Loading

Life moves fast, catch it!

With its rounded body, sleek lines and four cool colors, the ultra-light COOLPIX S4100 sells itself on looks alone. But it's also packed with versatile Nikon features that make it an ideal everyday camera. Its high quality, high resolution touch display maximizes fun and efficiency, whether navigating the user-friendly menu interface or enjoying fingertip control over most shooting and playback functions. And with One-Touch HD (720p) movie recording, capturing spur of the moment action is easier—and more fun—than ever.
VR Image Stabilization icon Motion Detection icon ISO Sensitivity Up To 3200 icon Touch Screen icon Clear Color Display icon Smart Portrait System icon Scene Auto Selector icon Subject Tracking icon HD (720p) Movie icon
14.0
Effective
Megapixels
5X
Wide-Angle Optical Zoom
NIKKOR Glass Lens
3.0"
Bright High Resolution
(460,000-dot) Touch LCD
HD
(720p) Movies
with Sound
Preview of HD (720p) Movie taken with the COOLPIX S4100

Tell better stories

One-Touch HD movie recording

Staying connected means sharing life's happiest and most poignant moments—and HD movies do that well. With the COOLPIX S4100's One-Touch recording feature, shooting high-quality movies has never been easier. Simply press the button and you'll be recording HD (720p) video complete with sound. Digital zoom gets you closer to the action whether you're at sporting events, beach parties, or music concerts. And watching and sharing your movies is simple with in-camera, TV or computer playback.

Versatility wrapped in style

Stylish, compact and powerful

First it turns heads...then it shoots their pictures. The COOLPIX S4100 packs versatile Nikon features into a compact, stylish camera for the design conscious. It comes in four cool colors—plum, black, red and silver—and slips right into your purse or coat pocket. At 0.8 inches thin and a feather weight 4.7 ounces, you'll hardly know it's there, and yet it's always ready to shoot high quality stills or HD (720p) movies at a party, on the beach or at a ballgame. You live life in high gear. You deserve a camera that keeps up with you every step of the way.
Front of the stylish COOLPIX S4100 in black
Image of the COOLPIX S4100's bright, 3-inch LCD Touch Screen display

A touch of ease

High quality, high resolution touch display

If you love fingertip operation with a cool, intuitive graphic interface, wait 'til you start taking photos with the COOLPIX S4100. The camera's clear, bright, three-inch touch LCD monitor comes alive with 460,000-dot detail. In shooting mode, Touch Shutter lets you choose a focus point simply by touching any part of the frame. There's also Touch AF/AE (Auto Focus/Auto Exposure) for convenient autofocus by touch. Plus, with Subject Tracking, you can touch any subject on the display and the COOLPIX S4100 will follow it through the frame.

Powerful and fun!

Superior image quality and zoom control

The COOLPIX S4100 may be stylish, slim and compact, but it also has plenty of power. Nikon has equipped it with a 14.0-megapixel CCD sensor that assures exceptional image quality. It's paired with a 5x wide-angle optical Zoom-NIKKOR glass lens that offers you excellent compositional freedom. Nikon's true glass lens boasts a focal length from 26–130mm, a range that zooms in for your best portrait shots and has a wide angle to cover beautiful landscapes.
Example photos demonstrating the COOLPIX S4100's 5x zoom
Previewing the COOLPIX S4100 camera and all of its features

Great shots made easy

Hassle-free Nikon technology

Imagine an affordable, compact camera that's also smart enough to automatically correct for camera shake, take a series of shots and save only the sharpest ones, or intuitively adjust shutter speed when you're focused on moving objects. The remarkable COOLPIX S4100 does all that and much more. It's equipped with a four-way Electronic VR Image Stabilization system that minimizes blurred images. Its Motion Detection identifies moving objects and adjusts both shutter speed and ISO to create optimal settings to achieve the best picture. With the COOLPIX S4100, Nikon has thought of everything.
Sample photos of several COOLPIX S4100 Scene Modes
At home in any setting

Equipped with 20 Scene Modes that automatically adjust the camera settings to assure optimum results for specific scenes, the COOLPIX S4100 is ready to take on your imagination.

Sample portraits taken with the COOLPIX S4100's Smart Portrait mode
Flattering portraits every time

Nikon's Smart Portrait System includes Smile Timer, which automatically recognizes when a subject is smiling and releases the shutter, Face-Priority AF, which finds and focuses on up to 12 faces, Blink Warning, Red-Eye Fix, Skin Softening and more.

Pet portrait taken with the COOLPIX S4100's Pet Mode feature
Better shots of your furry friends

The COOLPIX S4100 also includes Nikon's new Pet Mode feature, a technology that automatically finds and focuses on the face of your dog or cat.

Example photos of the COOLPIX S4100's Motion Detection feature
Sharper objects in motion

The COOLPIX S4100's Motion Detection feature identifies moving objects in your images and adjusts both shutter speed and ISO to keep them crisp and clear.

COOLPIX S4100 2.4 5 175 175
Nice overall for the price Bought camera to take on business trips & is first compact digital Nikon owned. Likes- touch screen, movie mode, impressive still photos and able to use high capacity memory cards. Dislikes- slow recycle time between shots, time delay after pressing trigger, proprietary USB adapter (not standard mini or micro). Haven't had the time nor patience to read through the owner's manual yet, but am sure there are many more capabilities that I will get to use. Proprietary USB adapter cord caused dead battery on recent trip as forgot to pack the cord for the AC adapter & local stores did not carry replacement. Overall, a very nice point and shoot for everyday pics. Still addicted to my 'old' real film SLRs though for creativity, but what do you expect from an old dog who still has working Betamax VCRs?. March 20, 2012
Pretty good photo results. The touch screen makes it a bit sensitive to objects that may accidentally hit it. The photos are in very good shape, but you've got to be careful in order to ensure the safety of the touch screen. March 5, 2012
Great features need advice to work through Unable to make a DVD movie. Tried but blank disc came out after program said finished Please advice, any suggests I appreciate Thank you Also any suggestion regarding picture time that was offered through you? December 5, 2011
Love this camera. Went on a vacation and enjoy all the features in this little dynamo!! October 3, 2011
I have not used it a lot yet. One of the things I did not like is it did not come with a memory card. September 7, 2011
Good camera, lousy manual Other than some experimental shots, I haven't used the camera, having bought it just recently for a trip. The disk "manual" doesn't presently play on my computer, but even if it did, am I supposed to carry a computer around with me to learn how to use this thing? With the cost of manufacturing the disk, I can't imagine you saved a buck over printing a full manual; but , even if you did, raise the price on the camera a dollar and give us a handy, usable manual. September 6, 2011
great features but poor info Nice camera but 200 pages of instructions are on a cd that you install on a computer. Crazy making, frustrating, time consuming situation so I finally gave up and returned it to the store. User friendiness is apparently of no concern to them and though I asked repeatedly if they would sell me a printed manual or instructions they said "no". 30 year Nikon user but no more. August 2, 2011
good! i recently got this camera for my birthday to replace a lost one. despite some of the negativity this camera has gotten, i like it alot! i havent had any problems with mine. the touch screen works well, though you have to use more of your fingernail. it takes good pictures. the quality good be a little sharper but other than that its not a bad purchase! July 4, 2011
Easy to carry around and use. The instruction book is intimidating, but overall, this is a camera that is easy to carry around and use. I took it on a vacation out west. It was easy to slip in a pocket, fanny pack or purse. No problem turning it off and on or taking pictures. There is a short time lag after a picture is taken before you can take another. July 4, 2011
Takes great pics on Portrait setting But I cannot download the 3 pics I accidentally took with the in-camera memory. The USB connection doesn't seem to work. My camera isn't being recognized by my computer. (My husband's Kodak camera is recognized, so it's not the computer.) June 20, 2011
Overall awesome. When I first got this camera and took it out of the box I was astounded on how small and light it was. Very sleek and classy looking, pretty fast with taking pictures and focuses very nicely. The camera automatically puts nice contrast into every picture and nice macro. Very easy to take everywhere with you and snap pictures of everything. You get the best parts of having a touch screen to slide through the pictures, but yet a couple buttons for easy access to video-taking, and viewing pictures. Deffinately worth the price if not better. (Attached pictures were larger, too large to fit on here so they are resized smaller.) June 6, 2011
problems... i love my camera, ive only had it a short time but i am impressed, i however have found a small bug, and was wondering if anyone else had run into the same issue. when i take a vertical picture, and then try to edit it on the camera, it wont let me, the screen flashes green and then takes me back to the picture, i can edit the horizontal pictures, just the vertical ones it wont let me do anything to, and its also not very clear when i shoot vertical. May 27, 2011
Nice camera for price nice camera for price. Zoom could be better but overall I enjoy it. May 24, 2011
This product is easy to use This camera does a great job outside but i am still getting use to useing it indoors. Maybe after more use i will get the hang of it. Only had it a short time.The touch screen works great.easy to view pictures. May 23, 2011
great for the money We really like this camera for ease in use, touch screen, clean sharp pictures. May 23, 2011
it's plus and minuses.. good thing about s4100, its touch screen, fast and can take high quality picture / movie.but sorry to say as time goes on i had this almost 2 years give or take, it shows its downside, it does not charge anymore, i did not use it often, never mis-use.like drop it or some otherway way to make it malfunction..it was a gift to me from my parents so i took great care for it..i googled and in the end landed back here nikon website and on my frequent shall i say "surfing" i noticed that its not just me that suffer the same fate about s4100 not charging, tried taking the memory off, it always blink a minute and nothing..also tried charging it with my computer, same result...sorry for the long explanation, my only advice is never leave this device uncharge for far too long,if it may in day, discharge (for a day or two,your call) it by leaving it on and turn its power saving feature "off" then charge it again..i repeat..please don't leave it for far too long uncharge..or suffer the same fate.. March 7, 2014
Okay It's an okay camera. It worked for 8 months but then it broke and I had to send it to the company for repair, and it works so far but it could have been better. December 13, 2012
Great for a child This is a great camera for a child, not much else I can say about it November 2, 2012
Great Features! bad lens. The CoolPix camera was great. I loved how I could store lots of pictures on the camera. It is light weight and I can take it anywhere. But one time I was at a campfire trying to take a picture of a musical performance, and I got it out real quick and accidentally pressed in the lens, and now I cannot take any more pictures. I also ran into a lady with the same camera who said she had a similar problem. I also felt like sometimes I would charge the battery fully, but the charge didn't last too long. August 30, 2012
Okay Camera I love this camera but sometimes I feel like it needs something more. Otherwise it's great. I love that you can frame and panit on a picture. August 1, 2012
S4100 Great little camera,easy to operate.I will recommend this camera to others.this is my 3rd Nikon,I've had good luck with all of them. March 8, 2012
Would not recommend without extended warranty I have had two Nikon coolpix digital cameras. I have had problems with the lens getting stuck on both of these cameras. Unfortunately, the first camera had just gone over the one year warranty when the problem occurred and I did not have an extended warranty. The store told me that it would cost more to fix than to purchase a new one so I did purchase a new Coolpix 4100. This camera experienced the same problem (lens would not open) after I had the camera for five months. Fortunately, I sent it to Nikon and it is presently being repaired under the warranty. While I really like the features of the Nikon coolpix and the pictures come out great, I would hesitate to purchase another one because of this lens issue. I would like to say that Nikon customer service was great and I am thrilled that the camera is being repaired under warranty. If this was not the case, I would not purchase anothe Coolpix for fear that the lens problem would occur again. I would like to reiterate, however, that the quality of the picures and the user-friendliness of the coolpix is great. October 12, 2011
I found it complicated. It was a gift and I don't know who to take it to to explain it to me. I can take a picture, but don't know how to review what I've taken ! October 10, 2011
Too Slow The touch screen is too slow Its not good enough in darkness October 2, 2011
Good Camera but not satisfied with Battery Bought this camera only a month ago, already experiencing problem with battery and charger.battery does not getting charge. No idea whether it is battery or charger. Picture quality and price is good. September 13, 2011
This product is so so. This camera takes great pictures but I've also had a lot of problems with it. The screen will occasionally do weird things and in the middle of my vacation it quit working completely and would never turn back on. I had to send it back to Nikon to get fixed and its been there for 2 months now and I have yet to get it back. My friend has one also and hes had similar problems with the screen doing funny stuff. September 5, 2011
good We have had this camera less than a year and already it needs repaired - I'm reserving judgment as of now. August 30, 2011
poor battery Upon purchasing the camera as an impulse purchase, it served it's purpose in the beginning. After 1 and 1/2 mos of use the battery would not charge. Apparently no warranty covers the battery. So after paying full price for the camera, I then had to turn around and pay full price for a new battery. The overall performance of the camera is all right. It just frustrates me to have to turn right around and purchase an new battery so quickly. Sorry. Bad experience. August 16, 2011
This product is ok While the camera itself is pretty enticing with its touch screen and zoom capabilities it doesn't very good pictures. They come out grainy and if you move in the slightest the picture will not turn out. I am kinda disappointed in the product. July 17, 2011
Good for a while... Camera worked great until it stop charging after less than 2 months of purchasing. Called Nikon for warranty and I have to send the camera in for repairs and wait until they fix it. NOT GOOD. This is my third Nikon camera and never had any issues, really good pictures. Bottom line, if you want to buy a Nikon, roll the dice and hope you never need warranty work on it!!! July 5, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 7
<<prev | next>>
89 Questions | 102 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
89 Questions | 102 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
7 Answers

I've only had my camera for a couple of months, and I can't get it to connect so I can charge it....

May 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
5out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful5
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
7 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks everyone. I was having troubles with mine charging also a couple months after my husband got it for me for Christmas. So I purchased a new charger and it worked for a few months and now I couldn't get it to charge again. I decided to google and see if there was something I was doing wrong and came across all of this. I read what you all had to say and took my memory card out just to try it and it worked and is charging as I type this. So thank you everyone for your comments to help this person!!!
Dec 6, 2012 by
by
sistafriend
pf, wi
Location : 
pf, wi
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
My daughter had not used her camera since Christmas because it wouldn't charge. Thanks to the forum and your answers, I removed the memory card and ta da, it's charging, thank you! Now to see how long it lasts... I'm just thrilled at this point to see it charging.
Mar 16, 2012 by
by
Andrea
SC
Location : 
SC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
To the Nikon Staff's answer. I recently purchased the S4100 and have had the same issues.

I just looked at page 161 of the manual and did not see anything listed regarding this issue.

Also, the camera can not be turned on to change settings since the battery will not charge.
Feb 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thank you!
Just called Nikon and reported the problem- they said to take into store and troubleshoot
but I decided to try taking out the memory card- it looks like it may be charging--- the light is at least blinking!
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've had problems charging my camera too! After the original one I purchased simply wouldn't charge as explained in the manual, I exchanged the camera for a different one, hoping that I had had bad luck with the battery or something. I just experienced the SAME problem today with my second one. I carefully followed all the instructions for charging the camera, but it simply wouldn't charge. My husband started playing around with it before we were going to return the camera, and one of the things he tried was removing the additional memory card we had been using. All of a sudden the camera started charging! We are now going to use the camera and drain the battery again, to try to confirm whether removing the additional storage media is the secret to charging these cameras, or if this was just a strange fluke. If anyone else has any ideas or feedback to share, please do! We really like this camera, but obviously need it to charge when necessary!
Jan 1, 2012 by
by
The one known for capturing "the moments"
Seattle, WA, USA
Location : 
Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Wow! Glad I am not the only one with this problem. I wondered if this was a problem with the camera. Mine is doing the same thing. I actually called to day and I have to send the adapter, they said, to be replaced. Since they know this, you think they would just send me one instead of me sending them the "bad" one. Call Nikon, and if you can return the camera where you bought it, do it! Wish I did.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
SanTan
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-8points
8out of 24found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful16
Answer: 
Please verify the settings that you have in order to charge your camera through the Computer or wall charger. See page# 161 of the User's Manual for the COOLPIX s4100.
May 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
12 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S4100
 
3 Answers

Lost my USB cable--where can I get a replacement?

Feb 10, 2012 by
by
Tom
Dallas TX
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Tom
Dallas TX
Location : 
Dallas TX
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Noticed that the S4100 uses a proprietary USB adapter, not a standard mini or micro. Tried numerous electronic & camera stores while on business trip as forgot the special adapter at home, although they carry the camera, they do not have the specialty adapter cable. To make sure this does not happen again, I bought 2 Nikon OEM cables from a dealer on-line & will make sure they are labeled as Nikon cables &keep one packed with the laptops. Hope this helps
Mar 20, 2012 by
by
Gatorbill
Florida, USA
Location : 
Florida, USA
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Be sure it has mini USB connection on one end. While the standard USB connection on one end is universal, manufacturers were notorious for using all types of proprietary connection scheme on the other end, not unlike cellphone manufacturers with their chargers until recently as dictated by change in the law. No such law exist for camera manufacturers so far as I know. Nikon is good about using standard mini USB for their connection.
Feb 12, 2012 by
by
JuhanK

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Anywhere, any usb cable will work in it.
Feb 11, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
2 Answers

Broken Screen

Apr 10, 2011 by
by
rick
nyc
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Can the LCD screen be replaced? And what's the cost if possible?
S4100
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
rick
nyc
Location : 
nyc
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes, I just had my screen replaced at a cost of $91.
May 10, 2011 by
by
Alan
Chicago
Location : 
Chicago
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
You will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our techs in order to provide you with an estimate to repair it.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
2 Answers

images are underexposed and cant focus subject well.. vedio goes blur with zoom in

May 9, 2011 by
by
aman
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
I bought a new nikon s3100 recently based upon the success of its predecessor model nikon S3000 which nikon claims to be the best seller for europe. Photos i shoot with my camera were under exposed, dark and subject cant be focused well... it was not expected from the renowned brand worldwide nikon at least...

moreover, while shootind vedio if we zoom in.. it gets blurred..so finally i would not suggest this product to anyone..i will be thankful if nikon support team can help me for the issue..
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
aman
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
This obviously is a problem with their cameras now, as I too have the same problem. I thought at first I just wasnt using the camera correctly or the settings. Well too late to return now and it has only been a month. If you can get yours fixed with that blurriness let me know. I wonder if it is just the camera. I feel stuck with this terrrible camera. I too had a 3100 series and it was better than the 4100S.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
SanTan
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send some sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
2 Answers

How do I raise the ISO setting level?

May 23, 2011 by
by
Flora
United States
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am getting very blurred picture in rooms that aren't lit to well. How do you raise the ISO level? I can't seem to find the settings on this camera?
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Flora
United States
Location : 
United States
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The camera in general does not work well in dimly lit places, like performances. There is a slider bar that when you touch the screen, it will pop-up on the right side to adjust the lighting. Also if you go to the menu, there is a place to change the shutter which should help.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
SanTan
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
While on Auto mode you Tap the bottom tab > ISO sensitivity. See page# 53 of the user's manual of the s4100.
May 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
2 Answers

Does this camera have selective color

Jul 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
United States
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
United States
Location : 
United States
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
yes it came with three choices...black, red, and blue.
Jul 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes, this camera has the selective color feature.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Windows 7 home premium
View NX2 v2.1.2
plug camera into usb. It appears in devices and printers window but with the yellow triangle stating that the drivers are not installed. It is identified as "NIKON DSC COOLPIX S4100-PTP" The camera is not in "My computer" I just purchased a little over a month ago from Costco and I am finally trying to download the memory card. What do I do now?
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Dave
California, USA
Location : 
California, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try running Windows update while the camera is plugged in, it should find and download any available drivers.
May 8, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Try downloading from here, make sure you pick the correct version! 32bit or 64 bit Windows 7. Not sure click start, right click computer, then click on properties and look at system

http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17737/related/1
May 8, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
1 answer

Are you able to print the time & date stamp on a printed photo?

Mar 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this model has the date imprint feature (date and time).
Mar 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
1 answer

Is there any way to change the video format to something other than a .avi file?

Mar 19, 2011 by
by
Beginner
Maine
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Beginner
Maine
Location : 
Maine
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You would need to use a 3rd party application to do that.
Mar 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
1 answer

how do i shut off the flash?

Mar 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Tab on the Flash Mode Control in order to displayed the menu and choose OFF.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers