Loading
;

The essential telephoto zoom, more nimble than ever and with up to 4 stops of image stabilization.

product photo of the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR lens
Introducing the newest addition to Nikon's compact high-performance f/4 fixed aperture zoom lenses, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR. Inspired by today's versatile HD-SLR shooters, it strikes an ideal balance between exceptional optics, advanced lens technologies, including Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization providing 4.0 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture.—and a remarkably compact, lightweight design. Whether you shoot with an FX- or DX-format camera, handheld or tripod-mounted, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR delivers the serious telephoto zoom performance you've been seeking.

Photo shown with optional RT-1 Tripod Collar attached.

Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
M/A
Nano Crystal Coat
Super Integrated Coating
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
IF Lens
Photo of a kayaker with the inset close up photo of a butterfly

Take it everywhere

Lightweight, portable and highly versatile

At just 30.0 oz and a mere 7.0-in. long, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR is well balanced and comfortable, even on long outings. Its f/4 fixed maximum aperture excels in low light and lets you maintain a consistent exposure while zooming, especially useful when shooting HD videos. The 70-200mm focal length range (105-300mm on DX-format cameras) has been the choice of pros for years, but for greater reach, add any of Nikon's teleconverters and achieve 1.4X, 1.7X or 2X magnification. The AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR even focuses as close as 3.28-ft with a maximum magnification of 0.274x, so you can capture the smallest of subjects while maintaining a comfortable working distance.
photo of a city street at dusk with mountains in the background

Dazzling photos and HD videos

Advanced features for exceptional results

Optimized for capturing high-quality stills and HD videos on both FX- and DX-format cameras, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR incorporates Nikon advancements in lens technology and optical design. It's our first third generation Vibration Reduction lens, which enables hand-held shooting at shutter speeds up to 4 stops slower than would otherwise be possible. Nano Crystal Coat (N) reduces ghosting and lens flare; three Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements provide maximum sharpness and minimum chromatic aberration, even at f/4; and the Silent Wave Motor (SWM) provides ultra-fast, ultra-quiet autofocusing with seamless manual focus override.
group of three f/4 NIKKOR lenses, the 70-200, 24-120mm and 16-35mm lenses

Cover every possibility

Build an exceptional f/4 zoom system

The AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR brings the telephoto zoom range to Nikon's high-performance f/4 fixed aperture zoom lenses. Pair it with either the ultra-wide-angle to standard AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4F ED VR or the wide-angle to telephoto AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR, and you'll be able to cover an extremely broad focal length range with f/4 speed, superior image quality and a compact, lightweight lens system.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths. Nano Crystal Coat solves ghost effects caused by red light and effectively reduces ghost and flare caused by light entering the lens diagonally.
Super Integrated Coating
Super Integrated Coating
Nikon Super Integrated Coating is Nikon's term for its multilayer coating of the optical elements in NIKKOR lenses.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR 5 5 13 13
3+ months and going strong I bought this camera a day before the MTL St.Patty's Day Parade. Specifically, to get some great pics. And boy did it deliver. The Red's in the costumes was amazing, colors just popped. The AF was fast and I have used this lens for taking pics in multiple Marathons of my wife and friends now with amazing results. I had a little buyers remorse for not buying the 2.8. But when I look at the results of this lens, and the fact I could afford to add on a Teleconverter and high quality filter for less than the 2.8 I have no complaints. This lens really performs. And it is LIGHT! Carrying this thing around all day long is nothing! And my pics in daylight are going to be the same as the 2.8. Only place is lowlight, but you know what? I bought a 35mm 1.8 for lowlight. Voila! Love this lens. It is my go to lens always on my camera. June 22, 2013
Amazing on dx I use for outside sports and wild life photography on my dx nikon d3200, it is super sharp at f8 and the vr is amazing June 1, 2013
Works exceptionally well on DX camera, too The lens is easily as sharp as everyone else comments on. Currently being used on a D7000 and decided on it with the long term goal of moving to an FX body. Also bought a Nikon 1.4x tele-extender. Great combination, very sharp at all f-stops with best appearing to be f8. What with the extender and using a crop sensor camera, it is difficult to get sharp hand-held images at much below 1/100 sec at the 200mm end of the range. On tripod, best results have been achieved using the mirror lock up function. Under this best case scenario, the results remain quite sharp above 100% on monitor. IQ is excellent with or without the extender. The lighter weight of this lens compared to the f2.8 version was a major consideration as it will be carried on back-packing sojourns; lower price was clearly a consideration as well. The auto focus is very fast; great for fast moving kids and animals. All in all, if it meets your "needs", it is highly recommended. March 22, 2013
A Winner As near as I can tell this lens can equal it's f/2.8 big brother optically, but I can stick it on a camera and carry it around without wearing down my shoulder. It's an amazing lens. The VR is remarkable. January 18, 2013
Superb Optics, Awesome VR Optically, this is one of the best Nikon medium tele zooms I have ever owned, producing sharp, well corrected images throughout it's entire zoom range. Add to this a silky smooth zoom mechanism and Nikon's 3rd generation VR and you have a lens anyone should be highly pleased with. Speaking of the latter, I have been able to consistently obtain blur free images of static subjects hand held at 1/25 second with the lens mounted on my D700 and racked out to 200 mm. Not bad for an 82 year old. January 7, 2013
Outstanding Lens! This lens is simply amazing! I own several Pro-Grade level Nikon lenses including the 70-200 f2.8 VR and recently bought this one hoping that it will be a lighter with close picture quality alternate to the 2.8 version; well, I was totally blown away not only with how light it was but also how sharp and quiet as well. This lens may well replace my heavy f2.8, it's light, sharp, smaller, ED, Nano, and focuses very fast with my D800. This lens is an absolute winner!!! December 26, 2012
Better than 2.8vrii @ 150mm @ f4 same as @ 200mm and it only gets better. Go above f4 and this lens can challenge the 70-200 2.8 vrii very easily. VR 3rd Gen feels so much better than previews generations. And AF speed might not be as fast as the 2.8 but its about 90% there. Half the weight, just as sharp, one thousand dollars less, better VR. You do the math. Tryed it on my D800. December 24, 2012
This Lens Delivers The new Nikon 70-200 f/4 lens simply does everything it is supposed to do. It is light, compact, and produces eye popping images with edge-to-edge sharpness on my D600. Great product! December 20, 2012
Page:2
<<prev
31 Questions | 44 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
31 Questions | 44 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I am not a professional in photography and its a hobbies to take picture of the family members, views landscape, ect....
I need information if i need more lens or no and which lens the best with the one i have already.
Thank you for your precious reply.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree with JoeR. Like you, photography is my hobby. I see you already bought D600 which means you already interested in a FX camera and have spent $1000 more over a D7000 - again like me, my previous camera was D7000 with kit lens 18-105 used it for a year. This time am more serious and with FX bought 50mm 1.8G for now. Basically, I would like to cover full range from wide to tele. Started with 50mm first as it is a must, next would be a 24-70 prefrably a high speed aperture f2.8. Another lense I am contemplating is Nikon 70-200mm f4 $1000 lesser than the VRII f2.8. This itself is a total purchase of $4000 and maybe a 1.7x tele converter with 70-200 taking me beyond 300mm range. This is what I have planned, hope it helps. Btw, I am planning it slow might take another 6 to 8 months to prepare my preferred lineup. Happy Clicking! Sidenote: do check out Samyung 35mm - cheap lense and making lot of noise, though it is best tested on Canon so far. I am not going for it.
May 2, 2013 by
by
Pawan
NJ
Location : 
NJ
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
i bought a d600 to upgrade to fx format and decided to up grade my lens selection as well. i got the 300 f4 prime for a telephoto, the 70-200 f4 for a zoom, and a 24 f1.4 for night shots of the stars. the camera came with the 24-85. the 24 f1.4 is kind of specialized so ignore that for now. the three lens combo takes me from 24 to 300 all with good light capability for landscape and nature shots to family and friends indoors. if later you add a tc1.7e you can go to 510 with your 300 f4 and your 70-200 becomes 119-340. i haven't had any focus issues with the 1.7 at all. i do a lot of camping out in colorado and utah and found i always have my zoom pushed all the way out any way so that is why i got the 300 prime. happy shooting.
Feb 3, 2013 by
by
fred
anywhere use, i drive a truck
Location : 
anywhere use, i drive a truck
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S 50mm 1.8G performs as well or better at half the price.

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
it's different with AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G ??
Dec 19, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You might want to add a prime lens such as the

AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Once you use the camera, you will know whether you need additional lenses.
Later on you might want to add a 70-200 f/4 for some more reach.
Dec 18, 2012 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Is this lens fully compatible with teleconverters or it has limitations?

Nov 21, 2012 by
by
fernandofab
Sao Paulo - São Paulo, Brazil
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
fernandofab
Sao Paulo - São Paulo, Brazil
Location : 
Sao Paulo - São Paulo, Brazil
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
f/8 support is for all I know only available by the metering systems of the newer cameras (D4, D600, perhaps D800 as well). Otherwise you have to manually expose on those lenses.
Feb 2, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
What is meant by f/8 support in a camera? And how does one know if a Nikon camera has f/8 support?
Dec 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
Answer: 
The AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR is compatible with AF-I/AF-S Teleconverters TC-14E, TC-14E II, TC-17E II *, TC-20E *, TC-20E II *, TC-20E III.

The * indicates that autofocus is available only with cameras that offer f/8 support.
Nov 29, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
6 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Is the new lens still going to be available on November 29 as per the launch information?

Nov 21, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Naples, FL, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
Naples, FL, USA
Location : 
Naples, FL, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Not so....I have one! I asked the original question and had to cancel my original order as my chosen outlet could not say when they would get supplies, but I found Service Inc on Amazon had a small quantity, ordered it on 12/2, and it arrived on 12/5!
First impressions.....great!
Dec 7, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'd say NO since it's 12/7 and it still says backordered everywhere. So when will it be available?
Dec 7, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
As of November 25, 2012, the release date for the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR has not been changed.
Nov 24, 2012 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Weight of lens almost less than body. If body were clearly lighter e.g 7000 would opt for collar. Advice?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Mark
Atlanta, GA, USA
Location : 
Atlanta, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Initially, I wondered about the collar too. Personally, having used the lens for a while, I do not plan to purchase the collar. My f/4 70-200 is mounted on a D600 body with the MB-D14 Battery Grip. It balances beautifully and I have not experienced any tendency at all towards "droop" when used with a good tripod and ballhead. Notice from the photos that the collar mounts very near the lens mount , only an inch or so forward of it. I like mine just fine as it is.
Apr 7, 2013 by
by
Fast Prime
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This question was directed with respect to the new 70-200 F4. weight 900gram with D800 900gram. Tripod Collar is an option - not included. My question is - whether the tripod collar is better. My guess is as you say. Both the lens side and the body's lens receiver side are adequate to the task. Does Nikon have an opinion?
Jan 21, 2013 by
by
mark
Atlanta, GA, USA
Location : 
Atlanta, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Depends on what lens you are using, if it has a collar then there will be no problem using it regardsless of what body you use
Jan 21, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
 
2 Answers

I am looking for a zoom lens for my D3000. Do you have recomendations?

Dec 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Nashville, TN, USA
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
Nashville, TN, USA
Location : 
Nashville, TN, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
18-200 VRII DX, perfect walk around lens.
Feb 2, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
How much do you have to spend
Dec 22, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
 
2 Answers

This new lens fits well in the D7000? Can I use teleconverters?

Jan 28, 2013 by
by
Diogenes
São Paulo, Brazil
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I bought a D7000 with 18-200mm lens, I would like to have a lens in which I could adapt a tele converter, able to transform it into a tele of truth, for when I need one. For example, in a Safari I intend to do this year. This new lens seemed appropriate, given the price and weight. The questions are: 1) should I get rid of 18-200mm and buy this 70-200mm f/4? 2) This new lens fits well in the D7000? 3) What tele converter can I use?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Diogenes
São Paulo, Brazil
Location : 
São Paulo, Brazil
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
1. The 18-200 is a decent lens for close-up use, however not a good lens for use as a telephoto;

2. Yes, the lens works well with the D700;

3. You can use a teleconverter, however you will only have AF with the 1.4x (f4 x 1.4 = 5.6). You will have to use manual focus with any other TC as the D600 can't AF at f8, the way the D4, D800 and D600 can. Don't forget your DX body has a built-in 1.5 crop factor.
Aug 18, 2013 by
by
MichaelAH
NYC
Location : 
NYC
Age: 25-34
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
TC'c will not fit the 18-200.
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
 
2 Answers

can new 70-200 vr f/4 autofocus with teleconverters

Feb 2, 2013 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
That's f/8 autofocus capable.
Feb 2, 2013 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 1.4 TC will work with all DSLRS. The D4, D800 and D600 are all F/8 focus capable so they can use all the TC's with this lens.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
 
1 answer

Is any Nikon 67mm lens hood compatible with this lens?

Oct 24, 2012 by
by
Nikon Studio
Singapore
-4points
0out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Nikon Studio
Singapore
Location : 
Singapore
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, Nikon HB-60 hood is compatible with this lens:
http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Products/Product/Lens-Hoods/4980/HB-60-Bayonet-Hood.html
Oct 24, 2012 by
by
TarunKr
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Location : 
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
 
1 answer

Is it compatible with a teleconverter?

Oct 24, 2012 by
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+10points
14out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful4
Answer: 
yes
The 70-200mm focal length range (105-300mm on DX-format cameras) has been the choice of pros for years, but for greater reach, add any of Nikon's teleconverters and achieve 1.4X, 1.7X or 2X magnification.
Oct 24, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
 
1 answer

Is this lens weather sealed and does it zoom internally?

Oct 24, 2012 by
by
John
Croydon, PA, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
1 year, 8 months ago
by
John
Croydon, PA, USA
Location : 
Croydon, PA, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
Answer: 
The AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR has a rubber lens-mount gasket but care should still be taken to protect it from harsh conditions and high humidity. This lens has internal zoom and internal focus.
Dec 4, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
5 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers