Loading

Your vision doesn’t cease at sunset

Imagine the beautiful imagery you can capture with a camera that provides incredible performance in low-light scenarios. Meet the COOLPIX P310: the serious photographer’s pocket companion when mobility is necessary and light is fleeting. The P310 will astound you with its incredible quality and versatility.
VR Image Stabilization icon Motion Detection icon ISO Sensitivity Up To 3200 icon Backside Illumination CMOS Sensor icon Clear Color Display icon Smart Portrait System icon Scene Auto Selector icon Subject Tracking icon Full HD (1080p) Movie icon
16.1
Megapixel
CMOS Sensor
4.2x
Wide-Angle Optical Zoom
NIKKOR Glass Lens
3.0"
Ultra-High-Resolution
(921,000-dot) LCD Monitor
Full HD
1080p Movies
with Stereo Sound
Bracket Top
They say a photographer is always framing his world, looking for angles, observing patterns, watching the light—waiting…”
Bracket Bottom
Nighttime photo of a corner building in New Orleans, Louisiana

Secrets from the shadows

Ultra-fast, f/1.8 lens for astounding low-light performance

The world after sunset is an evocative and mysterious place. Capture it with the P310’s high-performance 24–100mm Zoom-NIKKOR f/1.8 maximum aperture glass lens. Rely on optical VR image stabilization to minimize blur in both photos and movies. Ideal for evening drama, this camera frames memorable, moody views.
Bracket Top
We arrived in New Orleans late—just after midnight—and I was enthralled by the amazing shapes, textures and light. My P310’s f/1.8 aperture captured it all perfectly.”
Bracket Bottom

Flawless detail revealed

Exceptional Nikon-quality images

With stunning image quality and intuitive functionality, the P310 delivers incredible performance despite its pocketsize dimensions. Its 16.1 megapixel CMOS sensor masterfully manages high-resolution imagery. World-class NIKKOR glass optics and EXPEED C2 image processing combine to help photographers produce their exacting visions. Work in four different exposure modes: Programmed, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority or Manual.
Portrait of a costumed parade participant in New Orleans, Louisiana
Bracket Top
The city is alive with color. Around every corner, we encountered a treasure like this beautiful mask. Notice how each detail is sharp and crisp with accurate colors and tones.”
Bracket Bottom

Master the dark

The 16.1 MP CMOS sensor advantage

With the P310, you'll capture brilliant images and movies even under challenging low light conditions thanks to its 16.1 MP CMOS sensor. Confidently shoot even when at higher ISO settings. Access the P310’s powerful in-camera noise reduction feature and further enhance your images.
Bracket Top
Is she saying goodbye or waiting to say hello? The strong backlight and dramatic shadows produce an artful moment. There’s no way I could have created such stunning nighttime images without a CMOS sensor and the camera’s outstanding processing power.”
Bracket Bottom

Create cinematic masterpieces

Full HD (1080p) movies with stereo sound

At the touch of a button, the P310 captures Full HD (1080p) movies with stereo sound. For a creative look, shoot movies in either Slow- or Fast-Motion. Change the mood with built-in Special Effects and shoot in dreamy Nostalgic Sepia or Selective Color modes. Explore new ways to inspire the inner artist in you.
Wide-angle photo of a band of street musicians in New Orleans, Louisiana
Bracket Top
When we came upon these street musicians early one morning, I shot a series of great photos. But it was the Full HD movie clips with stereo sound that really captured the moment.”
Bracket Bottom

Lightning-fast image capture

High-speed shooting

Shooting fast action can be difficult. With the P310, capture that elusive subject with quick start-up and high speed continuous shooting at up to 5 shots in approximately one second.
Bracket Top
I was trying to frame the arch, but just as I was ready to snap the shot, a couple on a motor scooter appeared. I held down the shutter and fired off five quick shots; like every aspect of our trip, it was a happy surprise.”
Bracket Bottom
Nighttime Backlight HDR photo of storefronts on a New Orleans, Louisiana street
Enhance your creativity

Add a new feel of drama to your images. The P310 boasts a variety of quick creative options such as Backlight HDR and Easy Panorama as well as other creative effects.

Image of the COOLPIX P310's ultra-high-resolution 3.0-inch LCD monitor
Frame and share in brilliant clarity

Frame and share your shots on the P310’s large 3.0-inch LCD monitor; its ultra-high-resolution of 921,000 dots show every detail to precision.

Top photo of the COOLPIX P310's compact, intelligent design
Compact, intelligent design

Compact enough to fit in your pocket, P310 offers streamlined access to every feature and command needed for creating images in the dark.

Fast-action photo of a couple riding a motor scooter in New Orleans, Louisiana
Follow the action

With Subject Tracking, maintain focus on a moving object. Most useful when capturing subjects that are in constant motion.

{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-zoom").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:4,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}
COOLPIX P310 4.3 5 8 8
For the love of photography nikon why? ok this is a 2 part review Now for the first part the P310 does perform very well as long u stay in its strength zone and use manuel controles get outside of this the photos does suffer some but u can use the shutter speed to help with it . so what are its strength the I.S.O. setting set it ether at 100 ISO in daytime then at eveing and night time go to the auto setting of 100--400 or 100---800. leave it there then go to the shutter control's and set it to what ever u r trying to shoot i do recommend getting a tripod for this do to slow shutter speeds that u might be shotting at but it performs well i love this camera it makes a great street photography camera it is small very quite once u turn off the sounds the controles are perfect as for me i would not wont no built in wi-fi or gps in this camera i dont mind shooting jpeg ether why i say this? becuse they can use the extra room inside the camera for my next part the part 2 of this review this is where im getting on a soap box and rant please nikon i am not alone in this and its not me just saying this ether. ok like my title says For the love of photography nikon why? do u still a aspen size sensor i this camera and cram 16mp on top of it knowing it going to make noise at 800 iso and above ? are u doing this for market reason ? u need to stop it becuse u r only hurting yourslef it make no sense to me that the P-series "performance series" has 3 cameras in them 2 of them has the same sensor and processor as the rest of the coolpix cameras but u r willing to charge us a premium price for them? why dont u do what every outher milllon reviews for the P-510 and P310 says but the same thing inside these cameras as u do in the P7700 the meaty big postel stamp size sensor and processer as u do in the p7700 the P510-P310 compeate in a very tuff market area not only i believe it but every person does to that it be tied for 1st and win many awards if you are willling to do this one simple thing on the p310 the controls are perfect the size to me is perfect as for me i dont need gps or wi-fi built in to it instead of trying to shoe horn that into why dont u use that space for outher goodies like beefer processor and sensor mabey tone down the f/stops love the f-1.8 since it dont have a long zoom only 4.2x why dont u stop it at 2.8 ? i see len's that are long zoom that are f-2.8 why cant this camera have that ? i think it would make this camera the go to camera in this category picture it people THE P310 WITH 1/1.7 CMOS SENSOR 12MP WITH F-1.8--2.8 LENS WITH FULL MANUAL CONTROLS 4.3MM-17.9MM LENS REACH HOW CAN U GO WROUNG WITH THAT ???? OK NOW I WILL STOP let me leave you with this i do recommend u getting a class 10 card with a high write speed of 400x or greater to get the maxium performance out of this camera dont get me wroung with my rant i love the camera for what it for what it does as long u stay in its strength zone remember it has got a 1/2.3 sensor at 16mp like i said above if they dail that back to 12mp and put a 1/1.7 sensor in it i think it will perform 10x better November 25, 2012
Fine camera, clumsy, hard-to-use manual on a CD With my Nikon S600, I took its small, compact manual with me whenever I traveled. Even with my D5000 I can take the manual with me. Now this option does not exist. I will have to carry about lots of pages that I have printed. If a printed manual were available, even for a price, I'd buy it in a flash. I hope Nikon changes their policy of making the manual available only on a CD. April 6, 2012
This camera is a fail in the only criteria that matters. The Nikon P310 is about as non-intuitive as a camera can get. You are constantly scrolling through menus and playing with various settings to take a simple shot. It's almost as if the system is designed to make you just put the dial on AUTO and let the camera do all the work. But in the only area that counts, this camera is a massive FAIL!!!! Nikon has been known for it's picture quality since Moses first used a Nikon point & shoot during his racing career. He would not have liked the P310. I also have a five year old Canon A3000is that smokes the P310 in EVERY respect! The ten meg Canon images are sharper and far crisper than the sixteen meg Nikon P310. The P310 images are littered with artifacts, the autofocus is very slow and cumbersome and compared to my Canon, the P310 is a royal pain to operate! I wish I had the camera that everyone else here has, because MY P310 is is not nearly as wonderful as the others that have been reviewed here. June 14, 2013
Page:2
<<prev
43 Questions | 49 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
43 Questions | 49 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P310
 
2 Answers

What is the exact difference between P300 & P310?

Mar 15, 2012 by
by
Madhan
India
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Madhan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 25-34
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
It appears that the only differences are the P310 has a 16 megapixel imager that can operate as low as 100 ISO compared to the P300 that has a 12 megapixel imager and can only go down to 160 ISO. They have the same image processor.
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
TJ22
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-3points
3out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful6
Answer: 
You can use the comparison tool in our website in order to compare the specifications of both cameras side by side to see the improvements made to the newer model.
Mar 15, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P310
 
2 Answers

Coolpix P310

Apr 12, 2012 by
by
Ken
Antigua West Indies
Has staff answer
-3points
0out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
when you say that this camera saves in Jpeg format, is this high res jpeg 300 dpi, or regular 72 dpi jpeg, or both? and at what frame size? I'm a pro and I guess what i am asking is, will this shoot 300 dpi jpeg, and be good as a grab shot camera? i have the old lumix 10 meg, (last of the raw point and shoot0 and want to trade up to a 16 meg...............
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Ken
Antigua West Indies
Location : 
Antigua West Indies
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you want raw take a look at the Nikon p7100.
Apr 13, 2012 by
by
JoeR

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P310
 
2 Answers

Does the p310 have an orientation sensor

Jun 7, 2012 by
by
JustAnotherPhotographer
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
None of the pictures I take veritically appear to contain the correct orientation information?! I don't really want to do this step manually in or outside of the camera.

And what other cameras might behave the same way?
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
JustAnotherPhotographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It seems the answer is no. A camera in this price range should really have this feature!
Jun 8, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please give us a call:
Nikon Technical Support
8AM - 2AM (Eastern) 7 days a week
1-800-Nikon-US (1-800-645-6687)
Jun 7, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P310
 
2 Answers

When will P310 in white colored body be available in usa?

Sep 2, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
As far as I can see, there is no indication this camera was or is ever made in any color but black..
If you think it will be available in white, I would contact, "Service and Support" in the above main menu bar...
Sep 3, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The COOLPIX P310 is only available in black for the USA.
Sep 3, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX P310
 
2 Answers

How can I burn my NMF movie files to DVD

Nov 7, 2012 by
by
Dick
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I can't find any software that recognizes the NMF file.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Dick
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
When you are using the Movie Editor in View NX2 your movie project is saved as an NMF file. This is a project file that you can then reopen and continue the editing process. Once you are done editing go to File>Create Movie or click the Create Movie icon in order to export and save your project as an MOV file and burn it to a DVD.
Nov 13, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Video files are .mov files. You can use Apple Quicktime they have a version for windows .
Nov 7, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P310
 
2 Answers

CoolPix P310 shuts off after a certain period of time when doing time lapse ??

Nov 25, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Stoughton, WI.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Followed Joe R's advice and purchased an adapter for the P310 so I can do long term time lapse sequences. Now after a couple of "experiments" I observe that the P310 seems to shut off for some reason I have not yet found. First time I suspect that the camera shut down when the last light in the room went off. This makes sense..but if it shuts down then I need it to start back up the next morning when favorable light conditions return. Second time was mid-afternoon with good light - so no clue for cause of that shut down.

The idea is that this thing runs for days on end round the clock without daily resetting etc. Is there a setting(s) I need to check to make sure this camera stays on for long duration time lapse????

help!!
Jeff
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Anonymous
Stoughton, WI.
Location : 
Stoughton, WI.
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just read your camera's manual and here is what it says:The maximum amount of frames that can be taken during interval timer shooting differs according to the selected interval.-30 s: 600 images-1 min: 300 images-5 min: 60 images-10 min: 30 images
So at 5 minute intervals you can take 60 images that's 300 minutes or 5 hours before he camera shuts down and you have to reset it.
Nov 25, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Camera must take one picture in less than 30 minutes or camera will go into standby mode and there is no way of changing the setting.
Nov 25, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P310
 
1 answer

When is this product going to be available?

Feb 14, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
The new COOLPIX P310 was release a few weeks back and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days after release date. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Feb 14, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P310
 
1 answer

Whats the difference of the P310 and S9300? Just the zoom? Wich one is better?

Feb 14, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The COOLPIX S9300 has pre-set settings. You can use one of the scene modes settings to see which one will work for the type of photography you’re looking for. You can find these options also in the COOLPIX P310, but you can also control the settings by choosing Program, Aperture or Shutter priority or Manual Mode. You can use the comparison tool in our website in order to compare the specifications of both cameras side by side to see which one will fits your needs within your price range.
Feb 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P310
 
1 answer

Can this camera capture youth basketball play

Feb 27, 2012 by
by
Sports Shots
Charleston, SC, USA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Sports Shots
Charleston, SC, USA
Location : 
Charleston, SC, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
With the P310, capture that allusive subject with quick start-up and high speed continuous shooting at up to 5 shots in approximately one second.
Feb 29, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P310
 
1 answer

Is P3100 compatible with the FSB-8 digiscoping bracket?

Feb 29, 2012 by
by
birdwatcher
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
birdwatcher
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it is compatible with the COOLPIX P310.
Mar 16, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers