Loading
;

Unleash the power of Nikon's DX-format HD-SLR system.

Nikon D7100 D-SLR product photo
Meet the new flagship of Nikon's outstanding DX-format HD-SLR line-up: the D7100. Incorporating recent advancements in HD-SLR technology, the D7100 brings a thrilling new level of image quality, speed, connectivity and creative capabilities—a specially designed 24.1-megapixel DX-format image sensor, superior low-light performance, ultra-precise autofocus and metering, advanced video recording features, built-in HDR, mobile connectivity and much, much more. Pair it with any of Nikon's superb NIKKOR DX- and FX-format lenses, versatile Speedlights and accessories, and the D7100 will be the centerpiece of your creativity for years to come.
Photo of a bird on a branch and close-up inset of the bird's face showing high resolution

Capture every detail true to life

Pure, sharp images

The D7100 marks an exciting advancement in image quality for high-resolution DX-format cameras. Nikon specially designed its 24.1-megapixel DX-format CMOS sensor without using an optical low pass filter (OLPF), resulting in the purest, sharpest images using D7100's DX-format CMOS sensor. Combine that with fantastic ISO performance at both ends of the spectrum—down to ISO 100 and up to ISO 6400—the processing speed and intelligence of EXPEED 3 and the extra lens reach of a 1.3x crop factor, and the D7100 is the ultimate tool for those seeking a lightweight DX-format HD-SLR.
Photo of a skier going down a mountain in powder showing fast AF speed

Speed and precision in harmony

High-speed shooting with flawless metering and autofocus

When the action speeds up, fire a blazing fast 6 frames per second continuously for up to 100 shots. Building on the acclaimed autofocus system from the D300s, the D7100 uses 51 focus points, including 15 cross-type sensors for detecting both vertical and horizontal contrast variations, to achieve fast, precise focus. The central cross-type sensor works all the way down to f/8, a huge advantage when using compatible teleconverters. At the same time, a highly accurate 2016-pixel RGB sensor evaluates every scene, taking into account brightness, contrast, subject distance and color, for spot-on auto operations like Face-Priority and full-time autofocus during video capture.
Nikon D7100 side of body close up with WU-1a wireless mobile adapter in place

Wireless sharing and control

Compatible with the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter

The D7100 makes it easy to share your great photos immediately, wherever you are. Connect the optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter and instantly transfer shots to a compatible smartphone or tablet, then upload them to the web, send by email or text—share them however you like. With Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Utility installed on your smartphone or tablet (available for both Android and iOS), you can also remotely control the D7100. Use your phone or tablet as a Live View monitor to take shots without having the camera in your hands, a huge advantage for everything from self portraits to digiscoping with a Nikon fieldscope.
Nikon D7100, lens and ME-1 microphone on a tripod on a mountaintop

Create movies that amaze

Dazzling 1080p videos, slow-motion and time-lapse sequences

With full-time autofocus and manual exposure control during video recording, a built-in stereo mic and an external stereo mic jack, headphone and HDMI jacks, the D7100 achieves exceptional cinematic reproduction and quality. Record in several high-definition formats: 1080@50/60i, 1080@24/25/30p or 720@30/60p. Dual SD card slots give you additional recording time, and an all new 60i function enables smooth playback on HDTVs or external monitors. And, of course, every shot looks great through a NIKKOR lens. Create beautiful background blur with the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, or use the AF-S DX NIKKOR 10-24mm for an ultra-wide-angle view that's perfect for establishing shots and working in tight interiors.
Creative landscape photo of buildings on the water using an artistic effect built-in to the Nikon D7100

Creativity on demand

The D7100 will inspire your creativity to new heights. Built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) combines shots taken simultaneously at different exposures into one beautifully rich, high-contrast image. Picture Control gives you instant access to the color characteristics of your images, and spot White Balance control for Live View shooting makes setting the white balance as easy as pointing to the area in the frame that should be white. You can even apply artistic Image Effects to both stills and videos in real-time.
Illustration of the front and back views of the Nikon D7100 chassis

High-end design

The D7100 has the comfortable handling and durability of a high-end Nikon camera. A durable magnesium alloy body with moisture and dust resistance protects the camera's internal parts from the elements. A new 3.2-inch ultra-high-resolution 1,229K-dot LCD monitor provides crisp image playback, menu adjustments and Live View shooting, and a new viewfinder with a low-power consumption electro-luminescent (EL) data display provides approx. 100% frame coverage.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

Sale

D7100 Body Only

Now $1,099.95
Reg. $1,199.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1513
Sale

18-105mm VR Lens Kit

D7100 Camera BodyAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Now $1,399.95
Reg. $1,599.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1515
Sale

18-140mm VR Lens Kit

D7100 Camera BodyAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Now $1,399.95
Reg. $1,699.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13302
Sale

Two Lens Kit

D7100 Camera BodyAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VRAF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Now $1,649.95
Reg. $2,129.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13293
Sale

D7100 Enhanced Variety Bundle

18-105mm VR Lens Kit4GB SanDisk Class 10 SD CardAF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VRME-1 Stereo MicrophoneD-SLR Pro Messenger Bag — LargeD7000, D7100 Extended Service Coverage (2 Years)
Now $1,979.95
Reg. $2,469.79
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: false, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=JB_D7100Bundle
D7100 4.7 5 103 103
Phenomenal camera!!! Bought the D7100 about 2 months ago, I upgraded it from the D7000. From day one I had back focusing issues with my old D7000 and while in time Nikon service and Fine Tuning helped a lot it never fully resolved my problems. So when I gave up on the D7000 I upgraded to the D7100 and MAN what a HUGE change. All my pictures are sharp, sharp, sharp!!! Low light performance is about same as the D7000 which means for a crop sensor camera its great. Up to 3200 ISO I am using it with no problems. I read some people complaining the buffer is too small for burst mode. Well For me I don't need more then that and if you really want more then simply put it on 1.3 crop mode and JPEG Fine and you get up to 22 frames till the buffer (I tested it myself). Dynamic range on this camera is amazing, simply amazing. To sum it up I think for its price this camera is a marvel, will do all you need and leave you happy with gorgeous pictures. September 17, 2013
Great buy! I purchased the D7100 as an upgrade of my D90. I simply love this camera. Price/quality ratio is excellent. Words to describe it would be versatility, rapidity, brightness. Vesatiliy because it can adapt to various condition, with high range if ISO. Rapidity as the response is quick, and you can shoot up to 6 fps. Brightness because I really enjoy to capture bright light. The results are excellent. Photography is my hobby, and I really have fun with this new camera. I encourage you to try it! August 4, 2013
Love it! The Nikon D7100 is my first DSLR camera. My initial plan was to go with the Nikon D3200 - but everyone I spoke with (shooting with one) tried to sell me their setups, eager to upgrade to the 7100. I wanted a camera that I could grow into-- and I am confident I picked the right one! There is definitely a learning curve coming from a point-and-shoot, some of the controls are unintuitive/ very hidden. That being said- I never sat down with my manual, I just jumped right in and started playing around. Overall, I am so glad I chose this camera as my entry into the photography world. It has been a pleasure learning on. I am happy with the pictures I am taking- they just keep getting better and better. I love this camera and I know I am going to continue to love it for years to come. Still much to learn, but I feel like I am off to a great start, and excited to see what else I can do with it! I would definitely recommend the Nikon D7100 to others just starting off with photography (currently trying to talk my dad into buying one). July 20, 2013
Excellent camera. This is my second D7100, the first I returned because of too frequent sensor cleaning. This second camera is performing beyond my expectations. I ordered it with the kit lens 18-105MM as well as 70-300 MM and 35MM 1.8 lens. I just finished covering a local airshow with the 70-300MM lens, shooting RAW in 1.3 crop mode with excellent quality pictures. I would highly recommend this camera. It is not a professional model but certainly lives up to being the flagship for the enthusiasts camera. July 1, 2013
Great Camera I especially love the virtual horizon. I did not think I would use that feature much, but I use it a lot. It is certainly a feature rich camera. I am sure by the time I have remembered half of what is in the user guide (very meaty) the camera may be obsolete. Happily, features I have used in the past, like AE lock are easier to use. While I prefer to take stills (I have a semi pro video camera), I did try the video on this baby, and I must say, the video and audio quality are both great. My only annoyance is that Adobe CS5 does not have a raw converter that works with the NEF files this camera shoots. I really wish Nikon could work closer with companies like Adobe so that the infernal software producers wouldn't have leverage to force users to purchase new software everytime we want to update our cameras. June 29, 2013
Great camera for anyone beginner to professional! I started out with a D3200 as my first camera not too long ago. I felt like I reached the end of what I was able to do with that camera and decided to upgrade. The D7100 was able to fulfill all the requirements that I needed from prosumer camera and not break the bank. I would definitely recommend this camera 10/10! June 4, 2013
Simply Amazing I think this is one of the best cameras I have ever owned. I switched from canon a few years back to the Nikon D7000 and could not have been happier. Then when the D7100 came out i just had to upgrade and I was not disappointed. I loved all the extra features especially the HDR and effects settings. I mainly use DSLR's for video and the options are a great step up from the D7000 which you could only really shoot 24 frames per second at 1080p, and I love the interval timer setting which I have been having a lot of fun with. When I got the camera a week ago I have not been able to put it down. The only camera I think i Enjoy more then this is the Nikon D800 and one day I will own that one too. April 10, 2013
Una verdadera belleza en calidad - precio!! He pasado por varios modelos de Sony y ninguno se compara con la calidad y prestaciones que te ofrece la D7100 recomendado para avanzados e incluso para fotógrafos profesionales, dada las características y diversidad de lentes que ofrece Nikon. April 21, 2014
Foco incrível e qualidade soberba de imagem Venho de outra marca com a qual fotografava profissionalmente. Optei pela D7100 e seu sensor APS-C de 24 mp, que me permitiria maior aproveitamento da distância focal em lentes FX menores, já que trabalho com fotografia de natureza, podendo utilizar lentes como a 80-400 mm com distância de foco equivalente a 600mm em uma DX. A primeira surpresa se deu em relação à qualidade da imagem e das cores: fiquei muito impressionado com a qualidade final de imagem oferecida pela câmera. A segunda grande surpresa foi o soberbo sistema de autofoco, permitindo incríveis fotografias de animais em movimento com uma nitidez e uma rapidez que eu não tinha experimentado antes. Além disso, achei que teria muita dificuldade em me adaptar à nova câmera, mas tudo é muito intuitivo e fácil de se usar para quem está acostumado com os princípios básicos da fotografia em câmeras SLR. Estou plenamente satisfeito com essa câmera e acho que não saio mais da marca Nikon. September 2, 2013
Perfeita! A Nikon D7100 é um sonho! Produz imagens perfeitas, com qualidade altíssima! O corpo, com anatomia robusta, permite perfeito encaixe na mão e segurança no manuseio. O motor de foco que a D7100 tem deixa os amantes de muitas lentes ainda mais felizes! Os recursos são tantos que ainda não consegui utilizar tudo o que a câmera oferece. É um produto para amadores estudiosos da fotografia - como eu - e para os que fazem uso profissional, sem dúvida! Acho que ficarei com ela por muito tempo! Até agora, é a minha preferida! July 13, 2013
Excelente Yo comenze con una D3100 y acabo de dar el salto a la D7100, una excelente camara para continuar el aprendizaje y porque ser un poco mas profesional, recomendada ampliamente!!!!!!!! June 16, 2013
produto otimo muito bom qualidade de fotos excelente tenho duas D7100 June 13, 2013
Acima da média. Na condição de fotógrafo sempre busco equipamentos que antendam a minha necessidade, encontrei na D7100 uma câmera robusta, rápida e completa para fotografias de natureza, uma das área que atuo. Realmente essa câmera no segmento APS tem o que existe de melhor em termos de resolução e recursos. Recomendo a todos que procuram uma câmera completa e versátil. June 4, 2013
Excelentes recursos da Nikon D7100 Os recursos da Nikon D7100 com adaptador opcional móvel sem fio WU-1a é o avanço nas tecnologias digitais profissionais, aliada as redes sociais. June 3, 2013
impresionante Una camara real mente estupenda se puede decir que es profesional, Acta pera profesionales con bajos recursos economicos. Muy buenas prestaciones, rapido manejo gracias al voton de informacion May 27, 2013
Excelente equipamento Trabalho com fotografia já há alguns anos e procuro sempre utilizar vários equipamentos, de marcas diferentes e, principalmente, com características bem distintas. Quando usei pela primeira vez a Nikon D7100 foi amor à primeira vista. Magnífica qualidade de imagem e grande quantidade de recursos. Rapidez e robustez com uma ampla gama de acessórios completam o pacote. Iniciei há 2 semanas com o Kit básico (corpo D7100 + lente 18-105mm) e depois comprei mais uma bateria, o flash SB910 e uma lente 18-300mm. Acho que meus dias de peregrinação e conhecimento de equipamentos terminaram e vou fincar raízes com essa máquina. Verdadeira máquina de sonhos! May 7, 2013
Only back focus issue I waited over ten months to write this review to make sure I am not rushing into this and I have done my due diligence. I have noticed two issues with this camera or at least the one I have, 1) Low ISO performance 2) Back focus issue. In regards to ISO, I didn't expect much from a DX camera. As far as the second issue (back focus) goes, as a long time Nikon user (since 1981), I am extremely disappointed that Nikon doesn't have more effective quality control process in place in its factories where the DSLR cameras are produced. The high end models don’t seem to be suffering from quality issues as much as they are manufactured in Japan. My past several years’ unfortunate experiences began with the D7000 model which had severe back focus issue. Then when I bought the D600, I had the sensor dirt spot issue, afterwards with the D800 which was also suffering from the sensor dirt spot issue, similar to D600 (within the first two weeks I was looking at tens of black spots on all images I was taking), and finally, I had the back focus issue with the D7100. I couldn’t believe that the last four Nikon DSLRs I had bought had issues. All seemed to be things that you would think a real quality control process will be able to eliminate. Had I had not the back focus issue with D7100, I would've given it five stars. In case you are wondering, I ended up taking my D7100 to Nikon service center in Los Angeles and had the focus issue resolved. They had to make some adjustments. I wonder, if Nikon checks the focus system accuracy before releasing their cameras to market. After all, isn’t the whole purpose of a camera to take pictures and preferably focused? By the way, Nikon service center’s service was great. I received a call exactly one week from the date I dropped my camera off at Nikon. (Yes, I am one of the lucky ones who lives in Los Angeles and can drop off the camera vs. shipping it in). May 17, 2014
Best DX you can find This camera is best described as a FX with a DX sensor. This is my backup camera but when I am out taking pictures of wildlife I tend to set down my full frame and pick this up instead for the extras. In nature I usually use my 80-400 fx lens on the d7100 it is 1.5 x the mm giving me an extra 200mm and if that is not enough I can use crop mode dropping to 15Mp but increasing my reach an additional X 1.3. Over all this is an awesome buy not only for the money for what you get. The built in focus motor allows me to interchange any of my lenses and this camera produces professional photos that are sharp. Best of all I have had no troubles in extreme cold temperatures. The only con I have found is in the focusing system I have focused on eyes and had the nose chest or chin instead I have been using the center focus point and recomposing to fix this but will try to calibrate or fine tune when I have time maybe that will clear it up if that does not work it may as well only have one focus point. April 8, 2014
great features compared to the others a great choice for both begginers & a a matures, and professional too April 6, 2014
Clear and crisp Great new camera. Bought it for the crop factors. Nice sharp results for wildlife and other photography. Don't like the noise above 1600 iso. I am spoiled be the Fx cameras I own. But if you are looking for a cheap teleconverter for wildlife in good lighting this is your camera. The new Toshiba sensor renders nice color and contrast. Auto focus is better than my D600 and a bit faster than my D800. For the money, it is well worth it. March 4, 2014
Excellent, if you know what you're doing. I love it for the most part, ..I left out the 5th star because I shoot RAW, ..it lacks a buffer and has some deep shadow banding. The banding issue can be worked around 95% of the time, and the buffer issue is really up to your shooting habits, but for me it is good enough. And also, it only shoots 5ps (not 6fps) when you are at the highest 14bit raw setting. If you are a jpg shooter, ..you'll be in heaven! When good (expensive) glass is used, the image quality really shines; but otherwise, it still looks good with cheap glass. The video quality has also much improved over the d7000. And with an external recorder this can become another budget-cinematographer's dream. If you shoot lower than 400 ISO, you are competing against any full-frame (IQ) counterpart. The high ISO's (1600+) are decent, ..about a 1/2 stop better than the d7000. If you down sample the 24mp to 12mp, it rivals the FX d700 in low light. The layout/functionality is good for me, ...but that is really a personal thing. A matter of getting used to it, ..like a gun or a car. The AF is nice and quicker than the d7000, but not light years ahead. Overall it is probably the best crop-sensor camera you'll find for awhile. If you are really on a small budget, ..consider the d5200 or a used d7000. August 5, 2013
D7100 I purchased a D7100 as a replacement for my D300S. Unfortunately I've found that the images produced by the D7100 don't seem as sharp as those taken with my D300S, a big factor in the kind of photography I do. My main interest is in photographing birds and I'm not getting the same level of detail in the feathers as I did with my prior camera. I've had several excellent opportunities to capture the detail in birds' feathers in good light using my same (Nikkor F4 200-400mm) lens but the feathers just aren't 'crisp'. Otherwise, the camera and controls are easy to use and the mirror is noticably quieter. May 9, 2013
It should be 4 1/2 out of 5 First - to get it out of the way, the one negative I see - no change in the buffer from the D7000. One tip that someone made (I'll have to try this) is to turn off distortion control, which will give up to 12 shots at 6fps before the buffer fills (using a high end SD card. If you're using LR or PS (or even PTLens), then you can apply lens correction in post processing (something I prefer to do vs. in camera). That said, the updated focusing is extremely fast, and accurate, as is the metering - better than the D7000 (which was excellent in and of itself). The images are sharp. There is a bit more noise at higher ISO's (I've shot up to 3200 so far), but the image fidelity remains. Again, easily fixed in post processing. April 30, 2013
Excellent camera with a variety of options to enhance your photos I up grade my D7000 with this amazing D7100 the resolution is very impressive , now i spend less time retouching the photos, I have only one problem , the beep sound of the camera does not work with the auto focus (d1 of the custom menu in AF-S) , I have connected to the service support and I hope to receive a response to fix the problem or I will have to return this amazing camera. Nikon should have better quality control of their products. April 1, 2013
one of the best DX format camera great camera in this price range. good job Nikon. full feature packed machine. wish this would have built in HDR with raw images, bit more image buffer size. March 23, 2013
Nikon carries on with the legacy of D7000 with D7100 with lots of upgrades I got a chance to sample this camera at a demo. The first looks and handling was superb. The camera body feels top class with sturdy yet soft design. Shutter speeds for shooting in continuous mode is consistent with D7000. Video shooting with 1080p 60i is simply amazing. With a tripod/ base support, the video is sharp, flows well and doesn't feel as if shot with a still camera. The most interesting aspects of D7100 which I realized were - 51 point focus using manual settings and the bigger display screen. This 3.2 " LCD display comes in handy while shooting videos although doesn't make a difference while shooting pictures thru view finder. 1.5 x crop factor is a handy feature, but I wasn't able to utilize that in the indoors with the time I had with the camera. Overall, the handling and picture quality has not changed much when compared to that of D7000, except for the resolution. You end up paying for additional upgrades such as Wireless sharing, 24.3 MP over D7000. On the negatives, personally, I couldn't explore enough to point at them. However, it will take some time for the chinks in D7100 to surface as people start using it and this is all I could assess and understand with the limited time I had with the demo model. Essentially, D7100 for me is an offspring version of D7000 with upgrades. Hope this camera performs as good as its predecessor - which I love and possess. March 15, 2013
Almost great but... Finally received it yesterday. I upgraded from the D300. I'm still getting used to the smaller body in my hand. It will likely be handy when I travel but it's difficult to change the focus points with one eye in the viewfinder. I love all the extra pixels and great quality of the pictures as well as the overall technological advances, although I could have done without the auto modes and the various scenes which might be helpful for the beginners. My GREAT, great disapointment is that the diopter adjustment only goes from -2 to +1m whereas my previous D70, D200, and D300 could be adjusted from -3 to +1m. This means that I can't see a sharp focus. I know that Nikon sells corrective lenses but, besides the price, you cannot use the rubber eyepiece with them. I have absolutely no idea why Nikon could not leave well enough alone. This being said, the D7100 is a great camera for the price. March 26, 2013
Elevação do nível fotográfico Eu fotografo esportes radicais e vinha da arcaica D50 (quebrou o galho por bastante tempo), como sabemos, equipamentos fotográficos são caros, e por isso gastei muito tempo em pesquisas sobre a qualidade final dos produtos, famoso custo x beneficio e por pesquisar demais tive a sorte do lançamento da D7100 acontecer antes da troca do meu equipamento. Por se tratar de uma câmera nova, tive sim um pouco de pé atras em adquiri-la, mas por usar e confiar nos produtos Nikon, me decidir a comprar a D7100 e não me arrependo em nenhum centavo. A precisão do sistema de foco, a velocidade nos disparos e a alta fidelidade nas imagens capturadas me dão a certeza de que essa câmera é sim a melhor escolha dentre as de formato DX. Já tinha manuseado outras boas câmeras DX, mas nenhuma me mostrou tantas qualidades e recursos quanto a essa câmera que descrevo aqui. Se você deseja elevar suas fotos a outro nível, dentro de um menor orçamento, com certeza essa é a melhor opção. October 17, 2013
Avaliação D7100 As fotos são ótimas, qualidade superior que a D7000, Rápida, ISO muito bom. Mais em 20 dias de uso deu problema, ela não leu mais a lente, informando leitura de abertura sempre em F--, não foca mais no automático, e no manual quando tira a fotografia a imagem é preta, pareçe um problema elétrico. July 2, 2013
Great until the oil spots I had the camera a little over a year (April 2013) with just under 3K shutter clicks. Started seeing the spots in January 2014 (upper left corner), did the in-camera self cleaning a few times, then they went away. Started using the camera heavily in March, and on the 31st I took pics and the spots are so prominent and heavy, that most of the shots are unusable. I purchased a third-party extended warranty (after my experience with pixels with the D5100), and will be shipping the camera out today. I love the camera, and up until recently had not had any issues. I love the focus and clarity in the photos. April 4, 2014
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
115 Questions | 170 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
115 Questions | 170 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
D7100
 
7 Answers

What is the fastest SD card the D7100 can effectively make use of

Mar 7, 2013 by
by
JRTPics
Upstate New york
 on D7100
+6points
9out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful3
I am looking forward to upgrading from the D7000 to the D7100. One issue with the D7000 is filling the buffer and waiting for the RAW photos to be transferred to the SD card. I would like to purchase SD cards that minimize the transfer time but I do not want to pay for speed in the card that the processor in the D7100 will not utilize when transferring photos. The manual for the D7000 says a class 6 card is needed as a minimum for continuous video. But I cannot find anywhere a card class or speed for fastest possible transfer of still photos to the card. Thank you..
1 year, 4 months ago
by
JRTPics
Upstate New york
Location : 
Upstate New york
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
7 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just bought the SanDisk Extreme Pro 95 mb/s and they are perfect!!
May 28, 2014 by
by
run4fun
Boston, MA, USA
Location : 
Boston, MA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The San Disk Extreme Pro has a write speed of 95 mb/s. I am using this in my new D7100 and it is
FANTASTIC. I will not elaborate further as someone else already provided excellent information. I just wanted to support their comments.
May 20, 2014 by
by
Susan
Fairbanks, Alaska
Location : 
Fairbanks, Alaska
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am now using a SanDisk Extreme Pro and yes it does make a significant difference.
Feb 23, 2014 by
by
JRTpics
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D7100 can write at 99MB/s. I only managed to find one SD card (backed with read & write speed specs) that can come close to matching the D7100's write speed. The SanDisk Extreme Pro can support a write speed of 95 MB/s. Other makes that list fast speeds are only listing their read speeds; their write speeds are actually lower. They all read about the same speed.

Edit: There is a new SD card spec that was just recently released - UHS-II which supports a write speed of 250 MB/s. The D7100 is UHS-I compliant.
Feb 22, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
OK, must be UHS-1. But will the transfer time decrease with a 95MB/s SD card vs. a 45MB/s card? In other words, what is the limiting factor here, card or camera?
Apr 27, 2013 by
by
Charlie C

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
One caveat to JoeR's answer, there are some UHS-1 cards that go only up to 45mb/s vs others that go as high as 95mb/s so make sure you know what you're getting.
Mar 31, 2013 by
by
Kendo
NYC

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
UHS-1
Mar 7, 2013 by
by
JoeR
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7100
 
6 Answers

Buffer capacity for raw shots?

Feb 20, 2013 by
by
Aviationbuff
Suwanee, GA, USA
 on D7100
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Any word on the buffer capacity for raw shots? In other words, how many raw shots can be captured at 6fps before the buffer slows you down?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Aviationbuff
Suwanee, GA, USA
Location : 
Suwanee, GA, USA
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new SanDisk has 250MB/s try that. =)
Mar 20, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
the RAW buffer on this camera is pitiful!
Feb 26, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D7100 with two 64MB 45 MB/s Class 10 SDXC cards and I get the following in Raw only writing to slot 1 with slot 2 setup as Overflow.:

12 bit DX - 6
14 bit DX - 6
12 bit 1.3 Crop - 9
14 bit 1.3 Crop - 7

A 95 MB/s card might do better.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The use of 95MB / s SD Card, 12-bit compressed RAW mode, and disabling the distortion correction you will achieve up to 12 images 6FP / s. In 1.3x mode, 6fp/s 17 images. While the buffer is small, but the electronic processing is very fast and makes emptying the buffer in less than 3 seconds. (provided you use a card capable of recording as fast)
Apr 26, 2013 by
by
Kinon
France
Location : 
France
Age: 55-65
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Answer: 
Wow, so disappointing. Don't get me wrong, the D7100 is impressive, and It may be the new "Flagship" of the DX line, but is certainly not a D300s replacement. The small raw frame buffer is a deal-breaker for me. I have used a D7000 along with my D300 for years. The D7000 frame buffer kept it from being useful for action photography. Now the frame buffer on the 7100 is even less. Nikon, you let me down...
Feb 21, 2013 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address
Age: 45-54

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Its only 6-7 in raw! you can see at the bottom of this page
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d7100/spec.htm
Feb 21, 2013 by
by
mR
NZ
Location : 
NZ
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7100
 
6 Answers

LCD cover?

Feb 21, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D7100
+12points
14out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful2
No LCD cover? Not even as an accessory?
Will the D7000's BM-11 LCD Cover fit the D7100?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Anonymous
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I wish they did. I'm a beginner and had the D7000 and dropped it in a river. hghuieahfiruoa!!!!!!! It came on after drying it out forever but was stuck in date setting mode. I sent it to Nikon to see if it was repairable. They sent it back saying unrepairable. fhdusiaorheuia!!!!!!

So I decided to upgrade to the D7100 since lenses still worked, but the LCD cover didn't work. And no places to attach one! jfdksapufjesaf;dk!!!!!!!
Feb 19, 2014 by
by
birdlady
TN
Location : 
TN
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
At work, I have a D7000 with a BM-11 LCD cover. Personnally, I have a D7100 with a Zagg protective sheet on the LCD. I needed something before going to Singapore, and could not get a Zagg fitted sheet in time. My local Best Buy had a Zagg 3 Pack and I trimmed one of these to fit. It installed easily, and has worked fine ever since. I use Zagg skins on my Nikon D7100 and D5100, iPhones(2), iPad, Garmin Zumo GPS, and Galaxy 3S work phone. I've never had a problem with any Zagg product, and the Zagg skin is much clearer than the BM-11.
Oct 11, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I found cover made for D7100 @ ZAGG inc. Fit is good,apply is easy and I've had it on since march 2013 with no problems.
Aug 16, 2013 by
by
Wojo
Fenton, MI, USA
Location : 
Fenton, MI, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Someone on another forum suggested the GGS Larmor Universal 3" screen protector. Has anyone tried this?
Apr 4, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
Answer: 
From comparing photos, I suspect that the BM-14 cover, which was originally for the D600, is going to work on this camera; they both have 3.2" screens, and look almost identical, on the back.
Feb 23, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
8out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful6
Answer: 
I noticed the same thing. It doesn't look like Nikon is going to use an LCD cover on the D7100 which is a shame. If you look at the pic you will see the absence of attachment points and also raised areas on the edge of the LCD screen are not there.

My D70 and D7000 use LCD covers and those covers have saved the screens on both bodies on more than one occasion. I think Nikon is trying to push FX more and as a result the DX line is being push down towards the entry level photographer.
Feb 21, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
6 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7100
 
4 Answers

How many multiple exposures? More than the 7000's three?

Feb 21, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D7100
+1point
4out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Multiple exposures to a single image is still limited to three.Page 141 of user's manual mentions it in the first sentence where it states that you can have two or three. Later it confuses the matter when it talks about gain being 1/2 for 2 exposures and 1/3 for three etc. The etc. makes you think that you can have more, but you can't.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry about "greytourist" and "JoeR (Number one contributor)".
They bought miss up with multiple exposure and bracketing.
In multiple expose function D7100 create only one image file, but it is choice from 2 or 3 exposures. That is why that function named “multiple exposure”.
In Auto bracketing function D7100 create separate image files.
And it can be AE (Auto Expose) & Flash, AE only, Flash only, WB (White Balance), and ADL (Active D-Lighting) bracketing.
Auto bracketing Max number for D7100 is five, except ADL (Active D-Lighting) bracketing for which max is 3.
Good luck.
Apr 5, 2013 by
by
Yevegn
Watertown, MA, USA
Location : 
Watertown, MA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
What type of multiple exposure?
According to the Tech Spec page,
Exposure bracketing : up to 5 steps.
A-DL bracketing: up to 3 steps.
True Multiple Exposure (multiple captures into a single data file): no information.
Feb 25, 2013 by
by
greytourist
Pacific Northwest USA
Location : 
Pacific Northwest USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Bracketing is limited to three exposures.
Feb 22, 2013 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7100
 
3 Answers

FPS with the MB-D15 grip

Feb 21, 2013 by
by
smizar
Boston, MA, USA
 on D7100
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
THe D7100 shoots 6 FPS in DX mode and 7 FPS in 1.3X mode. Is there a FPS boost when the battery pack MB-D15 is used for either modes? Thanks!
1 year, 5 months ago
by
smizar
Boston, MA, USA
Location : 
Boston, MA, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The D7000 did not get a burst speed boost with the battery pack attached. None of the literature -- or pre-release reviews -- mention any fps increase. Still 6 fps is better than some of Nikon's FX cameras.
Mar 5, 2013 by
by
Vidterry
Central, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404, USA
Location : 
Central, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Technicaly MB-D15 grip use six AA batteries, which if you use rechargeble batteries, will produce 7.2 volts(the same voltage as original EN-EL 15 battery).

For FPS boost Nikon SLR cameras needs higher voltage.

For example D300, D300S grip used or 8 AA batteries, which provide 8.9 volts with rechargeble AA batteries and 12 volts with Alkaline AA batteries, or EN-EL4a rechargeable Li-ion battery, which providing 11.1 volts.
MB-D15 grip use only six AA batteries (Alkaline or Ni-MH or Lithium), or EN-EL 15 rechargeable Li-ion batteries. That meens camera will get only 7.2 volts.
Feb 22, 2013 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, USA
Location : 
Watertown, MA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No mention of fps boost in the MB-15 specs.
Feb 21, 2013 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7100
 
3 Answers

Where is the "remote" setting since it is not on the release mode dial anymore?

Feb 22, 2013 by
by
Nmuddie
Glenmoore, PA 19343, USA
 on D7100
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Nmuddie
Glenmoore, PA 19343, USA
Location : 
Glenmoore, PA 19343, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The User's Guide is out now, and the best way to view it is the Nikon Manual Viewer 2 app for the iPad. It's free and I have all my Nikon user guides on it.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can access it by pressing the i button on the bottom left of the camera back. You will see the Information Screen with a small two line menu. Use the multi-selector to move the yellow cursor to the ML-3 menu item (bottom left) and press the OK button to access the ML-mode menu.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon hasn't released the D7100's manual yet, but probably it's hidden in the Menus, like the D5x00.
And i agree: the lack of a "remote" setting in the release mode dial surely is a down.
Feb 25, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Searching all over the net for a solid answer on this.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I always check amazon for anything if not to check what's out their. I prefer the TECH ARMOR. I didn't find that but I found EXPERT SHIELD 2 piece fi the d7100 and it's a anti-glare, seems to work good.
Sense I have AMAZON PRIME I ORDER AN LOT BECAUSE I GET 2 DAY SHIPPING FREE ON ANY ITEMS THAT ARE PRIME, SAVES A LOT. I also got 4 or 5 books on the d7100 and have found a lot from all of them.
Apr 30, 2014 by
by
photo bug Patrick
lancaster, ca
Location : 
lancaster, ca
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is no hard cover like the D7000 has, but I use a Zagg cover that works great. The D7100 cover was not available at my local Best Buy, but I bought a larger one and cut it to size. You can get the D7100 from the Zagg website. I was leaving for Singapore and could not wait.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Maybe you should wait until the camera hit the market before looking for an LCD cover. No one sells accessories for something that has not yet hit the market.
Mar 4, 2013 by
by
Nicky
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
As mentioned previously, the D7100 does not have a 50 ISO setting. It does have HI-0.3,0.7,1, and 2, corresponding to ISOs from 8000 to 26,500. See page 79 in the user's guide.

I would love a 50 ISO.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It has Hi-1 and Hi-2. It does not have LO-1. Click the tech specs tab for more info.
Mar 15, 2013 by
by
Joey
NJ, USA

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No
Mar 12, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D7100
 
3 Answers

Is there quick access to infrared remote shutter release (ML-L3), perhaps under Mup on the shutter release dial?

Mar 13, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Minnesota, USA
 on D7100
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Anonymous
Minnesota, USA
Location : 
Minnesota, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
With the camera ready to shoot (no menu displayed), press the i button. The i button is the bottom button to the left of the screen. The screen display will have the ML-3 remote mode at the bottom left of the screen with a yellow cursor somewhere on the bottom two rows of the screen. Use the directional control to move the cursor to the ML-3 mode display. Press OK to bring up the ML-3 options and use the directional control to select the desired option. Press OK again, and your desired ML-3 mode is active. See page 10 of the User's Guide, The Information Display, and page 12, Changing Settings on the Information Display.
Oct 12, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The easy way to access remote release is under the "i" button, which has a shortcut to this function.
Mar 26, 2013 by
by
New D7100 Owner
Minnesota, USA
Location : 
Minnesota, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
No, the remote setting is not on the release mode dial, It is accessible from the camera shooting menu.
Mar 16, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have a D90 and on bright sunny days it's almost impossible to see the monitor when shooting videos.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Pistol_Ridge
Mississippi, USA
Location : 
Mississippi, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just want to add, there are many third party LCD hoods/shades that are very effective in blocking out bright light.
Apr 26, 2013 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry misread question, only live view for video. Viewfinder for stills only.

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Both the D7100 and the D 600 have viewfinders in addition to live view.
Apr 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers