Loading

A camera to go everywhere

Families now have a camera to take wherever they go. Waterproof and shockproof, the COOLPIX S30 is ideal for everything from poolside fun to playground action. A 10.1 MP sensor produces top quality images, ideal for printing and sharing. The 3x wide-angle lens frames clear memories of all the important people and moments in your life.
VR Image Stabilization icon Motion Detection icon Rugged Reliability icon HD (1080p) Movie icon Smart Portrait System icon Scene Auto Selector icon Subject Tracking icon ISO Sensitivity Up To 1600 icon
10.1
Megapixel
CCD Sensor
3x
Wide-Angle Optical Zoom
NIKKOR glass lens
2.7"
Big, Bright
LCD Monitor
HD
720p Movies
with Sound
An underwater photo taken with the COOLPIX S30.

Ready for action

Waterproof, shockproof**

Drop it, toss it, throw it in the pool. The S30 survives and lives to take the photo! Go underwater to create photos and movies at depths down to about 9.8 feet (3 meters). It’s also shockproof to withstand drops of up to about 2.6 feet.

Super simple to use

Easier than riding a bike!

Get super simple camera operation with the S30. You’ll love the oversized buttons designed to make it easy to create photos and movies. And an easy-to-understand menu makes photography a breeze.
A photo of a parent and child hiding beneath a brightly colored umbrella during a rainy day in a flower garden taken with the COOLPIX S30.
Back view of the COOLPIX S30 showing Selective Color, an in-camera Special Effect.

Fun for all

Creative touches that inspire

Have fun personalizing the photos you take. There are a number of creative options such as Selective Color that will inspire your creativity. The best part, immediately see how the chosen effect alters an image! View it all on the large and sharp 2.7-inch LCD monitor.

Movie making made easy

HD (720p) movies with sound

A simple press of the movie record button and cue the action. You will love playing director and recording the action! Touch a button and start recording. Memorable moments are saved in HD (720p). Show the family what you just filmed by viewing on the 2.7-inch LCD monitor, or save for later and gather around to watch on an HDTV or computer. Best yet, upload to the Web to share.
Still image from an HD (720p) movie taken with the COOLPIX S30.
Image of the COOLPIX S30 hooked up to an HDTV via the camera's built-in HDMI port.

Share the magic

In-camera slideshows with music

Instantly review and laugh over the pictures and movies of the day with the easy slideshow mode. Select playback effects and built-in music to accompany your show—fun to share with friends and family. Connects easily to a TV (optional EG-CP14 audio video cable required). Share the sights and sounds of your adventure.
Portrait of a mother and child taken with the COOLPIX S30.
Portraits made easy!

When your subject smiles the camera automatically takes the shot…easy!

An example of a photo taken with and without optical VR Image Stabilization.
Images are sharp and clear

Electronic VR Image Stabilization minimizes the effects of camera shake for sharper, clearer images.

Close-up (Macro) photo of rubber ducks taken with the COOLPIX S30.
Make close-up magic

With the S30 get as close as 2 inches from your subject for a new close-up view of your world.

Portrait of two children playing on a bed taken with the COOLPIX S30.
Just aim and shoot

Use Easy Auto mode for the times when you simply wish to enjoy the moment. Relax and let the camera do all the work. Just turn on the camera and press the shutter!

{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-zoom").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:4,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}
{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){ (function(c){var d={container:".container",before:".before",after:".after",control:".control",width:435,height:329,granularity:1E3};c.fn.revealer=function(e){var a=c.extend({},d,e);return this.each(function(){var b=c(this),d=b.find(a.container),e=b.find(a.before),f=b.find(a.after),b=b.find(a.control);d.css({width:a.width,height:a.height});e.css({position:"relative","z-index":1});f.css({position:"relative",width:0,height:a.height,top:-a.height,overflow:"hidden","z-index":2});b.css("width",a.width);b.slider({range:"min",min:1,max:a.granularity,value:0,slide:function(b,c){f.css("width",a.width*(c.value/a.granularity))}})})}})(nikon); nikon('#reveal').revealer(); }) %}
COOLPIX S30 2.6 5 36 36
minha ciilpix s30 rosa . minha analise Amooo a coolpixs30 tenho 1 rosa e ameií mesmo sempre uso e me divirto December 11, 2013
De facil uso e increible resolucion en fotos-videos bajo el agua. Me compre la Nikon s30 para probar una camara sumergible, con el paso del tiempo tenia pensado comprarme una mas cara que seria de mejor calidad, pero no esta camara me gusto tanto que prefiero no cambiarla. Tampoco se crean que es una camara para hacer increibles videos de submarinismo... pero para padres con hij@s... es perfecta. July 5, 2013
Excelente! Esta máquina é perfeita para amantes de praias e praticantes de esportes náuticos! May 10, 2012
Not a bad camera for the price I do property inspections and take over 500 pictures a day. Eats up a lot of batteries. I have to carry at least 6 extra rechargeable batteries. My Nikon Coolpix S3500 uses one battery to do the same job. Sometimes I have to imprint the date/time on the pictures. Not with this camera. You set the date and time and you can only print the date on the pictures. Hence, the S3500. I now only use this camera for a backup. April 16, 2013
so far so good I got this 2 days ago and Takes pretty good photos and video though it's not the best quality but for what it is it's great. I mainly got this cam for when i go fishing things get rough when taking fish photos and videos so i am hoping this will be a good cam.. One thing i am worried about is the clear lense cover how strong it is will it crack or scratch easy ..what is it made from? One bad thing i noticed is when shooting video when you press record the cameras LCD blacks out and then turns on and has a delay and makes you miss the first part of what you are tried recording the video of ... it's not instant recording... December 13, 2012
great underwater camera! Was going to Hawaii, husband thought it was silly to buy a camera for a limited use...almost 16GB of pictures later...it was AMAZING! Took great underwater pics, great above water pics! Not great in really low light. Amazing sunset pics! LOVE the add a verbal message feature! (Have you ever been to several similar places and can't remember which was which? Problem solved!) Only issue-be patient. Takes a second to turn on, takes a second to start recording messages, and a second to begin recording, but once you understand that, it is a really good camera. Love that it takes AA batteries-much better than trying to find an electrical plug to charge the battery while on the beach snorkeling, or hiking in the rainforest. Speaking of that-yes, you can take pictures in the rain! One more great feature-the battery compartment has a double close on it, to keep the batteries in place and water tight. Love that is has one button to record and another to take stills. Made a huge difference when snorkeling-very easy to do one then the other. June 4, 2012
Perfecta para los niños quería una cámara que pudiera darle en las manos a mis hijos y así compartir la fotografía, está es una buena cámara para eso. April 9, 2012
Great, but the flash is rather mischievous Good camera, takes good pictures, great to take around the pool and the beach, has good features, etc. etc. That's all during the day. Why did I only give this three starts? THE ONLY DOWNFALL IS THE FLASH. When I try to take photos during the evening at parties and the like, the flash is temperamental! It doesn't come on very frequently (with 'auto-flash' set to on. The only other option is 'off', there is no 'always flash' option). Sometimes you can get it to go off after playing around with the settings some more and covering the flash sensor (which produces low quality images anyway) but then even after such drastic measures sometimes it doesn't go off anyway...plus having to mess around in settings all the time is a burden. January 26, 2013
shockproof--no had my nikon s30 for one month--used it (good pix, easy to use, except the battery /memory card cover is clumsey to use) and did not abuse it. shutter stopped working after 1 month--Nice though, Nikon replaced it with a new one. October 26, 2012
Flemsy battery door. A good camera for the price, but the battery door is really fragile. We are being very careful each time we open it but I feel like it is one of those "made to be broken" thing. November 27, 2013
COOLPIX S30 is great but cannot be used to copy magazines or books. The COOLPIX S30 is a great camera for normal photos. But it has one serious defect. I take many pictures of books, so that I can read them when I need a reference or data. The problem is that I cannot look at a photo and view all the parts of the photo when I zoom in. This is a serious defect. Now I am sorry I purchased the S30. I also have a KODAK camera. It works slower than the S30. But the KODAK allows me to view photos and zoom in to all areas of the photo. July 28, 2012
Not happy with camera. cheap made. I loved this at first, then after changing the batteries and taking out my card to get my pictures the yellow thing is not closing right, the batteries keep popping back out.. They need to make one like this but better made with chargable battery.... September 27, 2012
Okay for kids, and that's about it. While shopping for a camera my four year old could use so she wasn't constantly taking my SLR, we came across the typical pink "Hello Kitty" and the like cameras for <$50. I thought I would get her what I figured was a much better camera that would last longer. I liked the video feature and that it was water drop proof. And that's about all I like about this camera. Outdoor pictures are okay... don't let 10 megapixels fool you. My old Canon G3 at 4MP has better quality images. Indoor pictures are a hit or miss. The flash is unpredictable. Video quality is not bad, but the problem with it is the constant beeping that's recorded in. I have no idea where it's coming from, but every video has it. And the microphone is awful. You can barely hear anything on videos. Underwater video and pictures are better than I expected. The menus are rather worthless, most of them being things which you can do in Picasa. The borders etc. are thing nobody ever uses on pictures. Finally, the camera is too slippery. It is difficult to hold because there is no texturing on any of it except a 1/2 inch diameter in a useless spot. May 28, 2012
not impressed usually love nikon cameras got this one for the underwater feature the flash is terrible as you cant turn on force flash and it is very unpredictable May 19, 2012
Disappointed, blurry pictures My 10 year old bought this with her own money to take on our vacation to Costa Rica, It takes fine pictures and video outside in the sun. However, the camera underperforms inside or in places with shadows. The flash is unpredictable and you can't override it and turn it on. I typically love Nikon cameras (I still use my D80) and I am very disappointed in this model. April 22, 2012
Rough camera, Good Pics but: FORCE FLASH MISSING The camera has very good optics and takes great pictures. But when light conditions are low, the flash doesn't work. There should be an option to force the flash on. Please put an extra option on the flash options: FLASH ON and not just AUTO & OFF Upgrade firmware needed January 2, 2013
It is horrible!I had nothing but trouble since i had.I would not recommond it. June 28, 2013
GARBAGE !!! LOST MY PURCHASE RECIEPT SO MY WARRANTY IS WORTHLESS. THIS IS MY SECOND COOLPIX. FIRST ONE SCREEN WENT BAD AFTER 2 YEARS, WELL GOT 2 YEARS NOT BAD! THIS UNDERWATER ONE DIDN'T LAST 2 MINUTES UNDERWATER. DON'T BUY IT AND IF YOU HAVE ONE "DO NOT" TAKE UNDERWATER. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER COOLPIX AGAIN GARBAGE!!!!!!! May 19, 2013
Flash doesn't work Really disappointed with this camera. I bought it for my six year old to use but when shooting indoors the images are always blurred. The flash can be set to 'Auto' or 'Off' but when on Auto there is no logic as to whether it decides to fire the flash or not. Most times it doesn't fire the flash, even with 1/4 o 1/2 second exposures so the results are obviously terrible. I sent the camera back under guarantee and they said they replaced some contacts and flash sync but it's behaving exactly as it was before. No good at all Nikon. I imagine this is a firmware problem rather than hardware but I don't think there is anyway of updating firmware on this camera so unless Nikon offer a recall I can't see much hope of the problem being solved. There is a way to 'force' the flash a little more but it's a bit of a pain and certainly no use for a six year old: First set your shooting style to 'Close-up (this will actually switch off the flash) then set your flash mode to 'auto'. Now the flash will fire much more willingly. The problem is that when you switch the camera off and then on again it will remain in 'close-up' mode but will switch the flash back to 'off' so you'll need to go back into the menu every time to set the flash back to 'auto'. Child's play, no?! So if you're hoping to use this as a point and shoot in any situation I suggest DO NOT BUY this camera. May 6, 2013
Second time using Warranty, I will try to get back it's price... :/ I bought it before going on a big holiday for 3 weeks... it turned out that it's lens was bad by factory so all the 2000+ picture was blurry, especially in the corners. I was very sad. :( The warranty replaced my camera, now I cannot download the pictures... No way to stick to this camera after all. Useless!! I attached a sample picture. Most of the picture was blurry, and with very faint colors. (it's taken at ISO 80, 1/60s, F3.3) All the 2000+ picture was the same. :( February 18, 2013
Flash is horrible! You can only turn the flash on auto-flash or off. No in between. The other reviews about blurry, overexposed and poor photos are all spot on. Terrible camera. So sad I lost my kodak. I will be returning this one for a kodak again. December 30, 2012
VERY DISAPPOINTED When I got pregnant I begged my husband for a Nikon camera, because I knew I would be taking a ton of pictures of the baby.. I am rough with my electronics so I chose this shock proof camera, and waterproof just because it seemed like a cool feature. The pictures all come out blurry and the lighting is horrible. I thought that maybe it was just me, despite having experience with cameras. I came to the site to maybe pick up some tips on the camera and saw a ton of complaints similar to what I was experiencing.. I would love to trade this out for a new camera. As for right now, I am taking better pictures with my Droid.. Horrible model! December 5, 2012
Awful experience Got this camera for our vacation to Cancun . We went to a few water parks and tough this will be the ideal camera to take great pic at the under grown river and sea trek WRONG !!!! The camera just DID NOT work during the whole river ride. The pics are not clear and the battery door is just a nightmare to open .Flash works whenever it wants to . pics are blurry . Sad to know that we are stuck w this camera . We have another trip coming but my husband already got another waterproof camera November 22, 2012
Unpredictable flash Very difficult to get a non blurry picture of my 4 year old and the flash hardly ever works when you need it. I am going to trash this camera for the fact that I cannot get it to flash when I really need it. There is no option to turn the flash to always on, only options are auto and off. Very frustrating. Oh and the battery door is difficult to get closed. November 19, 2012
worst camera ever. Changed the first time becouse the white balance was very poor. After 2 months the sensor is gone and now I can only take completely black pictures and videos. Not reccommended. Money wasted. August 21, 2012
Failed underwater during first use I managed to get about 10 shots from the camera the first time it was used in the water. After that, water entered the camera and it was destroyed. I followed usage instructions according to Nikon. June 5, 2012
NOT WATERPROOF I bought this Camera, since it claimed that it is waterproof, It is not Waterproof!! Use it one time and it got wet and it does not even work after I dried it out, like the manual says to do! I will think twice about buying a other Nikon product!! June 1, 2012
Very disappointed! I thought I was buying the best...but I cannot get a good picture from this camera. Thought it was because I had not read the manual in detail, so I did. Still cannot get clear, crisp pics. And, I have lost the charger, and cannot buy a replacement at a store- must order one, I am told. Battery life is relatively short too. May 27, 2012
Not the camera for us After doing lots of comparing on the Nikon site, I decided to get the Coolpix S30 for my daughter. She will be travelling this summer to Australia, New Zealand, and Seattle. I wanted her to have a camera that she could take great pictures with and I liked the water proof feature. I found that the camera actually takes horrible pictures! Having a Nikon D70, I am camera savvy enough to go through the menu and settings, but no matter what we did the pictures did not turn out well. They were blurry, dark, over exposed, and not one good photo was taken. I think one of the main reasons is the camera does not respond quickly enough when pushing the button. I was also not impressed with the zoom - at full zoom the camera still could not focus and provide a sharp picture. I am in the process of requesting a RMA which I had no idea you only had 10 days from time of receiving the camera to aquire. Warning to all future customers, be sure you check out your camera quickly so you don't get stuck with a bad camera. We will get a different NIkkon as I am a big fan of my SLR camera. May 1, 2012
Huge disappointment!! I bought this camera as a last minute purchase the day before leaving for our family vacation. I knew we would be spending a lot of time around water, and I thought having a waterproof camera would be great. Wrong! This camera started to malfunction shortly after taking some pictures while we were swimming in the ocean. It started when the camera lens and LCD screen fogged up. The camera was not used in deep water, nor dropped or abused in anyway. It was dried off after we used it, and put back in a camera bag. Later in our room I thought maybe the batteries were dying, so I replaced them. The camera worked for another short period of time; used out of water, but would not scroll through my pictures when I tried. A couple of the option buttons also stopped working such as the delete button, and the button for selecting the underwater option. Eventually on about the third day of our vacation it quit working entirely! When I examined the camera, I could see that water had actually seeped into in, and was floating around inside the LCD viewing screen. Never at any time had the camera been opened while it was wet, or in or around water. I was so upset as this was the only camera I'd taken with me. Needless to say, I missed out on many, many photos of our vacation, especially ones of our first time snorkeling. Such a disappointment. As we were vacationing with extended family members, I was able to copy some of their photos (none of which were taken underwater) , but it does not make up for not being able to take my own photos. Thankfully I had removed my memory card as soon as I realized the camera had leaked, so was able to salvage the few pictures I had taken. When I got home I returned the camera to the store where it was purchased; luckily they gave me a full refund. I did not even consider returning it to Nikon for repair. Not after such a disappointing performance. All I wanted was to be rid of it. I may consider purchasing another waterproof camera, but I doubt it will be made by Nikon. And I will be doing my research first to see customer reviews on the product. March 30, 2013
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
36 Questions | 47 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
36 Questions | 47 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX S30
 
3 Answers

Flash

Jun 21, 2012 by
by
Anonymus
Serbia
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
How do i turn on flash?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymus
Serbia
Location : 
Serbia
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately, the flash cannot be forced on. To make matters worse, the implemented auto flash algorithm is seriously flawed. Even in very dark rooms, the flash will typically not fire. I'm not sure what kind of light sensor the camera uses, but I suspect it picks up on infrared or ultraviolet, cause it sure ain't visible light. (see attached picture from under my desk (low light), took a series of 6, all looked like this except 1 where the flash accidentally(?) fired.)
The flash is at best unpredictable, but in my experience useless. What a shame, this could have been a good camera, but bad software got in the way.
My advice, stay clear until a version with manual flash control is available.
(To Nikon SW developers: it can't be that hard to implement?
To Nikon product development testers: How did this one slip through?)
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2013 by
by
Andreas
Norway
Location : 
Norway
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Usually in the menu, or a button outside will allow...off, red eye, auto, on...for the flash, look for a lightning bolt symbol...should also tell you in the manual for the camera.

Here are specs for flash on this camera, found in "tech specs", below picture of camera on this site...

Built-in flash Range (approx.) (ISO sensitivity: Auto) [W]: 0.3 to 3.5m (1ft. to 11ft.)
[T]: 0.5 to 2.0m (1ft 8 in. to 6 ft 7 in.)

Built-in Flash Control TTL auto flash with monitor preflashes

Hope this helps...
Jun 23, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Press any one of the flexible buttons on the left rear of the camera, then press the down arrow on the muti selector on the right side of camera. Push the top flexible button (should say flash mode) then pusn the flexible button next to auto flash.
Jun 21, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S30
 
2 Answers

how good can it take pictures underwater

Feb 23, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It took some great photos during a cloudy day in Aruba at Palm Island
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
May 23, 2014 by
by
smitz327
Marion, IL, USA
Location : 
Marion, IL, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Feb 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S30
 
2 Answers

It is not rustproof, so with the open lens when you zoom, does sand get into it and ruin it?

Apr 20, 2012 by
by
MichS
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am looking for a camera that i can take to the beach with 100% no worries! Thank you :)
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
MichS
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would suggest contacting "Support" here in this section...
Jun 23, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
The lens on the COOLPIX S30 won't extend while you zoom in or out.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S30
 
2 Answers

what is the difference in the three memory cards?

May 2, 2012 by
by
Ray
Maryland
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Ray
Maryland
Location : 
Maryland
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Best to contact the manufacturer of the cards...Lexar, SanDisk, Kingston, etc...
Jun 23, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is not enough information to answer specifically, in page# 14 in the user's manua for the COOLPIX S30, there is a list of approved memory cards.
May 2, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S30
 
2 Answers

Battery

May 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
0points
4out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful4
Is there a rechargeable battery, or does it run on batteries like AA or AAA?
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It uses 2 AA batteries. Look at the tech specs for the camera.
May 19, 2012 by
by
Buster
South Oregon coast
Location : 
South Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
It runs on AA batteries.
May 17, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S30
 
2 Answers

How many pictures can be taken on one battery life.

Jun 11, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Favorite Subject: Travel
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Power Sources 2 AA-size batteries

Battery / Batteries
AA (Alkaline, NiMH, Oxyride or Lithium)

Battery Life (shots per charge)
AA Alkaline: 240 shots
AA Lithium: 700 shots
EN-MH2: 410 shots
*Based on Camera and Imaging Products Association (CIPA) standards for measuring the life of camera batteries. Measured at 23(-/+2)°C (73(-/+4)°F); zoom adjusted with each shot, flash fired with every other shot, image quality set to Normal, image size set to 3648 x 2736 (10M). Battery life may vary depending on shooting interval and length of time menus and images are displayed.
Jun 23, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
AA Alkaline: 240 shots
AA Lithium: 700 shots
EN-MH2: 410 shots
Jun 11, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S30
 
2 Answers

Can it use rechargable AA batteries? The Coolpix S30

Jun 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Power Sources
2 AA-size batteries

Battery / Batteries AA (Alkaline, NiMH, Oxyride or Lithium)

Battery Life (shots per charge)
AA Alkaline: 240 shots
AA Lithium: 700 shots
EN-MH2: 410 shots
*Based on Camera and Imaging Products Association (CIPA) standards for measuring the life of camera batteries. Measured at 23(-/+2)°C (73(-/+4)°F); zoom adjusted with each shot, flash fired with every other shot, image quality set to Normal, image size set to 3648 x 2736 (10M). Battery life may vary depending on shooting interval and length of time menus and images are displayed.
Jun 23, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 22, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S30
 
2 Answers

How many seconds to get from full-off to first picture?

Jun 23, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Cnet review says 3.8 seconds startup and 3.3 seconds between pictures.
Jun 23, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would suggest asking "Support" for this spec, it doesnt say in the "Tech Specs" about the startup time...
I would imagine with newer point and shoots it’s not very long...
Jun 23, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S30
 
2 Answers

Photo siza

Feb 21, 2013 by
by
Hionni
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I can't get the photo size to a higher resolution. When I go to that section of the menu, it will only let me choose the smallest (2mb) size; the other choices are greyed out. We want better-quality photos so would like the largest setting! Thx
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Hionni
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
When shooting with decorate/Frame around your image, the image resolution is fixed at 2 megapixel and cannot be change. Large(10megapixels) and Medium(4megapixel) will be greyed out.
This information is on page 35 of your user manual.
Feb 22, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Are you using a memory card?
Feb 22, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S30
 
2 Answers

Photo resolution - can I reduce size?

Feb 28, 2013 by
by
pf flyer
San Jose, ca
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
We use the camera for house component photos and put them in reports. Great camera for this use but the resolution is to large (about 500k) even on the 2-megapixel setting. We need about 100-150k photos to keep from getting to large of a report data size.

The camera is a standout because the lens is behind a sealed glass cover and not prone to dust damage.

Anyway to reduce resolution below 2-megapixel?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
pf flyer
San Jose, ca
Location : 
San Jose, ca
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your other choice is to do it post processing in View NX2. You can resize to any size you want.
Feb 28, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can create a small picture, compression goes to 1:16. Enter playback >flexible button 2>press triangle image>flexible button 4 (small picture)symbol is a small pic inside a large pic press the multi selector to select image size then press flex button 4 (OK)
Feb 28, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers