Loading

Unleash the power of Nikon's DX-format HD-SLR system.

Nikon D7100 D-SLR product photo
Meet the new flagship of Nikon's outstanding DX-format HD-SLR line-up: the D7100. Incorporating recent advancements in HD-SLR technology, the D7100 brings a thrilling new level of image quality, speed, connectivity and creative capabilities—a specially designed 24.1-megapixel DX-format image sensor, superior low-light performance, ultra-precise autofocus and metering, advanced video recording features, built-in HDR, mobile connectivity and much, much more. Pair it with any of Nikon's superb NIKKOR DX- and FX-format lenses, versatile Speedlights and accessories, and the D7100 will be the centerpiece of your creativity for years to come.
Photo of a bird on a branch and close-up inset of the bird's face showing high resolution

Capture every detail true to life

Pure, sharp images

The D7100 marks an exciting advancement in image quality for high-resolution DX-format cameras. Nikon specially designed its 24.1-megapixel DX-format CMOS sensor without using an optical low pass filter (OLPF), resulting in the purest, sharpest images using D7100's DX-format CMOS sensor. Combine that with fantastic ISO performance at both ends of the spectrum—down to ISO 100 and up to ISO 6400—the processing speed and intelligence of EXPEED 3 and the extra lens reach of a 1.3x crop factor, and the D7100 is the ultimate tool for those seeking a lightweight DX-format HD-SLR.
Photo of a skier going down a mountain in powder showing fast AF speed

Speed and precision in harmony

High-speed shooting with flawless metering and autofocus

When the action speeds up, fire a blazing fast 6 frames per second continuously for up to 100 shots. Building on the acclaimed autofocus system from the D300s, the D7100 uses 51 focus points, including 15 cross-type sensors for detecting both vertical and horizontal contrast variations, to achieve fast, precise focus. The central cross-type sensor works all the way down to f/8, a huge advantage when using compatible teleconverters. At the same time, a highly accurate 2016-pixel RGB sensor evaluates every scene, taking into account brightness, contrast, subject distance and color, for spot-on auto operations like Face-Priority and full-time autofocus during video capture.
Nikon D7100 side of body close up with WU-1a wireless mobile adapter in place

Wireless sharing and control

Compatible with the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter

The D7100 makes it easy to share your great photos immediately, wherever you are. Connect the optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter and instantly transfer shots to a compatible smartphone or tablet, then upload them to the web, send by email or text—share them however you like. With Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Utility installed on your smartphone or tablet (available for both Android and iOS), you can also remotely control the D7100. Use your phone or tablet as a Live View monitor to take shots without having the camera in your hands, a huge advantage for everything from self portraits to digiscoping with a Nikon fieldscope.
Nikon D7100, lens and ME-1 microphone on a tripod on a mountaintop

Create movies that amaze

Dazzling 1080p videos, slow-motion and time-lapse sequences

With full-time autofocus and manual exposure control during video recording, a built-in stereo mic and an external stereo mic jack, headphone and HDMI jacks, the D7100 achieves exceptional cinematic reproduction and quality. Record in several high-definition formats: 1080@50/60i, 1080@24/25/30p or 720@30/60p. Dual SD card slots give you additional recording time, and an all new 60i function enables smooth playback on HDTVs or external monitors. And, of course, every shot looks great through a NIKKOR lens. Create beautiful background blur with the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, or use the AF-S DX NIKKOR 10-24mm for an ultra-wide-angle view that's perfect for establishing shots and working in tight interiors.
Creative landscape photo of buildings on the water using an artistic effect built-in to the Nikon D7100

Creativity on demand

The D7100 will inspire your creativity to new heights. Built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) combines shots taken simultaneously at different exposures into one beautifully rich, high-contrast image. Picture Control gives you instant access to the color characteristics of your images, and spot White Balance control for Live View shooting makes setting the white balance as easy as pointing to the area in the frame that should be white. You can even apply artistic Image Effects to both stills and videos in real-time.
Illustration of the front and back views of the Nikon D7100 chassis

High-end design

The D7100 has the comfortable handling and durability of a high-end Nikon camera. A durable magnesium alloy body with moisture and dust resistance protects the camera's internal parts from the elements. A new 3.2-inch ultra-high-resolution 1,229K-dot LCD monitor provides crisp image playback, menu adjustments and Live View shooting, and a new viewfinder with a low-power consumption electro-luminescent (EL) data display provides approx. 100% frame coverage.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

Sale

D7100 Body Only

Now $1,149.95
Reg. $1,199.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1513
Sale

18-105mm VR Lens Kit

D7100 Camera BodyAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Now $1,449.95
Reg. $1,599.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1515
Sale

18-140mm VR Lens Kit

D7100 Camera BodyAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Now $1,449.95
Reg. $1,799.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false
Sale

Two Lens Kit

D7100 Camera BodyAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VRAF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Now $1,699.95
Reg. $2,229.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false
D7100 4.7 5 94 94
Simply Amazing I think this is one of the best cameras I have ever owned. I switched from canon a few years back to the Nikon D7000 and could not have been happier. Then when the D7100 came out i just had to upgrade and I was not disappointed. I loved all the extra features especially the HDR and effects settings. I mainly use DSLR's for video and the options are a great step up from the D7000 which you could only really shoot 24 frames per second at 1080p, and I love the interval timer setting which I have been having a lot of fun with. When I got the camera a week ago I have not been able to put it down. The only camera I think i Enjoy more then this is the Nikon D800 and one day I will own that one too. April 10, 2013
Foco incrível e qualidade soberba de imagem Venho de outra marca com a qual fotografava profissionalmente. Optei pela D7100 e seu sensor APS-C de 24 mp, que me permitiria maior aproveitamento da distância focal em lentes FX menores, já que trabalho com fotografia de natureza, podendo utilizar lentes como a 80-400 mm com distância de foco equivalente a 600mm em uma DX. A primeira surpresa se deu em relação à qualidade da imagem e das cores: fiquei muito impressionado com a qualidade final de imagem oferecida pela câmera. A segunda grande surpresa foi o soberbo sistema de autofoco, permitindo incríveis fotografias de animais em movimento com uma nitidez e uma rapidez que eu não tinha experimentado antes. Além disso, achei que teria muita dificuldade em me adaptar à nova câmera, mas tudo é muito intuitivo e fácil de se usar para quem está acostumado com os princípios básicos da fotografia em câmeras SLR. Estou plenamente satisfeito com essa câmera e acho que não saio mais da marca Nikon. September 2, 2013
Perfeita! A Nikon D7100 é um sonho! Produz imagens perfeitas, com qualidade altíssima! O corpo, com anatomia robusta, permite perfeito encaixe na mão e segurança no manuseio. O motor de foco que a D7100 tem deixa os amantes de muitas lentes ainda mais felizes! Os recursos são tantos que ainda não consegui utilizar tudo o que a câmera oferece. É um produto para amadores estudiosos da fotografia - como eu - e para os que fazem uso profissional, sem dúvida! Acho que ficarei com ela por muito tempo! Até agora, é a minha preferida! July 13, 2013
Excelente Yo comenze con una D3100 y acabo de dar el salto a la D7100, una excelente camara para continuar el aprendizaje y porque ser un poco mas profesional, recomendada ampliamente!!!!!!!! June 16, 2013
produto otimo muito bom qualidade de fotos excelente tenho duas D7100 June 13, 2013
Acima da média. Na condição de fotógrafo sempre busco equipamentos que antendam a minha necessidade, encontrei na D7100 uma câmera robusta, rápida e completa para fotografias de natureza, uma das área que atuo. Realmente essa câmera no segmento APS tem o que existe de melhor em termos de resolução e recursos. Recomendo a todos que procuram uma câmera completa e versátil. June 4, 2013
Excelentes recursos da Nikon D7100 Os recursos da Nikon D7100 com adaptador opcional móvel sem fio WU-1a é o avanço nas tecnologias digitais profissionais, aliada as redes sociais. June 3, 2013
impresionante Una camara real mente estupenda se puede decir que es profesional, Acta pera profesionales con bajos recursos economicos. Muy buenas prestaciones, rapido manejo gracias al voton de informacion May 27, 2013
Excelente equipamento Trabalho com fotografia já há alguns anos e procuro sempre utilizar vários equipamentos, de marcas diferentes e, principalmente, com características bem distintas. Quando usei pela primeira vez a Nikon D7100 foi amor à primeira vista. Magnífica qualidade de imagem e grande quantidade de recursos. Rapidez e robustez com uma ampla gama de acessórios completam o pacote. Iniciei há 2 semanas com o Kit básico (corpo D7100 + lente 18-105mm) e depois comprei mais uma bateria, o flash SB910 e uma lente 18-300mm. Acho que meus dias de peregrinação e conhecimento de equipamentos terminaram e vou fincar raízes com essa máquina. Verdadeira máquina de sonhos! May 7, 2013
Best DX you can find This camera is best described as a FX with a DX sensor. This is my backup camera but when I am out taking pictures of wildlife I tend to set down my full frame and pick this up instead for the extras. In nature I usually use my 80-400 fx lens on the d7100 it is 1.5 x the mm giving me an extra 200mm and if that is not enough I can use crop mode dropping to 15Mp but increasing my reach an additional X 1.3. Over all this is an awesome buy not only for the money for what you get. The built in focus motor allows me to interchange any of my lenses and this camera produces professional photos that are sharp. Best of all I have had no troubles in extreme cold temperatures. The only con I have found is in the focusing system I have focused on eyes and had the nose chest or chin instead I have been using the center focus point and recomposing to fix this but will try to calibrate or fine tune when I have time maybe that will clear it up if that does not work it may as well only have one focus point. April 8, 2014
great features compared to the others a great choice for both begginers & a a matures, and professional too April 6, 2014
Clear and crisp Great new camera. Bought it for the crop factors. Nice sharp results for wildlife and other photography. Don't like the noise above 1600 iso. I am spoiled be the Fx cameras I own. But if you are looking for a cheap teleconverter for wildlife in good lighting this is your camera. The new Toshiba sensor renders nice color and contrast. Auto focus is better than my D600 and a bit faster than my D800. For the money, it is well worth it. March 4, 2014
Excellent, if you know what you're doing. I love it for the most part, ..I left out the 5th star because I shoot RAW, ..it lacks a buffer and has some deep shadow banding. The banding issue can be worked around 95% of the time, and the buffer issue is really up to your shooting habits, but for me it is good enough. And also, it only shoots 5ps (not 6fps) when you are at the highest 14bit raw setting. If you are a jpg shooter, ..you'll be in heaven! When good (expensive) glass is used, the image quality really shines; but otherwise, it still looks good with cheap glass. The video quality has also much improved over the d7000. And with an external recorder this can become another budget-cinematographer's dream. If you shoot lower than 400 ISO, you are competing against any full-frame (IQ) counterpart. The high ISO's (1600+) are decent, ..about a 1/2 stop better than the d7000. If you down sample the 24mp to 12mp, it rivals the FX d700 in low light. The layout/functionality is good for me, ...but that is really a personal thing. A matter of getting used to it, ..like a gun or a car. The AF is nice and quicker than the d7000, but not light years ahead. Overall it is probably the best crop-sensor camera you'll find for awhile. If you are really on a small budget, ..consider the d5200 or a used d7000. August 5, 2013
D7100 I purchased a D7100 as a replacement for my D300S. Unfortunately I've found that the images produced by the D7100 don't seem as sharp as those taken with my D300S, a big factor in the kind of photography I do. My main interest is in photographing birds and I'm not getting the same level of detail in the feathers as I did with my prior camera. I've had several excellent opportunities to capture the detail in birds' feathers in good light using my same (Nikkor F4 200-400mm) lens but the feathers just aren't 'crisp'. Otherwise, the camera and controls are easy to use and the mirror is noticably quieter. May 9, 2013
It should be 4 1/2 out of 5 First - to get it out of the way, the one negative I see - no change in the buffer from the D7000. One tip that someone made (I'll have to try this) is to turn off distortion control, which will give up to 12 shots at 6fps before the buffer fills (using a high end SD card. If you're using LR or PS (or even PTLens), then you can apply lens correction in post processing (something I prefer to do vs. in camera). That said, the updated focusing is extremely fast, and accurate, as is the metering - better than the D7000 (which was excellent in and of itself). The images are sharp. There is a bit more noise at higher ISO's (I've shot up to 3200 so far), but the image fidelity remains. Again, easily fixed in post processing. April 30, 2013
Excellent camera with a variety of options to enhance your photos I up grade my D7000 with this amazing D7100 the resolution is very impressive , now i spend less time retouching the photos, I have only one problem , the beep sound of the camera does not work with the auto focus (d1 of the custom menu in AF-S) , I have connected to the service support and I hope to receive a response to fix the problem or I will have to return this amazing camera. Nikon should have better quality control of their products. April 1, 2013
one of the best DX format camera great camera in this price range. good job Nikon. full feature packed machine. wish this would have built in HDR with raw images, bit more image buffer size. March 23, 2013
Nikon carries on with the legacy of D7000 with D7100 with lots of upgrades I got a chance to sample this camera at a demo. The first looks and handling was superb. The camera body feels top class with sturdy yet soft design. Shutter speeds for shooting in continuous mode is consistent with D7000. Video shooting with 1080p 60i is simply amazing. With a tripod/ base support, the video is sharp, flows well and doesn't feel as if shot with a still camera. The most interesting aspects of D7100 which I realized were - 51 point focus using manual settings and the bigger display screen. This 3.2 " LCD display comes in handy while shooting videos although doesn't make a difference while shooting pictures thru view finder. 1.5 x crop factor is a handy feature, but I wasn't able to utilize that in the indoors with the time I had with the camera. Overall, the handling and picture quality has not changed much when compared to that of D7000, except for the resolution. You end up paying for additional upgrades such as Wireless sharing, 24.3 MP over D7000. On the negatives, personally, I couldn't explore enough to point at them. However, it will take some time for the chinks in D7100 to surface as people start using it and this is all I could assess and understand with the limited time I had with the demo model. Essentially, D7100 for me is an offspring version of D7000 with upgrades. Hope this camera performs as good as its predecessor - which I love and possess. March 15, 2013
Almost great but... Finally received it yesterday. I upgraded from the D300. I'm still getting used to the smaller body in my hand. It will likely be handy when I travel but it's difficult to change the focus points with one eye in the viewfinder. I love all the extra pixels and great quality of the pictures as well as the overall technological advances, although I could have done without the auto modes and the various scenes which might be helpful for the beginners. My GREAT, great disapointment is that the diopter adjustment only goes from -2 to +1m whereas my previous D70, D200, and D300 could be adjusted from -3 to +1m. This means that I can't see a sharp focus. I know that Nikon sells corrective lenses but, besides the price, you cannot use the rubber eyepiece with them. I have absolutely no idea why Nikon could not leave well enough alone. This being said, the D7100 is a great camera for the price. March 26, 2013
Elevação do nível fotográfico Eu fotografo esportes radicais e vinha da arcaica D50 (quebrou o galho por bastante tempo), como sabemos, equipamentos fotográficos são caros, e por isso gastei muito tempo em pesquisas sobre a qualidade final dos produtos, famoso custo x beneficio e por pesquisar demais tive a sorte do lançamento da D7100 acontecer antes da troca do meu equipamento. Por se tratar de uma câmera nova, tive sim um pouco de pé atras em adquiri-la, mas por usar e confiar nos produtos Nikon, me decidir a comprar a D7100 e não me arrependo em nenhum centavo. A precisão do sistema de foco, a velocidade nos disparos e a alta fidelidade nas imagens capturadas me dão a certeza de que essa câmera é sim a melhor escolha dentre as de formato DX. Já tinha manuseado outras boas câmeras DX, mas nenhuma me mostrou tantas qualidades e recursos quanto a essa câmera que descrevo aqui. Se você deseja elevar suas fotos a outro nível, dentro de um menor orçamento, com certeza essa é a melhor opção. October 17, 2013
Avaliação D7100 As fotos são ótimas, qualidade superior que a D7000, Rápida, ISO muito bom. Mais em 20 dias de uso deu problema, ela não leu mais a lente, informando leitura de abertura sempre em F--, não foca mais no automático, e no manual quando tira a fotografia a imagem é preta, pareçe um problema elétrico. July 2, 2013
Great until the oil spots I had the camera a little over a year (April 2013) with just under 3K shutter clicks. Started seeing the spots in January 2014 (upper left corner), did the in-camera self cleaning a few times, then they went away. Started using the camera heavily in March, and on the 31st I took pics and the spots are so prominent and heavy, that most of the shots are unusable. I purchased a third-party extended warranty (after my experience with pixels with the D5100), and will be shipping the camera out today. I love the camera, and up until recently had not had any issues. I love the focus and clarity in the photos. April 4, 2014
Nikon AF (front-focus) Issue Note: This is not a full review - this review only addresses the auto-focus issue. I own 5 Nikon bodies: D5000, D7000, D700, D600, and now the D7100. With the exception of the D7000 (I have not 'tested' my D600 yet), EACH camera has had an AF issue; that issue being a front-focus problem. The D5000 has no internal AF fine-tune, so I sent that in for calibration. The D700 I have set on +16, and now the D7100 set on +12. As I mentioned, I haven't 'tested' the D600 yet, but it appears from general shooting the AF is ok. My D7000 has been the only body that is spot-on AF so far. Let me ask you, what is the single most important element needed for taking good, sharp photos? That's right - the focus. It doesn't matter how good your equipment or your technique is if you can't nail exact focus - your photos will be sub-par. With that said, why doesn't Nikon pay extra special attention to this? If I'm paying $1,000-2,000 for a piece of equipment - I want the most important element dead-on. There are many sophisticated items available to check your AF, but here's a simple quick-check that I do: -------------------------------------------------------------- **Set your camera up on a tripod **Get out a tape ruler and place it on the floor in front of the camera (I use a Stanley 25 foot) **Set your camera/lens to it's lowest number f-stop (test with different lenses - some may be in the lens only) **Set your AF to single-point and set your focus to AF-S mode **Focus in on the nearest foot mark to the camera - take a photo **Repeat on next, farther foot mark - work your way out a few feet (5-10 photos or so) **Check the photos on your computer - zoom in. -------------------------------------------------------------- As you review the photos, if your AF is dead-on, the numbers and marks in front of and in back of your reference point (foot mark you were focused on) should be equally in focus and gradually equally blurring in proportion to the distance from your AF point. If they aren't - you need adjustment. Now I know this isn't a dead-accurate focus test, but it will give you a general idea. And note, I didn't begin this testing because I was looking for focus problems. After I noticed numerous photos were not "perfect", in certain cameras, I decided to do some testing - this is why I haven't tested the D600 yet - all appears to be OK with that one. Also note, I have tested the bodies with multiple lenses - the problem is in the bodies of the camera. Anyhow, I hope this information helps you create better images. *********The 3 starts is based on the AF issue only***********, otherwise the D7100 seems like a very nice camera so far. December 29, 2013
One major flaw (in my opinion) Let me start with the weak points because this is what you need to be aware of. I bought this camera two months ago as an upgrade from the D60 that I had for 4 years which has served me very well especially for low light photography. I never had to worry about setting the ISO and pictures were great even with the high1 setting that the camera sometimes chose. I expected even better pictures with my new D7100, however for me pictures taken at ISOs higher than 2500 are unacceptable, even at 2000 are not that great. A major problem that I noticed was the existence of horizontal lines all across the screen with the use of my telephoto lens (55-200). The lines are visible regardless of the lighting and the higher the zoom, the more visible they are. If I am not mistaken, they start showing above 100. At 200, the picture is unacceptable (see attached images). I asked around to verify that it is not a problem specific to my camera and it seems like a common issue. I contacted Nikon support, but to my surprise they did not seem to know about it. A second major issue for me is the Raw file size. You can select between 12 bit and 14 bit. I select 12 and the file size is 22 MB... This is way too large. My old Windows Vista computer couldn't handle the files, I had to upgrade it, not to mention the disk space. Minor issues: - The main mode dial now has a lock button that you have to push to switch from mode to mode. I can't tell you how annoying that is and you can never really get over it especially that i use it often and my previous camera didn't have it. - another issue is the position of the video record button. Again very poorly positioned. - I was very happy that my new camera has the live view feature that I thought would be great for taking pictures at festivals where the people in front of me are tall and I have to raise the camera up. Well, live view takes very long to focus and very long to take the picture after the shutter button is pressed. - When using bracketing, if by mistake you don't use all photos selected in the set, the next shot could come under or over exposed. Ex: if you choose a 5 photo set, make sure you take all 5. - it tends to under expose sometimes. What I love about this camera: - It has a sharp image. I did not have any problems due to the lack of the low pass filter. - Very high resolution screen. - Ability to take HDR photos in camera. Although the feature is buried in the menus, you can assign it to the preview or Fn buttons. However one annoying thing is that if you are in raw mode, you have to switch to JPG first and then select your HDR configuration. - I appreciate the high speed that did not exist in my previous D60. - You can take the picture at 1.3x, however I don't recommend it. If I am not mistaken, it seems the frame dimensions are not the same in DX like in 1.3DX. - it has built in interval timer in case you are interested in time lapse photography. I have yet to try it. - video quality is great (but not the sound#. - most of the time I have my focus point in the middle, but last time I was taking pictures at a fashion show and the 51 focus points came in handy. I always thought 3 was more than enough. Having said this, I find using the different focus modes is a too complicated. - Exposure bracketing is a great feature to have if you love HDR. I found the sequence it takes the pictures odd at first because it takes the normal picture at which the camera is set and then takes the others, but then I realized it is better that way because you can find the base picture more easily if you need to use it on its own. - I read somewhere that the position of the aperture and the shutter speeds are reversed in this camera #one in the front and the other in the back), but luckily that can be swapped from the menu. - The camera has a few other capabilities that are of no interest to me. Notes: Make sure you buy a fast card, otherwise With the file size you will be disappointed. I got two 32Gb cards and configured them for overflow, but I never filled one in on one day. I take a lot of pictures when I go on vacation. Overall, it could have been a great camera, but it is not. I would not recommend it just for the vertical lines problem and the poor performance in low light. Another note on the attachments. The attached images are not the worst problems I have had. I have other pictures that look worse, but I can't post them because they have people. I haven't tried printing them out to see how they would look, but being able to see those lines on the iPad doesn't make me happy. September 2, 2013
Nice camera but critical controls not positioned to my liking. Why I purchased a Nikon 7100: I was intrigued by the many new features it offered like the 24.1 megapixels, the 51 point focusing and some other extras my D80 doesn't have. Plus it is a video camera. What I like about the 7100: I liked the fast and quieter shutter. The camera seemed lighter then my D80. It seems to focus my Nikon 80-400 VR lens faster. The picture quality is superb. Having two card slots is nice. What I do not like about the 7100: The AF button was moved making it harder to change quickly, the shutter control button was moved to the ring on the left making it harder or switch and change quickly. Both of those buttons on a D80 can be used with one hand and one finger. The 7100 requires two hands (in my opinion). The ISO on the shooting menu was on the second page. It seems to me that the ISO is changed a lot and should accessed easily. On the D80 the ISO and light balance settings are one above the other on the first page of the shooting menu. These are used much in the program mode. For me these four changes made it harder to use this camera. Also, the manual was hard to follow as well as the on board menu as there are too many bells and whistles for my taste. Also, I should have checked further into this camera as a video. Strictly video cameras have image stabalization built into the camera. Nikon cameras do not which means you have to use a tripod. I was told though by a professional videographer that these type SLR cameras provide better imgaging thus better video. I wanted to handhold the camera though. Also on the 7100 the viewfinder does not swivel like the 5200. Note to those reading this review: If you are new to this camera or Nikon you may like it as you will learn its controls easier then I was comfortable with. The price is good as you get a plethora of options. Perhaps over time I might like it as well but I truly think those four controls are used the most and should be placed for easy and quick access. Final: I am returning the 7100 I purchased because I am not comfortable with it. As I have been a Nikon buyer for over 30 years and all my lenses are Nikon I will continue to purchase Nikon products. Hope I can find one now or later with the most critical controls easily accessible. If not my D80 has much life left to it and if I do need video I will purchase a dedicated video camera. May 19, 2013
upgrade? I do believe this is a great camera but for a DSLR that is suppose to be an upgrade from the D7000 i do not notice to much of a difference if there was more differences and greater quailty in comparable from the previous model i would give this a higher rating May 21, 2013
Hopeless sensor dirt / oil spots I purchased this camera as an upgrade to a D5100 and D3100. From the very first shot to the last (about 1400) I was plagued with a dirty sensor. The sensor constantly had dust on it, even right out of the box from Nikon, and worse it had nasty large circular rings/blotches which I assume are oil spots. I tried using the self cleaning feature to clear the problem without luck. I used a rocket cleaner/blower to clear the problem without luck. I could get the dust to go away for short periods but the rings/blotches would never go away. This was only a noticeable problem with images with bright sky and with HDR brackets (the reason I moved to this camera). I eventually resorted to doing several wet cleanings and as such voided my warranty. I was able to remove all but one ring/blotch and eventually gave up and retire the camera body. All of that said, this is an amazing camera. I haven't found anything I cannot configure and the image quality (aside from above) is superb. The focus control is simple, the exposure options are boundless, and the dual SD card slots are perfect for heavy shooting. Despite my horrible sensor experience with my first D7100 I have ordered and just received a new D7100. The first test shots to verify that I have a clean sensor came out good. I am hoping that I just got a lemon and wish now wish I had sent the first one to Nikon for cleaning. I have to give this product only 2 stars because Nikon should never ship the Flagship amateur camera with a dirty sensor. I used it for about 4 months and I have many spoiled shots from several international vacations to show for it. From now on I will be carrying a backup D5100 body/batteries in my kit. March 6, 2014
Decepcionado de esta Cámara I had 2 Nikon d5100 and D5200. I thougt that i upgrade my camera to d7100. Im very disappointed, the camera is slow in menu, shutter burst is slow, at last in internal memory have to take 5 fps, but i can only 2; restart the camera and i can take 5 fps but a while slow to 2 fps, restart camera and come back to 5fps. Both, Nikon d5200 and d5100 i could take 800 Photos in a single charge, bu in d7100 only 600. Nikon service in Mexico is worst, never take a call, dont have email. I hace only 20 days with the camera and service support said me that no change. Is the last time that i buy a Nikon Camera, when return to Service i will sale my lenses and cameras for another brand. August 27, 2013
Inconsistencies with AF and writing to SD card, crop mode is more of a gimmick than anything After owning 2 of these camera bodies I must say I am highly disappointed. I shoot posed and action sports photography, thus my shutter counts on both cameras are over 20k. The following issues are observed on these cameras and not on any other Nikon DSLR body I own (I own 4 D7000's, 1 D300s, and 2 D80's). AF when in AFS-C mode using a single focus point can occasionally just stop focusing - leaving you with a viewfinder stuck with both focus arrows visible > <. The camera will not resume focusing - NOR WILL THE CAMERA EVEN TAKE A PICTURE (even in shutter priority)- until the shutter button is released (which defeats the purpose of AFS-C). From what I have seen using only 8 and 16 GB Sandisk Extreme SDHC cards, about 1 in 8000 images will be corrupted when written to the card. That's just how it is. Even when trying to review the image in the camera just after taking the image the camera will just say 'card read error'. It's not the card, it's the camera. None of my D7000's have EVER written a corrupted image... EVER. My shutter counts on my D7000's are approx. 126,000, 62,000, 75,000, and 81,000. NEVER a corrupted image. But it happens on this camera body. Lastly, and most troubling, is the newly acquired issue of images just not being written to the sd card. I took action photos at a tournament just this weekend (father's day weekend) and was in CH mode and fired off 8 images of a kid batting/swinging. NONE of the images were written to my sd card. None of them. No "sd card error" or anything. It just simply didn't write the images. Crop mode is disorienting as when looking through the viewfinder there is a box outline as to where the image boundary is. I've found that the outline isn't that accurate either. It's really more of a gimmick and isn't needed. In conclusion, if you are the type of person to spend $1200 on a camera and seldom use it (100-500 shutter releases), you will likely never notice any issue. If you are a pro/semi pro that THOROUGHLY uses your camera (10,000+ shutter releases), expect issues or just get a different camera (the D600 comes to mind). June 16, 2013
Page: 2 3 4
<<prev
111 Questions | 161 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
111 Questions | 161 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
D7100
 
6 Answers

Buffer capacity for raw shots?

Feb 20, 2013 by
by
Aviationbuff
Suwanee, GA, USA
 on D7100
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Any word on the buffer capacity for raw shots? In other words, how many raw shots can be captured at 6fps before the buffer slows you down?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Aviationbuff
Suwanee, GA, USA
Location : 
Suwanee, GA, USA
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new SanDisk has 250MB/s try that. =)
Mar 20, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
the RAW buffer on this camera is pitiful!
Feb 26, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D7100 with two 64MB 45 MB/s Class 10 SDXC cards and I get the following in Raw only writing to slot 1 with slot 2 setup as Overflow.:

12 bit DX - 6
14 bit DX - 6
12 bit 1.3 Crop - 9
14 bit 1.3 Crop - 7

A 95 MB/s card might do better.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The use of 95MB / s SD Card, 12-bit compressed RAW mode, and disabling the distortion correction you will achieve up to 12 images 6FP / s. In 1.3x mode, 6fp/s 17 images. While the buffer is small, but the electronic processing is very fast and makes emptying the buffer in less than 3 seconds. (provided you use a card capable of recording as fast)
Apr 26, 2013 by
by
Kinon
France
Location : 
France
Age: 55-65
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
Wow, so disappointing. Don't get me wrong, the D7100 is impressive, and It may be the new "Flagship" of the DX line, but is certainly not a D300s replacement. The small raw frame buffer is a deal-breaker for me. I have used a D7000 along with my D300 for years. The D7000 frame buffer kept it from being useful for action photography. Now the frame buffer on the 7100 is even less. Nikon, you let me down...
Feb 21, 2013 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address
Age: 45-54

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Its only 6-7 in raw! you can see at the bottom of this page
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d7100/spec.htm
Feb 21, 2013 by
by
mR
NZ
Location : 
NZ
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7100
 
6 Answers

LCD cover?

Feb 21, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D7100
+11points
12out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful1
No LCD cover? Not even as an accessory?
Will the D7000's BM-11 LCD Cover fit the D7100?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I wish they did. I'm a beginner and had the D7000 and dropped it in a river. hghuieahfiruoa!!!!!!! It came on after drying it out forever but was stuck in date setting mode. I sent it to Nikon to see if it was repairable. They sent it back saying unrepairable. fhdusiaorheuia!!!!!!

So I decided to upgrade to the D7100 since lenses still worked, but the LCD cover didn't work. And no places to attach one! jfdksapufjesaf;dk!!!!!!!
Feb 19, 2014 by
by
birdlady
TN
Location : 
TN
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
At work, I have a D7000 with a BM-11 LCD cover. Personnally, I have a D7100 with a Zagg protective sheet on the LCD. I needed something before going to Singapore, and could not get a Zagg fitted sheet in time. My local Best Buy had a Zagg 3 Pack and I trimmed one of these to fit. It installed easily, and has worked fine ever since. I use Zagg skins on my Nikon D7100 and D5100, iPhones(2), iPad, Garmin Zumo GPS, and Galaxy 3S work phone. I've never had a problem with any Zagg product, and the Zagg skin is much clearer than the BM-11.
Oct 11, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I found cover made for D7100 @ ZAGG inc. Fit is good,apply is easy and I've had it on since march 2013 with no problems.
Aug 16, 2013 by
by
Wojo
Fenton, MI, USA
Location : 
Fenton, MI, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Someone on another forum suggested the GGS Larmor Universal 3" screen protector. Has anyone tried this?
Apr 4, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
Answer: 
From comparing photos, I suspect that the BM-14 cover, which was originally for the D600, is going to work on this camera; they both have 3.2" screens, and look almost identical, on the back.
Feb 23, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
8out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful5
Answer: 
I noticed the same thing. It doesn't look like Nikon is going to use an LCD cover on the D7100 which is a shame. If you look at the pic you will see the absence of attachment points and also raised areas on the edge of the LCD screen are not there.

My D70 and D7000 use LCD covers and those covers have saved the screens on both bodies on more than one occasion. I think Nikon is trying to push FX more and as a result the DX line is being push down towards the entry level photographer.
Feb 21, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
6 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7100
 
5 Answers

What is the fastest SD card the D7100 can effectively make use of

Mar 7, 2013 by
by
JRTPics
Upstate New york
 on D7100
+1point
4out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
I am looking forward to upgrading from the D7000 to the D7100. One issue with the D7000 is filling the buffer and waiting for the RAW photos to be transferred to the SD card. I would like to purchase SD cards that minimize the transfer time but I do not want to pay for speed in the card that the processor in the D7100 will not utilize when transferring photos. The manual for the D7000 says a class 6 card is needed as a minimum for continuous video. But I cannot find anywhere a card class or speed for fastest possible transfer of still photos to the card. Thank you..
1 year, 1 month ago
by
JRTPics
Upstate New york
Location : 
Upstate New york
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am now using a SanDisk Extreme Pro and yes it does make a significant difference.
Feb 23, 2014 by
by
JRTpics
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D7100 can write at 99MB/s. I only managed to find one SD card (backed with read & write speed specs) that can come close to matching the D7100's write speed. The SanDisk Extreme Pro can support a write speed of 95 MB/s. Other makes that list fast speeds are only listing their read speeds; their write speeds are actually lower. They all read about the same speed.

Edit: There is a new SD card spec that was just recently released - UHS-II which supports a write speed of 250 MB/s. The D7100 is UHS-I compliant.
Feb 22, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
OK, must be UHS-1. But will the transfer time decrease with a 95MB/s SD card vs. a 45MB/s card? In other words, what is the limiting factor here, card or camera?
Apr 27, 2013 by
by
Charlie C

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
One caveat to JoeR's answer, there are some UHS-1 cards that go only up to 45mb/s vs others that go as high as 95mb/s so make sure you know what you're getting.
Mar 31, 2013 by
by
Kendo
NYC

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
UHS-1
Mar 7, 2013 by
by
JoeR
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7100
 
4 Answers

How many multiple exposures? More than the 7000's three?

Feb 21, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D7100
+1point
4out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Multiple exposures to a single image is still limited to three.Page 141 of user's manual mentions it in the first sentence where it states that you can have two or three. Later it confuses the matter when it talks about gain being 1/2 for 2 exposures and 1/3 for three etc. The etc. makes you think that you can have more, but you can't.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry about "greytourist" and "JoeR (Number one contributor)".
They bought miss up with multiple exposure and bracketing.
In multiple expose function D7100 create only one image file, but it is choice from 2 or 3 exposures. That is why that function named “multiple exposure”.
In Auto bracketing function D7100 create separate image files.
And it can be AE (Auto Expose) & Flash, AE only, Flash only, WB (White Balance), and ADL (Active D-Lighting) bracketing.
Auto bracketing Max number for D7100 is five, except ADL (Active D-Lighting) bracketing for which max is 3.
Good luck.
Apr 5, 2013 by
by
Yevegn
Watertown, MA, USA
Location : 
Watertown, MA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
What type of multiple exposure?
According to the Tech Spec page,
Exposure bracketing : up to 5 steps.
A-DL bracketing: up to 3 steps.
True Multiple Exposure (multiple captures into a single data file): no information.
Feb 25, 2013 by
by
greytourist
Pacific Northwest USA
Location : 
Pacific Northwest USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Bracketing is limited to three exposures.
Feb 22, 2013 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7100
 
3 Answers

FPS with the MB-D15 grip

Feb 21, 2013 by
by
smizar
Boston, MA, USA
 on D7100
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
THe D7100 shoots 6 FPS in DX mode and 7 FPS in 1.3X mode. Is there a FPS boost when the battery pack MB-D15 is used for either modes? Thanks!
1 year, 1 month ago
by
smizar
Boston, MA, USA
Location : 
Boston, MA, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The D7000 did not get a burst speed boost with the battery pack attached. None of the literature -- or pre-release reviews -- mention any fps increase. Still 6 fps is better than some of Nikon's FX cameras.
Mar 5, 2013 by
by
Vidterry
Central, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404, USA
Location : 
Central, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Technicaly MB-D15 grip use six AA batteries, which if you use rechargeble batteries, will produce 7.2 volts(the same voltage as original EN-EL 15 battery).

For FPS boost Nikon SLR cameras needs higher voltage.

For example D300, D300S grip used or 8 AA batteries, which provide 8.9 volts with rechargeble AA batteries and 12 volts with Alkaline AA batteries, or EN-EL4a rechargeable Li-ion battery, which providing 11.1 volts.
MB-D15 grip use only six AA batteries (Alkaline or Ni-MH or Lithium), or EN-EL 15 rechargeable Li-ion batteries. That meens camera will get only 7.2 volts.
Feb 22, 2013 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, USA
Location : 
Watertown, MA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No mention of fps boost in the MB-15 specs.
Feb 21, 2013 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7100
 
3 Answers

Where is the "remote" setting since it is not on the release mode dial anymore?

Feb 22, 2013 by
by
Nmuddie
Glenmoore, PA 19343, USA
 on D7100
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Nmuddie
Glenmoore, PA 19343, USA
Location : 
Glenmoore, PA 19343, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The User's Guide is out now, and the best way to view it is the Nikon Manual Viewer 2 app for the iPad. It's free and I have all my Nikon user guides on it.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can access it by pressing the i button on the bottom left of the camera back. You will see the Information Screen with a small two line menu. Use the multi-selector to move the yellow cursor to the ML-3 menu item (bottom left) and press the OK button to access the ML-mode menu.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon hasn't released the D7100's manual yet, but probably it's hidden in the Menus, like the D5x00.
And i agree: the lack of a "remote" setting in the release mode dial surely is a down.
Feb 25, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
As mentioned previously, the D7100 does not have a 50 ISO setting. It does have HI-0.3,0.7,1, and 2, corresponding to ISOs from 8000 to 26,500. See page 79 in the user's guide.

I would love a 50 ISO.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It has Hi-1 and Hi-2. It does not have LO-1. Click the tech specs tab for more info.
Mar 15, 2013 by
by
Joey
NJ, USA

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No
Mar 12, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D7100
 
3 Answers

Is there quick access to infrared remote shutter release (ML-L3), perhaps under Mup on the shutter release dial?

Mar 13, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Minnesota, USA
 on D7100
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Minnesota, USA
Location : 
Minnesota, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
With the camera ready to shoot (no menu displayed), press the i button. The i button is the bottom button to the left of the screen. The screen display will have the ML-3 remote mode at the bottom left of the screen with a yellow cursor somewhere on the bottom two rows of the screen. Use the directional control to move the cursor to the ML-3 mode display. Press OK to bring up the ML-3 options and use the directional control to select the desired option. Press OK again, and your desired ML-3 mode is active. See page 10 of the User's Guide, The Information Display, and page 12, Changing Settings on the Information Display.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The easy way to access remote release is under the "i" button, which has a shortcut to this function.
Mar 26, 2013 by
by
New D7100 Owner
Minnesota, USA
Location : 
Minnesota, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
No, the remote setting is not on the release mode dial, It is accessible from the camera shooting menu.
Mar 16, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have a D90 and on bright sunny days it's almost impossible to see the monitor when shooting videos.
11 months ago
by
Pistol_Ridge
Mississippi, USA
Location : 
Mississippi, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just want to add, there are many third party LCD hoods/shades that are very effective in blocking out bright light.
Apr 26, 2013 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry misread question, only live view for video. Viewfinder for stills only.
Apr 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Both the D7100 and the D 600 have viewfinders in addition to live view.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D7100
 
3 Answers

D7100 Moving Focus Point when shooting

Jul 27, 2013 by
by
Ratings
Los Angeles
 on D7100
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have spent hours alone with my new D7100 and with a professional photographer who shoots with Nikons. We cannot for the life of us figure this ONE Question out. How do you MOVE THE FOCUS POINT (Focal Point) around without being in Manual Focus Mode? We can do it without a problem on his Nikon (I think it was a D90).

I will further clarify: If we put the camera in Manual Focus, it allows us to move the focus point around both while viewing the LCD screen in the INFO mode and while looking in to the camera viewfinder. We CAN see the highlighted focal point and move it around with the d-pad.

But we cannot do this in the Auto-Focus mode. And, YES WE ARE in AF-S.

I would be so incredibly grateful for help in resolving this incredibly challenging issue.

I have searched the manual high and low and cannot find the solution.

Thank you!
8 months ago
by
Ratings
Los Angeles
Location : 
Los Angeles
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You probably have the Focus Lock on. It is the ring around the Multi-selector and OK button on the right rear of the camera. If it is set to L, the focus position is locked. Move it to the dot, and make sure you are not set to Auto area-AF. You should now be able to move the focus point with the Multi-selector. Page 75 of the User's Guide covers this area. The mention the thing about not being in Auto area-AF in the box at the bottom of the page.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
First be sure that your camera is in Single-Point AF Area Mode. If you are shooting in AF-S with Single-Point AF-Area Mode you will be able to move your focus point. The AF-Area mode is changed by pressing the AF mode button and rotating the sub-command dial (front dial). Additionally, the focus point will be locked if the Focus Selector Lock on the back of the camera is set to "L".

An important thing to note is that the focus point will only move if the viewfinder and control panel have been activated by a half-press of the shutter release button. When you half-press the shutter release button the focus point will be activated, along with the viewfinder and control panel shutter speed and aperture displays. You will then be able to move the focus point using the multi-selector. This is deactivated after about 6 seconds if no operations are performed. You can adjust the amount of time the focus point remains active by changing the Standby Timer settings (C2 in custom settings menu).
Aug 2, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4
Answer: 
Try page 75 it think it is your answer if I am understanding your question correctly.
You can download the reference manual here:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/18247/~/user's-manual---nikon-d7100
Jul 27, 2013 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers