Loading

Big zoom, small package and ready to share in an instant.

Expect plenty of "Likes" on the photos and videos you share with the COOLPIX S6500. Packed inside its ultra-slim, stylish design is a powerful 12x Zoom-NIKKOR glass lens that's great for everything from wide-angle landscapes to telephoto close-ups; and a 16-megapixel CMOS image sensor for maximum photo and video quality in just about any light. When you're ready to share your creations, built-in Wi-Fi® helps you get them online faster and easier than ever.
VR image stabilization
Motion Detection
ISO 3200
CMOS
Clear Color Display
Smart Portrait System
Scene Auto Selector
Target Finding AF
Subject Tracking
Full HD
3D Mode
Wi-Fi

Share amazing photos in an instant

Built-in Wi-Fi® for easily sharing your shots anytime, anywhere

The COOLPIX S6500 makes it easier than ever to share beautiful views of your world. Take a great shot and instantly send it to your compatible smartphone, tablet or Wi-Fi® device. Then email your photos, upload to your favorite social media or photo album sites— share your shots the same way you normally share online and amaze friends and family!
Sequence of photos demonstrating the 12x zoom of the COOLPIX S6500.Sequence of photos demonstrating the 12x zoom of the COOLPIX S6500.Sequence of photos demonstrating the 12x zoom of the COOLPIX S6500.Sequence of photos demonstrating the 12x zoom of the COOLPIX S6500.
  • 1x
  • |
  • |
  • 12x

Frame the perfect shot

12x wide-angle NIKKOR glass zoom lens gets you closer to the action

Every COOLPIX is designed around a genuine NIKKOR glass lens, the legendary optics that have made Nikon famous. The COOLPIX S6500 12x zoom NIKKOR lens is great for everything from wide-angle group shots to close-up portraits. Plus, lens-shift Vibration Reduction helps keep every shot steady, even if your hands are not.

Superior low-light performance

High-performance CMOS image sensor lets you shoot without a flash

Imagine being able to shoot without a flash at weddings, concerts, parties—anywhere your flash normally fires. You won't have to interrupt a moment to capture it, and your photos and HD videos will look more natural and true to your memory. The COOLPIX S6500 performs so well in low light situations that, in most cases, using the flash is optional. Of course, when the lighting is extremely poor and you need a flash, it'll be there.

Freeze action in its tracks

Hold down the shutter button and fire up to 7 continuous shots per second

Create amazing action sequences with the touch of a button. When the action speeds up, just hold down the shutter button and fire off up to 7 continuous shots per second. You'll get views of fast-moving subjects you may never have seen.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-fast").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:6,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}

Focus where you want it

Kids and pets are always on the go. Fortunately, the COOLPIX S6500 includes Subject Tracking, which automatically locks onto a moving subject and keeps it in focus until you're ready to take the shot.

Flatter your friends and family

Create beautiful photos of the people you care about. Smart Portrait System activates several features ideal for portraits, like Face Priority AF, Skin Softening, Blink Warning and more.

Let the camera call the shots

Easily match your situation to one of 20 Scene Modes like Beach, Snow, Night Portrait, Sunset and enjoy effortless shooting. Or, choose Scene Auto Selector and let the camera choose for you.

Dazzle with every shot

Create truly exceptional photos and Full HD videos in nearly any light. A 16-megapixel CMOS low-light image sensor delivers superior image quality, versatility and low-light performance.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's built-in Wi-Fi® capability can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

COOLPIX S6500 3.2 5 42 42
Blurry pics This is not a user friendly camera and the pictures are blurry. Very disappointed. July 24, 2013
One of the worst cameras ever This camera may sound like a good deal, but the truth is, it's not! Photos on the auto setting are very soft and not sharp at all and look terrible when zoomed in on a computer. The focus is not great and takes a while to get it to focus. The zoom is also not very good because photos don't look good when zoomed in. The 16 megapixel sensor is also of little use. The body also has no grip and it feels very slippery. I will say that the one thing I did like about the camera is the colors, they look nice but this camera is just too hard to recommend to anyone. Nikon does make some good cameras, but this one is not a good camera at all. Save your money and look elsewhere. You will regret buying this camera, but you will NOT regret saving your money and looking elsewhere. June 29, 2013
Lot of things packed in this small package, alas ! In Auto mode the cam's pics are not Sharp, very fuzzy, it takes forever to get the squares to turn green, not at all user friendly. Not a camera I wanted to just put on Auto and start taking pics, no such ease. Battery life is ridiculously short, right in the middle of trip how to charge it? No separate adapter to put the battery in and charge. WiFi which was they touted for so loud is Useless and Does Not Work, save money buy other cams in same category.The On/Off button is Too Sunken in many a times you think you pressed it but the cam does not open, try again. Very Hard to press. No cam case provided. Vid quality is excellent. Very cute device feels good holding it, I loved the cam I must say but unfortunately can not keep it with faults described above. June 2, 2013
WIfi capability Setting up the Wi-Fi on the S6500 took 3 phone calls to Nikon customer service and almost 2 1/2 hours with various customer service rests. No one at Nikon seems to know how set up the wifi on the camera and link it to an iPhone. After finally getting it to work comes an unpleasant surprise. Every time you turn off the phone the wifi defaults back to "off". You have go through 3 levels of menus on the phone to set the wifi on again every time you want to use the feature. But thats not all, every time you want to transfer pictures to you iPhone you must scan through all the local wifi networks and reselect the camera. Nikon didn't think this through before they released the phone. I have purchased a few Nikon SLRs over the years but I will never buy another Nikon product. May 11, 2013
Don't waste your time won't connect to any internet - have to return! wasted about 4 hours of my time. May 8, 2013
Great Camera I ordered another major brand of camera from a major on-line company with the same pixel count. This camera has a larger glass lens and takes sharper, clearer pictures than that other brand. This camera may cost more than that other camera, but takes much better pictures. I also own a Nikon DSLR camera but this on is to stick in my shirt pocket for when it is too inconvenient to carry a larger camera. April 23, 2013
a lot of features in a small package camera takes great pictures. I'm new to the digital camera world and so far with me not knowing what I'm doing I am very happy with this product. Good job Nikon. Below is a sample of my first pictures. Now I'm off to Google to learn more :) Tom from Englewood, FL March 15, 2013
Page: 2 3
<<prev
66 Questions | 69 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
66 Questions | 69 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX S6500
 
2 Answers

Is the Nikon COOLPIX S6500 compatible with Kindle Fire HD 7" ?

Aug 18, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I need a camera for an upcoming trip and want to send my photos to my Kindle Fire HD 7", if the COOLPIX S6500 is compatible.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the Kindle Fire HD 7" is an Android system, and so would be compatible.
Aug 19, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your device needs to be running Android or ios to work, no idea what the Kindle's os is but if ANdroid then yes.
Aug 18, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I get the following message on my COOLPIX S6500 camera: "Memory contains no images", and cannot seem to get past this screen. How do I take a picture, i.e., how do I get past this screen?
7 months ago
by
Mike
Colorado
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
When that message shows up when the camera is new, "Memory contains no images", and the camera is charging up, no pictures can be taken. Rule: cannot take pictures when charging. Thanks all the same for the effort. :-)
Mar 7, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If possible go in to the menu and format the card / memory and try again.
Mar 7, 2014 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
2 Answers

What size memory card do I need to record the 29 minutes of movies?

Jul 22, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Park Ridge Nj
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Park Ridge Nj
Location : 
Park Ridge Nj
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
It is recommended that when recording video at full HD that you are using an approved SD card that is higher than 4GBs and is a class 6 or higher. Please see this list of approved memory cards for the COOLPIX S6500: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Jul 22, 2014 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you are recording in full HD mode, a 4 gb card will work.
Jul 22, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

Please list the Wi-Fi specs (802.11a? b? g? n? 2.4GHz? 5GHz?). What software will be needed to receive photos via Wi-Fi on a PC or tablet?

Jan 15, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
The Coolpix S6500 supports Wifi 802.11 b/g/n (maximum range approximately 10-15m/33-49 ft).
Smartphones, Tablets: Android™ version 2.3 or later (smartphone), Android version 3.0 or later (tablet). iPhone® and iPad®: iOS version 6.0 or later.

Images can be transfer to a computer using a USB cable. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on a compatible smart device before it can be used with the S6500 . The application can be downloaded free of charge on Google Play™ on your Android device running Android 2.3 or later (smartphone) or Android 3.0 or later (tablet). For the iOS mobile platform, the application can be downloaded free of charge from the iTunes® online store for use with iOS version 6.0 or later.
Jan 15, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

Can this camera be charged via the USB cord?

Jan 16, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the S6500 can be charge via the USB cable.
Jan 26, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

When is this camera expected to be released for purchase in the US?

Jan 19, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Missouri, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Anonymous
Missouri, USA
Location : 
Missouri, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The Nikon COOLPIX S6500 is expected to become available in late January 2013.
Jan 21, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

Is this camera available for purchase yet in US? Press release said late January, but haven't found it for sale yet.

Feb 5, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The S6500 is currently available for sale. Please check with an authorized dealer by clicking 'Authorized Dealers' on the product page.
Feb 16, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

When will this camera be available in SILVER?

Mar 26, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Have you ONLY introduced in RED color?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The S6500 comes in Red, Silver, Black, and Orange. All four colors are currently available for sale. From the product page, select the color that you want and click 'Buy Now'.
Mar 28, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

what is the audio format

Apr 4, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The S6500 uses AAC audio format.
Apr 4, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6500
 
1 answer

Pairing iPhone 5 with S6500

Apr 10, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have the WMU app on my iPhone 5 and I am running version 6.1.3

I turn the WIFI to the ON position in the menu on my camera

I select the NIKON COOLPIX S6500 in my WIFI menu on my iPhone

I do not get a connection between my iPhone and my camera; it says NEGOTIATING and then after a few minutes it stops

Please HELP!
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Once the S6500 displays the "Negotiating" screen open the WMU app on your Smart Device. If the WMU opens on the screen that says "Take Photos" or "View Photos" then Tap "Take Photos" to control the camera remotely and take pictures. When connected the camera will display "Remote Mode Selected" and the Smart Device will display the view from the View Finder. Tap "View Photos" to view and download images from the camera to the smart device. If the WMU opens on a black screen or a screen that says the camera isn't connected tap the "Top" option on the upper left to go back to the page that says "Take Photos" or View Photos" and then choose one of those options to continue. If you continue to encounter trouble connecting please contact Nikon Support: http://support.nikonusa.com.
Apr 11, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers