set. In fact, there is no difference in shooting speed between CL or CH. The batteries are fully charged and I'm using a Nikon MB-D10 Grip. I've looked at other settings and haven't found anything that should cause this problem. Any suggestions?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
SteveK
Washington State
Location : 
Washington State
Age: 45-54
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Check if you're shooting in 14 bit mode. In 12 bit mode, the D300 shoots at 6 fps, but in 14 bit mode it shoots at 2.5 fps.

Took a while for me to figure out.
Apr 17, 2012 by
by
Quebecois
Quebec, Canada
Location : 
Quebec, Canada
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Are you shooting in raw? If you want the fastest, I find I have to change to JPG.
Sep 9, 2011 by
by
Danny
Savannah
Location : 
Savannah
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Sep 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D300
 
2 Answers

WHat does the fEE mean on the view finder?

May 16, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D300
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
11 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It means that the camera cannot control the full range of the lens aperture. If the lens has an aperture ring make sure it is locked at its highest aperture.
May 16, 2013 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sounds like your using a d lens with an aperture ring. Set the aperture on the lens to minimum aperture (highest for stop). Use the camera to adjust the aperture. The fEE is a lens error message. If you are not using a d lens try cleaning the contacts on the lens and the camera
May 16, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300
 
1 answer

How can you lock the red boxes that appear on the screen?

May 24, 2011 by
by
how????
 on D300
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Well the red boxes that appear on the screen always move. How can you make them stay in the center.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
how????
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see page# 64 for more information on how to select the AF-Area mode (Focus Points).
May 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300
 
1 answer

How do you lock the AF light?

May 24, 2011 by
by
????
 on D300
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
how do you lock the AF light?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
????
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to turn off the Built-in AF-Assist illuminator you go to MENU > Custom Settings > A. Autofocus > a9: Built-in AF-assist illuminator. See page #273 of the user's manual for the D300.
May 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Dale
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please go to MENU > SETUP > FIRMWARE. Click on the link below for the latest Firmware version for the D300.
Answer Title: D300 A/B:1.10 firmware update
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300
 
1 answer

Photoshop elements 7 does not recognize NEF(RAW) from my d300. How can this be fixed?

Oct 25, 2011 by
by
gary
oregon
 on D300
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
gary
oregon
Location : 
oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with Adobe for support.
Oct 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300
 
1 answer

Will the battery charger for a US sold D300 work with 220v power without a power converter?

Nov 8, 2011 by
by
Cyndy
Seattle, WA
 on D300
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Many electronics will work on both 120&220/240 volt power. Will the suppied charger work on european power with just a plug adaptor or is a power converter needed?
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Cyndy
Seattle, WA
Location : 
Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon Digital SLR cameras have an auto switching (from 100v to 240V 50hz/60hz) battery charger that will work in most countries around the world. A/C adapters have similar characteristics. Always check the specification plate on your other battery chargers or A/C adapters as third party products may not support dual voltage systems. We do not suggest the use of third party battery chargers and A/C adapters with Nikon equipment.
Note that the cord included with the Nikon charger or A/C adapter is designed for 110 volt use only. A power cord suitable for the local power system should be obtained on arrival, most airport shops and computer suppliers will carry these items which are typically used for laptop conmputer power supply connections. Be sure that the new cord you buy fits the Nikon adapter you wish to use it with and that it is rated for the voltage in your new location. While not recommended, a simple plug adapter may be used, but caution should be taken as the cord Nikon supplies is not rated for the higher voltage and may heat or fail.
Nov 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D300
 
1 answer

where is this camera D300 manufactured?

Dec 24, 2011 by
by
Gabe
Florida
 on D300
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I see a lot of the Nikon products are manufactured in China, Thailand etc.
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Gabe
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Made in Thailand. But it is Nikon's factory and quality system. I have been shooting Nikon for nearly 30 years, and own a D300 among other cameras. It is a fantastic camera, that has never given me any trouble. It produces outstanding images, when used with Nikkor optics! All of the images below were taken with a D300 and Nikkor 18-200 VR (also made in Thailand). As long as the company has an outstanding quality system, and stands by their product (which Nikon does), I don't care where it is produced. The D300 is fine photographic instrument.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Dec 24, 2011 by
by
Akemi-N
MN
Location : 
MN
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300
 
1 answer

Where can i purchase a nikon d300 shutter?

Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D300
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please get in contact with the Nikon Parts Department
7AM - 3PM (Pacific) Monday - Friday
310-414-8107 / Fax- 310-322-6979
Dec 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300
 
1 answer

D300 Powers Down as if Battery is Dead

May 21, 2012 by
by
Semi-Pro
Phoenix, AZ, USA
 on D300
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
First it appeared my battery was dead. The camera responded to the recharged battery for a moment then went dead with a flashing icon as if the battery had no charge. I purchased a new battery and same thing. Responds for a sec, then powers down. Any help is appreciated.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Semi-Pro
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Location : 
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our technicians.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers