Loading

The imaging power of a Nikon, the connectivity of an Android™ smart device.

photo of the COOLPIX S800c with a woman on the LCD using a smartphone, with an illustration for sharing three photos via wi-fi
Introducing the most connected COOLPIX yet, S800c with the superior imaging power of a Nikon point-and-shoot camera and all the capabilities of an Android™ smart device. Create beautiful photos and Full HD videos, then instantly share them right from your camera—email them to friends, post them on Facebook, upload them to my Picturetown or wirelessly transfer them to your laptop, smartphone or tablet. You can even install popular Android photography and social networking apps, available on Google Play™! It's an all-in-one smart device that will change the way you create and share memories.
VR image stabilization
Motion Detection
ISO 3200
CMOS
Clear Color Display
Touch Panel OLED
Smart Portrait System
Scene Auto Selector
Subject Tracking
Full HD
GPS
Wi-Fi
  • 1x
  • |
  • 10x

Photos and Full HD videos only a Nikon can capture

The brilliant image quality of a Nikon camera

So many moments deserve the superior image quality and zoom power of a camera. With the COOLPIX S800c, you no longer have to choose between great photos and connectivity—you get both! Shoot beautiful 16.0 megapixel photos and Full HD (1080p) videos, even in low light conditions. With a 10x optical Zoom-NIKKOR ED glass lens, zoom in to telephoto distances (25-250mm) and make faraway objects appear right in front of you. Forget about blurry images—Optical VR image stabilization means a little camera shake won't keep you from taking sharp photos. And when you're in a tricky shooting situation, let Scene Modes optimize the camera settings for you.
{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-zoom").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:2,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}
photo of a woman using the touchscreen of the COOLPIX S800c on a city street

Share every great moment instantly

Wi-Fi® connectivity for instant photo and video sharing—anytime, anywhere

Your friends and family love seeing what you've been up to. Now you can share all your stories through beautiful Nikon-quality photos and videos. Capture the moment in 16.0 megapixels of brilliant clarity and then instantly share to Google+™, Facebook, Twitter, Nikon's my Picturetown, with your email contacts—however you normally share online! Plus, you can wirelessly back up your photos and videos or offload your memory card contents in an instant and keep shooting. It's simple, it's fast and it's totally wireless.
close up photo of a woman's hands typing an email on the LCD of the S800c

Endless possibilities and inspiration

The advanced capabilities of an Android™ smart device

The COOLPIX S800c is more than a camera—it's also an Android™ smart device with a 3.5-inch high-resolution touchscreen. That means you can do all the things one can do with an Android™ smartphone or tablet. Check your email and Facebook. View photos and videos from your friends. Browse the web. Stream music. The possibilities are endless. Plus, you get access to all the amazing Android™ apps on Google Play, including thousands of photography and video apps for taking, editing and sharing photos and videos.
black and white photo of a bride's torso holding flowers that have selective color of hot pink in color

Express your creative side

Fun and creative in-camera effects and apps

Explore black & white photography, selectively highlight one color within a composition, create wider-than-possible Fisheye shots or give your photos an antique feel with Nostalgic Sepia. For even more options, browse thousands of popular Android™ photography and video apps. How will these exciting new possibilities inspire you?
image of a surfer with board at the shore on a Google map crop of Coney Island

Show where you've been

The COOLPIX S800c has built-in GPS, so you can show exactly where every photo and video was taken. You can even share that info when you post to sites like Facebook. Integrate your geotagged photos and movie files with Nikon's my Picturetown photo sharing site, Google Maps™  and Nikon ViewNX 2™.
portrait of a woman in a formal black dress

Take flattering portraits

No one will mind when you tag them in your photos, thanks to Nikon's Smart Portrait System. It optimizes your camera settings, identifies and focuses on faces, adds subtle skin softening and more to ensure everyone looks their best.
image of a bride in a garden on the camera's LCD and an HDTV

Capture, share and watch Full HD videos

With the touch of a button, you can record professional looking Full HD (1080p) videos with stereo sound. Then you can watch them, or videos from the web, on the COOLPIX S800c's bright high-resolution 3.5-inch OLED touchscreen.
image of the front of the S800c and back LCD of the S800c with apps on the display

A world of apps, at your fingertips

Since the COOLPIX S800c is powered by the Android, you have access to the thousands of apps on Google Play—everything from photo and video editing apps to social networking apps, games and more.

Share Now

The "Connect to S800c" app allows you to wirelessly connect and download images from the S800c to an iPhone, iPad or compatible smartphone or tablet.


COOLPIX S800c 3.1 5 20 20
Almost Perfect! I got this camera earlier today, and I absolutely love it. My only thing though... i wish there was a way to get a data plan or something for the internet instead of just the wifi. got lost on my way from the city after buying this cam, and the GPS was useless. lol ohwells. awesome camera, really no other complaints. June 2, 2013
Great concept, but... My husband got this camera for Christmas and I was quite excited to start using it, however from day one, I have been having issues with the battery life. I would turn it off, then try to turn it back on and realize that the battery had been drained because it was on "stand-by" instead of "off"... had to actually read the manual and figure out how to do that. Takes great pictures, connects to wifi and allows access to Facebook, e-mail and other apps that you can automatically download your pics to, including your iPhone, which I have not been able to do as of yet (keeps giving me an error...). A bit frustrated with the product, might have to return it.... December 31, 2012
Great camera overall with a fixable glitch Excellent camera features including the Android OS v 2.3.x. Imagine having your android phone (without the phone of course) with a 16 MP camera attached to it. And a CMOS sensor, by the way. You can download many photo apps from the Google Play store to use with this camera, including another GeoTagging App. Now the glitch. Until Nikon issues a new firmware update that fixes this problem, you will need to rely on another GeoTagging App, not the one Nikon Camera uses in Settings to GeoTag its photos. The reason for this is that in two cameras s800c , the GPS Longitude written to the photo is very wrong from your location, while the Latitude is correct. In my case with both cameras, one I replaced, with 6 satellites above me me and goog reception, my photos taken in South Florida, Longitude 80 degrees, the Exif info Longitude records a position in the middle of China. Thats where all my photos get tagged with. No kidding. So overall its a great camera that I will keep and use, without using Nikons GeoTag, but I do hope they issue a new firmware update for this. November 17, 2012
Awesome Idea - Could use some enhancements We bought this camera for a trip to Italy. We were super excited about having maps on the camera instead of having to carry around the paper map. We also wanted to be able to do email while gone without bringing a ton of devices that we would have to keep track of. I added the places we wanted to go to my google places before we left, which you can layer over the maps. Unfortunately, you need wifi to pull those up. You can view the maps offline, but you have to be zoomed in on where you are going before you leave wifi if you want it to be at the level you need to not get lost. Even though it has a few drawbacks, overall, it is a very nifty little camera. Pros: - Even though the mobile upload is slow, it works, which was nice when abroad since we only had 1 device. - Amazing picture clarity even when moving the camera. The clarity when zooming is better than most as well. As a camera it is better than most. - Touch capture is awesome (focuses where you touch instead of having to hold down the button which always makes me move the camera like crazy) - Nice to have one device instead of two, especially when traveling internationally where my phone won't work for calls anyway Cons: - Battery life drains fast when using wifi - You can't use the camera while it charges. I found this extremely annoying. We would come back from a day out and want to plug the camera in to charge while using the internet, but you can't use it while it is charging. I've never had a phone/computer/tablet that you couldn't use while charging so I'm not sure why this one won't, but it is extremely annoying. This is the biggest drawback by far. I hope it can be fixed with a software update. October 26, 2012
Pretty good for the first Android phone The good: The OLED screen is visible outside in direct sunlight (not really high contrast, but definitely visible enough to use). The instant on feature that lets you use the camera while android boots up in the background seems to work really well, and it actually seems to be ready for shooting quicker than some other point and shoot cameras I've seen. The picture quality seems good to me, definitely better than your typical phone camera (I'm no photo expert, mind you, just going by subjective appearance). Android seems to be well integrated. I've used android apps to transfer photos and movies via wi-fi and bluetooth, and the specialty android camera app I'm working on is no buggier on the camera that it was on the phone I was using for development previously. The bad: You can't use it while it is charging. This puts a real crimp in the ability to use it for long periods of time in a fixed location where it would be perfectly possible to provide AC power for the charger. I have other Li-Ion battery devices that do not have this restriction. I have a feeling this is a marketing ploy to sell external chargers and spare batteries rather than having a legitimate technical reason. The annoying: No excuse for the non-standard USB connector. This means you have to drag around an extra cable just for the camera because no other cable you have will work on the camera. If anyone makes a small mini USB to Nikon USB adapter I could carry around instead of a whole extra cable, I'd love to buy one. Whatever the surface on the touchscreen is made of is a bigger fingerprint magnet than I have ever encountered before in any device, and things that clean other surfaces OK, just seem to smear this one. October 4, 2012
Disappointed The sole reason I bought this camera was for wifi connectivity. Every once in a while it will actually connect but more times than not it doesn't connect or it disconnects itself. I saw that there was an upgrade in November 2012 that was supposed to fix this issue but it certainly didn't help mine. June 18, 2013
Camera is awesome I got this camera for Christmas and I really like it! December 26, 2012
Is it average? Does it work? Does it break easily and need repair? I would say that it is not average. Although it has apps and music on it unlike normal cameras, it is extremely slow after using it for about a month and it sometimes freezes. I had used this camera for about 3 months before the place where you connect the cord to charge the camera was too damaged to charge the camera. The camera works fantastic to take pictures. If that is the main reason for the camera, I recommend it. If it isn't, I do not recommend it. August 20, 2014
Battery life makes this unusable for travel. Do not buy this if you are traveling on vacation and can't recharge it several times a day. Battery life is miserable, not more than three hours, and less if you forget to shut down. i finally improved battery life a bit by shutting down all apps, putting it on airplane mode, and deleting all data for many of the preloaded google apps (gps, maps etc kill your battery life). Camera features are great (rapid focus, crystal clear detail, quick cycle time even if flash is used) but this is a fine camera posing as an email platform, Utube player, navigation tool, etc. BTW, I do not understand why all of these apps run on the iPhone without depleting that battery. Very hard to figure out how to shut down preloaded apps, the downloadable manual simply refers you to a google site, which pretty much gives no information at all. May 30, 2013
Horrible uploading picture experience. I am really livid with this product because although it takes great quick pictures, it is an awful experience at getting the pictures uploaded. You think because it has "wifi" it is quick and easy, not so. It doesn't stay connected to the wifi, so after you spend time and select the pictures to upload, it will state it cannot upload them. And then you have to go back in and re-select your pictures. I have just now spent an hour trying to upload my vacation pictures with no success after 6 trials. May 26, 2013
Promising concept but many flaws in the execution and current software/firmware There are too many bugs currently to recommend using this camera. Camera often takes up to 30 SECONDS to be shoot ready coming out of standby Camera has been freezing regularly, will not come out of standby, will not go into shoot or playback mode immediately after coming out of standby, software freezes Camera has been reporting errors with the SD card, and then after re-powering, card will be fine Battery life barely lasts an hour under normal shooting conditions. Controls like ISO and flash mode are inconsistent over different shooting modes. EX, you cannot change ISO in monochrome shooting. October 31, 2012
Horrible App Support, Horrible Battery Life, Very Disappointed Before I start I would like to make sure everyone reads this first which is the "intro" paragraph for this camera. Just a small reminder :) ~~~Introducing the most connected COOLPIX yet, S800c with the superior imaging power of a Nikon point-and-shoot camera and all the capabilities of an Android™ smart device. Create beautiful photos and Full HD videos, then instantly share them right from your camera—email them to friends, post them on Facebook, upload them to my Picturetown or wirelessly transfer them to your laptop, smartphone or tablet. You can even install popular Android photography and social networking apps, available on Google Play™! It's an all-in-one smart device that will change the way you create and share memories.~~~ I have had this camera for awhile and am very upset with it. My husband had purchased it for me as a present knowing I would be in Tech Heaven but now I constantly have to apologize for yelling at it and telling him how bad it really is. Pro's - When it works it's great! Beautiful pics and videos! Con's - No headphone jack to output video yes the usb port is great but I like to connect to my surround sound and there is no way to do that for me. - I feel like giving it back to nikon at this point. Within the first month or so the battery died to the point where my lens was stuck half in half out. At this point I had to charge it just to a bit to get the thing to retract, meanwhile sitting it down. The shutter was stuck and managed to jam up. This happens all the time! - The battery life!!! Oh the wretched battery life! I can not even count the important photo's and videos I have missed out on because of it fizzing out half way through the event, I am not sure why Nikon would make a product like this without a battery capable of supporting it. Forget Geocaching, by the time I get where we are it's dead. Yes I aware of switching it to airplane mode helps but I shouldn't have to do that all the time. Maybe for inside event's an AC adapter of some sort would work nicely? - Why, unlike every other simpler and more complex products, can we not use it while charging??? This would take a little bit of my irritation away with the device. I want to love it I really do but it constantly leaves me stranded time and time again. - App support through google play is the worst, you would think if Nikon was going to put out a product like this so nicely evolved that they would put a little support behind some apps for this. I would even pay for an app if it worked and didn't force close constantly. Even facebook and youtube force closes all the time new updates or not, forget instagram!!! Which are heavily advertised by Nikon as "instantly being able to share" !!! - Bluetooth has never worked for me. - I even had my mom buy one cause I thought they were so awesome but now I feel horrible because hers is just the same. Now for my final word at the moment about my device. I was diagnosed with a rare brain tumor in July. This gives me memory loss. My Dr. and support groups all give the ideas of taking pictures and videos and labeling them prior to surgery to help myself remember what it is that is lost. Also I thought that it would be nice to use the google calendar to help me remember the things that I am forgetting. Plus utilize the many apps that could really help a person in my position. Again I must say I am disappointed beyond belief with this thing, I wouldn't give it away to my worst enemy. I guess I will be trying to buy a $50 android phone from walmart to help myself stay organized and what not. October 12, 2014
Worst buy ever. I want my money back This camera is not worth any amount of money, let alone its steep price. It doesn't turn off properly so it is perpetually in standby mode, which drains the battery (even when all the wifi features are turned off). The battery dies after viewing pictures for 5 minutes and it tells you that yo have half a battery left when in picture mode, but then in standby mode, it tells you are at 10%. Super frustrating and I am going to try to return it. I only wish I hadn't brought it on vacation with us half way around the world! August 10, 2013
Nikon S800c I had to return this product for repairs within a few months because the lens jammed in full Telephoto mode and would not retract. When I got it back, it would not focus properly and all pictures take outside were horribly overexposed. While it was working, I found the smart features of no value. My iPhone and iPad did everything the camera did and easier and better. I only got this camera because it had wirleless and GPS. Neither worked well. I swapped it out for a Coolpix S9500. Its features are similar, but I think closer to what I want. A Smart camera is just not valuable to me. I hope the S9500 proves more reliable. The wireless transfer of pictures is a little difficult, but the GPS seems to be working fine, and it is nice to have a geographical record of each picture you take. August 7, 2013
Aargh! What was Nikon thinking? My previous review was based on incomplete data. I have now been working on a custom camera app and found that the implementation of the Camera API in android only allows you to take 8MP pictures max (3264x2448 image size). The only point to an android camera is to unleash the army of android developers who will produce ingenious apps that will make android cameras sell like hotcakes. If android developers aren't going to be able to access the full capabilities of the camera, it becomes utterly pointless. October 20, 2012
Page:2
<<prev
76 Questions | 98 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
76 Questions | 98 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S800c
 
6 Answers

Is it possible to take 16MP pictures with an Android App? It appears to only support 8MP pictures?

Sep 28, 2012 by
by
diffdude
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Or is this a memory limitation for Android?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
diffdude
6 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I can verify what diffdude says: The android Camera API only lists image sizes up to 3264x2448 as available sizes for taking pictures. It is currently impossible to develop a custom camera app for this thing which can take 16 MP pictures. To me this invalidates the entire point of putting android on the thing! Nikon desperately needs to provide an SDK addition with some classes android developers can use to get to all the features of this camera (and I checked: going through the SDK signup process does not lead you to any development material for the S800c).
Oct 21, 2012 by
by
Claghorn
Delray Beach, FL, USA
Location : 
Delray Beach, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Experience: Less than a month

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You have to include the "extra" for the output file, then launch the native camera app via intent, then manually select the higher res.

#Nikon - c'mon you need someone with Android expertise to help with this camera. this is a whole new product type, and "read the manual" won't do it#
Oct 15, 2012 by
by
PVS
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am writing my own android app, and the camera returns 8MP as the largest photo capture size.

Plus, optical zoom does not work in 3rd party android photo apps, it only uses digital zoom.

I would have thought they would have an SDK or documentation on how to get access to the optical zoom, which most other android devices do not have.
Oct 5, 2012 by
by
diffdude

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
The camera app that is used to take pictures by default is still an Android app. Ergo, yes, it is possible to take 16MP pictures with an Android App.

Caveat: Most 3rd party apps have their own limitations on image size, which has very little to do with what the sensors are capable of. (Most are aware of the upper limits, if they happen to be lower than the app allows; for example, if the app allows up to 5MP, but the tablet only has a 1.2MP front-facing, the app won't try to take a 5MP picture. But if the phone supports up to 8MP, and the app only goes up to 5MP, 5MP is you limit with that app.)

Most current Android apps were built during the days when even the 8MP sensors in phones were rare enough, and 16MP was unheard of. Ergo, they app developers built their apps to the days common specs.

I've also seen some apps that have image size crippled in the free/ad-supported/demo version, but unrestricted in the full version.

Many of the common image editor apps (Pixlr-o-matic, AfterFocus, Instagram, etc) are capable of either taking a picture or loading one from your Gallery. However, in common use, most people ignore the load one from the Gallery feature and only use the from camera option...

If the apps you want to use will only snap pictures at 8MP, look to see if there's an import feature, also check the options to see if it allows for "save at original size" or something to that effect.

Hope this helps more than "read the manual" that you got from the official Nikon answer guy.
Oct 2, 2012 by
by
sprunka
Virginia, USA
Location : 
Virginia, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
That page in the manual only refers to the normal camera function, not using the camera from within an Android Application. Nothing in the manual says anything about using the camera in an Android App.
Sep 28, 2012 by
by
diffdude

-1point
3out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful4
Answer: 
The COOLPIX S800c is a 16MP camera. You're able to select the Image size and quality. Please see page #26 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX S800c.
Sep 28, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
7 months ago
by
Zoki
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you are still having problems call Nikon service and support.
Mar 23, 2014 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Found this:
http://www.nikonusa.com/fileuploads/S800c-WiFi-Quick-Start/story_html5.html
Mar 23, 2014 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
On Play Store I found only

WirelessMobileUtility
Nikon Corporation - February 5, 2014

I updated S800c firmware to v 1.3

When I start WirelessMobileUtility on my Smart Device (LG G2, Android 4.2.2) and "Upload"/"Simple Setup"/"Start" on my S800c I am getting "Camera Disconected" on smart phone and "Searching ... SSID: NikonAD000041107424" on my S800c

After some time S800c response with "Could not complete setup" with "camera disconected" on Smart Device and wireless icon is "backslashed"

Both wireless are enabled, with following combinations:

Smart Device - connected to WLAN / S800c - connected to same WLAN
Smart Device - connected to WLAN / S800c - not connected to wireless
Smart Device - not connected to wireless / S800c - connected to WLAN
Smart Device - not connected to wireless / S800c - not connected to wireless
Smart Device - connected to S800c's SSID
Smart Device has HotSpot Activated / S800c - connected to Smart Device's Hot Spot
Smart Device and S800c paired by Bluetooth

Any hint?
Mar 23, 2014 by
by
Zoki

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, you need Nikon ' wireless mobile adapter utility, available in the Play Store.
Mar 23, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S800c
 
3 Answers

Are the GPS maps built-in the camera or do you need wi-fi access to use say Google maps?

Sep 6, 2012 by
by
Mark
Louisville, KY, USA
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
I ask because this would be a handy navigation tool while traveling overseas, but you don't always have wifi access when walking the streets of a foreign country.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Mark
Louisville, KY, USA
Location : 
Louisville, KY, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I use android apps Mapswithme and Navigator. These two apps uses the GPS but does not need wifi. The apps allow you to download the OSM maps of the states and/or countries that I visit. I only need the wifi to download the apps and the OSM maps. With the OSM maps, I am able to use this super smart camera as a Navigator (like TomTom and Garmin). With the OSM maps and Mapswithme, I instantly have my location on the map displayed on the screen. and instead of looking like a lost tourist with a printed map, I appear to be texting on a smart device. It is an outstanding travel tool with a great camera and lens. Just like a Garmin and TomTom, the GPS does not work inside parking garages and inside airports. This super smart camera is so useful that I carry two extra batteries and a charger when I travel. This device came with Google Map preinstalled. Google Maps work very well but requires wifi. When traveling, I look for the nearest free wifi to exploit the android apps to help me enjoy my travels. I use OSM offline with GPS to do a 'Search Nearby' restaurant, hotel, hospital, etc. I continue to be amazed on what I am able to do offline. Also, its a Nikon and takes great photos.
Dec 31, 2013 by
by
Cyber Nomad
Texas, Florida, and the World
Location : 
Texas, Florida, and the World
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
To use Google Maps you need WiFi access to the Internet. There are some navigation apps that include map files and you may be able to run these on the camera, and then you wont need WiFi.
Oct 16, 2012 by
by
PVS
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
The camera's internal GPS receives signals from the GPS satellites and calculate its current time and position. Calculation of the position is know as positioning. The information will be displayed in the screen using the camera's internal map information. No need for Wi-Fi.
Sep 17, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S800c
 
3 Answers

Why is Cell standby consuming most of my battery?

Oct 13, 2012 by
by
Claghorn
Delray Beach, FL, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Seems very strange since there is no cell support in the hardware :-).
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
2 years ago
by
Claghorn
Delray Beach, FL, USA
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the latest firmware installed and this is still a problem.
Mar 5, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nope, installed v1.1 and then v1.2 microcode when it arrived, and the cell standby still reports as using most of the power (but from lots of reading on the web about similar devices with no cell hardware and old android versions, this really seems more like a bad statistic being reported than an actual drain on real battery power).
Dec 20, 2012 by
by
Claghorn
Delray Beach, FL, USA
Location : 
Delray Beach, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Experience: 1-3 months

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
If you haven't already done so, you may want to try updating the firmware in your S800C to see if this helps. A link to download the firmware update for the S800C, along with instructions on how to update your camera's firmware, can be found at this address: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Dec 13, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S800c
 
2 Answers

Will there be an SDK for android programmers to get access to detailed camera controls?

Aug 22, 2012 by
by
Claghorn
Pompano Beach, FL, USA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Claghorn
Pompano Beach, FL, USA
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
no sdk on https://sdk.nikonimaging.com/apply/
Oct 7, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 27, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
7 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S800c
 
2 Answers

What audio and/or video output options does the S800c have?

Aug 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
I'm trying to determine if this could be a replacement for carrying around an Android based music player and a seperate camera. The built in speaker is mono of course, but does it have a 1/8" stereo mini output for audio?
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can connect bluetooth headphones to the S800c.
Oct 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
The new COOLPIX S800c doesn't have a 1/8" stereo mini output for audio.
Video Output: NTSC, PAL.
HDMI Output Can be selected from: Auto, 480p, 720p, 1080i.
I/O terminal: Digital I/O (USB), HDMI Mini Connector (HDMI output).
Aug 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S800c
 
2 Answers

So there's no way to be able to plug in headphones and listen to music, or anything like that?

Sep 3, 2012 by
by
Nanci
San Antonio, TX, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Nanci
San Antonio, TX, USA
Location : 
San Antonio, TX, USA
Age: Under 18
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
While the camera does not have a headphone jack, you can connect a Bluetooth headset to it to listen to music.
Nov 5, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The Coolpix S800C does not have a headphone connector.
Oct 25, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S800c
 
2 Answers

If the s800c has been "released" why can't I find a product manual in the support section yet?

Sep 12, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can now find the manual here: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Oct 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Once the product is announced it takes 30 to 45 days to be available at dealers. Please click on the link below for the Tech Specs for the COOLPIX S800c (only information available for now):
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S800c
 
2 Answers

How can I use optical zoom with an Android App? It appears to only use digital zoom.

Sep 28, 2012 by
by
diffdude
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Is there an SDK specifically for Android to allow developers access to the optical zoom?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
diffdude
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
The link to the SDK site does not include an Android ADK for the S800c
Sep 28, 2012 by
by
diffdude

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Sep 28, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S800c
 
2 Answers

I do not see the manual for the CoolPix S800c camera in the PDF library when will it be available??

Oct 2, 2012 by
by
CuriousG
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years ago
by
CuriousG
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It is now available on the web page that links to all manuals: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Oct 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There actually is an online manual, but the only pointer to it is in the printed quick start guide (I have no idea why). Look here:

http://nikonimglib.com/cdsc/s800c
Oct 2, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers