Loading

Key Features

Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 2.0 stops** of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture.

3 Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass for high resolution and high contrast even at maximum apertures.

VR is automatically detected during panning operation. Two modes of VR: image plane and viewfinder.

Filter does not rotate during zooming.

AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED 4 5 80 80
Average lens I bought this lens for wildlife photography,and I think this is good lens except for some problems. This lens is good for its price.The problems were that the focusing was slow so couldn't capture birds inflight easily and the other was the sharpness and the quality was somewhat poor.Upgrading to the new lens now but this lens helped me a lot in my wildlife trips. April 29, 2013
Great lens for a smaller budget!! So, after reading and listening to the various pro's and con's regarding this lens I decided to buy this lens myself and test it. A big plus which comes in handy once in a while is the reliable VR. It really works great and one of my fist images that were taken in the zoo, were tack sharp. At the end it comes all down to one thing: The photographer!! Use the lens for what it was designed for. Don't compare it with the latest VRII - generation of lenses. If you use the equipment by hart, it will work great for you. Tech stuff: The first shots were taken with the D200. The focus of the D2x works even better due to the stronger built in motor inside the camera. Another advantage is a perfect "weight - and - balance" between the lens and camera. January 10, 2013
A good lens but not the best in this range Not all lenses can be top notch winners and I must admit this is one of them, don't get me wrong when it was introduced it was a decent lens but it has it's short comings to todays VR2 companions. Lets cover the positives in that this lens for it's focal length is very compact and light when used at the 80mm length and the lens collar and shoe works great to rotate the lens mounted to a tripod and still to get a portrait style view all you do is loosen the lens collar knob and rotate the lens with body mounted on the lens axis. The Lens is very sharp in most of it's range but you need a good steady hand or tripod that is robust to keep vibration to a bare minimum, and in manual focus can create Tack Sharp images. The 9 radial shaped aperture leaves create a decent Bokeh when shooting at more wide open aperture settings and also eliminate those harsh spiked light bursts when shooting in the city at night. Overall I think it has good operation qualities that keeps it in my arsenal of lenses but my concerns in todays Nikkor Line up is that a VR2 version of this would be great as well as on board auto focus instead of using the camera body to focus it would speed up it's reaction to fast action sport shooting, then take the mechanical Auto Focus cut out ring to place the lens into manual focus is cumbersome and slow to activate compared to the micro slide switches on more up to date lens barrels. I have replaced the stock Lens collar shoe mount with an after market one from Really Right Stuff and this has also made the lens more ridged on a tripod but this is a minor fix to a good lens. I would like to see this lens equipped with there Nano Crystal coated lens to cut flare down in brightly lit arenas. All in all it is still a good lens but improvements would turn this into a great lens and I would rather see this in an f/4 across the focal length and it takes a little practice with this lens but it is a good cary lens for sports, nature and some landscape photography, if you have a source locally that rent's lenses I would recommend you trying this out for a weekend to see what it will produce, it has a great focal length span that will cover a vast array of needs for the price, and team this up with a 24-70mm and you can have bare minimum equipment that you will need to traverse a days shooting experience without lugging around extra equipment. February 4, 2012
Tiger Picture The 80-400 is no spring chicken. My 18-200 runs circles around it 9 times out of 10. Most snaps with the 80-400 are not too good, but 1 in 10 is sharper than sharp. Stopped down to f/8 i don't think you can get much better for color and contrast, at least on my D7000. That one of ten is good for a lot of mega pixels, probably a lot more than the 16 mp of the 7000 DX. January 18, 2012
A good lens but a bit overpriced. After reading all the reviews,pro & con,I decided to give it a try. At first I was dissapointed & almost sent it back. It is slow focusing & at first I had trouble with sharpness, but I kept at it. Handheld,you need a fast shutter speed, at least 1/400 @ 400mm,preferably faster. Turn off the VR on a tripod period ! get used to the "Auto-Manual focus ring" I don't like it. Use the focus limiter & in dificult situations,use manual focus. Its a good lens, not great. It has it quirks. I will keep mine. Buster on the Oregon coast. December 1, 2011
Excellent ... but Excellent range and versatility. Heavy but handholdable. That weight as well as the price would lead you to believe that it contained an auto-focus motor. But no. Thus it won't auto focus when used on the "amateur-tier" cameras, many which have many fine features that should work well with such a versatile lens. An HD movie with an 80-200 on a D5100 would be fantastic, except the lens won't auto focus. Been awaiting an upgrade to AF-S. June 23, 2011
Good overall. I hesitantly bought this lens knowing that it (from reading reviews) was slow and needed good light. I like good light no matter what lens I'm using so I decided to give it a try. Well, I have used it for about three weeks now and must say that I am really liking it! Very sharp pictures, especially from a tripod, but even hand held I am happy with the results. I've panned birds a couple of times with good results. It is large but very manageable even hand holding. (I am a female in my early 60s and I can handle it okay.) If you are looking for a lens with more zoom and this is in your price range, I don't think you will be disappointed. I am very excited to get out and use it more and I would definitely recommend it. May 30, 2011
I just recently purchased this lens and am very excited about it. I have photographed wildlife and a High School track meet all hand held up to 400mm and had great results. I'm sure it will be even better with a tripod or monopod. April 15, 2011
This product needs to be updated I believe that this lens is underappreciated because most people do not know how to use it properly. Having said that, it is long overdue for an updating. AFS, nanocoating and VRII would be nice additions. I would really like to see something like a 100-500 focal length lens. It could even be a fixed f5.6. April 14, 2011
Auto Focus Is Slow This is a fairly lightweight lens for a 400mm zoom telephoto. I have two issues, however. Autofocus is a bit slow and there is some color distortion at full range. Otherwise it is a good buy and works as a [heavy] hand-held. April 14, 2011
Great lens for shooting kids sports games. A bit heavy, but the autofocus is very quick - pictures look sharp. Only other drawback is that its not an f-2.8. April 14, 2011
Good value I've had the 80-400 for several years and use it mostly for surfing shots, mostly in good light. It is used with a D90 and D700 (still waiting for pre-ordered D7000 to replace my DX body). I shoot jpeg at higher ISO and high shutter speeds, hand-held. Results are more than acceptable to me...you can see individual water drops/globs and sunlight refracting them from 150+ yards away. Surfers move quickly in all planes. I use the limiter and the lens is quick enough to keep focus. I haven't had any problem with the lens. It is portable, dependable and produces good photos. Yes, you'll get optimal sharpness and speed with the long telephotos, but it comes with a price (and size) multiple times that of the 80-400. I also own a third-party super zoom, but much rather prefer the slightly more expensive Nikkor. Considering the alternatives, this lens strikes an acceptable balance between usefulness and cost. October 22, 2010
A very good platform lens I have used this lens with my D3 for 2 years now and it has the abilities to turn a nature shot from landscape to a detail shot with ease, I use this for nature from wildlife to landscapes side by side with my 70-200 f2.8 and the results are stunning! The VR mode helps for taking sharp handheld shots but I would recommend a good sturdy mono or tri pod to get that extra stable shot. The rotating tri pod collar is very well made and tight and has index marks that are very visible for re alignment in low light, VR mode is very easy to engage as well as the manual to auto focus mode selector, and adding a TC-201 teleconverter to this brings this lens into a great operating platform to hike into the wilderness with limited accessories needed to have a great day of photo shooting and you will be amazed at what it will do when taking photos of a full moon. September 24, 2010
At lot of power This lens has a lot of punch! Although it can be a little slow on the focus sometimes you can't beat it for the price and sharp picture quality! I recommend this lens for anyone who can't pay $5,900 for a 300mm 2.8 or $9,500 for a 400mm 2.8 telephoto lens. I've used it with both a D700 and D200 with great results on both and I don't need to use it with a mono-pod or tri-pod! I don't recommend it with a teleconverter as some of the picture quality is lost and it becomes slower on auto-focus. If you need a little more distance and the auto-focus working it works with a Kenko 1.4 teleconverter and you should atleast on a mono-pod. August 4, 2010
Good sharpness for stationary wildlife and objects The autofocus is way to slow for action photography. Nikon desperately need to update this lense to AF_S. August 2, 2010
Gives you the close-up you need! It gives you the close-up you need when it's really not physically possible. I used it on graduations held in a football field where everybody is only allowed to sit on the bleachers. The school have their own contract photographers and they want us to buy their own not-so-good photos shot by rookies. Well I used my trusty old D-70. Yes, you heard me right- a D70! I had the ISO set at 800 because it's getting dark. I had the lens set in active mode VR and fire away from the bleacher. My niece, nephews and brothers are so happy with the way the pictures came out. They're much better than the photos the school is trying to sell us. The 80-400mm may not be a Speedy Gonzales compared to the AFS lenses but with a steady hand they can do the job just as well. Also try not to use the hood attachement if you can, they attract too much attention. This site could have been better if we can post some sample shots taken with the product reviewed August 1, 2010
two shortcomings, but very good overall I use this lens frequently. The optics are sharp and result in excellent images. The design is compact. The VR works well and allows for handheld shots in low light. It is not fast to focus, but still works well for sports such as soccer where the range can be predicted. Two shortcomings: -The mounting collar is inferior to that used on the 70-200 ED VR S zoom. -The addition of the silent-wave focusing would be a plus. August 1, 2010
Great lens, but due for an update I have been using this lens for several years. It has limitations, but knowing these limitations this lens can capture great images. However, this lens is well overdue for an upgrade to AF-S. July 31, 2010
Good lens for the price I have owned this lens for over 2 years and use it quite successfully for nature photography. The weight is acceptable considering the range of the lens. Although specialized for certain things, it provides the quality for the price and is extremely useful for certain uses. I do recommend this lens and have to photography friends. July 30, 2010
except for slow autifocus, a great lense image quality and vr are very good. However, the autofocus is painfully slow for action photography. Nikon desperately need to update this lense to AF_S. July 30, 2010
I like the lens but want more This lens does a good job for nature photography. Sharp images from 80 to 400. I mostly use it at 400. I wish it had AF/S like my 18-200. I wish it had an over ride focus ring like my 18-200. It's really out of date. I would replace it with a 100-400 or 100-500 in a second. July 30, 2010
Reasonably sharp, great range, slow to focus, VR is only good to about 1-2 stops, but for the price is definitely worthwhile to own. July 30, 2010
Good Lens As with most Nikkor lenses, this is a very good lens. Just one caution - tripod your shots - they come out MUCH better. All-in-all... a good piece of glass from Nikon ! July 30, 2010
Wonderful photos with a great zoom! Pros: Great photos, versatile, great zoom range, VR feature is fantastic, good features. Cons: Heavy I combine it with my 17-35mm zoom and my older 35-70mm zoom when I am out shooting. July 30, 2010
Slow to focus I have used the 80 - 400 mm lens extensively for over six years and love the zoom range. BUT - it is so slow to focus. This lens is long overdue for an upgrade. If it could be made to focus like the 70-200 f2.8 it would be a world beater. What do you say Nikon? Add a focusing motor and I'm ready to buy a new lens. October 23, 2012
still lens This lens is super sharp. Now don't be fooled this is NO action lens, it will blur you consistently. The AF is very slow. September 24, 2011
Decent Pictures But Slow As with most Nikon optics this lens produces nice photos that are sharp, well exposed and have great color. The problem is that it such an old version that it has the old AF system which is very slow. I use it for bird and wildlife photography along with a D300 body and it is many times to slow to capture a moving subject, especially in low light. I"m desperately awaiting an upgrade to an AF-S model which is way overdue. I just can't afford the 200-400 at over 6,000 dollars. April 15, 2011
It is a good lens, sharp but very slow focusing. It would be an ideal lens for bird in flight shooting but cannot focus fast enough. On occasion the focusing will jam and refuse to focus until you take it off a subject anf aim at other subjects near and far. . April 15, 2011
Great Lens, Poor Execution shooting kids action sports requires a lens that is capable of a wide range of zoom lengths with good optics. The Nikkor 80-400mm looked like the perfect lens. Granted the f/stop range was rather limited and it does not lend itself to low light photography but with most of the sports I shoot being during the day I accepted that limitation. When the lens arrived I was excited to try it out. Almost from the very moment I pressed the shutter I was disappointed. The auto-focus motor on this lens is *EXTREMELY* slow. It requires the photographer to anticipate the action and even then you will end up with as many out of focus shots as in focus if the action is fast. With each new announcement by Nikon I keep my fingers crossed that a replacement for this lens will be announced that overcome the weaknesses of this lens but so far Nikon has shown no inclination to upgrade this lens which is now over a decade old. When in focus the photos from this lens are great, you just need to accept that the auto-focus may not be able to keep up with your shooting needs. April 14, 2011
Decent lens... Decent lens, but can be a little too soft in certain situations. April 14, 2011
Page: 2 3 4
<<prev | next>>
44 Questions | 61 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
44 Questions | 61 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED
 
3 Answers

80mm-400mm F4.5-5.6 zoom lens

Apr 11, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Is there a telecoverter that will work with this lens on a D3X or D7000 ?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just want to add to the Staff answer about TC-201, which you can get from the manual of that lens on page 21:
"Optional accessories"
Teleconverter TC-201 (Vibration reduction mode is not effective and only manual focus is available.)
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I will not suggest use any teleconverter to the lens with aperture 1/5.6, because all AF sensors on Nikon SLR and DSLR are limited with aperture 1/5.6.
With 1.4X teleconverter aperture of that lens will change from 1/5.6 to 1/8
With 2.0X teleconverter aperture of that lens will change from 1/5.6 to 1/11
As more bigger aperture changes as more slow and not accuracy will be AF and in low light conditions it will be too bad.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
This lens is only compatible with the TC-201, but there is occasional vignetting.
Apr 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED
 
2 Answers

What teleconverter is compatable with this lens?

Mar 7, 2011 by
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
This lens is not compatible with teleconverters due to the rear element which would contact the teleconverter lens.
Jun 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I will not suggest use any teleconverter to the lens with aperture 1/5.6, because most AF on Nikon SLR and DSLR is limited with aperture 1/5.6.
AF with 1.4X, 1.7X or 2.0x will be mush slow and not accuracy.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED
 
2 Answers

Will the AF VR Zoom-NIKKOR 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED work properly with all it's functions with my Nikon D60

Mar 8, 2011 by
by
Dave
San Antonio, TX
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Dave
San Antonio, TX
Location : 
San Antonio, TX
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes but you really should grt a more proffesional body to use like a 300 s or even a used d-300.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Dave
I think it is not for D60
Lenses type G or D AF NIKKOR not equipped with an autofocus motor: All functions supported except autofocus
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED
 
2 Answers

Will the AF on Nikon AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED work on a D50 Camera?

Mar 21, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Will the AF on Nikon AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED work on a D50 Camera?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
JT
FL
Location : 
FL
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am very sorry, but Staff answer is not correct at all.
You can use this lens, but AF will be limited only in very low light situation, where with standard lenses you usually need to use AF assist illuminator function.
And the reason why is very simple:
In D50 "TTL phase detection by Nikon Multi-CAM900 autofocus module with AF-assist illuminator have range approximately 0.5–3.0 m / 1´8˝–9´10˝ "(see page 130 (Technical Notice-specifications).
And shooting distance scale for VR Zoom-Nikkor ED 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D lens "graduated in meters and feet from 2.3m (8 ft) to infinity "(see manual page 21, specification).
So theoretically D50 AF assist illuminator with VR Zoom-Nikkor ED 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D lens can work only in range 2.3m till 3.0m, if the body of the lens will not block the light from AF assist illuminator.
By the same reason in D50 manual (Page 107) you can find that:
"AF assist is not available with the following lenses:
• AF-S VR ED 70–200 mm f/2.8G
• AF ED 80–200 mm f/2.8D
• AF-S VR ED 200–400 mm f/4G
• AF-S VR 300 mm f/2.8G
• AF-S ED 80–200 mm f/2.8D
• AF VR ED 80–400 mm f/4.5–5.6D
• AF-S VR 200 mm f/2G"

But this lens is not for too low light conditions, where you can not see the object without AF assist illuminator function.

Good luck., I think you will love this lens
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use this lens on the D50, but it might block the AF-assist iluminator at ranges under 1m. Note that the camera may not be able to focus using the autofocus if the AF-assist iluminator is blocked.
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED
 
2 Answers

Will this lense work with a D5000? Will it autofocus?

Mar 23, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry, you can can use this lens with D5000 only in manual AF mode.
D5000 do not have internal autofocus motor and AF VR Zoom-NIKKOR
80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED do not have it also.

If you need lenses with AF function for your D5000, you can use Nikkor lens starting from "AF-S ... ", which have internal AF motor.

Good luck
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, absolutely.
AF-S lenses offer the highest level of compatibility with new Nikon DSLRs.
Please see this link for more info:

http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED
 
2 Answers

Will this lense (AF VR Zoom 80-400mm) work with a D5000? Will it autofocus?

Mar 24, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The reason I ask this question again is because the kind person who answered it earlier mentioned that AF-S lenses work with the D5000. However, if I read the above description right the lense is an AF not an AF - S.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Although I do not have any experience with the D5000 body I'm guessing that the issue is that it does not have a focus motor built in. This lens should still work with a body that does not have a focus motor as the motor is built into the lens. The issue of AF vs. AF-S is speed. The old AF system is just slower.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
JBS
Anacortes, Wahington
Location : 
Anacortes, Wahington
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon offers two types of autofocus digital camera bodies: those with a built-in focus drive motor and those which require a lens to have a motor. Cameras such as the D5000 do not have a focus motor in it so they require the lens to have the focusing motor – an “AF-S” lens. While these bodies can use a lens with no focus motor (an “AF” lens) you would have to manually turn the focus ring to bring the subject in to sharp focus.
Mar 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED
 
2 Answers

FX format lens with a DX format camera,

Apr 9, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Although the focal length will change using a FX format lens with a DX format camera, is there also a photo quality reduction. For example, I want to shoot wildlife with the AF VR Zoom-NIKKOR 80-400MM F4.5-5.6 ED lens using a D40x or a D7000, With the 1.5 increases, do I lose clarity?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Theoretically it can happened, if the resolution of the lens is poor,
but AF VR Zoom-NIKKOR 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED resolution is very high and with DX camera with the same image size or bigger (I think till 24 MPS) you will only win in details.
On DX format at 400mm this lens will have sharper corners than on FX.
Just take a look on MTF charts for 400mm and keep in mind that the max diameter corner in DX format is ~14,4mm.
Blue broken Meridional line for FX format corner ~0.13,
for DX format ~ 0.5.
That is much, much better.
With this lens on DX format you will win twice: second one - you will be closely to the wildlife, but use D7000 (it is better).
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Please explain FX sensor size, DX sensor size, and the angle of view.
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED
 
2 Answers

Will this lens FIT and WORK well and OK with my Nikon D80?

May 3, 2011 by
by
Josh
Iloilo City, Philippines
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Josh
Iloilo City, Philippines
Location : 
Iloilo City, Philippines
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
In a word, Yes! This lens will work well with any Nikon DSLR no matter the size of the sensor. With your camera and its 1.5 crop factor this lens gives you the field of view of a 600 mm lens.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jun 4, 2011 by
by
Shootsalot
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D80.
May 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED
 
2 Answers

Will the VR feature of this lens work well with my Nikon D90?

May 15, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
sarahw
Vancouver
Location : 
Vancouver
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
and on every other body made by Nikon.
May 15, 2011 by
by
ManuelC

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, it will
May 15, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED
 
2 Answers

Will the AF VR Zoom Nikkor 80-400 fit and autofocus on the D5100?

Jun 16, 2011 by
by
Larry
Chicago suburbs
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Doesn't seem to even allow full zoom range.
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Larry
Chicago suburbs
Location : 
Chicago suburbs
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It does focus full range but is slow to focus from long range to short.
Aug 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It will fit but wont autofocus.
Jun 16, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers