Loading
;

Transforming everyday sights into images that move us.

photo of a young man at the beach, shooting objects on a towel
Shooting photos and videos is about more than capturing memories. A great camera brings your creative vision to life with striking clarity. The Nikon D5200 is exactly that type of camera—an exceptional HD-SLR designed to draw exciting new perspectives out of everyone who shoots it. Optimized for creativity, streamlined for flexibility, it'll awaken your passion and inspire some of the most spectacular photos and videos you've ever captured.
Three photos, two candid pictures of couples and one photo of a woman.

Showcase your artistry

Vari-angle display, built-in HDR, special effects and filters

Creativity and flexibility were considered in every aspect of the D5200. It has a 921,000-dot Vari-angle display that lets you shoot from just about any position—hold the camera overhead for a view above a crowd, at ground level for an interesting close-up of a flower, or just enjoy easier video recording and self portraits. For shots that have both very dark and very bright areas, D5200 includes built-in HDR (high-dynamic range). It takes two shots at different exposures and blends them into one amazing image. And an exciting collection of built-in effects and filters opens new possibilities for expression: isolate a single color, explore black & white, posterize, miniaturize—the creative techniques pros spend years mastering are now conveniently at your command.
photo of a woman with a yellow flower behind her ear and inset photo close up of her eye

Capture life's brilliance

24.1 MP DX-format CMOS sensor and renowned NIKKOR lenses

Perhaps your greatest inspiration will be the spectacular quality of every photo and video you shoot with the D5200. Its highly sensitive 24.1-megapixel DX-format CMOS image sensor captures your vision with lifelike brilliance—marvel at the vibrant colors and razor-sharp detail, even in low light. Legendary NIKKOR lenses, marvels of clarity and quality, are the perfect companion for the D5200, drawing peak performance out of the sensor. Our intelligent Scene Recognition System compares your shot against an onboard database for optimum exposure, and EXPEED 3, the processing power in our acclaimed D4, makes it all happen in an instant.
photo of the D5200 with WU-1a adapter and image on smartphone using wireless utility app

Share your creations in an instant

Optional WU-1a Wireless Adapter for Wi-Fi photo sharing and camera control

The thrill of creating a great photo is topped only by the excitement of sharing it. With the D5200, you'll have many great photos to share, so we made it easy. Just add the optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter and instantly transfer your shots to a smartphone or tablet via Wi-Fi. Then share your favorites online as usual: email them, upload them to your favorite social networks or photo-sharing site like Nikon's my Picturetown. You can even use your smartphone or tablet as an external “live view” monitor to see what the camera sees and fire the shutter—perfect for getting into photos instead of always shooting them.

Note: These functions require an Android or iOS device and Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility app, available on Google Play and the iTunes App Store.
picture of the D5200 with a surfer photographed and shown on the LCD

Take your vision to video

High-quality Full HD (1080p) video recording capabilities

The D5200 includes Nikon's latest innovations for creating beautiful videos with virtually no choppiness. D-Movie mode now features Full HD 1080p 60i for visibly smoother sequences, a first for Nikon HD-SLRs. Full-time-servo AF (AF-F) and subject-tracking AF work together to keep moving subjects sharp and in focus, and face-priority AF instantly detects and tracks up to 35 faces in a scene. D5200 also has a built-in stereo microphone that can be controlled automatically or manually via 20 incremental steps, another first for Nikon HD-SLRs. Whether you shoot short clips or cinema-style movies, the D5200 makes it easy to take your projects to the next level.
sequence of photos of a rider on a horse jumping over a fence on a show course

Ultra-fast, accurate shooting

No matter where your subject is within the frame, the D5200’s 39-point wide-area autofocus system keeps it in focus so you can fire up to 5 fps. 3D Subject Tracking, powered by a 2,016-pixel RGB sensor, locks onto your subject and tracks it with exceptional accuracy. Improvements to the D5200's optical viewfinder make it easier to identify and capture fast-moving subjects, even when panning the camera.
Photo of three hula girls in Hawaii and a product shot of the 18-55mm lens

Included 18-55mm NIKKOR lens

When asked why they choose Nikon gear, pros and serious shooters consistently mention NIKKOR lenses among their reasons. The D5200 comes equipped with the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens—an excellent lightweight, multipurpose lens for nearly all shooting situations and an ideal match for the camera's DX-format sensor.
photo of the D5200 being held by a hand with an animated gif on the LCD

Simple, intuitive operation

You'll be at home with the D5200 in no time. Using visual representations of each setting to show you exactly what's changing with each adjustment, a redesigned display groups your most frequently adjusted camera settings for faster access.
photo of a red D5200 with the WR-R10/WR-T10 remote control system

Long range remote control

Whether you're shooting a group portrait (that includes you) or an intricate macro shot, a remote control is one of the most convenient accessories you can have. The new WR-R10 and WR-T10 Wireless Remote Controllers communicate using radio frequencies instead of Infrared, so you'll have control even when there's no direct line of sight between devices.

A hobby that grows with you

Nikon’s HD-SLR system is endlessly expandable. From legendary NIKKOR lenses and Nikon Speedlights, your system can grow with you.


WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

Black
Sale

D5200 Body Only

Now $599.95
Reg. $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Variant, has_configuration: , in_stock: false
BlackRedBronze
Sale

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5200 Black Camera BodyAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Now $699.95
Reg. $799.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1503
Black
Sale

18-105mm VR Lens Kit

D5200 Black Camera BodyAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Now $899.95
Reg. $999.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13216
Black
Sale

18-140mm VR Lens Kit

D5200 Black Camera BodyAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Now $899.95
Reg. $1,199.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13311
D5200 4.7 5 61 61
Great DSLR camera - fantastic features for cost. Get to really know the D 5200 as it has lots of fast features to use. Once you are aligned with camera operations, you can get 4 to 5 lenses - with the savings from NOT buying the FX bigger brothers. Start taking fantastic pictures AFTER you are able to really know your camera. February 4, 2014
Looks small and lite but packs a big punch I started shooting Nikon in 1968 and after Fe2s',FG-20, N8008, N70, F4, and F5 this is serious relief. A bit reluctant to join the digital revolution but glad I did. This camera is great for beginner or pro and the features have all been listed in previous reviews. I have logged, indexed and mounted probably 10000 images with a typewriter and word processor now its recorded for me. I'm not a fan of the menu system myself, but its a small inconveinence. Anyone wanting to transition from film to digital this is a good start. Next stop for me is the FX format. December 25, 2013
Exceptional Performance The D5200 has been my Go-To camera for about a little over a month and its holding up extremely well, performance and durability wise. The price might be a little spendy for someone just starting in photography, but it is a wonderful beginner DSLR, I even taught my little sister how to take great photos. The pictures are sharp and crisp when you use the right ISO and f-stop and has a lot of cool feature on it. The 18-55mm Isn't really the best lens for this, even though it comes as a kit, the lens I'd recommend is the 55-300mm if your looking for amazing pictures with quality. Its better than a telescope. Overall, BUY this camera if you have the chance! You wont regret it. September 28, 2013
Been with Nikon for 30 years A little history: My first Nikon was an FA the reason behind it was it had more manual features, and I had greater control over it including depth of field preview . I had this camera for 20 years, never had any problems shooting over 2,000 shots. Digital cameras stared to make an appearance, I held out, as I had more control over my FA, but film was getting harder to find and especially put to print. Finally I sold my camera gear and purchased a D3000, great camera, but missed a number of features I used to have on the FA. This year the D5200 arrived, I read the specs and features of this camera. WOW! I was impressed. The camera had more features and HD movie capability. I love the customizing features in "P" mode. When I got the camera it was a steep learning curve, I learned to configure my own presets above the "SD" "NL" & "VI" At times for example contrast is a bit harsh so I can dial it down and save this, also in cloudy conditions where I want more contrast I can dial this up and save this under another saved setting. once I have them set, no need to re-configure each time. example I have "SD" "SD_bright" "SD_OC" for OverCast" Other features I used Bracketing, HDR, multiple exposure. but what I love the most is the ability to move the focus point around in the frame quickly, don't need the focus lock. If you are an intermediate photographer and require a camera that is customizable check out this camera. my kit also includes the 18-55 with VR 55 - 300 with VR II and a fixed 50mm 1.8. One thing I would like to see as an added bonus, is have a feature is in the customizable feature is when I change Lenses from wide angle to telephoto I can change setting for ISO, similar to Bracketing but have an option to increase ISO automatically say by 1 to 4 stops Wide angle 100ASA, telephoto 400asa when I change lenses. other than his this is my camera for another 20 years. September 22, 2013
Great pictures, but I would improve some issues I bought this camera because the reviews were the best on picture quality, and I was tired of just having pictures and missing that wow... Now I have pictures with wow!!! :) But the camera could be more smart and intuitive: 1 - While in AUTO mode, for example, when the camera detects that needs flash, it pops-up. That's good, but if you put it down, the camera should be smart enough to "realize" that you don't want flash. But no, it will pop-up the flash until you change to a dedicated AUTO "flash off" Mode (something I never saw in any camera). 2 - The P Mode doesn't allow you to set it to ISO auto! I was used to choose the P mode as my favourite mode as the camera sets everything for me and all options are still available. Not with this P mode. 3 - Went pressing the Movie-Record button the camera does NOTHING, unless you turn before LiveView switch. Why doesn't the camera do that by itself? If you press the movie button is because you want to record a movie! So, why do we need to change a switch before that? Wouldn't be so simple if the camera could do it automatically, like other cameras? 4 - The menus are not so auto-explained. For instance, I would like to have the LCD off all the time except for the 2 seconds to review the pictures right after they are taken. How can you do that? 5 - Is there any way to memorize your settings between shots or between on-offs? When you set to take a picture with HDR, you turn the HDR on, but for the second shot the HDR is already off!! 6 - Didn't find any way to store the pictures by month, not by day. Do I recommend this camera? DEFINITELY! A camera is to take pictures, and these ones are awesome! I would twik it, but I love it's picture. What else could I ask? I chose the 18-105 lens and the 35mm 1.8 lens! Good choice. September 14, 2013
Exceptional camera, great for pros or intermediate beginners alike I got this camera two days ago, and I already love it. This is my first DSLR, and I am immensely happy with it. The tilt screen is great for taking photos in Live View, but I personally love it because I can fold it against the camera, and don't need to worry about scratching the screen. There are a wealth of controls, scene modes, and options to choose from. This makes shooting quick photos easy, and provides enough control for when you want to shoot professionally or just experiment. When I was researching this camera, I read a lot about how one had to sift through many menus to access important controls. I don't find this a problem at all, because you just need to click one button, the "i" button to be able to view and change the ISO, aperture, shutter speed, white balance, exposure, and many other settings. For anyone upgrading from a point-and-shoot as I did, the weight of the camera might take a bit of getting used to, but once you do, it has a good, solid feel to it. Overall, I'm very happy with this camera in the short time I've had it. I imagine my satisfaction will improve once I've mastered it. Additionally, I've included some sample photographs. August 16, 2013
Great camera for a fair price I got the D5200 in June 2013, and already it has proven itself as a quality camera. I think it is definitely a top end entry level camera, and produces very good photos while still being simple enough for a first time user. It seems to be pretty sturdy, and made to last. The kit lens is okay, and works well. All of the Nikon products are very high quality, from the mechanics of the lenses to the electronics of the body. Very happy with my upgrade August 6, 2013
The Nikon D5200 is a lot of camera for the price. The Nikon D5200 is a lot of camera for the money. My primary camera is the incomparable Nikon D700. I bought the D5200 for a lighter travel camera that has not disappointed me in the least bit. The dynamic range is amazing even though Nikon does not advertise this specification for the D5200. There is one item that is an inconvenience. When setting the camera in the 2 sec self timer mode, the camera resets after every shot back to normal. The solution is to buy the optional ML L3 remote and use the camera in the delay mode with remote. When shooting with the remote the camera does not reset to normal after every shot. This the way to go when shooting the the Bracket mode to manually create HDRs later in post or HDR program mode (JPEG Only). When the D5200 is put in the hands of a seasoned SLR owner, the D5200 can result in some amazing pictures. Note the dynamic range of the image below. Note the clouds and the shadows on the deck of the ship. This is a JPG processed from a RAW image in Aperture. July 18, 2013
Chilango, Brooklyn I like my 5200 Nikon for the speed 5 frames per second the 39 autofocus points the 24.1 millions of pixels I boughted the WU-1a Wireless mobile Adapter great control remote , the 55-300 lenses now I saving for my flash Nikon great camera like. July 15, 2013
Excelent image quality on a DX format Before buy my D5200 I've read a lot about which should be the best choice in my case. I'm a newcomer to digital photograph world so I thought: why not get the most advanced DSLR for entry level. So, I did it. The only one cons is that the d5200 don't have a focus motor on body which makes the lens to work with autofocus be more expensive. But pros is quality image, it's very quick between one click and another, the interface is very friendly. And, how I'm just starting on photograph world, the cons isn't a big problem because I'll probably buy few lens on the next two years. July 12, 2013
Great way to get into photography! This is my first DSLR camera and i love it! It's light, user friendly, and effective. July 6, 2013
2 thumbs up The D5200 is a great camera, it's easy to use [auto mode] and challenging at the same time [manual mode]. Lots of features, amazingly clear images and the video quality is stunning as well. The WU-1a Wireless Adapter is convenient. Both the 18-55 lens and the 55-300 lens are super. In the past few weeks I've taken over 1,000 pictures - I love my Nikon! June 27, 2013
Good by canon and sony This is my first Nikon camera and won't be my last. This is by far the best. Easy to point and shoot . Read the owner manual, adjusted the settings to my liking, and starting shooting. Can't wait to purchase accessories. June 22, 2013
best camera in the world best camera in the world Nikon d5200 is a great camera and la great picture great image great video resolution June 21, 2013
Beautiful photography Bought this camera in April. Needed a hobby and have always been interested in photography. The photos I have made with no real advanced knowledge of the cameras capabilities have been awesome. I bought a macro lens in May and made a few pictures which I was really impressed with then I broke my arm. I am just now able to use the computer again. I'm a little afraid to pick up my camera yet, but I'm certainly ready to get back to it. Love the camera and all the Nikon accessories I have purchased so far. June 20, 2013
Lovely Camera. Great For First Time Digital SLR Users! I bought this after i graduated high school. i've never owned a digital SLR and always dreamed of owning one. This is a lovely camera for any first time SLR users. i've only owned and used high-end cameras (for those who don't know, digital cameras that you can change aperture and shutter speed but no detachable lens) and find this camera very easy to use and understand. i was able to get the hang of it within 2 days. the photo quality is stunning as is the video. it fits perfectly in my hands and is very comfortable to use. i have to say i am quite addicted to mine at the moment. one thing i love about it is that a completely drained battery will charge in about 1hr and 30 min. it's amazing. i also love the cool little effects you can choose from. the selective color effect is my favorite. its fun and really easy to use. in the scene part i like the 'food scene' the most. it gives vibrant colors and high details. i really am just madly in love with this camera. it's everything i could ever ask for or want in a camera. i plan on taking this to college with me, and maybe even use it in the future when i (hopefully) become a professional. i would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone new in the digital SLR world. i really love this camera. June 11, 2013
Great features for the price! During the last several months, I have been looking for a new camera with more megapixels, and shooting videos at 1080p. I looked at several brands (Cannon and Olympus) before I stumbled on the Nikon D5200. Since this was the only camera with great features, I decided to give it a try. For the last three weeks, I had a great deal of buyers remorse because the camera was too advanced for me. As a result, I learned there are valuable resources available for the D5200. For the last three weeks, I have watched numerous Youtube videos, read lots of great reviews, downloaded manuals and reference materials from Amazon. Now, I am looking forward to learning more about my new camera and how to take some great looking pictures. June 9, 2013
Amazing Camera Recently took a huge step up from 'point and shoot' to the D5200. Although I have very limited experience, after watching a few short videos I felt very comfortable with the basic operation of the camera. There are so many features and functions it is almost overwhelming but I am looking forward to trying each and every one of them. The picture quality is amazing. Extremely pleased with my purchase. May 29, 2013
Love every thing about it. I recently purchased this camera and since have enjoyed every picture it has given me. I am pretty much an amateur when it comes to experience. The only experience I've had with DSLRs was when I was a sales associate at Best Buy, back then I remember the D50 and the D40 were out. I messed around with them in the store just to familiarize myself with them a bit and thats when I started getting a bit more interested in them. A few years later and a new baby in my life I decided to finally purchase a DSLR over the point-and-shoot style after a few expensive trips to a photography studio. I purchased my D5200 with the kit that included both the 18-55 and 55-300mm lenses. I also purchased the 35mm f/1.8 AF-S, a 50mm f/1.8D, and a copy of Photoshop. Every time that I take my camera out and start taking pictures I never get disappointed with the results. The shutter speed has been able to capture some great pictures when my son is playing and taking him sight seeing and being able to take pictures of how amazed he has been at the time is priceless. The details this camera produces is amazing, I've been able to crop images and get just what I want without losing any clarity, and ease of use has made it easy even for my wife to use on its different modes. I've enjoyed using this camera very much and would recommend it to anyone. I see this camera sticking with me for a long time. May 27, 2013
Excellent all-round DSLR This is a fantastic Advanced-beginner DSLR. The main reason I like it is the advanced features packed in a relatively small camera to a very good price. May 25, 2013
Amazing d5200 This camera is a very good advanced beginner camera, it take very good photos May 21, 2013
Wonderful & Amazing I already bought some 5 Nikon cameras: D90 D5000 2X D5100 and now it was my last D5200 this camera is excellent, exceeds your expectations! Beautiful pictures, the camera is beautiful, fast and does an excellent job! I lost my camera on a trip and now I need to save money and buy another! But for those who can buy! Buy and you'll be happy May 9, 2013
Great Camera, Worth every penny! This Camera is awesome, with a high pixel density and its amazing HD 60i 1080p video recording, you will take extraordinary pictures and videos. If you are going to buy a feflex camera and do not want to spend a huge amount, this will be the best option. It's functions will allow you to take professional photos. Nikon will never dissapoint costumers! May 1, 2013
Awesome Camera I would like to share how I made decision to buy this product. I went to Nikon Store to buy NIKKOR 35mm fixed lens for my D3000 and saw D5200 in showcase. I was already aware of this camera and its features from Nikon website when I was researching on lenses. I asked the sales person for demo. By taking few shots and trying it on the effects mode, I made the decision that this will be my next camera. I bought D5200 along with NIKKOR 35mm 1.8 & NIKKOR 55-300 VR II. Its been few days now I have been using this camera. Honestly, this is a good camera for amateurs. It has 39 focus point which will not let you miss the subject. It gives you many predefined shooting modes. The rubber grips on the body gives a good hold on the camera plus its light weight. One thing that I felt was its speed of shooting in live view. it takes a bit to show the captured picture on the screen while shooting in live view. For me, it doesn't matter as I use the screen in low and high angles and in effects mode while for shooting I use the viewfinder. I would also like to thank other users to post their valuable comments because it helps a lot in deciding, as it did in my case me. For those of you who have this camera in your option list; my recommendation, this camera will not let you down. :-) April 16, 2013
Amazing quality in a "prosumer level" DSLR! I had the D5100 for a little over a year before it got stolen from me on the street in Africa! After I got a settlement from my insurance, I decided to fork out a little more money for the D5200, and I was not disappointed a bit! I use my camera mostly for video, and I was super stoked to see that they added an audio level meter! I also love the fact that you can more finely adjust audio levels inside the camera! They added 60fps at 1280x720 which is amazing for slow motion, and one reason I decided to upgrade! The 24.1 megapixels may seem like overkill to some, but I think it's great to have when you need to do some tight cropping. It maintains it's quality through and through. I'd definitely recommend getting some nice prime lens action on this thing because that's when the quality really shines! The kit lens will only give you average results in most cases. I'd definitely recommend this camera, especially if you are more into videography! April 6, 2013
Perfect for Beginners to Pros For the beginner and pros it can take some time getting adjusted to where the settings and button placements are, but it is worth it once you do. Being a photojournalist for ten years it has always been about the angles. With the articulated screen, it cuts the time and effort it takes to get low and high angle shots. For the professionals like me, you shouldn't be dissuaded by the size or loads of automatic features. You can still operate the camera with normal full manual controls. The sensor is highly accurate with a phenomenal duplication of the lighting conditions. For the beginner, it can take away all the hassle of adjusting for the correct exposure, and allow the individual to focus on perfecting composition techniques. This camera is hands down the most versatile and capable camera I have used in a long time. Even if this camera doesn't feel like a traditional "professional series" camera, it can certainly hang with them. As far as the video portion is concerned, I have only just started to play with it. From what little I have seen it produces excellent clarity. The only downside I have found is if you need to change subjects and have to re-focus, the servos in the lens will be clearly audible in the video. March 31, 2013
A Great Camera for a Reasonable Price I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago after owning a D5100 for a few months. Te comparison betwen the two of them goes from sea to sky. A real great camera for photo enthusiast! From here I will move only to the D800. March 16, 2013
First DSLR and taking a beginner's Digital Photography Class I have had this camera for almost 2 months. I am taking a beginner's Digital Photography class and even my teacher, a professional photographer, was impressed at this camera. I haven't had the chance to play with the video aspect, but if you have children this camera is AMAZING when it comes to shutter speed (even on standard Auto mode). The pro's: Shutterspeed The quality of the shots and the trueness of the colors The effects are fun to play with The internal photo editing is really decent for some basic stuff Lightness Color (lol I have the red, and its so pretty!) Nikon quality in general. It is well made! The software! For a student, this is really nice because for the lens adjusting it shows you digitally what the lens if you move it one direction is actually doing. Also, the white balance, flash, iso, etc they give you pictures to show you what that setting will do! Unlike other brands that have the same adjustments, you have to take a picture to see what that setting will do. With the new Nikon software thats in the camera it shows you right on the screen. Definitely a time saver! Neutral - The screen. It took me a little bit to get used to it. My Nikon P100 moved but not like this. The screen flips out to the left of the camera and flips all the way around and can be snapped back so you can see the screen. It is not touch screen but no complaints about that. I didn't feel that I was missing anything. Cons- The remote to take pictures (the one with the toggle and remote that has channels on it) not diggin' the price of $250.00. The info button gets used a lot and you have to remember which button (memory or info) gets you to the right menu or spot to change things. The Function button (Fx) haven't needed to use it, and kind of pointless imo. For an advanced beginner camera this is amazing. I can grow with this camera as I learn and I wouldn't trade it for the world. I am enjoying learning with this camera and finding out how many things I can do with it. March 11, 2013
Love it! Short & sweet... This is an amazing camera... Love my new D5200! February 18, 2013
image resolution I have had the camera for three days. Last night I set up to do a sunset pic of the Dallas skyline. I have shot these skyline sunsets numerous times the last couple of years with my Olympus and Nikon D5000. The D5200 image resolution was spectacular. It was all I hoped for. I haven't had time to put the camera through more extensive tests, but my first impression is that it is very easy to use and delivers super images. Within the next couple of days I will shoot the same evening skyline with my D5200 and my Leica M8. I'm very interested to see how they compare. I don't intend to use it for video. The only thing I care about is image quality -- resolution and color. I have been actively involved in photography as part of my job and hobby since 1962. I was lucky (or cursed) to have started with a Zeiss Ikon Contaflex. February 17, 2013
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
70 Questions | 93 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
70 Questions | 93 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
D5200
 
5 Answers

What teleconverters can work on the D5200?

Oct 21, 2013 by
by
Randy
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
What teleconverters can work on the D5200?
9 months ago
by
Randy
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Let say you could only have 4 lenses in you bag, any that you would want which one would they be. I rookie just getting started. I will be taking mostly sports and landscape picture could real use some help.
Jul 8, 2014 by
by
Rookie
Charleston,WV
Location : 
Charleston,WV
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I doubt very much if the ever will, apart from the it not being able to fit due to the design of the rear of the lens it would just make it way too slow, it would turn the 3.5-5.6 into, with a 1.4 tc, 4.9-7.9 which in most cases would be unusable.
Oct 22, 2013 by
by
KeithD

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No, it will not fit that lens.
Oct 21, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
KeithD,

The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR.

Randy
Oct 21, 2013 by
by
Randy

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
All depends on what lens you intend using.
Oct 21, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
4 Answers

I just want to post my pictures immediately :(

Aug 3, 2013 by
by
Laura
Oregon, USA
 on D5200
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Do I have to buy a separate WiFi adaptor to be able to share my photos with my iphone?? Better yet, can't we have a cord that could transfer between the 2 so I can do it without wifi??? Surely in this day and age...
11 months ago
by
Laura
Oregon, USA
Location : 
Oregon, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You could get an EyeFi SD card?
Mar 10, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The adapter that comes with the camera broadcast its own wifi signal and connects with your phone. I have an iPhone, and once the signal is picked up by the phone, I use the Nikon wireless app and you have instant access to a remote for taking pictures, viewing the pictures that are on your camera and uploading them to your phone.
 
Products related to my answer
WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
2.6 out of 5(57)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 8, 2013 by
by
Thomas
Tennessee, USA
Location : 
Tennessee, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can use the wireless WU-1a to transfer to your iphone, no real need for a cable.
Aug 4, 2013 by
by
KeithD

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
you can transefer to computer by camera cable (usb) then transfer to your phone by phone cable
Aug 4, 2013 by
by
Wael
Egypt
Location : 
Egypt
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
4 Answers

UC-E06 vs UC-E17 USB Cable for D5200

Nov 14, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
What is the difference between UC-E06 and UC-E17 USB Cable? Can I use UC-E06 with D5200.
Thanks
8 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the D5200 system chart, you can look for yourself, it shows either is the correct cable.
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d5200/compatibility01.htm

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Positive, look at the picture,
http://nikonsa.co.za/en_ZA/products/product_details.page?sParamValueLbl=Accessories&sParam1ValueLbl=SLR&sSubnav2ParamLbl=Connectivity&sSubnav3ParamLbl=USB+Cable+UC-E17&ParamValue=Accessories&Subnav1Param=SLR&Subnav2Param=SLR+Connectivity&Subnav3Param=Data&RunQuery=l4&ID=9400108
Nov 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
D5200 usb connector is not mini USB unless I'm missing something. Old cell phone have mini usb and new cell phones have micro usb. Are you shure?
Nov 14, 2013 by
by
LeoG

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, any USB to mini USB cable will work, they are all generic.
Nov 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
3 Answers

converting MOV files into something compatable with Adobe or Vegas?

May 24, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I purchased 2 nikon d5200 for my video production fleet.
I use Adobe Premiere Pro cs5.5 and sony vegas pro but those pesky MOV files that nikon uses are completely unusable with any software ... Does nikon recomend a way to convert these mov files into something usable?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Anonymous
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
while ther eare free downloadable sofware that converts, there are just as many that you can get from unsafe sources, where the video codec converters hack your system (just like the one I got for free from cnet called the AVC (all video converter) the question again is there any one that "NIKON RECOMENDS" cause I've tried three of these converters and still none of them work.

If you go into the trouble shooting formats page in Adobe it even claims that .MOV "May or May not" work with Adobe....

I've been editing for a decade and I'm here to tell you that this camera is NOT compatible for adobe premiere Pr cs5.5 I got two d5200 's that are unusable.
May 24, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Don't know what answer you want, I can't post a link, moderator will take it down. Arcsoft makes an excellent converter but it's not free.
May 24, 2014 by
by
JoeR

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Plenty of free converters, just do an internet search.
May 24, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D5200
 
2 Answers

When is the 18-105 VR lens kits going to be available for purchase with the D5200?

Jan 20, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon does not currently have an expected availability date for the D5200 kit with 18-105 lens.

The D5200 kit with 18-55 lens is now available and the 18-105 lens is available separately.
Jan 22, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't what country you are in, but in the US it is available at B&H photo.
Jan 20, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
2 Answers

What is the f-stop range on the 5200?

Feb 19, 2013 by
by
Nancy
NYC
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Nancy
NYC
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Trying some shots last night, if I zoomed into 55mm, I was able to get f-36. I believe the previous answer refers to 18mm.
Jul 9, 2013 by
by
mikemcnh
Delran, NJ, USA
Location : 
Delran, NJ, USA
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
I assume your talking about the 18-55mm kit lens supplied. It has a range of f/3.5 max aperture to f/22 min aperture.
Feb 19, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
2 Answers

is this a good camera for taking Baseball pictures, at night with no flash???

Feb 24, 2013 by
by
Angel
Cross City, FL, USA
 on D5200
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
I'ma sports photographer for our local weekly paper, and i cover the High School Baseball games. I can't use flash during the games, and most of the high school fields are low, to very low light. so most of my photos arent to great. would this be a good camera to use? since it has a high ISO?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Angel
Cross City, FL, USA
Location : 
Cross City, FL, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. I'd recommend you to use a full-frame camera with a telephoto lens. I'd recommend the D800 with a 70-300, because its high pixel count will let you crop the images A LOT without losing resolution and low noise high ISO means you can take photos at ISO 3200 and you won't get a single grain of noise.
Jun 14, 2013 by
by
Shaggy
Howrah, West Bengal, India
Location : 
Howrah, West Bengal, India
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, This is an entry level camera. A decent low budget sport camera would be D7000 D7100, D300s, D700, and you will need a lens like the 70-200mm F/2.8. Its excellent for sports.
Feb 25, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D5200
 
2 Answers

Considering this camera for close-up dental photos. Can I customize a program so it will provide consistent results without "tinkering"?

Mar 24, 2013 by
by
Dan
Utah, USA
 on D5200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Dan
Utah, USA
Location : 
Utah, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't have a macro lens for my 5200 and I use it for the same thing. Seems to work on manual set to ISO 100, shutter at 1/125 and aperture at f/32 for intraoral and then increase the aperture if you want full face (just keep the settings the same for before and afters!!!)... I'm certainly no photographer though... also, I can't see using a tripod with the pt in the chair (i mean, i thought setting instruments on the pt's chest was a bad habit!!) and the vibration reduction macro lens is so expensive...
Aug 3, 2013 by
by
Laura
Oregon, USA
Location : 
Oregon, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D5200 along with a Macro lens such as the 40mm should provide you with excellent, and constant results in the dental office. However, using Auto mode on any camera will not always give you desire results when the lighting changes. You need to learn to use the other modes like aperture priority, or Manual. You will also need a tripod to get sharp crisp images.
Apr 11, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D5200
 
2 Answers

Problems with memory cards?

Apr 25, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The first time I went to shoot a baseball game with my new d5200, I took some test shots from the parking lot as I was walking. I noticed immediately that it wasn't writing anything to the memory card, so I went back to my car and switched cards and didn't have any more problems.

I have since done a lot of shooting with this camera, including using it as a backup for a wedding that I was second shooter for. Never had any issues with it until today.

I shot another baseball game and got a lot of great pics. The game went into extra innings, and when a kid scored the winning run, I started firing away for the celebration shots. I thought I had some great ones. The shutter was firing like normal, and I could see the AF working, yet when I tried to review my shots, they weren't there. I took two more shots and again there was nothing. I took the card out and put it back in, and then the d5200 finally started writing to the card again. It was too late by then, so I missed all the celebration shots.

The first card that gave me trouble was a PNY 16gb. The second card was a SanDisk Ultra 32gb, which I have been using for the last week with no problems. I still had about 500 shots left, so I know the card wasn't full. Has anyone encountered this problem before? I've used higher-end cameras like the d300, 600, and 7000 in the past and have never seen a camera do this.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for the response. I have continued shooting with the SanDisk 32 SDHC as well as the 16gb version of the same card. So far this problem has not happened again, so hopefully it was just a random glitch.
May 16, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sandisk 32G SDHC cards are included on the approved list of memory cards for the D5200 but PNY cards are not approved. If the Sandisk Ultra 32G card is not an SDHC card please try a card from the approved list to see if this resolves the issue. This list can be found on page 211 of the D5200 manual. A copy of the D5200 manual can be downloaded from this address:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...

If the Sandisk Ultra 32G card that you were using is an SDHC type card, or if trying another card from the approved list doesn't resolve this issue, then please contact Nikon Technical Support for further assistance: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Apr 27, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
2 Answers

How to activate a histogram on my D5200? (Does it have one?)

Jul 26, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
11 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just after u take picture and when u see the picture in LCD, just press down key in the multiselector switch.
Jul 26, 2013 by
by
Suresh

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please download the users manual and refer to page 149.
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/18112/~/user's-manual---d5200
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers