Loading

Big zoom, small package and ready to share in an instant.

Expect plenty of "Likes" on the photos and videos you share with the COOLPIX S6500. Packed inside its ultra-slim, stylish design is a powerful 12x Zoom-NIKKOR glass lens that's great for everything from wide-angle landscapes to telephoto close-ups; and a 16-megapixel CMOS image sensor for maximum photo and video quality in just about any light. When you're ready to share your creations, built-in Wi-Fi® helps you get them online faster and easier than ever.
VR image stabilization
Motion Detection
ISO 3200
CMOS
Clear Color Display
Smart Portrait System
Scene Auto Selector
Target Finding AF
Subject Tracking
Full HD
3D Mode
Wi-Fi

Share amazing photos in an instant

Built-in Wi-Fi® for easily sharing your shots anytime, anywhere

The COOLPIX S6500 makes it easier than ever to share beautiful views of your world. Take a great shot and instantly send it to your compatible smartphone, tablet or Wi-Fi® device. Then email your photos, upload to your favorite social media or photo album sites— share your shots the same way you normally share online and amaze friends and family!
Sequence of photos demonstrating the 12x zoom of the COOLPIX S6500.Sequence of photos demonstrating the 12x zoom of the COOLPIX S6500.Sequence of photos demonstrating the 12x zoom of the COOLPIX S6500.Sequence of photos demonstrating the 12x zoom of the COOLPIX S6500.
  • 1x
  • |
  • |
  • 12x

Frame the perfect shot

12x wide-angle NIKKOR glass zoom lens gets you closer to the action

Every COOLPIX is designed around a genuine NIKKOR glass lens, the legendary optics that have made Nikon famous. The COOLPIX S6500 12x zoom NIKKOR lens is great for everything from wide-angle group shots to close-up portraits. Plus, lens-shift Vibration Reduction helps keep every shot steady, even if your hands are not.

Superior low-light performance

High-performance CMOS image sensor lets you shoot without a flash

Imagine being able to shoot without a flash at weddings, concerts, parties—anywhere your flash normally fires. You won't have to interrupt a moment to capture it, and your photos and HD videos will look more natural and true to your memory. The COOLPIX S6500 performs so well in low light situations that, in most cases, using the flash is optional. Of course, when the lighting is extremely poor and you need a flash, it'll be there.

Freeze action in its tracks

Hold down the shutter button and fire up to 7 continuous shots per second

Create amazing action sequences with the touch of a button. When the action speeds up, just hold down the shutter button and fire off up to 7 continuous shots per second. You'll get views of fast-moving subjects you may never have seen.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-fast").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:6,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}

Focus where you want it

Kids and pets are always on the go. Fortunately, the COOLPIX S6500 includes Subject Tracking, which automatically locks onto a moving subject and keeps it in focus until you're ready to take the shot.

Flatter your friends and family

Create beautiful photos of the people you care about. Smart Portrait System activates several features ideal for portraits, like Face Priority AF, Skin Softening, Blink Warning and more.

Let the camera call the shots

Easily match your situation to one of 20 Scene Modes like Beach, Snow, Night Portrait, Sunset and enjoy effortless shooting. Or, choose Scene Auto Selector and let the camera choose for you.

Dazzle with every shot

Create truly exceptional photos and Full HD videos in nearly any light. A 16-megapixel CMOS low-light image sensor delivers superior image quality, versatility and low-light performance.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's built-in Wi-Fi® capability can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

COOLPIX S6500 3 5 31 31
Requiring Service in Less Than 3 Months I bought this to replace my still working Coolpix L5. Less than 3 months later it will not power up despite going to technical help center. I am returning it to place of purchase hoping to exchange it for a new one instead of having to ship it off. This is a shame because I was generally pleased with the photos and video clips I shot up to this point. February 25, 2014
Picture quality good, everything else not so... The supplied software (for downloading and editing photos taken with the S6500) does not work with Windows 8.1...this in spite of published compatibilities. The WiFi feature is non-operational with Windows 8.1 and the Wireless Utility application is not available for an iPad Air or an iPad mini. In order to charge the battery (life is unknown at this point), the battery must be in the camera and the charger plugged into a 120VAC outlet. Charging via a USB port on a computer takes forever and a day. All in all, I would not buy another S6500, or another NIkon product for that matter. I'll stick with my Canon products...they work as advertised, are reliable, are flexible and take fantastic pictures. February 15, 2014
A pretty neat little camera I just bought this camera as something to use when I have an itch to take a pic. Bought it. Seems okay. February 15, 2014
So Many Great Features!! I love this camera. I used to be a canon person, but after going from a canon point n shoot to a nikon... I am not sure I'd go back! I love how many features come with this camera. There are so many different scenes, like fireworks, snow, low light and so much more. There is even a smile recognition feature. So amazing and I love it. February 7, 2014
S6500 Easy to use and takes great pictures. Wife uses it for all her reality shots and loves it! February 5, 2014
Trouble right out of the box DVD for View NX2 did not work in my HP machine running Windows 7. Website didn't like my choice of password. This is supposed to be easy! January 29, 2014
Camera OK, but Poor WIFI Only owned a few weeks. Purchased this camera to replace my wifes Sony CyberShot DSC-W90. Wanted better low light picture taking and WiFi features. Camera OK, but No WIFI when battery is not fully charged. It will not finish connecting. Charger that came with camera requires battery to be installed in camers for charging. The camera prevents WiFi or taking any pictures while being charged. Plan on getting second battery and separate charger to charge battery outside of camera. January 23, 2014
Great features I really like this camera because you can take video's & trash pics that don't come out like you like. And you can down load the pics on your computer. January 13, 2014
Outstanding lens this is my 4th Nikon Cool-Pix first one I dropped -the only damage was that the 'door' to card & battery would not latch. I was told repair was impossible -I used tape. Then I bought a 2 AA-battery job. I MUCH prefer the battery arrangement on the older one. Charging was done outside of camera. A second battery was always ready. I gave the second one to my husband. more... The third one, almost new, failed. The lens popped out and stayed out. Camera essentially dead. Inquired about repair @Best Buy and at Staples. Charges would be higher than purchase price. So, today I bought another. I find plenty of fault in design re: placement of on/off. Methods of getting to the battery and the photo card. VERY DIFFICULT !!!!! In that way, design of original was much better. January 8, 2014
Around the camera Nikon COOLPIX 6500 is a all-round good camera. Great imaging and awesome color quality with SCENE mood. Zooming is amazing. Taking photos from a android or apple device and syncing through the Wi-Fi is a amazing feature. No need to plug the camera or SD card into PC and connect phone data cable and put all the photos to phone. When we connect to camera through the Wi-Fi to our mobile device, it will automatically sync the all photos. Manual White Balancing is a great feature too. I saw some reviews talking about Wi-Fi for the internet. Wi-Fi feature is not for the internet or for updating camera firmware. It is for syncing with mobile devices and taking photos remotely with zooming. If you want to update the firmware you should download the firmware and follow the introduction. Nikon COOLPIX S6500 awesome and amazing camera for the price. Thank You...! January 6, 2014
Not at all pleased, especially for the price Received this as a Christmas gift to replace my broken Cannon sureshot. So far, I'm not at all pleased, especially after seeing how much this cost! Just having taken pictures around the house, backyard and at a venue in the last 2 days, I'm not impressed. Picture quality is not that great [compared to an $80 point and shoot I used to have], takes too long to turn on, too long to actually take a photo, etc. Also not impressed with the 'WiFi' it is advertised as having. The generic 'mobile utility' that the manual says to download is NOT available on the ipad, despite being told. There is no Nikon mobile utility to download to get the 'WiFi' enabled [I don't have an iPhone]. Seems pointless to label the camera 'WiFi' if there's not much you can do with the wifi. Of course, then there's the 3 or 4 hours I've been sitting at the computer trying to figure out how to enable the WiFi - can't get that time back. Frustrating to spend that time only to find out that the WiFi is useless. Going to dig in the trash for the packaging so we can try and return it. I'll stick with my $80 point and shoot Cannon and spend the additional money on something else I need. December 28, 2013
Exactly what I was looking for! This is my first Nikon and I am thoroughly impressed. It does everything I want it to do plus more. The pictures look amazing, great in low light, panoramic works nicely, and the effects are fun to use. The navigation is smooth unlike other cameras i've used. Switching from picture to video mode is simple, just press the record button, unlike other camera's that make you search through a menu. The camera is durable too. December 8, 2013
Beautiful Product Needing a camera, this was the practical one to own. A beautiful product with additional features and quality zoom for a camera lover and picture fancy person. Being mindful of all the things the camera can do yet a slow in snapping a picture. Finding a glitch in the shutter release button, hence loosing the picture intended in motion. However, I love the capability of the video asset to the camera.. it is a wonderful surprise as to its ability. On closer examining I realize that the shutter release button* is indented to the touch on this camera making the connection apparently delayed to the touch. This is the only fault so far and hopefully it is just this one camera which has it so. This would make a deep annoyance with this picture taker. November 24, 2013
Takes great pictures and videos Takes great pictures and videos but the microphone is too sensitive. You can hear the motor in the lens if you are zooming in and out when taking videos. Also the audio is a little distorted if the sound is too loud when taking videos. I wish that there was an adjustment on the camera for adjusting the sound volume, so it would not sound scratchy. November 20, 2013
Bad as a camera can be. I recommend anyone looking for a pocket camera, a Cool Pix is not the camera for you, especially if you enjoy taking outdoor pictures. I purchased my first Cool Pix because I need to replace my older pocket camera. That camera latest about 3 weekend and I had it returned to Nikon for repair. Since, I had purchased extra batteries and accessories for that model of camera, I purchased the same make and model again. I received my first camera back from Nikon but had to return again for repair 2 weeks later with the same problem. Meanwhile my second camera started having the same issues as the first and I send it in for repairs. I received my first camera back and loh and behold, it has been send back for repairs again. I received email notice stating that the repairs to my second camera is not covered by warranty because of "Sand" being found in the camera. I have never had this much trouble with any other brand of camera then I have with these Nikon Cool Pix's. I spend every weekend traveling outdoors and documenting my travels. I'm now in search of a good pocket camera other than Nikon. I'll take any recommendations. But my recommendation is not to purchase any small Nikon camera if you plan on being outdoors. November 2, 2013
easy to use using cameras for pictures for a wound care clinic. pictures very important to track our progress and these cameras fit the bill October 28, 2013
VERY BAD PERFORMANCE Battery back up is very bad. battery is not staying for at least 1 hr also. wi- Fi is not getting connect properly. September 19, 2013
great camera for the money Takes great pictures with alot of great features. ALso has great color August 11, 2013
Disappointed I've had a few Nikon digital camera's now. My old Coolpix 880 takes better quality pictures than this new S6500. The Wi-Fi feature was attractive... it doesn't work on my Netgear N600 wireless network. Ugh.. July 29, 2013
Blurry pics This is not a user friendly camera and the pictures are blurry. Very disappointed. July 24, 2013
One of the worst cameras ever This camera may sound like a good deal, but the truth is, it's not! Photos on the auto setting are very soft and not sharp at all and look terrible when zoomed in on a computer. The focus is not great and takes a while to get it to focus. The zoom is also not very good because photos don't look good when zoomed in. The 16 megapixel sensor is also of little use. The body also has no grip and it feels very slippery. I will say that the one thing I did like about the camera is the colors, they look nice but this camera is just too hard to recommend to anyone. Nikon does make some good cameras, but this one is not a good camera at all. Save your money and look elsewhere. You will regret buying this camera, but you will NOT regret saving your money and looking elsewhere. June 29, 2013
Lot of things packed in this small package, alas ! In Auto mode the cam's pics are not Sharp, very fuzzy, it takes forever to get the squares to turn green, not at all user friendly. Not a camera I wanted to just put on Auto and start taking pics, no such ease. Battery life is ridiculously short, right in the middle of trip how to charge it? No separate adapter to put the battery in and charge. WiFi which was they touted for so loud is Useless and Does Not Work, save money buy other cams in same category.The On/Off button is Too Sunken in many a times you think you pressed it but the cam does not open, try again. Very Hard to press. No cam case provided. Vid quality is excellent. Very cute device feels good holding it, I loved the cam I must say but unfortunately can not keep it with faults described above. June 2, 2013
WIfi capability Setting up the Wi-Fi on the S6500 took 3 phone calls to Nikon customer service and almost 2 1/2 hours with various customer service rests. No one at Nikon seems to know how set up the wifi on the camera and link it to an iPhone. After finally getting it to work comes an unpleasant surprise. Every time you turn off the phone the wifi defaults back to "off". You have go through 3 levels of menus on the phone to set the wifi on again every time you want to use the feature. But thats not all, every time you want to transfer pictures to you iPhone you must scan through all the local wifi networks and reselect the camera. Nikon didn't think this through before they released the phone. I have purchased a few Nikon SLRs over the years but I will never buy another Nikon product. May 11, 2013
Don't waste your time won't connect to any internet - have to return! wasted about 4 hours of my time. May 8, 2013
Great Camera I ordered another major brand of camera from a major on-line company with the same pixel count. This camera has a larger glass lens and takes sharper, clearer pictures than that other brand. This camera may cost more than that other camera, but takes much better pictures. I also own a Nikon DSLR camera but this on is to stick in my shirt pocket for when it is too inconvenient to carry a larger camera. April 23, 2013
a lot of features in a small package camera takes great pictures. I'm new to the digital camera world and so far with me not knowing what I'm doing I am very happy with this product. Good job Nikon. Below is a sample of my first pictures. Now I'm off to Google to learn more :) Tom from Englewood, FL March 15, 2013
Page:2
<<prev
54 Questions | 56 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
54 Questions | 56 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX S6500
 
2 Answers

Is the Nikon COOLPIX S6500 compatible with Kindle Fire HD 7" ?

Aug 18, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I need a camera for an upcoming trip and want to send my photos to my Kindle Fire HD 7", if the COOLPIX S6500 is compatible.
7 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the Kindle Fire HD 7" is an Android system, and so would be compatible.
Aug 19, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your device needs to be running Android or ios to work, no idea what the Kindle's os is but if ANdroid then yes.
Aug 18, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I get the following message on my COOLPIX S6500 camera: "Memory contains no images", and cannot seem to get past this screen. How do I take a picture, i.e., how do I get past this screen?
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Mike
Colorado
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
When that message shows up when the camera is new, "Memory contains no images", and the camera is charging up, no pictures can be taken. Rule: cannot take pictures when charging. Thanks all the same for the effort. :-)
Mar 7, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If possible go in to the menu and format the card / memory and try again.
Mar 7, 2014 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

Is this camera available for purchase yet in US? Press release said late January, but haven't found it for sale yet.

Feb 5, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The S6500 is currently available for sale. Please check with an authorized dealer by clicking 'Authorized Dealers' on the product page.
Feb 16, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

When will this camera be available in SILVER?

Mar 26, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Have you ONLY introduced in RED color?
1 year ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The S6500 comes in Red, Silver, Black, and Orange. All four colors are currently available for sale. From the product page, select the color that you want and click 'Buy Now'.
Mar 28, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

what is the audio format

Apr 4, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The S6500 uses AAC audio format.
Apr 4, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

camera is very slow to wake

Apr 17, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
When the camera is powered on but inactive for a time it goes into a sleep mode (screen goes dark). When I try to wake the camera by pressing once on the shutter button, the camera takes a long time to wake up. I'd say its at least 3 seconds. It just seems abnormally slow. Is there anything that I can do to speed it up?

I'm very happy with everything else about this camera, but the slow wake time is just really frustrating.
11 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The list of approved memory cards for the S6500 is on page 22 of your user manual link below.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

The problem could be due to the memory card you have in the camera. Try using the camera without the memory card inserted to see how it performs. If your issue persists, please contact tech support. Our contact is at support.nikonusa.com
Apr 20, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

I was able to work wifi one time. But now the menu on the camera scrolls past the wifi select option.

May 4, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Michigan
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
I tried factory reset but nothing works to fix this. I'm simply unable to select wifi with the camera settings.
11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The S6500 Wi-FI options will not be be available when an HDMI or USB cable is plug into the camera, if there is not a memory card in camera, if you have an Eye-FI card in the camera, or if the battery is not fully change.

90 percent of the time, this issue is cause by the memory card, or the battery not being fully charge.
If the issue persists, please feel free to contact technical support from the link below.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 4, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

"unable to create panorama" message

May 14, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
when I select scene "easy panorama", then follow directions on how to create, then I get message "unable to create panorama" - help!!!

using nikon coolpix S6500
11 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
When the built-in panorama application detects it is unable to connect images, shooting stops. The function also depends on rotation speed or shooting environment.
The closer shooting distance tends to fail in connecting images while the longer shooting distance can get relatively better images.
Using a tripod is recommended for panorama shooting.
Jul 2, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
10 months ago
by
Frank
St louis Mo USA
Location : 
St louis Mo USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, MH-66 charger.
May 31, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

This sounds like the camera I'd like to have -- except -- what, if anything is being done about the short battery life. Is it the battery's fault?

Jun 21, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
9 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The battery life of the EN-EL19 battery in the COOLPIX S6500 is approximately 150 still shots. For longer shooting sesssions the optional EH-62C AC Adapter can be used to power the S6500 from an AC power source.

For a COOLPIX camera with similar features and a longer battery life check out the COOLPIX S9500 which uses the EN-EL12 battery and can shoot approximately 230 still shots per charge.

**Based on CIPA industry standard for measuring life of camera batteries. Measured at 23°C (+/-3°C); zoom adjusted with each shot, built-in flash fired with every other shot, image mode set to Normal. In a cold environment, the number of shots may decrease according to the battery characteristics.
Jun 22, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers