Loading

Share the sights and sounds of your travels like never before.

Meet your new favorite travel companion, the ultra-slim, fully connected COOLPIX S9500. With the versatility of a 22x zoom super-telephoto lens, the superb image quality of an 18.1-megapixel low-light CMOS sensor and the extreme convenience of built-in Wi-Fi® and GPS, capturing and sharing the sights and sounds of your trip has never been easier. Shoot a stunning panorama landscape, then instantly share it—along with the exact location it was shot—to your compatible smartphone or tablet. When you get home, explore your photos and videos on an interactive map and relive the adventure step by step, shot after shot.
VR image stabilization
Motion Detection
ISO 3200
CMOS
Clear Color Display
Smart Portrait System
Scene Auto Selector
Subject Tracking
Full HD
GPS
3D Mode
Wi-Fi
  • 1x
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 22x

Get close from afar

Capture distant images with a 22x wide-angle to telephoto NIKKOR glass zoom lens

Every COOLPIX is designed around a genuine NIKKOR glass lens, the legendary optics that have made Nikon famous. The COOLPIX S9500 features a 22x zoom NIKKOR lens that takes you from wide-angle group shots to telephoto close-ups in an instant. And don't worry about a little camera shake—lens-shift Vibration Reduction helps keep the shot steady even when your hands are not.
{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-zoom").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:4,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}

Share amazing photos in an instant

Built-in Wi-Fi® for easily sharing your shots anytime, anywhere

The COOLPIX S9500 makes it easier than ever to share beautiful views of your world. Take a great shot and instantly send it to your compatible smartphone, tablet, or any compatible Wi-Fi® device. Then use your smart device to email it, text it, or upload it to your favorite social networking or photo album sites—share it the same way you normally share online. Your friends and family will be amazed by the shots you share!

See where you've been

Built-in GPS, mapping, E-Compass and Points of Interest (POI) for creating amazing photo journals

Relive the excitement of your travels in a whole new way. The COOLPIX S9500 records the exact location of each shot you take, so you can follow the path of your adventure and every stunning view along the way! Share your photo journeys on Google Earth™, Google+™ and other social media sites, or with the included Nikon View NX2 software. Built-in mapping and Electronic Compass also helps you navigate unfamiliar destinations, and Points of Interest (POI) show you nearby photo-ops like scenic lookouts and historic landmarks. The COOLPIX S9500 is the ultimate travel companion!

Superior low-light performance

High-performance CMOS image sensor lets you shoot without a flash

Imagine being able to shoot without a flash at weddings, concerts, parties—anywhere your flash normally fires. You won't have to interrupt a moment to capture it, and your photos and HD videos will look more natural and true to your memory. The COOLPIX S9500 performs so well in low light situations that, in most cases, using the flash is optional. Of course, when the lighting is extremely poor and you need a flash, it'll be there.

Turn some heads

Sleek, stylish design that fits in your pocket

Form and function can play nicely together, and the COOLPIX S9500 is proof. Ultra-thin and lightweight, it fits comfortably in your pocket or purse. But you won't want to hide it there—every time you pull out the COOLPIX S9500, you can expect someone to comment on its good looks. Consider it a stylish accessory for your already fashionable life.

Enjoy the view

Compose, review and share your photos and Full HD videos on a vibrant, high-resolution 3.0-inch 614,000-dot OLED display.

Dazzle with every shot

Create truly exceptional photos and Full HD videos in nearly any light. An 18.1-megapixel CMOS low-light image sensor delivers superior image quality, versatility and low-light performance.

Incredible panoramas made easy

Faced with an amazing panoramic view? Simply turn on Easy Panorama mode and start panning the camera. The COOLPIX S9500 will automatically record a series of shots and then stitch them together into one incredible, seamless panoramic photo.

Flatter your friends and family

Create beautiful photos of the people you care about. Smart Portrait System activates several features ideal for portraits, like Face Priority AF, Skin Softening, Blink Warning and more.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's built-in Wi-Fi® capability can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

COOLPIX S9500 3.5 5 39 39
VERY unhappy with this camera For the price that I paid it should take photos with no exposure problems. I get about 10%of my indoor photos washed out with the flash and I had a system crash (not turning off, not turning on, etc.) I sent it in for repair... they said several parts were replaced and I STILL have the same exposure problem (it seems even worse now). The camera did this with auto and fill flash. I also use an 'approved' SD card. I would NOT recommend this at all. I do semi-pro photography and have been happy with my D300s and D800e, but this is not worth half of the money that I paid for it. December 4, 2013
Misleading product description and faulty hardware Not half an hour after I bought the camera, in my first use. the camera showed a "Lens Error" when I turned it off! I would expect Nikon to do some level of quality testing before sending a camera off to the market! How can this go unnoticed? Unacceptable! The camera and all the advertisement papers said Wi-Fi. Whatever else that implied, no where was it mentioned that this would only work with an Android smartphone or an Apple phone/tablet. That was an unpleasant surprise if ever there was one. With the first two disappointments, I have not gone any further with exploring this camera. It is going back to the store tomorrow. June 9, 2013
Camera totally died after two weeks We bought a Coolpix S9500 camera for our daughter who is studying art abroad in Europe this summer. It seemed like the perfect camera for college senior to take abroad. After two weeks and several hundred photos, the camera suddenly will not power up or show any signs of life whatsoever. She's attempted to charge the battery but the camera will still not power up. I've searched Nikon's web site and there doesn't seem to be any resources or support that speaks to this problem. So this may be a rare event failure. But we are so disappointed. I'm a long-time Nikon enthusiast, but this is causing me to question Nikon's commitment to quality. June 8, 2013
No enfoca bien (se distorciona) a la distancia cuando aplico el zoom El dia 7 de junio compre la camara nikon coolpix s9500 por recomendacion de mi proveedor y al probarla y compararla con mi otra camara de otra marca en la toma de fotos a distancia con el zoom la toma se distorciona y no se puede enfocar correctamente la imagen deseada, mientras que en la otra camara se distinguia la imagen a pesar de tener menos zoom y menos megapixeles, espero poder cambiarla por otra camara si es que problema no se soluciona June 9, 2013
Page: 2 3
<<prev
68 Questions | 74 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
68 Questions | 74 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S9500
 
4 Answers

Is there a way to download the ArcSoft Software (ViewNX2) because I do not have a disk drive on my computer?

Sep 23, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
no longer available at this site.
Aug 10, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can grab a copy here from Nikon Official, but unlisted, download location.

http://nikonimglib.com/nvnx/#
Mar 27, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
The ArcSoft Panorama Maker software that is provided with the COOLPIX S9500 is only available through Nikon via the View NX2 CD that is packaged with your camera. For more information please see: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Sep 25, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can download it here
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/18567
Sep 23, 2013 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The camera will freeze up randomly. The lens keeps working but there are no buttons you can push or dials you can turn to unfreeze the screen (Stays frozen like it was trying to focus on a shot). The only way to reset is to open up the trap door and pop out the battery. I even turned all GPS type functions off and it still did it.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
hi i was have this problem before it is the memory card.
change memory card to difrent one and it will by ok.
i change to kingston and its ok both you will probly fond from diffrent company good card as well.
Aug 3, 2014 by
by
DamianL

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Hi all,

I have bought the S9500 a month ago and experiencing the same problem. Only removing the battery resolves the problem. It happens sometimes after one or two shots.

No resolution yet but it seems to get less frequently when the setting vibration reduction is set to: Hybrid. For what it is worth until nikon comes with a good selution.

Good luck and Nikon, please help.
Jul 22, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Schijndel, The Netherlands
Location : 
Schijndel, The Netherlands
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S9500
 
2 Answers

Can connect new S9500 to iPad via wifi and view photos, but can't transfer them?

Dec 14, 2013 by
by
Dave
Pennsylvania, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I am able to connect the s9500 to my iPad via wifi, but when I select a photo and attempt to transfer (download) it to the iPad via wifi, the transfer appears to begin (see graphic) but then stops, hangs, and never finishes. I'm apparently very close to success. What step or setting do I need to change?

PS - I am using a 32gb Class 10 Transcend SD card. I tried a SanDisk card, but with the same results.

Suggestions?
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
10 months ago
by
Dave
Pennsylvania, USA
Location : 
Pennsylvania, USA
Age: 55-65
Experience: Less than a month
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Chelsea, thanks for your input. If you look at the graphic, I think you could see that I have no problem connecting the camera to the iPad (or viewing the photos). What I can't get it to do is successfully transfer the files from the camera to the iPad. The software and wifi connection seems to be working fine. I tried an approved card in my camera, no difference. I tried my card in a different camera, and it worked great. The evidence points (in my opinion) to some sort of fault in sending with the S9500. ???
Dec 16, 2013 by
by
Dave
Pennsylvania, USA

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please make sure that when connecting the COOLPIX S9500 and performing a transfer there is an approved memory card, a full battery on the camera as well as the iOS/Android smart device. Select the COOLPIX S9500 network in the network settings of the smart device. Once the network is selected and the connection is made, try to transfer the images.
Dec 16, 2013 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S9500
 
2 Answers

How can the units for altitude be change from meters to feet? When the photos are downladed to View NX2 the altitude is displayed in meters.

Jan 8, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Record GPS data is on. Lat and Longitude look ok but the altitude is in meters...
9 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please re-read this and provide an appropriate answer...yes or no. If the answer is yes then advise how the altitude can be changed to feet.
Jan 13, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
When viewing GPS information in View NX 2, it will display the GPS information in meters.
Jan 13, 2014 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S9500
 
1 answer

Can we send photos wireless to an ipad?

Jan 30, 2013 by
by
Rudolf
Caribbean
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
3out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Rudolf
Caribbean
Location : 
Caribbean
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+5points
10out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful5
Answer: 
Yes,With built-in Wi-Fi®, the S9500 offers collaboration with smart devices such as smartphones and tablets for wireless data transfer. This allows users to transfer high-quality still images and movies recorded with the S9500 to their smart device, from which they can then be uploaded to social networking sites and the like. In addition, when the camera is connected to a smart device, the smart device screen can be used to frame shots, zoom in or out, and control shooting remotely, making the function very convenient for group photos and the like. What's more, smart device date and time data can be synchronized with the camera's.
Jan 31, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S9500
 
1 answer

When will the S9500 be available for sale?

Feb 2, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Newberg, OR 97132, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+4points
8out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful4
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
Newberg, OR 97132, USA
Location : 
Newberg, OR 97132, USA
Age: 45-54
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The S9500 is currently available for sale.
Mar 7, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
5 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S9500
 
1 answer

Will this Camera have Selective Color?

Feb 8, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
 
 
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The S6400, and the S9500 have selective color. Please remember to post your question only under the product you are inquiring about.
Feb 23, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S9500
 
1 answer

What is the largest SD card (in GB) that the camera will accept?

Feb 19, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
The largest size memory cards that can be use in the S9500 are Sandisk, and Lexar 128GB SDXC.
Feb 21, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9500
 
1 answer

What memory card is used in the new S9500

Mar 9, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
SD, SDHC and SDXC cards up to 128gb.
Mar 10, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S9500
 
1 answer

Flash

Mar 15, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
I bought this camera last year and the flash quit working. I purchased the camera new from amazons website through you and I was wondering who to contact in order to get my flash repaired and working again? I love this camera and it takes great pictures but without the flash the pictures are mediocre at best.
Thank you
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please contact tech support for help with your issue. Our contact info is at support.nikonusa.com
Mar 16, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers