Loading

42x zoom power, professional-quality photos and videos, endless capabilities.

For those seeking a comprehensive compact camera for zoom, image quality, versatility and technological innovation, look no further than the COOLPIX P520. Create pro-caliber photos and Full HD 1080p videos from mind-boggling distances, even in extremely low-light conditions. Track your travels and explore points of interest with built-in GPS. Take control of your vision with full P, S, A, M exposure modes. Add the optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter and share your shots in an instant, or control the camera with your compatible smartphone or tablet. From its superb 42x zoom NIKKOR glass lens and 18.1-megapixel low-light CMOS image sensor to its D-SLR-inspired design and 3.2-inch Vari-angle LCD, the COOLPIX P520 delivers the pinnacle of performance and zoom.
VR image stabilization
Motion Detection
ISO 3200
CMOS
Clear Color Display
Smart Portrait System
Scene Auto Selector
Target Finding AF
Subject Tracking
Full HD
GPS
3D Mode
  • 1x
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 42x

Get close from afar

Capture distant images with a 42x wide-angle to telephoto NIKKOR glass zoom lens.

Every COOLPIX is designed around a genuine NIKKOR glass lens, the legendary optics that have made Nikon famous. The COOLPIX P520 features a 42x zoom NIKKOR lens that takes you from wide-angle group shots to telephoto close-ups in an instant. And don't worry about a little camera shake—lens-shift Vibration Reduction helps keep the shot steady even when your hands are not.
{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-zoom").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:10,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}

See where you've been

Built-in GPS with Points of Interest (POI) for creating amazing photo journals

Relive the excitement of your travels in a whole new way. The COOLPIX P520 records the exact location of each shot you take, so you can follow the path of your adventure and every stunning view along the way! Share your journeys on Google Earth™, Google+™, and other social media sites or with the included Nikon View NX2 software. Built-in GPS helps you navigate unfamiliar destinations, and Points of Interest (POI) show you nearby photo-ops like scenic lookouts and historic landmarks. The COOLPIX P520 is the ultimate travel companion!

Share to your compatible smartphone or tablet

Compatible with the WU-1a wireless mobile adapter for anytime, anywhere sharing

Connect the optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter and wirelessly transfer photos to your smartphone, tablet or any compatible Wi-Fi® enabled device. Use your smartphone to instantly upload your shots to the web or email them to a friend. Install Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility and remotely control the COOLPIX P520—see what the camera sees from your smartphone or tablet and fire off shots!

Superior low-light performance

High-performance CMOS image sensor lets you shoot without a flash

Imagine being able to shoot without a flash at weddings, concerts, parties—anywhere your flash normally fires. You won't have to interrupt a moment to capture it, and your photos and HD videos will look more natural and true to your memory. The COOLPIX P520 performs so well in low light situations that, in most cases, using the flash is optional. Of course, when the lighting is extremely poor and you need a flash, it'll be there.

Record superior videos

1080p Full HD videos with stereo sound for dazzling movies

If you want a compact camera that shoots stunning Full HD videos, the COOLPIX P520 delivers. 1080p Full HD means exceptional video quality. Record the action, then connect to an HDTV and watch your videos come alive. A built-in mic records high-quality audio in stereo. Your videos will look and sound phenomenal.

Don't sweat a little camera shake

Lens-shift Vibration Reduction helps keep the shot steady, even if your hands are not. Say goodbye to blurry photos, shaky videos and tripods.

Take control of your vision

When you want to take control of exposure, the COOLPIX P520 is ready. Select from P/S/A/M exposure modes and the creative options will seem endless.

Gain new perspectives

Use the 3.2-inch ultra-high-resolution (921,000 dot) Vari-angle LCD monitor to capture some really unconventional angles.

Freeze action in its tracks

When the action speeds up, simply hold the shutter button and fire off up to 7 continuous shots per second. Catch views you may not have seen before in your photos.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

COOLPIX P520 4.5 5 60 60
Perfeita, compacta, bonita e barata! Trabalho com câmeras NIKON a mais de 2 anos, sem reclamações! October 21, 2013
Excelente cámara En lo particular para el precio que tiene cumple con los requisitos que en lo particular me agradaron, me sorprendió mas que otras marcas y me quedo con esta por las increíbles funciones que tiene, eso de la captura en 3D me sorprendió ya que las puedo ver en mi smart tv activando la función, en mi respecta es perfecta por el modelo, peso, vale la pena pagar lo que vale por lo que te ofrece. October 21, 2013
Muito boa Minha primeira câmera de qualidade, ainda estou aprendendo a usar, tenho dificuldades para fotos próximas tais como insetos em folhas, ou formigas em gotas d'água, micropaisagens em geral , não consigo focar, mas para fotos de viagens, paisagens, etc, ela é ótima ! Vou estudá-la mais um pouco e aprender sobre como focar em coisas pequenas. Eu recomendo esta câmera sem sombra de dúvidas ! October 18, 2013
Excelente Camera Excelente Camera consegue ser simples para os usuários iniciantes e ao mesmo tempo dá liberdade de configuração aos usuários mais avançados. A qualidade da tela é sensacional e fotografa com rapidez, a bateria tem uma boa duração, é apenas carregar e se divertir. September 29, 2013
buena cámara muy buena cámara, soy principiante pero esta cámara me da lo que necesito con sus ediciones, sus efectos y por sobre todo su zoom September 9, 2013
una super camara Excelente funciones en una camara compacta y pequena August 9, 2013
Por fin una cámara versátil y completa No soy un fotógrafo profesional, pero durante mis últimos 30 años he cargado pesadas cámaras. Recuerdo mis Pentax, con cambio de lentes a rosca. Pasé a las grandes de Nikon y disfruté al registrar la vida y desarrollo de mis hijos. No me faltan evidencias de todas sus etapas. Sin embargo, un día mi esposa me dijo: "Tú eres el rector de la universidad, deja de cargar cámaras, y permite que los fotógrafos se encarguen de su trabajo". Allí dejé las cámaras. Las he extrañado, pero mi esposa tenía razón, no se veía bien al líder llevando tamaña cámara. No obstante, al ver la versátil p520 de Nikon, con un lente de 1000 (42) encontré la escusa perfecta para volver a disfrutar mi pasión. Extraordinariamente la calidad se mantiene y no necesito llevar los grandes y pesados lentes. Tendrán que acostumbrarse a verme ahora con esta bella cámara, y mi esposa ya no puede decir nada. August 7, 2013
Es la mejor cámara que he visto. Tengo poco tiempo que me inicie en la fotografía y considero que la coolpix p520 es la mejor cámara digital del mercado. June 8, 2013
Awesome camera! This camera has many features that most cameras don't have. The built in telescopic lens is one of its best features. Making panorama pictures is easier than ever. January 1, 2014
Really Cool Camera, Great Buy! Have had this camera a couple weeks. Bought this brand/model based on recommendation from our local camera store. Camera is working well so far. Easy to use, very versatile. The only complaint right now - the case in the kit is a joke. It's way too small. Nikon must have had a bunch on cases they needed to get rid of, so they stuck 'em in this kit. Other than that, cool camera, very good deal. December 6, 2013
Nice camera My only complaint is no threads to add lense filters November 18, 2013
Great Features Camera has great features but is unable to accept filters. Wished I would have known this prior to my purchase. Maybe this will help someone else who is looking for a camera that accepts filters. This dropped my rating from excellent to good. August 2, 2013
Great zoom for a compact camera. As the owner of the P510, I assume that the P520 likewise lacks a simple but essential feature: a screw mount on the lens to attach a filter. The basic rule of photography 101 is to always attach a filter to the lens, if for no other reason than to protect the lens from accidental damage and dust with a UV filter: Would you rather replace a relatively inexpensive filter or the lens, particularly when the lens is fixed-mount and not interchangeable? It's such an easy fix - come on Nikon, your competitors have this feature! Otherwise, it's a very nice camera that fits comfortably in the hands and functions as if it was a mini SLR. April 28, 2013
CoolPix P520 This is my 2nd Coolpix camera. My first Coolpix was a P80 & it was wonderful! Great pictures every shot and very easy to use. That camera was damaged and when attempting to replace it, I chose the P520. My only disappointment with the P520 is that there is "no SPORTS setting" on the dial. I found I can go into programs (P) and get close...but sure wish Nikon would add that feature back onto the dial. Please put it back where it belongs. THANKS April 4, 2013
Amzing Amazing small device!! incredible zoom, incredible performance!! I like it. February 24, 2013
Excelênte Máquina Excelente máquina, com vários recursos, que proporciona ótimas fotos. Somente deixa a desejar na autonomia da bateria. December 15, 2013
Un excellent appareil, mais ... J'ai été emballé par cet appareil à cause de ses très nombreuses caractéristiques qui m'ont plues : Zoom optique puissant, GPS intégré, possibilité d'annotation vocale, de très nombreux modes de prises de photos. Cependant, j'ai dû retourner cet appareil à deux reprises pour en obtenir un autre car les deux premiers ont été affectés du même problème : à un moment donné, l'appareil refuse de s'allumer. Plutôt frustrant lorsqu'on veut prendre une photo et que l'appareil ne s'allume pas. J'espère que le troisième appareil que je viens d'obtenir ne sera pas atteint de ce problème car j'aime énormément ses différentes options photographiques. September 22, 2013
Ruído suspeito Comprei recentemente uma Nikon, Coolpix P520. Até o momento estou estudando o manual e aprendendo os recursos que ela oferece. Confesso que estou um pouco preocupado com algo que estou observando: quando movimento a câmera, parece que algo se movimenta dentro dela se deslocando. Gostaria de saber se alguém está com o mesmo sintoma? Se tiver compartilhe esta informação. Se for normal, penso que não há necessidade de levar a câmera para uma assistencia técnica da Nikon. Fico agradecido. September 12, 2013
Disappointed I had owned the P500 which I found just okay. It is now in the hands of my grandson. I purchased the P520 for my trip and am not happy with it. It will be returned to the shop when I get back. It is not up to Nikon quality. Having to open the viewer to disengage the viewfinder is not user friendly. Also the viewfinder is not very good. I have been a Nikon owner for m any years, but may move to another company, at least for the smaller cameras. December 23, 2013
First impressions very lightweight, good menu usability, nice to have zoom buttons on the lens barrel, SLR-like shape makes it easy to hold and carry. I like the GPS and the red body color too. The downside that I have found thus far, and its a MAJOR one in my view, is that there is no button for flipping between the electronic viewfinder and the man monitor screen on back. The monitor is nearly worthless for taking photos so the next version should either detect itself being held up to your eyes (like a smart detects that its being held up to one's ear and shuts of its screen) or it should have a button like some other compact digital cameras do that switches from the monitor and EVF. Relying on opening and closing the monitor is going to wear out that hinge fairly quickly I think. It is VERY POOR design in my opinion. July 9, 2013
Good product, but disappointing I own numerous Nikon products, and use them a lot over the past 40 years. Currently, my carmera of choice is my D700 with the extra battery pack. My backup camera is a D200 which I find most adequate for most normal situations. However, my wife requested that I look for a new camera for hher that is more compact. I was very interested in thie camera, due to the advertised capabilities. One thing of interest was the 1000 mm Optical lense and the Wi-Fi instant ability to transmit photos to my/her ipad/iphones. I took a while to get the camera and even longer to get the wi-fi adapter. While waiting for the adapter, I started to experiment with the camera itself to learn as much as I could before turning it over to my wife. It has a LOT of really nice features. BUT, at 1000mm the camera is so unsteady while viewing through the viewfinder and/or LCD display that it makes taking a picture of objects at that distance a nightmare. There is also a fairly long delay between the time that I click to take the picture and the camera actually taking the picture that I found that long shots became blurred. We have 100's of eagles along the river where we live and my wife wanted something light and long (1000mm# to do some of this shooting. She tried it and has given up on the camera. Then yesterday, the Wi-Fi adapter showed up. I actually was excited because I thought well, maybe she can use it on the back of our motorcycle while on trips and have the pictures automatically placed on the ipad in the tour pack. During this kind of ride, my wife agreed that the camera would not be used with a long telephoto lense, so issues of shake would probably NOT be a problem. However, much to my surprise, the wi-fi appears NOT to allow the kind of transfer as I thought. Thus far #and I am not sure if I am doing something wrong), but it appears that when the wi-fi adpater is attached, you can no long view through and take pictures from the camera. Can this be correct? It looks like the ipad/iphone takes the picture. IF so, this is still another disappointment. I was fairly sure that by the time I had to work with the camera, that I wanted to return it. But, unknown to me, there is only a 14 day window when purchased through the Nikon Store. I had NOT seen this restriction and did not know it existed until I called for a RMA and the very polite gal said that I was 2-3 days past the 14 day rule. I looked it up and saw that I have missed the window. I am sure that this camera would fit into many people's idea of use, but alas, I believe that I will put this up for sale on either ebay or somewhere else. I had been SO sure that this would work that I purchased 2 extra batteries, a charger, the Wi-Fi and a case, plus invested in a very fast 64GB memory chip, plus another one for backup. March 27, 2013
ayuda x favor Alguien me ayuda xq me e comprado esta camara estoy re contenta pero lo unico q me traba es q demora mucho en sacar la foto xq???? No se como arreglarlo.saco mas rapido c mi celular las fotos q c la camaa. Las fotos salen todas movidas. Alguien me ayuda x favorr. Gracias March 28, 2014
Manual Flash Only...doesn't seem right I am surprised that the flash is manual. In a dark room you have to trigger the flash prior to snapping the photo...auto flash is needed on a camera that is 445.00 September 24, 2013
Pode melhorar A câmera produz fotos de ótima qualidade, mas existem várias coisas que podem ser melhoradas, tais como: Quando se usa disparo contínuo, o visor escurece e fica cerca de 3 segundos ocupados para cada foto (se forem 10 fotos cerca de 30s para liberar a máquina para nova foto) - Muito ruim O zoom é muito lento O adaptador WiFi em conjunto com o smartphone é muito lento - Muito ruim O foco é muito irritante, lento e indeciso O modo panorama é quase impossível de usar - muito ruim Acredito que se a Nikon conseguir realizar melhorias nos ítens descritos acima esta câmera irá ficar muito boa, não devendo nada a concorrência September 3, 2013
not a dependable camera This is not a good camera if you plan to go to an event where you want to take a lot of pictures. I found this out the hard way when I went on a once-in-life-time trip across country. It only takes 200 pictures at a time. The battery has to be continously recharged daily. If you don' t have a spare battery, you have to wait until you can recharge the battery again. The camera does not turn on right away which makes it horrible when you want to take a picture of something quick like a person on a motorcyle. Forget about that. Once tge camera finally turns on after much fidgeting, the moment is gone. A horrible camera. In a two words: not dependable. I returned it. August 26, 2013
Page: 2 3
<<prev
223 Questions | 249 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
223 Questions | 249 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX P520
 
5 Answers

How to store Nikon P520 into the bag that was given?

Jun 4, 2013 by
by
Jen
-5points
0out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
10 months ago
by
Jen
Age: 18-24
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree....the bag that came with my P520, which I purchased the camera at COSTCO, is a NIKON bag, with the logo and all and essentially equates to carrying a box, no style. Too small for the camera and provides no protection as the camera has to be stuffed into it. As a recommendation, I tried a lot of different bags and found one I really like and fits the camera perfectly. I purchased in Jan. 2014 from Best Buy Electronics store. It was $22.00 (available for a lot less on various web-sites though. It has plenty of storage for everything, good protection and all the reviews I read on it are great...plus it has nice style and many ways to carry, Belt, strap or handle. It is made by "CASE LOGIC" Case #DCB304. It can be checked out on their web-site. Highly recommend!
Jan 4, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Experience: Less than a month

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I got the same case as part of a package from an authorized Nikon dealer. It is too small as it is hard to get the camera in and out much less carry any accessories. The same case we got is on Amazon for $17.95. You can see in the pictures that the camera barely fits. Why would Nikon or Amazon try to sell such a small bag for this camera. I looked on Amazon for something better and ordered one which was supposed to be for a P520. This case didn't fit at all!! I had to return it and I am still looking. I plan to go to the store where I bought the camera and show them the bag and let them know I'm not happy about it. Maybe they will offer me a discount on something better.
Dec 29, 2013 by
by
avelave

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Looks like we are not alone with the problem !!! I bought my p520 from a camera store and it also came with a case . Of course the case does not fit and I sent in my question also. Got the standard answer that it's a third party case (even though it came with the p520 kit). Totally annoyed since this is the same darn case they sell on their site !!! Go figure ... Nikon is not hearing a word of what we are saying !!! The case DOES NOT fit ! Hope they have better answers when we have a real issue, because right now I am not impressed with their answer !!!!! Just really annoyed ...,,
Aug 7, 2013 by
by
Carol
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Location : 
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I recently purchased my P520 through a Nikon authorized brick and mortar store. The case was included in the package.

The case you pictured above is the same one I received, and I find it challenging to get the camera and strap in, never mind the charging unit and AV cables!

I've found it fits best if you undo the Velcro on the small inside panel and then place the camera facing the back of the case. Fold and stuff the strap and you are ready to go!

So far, I am loving the versatility of this compact camera! Have been out taking pictures every day, no matter what the weather.

Hope you are enjoying yours, too!
Jul 29, 2013 by
by
Chris
Weymouth, MA
Location : 
Weymouth, MA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I bought my Coolpix P520 from Nikon. They did not provide a "bag."

Perhaps you bought your camera from a camera shop and they threw a "bag" In for you.

Who "gave" you the bag? Maybe they have specifications for that particular bag.
Jun 6, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
4 Answers

How does manual focus work on the P520?

Feb 7, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+13points
18out of 23found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful18unhelpful5
I keep seeing references to the Nikon P520 that it will have the ability to do a manual focus. Most fixed lens cameras (non-digital SLRs) only have the ability to automatically focus and don't do a good job of this. Things like a screened in window, fencing, or foreground objects will almost always get focus while background objects are nearly impossible to focus on. Can this camera lens be manually focused? If so how? Hopefully with a focusing ring near the base or front of the lens?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
Which is Best for buy......? May be Nikon P520 // DSLR 3100 ??
Price is often same...!
DSlR is always awesome...and...size is same....u can utilize your lens....any short with minimum 18-105mm/50m....also support High quality lens....!!
Aug 19, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
Not only can you do manual focusing for still shots, you can also do it for videos. Use P setting for exxmple, set up the manual MF from the bottom of the circular button, and start recording, using the zoom, set up with the lens side button. It's not in the manual, so you will have to try and explore.
Mar 21, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Falls Church, VA
Location : 
Falls Church, VA
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
Answer: 
In addition to using the multi-selector tool to focus manually, the P520 allows you to assign the zoom button on the side of the lens to control manual focus.
Feb 16, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
Manual focus on the P520 will be controlled by using the up and down arrows on the rotary multi-selector.
Feb 9, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
4 Answers

Camera Case for Coolpix P520?

Jun 6, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
I prefer not to use a paper grocery bag. :-)

Since there are no lenses, must there be room for a bunch of accessories?

I would like to have a protective camera case to protect the camera between uses.

please recommend a camera case.
10 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You're correct; all you need is a spare charged battery and memory card. Luckily, my P520 just fit into the Ambico small point and shoot digital camera bag I bought over 10 years ago for my old 3MP Olympus. This bag has a web-clasp closure, a heavy web belt loop, strap loops and detachable shoulder strap, and a handle on top. I actually use all three options in different circumstances. You put the camera in by grasping it normally with the right hand, placing the lens cover against the front wall, then sliding the back into the bag; tuck in the strap and close the flap. It's secure and pretty well protected (and no "rip" of velcro when you open it, to scare off wildlife). To remove it, undo the flap, grasp, and pull, and it's ready to use. The bag is padded, and has a zip close leatherette front pocket, protected by the flap, for accessories (plenty of room for a download cable if you want, or a wireless module). The bag is 6" by 5-1/2" by 3+" deep.

Unfortunately, it's not clear that Ambico makes this bag (or any bag) any more. I found 5 new from one vendor on eBay(mid-ohiotradingcompany), but no other references to this particular bag (black, with gray textured flap, and the word "Ambico" written across the flap just above the clasp). But it gives you an idea what the minimum might be.
Apr 14, 2014 by
by
Dadsfolk

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
MegaGear "Every Ready" makes a great leather case, which is a traditional design which fits the P520 nicely, although a bit bulky. The case screws onto the tripod socket, and a tripod can attached to that. This is very classic going back as much as 100 years. It comes with a lightweight storage bag for the case for when you don't use it.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Dec 11, 2013 by
by
CameraCollector
Fullerton, CA, USA
Location : 
Fullerton, CA, USA
Age: 55-65

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Has Nikon made any other bags? As per the comments I've read. it doesn't seem to provide real protection and it does not even seem to fit the older (smaller?) versions...
Jul 13, 2013 by
by
corbine
Far up north (Canada)
Location : 
Far up north (Canada)
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The Nikon carrying case that will fit the Coolpix P520 is in the link below.
http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Pr...
Jun 10, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P520
 
3 Answers

Does the P520 supports RAW format?

Jan 29, 2013 by
by
KC
+13points
16out of 19found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful3
I couldn't find the information yet about if it could store in RAW format or not. The competitor Canon Powershot SX50 HS is similiar to the P520 in price and with some slight different in the Tech Specs.

I am unfamiliar with the tech specs on cameras but I would like to know a couple of specs that you could tell me that got improved in the Nikon Coolpix P520 compared to the Nikon Coolpix P510.

Like why would you recommend me to buy a P520 compared to the P510 (or even the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS)? I did check the comparasion between P520 vs P510 on this site but it looks similiar to me for the most things. So what important feature does the P520 has what the P510 doesn't?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
KC
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
4out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful5
Answer: 
In addition to differences listed, the LCD screen rotates out to the side & will flip around flat to the camera body. Also, improved Electronic viewfinder.
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, no RAW.
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
Answer: 
More megapixels
Faster lens f/3 vs f/3.3
7 continuous frames vs 5
In addition to lens shift VR also has motion detection.
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
3 Answers

Cool pix p520 case

Aug 2, 2013 by
by
Carol
Fort Worth, TX
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Just bought my new p520 camera "kit." Know this question may have been asked, but how the heck does the camera fit in the case with the charger and cable ???? I've tried every which way. Sort of annoyed that they give include a case that doesn't fit ... Any suggestions ? This is like putting square pegs in a round hole !
8 months ago
by
Carol
Fort Worth, TX
Location : 
Fort Worth, TX
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please contact Nikon Support from the link below for assistance.
https://support.nikonusa.com
Aug 6, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it's not a 3rd party case. I bought the coolpix p520 kit that came with the case . As I said, it's a "Nikon " case.
Aug 4, 2013 by
by
Carol
Fort Worth
Location : 
Fort Worth
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Unfortunately NIKON does not include a carrying case with the P520 and therefore is it difficult to assist without knowing the case that you have. If this is a third party case that was issued to you by the dealer, we suggest you contact the dealer for assistance.
Aug 3, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
2 Answers

External flash using optical slave unit

Feb 5, 2013 by
by
La Casa dos Espiritos
Jakarta, Indonesia
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Since there is no hotshoe in this camera, is it possible to use an external flash using an optical salve unit ?
e.g. is it compatible / sync with them ?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
La Casa dos Espiritos
Jakarta, Indonesia
Location : 
Jakarta, Indonesia
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, you can use an optical slave unit to this camera like the P510. I tried up to three slave flash up to 3 pcs. of the less expensive Yungnuo slave flash and they all functioned well..
Aug 2, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
It is possible to use an external fash that has SU-4 mode such as Nikon SB-700, SB-800, SB-900,SB-910. In SU-4 mode, the speedlight sense when the camera's flash fires and fire in sync with it.
Mar 9, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P520
 
2 Answers

Can the P520 with USB to WiFi be used as a webcam?

Feb 18, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Southern California
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Subject: Can the Nikon P520 with USB to WiFi be used as a webcam?

As you know the best webcams are such primitive cameras with such staggeringly poor sound that the P520 could be a huge improvement, with the potential of recording based on motion detection, while perhaps allowing for subsequent zooming into its 18 megapixel images; not just streaming low resolution videos, as a potentially more useful option. All of which are relevant security issues and applications for anyone with a home, apartment, or a place of work, as well as providing a good reason to buy an extra camera.

In fact just sending occasional still images (based on motion detection) as an email would be a good start; or would we need to buy an $800 Samsung Galaxy Note 2 in order to record and transfer an image, however without any motion detection capacity, since the USB port on the Galaxy would be used to connect to the router, or perhaps we would use the USB port for an external motion detector, instead of looking at the pixels.

The problem we found with existing low resolution web or security cameras is that the emails fail to be transmitted correctly, even though D-Link and others make reliable routers. Apparently, the experienced software people did not work on the web or security cameras. Naturally, you could see the exceptional complexity and cost involved in using an external Android device for a such simple yet common application. Of course, if you allowed the Android to download software into a Nikon camera, that also could address such issues, without creating a constantly evolving application burden for Nikon.

While this is a huge photographic area that is not being well addressed (except in factory environments), it is however a place where new and eventually all used Nikon cameras could be put to use in people’s homes, offices or driveways, to significantly reduce the chance of violence and thefts, apparently in over 150 countries, where governments prefer to not be of any significant help.

Re. WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Southern California
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No
Feb 18, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No.
Feb 18, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
2 Answers

Is there going to ever be a protective Lens cover for this product?

Jun 11, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
2out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
10 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you get the 67mm adapter (3rd party product) you can use a filter UV etc to protect the lens. It does come with a lens cap.
Sep 1, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Nikon, does not make LCD covers for Coolpix Cameras.
Jun 11, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
9 months ago
by
peguin
philadelphia, PA
Location : 
philadelphia, PA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
A third party makes an adapter which will hold a 67mm filter or lens hood. It is a compression fit over the end of the lens and does not interfere when the camera is powered down.
User submitted video
Sep 1, 2013 by
by
Cable Guy
NC
Location : 
NC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Nikon does not make filters or adapters for the P520.
Jul 8, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P520
 
2 Answers

It looks like my P520 has internal threads by lens. If so what size are they.

Sep 12, 2013 by
by
Speedy26
Ocala,
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
7 months ago
by
Speedy26
Ocala,
Location : 
Ocala,
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
They are not threads, its just the way it was made so no filters can be attached
Sep 12, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
They are not threads.
Sep 12, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers