Loading

Create in any light

The COOLPIX P300 brings the craftsmanship of a precision instrument and the power of a full-size D-SLR together in a minimalist form. At the heart of its incredible performance is a specially crafted f/1.8 NIKKOR lens that delivers razor-sharp images and a D-SLR quality, back-illuminated CMOS sensor that provides superb image quality, high speed operation and exceptional low-light results. Whether you're shooting portraits, panoramas, weddings, real estate, products, publicity stills or any other challenging compositions, the COOLPIX P300 will showcase your photographic skills and extend your creativity.
VR Image Stabilization icon Motion Detection icon ISO Sensitivity Up To 3200 icon Backside Illumination CMOS Sensor icon Clear Color Display icon Smart Portrait System icon Scene Auto Selector icon Subject Tracking icon Full HD (1080p) Movie icon
12.2
Effective Megapixels
CMOS Sensor
4.2X
Wide-Angle Optical Zoom
NIKKOR Glass Lens
3.0"
Ultra-High Resolution
(921,000-dot) LCD
HD
Full HD (1080p) Movie
with Stereo Sound
A low-light sample photo and a closeup of the COOLPIX P300's 4.2x wide-angle, f/1.8 NIKKOR glass lens

The fastest COOLPIX lens ever

A specially crafted f/1.8 NIKKOR lens

The COOLPIX P300 does justice to your photographic talents with a remarkable 4.2x wide-angle, f/1.8 NIKKOR glass lens—the fastest lens Nikon has ever designed into a COOLPIX camera. It has a 24–100mm optical zoom range and impressive telephoto performance for razor-sharp images. Its f/1.8 maximum aperture assures exceptional low-light results and maximum depth of field control. Simply put, this high-performance lens catches detailed images while displaying Nikon's proud tradition of producing precision camera optics.

Remarkable performance

Advanced features for challenging conditions

Its 12.2-megapixel CMOS sensor provides superb image quality, high speed operation, and exceptional low-light performance. The back-illuminated CMOS lets you shoot true-to-life pictures with remarkable detail and color clarity. The COOLPIX P300's four-way VR Image Stabilization is also a boon for handheld shooting. Custom optimized for this COOLPIX P300 model, Nikon's exclusive EXPEED C2 processing engine enhances professional quality images.
Stunning photos take by the COOLPIX P300
COOLPIX P300 Mode dial with Manual Control

Hands-on control

Manual control for the serious photographer

The COOLPIX P300 allows photographers to stretch their creative limits with an impressive range of manual control. There's a Mode Dial for quick and convenient control over select settings, including shutter, aperture, programmed and manual exposure. Exposure Bracketing automatically brackets exposure for three shots, and the ISO can be set as high as 3200 at full resolution to control image quality in low-light conditions or when shooting fast moving subjects.

Catch all the action

One-Touch Full HD (1080p) movies

With the COOLPIX P300, you can shoot Full HD (1080p) movies with stereo sound. The One-Touch recording button allows instant moviemaking, while the optical zoom control creates a variety of cinematic effects. You can even shoot slow- and fast-motion HD movies with options for 15, 60 and 120 frames per second (at reduced resolution). Viewing and sharing your movies is simple with in-camera playback and an HDMI-CEC output for convenient hookup to an HDTV or computer.
Back of the COOLPIX P300 showing its One-Touch HD (1080p) Movie recording button
Sample photos from the COOLPIX P300 using Easy Panorama and Scene Modes

Eliminate the guesswork

Intuitive scene modes for brilliant results

Every shooting environment comes with its own unique characteristics. The COOLPIX P300 optimizes settings for up to 20 common scenes so you simply point and shoot. Turn on the Scene Auto Selector and the camera automatically recognizes the scene you're in and selects the best one from among seven choices. With Nikon's ingenious Easy Panorama Scene Mode, just pan in any direction and it will automatically detect the movement, then combine and assemble the various shots into one seamless 180 or 360-degree panoramic image.
Soft Focus and High-Contrast Monochrome special effects example photos
Creative potential unleashed

The COOLPIX P300 offers in-camera special effects including High-Contrast Monochrome for sophisticated black and white shots, Nostalgic Sepia for shots with an antiqued look, Soft Focus to create ethereal compositions and High and Low Key settings.

Example portraits using the COOLPIX P300's Smart Portrait System
Better portraits every time

Nikon's Smart Portrait System includes Smile Timer, which automatically recognizes when a subject is smiling and releases the shutter, Face-Priority AF, which finds and focuses on up to 12 faces, Blink Warning, Red-Eye Fix, Skin Softening and more.

Multiple photos taken with the COOLPIX P300's Best Shot Selector
Strength in numbers

You'll love Nikon's Best Shot Selector, which automatically takes up to ten shots with a single press of the shutter and then selects and saves only the sharpest one.

Stunning close-up (macro) photo taken with the COOLPIX P300
Amazing close-up (macro) shots

With the COOLPIX P300's macro shooting capabilities, you'll capture stunning texture and detail rarely seen by the naked eye. From insects and flowers to textiles and food, the COOLPIX P300 allows for macro shooting as close as 1.2 inches.

COOLPIX P300 4.5 5 43 43
Small package big results I bought this camera for only two reasons, it's size and it's ability to shoot in low light and it does those two things exceptionally well. I have other Nikon cameras with longer lenses and more functions, however they are larger and more of a burden to carry so I would find myself setting them down especially at social functions, however, this is where I wanted my camera the most but did not need a long lense . The P300 is not much bigger than a deck of playing cards and now I move my camera from my hand to my pocket so it is always with me when I want it. The P300 ability to shoot in low light is amazing and most of the time a flash is not needed which solves many red eye issues. December 26, 2011
Outstanding camera Easy to use right out of the box. Controls are instinctive and easy to use. Absolutely amazed at the ability of the camera to take quality pictures in low light conditions. November 7, 2011
Great camera for the price Needed a smaller camera to go along with my D7000. The P300 fits the bill. Easy to use small but excellent lens and easy to use. October 10, 2011
Amazing Camera This is absolutely the most stunning and creative small point and shoot camera ever made. It literally can shoot in the dark with excellent results. Within the settings menus I can create results that equal or surpass my pro Nikon DSLR's. With an F1.8 lens and high ISO ability that show no pixilating you can get highly creative with available low light. In normal light I can tweak the saturation and color levels to get very artistic photos that look like film. It does not have long zoom capacity but that never works in a small camera anyway because that's when you need a DSLR and a serious pro long lens like a 70-200 or 200-400. This small P300 can replace my large pro DSLR's and bag of lenses in most practical day to night shooting. You do have to have the eye and the chops of a pro photographer to get the most out of this great camera so I hesitate to even call it a point and shoot model. September 24, 2011
Awesome camera This is by far the best point and shoot camera I've bought. What I liked: 1) Slow motion video (120fps) although it's only 640x480. 2) fast and accurate focus 3) easy to use and very simple control 4) size and weight 5) solid construct 6) quality of image What I think it can do even better 1) small lag in 1080p video 2) small lag after a shot is taken Overall, I would highly recommand this camera. September 19, 2011
Small, BIG Nikkor Lens, Manual Control...Perfect I took delivery of a P300 last week, and so far I am very pleased. I was the 'first on the block' in 2002 with a Coolpix 5700---the first 5Mp camera. I have taken some wonderful images with the 5700, but the low resolution is something I couldn't live with any more. The P300 is a terrific update, and it fits in my pocket. It interfaces with my HDTV so well that I'm going to finally sell my Kodak Carousel projector and trays...no more film. Well done, Nikon. August 25, 2011
Great features- lots of control Ive had this camera a few months now. It's great. It has so many features that my D90 has and fits in a pocket. Sharp photos at 1.8 lens opening. Excellent image stabalization. Exposure compensation, histogram, bracketing, Shutter Priority, aperture priority, and easy to access and use manual! It goes to 24 wide at 1.8, and down to 4.9 at 100mm. Very sharp photos. Enclosed are a few shots, all handheld. August 19, 2011
A solid performer !! I hv been using the NIKON p300 for a week now. Pros: low light capability, excellent silhouettes, Good Auto White Balancing and excellent color reproduction ( u need to tweak both settings initially), 24 mm Wide angle lens a boon, Sharp images in general . Cons: Flash photography could hv been better. Camera looks boxy, no visual appeal. Waiting for NIKON to update this camera with a sleeker look and a slightly bigger sensor for images to rival those using mirror-less 4/3 cameras. July 20, 2011
The only thing missing from this camera is the RAW format. If it had that, it would be the perfect P&S camera June 22, 2011
DSLR features in a point and shoot sized body I love this camera. Ive had it less than a week, but find new things about it everyday by really reading the manual, which is unfortunately on a disk, but thats the norm now. Several focusing modes. I set the ISO to 160, but it has options. Very easy to use. Macro up to 1.2 inches and sharp as a tack. Menu easy to navigate, and has even more features than my D90. I find so far no problem with the battery life. I dont like the flimsy little rubber door on the bottom that you plug into to recharge the battery in the camera. Just purchased a second battery and Nikon has another charger that charges ouside the camera . Although Im sure I would use spotmetering at some point, and the P300 doesnt have it, not a big deal. Bright sharp screen. 1.8 lens! If you care about video its1080 P. I bought a fast memory card .The pictures read fast, and will take a half hour video. The 24 wide is great, the 100 telephoto is a limitation, but everything else about this camera makes that unimportant to me. A good purchase- worth the money.Quality in a camera that really will fit in your shirt pocket. June 13, 2011
Convert to Nikon I am a senior citizen who fell in love with photography in high school. Over the years I have owned many cameras and witnessed spectacuar advancements in technology. I am still putting my new Nikon P300 through some tests, but already I have decided it is the best camera in which I have ever invested my money. I bought it primarily for its F:1.8 lens, (I hate to use flash), high-def movies and compact size. But I was amazed at the amount of technology that is packed into this little guy. I am especially delighted with the in-camera editing functions, particularly the filter effects. Photos and movies are exceptionally sharp and the controls are easy to use and understand. The body has a heft and feel that I like very much. So far I have not found any negatives, (excuse the pun). June 7, 2011
Great compact Very fast lens. can take pics indoor with low light. Tried Nikon 8100, 9100 and wasn't satisfied. Paid more for better product. May 26, 2011
Outstanding camera Superb image quality Smart design Excellent Manual controls May 25, 2011
Excellent for night photography I enjoy shooting urban scenes handheld at night and the P300 is the first pocket camera I’ve been able to capture these types of photos. Excellent low-light capabilities - fast lens combined with the VR stabilization makes this an ideal camera for me. A quantum leap for Nikon in the compact category. May 25, 2011
Excellent image quality... particularly in low-light situations. One change that Nikon could make to their P-series cameras is to make the on/off switch more pronounced - so it's easier to actuate with a gloved hand. May 23, 2011
Quality photos for such a small camera Was easy to learn the mail features and start taking photos. I used it on a trip just a few days after getting it and got great results. May 23, 2011
The Perfect P&S For ME! WOW is all I can say about my new Nikon P300. There is so much to love about this point and shoot camera, like the fast F/1.8 lens, the 24-100mm zoom in 35mm format, the easy panorama, and the Monochrome B&W. Trust me with all the features you WILL need to read the manual. Perhaps something that Nikon could do is add RAW format in the next firmware update, this would make the Nikon P300 perfect! April 30, 2011
fascinating I love this, I'm a passanger and I do very well works with my camera, Using the camera seems a little challenging at first, which means that the P300 is not the best digital camera for first timers. However, after some time it quickly becomes easy to make shooting with the P300 a little easier. Some of the features which you can expect to find on the compact digital camera include a 12.2-megapixel camera sensor which is coupled with a 4.2x zoom lens. February 16, 2011
Nikon delivers with this P&S Almost bought a canon S95 but P300 provided enough reasons not to. The main thing was to buy a camera which is small enough to carry around, yet take excellent pictures and videos. I have used it for almost 8 months now and I like it a lot. It stays in my car a.k.a it stays with me. Specifically, I like to take macro, food and black&White street photos. For these types of pictures, I needed something handy. What I like: Focus - Fast focus and unbelievable close distance focus (macro) Lens - Sharp lens with widest setting of f1.8. Believe me, it makes a difference to go all the way down to f1.8 in low light. It also helps in getting good enough bokeh if you are creative with the subject and background. Screen - Bright screen to click and review photos. Speed/Video options - Burst rate is good for running kids (although I use my D300s for sharp kids photos). Video has some cool slow motion options. Again good with kids and pets. Sufficient light is important though. Battery: Brilliant no of shots per charge. What I don't like (no, its not about the RAW): 1. I couldn't figure out how to reduce the excessive sharpening/noise reduction (over processing). I struggle to get natural looking portraits. 2. Battery does not give to enough advance warning before going full to about 0.1%. 3. Some of the menu options are quirky. Overall - Good camera from Nikon and you could see its loved by a lot of people on various websites and reviews. February 9, 2012
Decent P&S with some limitations I was looking for a small form factor P&S with manual control capabilities, good low light performance and video capabilities to augment my DSLR/Lens set when I wanted to go light. The choice was between the Canon S95 and the Nikon P300. As a Nikon photographer I decided for the P300 even though the S95 has a bigger sensor and has RAW support. Key factors for the decision were back lit sensor with good low light performance, great lens, PASM modes, video, great LCD display and nice form factor. Overall I am happy with the camera, but it has limitations: it really should have RAW support , the autofocus can be slow and the sensor has a tendency to blow high lights in contrasty situations. December 7, 2011
A point and shoot that lets you explore. A fun camera to shoot while in auto mode and gets better the more you experiment with exposures ect. What a lens for point and shoot that allows great low light shooting. All this power to perform that handily fits in your shirt pocket. It's my grab and go camera. Thought the battery access door to be a bit lite in build quality is my only negative. A great camera overall. December 4, 2011
Seems quite reasonable for digiscoping We bought the Nikon for digiscoping birds. We found that we could get a Nikon fsb-8 adaptor which would fit our Leica spotting scope, which it does, after addition of some electrical tape around the eye-piece. The Nikon P300 seems to work quite well at digiscoping, and seems a perfectly reasonable little point-and-shoot as well. If we could afford it we'd have gotten a Leica camera and spotting scope mount, but the big bucks haven't trickled down here yet. October 31, 2011
Impressive Picture Taking Capability This is my first Nikon for quite a while. I have an old Coolpix 3200 from about 10 years ago (still have it - great for taking eBay pics). The P300 meets my personal requirements for a P&S, (i.e. wider angle of view, fast lens, some manual control), as my typical use of a P&S is for indoor shots. Sure I wished it had a longer zoom (which I had in my previous camera) but you can't have it all. The reason for the 4 stars (instead of 5), the overall build quality and ergonomic design is inferior to my previous P&S (a Panasonic TZ5). The P300 feels cheap and fragile compared to the TZ5, although I like that it is very light and compact. The overall feel of the controls, the hand grip, the battery door, etc. are just not first rate and a little disappointing. Overall its picture taking capabilities are quite impressive for a P&S and a great camera for what it's designed to do. October 29, 2011
I wanted a small digital instead of always using a large format camera. While i am very impressed with its big-camera capability in such a small package, the sharp 1.8 lense, easy control buttons/scrolls, and the numerous settings to accomodate all lighting situations, particularly low-light, night-time shots, I am unimpressed with the short battery life. I bought an extra battery and a charger (that did not need to be plugged into camera- bad idea), and still found that i needed to charge battery after maybe 100-150 shots....long before I ever would have expected to! The battery icon in top right corner does not show when battery is getting low - it just dies! For Nikon to give this camera such praise, I would expect top notch operations across the board...starting with a much better longer-life battery and an accurate low battery (warning) icon! I used 2 F3's for years, one I still have (from 1985) and would never part with, a Nikon Action-Touch, and a small Leica point-shoot (all film). My large format digital is a Canon and even though I have 2 extra batteries, I never worry about when I need to replace it - the low-life battery icon is very specific. Also, all cameras should be accompanied by the REAL manual, not this abreviated version! WHY? If I have purchased the camera, I should not have to purchase the REAL manual! But yes, I do like this camera. October 17, 2011
Really nice camera Really appreciate the cameras ability to take good pictures in low-light situations, the reason why i bought it. Dont mind that it is lacking RAW but manual focus should be an option, hence the missing star. October 11, 2011
I've reviewed customers' comments for many different p& s cameras online, and finally I purchased Coolpix P300 from Amazon with significant promotional discount. The quality of picture is excellent and it is easy to use right out of box. It also has manuel mood beside its provision of many preset scenes and preference. I'm very pleased with my choice. October 4, 2011
Very Happy! Looking for a new P&S to complement my D40 (and hopefully a D7000 in the future) and provide more features than my somewhat long-in-the-tooth Canon A700, decided on the P300. Took it on trips to Seattle (including Olympic National Park and Mount Rainier), Germany, and a beach vacation; I've been more than pleased with the results. Screen is easily viewed even in bright sun (my first camera without a viewfinder). Relatively wide angle lens is a joy. Great picture quality (at higher resolutions); some "crunching" noticeable if cropped really tight. Manual settings take a little time to get used to but no more "annoying" than my D40--in fact, some are quicker and easier to set. The wide variety of scene selections are great for when I don't have time (or patience) to do everything manual. Low light performance is a huge improvement over what I had--I've now taken some great low light shots that have received compliments from fellow photo enthusiasts. My kids love the slow-mo video--constantly ask me to film them doing stuff. Easily pocketable (at least in cargo shorts)--I've found myself taking this camera along when I never would have taken my other cameras. A few negatives. Slightly higher zoom would be nice but I can live with it as is (I just have to get into position to get the shot). Longer time-frame "continuous" option would be useful; the 8 shot/second burst mode (that only lasts for one second) just doesn't cover enough time (for a kid running down a field or body surfing). Even just 2 shots/second until shutter is released (or till buffer is full or whatever) would allow capture of that sort of action. Would be nice if lens retracted when you switched to view picture mode--more than once my kids (and even I) have stuck our fingers right on the lens when looking at photos. Would have given it 5 stars if not for above. Overall, very pleased with this. Great pictures, lots of options, manual settings, and pocketable, all for a reasonable price. September 16, 2011
Great but would like more I never do reviews. I don't see the point because it's tough to take a strangers review with any seriousness because you don't know if they even know what they have and how to use it properly. With that said I've mostly been a Canon guy and got this because it was in my price range and I wanted something a little nicer than a P&S. I got it right before I took a trip to Kenya so I could have a nice, durable travel camera. It's a good camera but very touchy and sensitive, had some outright stalls and the camera would just turn off for no reason. Honestly, if I had more money I'd spring for a Canon S95 because I want the RAW, clearer photos and more durable body as well as more aspect ratios that the P300 lacks. But I have this and am writing a review because Nikon sent me an email asking me to. August 26, 2011
Very good camera for point & shoot Everything about this camera is top notch. The menus are the easiest to navigate of any camera I've owned before. The picture quality is great. Ease of use is exceptional. The only negative I have is the lack of a paper user manual. Everything is online. What do you do if you don't have a computer? August 22, 2011
Coolpix P300 I like the simple looks of the camera. Manual functions make the camera incredibly powerful. However not having Raw defeats the purpose. I've had this camera for several months. and more and more, I'm looking to PP images and it just isn't possible. Still a great camera if PP is not your thing. July 24, 2011
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
45 Questions | 59 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
45 Questions | 59 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX P300
 
4 Answers

Hello, why don't you add RAW-Mode to the Nikon Coolpix P300?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
DanielS
+8points
9out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
DanielS
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
RAW involves extra work in the workflow and I don't want to put a lot of time in P&S RAW processing. Having said that, if Nikon does include RAW support in P300 or P400(future, which I am sure they will), lot of enthusiasts will give this camera a try and probably will like it. Its Nikon's chance to be amongst 5 star P&S category. Somehow Nikon has always been in 4 star bucket (behind Canon and Pana).
Jun 17, 2011 by
by
Techmine
Dallas
Location : 
Dallas
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
Answer: 
I hope they do in a firmware update, this will enhance the camera ratings.
May 24, 2011 by
by
Eldeeb

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
But that would improve the quality! CHDK for Nikon cameras, that would be very very very great.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
DanielS

-5points
4out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful9
Answer: 
I would imagine that for most people that buy this camera jpeg is plenty good enough and dont want the added "effort" that comes with shooting raw. Not everyone shoots raw, even with top end equipment.
Apr 2, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P300
 
2 Answers

Does this camera have a ruberized surface like the S8100 and S9100?

Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Bruce
Colorado
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Bruce
Colorado
Location : 
Colorado
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nope. Small parts of it are rubberised for grip, but the main body is smooth plastic (or some other composite material that is extremely light).
Apr 8, 2011 by
by
Ryan W
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The body furface is not the same, like the s8100 and the s9100.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P300
 
2 Answers

How much full-HD video can this camera capture at a time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
That is, when the video recording button is depressed, will the camera film for a certain amount of time (e.g. 10 min) before automatically stopping or will it continue indefinitely? If the former, is there a way to set it so that it can take video continuously until the battery or free memory run out? Also, how much full-HD video generally can be captured on a full battery charge (assuming unlimited memory)? An hour? Two hours?
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can record HD for 30 minutes. I then stop the video and start it again.
Jun 10, 2011 by
by
byron92806
CA, USA
Location : 
CA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The maximum movie length for a single movie is 4 GB or 29 minutes, even when there is sufficient free space on the memory card. The maximum movie length for a single movie is displayed during recording.
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P300
 
2 Answers

can p300 print the date stamp on the picture taken?

Apr 1, 2011 by
by
robin
USA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
can p300 print the date stamp on the picture?
3 years ago
by
robin
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes there is.

menu button > navigate to the wrench icon > scroll to "print date" > select "date" or "date and time".

Good luck and happy shooting!
Apr 8, 2011 by
by
Ryan W
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this model has the date imprint feature (date and time).
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P300
 
2 Answers

Can you turn off digital zoom on the Nikon P300?

Apr 4, 2011 by
by
Sharon
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I really dislike digital zoom and prefer to crop my own photos when necessary instead of using digital zoom. My old point-and-shoot had a menu item to turn off digital zoom. Can I turn off digital zoom on the P300? If not, how do I know when I'm going into digital zoom?
3 years ago
by
Sharon
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes there is.

menu button > scroll to wrench > digital zoom > off or on.

Hope that helps. Happy shooting!
Apr 8, 2011 by
by
Ryan W
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
When the camera is zoomed in to the maximum optical zoom position, rotating and holding the zoom control at T triggers digital zoom. Digital zoom can magnify the subject up to about 2x beyond the maximum magnification of the optical zoom. To disable the digital zoom press MENU > SETUP > DIGITAL ZOOM > OFF.
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P300
 
2 Answers

How does the manual exposure work with a single dial?

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
kikkomon
Chicago
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
kikkomon
Chicago
Location : 
Chicago
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are two dials for manual. The one on the top of the camera controls the shutter speed, the one on the back of the camera controls the f stops. Very easy to use, and information for both is displayed on screen in easy to read numbers.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
shooter
Hampstead, NH
Location : 
Hampstead, NH
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you are referring to Exposure compensation, please see page # 39 for more information.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P300
 
2 Answers

is there a limit on the size of SDHC card the camera can take? Thinking of buying a 64GB.

May 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am shooting with a 16GB card, but the User's Manual indicates the camera will accomodate 64SDXC cards from SanDisk, Toshiba and Panasonic.
Jun 7, 2011 by
by
Proteus
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click in the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix P300
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P300
 
2 Answers

How is the quality on this camera?

Jun 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I'm looking for a camera (from Nikon) with REALLY good image quality but not to expensive.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I think the image quality is really, really good. I just visited DC last weekend, and have 3 photos I'm going to see if I can post in a review. All three were handheld, different modes, different ISO's, etc. I continue to be surprise at the clarity. If they accept the review I think it takes a day or two to publish. As far as expensive, with the ton of features this camera has built into this point and shoot sized body, I thought it was well worth the money.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
AT
Hampstead, NH
Location : 
Hampstead, NH
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It will be a good idea that you compare the specifications of all currents cameras side by side to see which one will fits your needs within your price range. You can use the comparison tool in our website.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P300
 
2 Answers

Battery charger.....

Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Pg
San Jose, CA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I bought the camera for a gift. I just read that you recharge the battery while its in the camera. I can't open the box (it's a gift, remember) and want to know if this is true or do you have to buy an extra external battery charger in order to charge the battery outside the camera?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Pg
San Jose, CA
Location : 
San Jose, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a charger included with the camera that charges the battery inside the camera. Since I was going to buy a backup battery anyway, Nikon makes a secondary charger called the MH-65 which charges the battery outside of the camera. I bought that. Id say the charge time is around 4 hours.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
AT
Hampstead, NH
Location : 
Hampstead, NH
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Battery, charger and cable are all supplied in the box.
Jun 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P300
 
2 Answers

LCD display - live histogram?

Jul 4, 2011 by
by
Dan
Midwest
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Does the LCD display include a live histogram to be viewed while composing the photo?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Dan
Midwest
Location : 
Midwest
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Histogram during review of photo, not live. Also shows ISO, how much exposure value if any that you used, Whatt mode you shot in, shutter speed and lens opening.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
AT
Hampstead,NH
Location : 
Hampstead,NH
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
When you're adjusting the Exposure compensation a compensation guide and histogram are displayed.
Jul 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers