Loading

The rush lasts a moment,
the pictures last a lifetime.

You live to be “in the moment,” so anything that brings back the rush is worth it. The Nikon COOLPIX AW100 is waterproof, shockproof and freezeproof, so you can take it on all of your extreme adventures. It packs a 5x Zoom-NIKKOR ED glass lens and a 16.0-MP CMOS sensor to record low-light and fast-action photos and Full HD (1080p) movies. Life on the road deserves GPS + Electronic compass, so the AW100 has these too. Add a 3-inch monitor, our new Action Control for easily adjusting settings when wearing gloves plus a range of in-camera special effects, and you've got a camera as rugged as you. Start saving those action-packed memories—every view and heartbeat.
VR Image Stabilization icon Motion Detection icon ISO Sensitivity Up To 3200 icon Backside Illumination CMOS Sensor icon Clear Color Display icon Smart Portrait System icon Scene Auto Selector icon Subject Tracking icon Full HD (1080p) Movie icon Rugged Reliability icon Built-In GPS icon Built-In World Map icon
16.0
Megapixel
CMOS Sensor
5X
Zoom-NIKKOR
ED Glass Lens
3.0"
High-Resolution
(460,000-dot) LCD
Full HD
(1080p) Movies
with Stereo Sound
Nikon underwater camera is built as rugged as you are

Ready for extreme adventures

Waterproof, shockproof and freezeproof

The AW100 can handle all that Mother Nature can throw at it. Take it diving to depths of up to 33-feet. Shoot at temperatures as cold as 14° F. And don't sweat drops of up to five feet. Whether it's in your hand, mounted to a surfboard, clipped on a backpack or attached to a scuba tank, every twist, splash, dive and crash can be recorded in both still and Full HD (1080p) movies. Plus, Nikon's new Action Control brings fast and easy operation to gloved hands. The AW100 lets you capture every thrilling moment from inside the action—not the sidelines.

Shoot in extreme low light

16.0 MP CMOS sensor

Adventure doesn't always happen during perfect photo-taking conditions. Imagine sharp images produced 33-feet underwater, photos and movies captured while you explore a dark cave, or snapshots nabbed during that last run just as the sun was setting. What does it take to get these and more? A 16.0 MP CMOS sensor that blazes through low light, fast action and challenging shooting conditions to capture high-impact photos with exceptional image quality and low noise. Shoot three shots in about one second using one-touch control for Full HD (1080p) movies and ensure not a single moment of your action-packed lifestyle is missed.
16-MP CMOS sensor captures great pictures, even in low lighting

Star in your own viral movies

Full HD (1080p) movies with stereo sound

Don't just share some photos with friends, put them inside the action with you. Imagine reliving the downhill snowboarding rush, the incredible view as you hang glide down a 4,000-foot peak or showing your friends exactly what it was like to ”shoot the tube” in Hawaii. Attach the AW100 to your gear, and with a single touch of the control you're creating an in-the-action Full HD (1080p) movie with stereo sound. You'll capture all of life's adventures from a whole new perspective—your own.

Always stay on track with the COOLPIX AW100's built-in GPS

See where you’re going, mark where you’ve been

Built-in GPS, mapping and Electronic compass

Imagine you and a friend are white water rafting down an unfamiliar route. The AW100's rugged waterproof build can take the pounding action while you record photos and movies of this incredible adventure. Use the built-in GPS to track progress with Nikon View NX2 software, NIkon's myPicturetown® photo sharing site or Google Earth™. A built-in map lets you view your path, and the Electronic compass is an extra safety measure that can even help you ascertain which branch to take if there's a fork in the stream. Your geo-tagged photo travelogue will give you bragging rights as you share the adventure with your friends.

Creative control even in gloves

A handy Action Control feature

More creativity at your fingertips—even if your fingertips are enclosed in ski gloves! The AW100's handy Action Control feature makes it easy to adjust specific camera settings. Wrapped up in the action with no time to change settings? The AW100 automatically adjusts camera settings. And if you're looking to add creativity, select in-camera effects such as black and white, or selective color. There's even an underwater mode to keep images colorful and properly exposed.
New Action Control feature makes camera adjustments easy even when wearing gloves
Five advanced Vibration Reduction (VR) image stabilization features keep images sharp
Steady even when you’re not

Five advanced VR image stabilizing features automatically reduce the streaky images associated with shaky cameras.

Motion detection keeps moving subjects in focus
Sharper objects in motion

To ward off motion blur, the AW100's motion detector automatically tracks moving subjects and adjusts the camera's settings to keep them in focus.

20 Scene Modes to match any setting
At home in any setting

The AW100 has 20 Scene Modes to match your setting, or simply let Easy Auto Mode determine the ideal setting for great photos every time.

Take 3 shots in about 1 second at full resolution
Mind-blowing action sequences

The AW100 lets you take a blazing three shots in about one second at full resolution, ensuring you'll never miss a moment of action.

COOLPIX AW100 3.5 5 99 99
love this camera! I just got it for my birthday and I haven't been able to put it down! It takes amazing pictures that are as clear as can be. I took it to Disney World and got some stunning pictures of the animals and my family during the action. I got a great picture of my friend on a roller coaster with the best face! You wouldn't be able to get that on any other camera. Overall, highly recommended!!!!! December 31, 2011
The perfect camera for an outdoor person I am addicted to taking photos, my D300S is my constant companion on trips to Europe and Mexico. I found myself worrying all the time about my camera staying clean and not getting hurt(dropped it under a taxi in london...it was fine). So I decided I needed an outdoor camera. I recently got the blue AW100 and the carrying case. I have taken it on 2 trail rides to the beach, I just clip the case to my saddle and go! Considering my horse wouldn't stop trotting, my pictures turned out really well. It was very easy to work with one hand, while riding with the other. I plan on trying it out underwater while snorkling in Puerto Rico in a few weeks! December 10, 2011
Amazing GPS enabled camera! I have had this camera for about two weeks now and have taken hundreds of photos with it already. I purchased this camera for the geotagging feature. I have been geotagging photos for a number of years manually with a separate hand held GPS unit and with another GPS enabled camera. The Nikon AW100 is the second GPS enabled camera I have owned. The first one being the Canon PowerShot SX230 HS. The Nikon AW100 GPS is amazing. It is fast and super sensitive. The AW100 can lock onto satellite signals inside my home and in heavy tree cover! Something my Canon never could do. The display shows you when the AW100 has picked up two, three and then locked on to four satellites, and it does it quickly. The AW100 also has the advantage of using A-GPS file that can be downloaded from this Nikon URL and then loaded onto the memory card you are using in your Nikon AW100 http://nikonimglib.com/agps/index.html.en By using the A-GPS file the Nikon AW100 can predict the satellite location before it even searches for them. Without the A-GPS file the Nikon AW100 GPS may take 10-15 seconds to first lock onto the four satellites after being powered on, but when using the A-GPS file it only takes about two seconds to lock onto all the satellites, simply amazing! I have found the Nikon AW100 GPS to be a lot quicker then the Canon GPS enabled camera I own and the Nikon AW100 GPS receives satellites just as good in heavy tree cover as my Garmin 60csx hand held receiver. The Nikon AW100 GPS works like a GPS enabled camera should work, simple, quick, accurate and holds a lock on the satellites. I got the black Nikon AW100 and it has a good feel to it. Not a cheap plastic feel like some other point and shoot cameras. With GPS enabled I get around 170 photos out of a battery, but batteries are cheap online and I picked up two extra ones. Lot of features, built in maps is cool. Weather proof body is a big plus. Love this camera! November 2, 2011
washing machine proof !!! We bought this nikon on a trip this summer in Hawaii to take pictures while snorkeling. We had bought/replaced 3 Fuji underwater cameras before and they all ended up taking water. We were very impressed with the quality on the images both above and below water. We also have a Nikon D7000 so our comparison point is high. On our last day of our trip we tought we had lost the camera on the beach :( But once home we washed our beach bags in the washer and to our surprise when we took the bags out of our washer our camera dropped to the floor. Powered it on and it worked fine. August 16, 2012
Excelente y compacta para la investigación científica. Perfecta para trabajo de investigación del área veterinaria, específicamente para fotografía en el microscopio y se puede ocupar el GPS para aplicaciones de epidemiología. es la cámara ideal para nosotros los investigadores de las áreas medicas. October 2, 2012
Câmera Perfeita e Excelente Comprei esta câmera para tirar fotos subaquáticas, e amei as cores e a perfeita nitidez em cada detalhe. Ela é mega resistente, e até agora atendeu a todas as minhas expectativas. Só o GPS dela que é estranho de mexer. O restante é maravilhoso. Gostei da qualidade das fotos noturnas, na praia, na piscina, na floresta, enfim... Indico e recomendo a todos. Vocês não se arrependerão de ter esta câmera indispensável e potente. February 27, 2013
nikon lo recomiendo porque tiene funciones que otras cámaras no tienen June 18, 2012
Gran Cámara... diría excelente Es una cámara asombrosa, Buenas fotos, buen vídeo! June 7, 2012
All Around Performer My wife and I were looking for a replacement for our aging point and shoot camera that is over 8 years old and was no longer meeting our demands of features and picture quality.I was looking for better low light and picture sharpness and my wife was looking for a camera that did not require intricate menus that would take forever to setup just to take a few quick shots. We also were looking for a camera that was tuff enough because of our outdoor needs. So far we have really enjoyed having a rechargeable system instead of having to feed batteries to the camera Gods after every one to two days outings. So far it has exceeded our expectations and even though we are still learning the best menu settings for our layouts we are very pleased. I would highly recommend a filter kit that you can get online so that you can take advantage of the best result for images taken in very sunny settings and under fluorescent lighting. The only thing that I would have liked to have was a manual override for shooting but with wide range of image settings it really is not necessary. If you are looking for an all weather point and shoot you will not be disappointed. July 29, 2013
nikon aw100 i did buy this camera to take pictures under water so far i like it January 25, 2013
The Best point and shoot cameras I have ever owned. I am in the military and currently deployed and I love this camera. My last deployment I took the "other brand all weather camera" and I now realize how poor the quality of it was. I have owned this camera for nearly 5 months and I have had no issues out of it. I always have it on me and the battery is always charged. The video function is amazing. I'm highly impressed with the quality and zoom on the video function. I can't even begin to explain how cool the GPS function is. I find it fascinating to start a GPS log and then go on a foot patrol and see all the photos and how far we have moved all over Afghanistan. Very good camera; if you're on the fence go ahead and jump to this side, don’t waste your money with the other brand. I have been down that road and now it's just a toy for my kids. i January 21, 2013
Great outdoor camera I purchased the AW100 for family outings and need something that can be abused as we have already broke 2 Nikon SLR cameras, a D40 and a D60, with 2 kids and a stroller we play hard. . I plan to purchase a 5100 this week as the price has dropped like a rock. I could not believe that there was an underwater camera available for under $500. I never purchased the Nikonos as it was too complicated to use and too expensive. Having a water proof camera is a plus, not the main reason for the purchase. The hope is to preserve the SLR camera and have something robust to use when we are at the zoo and other theme parks. The flash is crazy bright in auto mode, still trying to figure out the best setting. Pictures are difficult to take in low lighting. Excellent for outside daytime pictures. The filter option is very cool and I recommend buying a UV or polarizer filter and keeping it in the camera bag for bright days. The video option works great! Sold my old school Sony hand held video camera, no need for video cameras anymore. The zoom option is great but it starts to go out of focus when you max out the zoom, but 16x is good enough. Overall great quality product as you would expect from Nikon, remember it is a snap shot camera. It is easy to use and for the average photographer this is great. I am excited to throw it in a back pack for Mt Biking and Skiing this year. And yes, I took the camera into the pool on our last vacation and the pictures came out spectacular! Pick one of these up! August 20, 2012
Great camera when it works....Great warranty service too. I've been a loyal nikon fan for a long time, so naturally i bought the underwater camera as well. I have taken several hundred pictures underwater and never had a problem.....until.....a month ago when the screen stopped working. So, I let nikon know, and within a couple weeks it appears they went ahead and just sent me new one. Good times.....until.....it broke and the back screen will not turn on...just like the first one. So, I wrote nikon another request for warranty (which I'm sure they will take care of) it's just frusterating having a camera die on you. With all that said though, the camera has been exceelnt up until lately, and I would still reccomend it to anyone and am eagerly awaiting this one getting fixed and getting back to taking pictures. July 25, 2012
Loved it, till it broke I needed a smaller camera than my old dslr for school to do contextual research. I was doing a project that required me to take low light photos and video and since I love all things out doors, I tend to be tough on my electronics. This aw100 seemed like a perfect match with its size, durability, and cmos sensor. And it was. I freaking love this little device. I wouldn't say that it is perfect, but what is? The Good - Fairly compact - Is water proof (at least to 20 something ft.) - Is shock proof (at least to 4ft.) - put it in my freezer and it still worked - gps is neat - good low light photos - settings are easy to understand - the video is good - there is a slow motion setting The Bad - gps is cool but at this point useless - sound is good enough but leaves something to be desired - it will corrupt files randomly (it only does it on the amazing once in a life time shots) The Ugly - The lens broke. I have no idea how it happened. I just woke up one day and it was sitting on my nightstand with a shattered lens. So unless the dog did something or a room mate borrowed it and then put it back with out informing me of the situation, it magically broke itself. June 16, 2012
Everything is good, one weakness OK, so quickly this is my third underwater camera and I like it the best. I am very happy with all features/functions except one. My biggest disappointment is that the only way to charge the battery is to remove it and use the supplied charger. It cannot be charged via a USB cable which means you have to carry more stuff when you take it somewhere. I am not sure why Nikon omitted this needed function. June 2, 2012
Great For those always in the move Hi, I got this camera for my birthday also , first i thought its just a compact camera that can dive for 10 m nothing special , but no its much more , first the camera got lots of mode for taking pictures e.x( Portait , pet , food , etc.... ) total is 22 plus auto and easy auto which adjust to the best mode automatically and Smart Portait . So if u chose right , u will get Great photos for a compact camera the built in GPS and world map work great and fast The motion sensor , not the great it just used to change the menu in a one way direction . useful only when u are wearing gloves I strongly recommend it for any one who is always in the move ( sea , mountain , snow , or regular day ) March 27, 2012
Good Product good product but it must be improve. lens angel is too close for a action camera it must be little wider and time lapse shooting feature must be added. Action Control is awesome. January 21, 2012
Wonderful Camera for Travelling I purchased this camera in Hong Kong. I live in China. I love this camera, it is very rugged and the waterproof function gives me peace of mind when I use the camera. I don't really worry about small drops or rain etc. I've taken this camera to the beach in Indonesia and although I was fearful the first time it got wet, there were no real issues with leakage. I can say that the fine sand in the water got into the locking mechanism which was stiffer afterwards. It's gradually working its way out now. I am still afraid to use the camera much underwater but it is rated to 33ft. I have another camera with separate housing for diving at any depth. I bought my camera in the orange color. I think it is more visible and easier to find if it ever get dropped, especially in water. I also use the camera in industrial settings - I feel the orange will be easier to find and less likely to get misplaced. On my camera the orange cover does not seem to be held firmly to the camera body in the top right section (near to the flash). There is some noticeable movement in this area when gently pressed. I have one major problem with the battery connection. Sometimes the camera will not turn on after I shut it off. I have to open the battery compartment, remove the battery and reseat it. Then the camera will work. This is a nuisance when above ground but makes this camera completely useless underwater. I cannot take this camera under water as I can never know if the camera will start. It is impossible to reseat the battery while underwater. This happens with both of my batteries and is not a function of the battery charge. Perhaps I can fix this by adjusting the battery contacts but I have not tried to pull them higher. Other than these two issues the build quality is very good. Photos from this camera is quite sharp. There are tons of scene modes. I really love the GPS and compass function. The GPS settles really quickly, usually in less than a minute. This is much faster than my phone or other GPS camera (Lumix TZ10). I like the map function and I've used the logging function many times, although this drains the battery quickly over about 6 hours. While using the logging function it is not possible to scroll the map to find places. The locations listed in the database are generally good. In Indonesia however, most of the locations were small mosques. I am sure that there were better location points in most of the areas that I was travelling. The accuracy of the GPS is wonderful, all locations were exactly where they were shot with one exception (that I know of) in China. Using the GPS in China The GPS in my Lumix camera is disabled when in China. The camera gives an information message that it disables the GPS while in China. i was pleasantly surprised that Nikon does not disable the GPS in China but places some limitations on its use. The locations using the GPS in China seem to be off by about 500 ft to the west. In addition, the map function does not work in China and there are not location points for China in the database. I found it interesting that while I was in Southern China, several miles from Hong Kong, the camera would like the closest location point in Hong Kong (which turned out to be a KCR metro station about 10km away. I am very glad the GPS works in China even with these limitations. I have not tried the A-GPS functions. I am interested to use this function. January 18, 2012
Great camera for those of us living around water I live on an island and take my camera to the beach and on the boat. I bought this camera (my 4th Nikon) because it is shockproof and water friendly. It takes very good pictures inside and outdoors. The size of the camera is just right and the buttons are easy to use. I have not tried the GPS yet but believe I will like that. I don't intend to take it underwater although it can go to 33 ft. I am a scuba diver and all of my dives are deeper than that., but knowing that it can get wet gives me peace of mind. I chose the blue because it reminds me of the sea. January 15, 2012
Got this for Christmas and gave one to my son Ok, read many reviews some good and some bad. Noted mostly unprofessionals had problems. I am a professional that does have problems with point and shoot cameras(using them that is). I have waited for this particular camera for a long time. I looked at it in a camera store liked it purchased it for my son. Got my own the day before Christmas. Love the features for takeing pics. I am learning how to use each feature . My problem is me a little unsteady at times. Using heavier cameras thats not as noticable. This camera has vibration reduction but apparently not enough for me at times. I still need to read the full manual. At first I was diasapointed with the video. Very noisey, had the strap on, My son who hadn't put the strap on didnt have those noises in his video. I took it off and got much quieter video. I tried to be still but i shook just enough to cause it to hit the cameras side and the mic picks that noise up. The four stars are not for any reason other than I haven't tested all the features. After I've had it a while I will write another it has a learning curve as with any new camera. Over all I am pleased. I do want to add that I love the gps feature and the compass. Haven't figured out the motion control. Need to read up on those. December 25, 2011
Good underwater, but needs sotftware fixes II purchased this phone so that I could both take pictures above ground as well as underwater pictures. I took the phone out on a 10 day vacation and took over 800 pictures. The phone is very feature rich. I was quite surprised the foreign cities and roads that are contained in the small gps data file. I did tried the panoramic picture before the vacation to test this feature, but did not use this beyond testing it. The clarity of the image seems very good. When comparing the pictures of my older 8MP camera, I was surprised how much better the images looked given the internal optics of the camera. Also, having the compass on the camera was a treat. Though the manual implies the GPS is always running, it seemed like the GPS required several seconds to track each time the camera was turned back on. The camera does have many limitations. When taking pictures, the time between pictures was much slower than my older point and shoot camera. Quite long. I was unhappy with the time used to transfer the picture to the SD card. I was using a class 10 card, so I expected this to be better. On several occasions, the camera never completed the job within 5 minutes, so I removed the battery as to reboot the camera. Battery life also appeared to be awful. The manual indicates the GPS is always running, so I turned this feature off without any improvement in battery life. I had to charge the camera every day and it did not make it through 100 pictures. The buttons on the back of the camera all have pictures and labels for what they do, but the ink used by nikon does not appear to water proof (perhaps for the ocean). The green color was the first to start to wash off. Other labels are still there but several are fading. Some pictures under water turned out great and others not so much. Lighting seemed pretty key and it seemed more of an issue for the photographer than the camera. I only used the camera to about 10ft and suspect lighting will get more difficult at the 33ft depth the camera claims to work at. The waterproof door for the battery, etc appears to be well designed and was easy to use. I used the multiple shot mode. I found this not to work as I would like. It was not awful, but I remain unsure exactly how this feature is supposed to work. The 16 show mode was just weird. I am not sure why this would get used. I have not used other underwater camera (other than disposable), but it seems a good software update would resolve all my issues other than the button labels on the camera. December 10, 2011
Ok Images from Great Body For the longest time, I’ve had a love-hate relationship with compact cameras. I never have been very impressed. Why? The image quality, frankly, is sub-par when compared to even basic DSLRs. The depth of field is huge. But, it depends on your point of view. If you want to produce professional looking images for print, and have almost unlimited range of possibilities, then a DSLR or at least a “Mirrorless” should be your choice. But let’s face it, most pictures get displayed as tiny facebook images, on blogs and maybe the a tablet. Who needs 24 MP or even 10? So I changed my attitude. I have skied with a digital rangefinder tucked away in my jacket , I have taken a Nikon DSLR on a kayak and a sail boat and I have biked with medium format cameras. Most of the time, I have worried about damaging it more than I have enjoyed the sport or activity. Enter the AW 100. This is a no-nonsense camera. It was designed with the outdoors person in mind. It strips away all unnecessary things, and exclusively functions on automatic settings. There is no P, A, S or M mode. There is no RAW data recording. Many people lament that fact. However if you think about it, the camera is designed to be used outdoors, in a kayak, skiing, on the beach, the pool. If you all on the slopes, do you want to fiddle around with multiple settings or just take a quick picture? The Nikon engineers have delivered a well designed product for exactly that purpose. Specs are here on the site, no need to repeat. There are a few neat features. The AW not only has GPS but also a built in map! The latter is a neat feature, however in the age of the smart phone, somewhat superfluous. I like the geo-tagging feature in the photos, however don’t care to much about this visualizing that location. The AW100 also sports a compass, which I think it neat. The lens is a 28-140mm (35mm equivalent) f3.9 – 4.8, which is OK for range but a bit slow. It has a ”digital zoom” option – I thought that was something cameras had before people knew what “cropping” meant. I think I’ll leave it turned off. Let’s face it, you cannot put a brilliant lens in that body and then have it behind a waterproof glass. I think Nikon did the best they could here. Handling The camera is small and has a compact, high quality feel to it. I have never used a camera with the lens in the corner, so that takes some getting used to for close ups. There is an “action button” on the left hand side. I am not sure yet if I like the design of it, but I think it is probably very useful if you wear thick gloves. Basically, this button can either be used to enter the mode where the user can scroll through menu by tilting the camera or the button can be used to pull up the GPS guide. In contrast to the action button, the controls on the back are a bit small. The waterproof compartment housing the memory card, battery and connectors is well sealed and secured with a large button that needs to be pressed as well as turned; a smart move, as it would not be the first time that I opened the battery compartment by accident, which under water can obviously be fatal (at least to the camera). The back screen is a 460k dot display – not the best in the industry but detailed enough. The shutter button is large and actually has a roughed up surface which is nice. That gives it a bit of a “grip” and it can be found easily in the dark or in murky water. Operation: The operation of the camera is simple. The menus are not very cluttered. The multi-selector has the usual function, the exposure compensation is a nice touch. There is a separate button for the scene/auto settings, which is very practical. The are several modes: Easy Auto – camera selects the right scene mode depending on the what it thinks you are shooting Scene – there is a plethora of the usual scene modes, land scape, night portraits, fireworks etc etc. My favorite: pet photography – it actually works pretty well! Special Effects – high contrast black and white, high key, low key etc. pretty standard and boring Smart Portrait – waits for a smile…. Auto Mode – auto exposure, interestingly enough the only mode that allows some customization. While shooting or during review there is a limited choice of what to display. This is a bit annoying. For the money, I would expect at least to be able to display a histogram. Also, the exposure information only flashes briefly just before taking the shot, and is the only warning that you may be a bit underexposed (at least when vibration reduction is on, it seems to “OK” anything faster than 1/5 s at the widest angle setting). As stated, exposure is automatic. The range of aperture is small, from f3.9 (wide) and f4.8 (tele) to f7.8 – and with an internal ND filter to f9.8. The exposure is limited to 1 second or less (unless you are shooting in fireworks mode which seems to be 4 seconds at f7.8 regardless). The camera is auto-focus only – not amazingly fast but OK. Subject tracking is decent (a feature that admittedly I don’t use much). There is no manual focus option (which I always have found annoying on P&S anyway). The GPS mode is somewhat difficult to turn on but works pretty well. It does cost you battery power, though. Maps are sufficiently detailed (and I believe it has world wide coverage). Image Quality: The AW100 shoots JPG – you have several options, of which I only tested one, the 16 MP* (4608×3456) the * designates a better compression ratio, but I do not think it is a “12/12″). I never get the usefulness of being able to shoot all kinds of formats and sizes, like 4000*3000 (i.e. 12 MP), or even the VGA format of 640×480 (C’mon, do you even HAVE a monitor that small still?) Memory is cheap, guys…. The AW100 produces JPEGs in sRGB, so its color palette is somewhat reduced. But do you care – most consumers won’t notice the difference between that and say Adobe RGB. There has been some lamenting the fact that this camera does not shoot RAW format. I must say I do not mind. I would prefer however a choice similar to Nikon DSLRS (L, M,S JPGS, where I think the L option would be a JPG Quality of 100%, which I think is better than the “*” rating of the AW100. When pixel peeping, there is clear evidence of “muddying” of detail – as in suboptimal JPG compression, with a bit of halo suggestive of oversharpening – on the other hand sharpening the JPG actually can improve detail, go figure. I tried a somewhat unfair match of the AW100 (ISO 125, f3.9) against the digital rangefinder (shot at ISO 160 with a 35mm Voigtlaender lens at f4): in this unfair comparison, there is clear loss of detail with the AW100. However the comparison is made to a sensor 30x the size, without an anti-aliasing filter and a superb lens near its peak sharpness. Furthermore, peeking at it in 100% crop, corresponding to a print size at 300 dpi of ~ 15×12 inches. If you print 8×10, I don’t think you’ll notice. On the other hand, some have described the JPG quality as “out of this world”…. I would respectfully disagree. I think it could be improved. As for higher ISO, the story is the usual for compacts. It gets bad pretty quickly. ISO 400 is about the highest I would go. IMO, offering ISO 3200 on the camera is a marketing gimmick and pretty useless. If you need to shoot ISO 3200, get a D700. In good light, loss of detail and artifacts are not as apparent at base ISO ( 125). Luckily, there is a ISO Auto setting that limits the range from 125 to 400, but unfortunately it is not customizable. Video: Have not tried it much, as I am not much into video. It’s 1080/30p…. if you want Hi-res movies, get a movie camera :) Filter Adapter: There is an adapter for 40.5mm filters (just when I thought the filters I bought for my film rangefinder were otherwise useless!) I am not sure what to use it for, other than putting a polarizer on an already pretty slow lens. I tried infrared, which actually works fairly well if if was not for the limit of adjusting exposure manually or being limited to 1 s. I like that it has that feature but it has limited use. Flash: Yes, there is in camera flash. No, it’s not a soft box. What can I say? Toughness Factor: I did not do the drop test :) I did take the camera down to 28 ft diving and it still works now, but I did not use it (being busy enough handling a D7000 in an underwater housing). Will have to wait for winter to test it at -10 degrees Celsius. CONCLUSION: The AW100 is a neat camera that does a decent job when you are active outside. I definitely like the design. It is a good but limited all-rounder There are a few suggestions how to improve it (are you listening Nikon?): - I don’t need RAW, but memory is cheap, so give me a 16 MP highest quality JPG mode and the ability to adjust sharpening, color and contrast myself. Oh, yes, and manual white balance – not all underwater environments look the same! - Longer exposure times – it may actually take decent IR images. It does have a tripod socket! Why limit it to 1 s - More information on the display: shutter speed, aperture. Also a histogram, please, it’s 2011! Otherwise, I think it is a job well done. November 22, 2011
Great, compact camera for outdoorsy people I bought this camera for use mostly during my frequent fishing trips. It is my first Nikon purchase. Overall I'm very pleased with it. Colour and exposure of photos are quite good. Likewise, video is good with some tinniness in the audio and rolling shutter artefacts (on fast moving targets) but these are both expected in a camera of this type. Overall the pictures and video from the AW100 aren't as good as those from my DLSR but they are as good, or better, than one can reasonably expect from a camera of this type and price. The camera's controls and menus are logical and easy to use. The camera has enough shooting modes to make photography flexible but not so many as to make it confusing. The 'one touch' video record button is brilliant because the user doesn't have to mess around with menus or rotate dials to switch between shooting photo and shooting video -- you press the shutter button to take a photo or press the video button to shoot a video -- AFAIC every camera should work like this. I generally rely on Photoshop and Lightroom for editing so haven't used many of the camera's built-in filters I can say that the 'glamour retouch' filter works surprisingly well for smoothing skin tones, etc. The autofocus system works well even under low light conditions. Generally the camera feels solid and well-made. I've dropped it a few times from pants pocket height onto hard floors and rocky stream beds and apart from a few scuff marks on the rear LCD panel the camera seems no worse for wear (I should have bought a screen protector, I guess) . The waterproof cover that hides the SD card slot, battery and I/O connectors is an ingenious design that is easy to open even one-handed but cannot be accidentally opened. While fishing, I've tested the waterproofing quite a few times (a couple of times by accident while wading, oops) and so far there is nary a hint of water inside. To my pleasant surprise, the battery lasts a *long* time -- one battery usually lasts me a whole day of fishing. I purchased and carry a spare battery but I've only had to use it a few times. I do have a few *minor* criticisms. First, my AW100 tends to overexpose by about 1/3 stop which isn't very much and may in fact be a reflection of my own bias . The solution is easy: set the exposure compensation at -1/3 stops and leave it there. Second, in some circumstances the digital image processing seems to be overly aggressive and may remove/blur certain types of very fine detail. For example, when shooting a landscape of trees I find that the small branches of the trees (in the distance) are much blurrier than they should be. This is not just my observation as several online reviewers have also noted this issue. I'm assuming Nikon could probably decrease the noise reduction via firmware update if they wanted to but no firmware updates are available. Third, the flash seems overly bright and harsh at close distances but to be fair this is a fault of many compact cameras. Fourth, the small size of the camera and it's slick surfaces can make it a bit tricky to hold when wet. For future versions perhaps Nikon might give some thought to making it a bit grippier? Notwithstanding these minor shortcomings this camera has generally exceeded my expectations and I am very glad I bought it. With it I have been able to take pictures and video under harsh environmental conditions in which I would not used my pricey DLSR because it would have been destroyed by water, sand, salt, and/or impact. And because it is so small, I can carry the AW100 in my pocket almost any time I'm outside and so I've been able to take some great pictures that I otherwise wouldn't have. I recommend the Nikon AW100 to anyone who needs a rugged, compact camera. January 17, 2014
Too many options! Great camera! Fast, reliable, clear colorful pictures. Easy to use in automatic mode, but choosing specific option is not for me - too many to choose from. One glitch though - battery shows full charge for very long, but then at the end, battery's charge diminish very quickly. May 13, 2012
Mi nueva Coolpix AW100 El día de hoy compré la cámara y apenas tomé las primeras imágenes y son de calidad extraordinaria, he trabajado con cámaras de diferentes marcas y realmente ésta me sorprende por sus funciones y su facilidad de uso. Continúo con la evaluación del producto pero no dudaría en recomendarlo para aquellos que piensan adentrarse al mundo de la fotografía. Saludos January 19, 2013
solo una dudaaa por q al tomar fotos con poca luz aparecen unas burbujas en las fotos, tipo gris es normal? July 10, 2012
Good camera with quirks I bought this to go on a once-in-lifetime trip to the Galapagos. I shot about 2500 pics with this camera. Overall, it did well, but I had two issues with it. One, the camera froze and stopped working all together on my second snorkeling outing. Once back on ship, I opened the battery compartment and found it dry. Anyway, I dried the rest camera and put in a fresh battery, and it worked fine for the rest of the trip. Second issue was rather irritating, the lens fog. I had three instances where the lens would fog for about 5 to 15 minutes after hiking for about 15 minutes. Each time, I was near the water on the reef or the shore with sunny to cloudy conditions, but I have no idea how they happen or why they eventually clear. Unpredictability of the fogging is quite disconcerting. There was another passenger who also had this camera, and did everything that I did but he did not experience any problems with it. Battery life is pretty good. I would normally get 250 to 300 images before changing it out. I bought a spare battery and a charger which is much easier and smaller to use than the one it came with. Other than the issues mentioned, the image quality, portability and ease of usage were all excellent. There were times when I was in the Zodiak going to or coming back from an outing, I would pull it out of my pocket and get great shots that others with big slr's with large lens could not. Below are my summary: Pros Ease of use Light and compact, fits in your pocket comfortably Macro mode is excellent Video mode is excellent, easy to turn on and off, good quality Great shooting menu; I really liked the macro, sunset, dusk and panorama mode Cons Fogging Panorama is tricky under bright conditions Charger is too big and cumbersome Digital zoom gives below average image quality December 26, 2012
Difficult interface and very annoying "shake" feature This may be the best waterproof camera of its size, but the photos don't have the sharpness and color saturation I found in at least two other, though more bulky, cameras. The interface takes some getting used to. For example, selecting a flash option or macro doesn't take effect until pushing OK. I'm used to selection the menu item and pressing the shutter - not on this camera. There is one very annoying "feature" that I will never get used to, shake for action. I was reviewing photos in the car and every time we hit the slightest bump, it would advance to the next photo. Same thing happened each time I rotated the camera to view a portrait photo. And there's no way to turn this off! This alone almost caused me to return the camera. I still think this camera is a good choice for the size and price. But if you want better image quality and a more intuitive interface and don't mind paying more or carrying a bulkier camera, there are better options. June 9, 2012
Needs firmware improvement The camera overall is great. It takes good looking photos when used in the right conditions/situations. My biggest complaint is speed. When the flash is used, the time it takes to process (or maybe recharge) is a bit long. I want to be able to take one flash photo after another with little time in between. I have yet to use underwater, but will update you when I do. June 7, 2012
nice camera if the lens didn't fog I took this camera on my recent vacation. It went under water, it went on boats, it went to the beach, it took pictures and video. Then I noticed one of my pictures had what I thought was just a slash of water on it so I went to wipe of the lens and saw that it was fogged over on the inside. I stopped taking pictures and flipped it over so the sun was not shining on it and with in 15 minutes the fog cleared. Same thing happened several times randomly over the next few days fog on the lens. I guess I know why they have the fog removal feature available in the options. I never had a fog problem with my Olympus. Its not very convenient to have to wait for the fog to clear when you are trying to take pictures on the go. May 25, 2012
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
234 Questions | 296 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
234 Questions | 296 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX AW100
 
5 Answers

Can the Action Control on the AW100 be turned off?

Jun 8, 2012 by
by
HNRosen
Los Angeles, CA
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I bought the AW100 to replace my Olympus waterproof, but returned it when I found that the Action Control was always active in Playback mode. So, if you hand the camera to someone else to look at a picture, and move it a little too much, the picture changes to a different one. Very annoying and unnecessary.

Can the Action Control be turned off entirely, or at least for the Playback mode?
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
HNRosen
Los Angeles, CA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
I havent been able to find a way to turn off the action control feature either, but, I have set it to the lowest possible setting and it seems to subdue it enough to stop it from working unless you overly magnify the 'shake' used to make it work. . I set mine to 1 and it is almost impossible for it to flip through the photos unless I use a very exagerated motion. Don't be too hard on the little guy, it is still a very sweet camera. Maybe they can fix this in a firmware update and add an 'off' button for the feature.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
moonie
flint mi
Location : 
flint mi
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I stopped at Best Buy today, and tested the camera to see if the Action Control could be turned off. I could not turn it off, despite your saying it can be done. No matter what I tried, I still got an unintentional and annoying slide show when moving the camera in Playback mode.

I'm interested in buying the camera again. Perhaps you can try turning off the Action Control on an actual camera and let me know? Or, give me (and others who have the same issue) very specific instructions to over-ride the "feature".
Jun 8, 2012 by
by
HNRosen
Los Angeles
Location : 
Los Angeles
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
Yes and there is also a menu to set the type of camera response when you are in action mode.
Jun 8, 2012 by
by
JoeR

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
JoeR, please clarify. Are you saying that you can use the button on the left side of the camera to completely turn off Action Control, and when the camera is moved during Playback mode there will no longer be an unintentional slide show?
Jun 8, 2012 by
by
HNRosen
Los Angeles, CA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-8points
0out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful8
Answer: 
Yes, there is a action control button on the side of the camera
Jun 8, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX AW100
 
4 Answers

Why no camouflage option in the US? It would sell well based on the color alone! Will you please make it happen?

Aug 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I purchased a cammo Coolpix AW100 from Walmart (online) recenlty.
May 31, 2013 by
by
Marnee
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
amazon has it
Aug 23, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
agree camoufflage would be great
Sep 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
2out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful5
Answer: 
Unfortunately not all colors are available in every region. You interest will be pass to the marketing department.
Aug 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX AW100
 
4 Answers

does the camera have a flashlight on it?

Apr 10, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
+11points
16out of 21found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful5
does the nikon AW100 have a flashlight built in?
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it has a movie light.

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
a flashlight to make recordings, video ...
Apr 11, 2012 by
by
ErnestoL

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it has a built in flash.
Apr 11, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
It has a built in flash.
Apr 11, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX AW100
 
3 Answers

Does it have a timelaps function with the video modes (i.e. take a frame every 30 seconds for example)

Sep 1, 2011 by
by
coolpix fan
cape town
Has staff answer
+2points
6out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful4
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
coolpix fan
cape town
Location : 
cape town
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you connect the camera to your computer and have access to a PTP (Picture Taking Protocol) library, you can write a program to simulate a timelapse feature (you will have to stitch the photos together afterwards). I've succeeded with 12MP timelapse photos (16MP seems to crash the camera).
Mar 20, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
Sorry Nikon, the 30 sec minimum value on many Nikon camera...make timelapse (or intervalometer) unuseful !!!
Sep 17, 2011 by
by
Peter
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-10points
4out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful14
Answer: 
The new COOLPIX P7100 has the Interval Timer Shooting. You can choose from 30 s, 1 min, 5 min, or 10 min.
Sep 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX AW100
 
3 Answers

Are there any plans for Nikon to release an underwater housing that allows depths in excess than 10m?

Sep 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+19points
23out of 27found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful23unhelpful4
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

-8points
0out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful8
Answer: 
Their are plenty of after market cases online that will fit most bodies. Just google them.
Sep 15, 2011 by
by
Chasundefined

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
There are after market hard cases on the web just google them.
Sep 15, 2011 by
by
Chasundefined

-12points
0out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful12
Answer: 
Thanks for your question about Nikon products. Unfortunately we cannot speculate about future products until official information is announced on our web site: www.nikonusa.com.
Sep 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX AW100
 
3 Answers

Coolpix AW100

Sep 15, 2011 by
by
Tricia
Philippines
Has staff answer
-2points
1out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
when you say under water, does it mean i can dip it in water and take pictures and it will still work fine?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Tricia
Philippines
Location : 
Philippines
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Actually it is 10M, which is 33 ft. but for no more than 1 hour. There are also very specific instructions on how to treat the camera after using it underwater, especially in salt water. I would not recommend using it underwater and then just putting it away. You need to follow the procedures in the Manual.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
moonie
flint mi
Location : 
flint mi
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can take underwater i.e in a swimming pool or the ocean, something like that. Just don't take it more than 10ft below the surface of the water.
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
Conelight

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
The Nikon COOLPIX AW100 is water-proof, shock-proof and freeze-proof.
Sep 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+17points
24out of 31found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful24unhelpful7
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry, no.
The camera may know it's location, but it doesn't broadcast it to the internet or anywhere else.
Oct 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
6out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful7
Answer: 
The GPS information becomes part of the information records in every picture (EXIF data) along with aperture, etc. The benefit is that some software will allow you to see a map of the world showing where you took every shot.
Sep 17, 2011 by
by
GerardoD

+6points
8out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful2
Answer: 
No.
Sep 17, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX AW100
 
3 Answers

When will the Nikon COOLPIX All Weather Sport Case be available for purchase?

Nov 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Comes with camera at Costco
Apr 10, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
ebay.com
they are around 40-50 bucks
Dec 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
Currently is not available at the Nikon store. You may want to check with local dealers in your area or online.
Nov 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX AW100
 
3 Answers

How do I export the gps data that I've logged on my AW100 for use in Google Earth?

Nov 15, 2011 by
by
Bobby
Costa Mesa, California
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
I've seen this mentioned in many reviews of the AW100, but was unable to find any information in the owners manual. Thanks in advance!
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Bobby
Costa Mesa, California
Location : 
Costa Mesa, California
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
recently answered this question in a previous post. In order to transfer the info to google earth and view it, that is a function built into the ViewNX software. However. If you want to post the route to Map My Ride or some other site, you can’t' do it in its native format.

What you can do is locate the .LOG file on the camera NCFL folder. It will be listed by date# Then download that file to your computer. Go to a website called GPS visualizer.om and convert the file to a .GPX file. Now you can take that and upload it to other websites for tracking and mapping. You can also see elevation and time and distance.

I use another site called everytrail.com and I can also post videos and photos along the time line and then share that on facebook.

Hopefully If I answer this question enough times, NIKON will get the message and incorporate this function into the next version of ViewNX. Unless you have your PC handy, it seems silly to only be able to view and log the stuff in the Nikon app.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
moonie

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Wind Image software will allow you to take your geotagged images and create web maps using Google Earth.
Mar 9, 2012 by
by
JayC
Missouri
Location : 
Missouri
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
Position information recorded on a picture can be checked on a map with ViewNX2 after transferring the image to a computer.
Nov 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX AW100
 
3 Answers

Is the Coolpix AW100 positively / neutral / negatively bouyant? i.e. will it float or sink in fresh water?

Jan 27, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
What is the bouyancy of the camera?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
The places on the camera where any strap will attach have very small holes so only a very thin string can fit through. I've read many reviews of various brands of floating straps and many people have lost their camera because that string that attaches the floating part to the camera broke.

I'm guessing that these people who lost their camera had the strap around their arm or wrist and were not holding on to the camera itself while swimming. I've done the same thing when I used to buy those disposable Kodak underwater cameras that use a heavy duty rubber band for a strap.

Since I plan to actually hold the camera in my hand while snorkeling or taking pictures in the surf, I wanted the extra protection of a wrist strap. The wrist strap that got the best user reviews - concerning the strength of the thin string part that attaches to the camera itself - was the Nikon AN-CP19 Replacement Strap. It's available at Amazon for $5.95 as of this writing.
Jul 11, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
The camera will sink but you can purchase a floating strap so if you let go of it while in the water it will float by the strap. I recommend buying a bright colour so if the camera happens to get away from you, you'll be able to spot it from afar.
May 24, 2012 by
by
NikonLover
Toronto
Location : 
Toronto
Age: 18-24
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months

+3points
5out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful2
Answer: 
This camera does not float in water. Make sure not to drop the camera underwater.
Jan 30, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers