Loading
;

Key Features

Superior Image Quality
  • 14.1-megapixel CCD sensor for stunning images.
  • 5x Wide-Angle Optical Zoom-NIKKOR ED Glass Lens. Versatile 35-175mm lens ranges wide to capture landscapes, zooms in to get close to the action. In the NIKKOR tradition of precision optics, the high-quality ED glass lens delivers superb color and razor-sharp results.
  • 5-way VR Image Stabilization System 
    • Optical VR Image Stabilization by lens shift minimizes the effects of camera shake. 
    • Hybrid VR Image stabilization by lens shift and electronic VR. 
    • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and ISO to compensate for camera shake and subject movement.
    • High ISO up to 6400 for optimum results when shooting in low light or photographing fast-moving subjects.
    • Nikon’s Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to ten shots while the shutter is pressed, then selects and saves the sharpest image. 
  • EXPEED C2 continues to expand the possibilities of photography with improved levels of image quality, fine detail and processing speed. Custom-optimized for each COOLPIX model, Nikon’s renowned digital image processing engine ensures outstanding images.
Creative Control
  • ISO can be set as high as 6400 (3M or smaller images)
  • In-camera Picture editing include Quick Retouch, Active D-Lighting, Soft Focus, Selective Color, Cross Screen, Fish-eye effect, Miniature effect and more.
  • Touch Control Display makes it easy to write or draw on the large Display.
  • Built-in Slide Show with Music.
  • Subject Tracking track a moving subject to ensure sharp focus.
Convenient Features
  • Smart Portrait System
    • Smile Timer automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles.
    • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically corrects most instances of red-eye as you shoot. You may never see red-eye again.
    • Face-Priority AF. Nikon’s face-finding technology automatically detects up to 12 faces.
    • Skin Softening smoothes skin tones at three different levels for optimal portraits; can be applied while shooting or during playback.
    • Blink Proof automatically takes two sequential shots and saves the one in which your subject's eyes are open.
    • Blink Warning alerts you if a subject has blinked.
  • 17 Scene modes automatically adjusts camera settings for specific scenes
  • Easy Auto Mode automatically recognizes the scene you're shooting and selects the most appropriate scene mode; offers six scene modes plus auto.
  • Macro shooting as close as 2.8 inches.
  • 150 shots (approx.) with supplied EN-EL10 Li-ion rechargeable battery.
HD Movie Recording
  • HD (720p) Movie with Stereo and HDMI Output, optical Zoom control and stereo sound recording. HDMI output allows easy in-camera playback or convenient playback on HD-TV or computer.
Advanced Functions
  • 3.5-inch Ultra-High Resolution (819,000-dot) Organic LED (OLED) Clear Color Display for still images and HD movies that come alive with rich detail and improved contrast. The large Touch Control Display controls the camera’s key functions, and the display's wide viewing angle, brightness control and anti-glare coating make it easy to compose, view and share pictures.
  • Ultra-Slim design. Just 0.7 inches thin.
  • Sliding lens cover linked to power-on.
  • Enhanced User Interface for intuitive operation.
COOLPIX S80 3.3 5 83 83
NEED FOR RECALL First of all I am a big fan of Nikon cameras! Secondly I hate criticizing anything… but consumer BEWARE on this one… I love cutting edge technology and have always tried to upgrade to newer and better products when I can. AND, I do read reviews as this is an important part of my decision making… Unfortunately when you do buy the latest and greatest products on the market, most have not been ‘time tested’, so occasionally one can get ‘burnt’… I purchased an S80 last January and have N-E-V-E-R liked it. The touch screen is a pain, sometimes having to repeat the touch multiple times. The sliding lens cover at times does not activate the camera. The picture quality is simply not there. I have read other reviews and agree that taking a great picture is really hard to do with this camera… The camera caught my eye esthetically… It’s clean and compact, and even came with a nice leather pouch; but after just a few months of use, the lens cover is terribly discolored and there are now several camera body scratches caused by dust and debris particles that got trapped under the sliding cover! Don’t give up on Nikon; just don’t buy this camera… December 5, 2011
Do Not Buy! We have had this for just under a year (X-mas 2010), and have a number of issues with this! The sliding lens cover always opens up if its in a bag. As a result, lint has found its way into the inside of the camera lens, and so we have a black line on every photo. Every picture is either blurry, dark, or bright. There is no balance, no crispness, just terrible. We went to the Grand Canyon and our iPhones took much better pictures than this camera. November 14, 2011
blurry mess My husband bought this camera for me as a christmas gift and was told by best buy salesman it was the best... WRONG! This is the worst camera I have ever owned. I was a previous kodak fan and needed a new camera and I heard such great things about nikon that I thought I'd give it a shot, well I have had a 20 dollar digital camera that was better than this one... Pictures are blurry and does not have a fast reaction time when taking pictures so I tend to miss alot of the candid moments.... I don't think I will own another nikon again. Terrible product! November 12, 2011
Unimpressive So the features sounded cool. It was touchscreen, blah blah blah but in reality the thing could not take a clear decent picture if you begged it. No matter how cool your features are, if you cant take a clear picture, no one will ever know. October 10, 2011
Terrible I am going to S. Africa in 2 weeks and I will be taking my old digital camera. This S80 is great looking but a real pain to use. You have to be careful where you put your fingers while taking a photo. If you don't tap "Just so" nothing happens. To delete photos, it's a 3-step process. Everything about this camera is annoying. I am so disappointed in this camera & the Nikon brand. September 8, 2011
Takes pictures that seem to be out of focus I had an S60 that Igave away and got the S80, bad move . Touch screen does not work all the time and the pictures are not sharp and clear lke the S60. I think I will try to swap back. . August 22, 2011
Don't consider it! Poor battery life. Difficult to get photo that isn't blurry, regardless of steadiness of hand or camera speed. Poor placement of lens; hard to hold steady, which contributes to blurry photos. Touchscreen is very difficult to get to respond. Already repaired once (long delay!) by Nikon, but still poor response to touchscreen commands. Manual is complete, but is on DVD, so can't refer to it quickly unless you are near a computer. August 16, 2011
Nice idea Worked great but died in three weeks not very reliable June 17, 2011
Not Recommended I bought this camera for my responsible 17 year old to take on a trip to Disneyworld. She was thrilled with the camera and with the pictures that it took. But when she dropped it from her lap to the carpeted floor, the screen broke. I'm very unhappy that I invested $200 in the camera and will now have to spend $50 to get the screen replaced. For a sporty little camera, it's not very sturdy. April 28, 2011
Not so robust The camera was easy to use, but don't drop it on a hard surface...it is not made to withstand a drop. My camera broke and I found it to not be robust for everyday use (yeah, sometimes things just fall...an expensive lesson). I am not happy with my camera...since I can't use it anymore. I did use my camera to take lots of pictures of family and friends. April 27, 2011
Difficult to operate & can't get a manual I have trouble getting the camera to respond to touch controls. Have been trying to figure out how to turn off the flash and erase pictures and haven't been able to. Can't get a use manual online. Says it's not available. Would never recommend this to anyone. April 27, 2011
Scratched Outer Case Slider causes scratches on outer case.when opening. March 7, 2011
Poor quality of images and camera overall This camera is awful! My pictures are either blurry or have orbs. February 21, 2011
lost screen display I have had the camera for 4 weeks. I feel for 300+ dollars this should not be happening. I thought it needed a charge and that is why the screen would not come on and now I have read the other reviews on the product and I realize it is not me. I will be returning it and I am not sure if I will get another. January 20, 2011
Good engineering design would make the battery and memory slots keyed so they could NOT be inserted incorrectly. Warning of damage is a weak substitute for a very poor design. Given the price of this model, I expected better. December 6, 2010
Useless The camera is uncomfortable to hold and use. If your fingers are holding the camera along the top edge and your thumb is holding the bottom, your fingers are in the shot. I can hold the camera with my fingers on the touchscreen, but when my fingers are on the touchscreen, the touchscreen doesn't sense other touches. The camera wasn't thought out very well. It's a bother to use. December 4, 2010
Difficult to review pictures The memory is great, but it was so difficult to navigate through the pictures for the "one" I want. Then the camera sticks and I have to shut it off and start all over again. Ugh!! Also when taking pictures, it tends to stick and I have my people waiting for me and I am not sure what I am doing such that it just click for the pic. Will return it. Not a happy camper for the $300. I had spent less before but gave the camera to my daughter. It was a Canon November 27, 2010
Battery does not last much. Many bad pictures I feel that my old Sony has a better software than this camera. Also It doesn´t tell you how much battery you have left or time. It has gave me errors while saving a picture and erase that picture. For $330 I expected a much better camera. Maybe I need to find all the details for the camera, but so far I am not very satisfied yet. Again the camera goes out of battery very soon. The tactile screen does not work. November 11, 2010
Page: 2 3 4
<<prev
26 Questions | 31 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
26 Questions | 31 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S80
 
2 Answers

how do I manually change the aperture of a coolpix S80?

Mar 26, 2011 by
by
jasmin
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I want to adjust the aperture on this camera but the manual gives no instruction on how to do this?
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
jasmin
Age: 25-34
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can't. It has no options for manual control. Simplicity of use is the signature of such cameras, for better or worse
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BrainScientist
Eugene, Oregon
Location : 
Eugene, Oregon
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This model of Coolpix has pre-set settings. You can use one of the scene modes to see which want will work for the time of photography you’re looking for.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S80
 
2 Answers

Why does my camera sometimes have NO text display on the screenand not focus?

Jun 3, 2011 by
by
elaine
long beach, ca
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Every once in a while, I will turn the camera on and it doesnt have any text display on the screen, even when i touch the screen nothing appears. I can take photos, but the camera doesnt focus and just takes really blurry photos. I turn off the camera and just wait a few days and it seems to go back to normal, but then a few days later it will do the same thing. Any suggestions?? Its BRAND NEW camera and started doing this within a couple days of purchasing it.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
elaine
long beach, ca
Location : 
long beach, ca
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
MINE DID THE SAME THING AFTER THE FIRST USE AND I RETURNED IT TO THE STORE AND EXCHANGED IT FOR ANOTHER ONE... LETS HOPE THIS ONE DOESNT DO THE SAME THING
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Remove the battery from the camera and re-charge it.
Please reset the camera to default settings: Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All
Jun 6, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
sarah
leola pa usa
Location : 
leola pa usa
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would go get it fixed by anyone in your area that fixes camera, but it might not be worth it, you might be better off getting a new camera. Next time get a protective screen cover, that will help a bit, but just don't drop it haha.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our techs.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jun 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S80
 
2 Answers

flash on video in dark areas possible?

Jul 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Can I take a video in the dark with light or flash? And if yes, plz tell me how to add flash to videos on dark areas.
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
flash is a momentary source of light, video needs continous.
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Shooting video with a flash is a bit strange surely a constant light source would be better! To answer your question point the light source where you want the light to hit and then once ready press record!
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
MarkF
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S80
 
2 Answers

Blurry Pictures

Dec 11, 2011 by
by
mb
Iowa
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Every picture I take with this camera, regardless of settings, motion reduction, or light, comes out blurry. Is there anything I can do?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
mb
Iowa
Location : 
Iowa
Age: 25-34
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
A small selection of blurry photos attached.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Dec 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Dec 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S80
 
1 answer

My nikon coolpix s80's green light comes on but the screen wont

Jun 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
maryland
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
maryland
Location : 
maryland
Age: Under 18
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S80
 
1 answer

My camera docent take good pictures at night or a dark area.

Jun 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Experience: 1-3 months
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S80
 
1 answer

When I connect my camera to my computer, it cannot import the image files because they are corrupted.

Jun 21, 2011 by
by
Erin B
Palo Alto CA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Certain computers allow me to import the photos, but others don't. I have been using this computer and camera together for 6 months and suddenly it does not allow me to import photos. It says the .jpg files are corrupted or unrecognizable. My computer is a MacBook pro. I took it to the Apple store to see if the software was the problem, but it was not - it happened to their computer as well. I have upgraded to iPhoto '11 and that did not fix the problem. Please help, thanks!
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Erin B
Palo Alto CA
Location : 
Palo Alto CA
Experience: 6-12 months
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that you are using an approved memory card and format it in the camera, since it could be that the memory card is corrupted.
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix S80
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S80
 
1 answer

Is this camera waterproof?

Jul 11, 2011 by
by
Bri
Texas
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Bri
Texas
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No.
Jul 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S80
 
1 answer

My camera screen doesn't turn on, but I can take a picture because I hear the flash. What do I do?

Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Danielle
Watsonville, CA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I was using my camera one morning and then a few hours later when I went to use it later in the day the camera turned on, but the screen was black. I was able to take a picture because I can hear the flash. Any ideas on what is going on with my camera that is only 4 months old?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Danielle
Watsonville, CA
Location : 
Watsonville, CA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our techs.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jul 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers