Loading

Redefine your notion of a compact digital camera.

photo of blonde woman holding the small COOLPIX S01
You really have to see the COOLPIX S01 to believe it. Exquisitely compact, remarkably stylish, it will turn heads and start conversations every time you use it. But the COOLPIX S01 isn't just about looks—it's a feature-rich COOLPIX camera that captures equally exquisite photos and HD videos with minimal effort. Get it for yourself and enjoy a perfect balance of form and function, or give it as a gift and watch your recipient marvel at its uniqueness.
Motion Detection
ISO 1600
Touch Panel OLED
Smart Portrait System
Scene Auto Selector
HD Movie Mode
photo of the COOLPIX S01 with contents of an open purse on a table

Take it everywhere

The smallest COOLPIX camera ever

Imagine an easy to use camera that takes brilliant photos and HD movies and fits your pocket as well as it fits your lifestyle. You'll grab the COOLPIX S01 every time you go out, and you'll create more memories than ever before. Just slip it in your pocket or purse and hit the road. When the moment strikes, pull it out, catch the action and then show it off, (along with the beautiful photos or videos you just shot).

Create gorgeous memories

10.1 MP, 3x optical zoom, EXPEED C2 and more

Don't let its size fool you—the COOLPIX S01 captures stunning Nikon-quality photos and HD (720p) videos. Its 3x optical Zoom-NIKKOR glass lens lets you zoom in for a flattering portrait, then out for a playful group shot; and it delivers sharp, bright images to a 10.1 megapixel CCD sensor. Nikon's exclusive EXPEED C2 processing engine provides fast operation, onboard intelligence and creative in-camera effects. Your photos and HD movies will be as beautiful as your camera.
  • 1x
  • |
  • 3x
{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-zoom").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:2,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}
photo of woman's finger on the touchscreen of the S01 with a photo of a young man on the LCD

Master the camera in no time

Intuitive touchscreen display

You'll love the COOLPIX S01's simple touchscreen interface, which makes it easy to swipe through your photos, watch your videos, adjust the camera settings, and add creative effects. In no time at all, you'll be taking photos, shooting videos, adding creative effects and more.
four photos include an orange flower, two portraits and a close up a a woman's hand with watch and bracelets

Let the camera do the thinking

Spend more time enjoying the moment and less time worrying about camera settings. The COOLPIX S01 detects what you're shooting and automatically selects the best mode for you—Portrait, Landscape, Night Portrait, Night Landscape, Close-up or Backlighting. Your shots will look great—and you can take all the credit.
photo of a woman photographing a juggler and a couple watching from the background

Never miss a moment

When a special moment happens, your camera should be ready. The COOLPIX S01 quickly turns on, autofocuses and fires. With a touch of the screen, you can start recording HD (720p) videos with sound. You'll never be stuck fussing with your camera while the action passes you by.
COOLPIX S01 3.8 5 28 28
Small yet powerful I wanted a small on-the-go camera that would take decent pictures and the s01 fits the bill! Easy to use point-and-click, with really great pictures. Are all of them perfect? NO But this is probably the best small camera I have had in terms of consistency. If you read the instructions and know how to use a flash or turn it of when not needed, your pics can be great. March 20, 2013
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS CAMERA!!!!!! Small and loving it !!!! I use it for work and I couldn't be happier. Good pictures. I am really pleased with this purchase. February 27, 2013
love it Bought for my wife and we both love it, easy to get good photos. It is apparent from many of the reviews that many users fail the first tennant. You need to be 10% smarter than what you are working with. There is nothing wrong with this camera February 4, 2013
GRRRREAT!!! Two words: love it! Easy to use and small enough to carry with me. January 6, 2013
Sturdy and easy to use Bought three; one each for my 3, 4 and 5 year old girls. Simple enough for them to figure out and use on their own and small enough for them to handle. Fits in pockets easily. My 4 and 3 year olds have dropped theirs a few times and the cameras still function perfectly. Excellent video quality and audio. Fantastic camera for the price. December 29, 2012
Good for quick travel records I mostly take pictures to keep records of things (license plates, items in a store I may want to buy, quick snapshots of events for general memories, etc.), so this camera is perfect for my pusposes because it has good enough quality to catch details in nice lighting and the sall size allows it to fit in my pocket well. For those looking for exceptional performance though, this is not a camera for professional photography. This is obvious, but I am just clarifying in case people have too high expectations. The photos may be cloudy sometimes, but that can be expected with any camera; it is no worse than the regular-sized Canon I owned so far as picture quality. December 27, 2012
tiny and terrific I must have looked at every point and shoot camera on the market. I have been a devotee of Olympus and still love them. But, I have been desperately seeking an even smaller camera with better image stabilization. For some reason, my pictures are clear, but when I am in the picture it is always blurry. While that is not necessarily a bad thing, there are times I would like to be in a picture. So, the hunt was on. I would go into stores and take a picture while moving the camera - many fit the bill, except they were bigger or the same size as my olympus stylus 840. Then I saw this little gem. It just arrived last night, but so far the image stabilization is quite good!!! And the size is even smaller than I remember. Only negative, that I did not realize until I was playing with it, there is no self timer and no where to screw a tripod. C'est la vie. And, there was a nice temporary price cut on Amazon that sealed the deal. If you travel a lot and are already weighed down with readers and phones and tablets, this sweet little camera will be a welcome replacement to whatever you are currently using. December 13, 2012
love this tiny camera! Just received this camera as a gift and it is so small and fits anywhere! i love it and can't wait to take it with me wherever I go. It also takes great pictures and there is built in memory! December 9, 2012
I have waited so LONG!!! I have been wanting a small compact camera that I could just put in my pocket and go! When I saw this commercial a month ago I fell in love. Just bought this about 10 minutes ago and I couldn't be more pleased already! Thank you NIKON for bringing this to the masses!!! December 4, 2012
Put the cell phone cameras away!!! Smaller than all cell phones I have seen...This Nikon Coolpix S01 is potent point and shoot camera. The Nikon Coolpix S01 is so small there is no room for a tripod hole for secure mounting. I am sure Nikon will figure out some kind of after market slide-mounting accessory to remedy it? It is kinda hard to use the self-timer feature without a way to mount it. A touch screen feature is the perfect thing to have because how else would you hold the camera and take pictures. The touch screen is responsive enough, and not too sensitive. It has video recording too. It works pretty good. Sound pick up was impressive. The 3x optical zoom is funny to me. I guess it is better than nothing. I did have trouble with auto focus on CLOSE UP shots but when you zoom out (W) the auto focus works better. And the Flash, Memory Card, and Battery are all built-in. So you don't have to attach anything. Not having all these compartment covers really keeps the camera SMALL yet SOLID feel. Stabilizers or Steady sensors are small if there is any... so have steady hands ready. Overall... Buy it if you want to take photos and videos better than a cell phone and don't want to carry you computer tablet with built in camera. This is my second Nikon and sixth camera I currently use. November 2, 2012
Great camera! I bought this camera in pink because I wanted something small enough that would fit in my clutch when I go out! I love it! It literally is the size of my credit card!! The size doesn't affect the quality of the camera. It's really simple to use, which I love since I'm not too good with electronics. I would definitely recommend! October 1, 2012
Muy práctica! Muy simple, buena definición, fácil de transportar y bastante memoria. August 27, 2014
Great for the time it lasted Had it on friday, saturday the memory jammed, got a new one on tuesday. Main reason I didn't ask for my money back is that it seems to be a very handy and full of surprise camera. Not the best in performance but quite decent in all situations. June 25, 2013
small size and compact but poor image stability The size, shape and form is great except image quality. It is lacking because you can't control the image modes, and low light images appear grainy. (it is difficult to keep switching exposure). I wish there was an an image stabilization focus because you have to be very very still with the camera. Also, ISO should be higher to help with low light image stability. I can't tweak these settings mentioned above but I wish I could. Otherwise, it is a good camera (especially the size). For the price of this camera, I wish a Wi-Fi feature would be built in, and/or a way to email or wirelessly send pics to computer or smartphone. November 2, 2012
Evaluation Coolpix S01 C'est un appareil interresant pour les débutants et pour les personnes qui ne veut pas un appareil trop complexe. Cette appareil est limite au niveau de la performance. Je préfére mon Nikon D800. November 5, 2012
Don't waste money, this is worst ever Camera I have ever seen??? from NIkon? Very Disappointed with this Coolpix S01, the picture quality is worst (even 6 or 8 MP cell phone camera has better picture quality, did not understand purpose of marketing this product? as most of cell phones comes with 10 to 16 MP Camera, it must have had minimum 14 MP, something really is wrong, as I have few Nikon products, including D7000 with few lenses, bought only because it looks small and beatutiful, no setting, no adjustments, cannot add external memory card for extra storage (THE SALES GIRL AT BEST BUY TOLD ME THAT IT HAS A SLOT FOR ADDITIONAL MICRO SD CARD???? may be Best Buy must educate their sales person about the products they are selling) the same camera should have had supported with WIFI, Bluetooth and other connectivitY. The another WORST thing I found is removing cover for attaching cable, I found it so difficult and irritating, I would not recommend this for the price they are selling at, it is not even worth $75 February 2, 2013
Disappointed Bought this camera thinking it would be great for travel...fell apart and the pictures were cloudy... December 8, 2012
Poor insight by developers Not a bad little camera. I have bought DOZENS of Nikon cameras of all styles . My reason for a poor review is this: I am trying to limit what I have to have with me when I travel. I recently got an iPAD. This camera HAS to be connected via USB to charge or transfer photos. When I attached the S01 to the iPAD, I get a message the device requires too much power. That's it! I cannot transfer photos to iPAD. I wrote a letter to tech support and the answer was "it is not designed to connect to a tablet". To ME; this is a HUGE oversight. You can pack around a nice little camera but you also need a laptop or tower to transfer? In this day and age? Absolutely ridiculous. Could do Bluetooth and I would be happy. Or something with WiFi??? I could always charge the camera via USB plug in, but to require too much power that you cannot transfer photos!! = Oversight by Nikon designers IMO November 8, 2012
Can't transfer photos to computer Loved everything about it but I could not transfer photos to my Mac! The software would not download to my Mac because my OS 10.5.11 does not reach the minimum requirements, so I tried to download to my wife's Windows 7 computer and this would not work because my AOL browser would quit every time I tried and displayed an error message! Before purchasing, I read all the specs and nowhere did it give minimum OS System requirements. It said compatible with Mac and Windows Systems. Nikon should have made a simple USB connector to transfer the photos to any computer. I reluctantly sent it back for a refund! January 8, 2014
Broken hurt the camera is small, with touch screen, internal memory and usb chargeable. however i am disappointed because the scene features are minimal and usability and quality does not make this camera in any way better than my phone. May 14, 2013
Lousy pictures When I saw this camera I couldn't wait to get it. I own a d7000 and love it but I wanted a camera I could toss in my purse and have for those "wish I had a camera" moments. What a disappointment. The pics are grainy and the flash does not work right. My camera is actually back at Nikon now so I am looking forward to their explanation. February 27, 2013
Camera quit working. Red exclamation point on display with no explanation. We purchased this camera for my daughter on 12/24/2012 to take with her on an extended trip to South America. Of all places, it quit working in the Galapagos. A couple days ago, when she turned it on, a red exclamation point was displayed with no explanation as to why and the camera would not function. She tried the reset button and the battery is charged. The camera has not been damaged (water, sand, impact, etc.) I researched the issue and found numerous other occurrences with some suggestions but no solutions. I could find no reference to the red exclamation point even on the Nikon site, despite a troublesome number of cameras with this same problem. I called Nikon and the rep was unable to offer any solution other than repair. Now I'm having problems finding authorized repair sites in South America and have emailed Nikon for assistance. Needless to say, our daughter is distressed at not having a camera in what may be a once in a lifetime trip and experience. February 23, 2013
Cute but impractical When I got this camera for Christmas, I loved it because it was pink and tiny - easy to carry. But this camera is very difficult to focus. It usually takes me 5 tries to get a somewhat decent (although still blurry) picture, and WITH flash. When not using flash in a place without a lot of light, other cameras would take somewhat blurry pictures, but this camera can barely even take the picture! Out of 20, only 3 pictures turn out right. This camera has the ability to capture macro details, but it rarely does so when you're out and about trying to take quick snapshots with other people. February 3, 2013
Page:2
<<prev
41 Questions | 48 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
41 Questions | 48 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S01
 
2 Answers

Can you take pictures with heavily blurred backgrounds with the S01 ??

Aug 22, 2012 by
by
Pédrõ
Has staff answer
+1point
4out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
The "Scene Mode Sample Photos" suggest that you can take "professional-looking" (my wording) portraits with the COLPIX S01, i.e., the person is sharp and the background is completely out of focus. Is this correct ??
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Pédrõ
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes. This camera has a f/3.3-5.9 lens, so you should be able to take photos that show the subject in focus and the background softly out of focus (bokeh). It will depend on what f/stop the lens is set at when you shoot. This article might help you better understand how to get bokeh in your photographs: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Aug 27, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information regarding depth of field:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 22, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S01
 
2 Answers

Can I download pictures from the camera to an iPad?

Oct 15, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
+7points
11out of 15found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful4
I have a USB adapter, but don't know if the Nikon software can be loaded onto an iPad?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
When I plugged my camera into my iPad it said the camera used too much power for the iPad to download images. I plugged my camera into a 4port hub and then the hub into the camera kit for iPad and it worked fine. I read about this on the net. They said it had to be a powered hub. The one I used was not a powered hub and it worked fine.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Oct 25, 2012 by
by
Rick
VB
Location : 
VB
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
You don't have to have Nikon software to upload photos. Any photo processing software for IOS will work unless you are shooting raw.
Oct 15, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S01
 
2 Answers

Can you use a tripod with this camera?

Nov 14, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+3points
6out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3
If so, which kind?
2 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
It doesn't have a place to attach a tripod.
Dec 9, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, the COOLPIX S01 does not have a tripod socket. The S01 manual suggests using a bean bag or similar object to steady the camera but any steady surface would suffice.
Nov 15, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S01
 
2 Answers

Can you purchase lenses for this camera?

Dec 29, 2012 by
by
Catherine
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Catherine
Age: 18-24
Experience: Less than a month
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, fixed lens.

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it is a compact fixed lens camera.
Dec 29, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S01
 
2 Answers

close up focus when the green light on the focus area is blurry. How do I do close up?

Sep 9, 2013 by
by
Susan
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The green light is on but it is blurry for very close close up
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Susan
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The S01 will automatically switch to Close-Up Mode when it senses that its appropriate for the subject. The focus range for this mode is 5cm to infinity at "W" and 50cm to infinity at "T". If the focus indicator turns green but your pictures are still blurry, you may be experiencing motion blur. Motion blur will occur if the camera slows down the shutter speed to compensate for shooting without flash in low light. To resolve this you can try enabling the flash or steadying the camera by resting it on a stable surface.

Please see page 14 of the S01 manual for details on other situations that may impair the camera's ability to focus. A copy of the S01 manual can be downloaded from here:https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...

If you continue to have trouble please contact Nikon Support: http://support.nikonusa.com.
Sep 10, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sounds like you are too close to subject, minimum focus distance for S01 is 1'8''
Sep 9, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S01
 
2 Answers

How to download from Nikon S01 to Ipad Air

Feb 13, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I was successful with the powered hub to the Ipad, however I upgrated to the IpadAir and now that method will not work. I have tried 3 various hubs, and still get the device requires to much power.

Any suggestions?
9 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Not a lot of help, This is a NIKON product, I am shocked you don't have a solution to download to the most commonly used Tablet. Many people have given up a computer while traveling to use a tablet We have done this for the past 2 years. And we have been successful downloading from the S01 to the Ipad 2nd generation. Now a new one and it doesn't work. It also sounds like Nikon doesn't care there product wont download.
Feb 14, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Minnesota
Location : 
Minnesota
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Nikon cannot offer support or advice on third party products. You will need to get in contact with the manufactuer for support or compatibility information.
Feb 14, 2014 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S01
 
2 Answers

I cannot get my S01 to transfer or charge thru the USB port, what can I do?

Apr 20, 2014 by
by
DMMc
Galveston, IN 46932, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Have tried several other cables and computers but S01 is not recognized. Downloaded latest software, have reset all to factory, ( have not reformatted memory as I have pictures I want and need to get), but still not able to access for transfer or printing.
7 months ago
by
DMMc
Galveston, IN 46932, USA
Location : 
Galveston, IN 46932, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Are you using Windows operating system? Connect camera via USB, go to devices and printers on the control panel, if the SO1 is listed right click on the device symbol and select auto play. Hard to diagnosis without asking these questions.
Ifthe camera is not showing up as a listed device, I suggest calling Nikon service and support. In the US it is 800- NIKON US

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Have you downloaded the included View NX2 software?
Apr 20, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S01
 
1 answer

when does the nikon s01 arrives at usa stores?

Sep 14, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Once the product is announced it takes 30 to 45 days to be available at dealers.
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S01
 
1 answer

I know this camera has internal memory, but does it also have the ability to install a memory card?

Oct 7, 2012 by
by
New to Nikon...Maybe
Michigan
+9points
10out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
New to Nikon...Maybe
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No it doesn't. I looked at this camera today. I am going to purchase one for myself and one for my almost 12 year old daughter.
Oct 16, 2012 by
by
Ice
Chicago, il
Location : 
Chicago, il
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S01
 
1 answer

What comes with the Coolpix S01 camera?

Oct 14, 2012 by
by
jerrylite
Union, KY
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I noticed under accessories for the S01, there is a battery charger, usb cable, hand strap etc.
Do these items come with a new S01, or do you have to buy them separately?

JJ
2 years, 1 month ago
by
jerrylite
Union, KY
Location : 
Union, KY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes they are included. AN-CP19 StrapUC-E16 USB Cable EH-69P AC Adapter/Charger
Oct 14, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers