Loading

Key Features

Wide to Telephoto 3.5x zoom lens ideal for landscape, full length portraits, travel and portrait photographs

Filter attachment does not rotate during focusing or zooming.

Maximum Reproduction Range (R:R) at 85mm is 1:2 (life size).

Fast f/2.8 maximum aperture at 24m setting is ideal for available light shooting or slow/rear flash sync techniques.

AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF 4.4 5 31 31
Versitile and Fast Next to my 70-200 VR this is my favorite Lens. 24-85 with the DX Camera is a great range and the Camera focuses fast so I don't miss a shot. Good Bokeh and sharp focus. April 14, 2011
One lens for people and travel and close ups I like using this lens on my D2h and my D300. Have capture some nice images due to it's size and handling. On the macro side the lens offer's great versatility as well! March 6, 2011
Versatile, solid, sharp lens. I love this lens!! It is fastest wide open, and only slows by one stop at its longest. It has legendary Nikkor optics and has a very practical focal range. It also has a very useful macro setting at its longest focal length. It is an excellent general use lens and would recommend it hands down. October 27, 2010
Absolutely Underrated I have found this lens now on my camera 90% of the time. It covers a great focal range, fast when you need it to be and with the flip of a switch and a turn of the focus, you are given a descent macro lens. It may be slightly heavy but it's great all around. I found the AF to be spot on with my D300 and all my macro shots have looked nothing but amazing. September 27, 2010
Excellent compromise of many features For an all-purpose lens on DX or FX cameras, this lens is hard to beat. The combination of price, very respectable wide-angle to good short telephoto focal lengths, maximum aperture range, AND half-life-size close-focusing makes this an ideal multi-purpose lens for photographers with more-limited financial means. August 2, 2010
My Workhorse Lens This 24-85mm, for me, just has that perfect walking around zoom range, especially on an FX camera like the D700. The lens is sharp and more flare resistant than most zooms. And it has a macro mode to boot. I've used it for landscapes, still life and portraits. Not amazingly, this is the lens I use about 60% of the time. July 30, 2010
Great lenes This lense is a great all around lense it's fast clear sharp images... July 30, 2010
This lens was a workhorse for me for many years, its fast f/2.8 to f/4, and it falls into the mid range of Nikon lens in price and renders surprising quality for the cost. You cannot go wrong with this lens; it’s a bit heavy but balances well on the D300 and D70s. I prefer to use it at the high end 28mm and above it seems to perform better at the high end then the low end seems to be a common trait with zoom lens? This lens is well traveled and is still in great condition both physically and quality wise, testimony to the quality and workmanship Nikon puts into its lens. It is an all around standard zoom lens good for general photography and portraits. July 30, 2010
Resolution is extremely high I have been taking photos since 1950, and I have never experience a lens as fine as this. When I go on a job, most of the time I take this lens only. July 30, 2010
Fast zoom with macro. Under-rated Nikkor. Good: 1) Sharp lens. Wide end of range is really sharp. 2) Versatile zoom range. Multipurpose lens. 3) Macro is great asset (very sharp also). 4) Fairly light weight but still very durable. I've banged this one around for over 10 years, taken thousands of pictures, broken or lost 3 lens hoods, and it still takes pictures like it was out of the box. 5) Fast 2.8 aperature at wide end of zoom. Minor negatives: 1) Contrast and color saturation good, but not as good as Nikon's most expensive zooms. Hey, but its <1/3 the price too. 2) Lack of lens focus motor doesn't affect me but it won't autofocus on many of Nikon's newer entry level cameras. July 30, 2010
The best for travel This is the only lens I take on trips to Europe. This lens on the D300 is not light, but worth every ounce in travel photo memories. July 30, 2010
My most used lens I have owned and used many Nikon lenses, including the 24-70 f2.8, and I still think this is the best mid-range zoom I have ever used. If may be slower at the long end but I can live with that on the D-3. The size and sharpness makes this my pick of lenses. July 30, 2010
Outstanding Lens - Extremely Sharp - Using this lens with the D3s camera and found it to be extremely sharp, fast focus, and provide wide to medium shots. Highly recommend for a normal standard lens. July 30, 2010
Lente excelente Comprei a 2 meses e estou curtindo muito esta lente !!! January 20, 2014
Great all around lens. Been using this lens for many years. All the way back to my N70 film camera. Fast lens with decent zoom. Wish it would zoom a bit more than the 85mm. I bought this over the 24-120mm since it was faster and back in the film days you needed the extra speed for lower light conditions. I wouldn't say that this is an extremely sharp lens but it's decent enough. If you're doing portraits do you really need to see every single pore on someones face? When shooting at 24mm, I noticed that you have to be careful about vignetting especially if you shoot at a wider aperture. Don't think about stacking filters at wider aperture. When moving to a D700, vignetting was even worse and I had to even get thinner filters to prevent vignetting. Macro capability is nice to have. For a screw type lens it focuses pretty fast. May 1, 2013
Good travel lens, but vignetting can be an issue This was my go to lens for over 10 years. On my F100 it performed beautifully. I never considered leaving it behind, indeed sometime it was the only lens that I would bring on my frequent travels. It was fast enough, not too conspicuous and met my needs most of the time. Even when I switched to DX format, it was mounted on my camera 80% of the time. On my D700 I noticed vignetting, made worse when a filter was attached, thicker polarizers should be avoided or consider a newer thin polarizer. February 11, 2013
Great range, soft focus This lens has the range I have been lookin for. The range is great and the colors jump off the screen. My one complaint about the lens is the soft focus. I bought the lens despite reading a number of complaints about soft focus. I have experienced the same problem. Some of my photos are very clear and some are very soft. There seems to be nothing that triggers the soft focus. If not for that, this would be the perfect lens. June 20, 2011
jack of all trades This lens does a lot and it does some of that very well. It has a fairly fast F value over the range, though only 24- ~ 27 mm is F2.8, and it focuses very quickly. You can set the lens at F4 and have a constant aperture lens that offers relatively small size, low weight and low cost compared to other Nikkor lenses in this focal range. The included, reversible bayonet hood is large (and necessary, since the lens has a 72mm front element and tends to flare.) My lens is pretty sharp and there is a macro capability (up to 1:2) from 35mm-85mm, accessible by a switch. That's a lot of the capability of the pro zooms for a lot less money. But there are some downsides, too: there is a good bit of distortion at 24 mm, and some loss of contrast at 80-85mm. The biggest problem, though, is the short focus throw. It's great for fast, accurate autofocus on a D700 but unusuable for manual focus since the focus range is so small (~ 10 degrees). It makes for an attractive travel lens. It is a lot less imposing than a pro zoom, both in size and weight. Build quality is ok ( there is a slight wobble in the extended lens barrel)but there is an aperture ring, something that is lacking on most of the other choices. All in all, a very good performer. April 15, 2011
Excellent all-purpose lens This lens, my workhorse "normal" lens, is a good, all-purpose, everyday lens. It's reasonably fast, useful in nearly all lighting, and responsive. I've been quite happy with it. I use it primarily with my D80 DSLR. April 14, 2011
A versatile alternative to a bag full of primes? I bought this lens as an alternative to having to haul around 3 or 4 prime lenses to shoot street photos and landscapes, and for that purpose this lens has worked very well. Because of the sensor size on my D90, I do need a wider lens for some shots, but I have found the 24-85 to be versatile enough to stay on the camera most of the time. I agree with a couple of the other reviewers that this lens is a little "soft", particularly if you're shooting wide open. It helps to stop down one of two stops, but I guess at (less than) half the price of the 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED what more can a person ask? Long story short, while I am not completely thrilled with the performance of this lens, I am happy enough with the lens to keep it on the camera about 75% of the time. July 31, 2010
Does what I need This lens in on my D700, about 90% of the time. At 24 the 2.8 works well in those really low light situations, and even moving to 4 at 85mm the 700 has plenty of iso range to still get the job done. I really like the extra reach over the 24 to 70 as frequently I can't get as close as I would like shooting weddings, events, and occasional news work. I know nikon has lenses that are sharper in a limited range, but I'm rarely called upon to make anything over a 20x30. For the price the versatility of this lens fits exactly where I need it to be. I dropped it hard on concrete recently, I finally had to take it to the shop, I almost considered buying a backup of this lens. I know there are a lot of guys carrying around big glass, But when your on your feet for up to 8 hrs carrying multiple bodies and sometimes a 7lb camcorder, weight is everything. For almost a third the price and significantly less weight I haven't found a better all around lens than the 24-85. By the way I do have 8 other lenses in my kit. I also shoot with a d300. July 30, 2010
Great for the price Wonderful lens. Great for the price. A shade soft on the outer edges but other than that a lot better than the 3rd party lens I have tried in order to save a buck. Just stick with Nikon and you can't go wrong. July 29, 2010
Very nice... great value! I take a lot of pictures of cars (exterior & interior), I commonly use the 24-50mm range. It focuses fast for interior shots in low light and and is very rugged, I use this lens now specifically for this pupose instead of my 24-120mm f4 on my D3 because it is a bit smaller and gets banged around quite a bit. The images are great, it takes a lickin' and keeps on clickin'! I also use the fabulous 85mm f1.4G for portraits and the 24-120mm f4G for general purpose useage. Soon to be acquired will be the 16-35mm f4 and then after that a 70-200mm #not sure which one yet#. December 8, 2012
Soft and slow Feels very solid. Images soft at both ends of zoom range even at middle apertures. Slow to accurately auto focus but seems to work with focus tracking okay. July 31, 2010
vignette!!! I'm using this on my D700 and at 24mm it vignettes like there's no tomorrow! It's practically unusable, starts getting better around 25mm and ok around 40mm. October 4, 2010
not all that sharp, colors look muddy I have brought this lens, and my d-200, in several times for repair, always saying that the images don't look sharp, and they never find anything wrong. It did get cleaned and fully serviced recently, but still the results are not great. My much cheaper manual focus lens on my old FE2 did not have this problem. Because of this, my main use for the camera is location scooting. At first it was okay shooting up close, but never at a distance. With the D200, it has always given disappointing results. Friends swear by the strides Nikon has taken, but at the moment, I'm still shooting film because I'm not liking what I get. When I rent a much nicer lens, the results are much better. July 30, 2010
Page:2
<<prev
32 Questions | 39 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
32 Questions | 39 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
 
4 Answers

I can't figure out how to get it to autofocus on the d3000???

Feb 25, 2012 by
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your Nikon D3000 does not have a Built-In Motor to drive "D" type lenses -- You need to buy AF-S lenses (Built-In Motor in the Lens) for this Nikon Body. You can buy Off-Brand Lenses that have the HSM motor built into the lens (Sigma).
Mar 3, 2013 by
by
MickeyD
Willingboro, New Jersey
Location : 
Willingboro, New Jersey
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Typo D3000
Feb 26, 2012 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
D300 does not have a built in lens motor.
Feb 25, 2012 by
by
JoeR

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
if the lens does not have a HSM (built in motor) it will not auto focus. If it has a HSM, buillt in motor, ;ook on the left side of the lens for a switch ( A-M ), switch it to A- for autom and M- for manual focus.
Feb 25, 2012 by
by
Dougundefined
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
 
3 Answers

Where is the serial number on my AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF?

Feb 13, 2014 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
8 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I found my serial number very lightly engraved (almost invisibly -- the light has to hit it just right) on the aperture ring near the base approximately 180 degrees opposite the f/2.8 marker.
Sep 23, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
To loacate the serial number of the AF Zoom 24-85 f/2.8-4 D IF lens please see the following article to help locate the serial number: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Feb 14, 2014 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It is engraved lightly on the underside of the lens just below the aperture ring. Should be under approximately F/4 stop.
Feb 13, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
 
2 Answers

Does this lens auto focus on a D3100?

Jul 13, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
killer
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Short answer, no.
Jul 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon offers two types of autofocus digital camera bodies: those with a built-in focus drive motor and those which require a lens to have a motor. Cameras such as the D3100 do not have a focus motor in it so they require the lens to have the focusing motor – an “AF-S” lens. While these bodies can use a lens with no focus motor (an “AF” lens) you would have to manually turn the focus ring to bring the subject in to sharp focus.
Jul 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
 
2 Answers

Is this Len recommended for the D610 ? Does it cover the full sensor with out cropping?

Oct 16, 2013 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year ago
by
Jim
California
Location : 
California
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D610 and use this lens on it. This is a FX (full frame) lens, it works fine, no cropping.
Jul 25, 2014 by
by
houdel
Chase, MI 49623, USA
Location : 
Chase, MI 49623, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It is a full frame lens. (FX)
Oct 17, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
 
2 Answers

Is this lens compatible with Nikon D7000?

Mar 7, 2014 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
7 months ago
by
Jun
Philippines
Location : 
Philippines
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF is compatible with the D7000. Wide to Telephoto 3.5x zoom lens ideal for landscape, full length portraits, travel and portrait photographs. Fast f/2.8 maximum aperture at 24m setting is ideal for available light shooting or slow/rear flash sync techniques. This lens is a manual focus lens therefore Manual focus is available for lenses that do not support autofocus on the D7000. To focus manually, adjust the lens focus ring until the image displayed on the clear matte field in the viewfinder is in focus. Photographs can be taken at any time, even when the image is not in focus.
Mar 7, 2014 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is
Mar 7, 2014 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
 
1 answer

I need a nikon AF 24-85mm rubber grip ring replacement

Aug 25, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Anyone know where i can find one?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please get in contact with the Nikon Parts Department
7AM - 3PM (Pacific). Monday - Friday
310-414-8107
Fax- 310-322-6979
Aug 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
 
1 answer

I am unable to set this lens to f/2.8 at 24mm in any mode on my D7000. What could be wrong?

Oct 27, 2011 by
Has staff answer
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-13points
3out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful16
Answer: 
On most lenses the maximum aperture will decrease when you zoom in, as the optics move to focus at the new zoom range. These zoom lenses are said to have a "variable" aperture. To achieve the widest possible aperture, you need to be at the widest possible zoom setting.
Nov 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
 
1 answer

I want to know if this lens works with the D7000? why or why not?

Dec 11, 2011 by
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it will work. The D7000 has an internal focus motor, which the D3100/D5100 doesn't have. This means it autofocus with pretty much all Nikkor AF lenses made for DSLRs.
Dec 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
 
1 answer

I hear a lot reviewer use the phraise, vignette and soft focus, please define what these means.

Jan 7, 2012 by
by
melvin156
Maplewood, NJ, USA
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
melvin156
Maplewood, NJ, USA
Location : 
Maplewood, NJ, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jan 9, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
 
1 answer

Is this lens fully compatible w/ the D90? 3D Matrix Metering, etc.

Jan 8, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Highland Park, NJ
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
I currently have this lens mounted on my N80 35mm.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Highland Park, NJ
Location : 
Highland Park, NJ
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, all functions on any AF, D or G lens will work on the D90
Jan 9, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers