Loading

Performance to empower your passion.

photo of a man holding the COOLPIX P7700
Meet the COOLPIX P7700, a high-performance compact camera with the power and precision to stimulate your imagination. Its extra-large CMOS image sensor is paired with one of the best NIKKOR lenses we've ever put in a COOLPIX camera. Your photos and Full HD (1080p) videos will be second to none. With an Auto Mode you can rely on every time, 19 Scene Modes for getting the most out of every shooting situation, creative in-camera effects, complete PSAM control, RAW shooting and more, the COOLPIX P7700 will go as far as you want to go. For shooters seeking the ultimate compact digital camera performance, COOLPIX P7700 delivers.
VR image stabilization
ISO 6400
CMOS
Clear Color Display
Smart Portrait System
Scene Auto Selector
Target Finding AF
Subject Tracking
Full HD
3D Mode
  • 1x
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 7.1x

Impress with every shot

Endless creativity and superb image quality

The COOLPIX P7700 satisfies even the most passionate shooters. At its heart is a 1/1.7" 12.2-megapixel CMOS sensor—larger than the sensor in most compact cameras—that delivers exceptional image quality and detail. Use that power to bring every shot to life in vivid clarity. A 7.1x Zoom-NIKKOR glass lens takes you from wide-angle (28mm) to telephoto (200mm) in an instant. Create an expansive landscape one shot, a stunning close-up the next. But as powerful as the COOLPIX P7700 is, you don't need to be a pro to excel with it. Whether you prefer letting Auto Mode do the work for you, using Scene Modes to match your shooting situation or taking complete control of your images with full manual control, you'll be proud of every photo and video you create.
{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-zoom").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:5,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}
photo of buildings taken at night in Venice, Italy

Excel in low-light situations

Bright f/2.0 lens and highly sensitive CMOS sensor

Great low-light performance starts with the lens, and the COOLPIX P7700 has one of the best lenses we've ever put in a COOLPIX camera. With a maximum aperture that's wider than most compact cameras (f/2.0), the 7.1x Zoom-NIKKOR glass lens gathers maximum light so you can shoot with faster shutter speeds. Combine that with a highly sensitive CMOS image sensor and Nikon's renowned ISO performance, and you'll capture the shots you've been missing—low-light indoor shots, evening group shots around a fire, nighttime cityscapes, fast-moving subjects and much more.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6

Create with remarkable speed

Fast operation and continuous shooting

Life moves fast, but the COOLPIX P7700 keeps up. In an instant, it powers up, zooms in, autofocuses and captures stunning shot after shot. Hold down the shutter button and fire a blazing-fast 8 fps (up to 6 shots) for some of the most impressive action-freezing sequences you've ever seen. Plus, every photo and video will be sharp and steady, even if your hands are not—Nikon's VR image stabilization ensures a little camera shake won't ruin the shot.
{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-fast").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:5,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}
photo illustration of the COOLPIX P7700 and its vari-angle LCD with a photo of a venice canal on the LCD

Find exciting new perspectives

Moveable 921,000-dot Vari-angle display

When you can swivel your camera's LCD display to just about any position, you're free to explore exciting new perspectives all around you. Hold the COOLPIX P7700 at ground level for a surprising new view of a common scene. In tight, cramped spaces, raise the camera overhead and get the shot or video you need. Every shot you frame, review or share is rendered in 921,000 dots of brilliant detail. When transporting the camera, protect the LCD by flipping it to the closed position.
photo of blue tarp covered gondolas docked in Venice, Italy with a small island in the far background

Explore new possibilities

Full HD (1080p) video with stereo sound

Apply your creativity to videography. With the touch of a button, go from shooting stills to recording Full HD (1080p) videos that can easily be shared on your computer, social networking sites or an HDTV. The COOLPIX P7700 lets you use the optical zoom while recording, so you can frame exactly the shot you want. It also lets you maintain creative control; adjust the aperture and exposure settings, add creative filters, special effects and more. The built-in stereo microphone captures clear, natural audio (it even includes wind noise reduction), but for maximum sound fidelity, add the optional ME-1 stereo microphone.
photo of a pair of hands holding a COOLPIX P7700

Comfortable, smart design

The COOLPIX P7700 is designed to be used—as often as possible. Its compact, ergonomic body lets you create comfortably. All the camera's settings are accessible through easy-to-navigate menus, and key features are at your fingertips. You can even program your favorite settings for quick recall.
photo of the COOLPIX P7700 with the SB-400 Speedlight on the accessory shoe

Expand your capabilities and creativity

The COOLPIX P7700 includes a full-size accessory shoe that's compatible with Nikon's most popular D-SLR accessories: Nikon's renowned Speedlights, GP-1 GPS module, ME-1 stereo microphone, and more. Build a creative system around the COOLPIX P7700.
COOLPIX P7700 4.7 5 19 19
Great as a total package and the package is a brick! Considering the size of the sensor, I was pleasantly surprised at the resolution and low light capability of the P7700. For 4x6 prints or newspaper or website use the ISO 3200 images were more than adequate. Some complain about the lack of an optical viewfinder,but I have little trouble being descrete while shooting the P7700. It's simple. Just hold the camera close to your face or torso. You can still see the LCD to compose and shoot. You do not have to hold a camera at arms length to use. The combination of zoom range and lens speed is superlative as well. 200mm equivalent at f/4.0 is outstanding. The flash commander mode to control external flash is feature unique among cameras in this catagory. I use it all the time and it works well. No every one would aggree, but I much perfer the threaded lens front to an automatic lens door. A lens door is subject to damage that may make the camera inoperable, where the threaded lens front will accept a 49mm UV filter that, if damaged can be replaced for just a few dollars. I will say the focus is not quite as fast or dependable as I'm used to, but is adequate in most situations. My only other complaint is the fact that the camera does not have a sleep mode. If left on, instead of going to sleep as all my SLR's do, it just turns off. This requires the start button to be pushed and does take a few seconds. If it went to sleep, it would awakend quickly by simply touching the shutter release button. Battery life is not great but adequate. January 22, 2013
Stunning performance few distractions Nikon has developed a compact camera worthy of its past and present. I own a D800, D600, D5100, F through F4, FA, FE and even an old 1950s Nikon rangefinder. I also own and shoot several other brands and while a teenager owned and shot a Leica MIII (sadly stolen). Picture quality is a solid 5. I do like the articulated screen but for many of us nothing replaces a viewfinder for functionality as well as battery conservation. So for this section I give it a 4.2. The P7700 also takes quite a bit of time to take consecutive pictures. Yes I know you can take a series in continuous mode yet in single it is very slow. Therefore for speed I give it a 3 The external controls are blessings from the past with huge benefits is the production of superbly refined pictures. This is the way all cameras should be made. We learned this in the past and Nikon finally remembered it for our productive future. Yeehaw with a 6 for remembering the way things were when they just worked right. The lens is outstanding. I shoot a lot of macro and this lens with its zoom is wonderful. Nikon did excellent work here a solid 5. Color rendition and exposure with or without the flash are excellent and match my DSLRs. The camera works like a dream with the SB400 and even has a commander mode! A solid 5. So here's my review the camera would be perfect if it had a viewfinder and shot 2-3 frames per second in single mode but seeing nothing is perfect and because of the high quality pictures the wonderful lens and the functionality of the external controls this camera rates a 4.5 overall. Nikons rating scheme does not fully explain a cameras true usefulness. If I had my choice I would give star ratings in several areas like I did above then build an average. Market research is easy if done right. Therefore I must round up to 5 stars. I use this camera to shoot when I do not have my DSLRs and carry it every where at all times, just in case the once in a life time picture presents itself to me. This is a extraordinary camera! December 31, 2012
Walk around dSLR I just got this camera for Christmas and after charging up the Lithium Ion battery pack went immediately to taking pictures. I was honestly astonished by the quality of the shots, the wide variety of options that you're given, and so pleased with the PSAM mode options. It allows much more flexibility in creating the best exposure you can possibly get, especially with a compact digital. I upgraded to this camera after owning the S8100 and losing it and I believe this camera is worth every penny. It comes with a lens cap, battery, and a strap. Though it isn't as small as the S8100 it definitely isn't as large at my Nikon D3000 dSLR and it fits decently in your hand. Another great feature with this camera is the ability to change the ISO (which goes up to a range of 3200), White Balance, and picture quality. It also has three separate noise reduction features, whether normal noise reduction is decent or whether you need more or less NR. Spectacular! I have yet to try out the video features just yet, but I am excited to find out how they are. Might I add you can also control the flash and exposure through compensation features just like on your dSLR. I am still getting used to the swiveling screen, but find that it does serve a great purpose especially in keeping the screen safe from any scratches or dust. When I saw all the buttons I initially thought it was going to be very confusing to use, but that's quite the contrary, I rate this product extremely high in terms of ease of use. I think the only button that I had to use the process of elimination skill for was the shutter release, which is located on top of the zoom toggle, but if you have any hard times with that a quick look in your manual solves the problem instantly. All in all, a wonderful camera and I have no pressing negative points as of late. Thanks, Nikon, for producing another amazing quality camera. December 26, 2012
What a powerful lil Camera!! I have had several different brand Cameras over the years....Sony.....Canon and Fuji. I won't get into a big sch-peel about the flaws in all of em but they were disappointing. Now this 7700 has been most impressive Camera I have bought by far! First thing that threw me off was the size....thought it was a tad bigger. But that wasn't a bad thing cuz it's really handy to carry anywhere. Very versatile with several shooting modes or full manual shooting if ya want. With all the most used settings setup with dials like high end DSLR's have is VERY nice! Got all the power and features of any DSLR I've ever seen cept changeable lens. The fully articulating 3in view screen is a HUGE plus and very handy. It doesn't have a eye level view finder but I never miss it. The fast f2.0-4.0 lens is unheard of in a prosumer Camera and noticeable right off. Takes amazingly clear photos in Night Landscape mode at ISO 1600 with very little noise! Battery life is excellent....construction is solid and not toy like....fits in hand nicely. This is the most impressive point and shoot/prosumer I have the pleasure of using so far. No Camera is perfect but Beginner or Pro you will love this Camera! I had considered the Canon G15 but review photo compare 7700 was a tad better. Also a much better zoom with high end glass with the f2.0-f4.0 speed sold me. I've been into digital photography since 2000 so I'm not new to all this. I have 25yrs of actual photography experience and consider the P7700 a must have. December 21, 2012
P7700: High performance, very few compromises Bought my P7700 soon after it became available. After doing some hands-on of new cameras, had seriously considered the the Sony DSC-RX100 and the Canon PowerShot G15. Both of these were good products, but keeping it simple, the Nikon P7700 won me over with its combination of an exceptionally good f/2.0 28-200mm Nikkor zoom lens, its fully articulated 3-inch LCD hi-res 921,000 dot display, a real dedicated hot shoe and its ability to use filters, among other features. I also own and am happy with my earlier P7100, but this new P7700 is an excellent evolutionary upgrade as the Performance-series flagship, a camera designed with the dedicated photo enthusiast in mind. It's solid and rugged, and is an excellent travel or everyday camera. It offers the right balance of features, an excellent 12.2 Megapixel CMOS-type sensor, RAW (NRW) support, uses SD, SDHC and SDXC memory cards, ability to use any 40.5 mm filters (compatible with Nikon 1 series), continuation of the EN-EL14 Li-ion battery, top-notch macro performance, and surprisingly improved ergonomics. The new Nikkor ED glass formulation of 13 elements in 10 groups is excellent, but no description of the lens would be complete without mentioning that the built-in neutral density filter added to its 7-blade rounded-iris aperture offers beautifully natural bokeh, better than this user has encountered in a compact digital camera. Just beginning to explore this, but my results have been quite pleasing. The P7700 is the finest advanced enthusiast compact digital camera that I've used, though that can be considered highly subjective depending on the needs of the individual. Since I've had it, my Nikon DSLRs have been hardly used, as this one fits so many needs that I've not mentioned here. It's an excellent imaging tool for street photography, and a product that really lives up to the Nikon name. Highly recommended to anyone with similar needs in a digital camera, and a bargain for all that it offers. October 23, 2012
'P' Series has evolved best compact camera on the market My wife bought me a Coolpix P7000 for Christmas in 2010. As many now realize, that camera - while an alternative to the Canon G series - was heavily flawed. I could see the potential in the design, however, and bought a P7100 when it debuted in late 2011. Initially, I decided not to upgrade to the P7700 due to the lack of an optical viewfinder. Finally, I gave in and ordered the camera anyway. I'm certainly glad I did ... this is the best compact camera on the market as of October, 2012. Sony's entry feels like a toy in comparison, and the Canon S100 and S110 have annoying glitches that, for my purposes, rendered them almost useless. The P7700 is built like a tank, has terrific IQ - the bokeh on the first shot I took blew me away! - and glass that's fast enough for almost anything. October 12, 2012
A superb, high quality pocket camera I have been looking for a small, high quality compact camera to use when I do want to carry around my DSLRs/ film SLRs with a bag full of lenses. When I went to the local camera shop and picked up the Nikon Coolpix P7700 I knew I had fond it! I bought this little beauty and it has returned some brilliant photographs. The lens is very sharp and the camera is robustly made and finished to a very high standard. The pop up flash although not so powerful is useful for fill-in when the light is low. The camera has a hot shoe which is great for using a Speedlight. (I have attached the new SB300 which is perfectly balanced). The camera is really good for video shooting as well. Although, the camera is not the smallest it feels high quality and easily slips into a coat pocket, small bag, etc. The menu system can be accessed via the multi-positional screen and quite comprehensive and straight forward to use. In addition, the camera controls can be set easily using the camera's top dials for settings such as Program, Video, Manual, Aperture Priority, Manual and much, much more. This neat high quality compact has much to recommend it. January 11, 2014
Best compact camera ever i just picked up this camera at a local camera store i can say with full honesty that its one of the best cameras ive ever owned. After a number of cameras ( sony rx100, panasonic lx7 ) and a number of hours i chose the p7700 because of the tiltable screen, improved sensor, fast and bright nikon lens with aperature 2-4 at 7x zoom, the 1080p video at 30fps, or slow motion 100fps at 480p resolution, or fast videography at 1080p 15fps and all the buttons and controls of a dslr. The picture quality is outstanding ( especially when shooting in RAW ) and i love how Nikon added on a microphone input for better sound quality. Overall this camera is outstanding and i cant wait to wake up every morning and start shooting. I can highly recommend this camera for someone whos not looking for a dslr, but wants all the manual controls of one and someone who loves to shoot video. Best camera for the price. September 30, 2012
Fantástica!! Excelente calidad Excelente cámara, óptica de calidad Nikon, bastante portable y fotos excelentes para colgar en mi galería. Anteriomente use la Coolpix P7000 y abandoné la Nikon D300s que sólo uso para estudio ahora y con la Coolpix P7700 yo creo que hasta para estudio la voy a utilizar ya que trae control para flashes nikon. Si algo extraño un poco, es el visor óptico pero puedo vivir sin él. Excelente cámara, la uso para ir de viaje, fotografía de niños y para macros. November 13, 2012
versatile camera and fun to use It's JPG images are higher quality then RAW (NRW) so I shoot JPG with it though I would prefer RAW for editing. Overall It's a very versatile camera and a pleasure (fun) to use. I suggest for the next version Nikon add a DX sensor and tweak the RAW image format while keeping all the other features. With these improvements they would have the best all around serious compact camera on the market. July 13, 2013
Almost perfect! Everything is good except for the lack of: - Optical viewfinder - Touch screen (no vari-angle needed) - Built-in Wi-Fi Add this to the sequel! March 3, 2013
Great carry around After buying and then returning Sony NEX-5N, Canon SX 260, and the Canon G15, I am now the owner of this Nikon P7700, and very happy to keep it. I was wanting a lighter weight camera to carry around during the day. My Canon 50D is my main camera, but heavy on my shoulder, and, being a glasses wearer, I was looking for an LCD screen. This fits the bill. Tilt screen, wonderful quality JPEGS and RAW. I've been using it for 2 weeks now and very happy I kept it. November 20, 2012
P7700 addresses a long term need I have had in shooting large groups on stage in poor lighting situations. Overall, I am quite pleased with the camera, having received it from the Nikon Store three days ago. The inclusion of more user analog controls is a real benefit to semi-pros and serious amateurs. I love having direct access to ISO, WB, Bracketing and quality at the pressing of a button on the top dial. Also the image sharpness in low light is better than any compact I have seen. +/- three stops at a touch of the exposure control dial on top is also a real pro feature.The camera body seems to be solid and provides a feel of confidence in reliability and ease of holding one handed. I was disappointed to learn that the supplied software is not compatible with Mac Mountain Lion and Adobe PS CS5 has no Plug-in compatible with Mountain Lion. My only immediate route to managing Raw NRW files (used in the P7700) was to upgrade the CS5 to CS6. One other comment; Nikon's recommended LCD viewfinder protective add-on transparent cover is pricy and will not let the viewfinder close completely flat onto the camera back. I have chosen to leave the viewing screen open to the rear so it will lay flat. It is quite sturdy and provides a reassuringly strong cover. My last compact was the Canon Powershot S5IS and the Canon S90. This camera is well above both in pro features and image quality. October 17, 2012
Okay but missing a Viewfinder.... The Nikon P7700 does not have a viewfinder like the P7000 or 7100 I have the P7000. I wanted to replace it with the P7700 but I like the viewfinder. But compare to my P7000 the P7700 is better but I still am not sure because of no viewfinder. Why did Nikon remove a good thing? Nikon should replace the P7700 ASAP with one with a viewfinder and I will be interest in it. I again like the camera but the ones before where much better. Bring it back like it was and keep the LCD in one place. Yes a moveable LCD is great but more to break down. But to say I am still thinking of buying it maybe once you get use to it all will be okay. Mar May 15, 2013
Page:2
<<prev
82 Questions | 96 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
82 Questions | 96 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P7700
 
3 Answers

Manual Focusing, Lens Shade, and app Questions

Aug 23, 2012 by
by
Big G
Olympic Peninsula, Washington State
Has staff answer
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Is there a capability to manually focus the P7700?

Is there a lens shade available for the P7700?

Is there an app for the P7700 that shows how to use the camera that can be taken into the field and displayed on an iPhone?
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Big G
Olympic Peninsula, Washington State
Location : 
Olympic Peninsula, Washington State
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Manual Focus is possible, using rotating dial on the back side, then press down symbol of Macro and then you can choose MF for manual focus.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Apr 2, 2013 by
by
Juda
Jakarta, Indonesia
Location : 
Jakarta, Indonesia
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
You can download the Manual Viewer App from the App Store, and download the P7700 manual to keep with you at all times. This App is very usefull and contains many Nikon Products manuals. Another way is to download the PDF manual file from the Nikon website, and keep it in iBooks.
Nov 3, 2012 by
by
Pascal
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location : 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
6out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful4
Answer: 
Is not possivle to acquire focus manually with the COOLPIX P7700, you can choose the Autofocus (AF) Focus-area selection to Manual with 99 focus areas.
Click on the link below for a list of compatible accessories for the COOLPIX P7700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Aug 27, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P7700
 
2 Answers

Is there a lens hood accesory for the P7700? Is there an external viewfinder accesory?

Aug 25, 2012 by
by
Beto
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
+8points
10out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful2
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Beto
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Location : 
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a Nikon HN- CP17 Lens Hood for Coolpix P7700
Sep 2, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years

-10points
0out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful10
Answer: 
No.
Aug 25, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P7700
 
2 Answers

The P7700 shows BOTH 40.5mm Filter NC and 58mm Filter NC. How is that possible?

Sep 3, 2012 by
by
John
Va
Has staff answer
+8points
9out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1
See P7700 Accessories
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
John
Va
Location : 
Va
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 40.5mm filters attach directly onto the lens. The 58mm filters attach to the lens hood.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
Answer: 
You have to purchase a HN-CP17 lens hood, it has 58mm mounting threads. Allows you to use a circular polarizer.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P7700
 
2 Answers

does it have time lapse?

Sep 16, 2012 by
by
winch
Troms, Norway
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
winch
Troms, Norway
Location : 
Troms, Norway
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes. The specs show "interval" as one of the toner modes.
Oct 20, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
You should be able to find a battery-operated time-lapse trigger from third party manufacturers. This trigger needs to be compatible with Nikon's own cable remote MC-DC2.
Sep 17, 2012 by
by
Dynszis
Germany
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P7700
 
2 Answers

To transfer photos to a Mac using the USB cable, *MUST* I install ViewNX2?

Nov 30, 2012 by
by
Ron
Kenosha, WI
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
I would like to have the option of using the USB cable to transfer photos from the P7700 to my computer. But I would rather not install ViewNX2 because it's a bit of a hard disk hog and my Macbook Air has a relatively small SSD. I use other software for post processing and photo library management, so the only thing I'd use ViewNX2 for is transferring photos.

Is there a way to transfer photos via the USB cable that does not require installing ViewNX2? I tried attaching the camera to the computer with the cable hoping the camera would show up as an external mass storage device, but it did not. (This works with other cameras I've used before.)

Thanks for any suggestions.
2 years ago
by
Ron
Kenosha, WI
Location : 
Kenosha, WI
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Joe, you are correct, and I have been using an SD card reader to transfer my pictures.

But my question was: I would like to have the option of also using the USB cable for transferring pictures. Is it possible to use the cable without installing the ViewNX2 software.

If anyone knows the answer to this question, I'd be grateful.

Thanks.
Nov 30, 2012 by
by
Ron
Kenosha, WI, USA

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Remove SD card and use a card reader your MAC will recognize it. You can use any photo software.
Nov 30, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P7700
 
2 Answers

What material is the camera body made of?

Jan 14, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
The P7700's chassis is constructed from a black-matte magnesium alloy.
Jan 26, 2013 by
by
JargonTalk
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Location : 
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Magnesium alloy
Jan 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P7700
 
2 Answers

No Firmware Update Option(s)

Apr 27, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Trying to update the P7700 to the newly released firmware update (1.1), and following Nikon's SIMPLE instructions, when I get the confirmation that I have Ver.1.0 there are NO options to update. The only thing offered in the view screen (in the lower left corner) is <Back.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Had the same problem so I moved the file firmware.bin to the memory card without the folder and then everything worked as explained. Hope this helps.
Nov 14, 2013 by
by
TimSmith1966
San Francisco Bay, California, USA
Location : 
San Francisco Bay, California, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Assuming you downloaded the P7700 firmware from the link below:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
....and you've extracted and dragged the 'firmware' folder to the root of your memory card, and inserted the card into your P7700, and went to firmware option in the camera setup menu, but you weren't prompted to install the new firmware, we suggest you fully recharge the EN-EL14 battery in the camera and try again. If possible reset the camera via the setup menu and try a diffent memory card from the link below.
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Apr 28, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P7700
 
2 Answers

ND Filter

Apr 30, 2013 by
by
atomicmonkey
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Is the ND filter in the P7700 an optical filter or a digital effect?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
atomicmonkey
Nikon Family: 21+ years
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The built-in digital ND filter on the Coolpix P7700 works quite well, but it can be supplemented by third party 40.5mm ND filters when/if needed.
May 24, 2013 by
by
John
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Location : 
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The Coolpix P7700 buit in ND filter is digital.
May 1, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P7700
 
2 Answers

How do I record a raw photo in Raw + JPEG fine or Raw + JPEG normal mode?

Jun 20, 2013 by
by
Steven
San Diego
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
My P7700 is set to shoot in either P, A, or S mode and Quality set to Raw + JPEG fine or Raw + JPEG normal mode. When I take a picture two identical jpg files are created. When I shoot in Raw only mode the raw image is created. How do I get Raw + JPEG fine or Raw + JPEG normal mode to create the raw image also?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Steven
San Diego
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/18097/~/view-nx---2.7.1-software-download
Jun 20, 2013 by
by
JoeR

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The NRW (raw) files and jpg files have the same file name when you shoot raw+jpg. You cannot view raw files on the camera when you shoot raw+jpeg. They must be transferred to a computer running Nikon View NX2 or Capture.
You must have the correct version of View NX2, it can be downloaded here, free.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P7700
 
2 Answers

Is there no built in flash with the P7700?

Aug 22, 2013 by
by
Nuge
Chicago
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Nuge
Chicago
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the P7700 has a built in flash. It also has a standard Nikon hot shoe which will enable you to use current Nikon Speed lights such as the SB-400, SB-300, SB-900, SB-800, SB-900, SB-910, SB-700 etc.
Aug 22, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, there is a pop up flash on the top of the camera body.
Aug 22, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers