Loading

42x zoom power, professional-quality photos and videos, endless capabilities.

For those seeking a comprehensive compact camera for zoom, image quality, versatility and technological innovation, look no further than the COOLPIX P520. Create pro-caliber photos and Full HD 1080p videos from mind-boggling distances, even in extremely low-light conditions. Track your travels and explore points of interest with built-in GPS. Take control of your vision with full P, S, A, M exposure modes. Add the optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter and share your shots in an instant, or control the camera with your compatible smartphone or tablet. From its superb 42x zoom NIKKOR glass lens and 18.1-megapixel low-light CMOS image sensor to its D-SLR-inspired design and 3.2-inch Vari-angle LCD, the COOLPIX P520 delivers the pinnacle of performance and zoom.
VR image stabilization
Motion Detection
ISO 3200
CMOS
Clear Color Display
Smart Portrait System
Scene Auto Selector
Target Finding AF
Subject Tracking
Full HD
GPS
3D Mode
  • 1x
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 42x

Get close from afar

Capture distant images with a 42x wide-angle to telephoto NIKKOR glass zoom lens.

Every COOLPIX is designed around a genuine NIKKOR glass lens, the legendary optics that have made Nikon famous. The COOLPIX P520 features a 42x zoom NIKKOR lens that takes you from wide-angle group shots to telephoto close-ups in an instant. And don't worry about a little camera shake—lens-shift Vibration Reduction helps keep the shot steady even when your hands are not.
{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-zoom").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:10,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}

See where you've been

Built-in GPS with Points of Interest (POI) for creating amazing photo journals

Relive the excitement of your travels in a whole new way. The COOLPIX P520 records the exact location of each shot you take, so you can follow the path of your adventure and every stunning view along the way! Share your journeys on Google Earth™, Google+™, and other social media sites or with the included Nikon View NX2 software. Built-in GPS helps you navigate unfamiliar destinations, and Points of Interest (POI) show you nearby photo-ops like scenic lookouts and historic landmarks. The COOLPIX P520 is the ultimate travel companion!

Share to your compatible smartphone or tablet

Compatible with the WU-1a wireless mobile adapter for anytime, anywhere sharing

Connect the optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter and wirelessly transfer photos to your smartphone, tablet or any compatible Wi-Fi® enabled device. Use your smartphone to instantly upload your shots to the web or email them to a friend. Install Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility and remotely control the COOLPIX P520—see what the camera sees from your smartphone or tablet and fire off shots!

Superior low-light performance

High-performance CMOS image sensor lets you shoot without a flash

Imagine being able to shoot without a flash at weddings, concerts, parties—anywhere your flash normally fires. You won't have to interrupt a moment to capture it, and your photos and HD videos will look more natural and true to your memory. The COOLPIX P520 performs so well in low light situations that, in most cases, using the flash is optional. Of course, when the lighting is extremely poor and you need a flash, it'll be there.

Record superior videos

1080p Full HD videos with stereo sound for dazzling movies

If you want a compact camera that shoots stunning Full HD videos, the COOLPIX P520 delivers. 1080p Full HD means exceptional video quality. Record the action, then connect to an HDTV and watch your videos come alive. A built-in mic records high-quality audio in stereo. Your videos will look and sound phenomenal.

Don't sweat a little camera shake

Lens-shift Vibration Reduction helps keep the shot steady, even if your hands are not. Say goodbye to blurry photos, shaky videos and tripods.

Take control of your vision

When you want to take control of exposure, the COOLPIX P520 is ready. Select from P/S/A/M exposure modes and the creative options will seem endless.

Gain new perspectives

Use the 3.2-inch ultra-high-resolution (921,000 dot) Vari-angle LCD monitor to capture some really unconventional angles.

Freeze action in its tracks

When the action speeds up, simply hold the shutter button and fire off up to 7 continuous shots per second. Catch views you may not have seen before in your photos.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

COOLPIX P520 4.5 5 79 79
camera impecavel adorei, câmera simplesmente atende tudo oque preciso parabéns Nikon July 19, 2014
Zoom. É um tanto quanto clichê dizer que a camera é fantastica ou então que é super boa, mas o que dizer se sim ela é?! Afirmo que superou minhas expectativas. Destaco que ela é super leve! July 17, 2014
Zoom fantástico O zoom é simplesmente fantástico, fora aos modos de cena e estabilizador de imagem. June 24, 2014
Você imagina e ela revela. Ótima câmera, depois de muita pesquisa, comprei e não me arrependo. Estou adorando, más é verdade que me falta muito para poder usufruir de todos os recursos. Você nem imagina o que essa câmera faz, só tendo uma para comprovar, pois em texto é difícil descrever. June 24, 2014
muito boa parabens comprei esta camera muito bom esperei muito tempo graça a Deus consegui compra muito boa otima em tudo recomendo e uma otima camera nao tenhor o que fala parabens nikon June 20, 2014
Equipamento fantastico! Excelente maquina. Comprei a minha e em menos de um mes ja fiz em torno de 1000 fotos e posso garantir que nenhuma foto me decepcionou. Mais que recomendado! May 23, 2014
Fantastica Excelente produto, custo beneficio, marca conceituada com tecnologia de ponta. Estou muito satisfeito com a câmera embora ter apenas 1 mês de uso. Aprovadíssimo! March 1, 2014
Excelente câmera Câmera excelente, com vários recursos de grande utilidade. Destaque para o visor que permite a visualização durante o disparo de fotos do tipo autorretrato e, também, para o recurso que deixa as fotos, em macro e as de ambientes com pouca luz, perfeitas mesmo sem o uso do tripé. January 30, 2014
excelente Uma excelente máquina. Ja fiz ótimas fotos. Inclusive 03 festas de 15 anos. January 23, 2014
Fantásticaaa! Eu ainda não a dominei totalmente, mas é incrível! Aposto que quando eu aprender a mexer nela completamente no manual ficarei ainda mais contente. O zoom é perfeito, a qualidade das fotos em 3D também. January 22, 2014
Minha primeira câmera, me deixou bastante feliz com a aquisição. Achei uma excelente câmera, leve, fácil de manusear e com ótimos recursos para fotos de perto, de longe, com muita luz e com pouca luz. January 10, 2014
Mas accesorios Excelente cámara, a pesar que es mi prmera cámara de este tipo , me ha sido sencillo aprender a usarla y eso me ha agradado mucho y mas por que se que hay mucho por aprender sobre fotografía, y con esta cámara Nikon P520 será un gran comienzo. Y solo tengo un detalle, he visto en videos en YouTube que hay adaptadores para ponerle lentes-filtros y parasol para esta camara, pero por mas que busco aquí en mexico NIKON no los hace, seria buenísimo que comenzaran a producirlos y distribuirlos, ya que si son necesarios, Sres. de NIKON MEXICO, tomen en cuenta estos accesorios, se que tendrán buenas ventas y grandes ganacias, si sacan al mercado estos accesorios!! un saludo! December 12, 2013
UM BELO UPGRADE NA P510 A sucessora da Coolpix P510 traz um pacote de melhorias interessantes. Na minha opinião a melhoria menos importante talvez seja o avanço de 2 Mega Pixels. Uma mudança que gostei foi a diminuição do ISO mínimo para 80, uma opção boa para fotos externas com bastante luz . Outras mudanças mais tecnológicas seriam a compatibilidade com o adaptador WU-1a que transfere fotos via wi-fi e ainda permite controlar a câmera pelo tablet ou Smartphone. O avanço foi da inclusão de pontos de interesse na função do GPS. Tudo isso além do visor muito útil para auto retrato. Uma boa escolha dentre tantas câmeras excelentes com certeza esta está entre as melhores. November 20, 2013
Una gran cámara Excelente cámara, fácil manejo y excelentes fotografías. October 26, 2013
Perfeita, compacta, bonita e barata! Trabalho com câmeras NIKON a mais de 2 anos, sem reclamações! October 21, 2013
Excelente cámara En lo particular para el precio que tiene cumple con los requisitos que en lo particular me agradaron, me sorprendió mas que otras marcas y me quedo con esta por las increíbles funciones que tiene, eso de la captura en 3D me sorprendió ya que las puedo ver en mi smart tv activando la función, en mi respecta es perfecta por el modelo, peso, vale la pena pagar lo que vale por lo que te ofrece. October 21, 2013
Muito boa Minha primeira câmera de qualidade, ainda estou aprendendo a usar, tenho dificuldades para fotos próximas tais como insetos em folhas, ou formigas em gotas d'água, micropaisagens em geral , não consigo focar, mas para fotos de viagens, paisagens, etc, ela é ótima ! Vou estudá-la mais um pouco e aprender sobre como focar em coisas pequenas. Eu recomendo esta câmera sem sombra de dúvidas ! October 18, 2013
Excelente Camera Excelente Camera consegue ser simples para os usuários iniciantes e ao mesmo tempo dá liberdade de configuração aos usuários mais avançados. A qualidade da tela é sensacional e fotografa com rapidez, a bateria tem uma boa duração, é apenas carregar e se divertir. September 29, 2013
buena cámara muy buena cámara, soy principiante pero esta cámara me da lo que necesito con sus ediciones, sus efectos y por sobre todo su zoom September 9, 2013
una super camara Excelente funciones en una camara compacta y pequena August 9, 2013
Por fin una cámara versátil y completa No soy un fotógrafo profesional, pero durante mis últimos 30 años he cargado pesadas cámaras. Recuerdo mis Pentax, con cambio de lentes a rosca. Pasé a las grandes de Nikon y disfruté al registrar la vida y desarrollo de mis hijos. No me faltan evidencias de todas sus etapas. Sin embargo, un día mi esposa me dijo: "Tú eres el rector de la universidad, deja de cargar cámaras, y permite que los fotógrafos se encarguen de su trabajo". Allí dejé las cámaras. Las he extrañado, pero mi esposa tenía razón, no se veía bien al líder llevando tamaña cámara. No obstante, al ver la versátil p520 de Nikon, con un lente de 1000 (42) encontré la escusa perfecta para volver a disfrutar mi pasión. Extraordinariamente la calidad se mantiene y no necesito llevar los grandes y pesados lentes. Tendrán que acostumbrarse a verme ahora con esta bella cámara, y mi esposa ya no puede decir nada. August 7, 2013
Es la mejor cámara que he visto. Tengo poco tiempo que me inicie en la fotografía y considero que la coolpix p520 es la mejor cámara digital del mercado. June 8, 2013
Avery nice basic and functional Nikon You can't expect high quality of image, because its lenses and sensor compared to other SLR Nikon. The menu and functions are some complex, aren't so easy to get familiarized to use them, you will need (for this or other whatever camera) extra battery, extra memory cards and the Battery charger Adapter. Does this worth? Yes. For traveling, parties, average portraits... about indoor photos with low light conditions may be its some hard or with Zoom indoor photos low light conditions you will find some blur (it happens commonly in low light conditions with a lot of cameras), . Once you practice and experiment and play with menu and functions, the fun starts. The closeUp is amazing, very good CloseUp with quality, and I mean CloseUp as "extreme closeup" !. GPS function delays in sync (satellital signals sometimes are so), but GPS info is very good for the enthusiast to tag places in photos, WI-FI accessory works good (using its Nikon APP), its comfortable to hold, you won't repent to have this one please don't forget its a basic -compact Nikon, you can't demand the functions and settings as the SLR ones. I've taken "selfies" and are so good, the LCD screen helps. Sharpness: good, don't worry, for general puproses you will be satisfied for publish on internet and print your photos. You've noticed the battery life in your smartphone, GPS, Wi-Fi and Camera will reduce the time ! , that's why in cameras and some other devices, chargetr and battery is always recommended. iF you have not plains to upgrade, and iF you are looking for a camera for general purposes, if you aren't pro and you have not interest to become in PRO, the Nikon Coolpix 520 - 530s - series will be excellent for you. if you want start photography as PRO as beginner, SLR would be the choice. July 28, 2014
Awesome camera! This camera has many features that most cameras don't have. The built in telescopic lens is one of its best features. Making panorama pictures is easier than ever. January 1, 2014
Really Cool Camera, Great Buy! Have had this camera a couple weeks. Bought this brand/model based on recommendation from our local camera store. Camera is working well so far. Easy to use, very versatile. The only complaint right now - the case in the kit is a joke. It's way too small. Nikon must have had a bunch on cases they needed to get rid of, so they stuck 'em in this kit. Other than that, cool camera, very good deal. December 6, 2013
Nice camera My only complaint is no threads to add lense filters November 18, 2013
Great Features Camera has great features but is unable to accept filters. Wished I would have known this prior to my purchase. Maybe this will help someone else who is looking for a camera that accepts filters. This dropped my rating from excellent to good. August 2, 2013
Great zoom for a compact camera. As the owner of the P510, I assume that the P520 likewise lacks a simple but essential feature: a screw mount on the lens to attach a filter. The basic rule of photography 101 is to always attach a filter to the lens, if for no other reason than to protect the lens from accidental damage and dust with a UV filter: Would you rather replace a relatively inexpensive filter or the lens, particularly when the lens is fixed-mount and not interchangeable? It's such an easy fix - come on Nikon, your competitors have this feature! Otherwise, it's a very nice camera that fits comfortably in the hands and functions as if it was a mini SLR. April 28, 2013
CoolPix P520 This is my 2nd Coolpix camera. My first Coolpix was a P80 & it was wonderful! Great pictures every shot and very easy to use. That camera was damaged and when attempting to replace it, I chose the P520. My only disappointment with the P520 is that there is "no SPORTS setting" on the dial. I found I can go into programs (P) and get close...but sure wish Nikon would add that feature back onto the dial. Please put it back where it belongs. THANKS April 4, 2013
Amzing Amazing small device!! incredible zoom, incredible performance!! I like it. February 24, 2013
Page: 2 3 4
<<prev | next>>
236 Questions | 265 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
236 Questions | 265 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX P520
 
5 Answers

How to store Nikon P520 into the bag that was given?

Jun 4, 2013 by
by
Jen
-7points
0out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Jen
Age: 18-24
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree....the bag that came with my P520, which I purchased the camera at COSTCO, is a NIKON bag, with the logo and all and essentially equates to carrying a box, no style. Too small for the camera and provides no protection as the camera has to be stuffed into it. As a recommendation, I tried a lot of different bags and found one I really like and fits the camera perfectly. I purchased in Jan. 2014 from Best Buy Electronics store. It was $22.00 (available for a lot less on various web-sites though. It has plenty of storage for everything, good protection and all the reviews I read on it are great...plus it has nice style and many ways to carry, Belt, strap or handle. It is made by "CASE LOGIC" Case #DCB304. It can be checked out on their web-site. Highly recommend!
Jan 4, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Experience: Less than a month

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I got the same case as part of a package from an authorized Nikon dealer. It is too small as it is hard to get the camera in and out much less carry any accessories. The same case we got is on Amazon for $17.95. You can see in the pictures that the camera barely fits. Why would Nikon or Amazon try to sell such a small bag for this camera. I looked on Amazon for something better and ordered one which was supposed to be for a P520. This case didn't fit at all!! I had to return it and I am still looking. I plan to go to the store where I bought the camera and show them the bag and let them know I'm not happy about it. Maybe they will offer me a discount on something better.
Dec 29, 2013 by
by
avelave

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Looks like we are not alone with the problem !!! I bought my p520 from a camera store and it also came with a case . Of course the case does not fit and I sent in my question also. Got the standard answer that it's a third party case (even though it came with the p520 kit). Totally annoyed since this is the same darn case they sell on their site !!! Go figure ... Nikon is not hearing a word of what we are saying !!! The case DOES NOT fit ! Hope they have better answers when we have a real issue, because right now I am not impressed with their answer !!!!! Just really annoyed ...,,
Aug 7, 2013 by
by
Carol
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Location : 
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
I recently purchased my P520 through a Nikon authorized brick and mortar store. The case was included in the package.

The case you pictured above is the same one I received, and I find it challenging to get the camera and strap in, never mind the charging unit and AV cables!

I've found it fits best if you undo the Velcro on the small inside panel and then place the camera facing the back of the case. Fold and stuff the strap and you are ready to go!

So far, I am loving the versatility of this compact camera! Have been out taking pictures every day, no matter what the weather.

Hope you are enjoying yours, too!
Jul 29, 2013 by
by
Chris
Weymouth, MA
Location : 
Weymouth, MA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
I bought my Coolpix P520 from Nikon. They did not provide a "bag."

Perhaps you bought your camera from a camera shop and they threw a "bag" In for you.

Who "gave" you the bag? Maybe they have specifications for that particular bag.
Jun 6, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
4 Answers

How does manual focus work on the P520?

Feb 7, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+13points
19out of 25found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful6
I keep seeing references to the Nikon P520 that it will have the ability to do a manual focus. Most fixed lens cameras (non-digital SLRs) only have the ability to automatically focus and don't do a good job of this. Things like a screened in window, fencing, or foreground objects will almost always get focus while background objects are nearly impossible to focus on. Can this camera lens be manually focused? If so how? Hopefully with a focusing ring near the base or front of the lens?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
Which is Best for buy......? May be Nikon P520 // DSLR 3100 ??
Price is often same...!
DSlR is always awesome...and...size is same....u can utilize your lens....any short with minimum 18-105mm/50m....also support High quality lens....!!
Aug 19, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
Not only can you do manual focusing for still shots, you can also do it for videos. Use P setting for exxmple, set up the manual MF from the bottom of the circular button, and start recording, using the zoom, set up with the lens side button. It's not in the manual, so you will have to try and explore.
Mar 21, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Falls Church, VA
Location : 
Falls Church, VA
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0
Answer: 
In addition to using the multi-selector tool to focus manually, the P520 allows you to assign the zoom button on the side of the lens to control manual focus.
Feb 16, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
Manual focus on the P520 will be controlled by using the up and down arrows on the rotary multi-selector.
Feb 9, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
4 Answers

Camera Case for Coolpix P520?

Jun 6, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
I prefer not to use a paper grocery bag. :-)

Since there are no lenses, must there be room for a bunch of accessories?

I would like to have a protective camera case to protect the camera between uses.

please recommend a camera case.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You're correct; all you need is a spare charged battery and memory card. Luckily, my P520 just fit into the Ambico small point and shoot digital camera bag I bought over 10 years ago for my old 3MP Olympus. This bag has a web-clasp closure, a heavy web belt loop, strap loops and detachable shoulder strap, and a handle on top. I actually use all three options in different circumstances. You put the camera in by grasping it normally with the right hand, placing the lens cover against the front wall, then sliding the back into the bag; tuck in the strap and close the flap. It's secure and pretty well protected (and no "rip" of velcro when you open it, to scare off wildlife). To remove it, undo the flap, grasp, and pull, and it's ready to use. The bag is padded, and has a zip close leatherette front pocket, protected by the flap, for accessories (plenty of room for a download cable if you want, or a wireless module). The bag is 6" by 5-1/2" by 3+" deep.

Unfortunately, it's not clear that Ambico makes this bag (or any bag) any more. I found 5 new from one vendor on eBay(mid-ohiotradingcompany), but no other references to this particular bag (black, with gray textured flap, and the word "Ambico" written across the flap just above the clasp). But it gives you an idea what the minimum might be.
Apr 14, 2014 by
by
Dadsfolk

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
MegaGear "Every Ready" makes a great leather case, which is a traditional design which fits the P520 nicely, although a bit bulky. The case screws onto the tripod socket, and a tripod can attached to that. This is very classic going back as much as 100 years. It comes with a lightweight storage bag for the case for when you don't use it.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Dec 11, 2013 by
by
CameraCollector
Fullerton, CA, USA
Location : 
Fullerton, CA, USA
Age: 55-65

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Has Nikon made any other bags? As per the comments I've read. it doesn't seem to provide real protection and it does not even seem to fit the older (smaller?) versions...
Jul 13, 2013 by
by
corbine
Far up north (Canada)
Location : 
Far up north (Canada)
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
The Nikon carrying case that will fit the Coolpix P520 is in the link below.
http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Pr...
Jun 10, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P520
 
3 Answers

Does the P520 supports RAW format?

Jan 29, 2013 by
by
KC
+13points
16out of 19found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful3
I couldn't find the information yet about if it could store in RAW format or not. The competitor Canon Powershot SX50 HS is similiar to the P520 in price and with some slight different in the Tech Specs.

I am unfamiliar with the tech specs on cameras but I would like to know a couple of specs that you could tell me that got improved in the Nikon Coolpix P520 compared to the Nikon Coolpix P510.

Like why would you recommend me to buy a P520 compared to the P510 (or even the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS)? I did check the comparasion between P520 vs P510 on this site but it looks similiar to me for the most things. So what important feature does the P520 has what the P510 doesn't?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
KC
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
4out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful5
Answer: 
In addition to differences listed, the LCD screen rotates out to the side & will flip around flat to the camera body. Also, improved Electronic viewfinder.
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, no RAW.
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
Answer: 
More megapixels
Faster lens f/3 vs f/3.3
7 continuous frames vs 5
In addition to lens shift VR also has motion detection.
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
3 Answers

Cool pix p520 case

Aug 2, 2013 by
by
Carol
Fort Worth, TX
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Just bought my new p520 camera "kit." Know this question may have been asked, but how the heck does the camera fit in the case with the charger and cable ???? I've tried every which way. Sort of annoyed that they give include a case that doesn't fit ... Any suggestions ? This is like putting square pegs in a round hole !
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Carol
Fort Worth, TX
Location : 
Fort Worth, TX
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please contact Nikon Support from the link below for assistance.
https://support.nikonusa.com
Aug 6, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it's not a 3rd party case. I bought the coolpix p520 kit that came with the case . As I said, it's a "Nikon " case.
Aug 4, 2013 by
by
Carol
Fort Worth
Location : 
Fort Worth
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
Unfortunately NIKON does not include a carrying case with the P520 and therefore is it difficult to assist without knowing the case that you have. If this is a third party case that was issued to you by the dealer, we suggest you contact the dealer for assistance.
Aug 3, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P520
 
2 Answers

Will the Coolpix P520 have accept filters or a filter adapter?

Feb 4, 2013 by
by
Robert
Chicago, IL, USA
+8points
11out of 14found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful3
I know the P510 has many special effects, and perhaps the P520 has even more, but I'm wondering if the lens will accept screw-on filters or make available a filter adapter.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Robert
Chicago, IL, USA
Location : 
Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-6points
6out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful12
Answer: 
For Coolpix510 i use 67mm Adapter Ring / Adaptor Ring for Nikon P510, 58mm Adapter Ring / Adaptor Ring for Nikon P510 and KIWI lens adapter for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Digital Camera 67mm. I think the same can be used with COOLPIX P520.
Feb 8, 2013 by
by
oleg_lap
Lviv, Lviv Oblast, Ukraine
Location : 
Lviv, Lviv Oblast, Ukraine
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
9out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2
Answer: 
No, filters cannot be used.
Feb 5, 2013 by
by
KeithD
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
2 Answers

External flash using optical slave unit

Feb 5, 2013 by
by
La Casa dos Espiritos
Jakarta, Indonesia
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Since there is no hotshoe in this camera, is it possible to use an external flash using an optical salve unit ?
e.g. is it compatible / sync with them ?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
La Casa dos Espiritos
Jakarta, Indonesia
Location : 
Jakarta, Indonesia
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, you can use an optical slave unit to this camera like the P510. I tried up to three slave flash up to 3 pcs. of the less expensive Yungnuo slave flash and they all functioned well..
Aug 2, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
It is possible to use an external fash that has SU-4 mode such as Nikon SB-700, SB-800, SB-900,SB-910. In SU-4 mode, the speedlight sense when the camera's flash fires and fire in sync with it.
Mar 9, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P520
 
2 Answers

Can the P520 with USB to WiFi be used as a webcam?

Feb 18, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Southern California
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Subject: Can the Nikon P520 with USB to WiFi be used as a webcam?

As you know the best webcams are such primitive cameras with such staggeringly poor sound that the P520 could be a huge improvement, with the potential of recording based on motion detection, while perhaps allowing for subsequent zooming into its 18 megapixel images; not just streaming low resolution videos, as a potentially more useful option. All of which are relevant security issues and applications for anyone with a home, apartment, or a place of work, as well as providing a good reason to buy an extra camera.

In fact just sending occasional still images (based on motion detection) as an email would be a good start; or would we need to buy an $800 Samsung Galaxy Note 2 in order to record and transfer an image, however without any motion detection capacity, since the USB port on the Galaxy would be used to connect to the router, or perhaps we would use the USB port for an external motion detector, instead of looking at the pixels.

The problem we found with existing low resolution web or security cameras is that the emails fail to be transmitted correctly, even though D-Link and others make reliable routers. Apparently, the experienced software people did not work on the web or security cameras. Naturally, you could see the exceptional complexity and cost involved in using an external Android device for a such simple yet common application. Of course, if you allowed the Android to download software into a Nikon camera, that also could address such issues, without creating a constantly evolving application burden for Nikon.

While this is a huge photographic area that is not being well addressed (except in factory environments), it is however a place where new and eventually all used Nikon cameras could be put to use in people’s homes, offices or driveways, to significantly reduce the chance of violence and thefts, apparently in over 150 countries, where governments prefer to not be of any significant help.

Re. WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
Southern California
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No
Feb 18, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No.
Feb 18, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P520
 
2 Answers

Is there going to ever be a protective Lens cover for this product?

Jun 11, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
3out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you get the 67mm adapter (3rd party product) you can use a filter UV etc to protect the lens. It does come with a lens cap.
Sep 1, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Nikon, does not make LCD covers for Coolpix Cameras.
Jun 11, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
1 year, 3 months ago
by
peguin
philadelphia, PA
Location : 
philadelphia, PA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
A third party makes an adapter which will hold a 67mm filter or lens hood. It is a compression fit over the end of the lens and does not interfere when the camera is powered down.
User submitted video
Sep 1, 2013 by
by
Cable Guy
NC
Location : 
NC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Nikon does not make filters or adapters for the P520.
Jul 8, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers