Loading
;

Point, shoot and share breathtaking photos. It's that simple.

Your friends and family love seeing what you've been up to; with the Wi-Fi® enabled COOLPIX S5200, you can give them an amazing view! Capture breathtaking photos and Full HD 1080p videos with ease, instantly share them to your compatible smartphone, tablet or compatible Wi-Fi® device, then upload them to your favorite websites as usual. A 16-megapixel CMOS low-light image sensor delivers better image quality and lets you shoot in more situations without a flash, while smart features like Scene Auto Selector and Subject Tracking deliver optimal results with the least amount of fuss. Get the perfect shot in one take and share it without missing a beat!
VR image stabilization
Motion Detection
ISO 3200
CMOS
Clear Color Display
Smart Portrait System
Scene Auto Selector
Target Finding AF
Subject Tracking
Full HD
3D Mode
Wi-Fi

Share amazing photos in an instant

Built-in Wi-Fi® for easily sharing your shots anytime, anywhere

The COOLPIX S5200 makes it easier than ever to share beautiful views of your world. Take a great shot and instantly send it to your compatible smartphone, tablet, or any compatible Wi-Fi® device. Then use your smart device to email it, text it, or upload it to your favorite social networking or photo album sites—shared the same way you normally share images online. Your friends and family will be amazed by the shots you share!

Superior low-light performance

High-performance CMOS image sensor lets you shoot without a flash

Imagine being able to shoot without a flash at weddings, concerts, parties—most places your flash normally fires. You won't have to interrupt a moment to capture it, and your photos and HD videos will look more natural and true to your memory. The COOLPIX S5200 performs so well in low light situations that, in most cases, using the flash is optional. Of course, when the lighting is extremely poor and you need a flash, it'll be there.

Record superior videos

1080p Full HD videos with stereo sound for dazzling movies

If you want a compact camera that shoots stunning Full HD videos, the COOLPIX S5200 delivers. 1080p Full HD means the ultimate in video quality. Record the action, then connect to an HDTV and watch your videos come alive. A built-in mic records high-quality audio in stereo. Your videos will look and sound phenomenal.

Frame the perfect shot

6x wide-angle NIKKOR glass zoom lens gets you closer to the action

Every COOLPIX is designed around a genuine NIKKOR glass lens, the legendary optics that have made Nikon famous. The COOLPIX S5200 6x zoom NIKKOR lens is great for everything from wide-angle group shots to close-up portraits. Plus, lens-shift Vibration Reduction helps make your photos steady, even if your hands are not.
  • 1x
  • |
  • 6x
{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-zoom").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:2,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}

Enjoy the view

Compose, review and share your photos and HD videos on a vibrant, high-resolution 3.0-inch 460,000-dot LCD display.

Focus where you want it

Kids and pets are always on the go. Fortunately, the COOLPIX S5200 includes Subject Tracking, which automatically locks onto a moving subject and keeps it in focus until you're ready to take the shot.

Let the camera call the shots

Not sure which Scene Mode to choose? No problem! Select Scene Auto Selector and let the camera make the call. From Night Portrait to Backlighting, the COOLPIX S5200 will optimize the Scene Mode for your situation.

Dazzle with every shot

Create truly exceptional photos and HD videos in nearly any light. A 16-megapixel CMOS low-light image sensor delivers superior image quality, versatility and low-light performance.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's built-in Wi-Fi® capability can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

COOLPIX S5200 2.8 5 20 20
Very impressed with this little camera! This is the first new camera I've bought in 8 years. I bought it because we were about to go on a vacation, I just went to the displays at the local Target and played around, this one caught my eye, honestly, because I loved the purple color of it! The price was great (on sale at the time) and it came in a package with a case and 8 GB memory card! So I automatically saved on accessories for the camera. I just got back from vaca, I am so impressed and happy with the quality of photos! Nothing was blurry and the camera was easy to figure out and navigate! June 30, 2013
¡ Tan pequeño pero a la vez tan grande ! A mi sincreamente me ha gustado un monton porque la cámara es pequeña y parece de las baratas pero no , esta cámara es mejor que muchas grandes , su tamaño no tiene nada que ver con ella . Tiene bastantes Megapíxeles , fotos en 3D , hace una vídeos increíbles . Es un poco cara pero vale la pena enserio . January 2, 2014
Usual Nikon quality, but ... Great camera for the price. Bought it exclusively because it can be controlled from my Android tablet. I have it attached to my spotting scope, and can easily see small details out to 200 yards and save the photos on my tablet (all wireless, of course). Great picture quality, and easy to use ... except ... ... the "multi-selector" is too small (and I don't have big hands). Nikon should have found another way to implement this function instead of settling for this solution. It works as advertised, but I usually have to make 3 - 4 attempts to get where I want in the Menu. Had this been better, I would have gladly given it 5 stars. August 9, 2013
Common Focus Defect Camera is nice, however, I have an older model Nikon that takes much faster shots and was cheaper in price. And it appears to be a common mechanical focus problem on some of these coolpix models. Other than the above cons, decent camera. September 7, 2013
lens error, i currently am the owner of a 140 dollar object d art that can not take pictures after about two and a half months of light use (68 pictures taken) my camera can not auto focus and comes up with a lens error. I enjoyed it while it worked, but it worked for such a short time before it became completely dysfunctional. waiting to hear from service department, but if I have to mail it to another state, I will be out the cost of shipping, both directions, plus loss of use. I'm trying to be optimistic here, but I would suggest you look elsewhere than this camera if you wish to enjoy the simple pleasure of just taking pictures. December 29, 2013
Nikon should stand up to their name. Less than 3 days of use and lens issues already occurred. The camera was well taken care of. And was kept in a camera case at all times when not being used. When it was being used, the wristband was being used as well, it has never been dropped or damaged in any way. Went through the support vwebsite to find options, but those options were of no help. October 28, 2013
Do not buy this camera! I purchased a coolpix S5200 camera 1 year ago. The first time I attempted to use it, it would not turn on. I took the battery out, put it back in and it worked for a few weeks and then it would not turn on. I returned it to the store and they were unable to fix it. They sent it back to the company and I received a new camera several weeks later. I used it around the holidays and took a few pictures in February and the new one worked great. I charged it up today. I took three pictures and turned it off. Later, I tried to put the pictures on my computer and the camera would not turn on. It is the exact same problem I had with the first one. My warrenty expired 4 days ago. I guess I will have to buy another camera. It sure won't be a Nikon! June 29, 2014
Don't buy this camera This camera is slow, quality of recording is poor, not user friendly at all. I haven't been able to transfer info through wi-fi. Camera stopped working in less than a year after purchase. I only use the digital camera for summer vacations. I bought it last summer and was not happy with it, but I used it and decided to keep it. Now this summer I had to go buy a new camera for my vacation because it won't even turn on... Don't buy this camera. June 18, 2014
Shut down and will not power up. Used this once and when I charged the battery, nothing. Dead to the world. Do not buy this camera. January 5, 2014
The delay between pressing button and photo flash I just bought this camera and I hate it. I wanted to take pictures of dogs, in motion and not just asleep. There is such a long delay between pressing the button and the photo actually being taken that the animal is only partially in the frame. I take dog movement photos at shows and puppies and the dog isn't even in the frame when it's over. I guess if I just wanted to take pictures of mountains it would be fine. And yes I read the book and the timer is off. I'll make a gift out of this camera and keep using my old minolta. October 2, 2013
bad camera I have had 2 of these go bad returned the first to the store and the second went bad in 20 days. the store will not return again and I have a paper weight. Not a scratch on the camera free to good home September 30, 2013
Battery/card cover latch I thought I had broken it so went & bought the same camera again so my husband wouldn't find out. :-) Didn't take second one long & the same thing happened!! I do several events in our community & been very disappointed when I can't get it to stay closed. Afraid to purchase another one! September 10, 2013
Returned to seller after 2 days Purchased in a Costco in Los Angeles, CA while on vacation (LA) after forgetting my Coolpix S6200 at home.This camera was returned to the seller after 2 days. On the second day the camera lens did not focus and shut down with a screen that said "lens error". Camera just stopped working and we were on our way to Mexico and decided to return it after it stopped working. We decided to buy another camera, same because of the price. While vacationing in Mexico, the second camera also displayed "lens error" a couple of times when we tried to use it. We did some research online, seems to be a common problem with this model. We are returning it to Costco today!!! August 31, 2013
A great camera until... I received this camera for my birthday. I love the color, it's sleek and handy and easy to use. The problem began while I was taking pictures during my birthday party and the camera just shut off. Just completely shut down!! No warning or anything!! One thing I noticed was that the lens didn't retract when it shut off, which I thought was pretty odd. So I decided to charge the camera (even though I had charged it for 3 hours prior to using it) and even after charging it, the camera wouldn't power on. Finally after repeated attempts to turn it on, it powered on for a few seconds, then powered off. It did a few cycles of that and now when I try to turn the camera off, it gives me a 'lens error'. The lens won't retract, it won't focus - the camera won't even turn on now (just tried to turn it back on in the middle of this review). July 4, 2013
Lens error? I bought Nikon Coolpix S5200 today so I could take pictures of my daughter's graduation. The camera does not focus. Everything is blurry. I keep getting "LENS ERROR" on my display screen. The graduation is in a few hours. I am very disappointed. May 25, 2013
Page:2
<<prev
25 Questions | 30 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
25 Questions | 30 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S5200
 
2 Answers

WiFi won't connect

Mar 24, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+3points
5out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful2
I can't access the second line of the password entry line. Has anyone been able to connect to WiFi?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Location : 
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age: 35-44
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have not been able to connect the wi-fi after several hours of trying to make it work. I am returning this camera. There is not enough information in the manual about how to connect to wi-fi.

If you are going to buy this camera I would strongly suggest you try to connect to wi-fi before you leave the store and make sure you can return the camera. I bought this camera for the wi-fi feature. It shouldn't be this difficult to connect.
May 9, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2
Answer: 
Sorry, the second line cannot be access. I hope you are not trying to input your router password. Please refer to page 107 of your manual. When the Wifi feature is activated on the S5200, the camera creates it own wifi hotspot which you must connect to using an Iphone, Ipad, Adroid smart phone, or android tablet, and you need to have the 'WMAU' (Wireless mobile Adapter Utility) already installed on your smart device before trying to connect. The app can be downloaded from the google play store and Apple app store using your smart device.The S5200 cannot connect to your broadband router or anything else.

After connecting to the camera network using your Smart device, you will see 'Negotiating' on the camera screen. At that point you should launch the WMAU application.
Mar 25, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S5200
 
2 Answers

Is there any way to download videos from the S5200 via wi-fi? (I have the wireless mobility utility app installed)

Jun 9, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
That is not what I read online. It says you can make video's while using wifi but I can't even get wifi to work and can't get a good answer.
Jan 28, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Only picture transfer is supported.There is no way to to transfer videos from the S5200 to a smart device via the WMU app.
Jun 10, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S5200
 
2 Answers

Camera freezes

Aug 12, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Michigan
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Had the S5200 since May 2013 yesterday Aug. 2013 I was shooting and the camera lens would not retract, camera would not shut off wouldn't do anything. So removed the battery, which had been recharged day before, and then replaced it which seemed to correct the problen. However, when it's in "backlight" mode it records 2 pics, one being lighter than the other. Previously have a 3200 - works beautifully. Previous to that F2 - works fine also.
11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: Over 65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For help with an issue with the camera, please contact nikon support.
https://support.nikonusa.com.
Sep 10, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
In Backlighting mode, when the shutter-release button is pressed all the way, the camera shoots images continuously at high speed, and saves the following two images.
1) A non-HDR composite image
2)An HDR composite image in which the loss of details in highlights or shadows is minimized
*The second image saved is an HDR composite image.
Please refer to page 46 of the manual for details.
Aug 12, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S5200
 
2 Answers

Is the coolpix 5200 compatible with windows xp?

Dec 27, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
i just got this for Christmas and I took some pictures but I'm having trouble getting the pictures into my computer. My computer doesn't recognize the camera when I connect it using the usb cable, so I cant upload my pictures. I have wifi can I use that to transfer the pictures from my camera to my computer?
6 months ago
by
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY, USA
Location : 
Buffalo, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The Wi-Fi in the camera is to transfer wirelessly from the camera to any iOS/Android device. The software View NX 2 is compatible with the camera and Windows XP. Here is a link for View NX 2.8.3: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Dec 27, 2013 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Did you downloaded the included View nx2 software?
Dec 27, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S5200
 
2 Answers

I can not connect to wifi with my s5200?

Jan 28, 2014 by
by
Pryncyss
Leesville, Batesburg-Leesville, SC 29070, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I got a Nikon Coolpix S5200 for Christmas as a gift and have been trying to figure out how to download and work the wifi. I have read everything that I could fine on how to work the wifi but nothing has worked. My manual doesn't have anything about how the wifi is connected or how to connect. I have tried to fine the app on my Ipad but the online app I can fine is for S800c and it doesn't work with my camera. What can I do to make this camera work with is the main reason my husband bought the camera for me and now I have had it over a month and still have not used it. It is getting very frustrating everyday that goes by and I can't use my new camera. We have a son who's birthday party is next week and I really would love to use this camera and the wifi to share the pictures. SOMEONE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE explain to me how to get it to work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Pryncyss
Leesville, Batesburg-Leesville, SC 29070, USA
Location : 
Leesville, Batesburg-Leesville, SC 29070, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is only one app for all Nikon wireless cameras, it is "wireless mobile adapter utility", so it sounds like you have the right app.
Here is a link to the full user manual for the s5200, it is in PDF format. Please read pages 107-110 for wireless instructions. http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/coolpix/S5200RM_EN.pdf
There is also a link in that section for app instructions.
Good luck, call Nikon if you can't figure it out.1- 800-nikonus
Jan 28, 2014 by
by
JoeR

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
The COOLPIX S5200 has Wi-Fi capabilities to allow transferring of images from the camera to an iOS/Android device. Please keep in mind the battery of the camera must be full and the memory card must be inserted into the camera. Also make sure that the battery on the smart device is also charged. Once these steps have been taken, the Wi-Fi can be turned on by turning on the Wi-Fi options in the set up menu. When the Wi-Fi is turned on, go to the Wi-Fi settings of the iOS/Android device and select the Wi-Fi network. Once the network is selected, open the Wirless Mobile Utility App. If there are anymore questions please contact 1-800-NIKONUS!
Jan 28, 2014 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S5200
 
1 answer

.How do you use the wifi?

May 9, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+3points
5out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful2
Answer: 
First, you will need to download an app called WMU (Wireless Mobile Utility) to your apple or android smart device. The app can be downloaded free of charge from the application store on your smart device. You must also have a fully charge battery in your camera, and an approved memory card . (see page 22 of your manual for the list of approved memory cards)

(1)Press the menu button on your camera.
(2) Scroll down to 'Setup' (wrench) and press OK.
(3)Scroll down and highlight 'WiFi Options' and press OK.
(4)Scroll down and select WiFi Network and press OK, then select 'ON' and press OK

Note: If your battery is not fully charge, or if there is no memory card in the camera, or if the usb cable is plug into the camera, or if an Eye-Fi card is in the camera. you will not be able to highlight "WiFi Network'.

Once 'Wi-FI network' is activated on your camera, you will see an SSID(network name) display on the camera screen, and you will also see four square boxes going around on the camera screen.

Next, go to the settings on your android phone/table or Iphone/Ipad and turn on 'Wi-Fi' and after a few seconds your phone, tablet, or Ipad will display a list of networks that you can connect to. Tap on the network that is the same name as the SSID displayed on your camera screen.
Once your smart device is connected to the Camera network, you will see 'Negotiating' on the camera screen. At that point , you should lunch the WMU app that you downloaded to your smart device.
May 10, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S5200
 
1 answer

CAN YOU IMPRINT THE DATE AND TIME ON THE IMAGES

Jun 4, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am a dog groomer and will be using the camera everyday to do before/after pics so it is impt that I have at least the date on the image
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, coolpix S5200 has a date and time imprint feature.
Jun 10, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S5200
 
1 answer

How do you pull photos already on camera via wifi to your phone.

Jun 22, 2013 by
by
CS
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
The only pictures I can load to my phone are ones I take while being linked to the phone which is a big hassel. I take photos then link to my phone and try to put them on phone and they will not go.
1 year ago
by
CS
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
When the WMU application is opened, it displays the options to 'Take Photos' or 'View Photos'. The 'View Photo' Option can be use to transfer Images.

If you are using an iPhone:
1)Launch the WMU app and Tap 'View Photos'.
2)On the second screen, tap 'Pictures on S5200'
3)After the pictures are loaded, tap on 'Select' at the bottom right corner of the screen.
4)Tap on the pictures would like to transfer and you will see a check mark on them.
5)Tap 'Download' to transfer the pictures.

If you are using an Android phone:
1)Launch the WMU app and Tap 'View Photos'.
2)On the second screen, tap 'Pictures on Camera'
3)After the pictures are loaded, use your finger to press and hold one of the pictures for a few seconds and you will see a check mark on it along with a box on the rest of the other images.
4)Tap on the pictures would like to transfer and you will see a check mark them.
5)Tap 'Download' to transfer the pictures.
Jun 25, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year ago
by
ISEE
Lake Worth(less). FL
Location : 
Lake Worth(less). FL
Age: 55-65
Experience: 1-3 months
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Correct.
Jun 28, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S5200
 
1 answer

What do you do when screen says lens error?

Jul 4, 2013 by
by
Campo
Tulsa
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Try to turn on camera. Sometimes it opens but then shuts down. Won't focus when it is open.
1 year ago
by
Campo
Tulsa
1 answer

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Try turning your S5200 off, removing and replacing the battery, and turning the camera on again. If the error persists or reappears your camera may be in need of service. Visit http://support.nikonusa.com for support and service information.
Jul 5, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers