Loading

Photos that tell it all

Nothing tells a story like a photo! The COOLPIX S4300 is the right choice to catch every moment. Whether hanging out at the mall or posing with friends before you hit the prom, keep your family and friends in the loop. With its high-resolution 16.0 megapixel CCD sensor, create photos for memorable prints or to place on a team t-shirt. Zoom in for a smile, zoom out for a touchdown. Optical VR Image Stabilization makes your shots clear and sharp. And the one-touch movie record button makes for quick and easy HD (720p) movies.
VR Image Stabilization icon Motion Detection icon ISO Sensitivity Up To 3200 icon Touch Screen icon Clear Color Display icon Smart Portrait System icon Scene Auto Selector icon Subject Tracking icon HD (720p) Movie icon
16.0
Megapixel
CCD Sensor
6x
Wide-Angle Optical Zoom
NIKKOR Glass Lens
3.0"
High-Resolution
LCD Touch Screen
HD
720p Movies
with Sound
  • 1x
  • |
  • 6x

Catch candid moments

6x optical Zoom-NIKKOR glass lens

Just when they thought no one was looking…fire off a couple shots and catch your friends when they least expect it. The 6x zoom and fast autofocus make it happen. The S4300 has a wide-angle 6x optical Zoom-NIKKOR (26mm–156mm) glass lens, plus optical VR Image Stabilization to prevent your shots from coming out blurry.

Look at that!

High-resolution 3.0-inch touch screen

Keep in touch—both socially and with your camera. An intuitive graphic interface makes this one of the easiest cameras to use. The S4300 lets you navigate settings and camera modes, add effects and view photos and movies with fingertip operation. The clear and bright 3.0-inch LCD touch screen lets every one of your stills and movies come alive with 460,000-dot detail.
Back view of the COOLPIX S4300 demonstrating its high-resolution 3-inch touch screen.
Still image from an HD (720p) movie shot with the COOLPIX S4300.

Quick and easy HD movies

HD (720p) movies at the touch of a button

Just touch a button and start recording movies. Memorable moments are preserved in high quality HD (720p) video with sound. Show friends the shots you got right away on the S4300’s the large 3.0-inch LCD touch screen or view your movies and photos on your HDTV or computer. Better yet, upload to the web and share with anyone.
{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function(){var b=nikon("#si-overview-slider-container-zoom").css({width:"435px",height:"326px"}),a=function(a,c){b.css("background-position","-"+435*c.value+"px 0")};b.next().slider({range:"min",value:0,min:0,max:2,animate:"fast",step:1,slide:a,change:a})}) %}
COOLPIX S4300 3.8 5 37 37
Love this camera! I love this camera! All you need to do is point and shoot. Several other cameras that I've owned take several seconds to actually take a picture and a lot of times the scene you wanted to take was gone. With the Coolpix you just point and click and you have a great picture. I haven't messed with a lot of the features but the zoom in and out is right at your fingertip where you take the picture, so it's very convenient. I would recommend this camera to anyone that wants good quality pictures without all the fancy, hard to use features. October 4, 2012
Super Camera This camera is everything I was looking for and then some. The pictures are clear and bright. It eliminates sun glare from the pictures and there is no haze, which was the problem with my former camera from a different company. I would definitely recommend buying this camera. August 25, 2012
Love it! So many features! so far so good. needed a new small camera for my purse for my graduation b/c our old one couldn't keep a charge--did not want to risk not having it for the ceremony. Hubby has bought the cheaper one for his office and decided to spend the extra $ for this one. Has some many features my prof Canon doesn't even have the features this one has. haven't printed anything yet BUT the pic on the screen is awesome. Like the touch screen. What I don't like so far is how sensitive it is. While remaining on, while holding it it kept taking pics. Also, depending where you left off while viewing pics, when you take a new pic that's where the pic will be stored, doesn't automatically go to the end of the "roll", so when going back to look at pics it looks like I didn't take it so I have to scroll thru to find it--little frustrating. also, wish it had a function/button that you could hit to set it back to auto default. hubby keeps putting it on panorama while playing so when I take a pic it is in that mode, and I lose the pic b/c I can't change it back fast enough. otherwise, love it so far! June 21, 2012
Good photos, small size, & great price! This camera is very affordable and easy to use. The pictures aren't as sharp as I expected, but are still clear. The touch screen is very responsive, and the overall design is attractive, sleek, and modern. If you're just a casual photographer and not looking for an expensive camera, I would suggest this! June 17, 2012
What a joy to use! I really enjoy using this camera. It's easy to use and takes great pics. My only complaint is the video/record button is too easy to bump when taking pics. June 6, 2012
AWESOME CAMERA I HAVE HAD A FUJI CAMERA AND A CASIO CAMERA AND THIS CAMERA PUTS THEM TO SHANE , THE QUAILTY OF THE PICTURE IS A LOTS CLEARER THEN THE OTHER CAMERA. I LOVE MY NEW NIKON COOLPIX CAMERA. ITS AMAZING. WOULDN'T HAVE ANOTHER BRAND CAMERA AGAIN. THANKS BONITA May 30, 2012
Awesome Camera for the Price!!! i loved this camera!!! it works very good in low light, it takes very good portraits and i haven't tried anything else with it but i'm going to shoot some pics out by the lake and see how it does for landscape and nature shots!!! even though i would rather have a d-5100 this one works very well for a compact camera for its price!!!!! May 22, 2012
Excellent camera for dummies I have fought buying a digital camera for years. My son had one and it was so difficult to operate. I researched digtal cameras and came across this one. It is sooooo easy to use and takes excellent pictures. I have taken many already and the closeups are awesome. the video feature is great too! May 21, 2012
Great camera! I recently bought a Nikon s4300 at Target where i got the package, and I LOVE IT! Its very easy to use and takes amazing pictures even though it isnt a big chunky camera. It's great for those who want to take great pictures without paying 1000$+ for a camera! May 7, 2012
Super Pocket Camera Purchased this Camera on sale, to replace my S5100, it developed a screen problem. Larger Sensor, great touch screen, excellent zoom. I know this will replace my favourite Pocket Camera. May 8, 2013
Me encantó Tengo poco tiempo con ella 3 semanas aproximadamente pero estoy encantada con ella, tiene muchas funciones como si fuera una camara profesional, ademas que su manejo es muy sencillo y el precio tambien me encantó. toma fotografias con una nitidez increible!!!! estoy facinada con mi nikon y la super recomiendo. August 7, 2012
Excelente! :D Me gusto mucho tiene una muy buena calidad, la compre reciente y toma las fotos muy bien July 9, 2012
Buena camara Yo acabo de comprar esta camara y estoy muy agusto, la calidad es muy buen de acuerdo al costo beneficio, el touch funciona con los dedos bastante bien, yo si la recomiendo 100% June 18, 2012
I like the touch screen feature. Good screen layout design along with ease of operation. August 18, 2013
Easy for teenagers to use. This camera is so uncomplicated that I let my teenager use it to record his songs while he is singing. The only downside is that after 10 months of use my battery ran out and I had to buy a new one. May 17, 2013
Great camera! I bought this camera so I will be able to take video's and put them onto youtube, and still be able to take pictures. I didn'y want to spend about $200 for a camcorder but I don't think this camera has a pause button. If it does I can't seem to find it. November 17, 2012
Love the camera and it came with it's own case, but it only lasted 1 month and had to be replaced. I originally bought this camera on 5/11/12 and it worked great at first, but the night of 6/8/12, it stopped working and wouldn't turn on. I tried charging it, but that didn't work either. I took it back to Staples and they replaced it for me on 6/16/12. So far, no problems and then I did buy the warranty for 2yrs. I am hoping there will be no more problems with it, as I really do love the camera. June 20, 2012
Cãmera com problema. (Não liga). Comprei a câmera fazem 8 meses, tem excelente qualidade de imagem e vídeo. Como sugestão solicito um software para melhorar o tempo entre uma foto e outra, pois a minha demora muito. Já enviei a minha para assistência técnica na semana passada, pois não liga mais, estou aguardando retorno. September 4, 2013
A camera é maravilhosa, mais estou trsite por este fato Eu tenho ela ja faz 7 meses nunca me deu problema algum não uso com tanta frequencia mais agora com a minha gravidez e com meu bebe perto de nascer ela deu problema simplismente não liga mais e não quer mais ligar. vou esperar para levar a asistencia tecnica pois comprei ela em outra cidade e não tenho como ir lá no momento, mais estou muito triste e arrazada Mas a camera é otima muito boa June 5, 2013
Good but not great. This is a nice, small camera with a fair number of features. For the price, it is a good beginners camera and it does well as a camera to travel with because of its size. The drawbacks are : limited manual settings, very slow shutter speed. You will miss pictures if you don't "anticipate" them. Additionally, the lens cover is very flimsy. Once it stops working, it must go in for repair. I will say that Nikon service was efficient. Our camera was repaired and back to us within 2 weeks --- better than new. December 18, 2013
Good Camera The Camera is very nice and takes great shops but its very unreliable. Last year i took it on the Disney Cruise in Florida. I turned it on. It was on Full power. Then it just turned off. It wouldnt turn again and wouldnt charge. It is Still broken and i wasnt able to take any pix at the concert of my dreams! November 9, 2013
Works well The camera works as advertised. Pleased so far, except for the included software. I needed a new camera which this fulfills and needed software to opn RAW files. Thought I had the best of both worlds here, but the software is usless. Only the third party panoramic software works as advertised. Removed the Nicon stuff and found a Freeware program that loaded right up and does everything I want. Good camera - Lousey software! January 4, 2013
Best Settings to Use? I am no camera expert. I received the camera as a early gift on my way to vacation to NYC before Christmas. Had lots of trouble getting pictures to turn out normal. Most were blurry. I have tried of some the settings which has helped a little. I don't know if it is me or my camera. I thought since it is a point and shoot I shouldn't have to mess with the settings too much. The video function works fine. Any suggestion on what I might be doing wrong? (My finger is not in front of the lens, in case you were wondering). December 30, 2012
Blurry pics I was really excited to buy this camera and start taking pics of our growing baby. I don't understand what I am doing wrong but most of my pictures turn out blurry. I've tried many different settings but I can't seem to have success. I thought it would be user friendly, but I am just getting frustrated and sad because I'm missing some memorable moments. My next move is to seek advice from the website. March 24, 2013
Had high hopes The pictures that I took with this camera came out very nice. However, the delay between pictures is long. You cannot take a quick succession of pictures. Also, I think the attachment of the zoom to the shutter caused overuse because after only a year an a half it popped off. To repair it cost $100, when a new camera is a little more than that. It just struck me as absurd. I guess there's not a thing meant to last. September 11, 2014
Not recommended I got this camera (Nikon Coolpix S4300) for my birthday, and for the first three months it was great; but then it started to act really funny. I went to charge it and it kept telling me "battery exhausted" even after I had charged it. I went to return the camera and the return policy had recently changed so I was unable to return it. They told me that I could send the product in to California or New York for repair, but I didn't want to go through that. I decided that maybe I should just go purchase a new battery, so I did and it worked fine, for about a month, then it started acting up again, the settings reset themselves and the picture quality became poor, and once again after charging it for a couple hours, it said "battery exhausted". So in all I was able to enjoy this camera a total of four months altogether. I am really upset by this because Nikon is known to have good camera but this one is not one of them. January 6, 2013
Fair. The camera does not pursue clarity. The pictures that I took came out grainy. Also, I feel that in low light, the photo quality is very poor. I returned this camera and purchased a Nikon D3000, the difference between the pictures were distinct. The Nikon D3000 is a wonderful camera, it always captures every detail of every photo, unlike the Coolpix S4300. August 13, 2012
Ok Camera I was not very pleased with this camera. All of my pictures came out grainy. I am not a professional, but I can distinct the difference between clear, precise images. Also, when I take a picture with flash, I feel that it over dominates the other object- Thus all I see is a bright light. May 13, 2012
Tempo de disparo A máquina em si é boa, mas o tempo de uma foto para a outra é lento. Isso eu não gostei May 27, 2013
Too slow This camera is way too slow and constantly stalls and freezes. December 22, 2012
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
40 Questions | 45 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
40 Questions | 45 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4300
 
2 Answers

With a European adapter will the battery of this camera charge safely, or is there a need for a voltage converter as well?

May 7, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
All Nikon Coolpix cameras have an auto switching (from 100v to 240V 50hz/60hz) battery charger that will work in most countries around the world. AC adapters have similar characteristics. Always check the specification plate on your other battery chargers or AC adapters as third party products may not support dual voltage systems. We do not suggest the use of third party battery chargers and AC adapters with Nikon equipment.
Note that the power cord included with some Nikon chargers or AC adapter is designed for 110 volt use only. A power cord suitable for the local power system should be obtained on arrival, most airport shops and computer suppliers will carry these items which are typically used for laptop computer power supply connections. Be sure that the new cord you buy fits the Nikon adapter you wish to use it with and that it is rated for the voltage in your new location. While not recommended, a simple plug adapter may be used, but caution should be taken as the cord Nikon supplies is not rated for the higher voltage and may heat or fail.
Some newer Coolpix have included an AC Adapter, like the EH-68P AC adapter, for plugging directly into a wall outlet without the use of a power cord. As with previous chargers, the correct adapter must be acquired for the country traveled to, and fitted to the Nikon AC adapter to allow proper AC connection to the wall outlet.
May 8, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The charger operates @ 100-240 volts, all you need is the correct adapter.
May 8, 2012 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4300
 
2 Answers

Why won't new S4300 recognize SDHC cards?

Jul 11, 2012 by
by
Hans
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have tried SanDisk 8GB (class 6) and Lexar 16 GB (class 10) cards in brand new S4300. Shows "this card cannot be used" error.

Both cards are on approved list of cards for this camera. Both cards work fine in other cameras and fully recognized by computer in card reader.

Is this a known issue? Any possible workaround to try to get camera to recognize and format these cards?
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Hans
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
<<<Yes, the COOLPIX S4300 is compatible with the SDHC cards. A new memory card needs to be formatted using the camera; it cannot go thru different cameras because that will damage your memory card. Try formatting the memory card with the card reader and then with the camera. Also, verify that is not write protected.>>>

I've never heard of cards being damaged by re-use in various cameras -- requires reformatting of course, but not damaging to the cards.

At any rate, we have since tried a third SDHC card (SanDisk 4GB class 4) that also brings up the same error ("this card cannot be used").

All cards have been reformatted to FAT32 using the card reader and computer. The camera will not allow formatting of the cards -- it won't proceed to the menu beyond the "card cannot be used" error screen.

None of the cards are write-protected.
Jul 12, 2012 by
by
Hans

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes, the COOLPIX S4300 is compatible with the SDHC cards. A new memory card needs to be formatted using the camera; it cannot go thru different cameras because that will damage your memory card. Try formatting the memory card with the card reader and then with the camera. Also, verify that is not write protected.
Jul 12, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4300
 
2 Answers

I bought this camera and it wont turn on?

Jul 12, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have recently boughten this camera and i have reused my old SDHC card which is 4GB and class 4 and the camera can not be turned on. I have connected it to its charger and disconnected it and i have taken out the card and cleaned it, and the camera has not turned on. I dont know what exactly im supposed to do.
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the same problem. Going to return it to Best Buy because I can't resolve my problem.
Nov 19, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that you are using an approved memory card. Also, turn on the camera without the memory card inside or try a different USB cable.
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix S4300
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jul 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Becky
Orlando, FL, USA
Location : 
Orlando, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your battery has become dry and so you need to recharge the battery with external device. Use external battery charger and your problem will be solved.
Mar 27, 2013 by
by
Nils
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Location : 
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Store rechargeable batteries at full charge. If depleted and left to sit they will not recharge. Sounds like you need a new battery.
Oct 20, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S4300
 
2 Answers

Where is the continuous shoot mode

Jan 7, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I wanted a new camera where the time to shoot next pic was shorter and this one is just as slow. The manual says there is a continuous shoot mode but I can't find it. The spot it shows in manual doesn't show up on my screen.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
To shoot continuously with the S4300, the camera needs to be in Auto mode. Sport scene mode also works.

(1) To Put the camera in Auto mode, turn the camera on, press the Scene mode button (middle green camera icon button), and select the first icon (Camera Icon) on the far left of the screen.

(2)To select continuous frame, press Menu, and select the Icon that is located between ISO and WB auto. There you should be able to select single frame, continuous, Best shot selector, and multishot-16
See page 43 of the user manual.
http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals...
Jan 12, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
To shoot continuously with the S4300, the camera needs to be in Auto mode. Sport scene mode also works.

(1) To Put the camera in Auto mode, turn the camera on, press the Scene mode button (middle green camera icon button), and select the first icon (Camera Icon) on the far left of the screen.

(2)To select continuous frame, press Menu, and select the Icon that is located between ISO and WB auto. There you should be able to select single frame, continuous, Best shot selector, and multishot-16
See page 16 of the user manual.
http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals...
Jan 12, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4300
 
1 answer

How much longer until it is available to be purchased?

Feb 5, 2012 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address.
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address.
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new COOLPIX S4300 was release last week and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days after release date. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Feb 6, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S4300
 
1 answer

Where are the in-camera filter effects such as fisheye?

May 9, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
press the playback button, then menu, than retouch. You are not shooting in fisheye but applying a filter effect.
May 9, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, put a bigger card in, what size are you using ?
May 29, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4300
 
1 answer

My pictures are coming out blurry, what kind of setting should I be using?

Jun 18, 2012 by
by
kel
new york
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
kel
new york
Location : 
new york
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please give us a call:
Nikon Technical Support
8AM - 2AM (Eastern) 7 days a week
1-800-Nikon-US (1-800-645-6687)
Jun 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4300
 
1 answer

Is there a way to take pictures while recording a video?

Jun 30, 2012 by
by
New Nikon Owner
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
New Nikon Owner
Age: 18-24
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The COOLPIX S4300 doesn't have the feature to take a still image while recording a video.
Jul 4, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers