Loading
;

42x zoom power, professional-quality photos and videos, endless capabilities.

For those seeking a comprehensive compact camera for zoom, image quality, versatility and technological innovation, look no further than the COOLPIX P520. Create pro-caliber photos and Full HD 1080p videos from mind-boggling distances, even in extremely low-light conditions. Track your travels and explore points of interest with built-in GPS. Take control of your vision with full P, S, A, M exposure modes. Add the optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter and share your shots in an instant, or control the camera with your compatible smartphone or tablet. From its superb 42x zoom NIKKOR glass lens and 18.1-megapixel low-light CMOS image sensor to its D-SLR-inspired design and 3.2-inch Vari-angle LCD, the COOLPIX P520 delivers the pinnacle of performance and zoom.
VR image stabilization
Motion Detection
ISO 3200
CMOS
Clear Color Display
Smart Portrait System
Scene Auto Selector
Target Finding AF
Subject Tracking
Full HD
GPS
3D Mode
  • 1x
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 42x

Get close from afar

Capture distant images with a 42x wide-angle to telephoto NIKKOR glass zoom lens.

Every COOLPIX is designed around a genuine NIKKOR glass lens, the legendary optics that have made Nikon famous. The COOLPIX P520 features a 42x zoom NIKKOR lens that takes you from wide-angle group shots to telephoto close-ups in an instant. And don't worry about a little camera shake—lens-shift Vibration Reduction helps keep the shot steady even when your hands are not.
{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-zoom").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:10,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}

See where you've been

Built-in GPS with Points of Interest (POI) for creating amazing photo journals

Relive the excitement of your travels in a whole new way. The COOLPIX P520 records the exact location of each shot you take, so you can follow the path of your adventure and every stunning view along the way! Share your journeys on Google Earth™, Google+™, and other social media sites or with the included Nikon View NX2 software. Built-in GPS helps you navigate unfamiliar destinations, and Points of Interest (POI) show you nearby photo-ops like scenic lookouts and historic landmarks. The COOLPIX P520 is the ultimate travel companion!

Share to your compatible smartphone or tablet

Compatible with the WU-1a wireless mobile adapter for anytime, anywhere sharing

Connect the optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter and wirelessly transfer photos to your smartphone, tablet or any compatible Wi-Fi® enabled device. Use your smartphone to instantly upload your shots to the web or email them to a friend. Install Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility and remotely control the COOLPIX P520—see what the camera sees from your smartphone or tablet and fire off shots!

Superior low-light performance

High-performance CMOS image sensor lets you shoot without a flash

Imagine being able to shoot without a flash at weddings, concerts, parties—anywhere your flash normally fires. You won't have to interrupt a moment to capture it, and your photos and HD videos will look more natural and true to your memory. The COOLPIX P520 performs so well in low light situations that, in most cases, using the flash is optional. Of course, when the lighting is extremely poor and you need a flash, it'll be there.

Record superior videos

1080p Full HD videos with stereo sound for dazzling movies

If you want a compact camera that shoots stunning Full HD videos, the COOLPIX P520 delivers. 1080p Full HD means exceptional video quality. Record the action, then connect to an HDTV and watch your videos come alive. A built-in mic records high-quality audio in stereo. Your videos will look and sound phenomenal.

Don't sweat a little camera shake

Lens-shift Vibration Reduction helps keep the shot steady, even if your hands are not. Say goodbye to blurry photos, shaky videos and tripods.

Take control of your vision

When you want to take control of exposure, the COOLPIX P520 is ready. Select from P/S/A/M exposure modes and the creative options will seem endless.

Gain new perspectives

Use the 3.2-inch ultra-high-resolution (921,000 dot) Vari-angle LCD monitor to capture some really unconventional angles.

Freeze action in its tracks

When the action speeds up, simply hold the shutter button and fire off up to 7 continuous shots per second. Catch views you may not have seen before in your photos.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

COOLPIX P520 4.6 5 65 65
This CoolPix P520 Rocks! I got this as a gift from my wife, and this CoolPix really performs. I feel that is the bridge between the non-inter-changeable lens and the Inter-changeable Lens Nikons. I really like the 42 to 1 zoom, and how one can get up-close to the action without interfering with it. The only thing one needs to pay attention concerns extreme distance photos; one must keep the camera steady, and a tripod really helps. I own two COOLPIX Digital cameras, a 3200 bought in 2005, and a S8100 in 2011, and this CoolPix builds upon its predecessors; I still use both of them at times (especially, the S8100), and I liked how Nikon allowed me to use this P520 without a large learning curve. Also, I like the fact that it has manual settings besides the automatic one, and allows me to use this camera as a DSLR. I know it will take at least two years to outgrow, and master all the abilities of this P520; this camera will prepare me for my next Nikon-a full-blown DSLR. February 27, 2014
Great Camera in a Small Package! Bought to use for Wildlife Photography specifically Waterfowl. Was amazed and the zoom qualify and the image quality at full zoom. Would recommend to anyone! February 24, 2014
Really versatile high quality little camera I have a D800 as well as the P520 (and a few other cameras). The P520 is really useful for me because of the built in GPS and the vari-angle screen. I do a lot of landscape photography all over the world and the GPS is very accurate. Helps at the end of the day to be able to review everything on a map from the day. The vari-angle screen is great for low shots and unusual angles or even just to see it clearly on a sunny day. the zoom lens of course is spectacular and the quality of the image throughout the zoom range is impressive. February 8, 2014
Love my Cool Pix! I am thrilled with my new Coolpix P520. Love the ease of use, love the zoom, love the focus, love the nifty red color! January 23, 2014
Taking great pictures right out of the box I just got this camera yesterday, but I am impressed with it right out of the box. I was looking for an easy to operate point and shoot camera and I think I have found it. The instructions were easy to set the camera up. The buttons I found easy to use and understand. It fits great in your hand. I took pictures of the kids indoors last night and they came out so clear. I had the camera on auto setting and took pictures around the house, all shots came out perfect. I am looking forward to taking more pictures today. I think it is a great camera for someone looking for a camera that they can just pick up and get the pictures you want. January 18, 2014
Love this Camera Had a Canon before this one. this camera is actually an upgrade to what i had for about the same price. Love it so far.I have a higher Megapixels and wider zoom...can't wait to explore all the features of this camera. January 18, 2014
A back-up camera I was using a D5100, 18-135 and 70-300. I bought the P520 as a back-up camera. It does everything that my previous equipment did at a fraction of the weight. My D5100 with lenses has become my back-up. January 13, 2014
so far great camera upgraded from point and shoot coopix , this is a great camera , zoom is great , loving the pictures. January 7, 2014
great compact camera for its price received this camera as a gift for Christmas and love all the features it has, especially the 3D. This camera has amazing HD video capabilities, great field of depth taking macro shots, amazing 3D picture quality for using only one lens and zoom quality and capabilities are excellent. December 31, 2013
A very cool little camera! I'm very impressed with my new Nikon Coolpix P520 camera. I think it was the red highlights of the finish that attracted me, and the zoom features. But the interesting features keep coming, especially the GPS function. In 2009 I bought a Sony GPS that was suppose to work with my Canon, but just ate up batteries. This GPS even knows the name of our local park nearby. My Canon makes it next to impossible to use the LCD screen as a viewfinder, but the P520 screen is large and bright, and just begs to be turned around and used to take Selfies. The tiny flash floods a room, but doesn't seem to leave shadows, and the camera will even tell you if a subject blinked. The only question is will I be able to see the LCD image in bright sunlight. I've read the warning that I might have to use the small viewfinder if there is a problem. I have a Fuji camera where in almost any outdoor lighting situation it is impossible to use the viewfinder. But in that case there is no alternative. The 42X zoom lens comes out so far, I have to wonder where it can go when it retracts. I don't miss at all having to change lenses. I look forward to taking this camera on vacation the first of next year. I've already loaded a 64GB SD card, and the camera says I have 9999 photos left. Probably that's as high as it can count. I feel a 1080p movie coming on. The only thing missing from this camera is a microphone jack. I started off with a 1930s Kodak, and progressed to a 4x5 press camera. Now I'm 65 and this is the perfect camera for me. December 6, 2013
Best camera I have ever owned. This camera has everything I could ever want in a camera. It is easy to use and has great zoom qualities. Light weight. Excellent flash distance. Comes in red, which I love.The main thing I really wanted in a camera is a view finder. This uses a monitor or a view finder.. It has the best of both worlds. I love my new camera. October 21, 2013
Very user friendly! I have used four different Nikon cameras over the past 20 years. The Coolpix P520 is new, just purchased last week. A great Nikon camera for the price. Takes great pictures, with lots of options to enhance your photos. Small enough to fit in a purse. Love all the special effects! October 15, 2013
Just Bought the camera, easy to use really have'nt used enough to comment yet. So far its been very easy to use, I have only had the camera a one day, I love it would recommend it to everyone Awesome camera !!!! October 13, 2013
My new Nikon Coolpix P520 Camera I recently purchased this camera while on vacation in Virginia Beach. I am in love with this Camera, the pictures are beautiful, I love the versatility that it offers. Very easy to use and very light. I have now used it inside and outside, day and night and all my pictures are very clear and the colours are fantastic. The only issue I have is that the battery does not last too long. So if you are not constantly charging it you may end it up with no Camera when you need to take that unexpected picture. During a party last weekend I charged it 4 hours before as recommend it then I used it for about half an hour non stop and I run out of battery in the middle of the party .............so I had to charge it again.....I will buy a new battery this weekend to see if that improves. This is the second time that it happens to me. Otherwise, it is perfect. September 16, 2013
Great point & shoot camera, great camera to take with you everywhere you travel. This is a great camera to travel with, the focal range is excellent, it is light weight. This camera will be with me all the time unless I am going to do a professional Job. September 6, 2013
Fantastic Camera Nikon P520 Hubby bought this for my birthday and what a great gift it is! I own the Nikon D70 which was a great camera but this one is so lightweight. The picture colors are so true to what your taking a picture of. (purple is not blue) The ability to zoom for close-ups is fantastic, clear sharp pictures. I'm not so overwhelmed with using this camera, very easy to work with. I also like the way the battery/media card compartment has been designed. There aren't any complaints on my part, even my husband likes it. Plenty of megapixels and zoom! Thanks Nikon July 29, 2013
An awesome point & shoot camera with quality results ! I recently purchased a CoolPix P:520 Nikon camera, and I'm really impressed with the quality of the photos I am taking. This camera has many new features, one of which is the B&W photos that it captures. I am looking forward to using this camera for scenery, genealogy, flowers, food, and for gatherings involving family and friends. This camera is very versatile and user friendly ! July 29, 2013
Awesome little compact LOVE this camera!! I am a professional photographer who has purchased this for an upcoming leisure trip to Japan, Indonesia, Singapore, & South Korea. As we wanted to travel with only carry on luggage, and did not want to take the risk of traveling with my 'big guns' this was the ideal option. With the great optical zoom, nice macro option, built in GPS, and the wifi network adapter, I could not find anything that comes close! I have owned cameras built by other manufacturers, but always keep coming back to Nikon. I have been testing the P520 around Washington DC, and each day I use it, I find something else to love it for. The ability to drop the photos onto my iPhone using the WU-1a adapter enables fast uploads to social networking sites, and back-up to the phone's memory without the need to lug around a laptop computer. June 9, 2013
such an amazing camera As a up and coming photographer, this camera has it all! such a great piece to have. The flip screen makes it so easy to take a shoot from different angles, Helps me a lot. Its a small yet powerful tool for any ideal photographer. i would totally recommend this Nikon to any amateur or pro out there. March 15, 2013
Great point n shoot , I was amazed at its capture of low light situations Just missing a raw feature, cable release ,, but what point n shoot does ? Great picture colour . , slow to recover from using continuous shots , and wen battery is getting depleted. But great overall, May 25, 2014
The best camera in less than SLR The zoom is brilliant. I loved this camera because of its ability to capture the pics in an unprecedented way. The wide variety of options & features available are great. The only drawbacks are RAW feature & Viewfinder. You can undoubtedly go for this camera because of the trust you can have on Nikon. This is the best product you can get below $400. February 20, 2014
Great value For people looking to upgrade their point and shoot, but aren't quite ready for a full DSLR, I think this is a very good buy. You have a lot of great features in a compact, lightweight camera that allows you to learn more about using manual controls like aperture and shutter priority modes. The image quality and zoom are top quality - especially when I use a tripod. You can really get some great shots with this camera. Most online reviews by photography sites agree this is good value. My only criticisms are that: - I wish the EVF was bigger - the shutter response was faster - they should have included a separate battery charger - are you listening, Nikon? But none of that really takes away from what I consider a great bridge camera at a decent price. January 13, 2014
this is it perfect camera,perfect zoom . i am new user for nikon. but i am very happy. September 17, 2013
Best compact on the market. Light, great features - missing one specific item to complete the package. I own an N65 SLR, then a Coolpix 100. When the P100 came out I bought one for the ease of use, compactness, wicked zoom & clarity, also no need to lug around one of the big 'D' series and heavy zoom lens. I have had excellent use of my P100 and would love to upgrade to the P520 however there is one vital item missing from the package: a remote or cable attached shutter release. Because of the compactness and light weight of the camera it requires very cool nerves to take extreme zoom shots - even when using a tripod. I would love Nikon to add this vital accessory to the camera before I invest in the next upgrade. July 31, 2013
Amazing Owner of P510 but now I wish I waited for this one to come out. way better than anything canon can cook up. April 2, 2013
Absolute great upgrade from the P510 ! First, let me tell you taht I own Pro Nikon equipment for bird and landscape photography. I use the small Coolpix for travel and to play with at home. Wow... Nikon strikes again putting the P520 on the market ! I'm a Nikon user since the mid 1980's and I did purchase the P500 and upgraded to the P510 before purchasing this camera. I do have it for 1 week yet, I can say that I'm very impressed about the new features like the swivel screen, the new low ISO and some others. Resolution is there with the 18.1Mpixels. Not a lot more than the P510 but just enough to be able to see differences. With the higher pixels comes the noise of course because photosites are smaller for the same sensor size. If you get the exposure right, noise is extremely fine. If you try to underexpose putting the D-Lightning MED or HIGH, even at 200 ISO, you'll get noise, something that was more manageable on the P510 because of lower Mpixels. The key is to trigger the histogram on on the screen and expose to the right. I can also say that I get far better results with this camera and my old P510 if I use it on aperture Priority putting all the AUTO features manual than the PROGRAM mode or the SCENE mode. The ZOOM is one of the feature that pushed me towards this camera (and the P510). Video is great with lots of different settings and focus is much better than the P510. To summarize, I'm extremely happy with this camera and would recommend it to anybody ! The only regret that I have is that it can't shoot RAW files... but that doesn't put a negative point on my review ! March 2, 2013
Equipamento fantastico! Excelente maquina. Comprei a minha e em menos de um mes ja fiz em torno de 1000 fotos e posso garantir que nenhuma foto me decepcionou. Mais que recomendado! May 23, 2014
Fantastica Excelente produto, custo beneficio, marca conceituada com tecnologia de ponta. Estou muito satisfeito com a câmera embora ter apenas 1 mês de uso. Aprovadíssimo! March 1, 2014
Excelente câmera Câmera excelente, com vários recursos de grande utilidade. Destaque para o visor que permite a visualização durante o disparo de fotos do tipo autorretrato e, também, para o recurso que deixa as fotos, em macro e as de ambientes com pouca luz, perfeitas mesmo sem o uso do tripé. January 30, 2014
excelente Uma excelente máquina. Ja fiz ótimas fotos. Inclusive 03 festas de 15 anos. January 23, 2014
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
227 Questions | 253 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
227 Questions | 253 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX P520
 
5 Answers

How to store Nikon P520 into the bag that was given?

Jun 4, 2013 by
by
Jen
-6points
0out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
1 year ago
by
Jen
Age: 18-24
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree....the bag that came with my P520, which I purchased the camera at COSTCO, is a NIKON bag, with the logo and all and essentially equates to carrying a box, no style. Too small for the camera and provides no protection as the camera has to be stuffed into it. As a recommendation, I tried a lot of different bags and found one I really like and fits the camera perfectly. I purchased in Jan. 2014 from Best Buy Electronics store. It was $22.00 (available for a lot less on various web-sites though. It has plenty of storage for everything, good protection and all the reviews I read on it are great...plus it has nice style and many ways to carry, Belt, strap or handle. It is made by "CASE LOGIC" Case #DCB304. It can be checked out on their web-site. Highly recommend!
Jan 4, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Experience: Less than a month

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I got the same case as part of a package from an authorized Nikon dealer. It is too small as it is hard to get the camera in and out much less carry any accessories. The same case we got is on Amazon for $17.95. You can see in the pictures that the camera barely fits. Why would Nikon or Amazon try to sell such a small bag for this camera. I looked on Amazon for something better and ordered one which was supposed to be for a P520. This case didn't fit at all!! I had to return it and I am still looking. I plan to go to the store where I bought the camera and show them the bag and let them know I'm not happy about it. Maybe they will offer me a discount on something better.
Dec 29, 2013 by
by
avelave

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Looks like we are not alone with the problem !!! I bought my p520 from a camera store and it also came with a case . Of course the case does not fit and I sent in my question also. Got the standard answer that it's a third party case (even though it came with the p520 kit). Totally annoyed since this is the same darn case they sell on their site !!! Go figure ... Nikon is not hearing a word of what we are saying !!! The case DOES NOT fit ! Hope they have better answers when we have a real issue, because right now I am not impressed with their answer !!!!! Just really annoyed ...,,
Aug 7, 2013 by
by
Carol
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Location : 
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I recently purchased my P520 through a Nikon authorized brick and mortar store. The case was included in the package.

The case you pictured above is the same one I received, and I find it challenging to get the camera and strap in, never mind the charging unit and AV cables!

I've found it fits best if you undo the Velcro on the small inside panel and then place the camera facing the back of the case. Fold and stuff the strap and you are ready to go!

So far, I am loving the versatility of this compact camera! Have been out taking pictures every day, no matter what the weather.

Hope you are enjoying yours, too!
Jul 29, 2013 by
by
Chris
Weymouth, MA
Location : 
Weymouth, MA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I bought my Coolpix P520 from Nikon. They did not provide a "bag."

Perhaps you bought your camera from a camera shop and they threw a "bag" In for you.

Who "gave" you the bag? Maybe they have specifications for that particular bag.
Jun 6, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
4 Answers

Camera Case for Coolpix P520?

Jun 6, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
I prefer not to use a paper grocery bag. :-)

Since there are no lenses, must there be room for a bunch of accessories?

I would like to have a protective camera case to protect the camera between uses.

please recommend a camera case.
1 year ago
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You're correct; all you need is a spare charged battery and memory card. Luckily, my P520 just fit into the Ambico small point and shoot digital camera bag I bought over 10 years ago for my old 3MP Olympus. This bag has a web-clasp closure, a heavy web belt loop, strap loops and detachable shoulder strap, and a handle on top. I actually use all three options in different circumstances. You put the camera in by grasping it normally with the right hand, placing the lens cover against the front wall, then sliding the back into the bag; tuck in the strap and close the flap. It's secure and pretty well protected (and no "rip" of velcro when you open it, to scare off wildlife). To remove it, undo the flap, grasp, and pull, and it's ready to use. The bag is padded, and has a zip close leatherette front pocket, protected by the flap, for accessories (plenty of room for a download cable if you want, or a wireless module). The bag is 6" by 5-1/2" by 3+" deep.

Unfortunately, it's not clear that Ambico makes this bag (or any bag) any more. I found 5 new from one vendor on eBay(mid-ohiotradingcompany), but no other references to this particular bag (black, with gray textured flap, and the word "Ambico" written across the flap just above the clasp). But it gives you an idea what the minimum might be.
Apr 14, 2014 by
by
Dadsfolk

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
MegaGear "Every Ready" makes a great leather case, which is a traditional design which fits the P520 nicely, although a bit bulky. The case screws onto the tripod socket, and a tripod can attached to that. This is very classic going back as much as 100 years. It comes with a lightweight storage bag for the case for when you don't use it.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Dec 11, 2013 by
by
CameraCollector
Fullerton, CA, USA
Location : 
Fullerton, CA, USA
Age: 55-65

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Has Nikon made any other bags? As per the comments I've read. it doesn't seem to provide real protection and it does not even seem to fit the older (smaller?) versions...
Jul 13, 2013 by
by
corbine
Far up north (Canada)
Location : 
Far up north (Canada)
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The Nikon carrying case that will fit the Coolpix P520 is in the link below.
http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Pr...
Jun 10, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
4 Answers

How does manual focus work on the P520?

Feb 7, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+13points
18out of 23found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful18unhelpful5
I keep seeing references to the Nikon P520 that it will have the ability to do a manual focus. Most fixed lens cameras (non-digital SLRs) only have the ability to automatically focus and don't do a good job of this. Things like a screened in window, fencing, or foreground objects will almost always get focus while background objects are nearly impossible to focus on. Can this camera lens be manually focused? If so how? Hopefully with a focusing ring near the base or front of the lens?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
Which is Best for buy......? May be Nikon P520 // DSLR 3100 ??
Price is often same...!
DSlR is always awesome...and...size is same....u can utilize your lens....any short with minimum 18-105mm/50m....also support High quality lens....!!
Aug 19, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
Not only can you do manual focusing for still shots, you can also do it for videos. Use P setting for exxmple, set up the manual MF from the bottom of the circular button, and start recording, using the zoom, set up with the lens side button. It's not in the manual, so you will have to try and explore.
Mar 21, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Falls Church, VA
Location : 
Falls Church, VA
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
In addition to using the multi-selector tool to focus manually, the P520 allows you to assign the zoom button on the side of the lens to control manual focus.
Feb 16, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
Manual focus on the P520 will be controlled by using the up and down arrows on the rotary multi-selector.
Feb 9, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P520
 
3 Answers

Does the P520 supports RAW format?

Jan 29, 2013 by
by
KC
+13points
16out of 19found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful3
I couldn't find the information yet about if it could store in RAW format or not. The competitor Canon Powershot SX50 HS is similiar to the P520 in price and with some slight different in the Tech Specs.

I am unfamiliar with the tech specs on cameras but I would like to know a couple of specs that you could tell me that got improved in the Nikon Coolpix P520 compared to the Nikon Coolpix P510.

Like why would you recommend me to buy a P520 compared to the P510 (or even the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS)? I did check the comparasion between P520 vs P510 on this site but it looks similiar to me for the most things. So what important feature does the P520 has what the P510 doesn't?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
KC
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
4out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful5
Answer: 
In addition to differences listed, the LCD screen rotates out to the side & will flip around flat to the camera body. Also, improved Electronic viewfinder.
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, no RAW.
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
Answer: 
More megapixels
Faster lens f/3 vs f/3.3
7 continuous frames vs 5
In addition to lens shift VR also has motion detection.
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
3 Answers

Cool pix p520 case

Aug 2, 2013 by
by
Carol
Fort Worth, TX
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Just bought my new p520 camera "kit." Know this question may have been asked, but how the heck does the camera fit in the case with the charger and cable ???? I've tried every which way. Sort of annoyed that they give include a case that doesn't fit ... Any suggestions ? This is like putting square pegs in a round hole !
10 months ago
by
Carol
Fort Worth, TX
Location : 
Fort Worth, TX
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please contact Nikon Support from the link below for assistance.
https://support.nikonusa.com
Aug 6, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it's not a 3rd party case. I bought the coolpix p520 kit that came with the case . As I said, it's a "Nikon " case.
Aug 4, 2013 by
by
Carol
Fort Worth
Location : 
Fort Worth
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Unfortunately NIKON does not include a carrying case with the P520 and therefore is it difficult to assist without knowing the case that you have. If this is a third party case that was issued to you by the dealer, we suggest you contact the dealer for assistance.
Aug 3, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P520
 
2 Answers

Will the Coolpix P520 have accept filters or a filter adapter?

Feb 4, 2013 by
by
Robert
Chicago, IL, USA
+8points
11out of 14found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful3
I know the P510 has many special effects, and perhaps the P520 has even more, but I'm wondering if the lens will accept screw-on filters or make available a filter adapter.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Robert
Chicago, IL, USA
Location : 
Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-6points
6out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful12
Answer: 
For Coolpix510 i use 67mm Adapter Ring / Adaptor Ring for Nikon P510, 58mm Adapter Ring / Adaptor Ring for Nikon P510 and KIWI lens adapter for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Digital Camera 67mm. I think the same can be used with COOLPIX P520.
Feb 8, 2013 by
by
oleg_lap
Lviv, Lviv Oblast, Ukraine
Location : 
Lviv, Lviv Oblast, Ukraine
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
9out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2
Answer: 
No, filters cannot be used.
Feb 5, 2013 by
by
KeithD
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
2 Answers

External flash using optical slave unit

Feb 5, 2013 by
by
La Casa dos Espiritos
Jakarta, Indonesia
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Since there is no hotshoe in this camera, is it possible to use an external flash using an optical salve unit ?
e.g. is it compatible / sync with them ?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
La Casa dos Espiritos
Jakarta, Indonesia
Location : 
Jakarta, Indonesia
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, you can use an optical slave unit to this camera like the P510. I tried up to three slave flash up to 3 pcs. of the less expensive Yungnuo slave flash and they all functioned well..
Aug 2, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
It is possible to use an external fash that has SU-4 mode such as Nikon SB-700, SB-800, SB-900,SB-910. In SU-4 mode, the speedlight sense when the camera's flash fires and fire in sync with it.
Mar 9, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P520
 
2 Answers

Can the P520 with USB to WiFi be used as a webcam?

Feb 18, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Southern California
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Subject: Can the Nikon P520 with USB to WiFi be used as a webcam?

As you know the best webcams are such primitive cameras with such staggeringly poor sound that the P520 could be a huge improvement, with the potential of recording based on motion detection, while perhaps allowing for subsequent zooming into its 18 megapixel images; not just streaming low resolution videos, as a potentially more useful option. All of which are relevant security issues and applications for anyone with a home, apartment, or a place of work, as well as providing a good reason to buy an extra camera.

In fact just sending occasional still images (based on motion detection) as an email would be a good start; or would we need to buy an $800 Samsung Galaxy Note 2 in order to record and transfer an image, however without any motion detection capacity, since the USB port on the Galaxy would be used to connect to the router, or perhaps we would use the USB port for an external motion detector, instead of looking at the pixels.

The problem we found with existing low resolution web or security cameras is that the emails fail to be transmitted correctly, even though D-Link and others make reliable routers. Apparently, the experienced software people did not work on the web or security cameras. Naturally, you could see the exceptional complexity and cost involved in using an external Android device for a such simple yet common application. Of course, if you allowed the Android to download software into a Nikon camera, that also could address such issues, without creating a constantly evolving application burden for Nikon.

While this is a huge photographic area that is not being well addressed (except in factory environments), it is however a place where new and eventually all used Nikon cameras could be put to use in people’s homes, offices or driveways, to significantly reduce the chance of violence and thefts, apparently in over 150 countries, where governments prefer to not be of any significant help.

Re. WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Southern California
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No
Feb 18, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No.
Feb 18, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
2 Answers

Is there going to ever be a protective Lens cover for this product?

Jun 11, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
3out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
1 year ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you get the 67mm adapter (3rd party product) you can use a filter UV etc to protect the lens. It does come with a lens cap.
Sep 1, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Nikon, does not make LCD covers for Coolpix Cameras.
Jun 11, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
11 months ago
by
peguin
philadelphia, PA
Location : 
philadelphia, PA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
A third party makes an adapter which will hold a 67mm filter or lens hood. It is a compression fit over the end of the lens and does not interfere when the camera is powered down.
User submitted video
Sep 1, 2013 by
by
Cable Guy
NC
Location : 
NC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Nikon does not make filters or adapters for the P520.
Jul 8, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers