Loading

Key Features

14.2 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 20 x 30 inches

New Incredible, Bright 3.0-inch High Resolution VGA (921,000-dot) Clear Color Display makes images and movies come alive with rich detail and improved contrast.  The large LCD makes it easy to compose and share your pictures with a wide-viewing angle and anti-glare coating

New HD Movie with Stereo Sound and HDMI Output Record stunning HD (720p) quality movies at 30fps with Stereo Sound, dedicated movie-record button and HDMI output for easy playback in camera, on HD-TV or computer. HDMI cable not included

New Slim, Stylish, Metal Design packs high performance into portable convenience for the slimmest in its class. Among compact cameras equipped with an optical zoom capable of zooming in at 10x or more as of January 15, 2010 (according to research conducted by Nikon Corporation)

Smart Portrait System includes:

  • Smile Timer and Blink Proof makes sure you’ll always catch the decisive moment when your subject smiles and Blink Proof function shoots two pictures and automatically saves the one in which the subject’s eyes remain open
  • Blink Warning, when activated alerts you that the subject may have blinked and allows you to retake the photo
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes, while shooting, most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again
  • Face-Priority AF Nikon’s face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces
  • Skin Softening smoothes skin tone at three different levels for optimal portraits

EXPEED Image Processing ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness.  Nikon’s comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates the know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development and is custom-tuned for COOLPIX. Applied optimized technologies render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you won’t miss that special moment

Quick Retouch optimizes contrast and color vividness for beautiful images

D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail during playback

Macro shooting as close as 0.4”

10x Wide-Angle Zoom-NIKKOR ED Glass Lens has a versatile zoom range from 30mm to an impressive 300mm telephoto coverage that gets you close to the action while capturing expansive landscapes. The NIKKOR ED lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that delivers superb color and razor-sharp results

Quick Performance with ultra-fast start-up, autofocus and shooting.  Sports Continuous shooting enables high-speed shooting at approximately 3 fps for images up to 45 frames (3MP)

4-way VR Image Stabilization System

  • Optical VR Image Stabilization by lens shift minimizes the effect of camera shake
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement
  • High ISO up to 3200 at full resolution capability helps give you better results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects 
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and saves the sharpest image

New Creative Slider creates pictures, in camera, the way you imagine them by simply you adjusting brightness, vividness and color hue

New Advanced Flash Control delivers natural flash images even when ambient or assisted lighting is typically insufficient, such as backlight or telephoto shooting

Subject Tracking will track a moving subject to ensure sharp focus. The camera will automatically track your subject – even if they temporarily move out of the frame

Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and selects the most appropriate scene mode (6) + auto mode

16 Scene Modes for optimized shooting in various settings

COOLPIX S8000 3.9 5 162 163
Pros: long battery life, lightweight, high quality pictures, continuous mode, manual iso, wb presets, scene modes, high zoom Cons: occasional low quality pictures, slow startup and shot to shot time I already own a Nikon SLR (D5000) and bought this to bring on hikes and to events and such because it was a lot smaller. I am very happy with this camera, it overall has good quality pictures, many options and preferences, the menus are easy to navigate, and it has a long battery life. My only complaint is that often when I am taking a sweep panorama, the photos don't come out clear. July 23, 2010
99% Great! I love my S8000, my 3rd Nikon point-and-shoot. I won't waste space praising it's great design, quality or features. My only criticisms are the placement of the popup flash (gets me every time), and the lack of battery level indicator on the main screen (also gets me every time). Carry a spare battery and keep your finger off the flash, and you'll be delighted. July 23, 2010
Recommended with reservations Very compact for a 10x zoom, slightly awkward feature placement (flash on top under natural finger resting position, stereo microphones on top rather than on front). Camera startup time is good, but you need to give the camera an extra second to meter the scene in non-flash daylight shots otherwise you'll get overexposed shots. Once you get used to the cameras limitations as a point and shoot, and pick the right scene modes when auto won't cut it, you'll get some great images. July 22, 2010
Great! I love love love this camera, the quality is amazing, the buffer is quick, plus is very stylish. The fact that allows you to zoom into the subject without losing any quality is great. July 20, 2010
Overall Good I have always been a Sony person and switched this time to the new Coolpix S8000 Nikon. The overall pictures are great. Some minor complaints that I have is the flash how it pops up where your finger is and having to manually close it all the time. Additionally I find when you first power it on and want to quick take a picture it takes its time to find the right setting instead of quickly taking the picture. When I'm using the auto scene setting sometimes the picture doesn't come out very good. Having issues with my kids pictures since they move and most pictures seem to turn out blury. July 15, 2010
Fantastic Camera After comparing other point and shoot camera's from various other companies, I decided the Nikon S8000 was the better choice for the money and features offered. All I can say is that I wasn't let down as this camera is great, the picture quality and video quality is extremely nice. The Macro mode is unbelievable at the level of detail and clarity that you can get, and the 10x Optical zoom is nice! Accessing the various menu/mode options is easy enough to use and access. The only downside I've found is a high pitched sound when playing back a video on my t.v. Now having said that, it's not really noticeable unless you turn the volume way way up and then specifically listen for it. I only took notice of it cause I saw a few video reviews elsewhere that noted they could hear it, otherwise I would not have noticed it myself. Nonetheless though this is a really good camera and you definitely won't be disappointed with it or the picture quality. July 14, 2010
Great camera This camera is great for people who want to be able to take it out and get that picture instantly because of it's amazingly fast start up time. You just point and shoot and you have a pic you can get blown up because of the fourteen mega-pixels. I love it. July 9, 2010
Excellent Product by Nikon Hi All, this is a Excellent Product by Nikon..... In a small and handy camera. I tried it and the results are excellent. I would recommend all of you those who want small handy cameras for them.. Go for it. It's great... Thanks Nikon for such a wonderful camera.... Looking forward for some more good cameras from you in near future.... July 9, 2010
Page: 3 4 5 6 7
<<prev
27 Questions | 30 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
27 Questions | 30 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX S8000
 
3 Answers

MEMORY CARD SHOWING PICTURES ON CAMERA BUT WON'T DOWNLOAD

Aug 15, 2012 by
by
Mikon CoolPix s8000
Abbeville, LA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have taken pictures with my camera and when I go to download/transfer them to the computer i can see some of the thumbnails but they will not open up or they open up all "distorted and unclear" I think I have a “bad” memory card but my question is “Are my pictures gone? And will I not be able to retrieve them off my memory card? “
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Mikon CoolPix s8000
Abbeville, LA
Location : 
Abbeville, LA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Memory card recovery software.
Aug 15, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
A recovery software for what? I will do an internet search for recovery software for pictures or for Nikon or for ???
Aug 15, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is recovery software, just do an internet search.
Aug 15, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
2 Answers

Camera keeps turning off.

May 21, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Every time I try to take a picture the camera turns itself off. I have changed batteries and charged the new one but the camera conitnues to turn off..
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I updated the firmware to 1.1, did a reset all and it sloved my problem.
May 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings: Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All. Also, that you have the correct option selected for the Charge by computer, MENU > SETUP MENU > Charge by Computer. If the problem persists you will need to send the camera to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 22, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

The camera won't acess the flash setting while in regular mode, is there a way to correct without taking it in?

Mar 9, 2011 by
by
Ax5tin
USA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
It works in all other modes, just not the normal point and shoot. It's permanently in the off position.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Ax5tin
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings:
Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

Can't download pictures onto my comptuer, I have window XP, the screen pops up but all it does is search.

Apr 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Please install the latest version for View NX 2 in your computer that will allow you to download the photos and verify the XP version you have. Also, try transferring the photos using the internal memory of the camera.
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 6, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

the front lens cover for my S8000 Coolpix is jammed and won't open/close all the way, how do I get this fixed?

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You are welcome to send your camera for evaluation and repair.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

Back Screen Shakes Coolpix S8000

May 1, 2011 by
by
K
USA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The screen viewer shakes...is this an easy repair? It takes clear pictures just the screen is shaking while you are trying to take the picture
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
K
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you are referring to the VR option verify that is ON or OFF (see page# 133). If it’s the LCD screen that is loose you will need to send it for service.
May 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

How can i puase while recording video?

May 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
You just need to press the recording button to pause and then again to continue.
May 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

My camera won't charge on my computer

May 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My Coolpix S8000 camera has been dead for about a month. When I hook it up to the computer to charge, the green light flashes for a few minutes and then goes off. However, the on/off button stays lit up. My computer recognizes the camera and I am able to download the pictures on it. The camera has been plugged into the computer for about four hours, but once unmounted from the computer, still will not turn on. Does this mean I need a new battery?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you can download the images with the same cable, the USB cable is not the issue, make sure that the "charge by PC" option is set correctly in your setup menu.
May 15, 2011 by
by
ManuelC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

My flash doesnt go down anymore, even if I push it it just stays up.

May 27, 2011 by
by
Cp
Lansing,Michigan
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Cp
Lansing,Michigan
Location : 
Lansing,Michigan
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
You are welcome to send your camera in order to be evaluated by a technician.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
find that
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Harshal
Manchester
Location : 
Manchester
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
1 answer

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Panorama maker is from Arcsoft.
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers