Loading

Everything you need to make the moment last.

Photo of a smiling blonde woman in the park holding the S3500
Be ready for success at every photo op with the stylish, easy to use COOLPIX S3500. Whether you're shooting a close-up portrait of your favorite pet or a wide group shot of your closest friends, the COOLPIX S3500's 7x optical zoom NIKKOR glass lens will capture beautiful, clearer 20.1-megapixel photos and 720p HD videos. Lens-shift Vibration Reduction helps minimize the blur caused by camera shake, while Subject Tracking locks on to moving subjects and keeps focus right where you want it. When you don't want to fuss with camera settings, Scene Auto Selector automatically picks the best settings for your shot. Let your camera do the work while you enjoy living in the moment.
VR image stabilization
Motion Detection
ISO 3200
Smart Portrait System
Scene Auto Selector
Subject Tracking
HD Movie Mode
Photo showing blur and another showing a sharp female portrait subject, and the VR graphic icon

Don't sweat a little camera shake

Vibration Reduction helps keep the shot steady, even if your hands are not

Have you ever caught a great moment with your camera but then discovered your shot is blurry because of camera shake? The COOLPIX S3500's lens-shift Vibration Reduction helps keep the shot steady, even if your hands are not. Say goodbye to blurry photos, shaky videos and tripods.
Photo of a kid playing in a sprinkler in a garden with the HD video graphic icon

Capture the sights and sounds

720p HD videos with sound bring your memories to life

When a photo alone won't do, press the dedicated movie button and instantly start recording 720p HD video in widescreen format while the built-in microphone captures the sounds of the moment in high fidelity. When you're ready to share your creations, use an optional audio video cable (EG-CP14) to connect to your compatible TV. Your friends and family will see your movies come to life on the big screen.
portrait of a young woman with flowers in the background

Point, shoot and amaze

20.1-MP CCD sensor for bright, sharp photos and HD videos

Create beautiful high-resolution photos and videos with ease. The COOLPIX S3500's high-performance NIKKOR glass lens is paired with a 20.1-megapixel CCD image sensor that captures bright, vibrant images you'll love sharing.
photo of two woman jogging on a raised deck in the trees

Sharper photos of moving subjects

When your subject is moving fast, Motion Detection automatically kicks in and selects a faster shutter speed and higher ISO (light sensitivity) to help you get sharper, clearer photos.
photo of a kid eating a cookie ice cream sandwich

Focus where you want it

Kids and pets are always on the go. Fortunately, the COOLPIX S3500 includes Subject Tracking, which automatically locks onto a moving subject and helps keep it in focus until you're ready to take the shot.
photo of a dirt road amid green trees and a field in the background

Let the camera call the shots

Easily match your situation to one of 20 Scene Modes like Beach, Snow, Night Portrait, Sunset and more, and enjoy effortless great shots. Or, choose Scene Auto Selector and let the camera choose for you.
portrait of two young women in a park

Flatter your friends and family

Create beautiful photos of the people you care about. Smart Portrait System activates several features ideal for portraits, like Face Priority AF, Skin Softening, Blink Warning and more.
COOLPIX S3500 3.8 5 29 29
Super and Compact Camera I really enjoy the ease of this camera. I purchased one for each of my preschool teachers and they both commented how easy to use they are and how great the pics turn out. My son and my daughter each have one, too. They purchased theirs and got me hooked on ease and portability. Thanks Nikon! October 2, 2013
Very easy to use and size is great. Love it very easy to use. Glad I bought it. Sorry, buts thats all I'm writing. September 28, 2013
Great camera I also had a Conan 35mm Eos. This camera is lightweight and you can put it in your pocket. I haven't used the case only for storage. It's great to bring on my walks. September 26, 2013
Awesome Camera I just bought this camera after five years of not having a point and shoot camera. I liked it because it looked similar to my 2005 Casio EXLIM 4 MP camera. I like how easy it is to use and it is very stable. September 19, 2013
Great product for everyday use At the outset this small camera is fantastic! I love taking pictures and grew tired of buying throw away cameras. This camera is everything I wanted as far as point and shoot. It takes fabulous pictures and is simple to use. It does not come with the memory card so be sure to order that as well. September 1, 2013
Great Price, Great Photos, easy to use! I have had this camera now for a week, and I will say, don't let the size fool you. This little camera is packed with features found in high end cameras. I wanted something small enough to fit in my pocket, yet good enough to take fair to good photos and videos. To my surprise the photos are better then expected and for the price you can't beat the quality. If you don't want to spend a small fortune on a digital camera, think seriously about owning this one! August 8, 2013
Baby Nikon joins my family Having used the Nikon Coolpix L18 for years I felt lost when I couldn't use it any longer as the battery door latch broke. I wasn't upset as the camera served me very well. I always have a camera with me as I love taking photos for my volunteer work. Or just a photo of interest or safety, like the one uploaded here. A tree branch on a house where no one was home. My Nikon D60 and D7000 are just too large to walk around with all the time. So I started checking what was available in a pocket size camera. I was amazed at the new features, more pixels and slim body of many of the new cameras. I checked out Canon, Fuji, Panasonic and Sony before I bought the Coolpix S3500. The slip body fits in pockets, No sharp edges. 20 Mega Pixels and full Hi Def video at a VERY reasonable price, helped me pick it over the cameras I checked out. The only down side for me is the proprietary battery, as I was used to 2 Double AA batteries in my old Nikon Camera. The Coolpix S3500 has a great zoom and photo quality that surprised me. Trust Nikon to surprise an old guy who's been shooting photos for 40 years!. I'm very pleased with my purchase. July 23, 2013
So small Having bought this camera online, I actually didn't handle it before purchase relying on the good Nikon name and TV advertising to help make my decision along with reading details online. It is so small compared to SLR film cameras that I used in the past. Nevertheless, it is so simple to use with the exception that the controls are quite small for my fat fingers but I am sure I will get used to it. It is a complete package with very useable editing software with the exception that a memory card is an additional purchase so internal memory is quite limited. I am pleased with this purchase just the same. June 6, 2013
Big Bang in a small package!! simple to use,and so compact..Love that it has 20.1 megapixels of resolution.Photos come out great!! May 19, 2013
small camera with 20 MP Small is beautiful, awesome camera came with 20 MP. May 2, 2013
Impressive, compact and high quality. COOLPIX-S3500, very impressive camera. amazingly detailed, big photos; good quality videos; super small; good pricing; very easy to use even 4 me (never had a camera before). at night in the complete dark, the photos r not so good, but what did u expect if theres no light at all? lol so yeah, I'm very impressed with this little device, and I love it. I recommend it to anyone ,who is not a professional of course. :) April 17, 2014
Compact camera should be great for travel Haven't used yet. Purchased for overseas travel in Europe. December 28, 2013
Compact and easy to use. Takes great pictures! Size is compact but takes great pictures and very easy to figure out...I live in a very picturesque area and have my camera with me most of the time..this is easy to slip in a pocket December 28, 2013
Quality pictures expected Just bought it. Expect to get quality pictures. I believe its the best camera for the amount of money I paid. September 24, 2013
Good point and shoot It's a small camera and that's what my wife wanted. Fits in her purse and is lite weight. No need to run out and buy AA batteries any more. Charge time is pretty fast. Average pictures but this is a lower priced camera. If you need more then spend more. Time will tell if this was a good buy or not. So far we both are very happy with the camera. August 16, 2013
ok camera It is a decent camera . I got it on sale. Draw backs are it can slip out of your hand easily because all the smooth edges. It does not work well in the cold. You have to wait when you turn it on to get the zoom to work and I don't know if thats normal,you could miss good shot because of this. Way too many choices from the scene menu ,I like auto, close ups , stabilizer and thats about it. March 11, 2014
No es buena para fotografiar personas u objetos en "Movimiento" La compré para tomar fotografías a mi bebé y no he podido lograr una buena fotografía aunque el movimiento de mi pequeño sea "mínimo". Mi teléfono celular toma mejor las fotografías en ese ámbito. January 27, 2014
Lasted 6 months At first, I really liked this as a portable camera (I also own a D600) for quick shots or shots on the golf courses we play when traveling. Five months into using it, a spot appeared on the sensor and now each picture has a noticeable spot left of center. It was $90 and I don't have the receipt so it will cost $87 to fix. I am disappointed that this occurred so quickly after purchase. Yes, save every receipt but then again, I did register the product the day I bought it and NEVER expected a Nikon product to go bad so quickly. My Nikon D5000 is over 6 years old and has traveled to world with me with no issues. The D600 was my upgrade about the same time as the Coolpix and no issues with the all the travel and it has been on the exact same trips as the Coolpix. I guess you get what you pay for... April 19, 2014
Mais ou menos É uma câmera boa pro dia a dia, mas os vídeos em HD não são lá essa coisas, e também o pior: ela gera aberração cromática , você verá isso quando imprimir as fotos. February 21, 2014
S3500 Never a Clear Shot Bought for daughters class trip to DC. Tested it first right out of the box every picture taken were blurred. Unfortunately, she took for her class trip and no matter how much she tried to adjust and focus the subject in side the brackets the shot was never clear and crisp. Thank God within return window. It is going back as soon as she gets home from her trip. Price was right and size ideal and compact it came with a carrying case. To me the design was fine but the product did not take any clear photos. Not worth the aggravation. I forgot I had a similar issue for a camera that was bought for work. It was exchanged and then later stopped working all together. Will never buy a Nikon low end camera again. Will stick with other brands. May 9, 2014
Major problems This camera, like the last one, didn't last 2 months. The lens sticks and won't scope out. It's very frustrating! The last one I bought to take on a European trip and the lens stopped working my first day there. This one worked for 2 months before it had the exact same problem! Needless to say, I will not purchase another one! April 22, 2014
Poor quality product Camera EXTREMELY POOR QUALITY. Pictures come out FUZZY, GRAINY and Blurry. As to customer service, NIkon's customer service Rep's very unhelpful. Would not recommend to anyone to purchase NIKON product. Customer service just as terrible as to WalMart Customer service. February 7, 2014
JUNK I received this camera for mothers day from my kids less than a month ago...i have used it twice and for the 2 times i used it, it was great. And when i was not using it, it was kept in a case in my dresser drawer. well today i took it out to snap pics of my kids, and when i turn it on all its saying is "lens error". So i thought maybe battery is going dead...so i get charger out of wrapper beings ive NEVER used it, and what do ya know..it dont work! camera has been plugged in for 2 hrs and NOTHING! grrrr i called store where i got it from and of coarse you can only return cameras if its only been 15 days since purchase nothing after ugg June 4, 2013
Falta de peças e acessórios de reposição. A máquina pode ser boa, o grande problema está com a reposição de peças e acessórios. Perdi o adaptador/carregador, e, além de não encontrar com facilidade o produto (precisei usar o 0800 da empresa e ainda duas vezes o "fale conosco" para que indicassem uma revenda, uma vez que a empresa não revende reposição, quando encontrei, verifiquei que custa a metade do preço da camera nova. July 25, 2014
Page:2
<<prev
45 Questions | 55 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
45 Questions | 55 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX S3500
 
5 Answers

Is there a way to make the camera save the picture faster?

Apr 27, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
0points
4out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful4
I just bought my camera today (COOLPIX S3500). I feel like it takes a while (at least 5 seconds) from the time I take a picture until the time I can take another picture because its saving the picture. Is this normal? I already turned off the feature to view the picture after taking it but it still takes a few more seconds for it to save. I currently own the COOLPIX S550 and it definitely doesn't take as long to save.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree about the slowness of saving the images. It is the worst digital camera from that perspective that I have owned. I bought the camera for a life long desired trip to South America. I was so disappointed with both the image recordation speed and the color quality of the images, that I ended up, about a third of the way on a three week trip, using my iPhone 4S for pictures for the balance of the trip. I would not recommend this particular Nikon camera to anyone.
Mar 13, 2014 by
by
E John
Los Angeles
Location : 
Los Angeles
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just press the button again - there is no delay at all, recently made picture stays for about 5 sec, but if you press the button again, you can make another picture almost instantly.

y
Jan 25, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
MENU, SETTINGS(SPANNER ON LEFT) IMAGE REVIEW, TURN OFF. DONE
Sep 27, 2013 by
by
E PERDIOS
CYPRUS

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Surely getting a faster SD card would help ?
Jul 27, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
This is one of the downsides in using a point and shoot, the write speed is not that fast so images being transferred to the card will take a while longer, there really is not anything you can do about it
Apr 28, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S3500
 
3 Answers

USB device not recognized/malfunctioning when plugged into Windows XP

Jan 23, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
9 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thank you... I've downloaded NX2 and all is well.... :)
Jan 23, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see the article on COOLPIX cameras not being recognized on Windows XP: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Jan 23, 2014 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The software disc included with the camera has the required drivers (View NX2).It can be downloaded here:
http://nikonimglib.com/nvnx/index_en_nsa.html#os-windows
Jan 23, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S3500
 
2 Answers

I have just bought one and followed the steps in the manual to charge it but it will not charge. How can I get it to charge?

Jun 15, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure the small clip is back in place holding the battery down. Charge the camera and then put the memory card in place. I had the same problem the first time I attempted to charge the battery.
Aug 3, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
If your S3500 is plugged into an electrical outlet using the EH-70P charger that was included with the camera, and the green light on the top of the camera is not slowly flashing green, please contact Nikon Technical Support for assistance.
Nikon contacts are at support.nikonusa.com
Jun 17, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S3500
 
2 Answers

Does this camera have a "cropping" feature?

Sep 20, 2013 by
by
Speedy
Casselberry, FL, USA
-3points
0out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
With my Kodak camera, I was able to crop a picture before downloading it to print. Does this camera have a feature like that?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Speedy
Casselberry, FL, USA
Location : 
Casselberry, FL, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Don't know how you want it answered. Yes crop is one of the in camera editing tools on the S3500

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes.
Sep 20, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S3500
 
2 Answers

Transferring images to computer

Jan 15, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
buying this for 11 yr. old. Is it easy to transfer photos to a pc or Mac?
9 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
The COOLPIX S3500 is easy to transfer images when using VIew NX 2: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Jan 16, 2014 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Yes, very easy.
Jan 16, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S3500
 
2 Answers

Night shots

Feb 9, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Iv been sruggling to take decent night shots hand geld. Do you have any advice?
8 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The S3500 does not have a fast enough lens for handheld night photography, as Keith said you will need a tripod.

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Start by using a tripod.
Feb 10, 2014 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S3500
 
1 answer

How do I view a video/movie I've taken without downloading it to my computer?

Apr 29, 2013 by
by
Kyle Faye
Vermont
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I've taken a few videos of my foster dogs, but I cannot find the right buttons to view these videos before I download them on to my computer. How can I review these videos before down;;poading?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Kyle Faye
Vermont
Location : 
Vermont
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the playback button to put the camera into playback mode. Use the multi selector to scroll through movies and pictures. Press the OK button to play the movie.

The S3500 PDF reference manual can be downloaded from the link below.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 7, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S3500
 
1 answer

Does the 3500 coolpix have the ability to display jpeg number

May 23, 2013 by
by
cass co ?
Harrisonville, MO 64701, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 5 months ago
by
cass co ?
Harrisonville, MO 64701, USA
Location : 
Harrisonville, MO 64701, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. Coolpix S3500 has the ability to display Jpeg number.
May 28, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S3500
 
1 answer

When I order the camera

May 29, 2013 by
by
Child of God
Heaven, GA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
What all does the camera come with when I order it? Does it at least come with a rechargeable battery and USB adapter thing to charge it?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Child of God
Heaven, GA
Location : 
Heaven, GA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The following accessories are included with the S3500.
AN-CP19 Strap
UC-E6 USB Cable
EG-CP16 Audio Video Cable
EN-EL19 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
EH-70P AC Adapter/Charger
NikonView NX 2 CD-ROM
May 31, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S3500
 
1 answer

Scene selection for normal pictures?

Jun 14, 2013 by
by
Joe
Chicago, IL, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
What scene selection do I use for normal inside and outside photos?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Joe
Chicago, IL, USA
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The COOLPIX S3500 has a Scene Auto Selector mode in which the camera automatically selects the optimimum Scene Mode and adjusts the settings for you. This is a good choice if you want to just set the camera to a single setting and let the camera take care of the decision making.

If you want to choose the scene modes on your own, the proper mode is going to depend on what you are shooting as well as whether you are indoors or outdoors. For example, you may use Portrait Mode, Sports Mode or Landscape Mode outdoors depending on your subject. Party/Indoor mode is a good standard for indoor pictures, but Museum Mode and Backlighting are also suitable for shooting indoors.

You can find descriptions of each scene mode starting on page 41 of the S3500 manual. A copy of the manual can be downloaded from this address:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Jun 17, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers