Loading

The essential telephoto zoom lens for passionate shooters.

With a f/2.8 fixed maximum aperture, VR II image stabilization and Nikon’s advanced lens technologies, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II delivers a versatile telephoto zoom range and professional performance in nearly any light.  Whether you’re shooting low-light sports, wildlife, fashion, portraits or everyday subjects, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will reliably capture stunning, bright, razor-sharp images and HD videos
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
A-M
M/A
IF Lens

Catch the shots that matter

Fast f/2.8 maximum aperture and VR II

An update to Nikon’s legendary f/2.8 fixed aperture telephoto zoom lens, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II captures stunning full-frame images with remarkable speed. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-fast, ultra-quiet autofocusing with seamless manual focus override. No matter what you’re shooting, you’ll capture it with uncompromising speed and precision—at any focal length.

Images in a class of their own

Renowned NIKKOR optics and advanced Nikon lens technologies

Photos and HD videos captured with the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II are second to none. The lens draws peak performance from advanced D-SLRs for exceptional sharpness, contrast and color rendering. From its enhanced autofocusing (SWM), VR II image stabilization, Nano Crystal Coat (N), Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass and more, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will broaden your shooting potential and inspire some of your most impressive shots yet.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths. Nano Crystal Coat solves ghost effects caused by red light and effectively reduces ghost and flare caused by light entering the lens diagonally.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
A-M
A-M
A-M stands for Auto-Manual Mode. Thanks to a mechanism incorporated in the lens barrel, smooth focusing operation in Manual focus mode is realized in the same way as users have become accustomed to with conventional manual-focus lenses by adding an appropriate torque to the focus ring.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II 4.8 5 186 186
Poor Lens I bought this lens a few months back. At the time I placed the order it was back ordered. The lens arrived when I was traveling and I did not have a chance to try it. By the time I used it, it was past 30 days. The lens had focusing issues when set on auto focus. The images manually focused were soft for certain distances. I had to send it to Nikon to get it fixed. Although they fixed it for free, I had to pay $60 for one way shipping.I was in disbelief that I paid $2300 for the piece of gear that was defective and wondered if nikon does a quality check on its products at all especially on their so called pro gear that they sell at steep prices. December 20, 2011
An excellent upgrade from the VR1 I received the lens last week so have not given it a thorough test but my initial range of shots have been impressive. What I hoped for when buying the lens was to match the contrast and full-frame sharpness of Nikon's other new professional zooms, the 14-24 and the 24-70, and I have not been disappointed. I have not tried it out with portraits or events but am confident the focal lengths of the lens will satisfy my needs in these areas. Strong build quality gives me confidence that the lens will hold up. October 24, 2011
Performs as advertised I received the AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f2.8 ED VRII refurbished lens on 10/12/2011 from the Nikon Store and immediately put it to work with my D200.The conditions were a typical Fall Western PA late afternoon, that being gloomy and gray. The lens performed as advertised. The colors of the remaining flowers were vibrant and and the VR system works great with a lens weighing more than three pounds. October 13, 2011
it,s very sturdy Haven't used it much yet, since I only had it for a couple of weeks, but hope to try it a lot in the near future. It seems very well built and have not noticed any thing as yet. Very proud to own one. September 26, 2011
Sharper than my kitchen knife! I bought this lens along with the D700 and have to say it is FANTASTIC! The image is tack sharp even at the widest aperture. It focuses right on the subject and hardly have the focus hunting issue. The VR system serves well in low light situation but it drains a lot of battery. Its weight is also another con - definitely not a lens for travelling unless you are in need of image quality or don't mind carrying. However, there is a breathing problem issue with this lens. There is a very small amount of dust that make its way into the lens over time - it does not affect image quality though. Overall, this lens is amazing. If you have enough bucks for this fantastic glass then I see no reason to pass it. September 21, 2011
One of Nikon's sharpest lenses Performance typically boils down to two things: autofocus speed and sharpness. So let's just cut to the chase: this is one of Nikon's sharpest lenses, and the AF-S system works just as fast and as quietly on this lens as it does on any other. Beautiful bokeh. Gorgeous out-of-focus rendering, perhaps as good as any existing Nikkor. September 19, 2011
A must for night football For dark nights at high school fields, this lens has proven to be a reliable asset for sports shooting. The VR feature does make a big difference in getting fast action shots during a pan as players move through the frame. September 15, 2011
Is no.t durable This is the second time the autofocus has stopped working, so dependability is not good. I am so far pleased with customer service, so shall see with the current situation. I really baby my equipment so am concerned this will be an ongoing issue. August 23, 2011
Love this lens! I purchased this lens to have for an up-coming wedding. I'm always worried that I won't have enough light in the chapel or church. The lens comes with a very nice lens case with shoulder strap. This is good because the lens is heavy. I immediately took a few test shots and the results were amazing. The bokeh on this lens is superb. I've attached a photo of Astro, my Westie. He was my first outside test shot. I have been testing in low light as well, and the lens is perfect for me. I would highly recommend this lens to anyone who needs a faster lens. August 18, 2011
Whoa amazing lens The best glass, I have ever bought! Here are a few pictures of what it can do. "Pictures are worth a thousand words" :) I used the AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II to increase focal lens. August 14, 2011
Great deal I got this lens 5 days ago and it has hardly been off my camera since then. The pictures turn out clear and sharp and the range on the lens makes it capable of photographing almost anything. I like to use it for wildlife photography. This is a must have lens and in my opinion is the best lens Nikon makes. August 10, 2011
a-ma-ZING I recently upgraded from the 80-200 AF-D to this lens, and can't sing its praises loudly enough! The ability to slow down 4 stops is incredible (1/13 @ 200mm handheld), though for weddings and portraits I won't go below 1/100 (which is the difference between f/2.8 and f/4 for more DoF, or ISO 1600 and ISO 800 for more detail). It's also got rounded diaphragm blades, so the bokeh is a bit smoother. It's quite heavy when added to my D700/grip + FlexTT5 + SB-900, so I guess it's time to either add the wrist-strap or do some forearm exercises. Who should buy this lens? Anybody who MUST have clear, crisp images at long focal lengths and can't risk camera-shake. August 1, 2011
One of the best lenses I have ever used. This lens is simply one of the best. Quality is outstanding, optics are the highest grade, it's not all that heavy! I expected it to weigh a lot more, but it manages to do very well. In harsh lighting conditions, this lens pulls through for me. Today's ISO standards, F2.8 lenses get you exactly what you want in a photograph without worrying about too much noise and grain. - Shooting sports, this lens is first to go into my gearbag and stay on my camera. (If i can get court/fieldside) If you were looking for the best zoom lens that brings you the fastest autofocusing, the most crisp picture, this lens is perfect. Major pro's of this lens : Tripod Collar / Removable foot. Do you have ANY idea how great it is to be able to remove that foot? Go use competitors lenses, if you can't remove it, chances are it's going to drive you crazy. Dust/Weather sealing is one of the best. I've tried Wild life photography with this lens, and let me tell you, sitting and waiting for an hour and a half, your palms tend to get sweaty, I completely forgot I can damage the lens by letting moisture in. Nothing to worry about! Just wipe it off! Con: The only downside I can find with this lens, is the coating's on the front element are fairly easy to come off. hard to scratch. I can tell you that much. but if something with sharp enough edges were to brush against the front of the lens, you can lose some of that coating. Overall, This lens will not disappoint. August 1, 2011
Excellent Image stability with the new VRII this lense really does what it portends.. I cannot recomend this too highly.. July 30, 2011
One of the best Nikkor lenses i've always used, very fast focusing, good vibration reduction! Before that I owned the AFS 80-200mm f/2.8 that was very good too! July 25, 2011
Wow! I love this lens. So sharp. Rarely off my camera since I got it. Thank you Nikon! July 23, 2011
Very solid lens to use As an update from the older 80-200/f2.8D type lens, this is quite a solid lens and is well-built. From the heft, it's going to be able to handle a lot of use and abuse that any photographer might toss at it. It's also quite a fast lens in terms of its focusing. I love how it zips from near to far in almost no time! Great to have in one's arsenal of lenses for general and sports photography! The cost is, in my opinion, well worth it! July 7, 2011
Meets and Exceeds My Expectations This was my 1st 2.8 lense and it has met and exceeded my expectations - allows me to take great pictures in variable lighting conditions and I get great action shots which provides exceptional depth of field contrasts. June 26, 2011
Fantastic lens I bought this lens three months ago and it has been my lens of first choice. I have used it to cover two Magicians conventions four weeks with outstanding results. I can some tight shots without having to walk up to the edge of a stage and becoming a distraction. Next up is a rodeo then an Indy car race. June 25, 2011
Wow!! Wow, Wow, Wow. That is all I could say after using this lens. This lens is so sharp and produces unbelievable colors. June 22, 2011
BEST LENS I'VE EVER USED I asked the salesman at [my favorite local Nikon dealer; Nikon says I can't say where] what he thought of this lens. He said, "We refer to it as 'God's eye' if that tells you anything." It did. I bought it. The nickname is well deserved. All focusing is inside the lens, as it should be, and no moving barrel to get gummed up. If only the 24-70 were as well designed. June 17, 2011
Excellent choice for all I am grateful Nikon produced such a wonderful lens and I was in a position to afford the product. I have no complaints--just praises for the quality and optic performance. June 6, 2011
This is the best lens. Quality and speed like no other. Highly recommended! June 3, 2011
Great Lens What a great lens! I had read many good reviews of this lens and it turns out, they're true! May 31, 2011
Solid build and great results I was previously using a 55-200mm f4.5-5 Nikon lense which is great general lense b/c of its range for it's size/weight. I just purchased this 70-200mm f/2.8 lense and have to say that the picture quality is probably 3x the clarity, particularly when comparing under indoor zoom situations. My family does karate and in the dojo with fluorescent lights, my other lense would take nice pictures but they tended to be grainy and leave ghosting effects unless I used the flash. I just took 200+ pictures of action in the dojo without the flash and they looked great. White balance was a bit "off" but that is probably more to do with my settings and conditions than anything else (was I under a light or in between light banks). This is a "beast" to hold, but worth it for the results. Extremely solid build quality. May 31, 2011
The Ultimate 70-200 I used to have the Nikon AF-S 70-200 VR and it was a good lens, but it felt cumbersome, unbalanced and I had primes that would beat it most of the time, especially at distance. I sold that lens and got a 70-200 VRII. The 70-200 VRII is a world of difference. Number one is it's very sharp, at any and all focal lengths, even wide-open. Better color, contrast, faster-more accurate focus and the VRII is amazing. It handles much better and is much more well-balanced. I no longer have any primes that beat this wonder-lens at equal apertures. This is the lens I go to automatically if I need the range of 70-200. Best lens I've ever owned. The ONLY drawback I've found with this lens is the lens hood. On one hand, it has a better lock than the older version, but on the other hand, the hood seems short and the petal edges are rounded so you can't stand the lens on its hood on standby when you need it fast. I have found a different hood that takes it's place and I now keep the original hood in the box. May 30, 2011
Nikkor 70-200 f2.8 vr II I have the D700 with this lens and I am amazed at the results, WOW!! Super sharp glass for shooting weddings, sports, and portraits. Contrast is super, auto focus is spot on, my first vr lens, no need for a tripod, bump up the ISO and go. May 9, 2011
amazing lens Best lens I have ever used. It's well worth the price. This lens is fast and very crisp. The only downside is that it's heavy. It's very solid feeling and seems like it will last a very long time. May 3, 2011
MULTIPLE USES FOR THIS LENS I find this lens excellent for shooting sporting events, Bicycle races Basketball games etc. One of the better lenses of my nikon assortment. April 23, 2011
Great Lense!! This has proven to be one of the best Nikkor lenses that I have ever owned. It is truly fantastic! April 22, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
<<prev | next>>
56 Questions | 86 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
56 Questions | 86 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

Will this lens work with my D90?

Apr 13, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
3out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Tammer
Canada
Location : 
Canada
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
I use this lense on both a D90 and a D3S, and it works great.
Apr 22, 2011 by
by
Paul
Key West, FL
Location : 
Key West, FL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Oh yes
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes. But effective focal length will be 105 mm to 300 mm given 1.5 crop factor ( D90 is not full frame camera). LENS IS SO GOOD THAT YOU NEED TO TRY IT TO BELIEVE.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
docmic
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the lens will work with your D90.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

D80, will this lens work on it?

May 18, 2011 by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I'm planning on upgrading my camera at some point from a D80 to something better. I have two questions.

Will this lens work on it?

Can I use this lens on the camera witout having to have a monopod or tripod? I like to keep my camera in my hand via a secure strap. I'm wondering if I can do that same with this lens attached?

Thanks,

---Mark
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
Location : 
Stanhope, NJ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! You can use this with your D80.
I'm using this with my D80, and it is completely hand holdable
Note, the lens will dwarf the camera. it makes the camera feel like a stack of post it notes.
All joking a side, it will focus just as great as it would on any other camera.
the measurements will lead to 105 - 300 F2.8 on the D80.
you dont even need to hold the camera so much, just the lens.
Yes, you can have this camera and lens secure by a trap, I recommend getting a sling so your gear won't weigh your neck down. and it just works!
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
RK
B.C Canada
Location : 
B.C Canada
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
on the shorter focal lengths, with VR turned on, you can use it handheld, however, it will be HEAVY. on longer focal lengths, unless you're using very fast shutter speeds, you will have to have at least a monopod. and an af-s lens is compatible with all D-series nikon bodies, and will be.
May 19, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80, And the monopod/tripod problem is really depend on what shutter speed you can work on, But it is better to have monopod/tripod when taking indoor/lowlight conduction because you can boost the ISO high enought on the D80 for a faster shutter speed
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

how will this lens work wih my 7000 camera

Mar 17, 2011 by
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
john
neenah wi
Location : 
neenah wi
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just upgrade from VRI to VRII for my D7000 and it is amazing.
If you are shooting at distance and you require the best possible results this is what you need.
Alex
Aug 2, 2013 by
by
Alex
London, UK
Location : 
London, UK
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
This lens works flawlessly with my D7000. I borrowed one for a wedding and it was a dream to use in the fact that I hardly thought about it the whole time, aside from wanting one!

Sample image was shot w/ a D7000 and the 70-200 VRII
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very well. I use this on my D7000 with no problem at all.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What kind of teleconvertes I can use?

Apr 3, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
gaby
bermuda
Location : 
bermuda
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
Answer: 
It depends on what you are shooting but i would use the nikon 1.7x teleconverter. It's not too much of a decrement in autofocus speed and light loss but still 70% more zoom. Great fit.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
AF-S Teleconverters (TC-14E II /TC-17E II /TC-20E II)
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
TC-14E II, TC-17E II, TC-20E II and TC-20E III can all be used with the 70-200.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Aperture locked on f/2.8

Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
I realized today that my AF-S VR-NIKKOR 70-200mm 1:2.8 G ED lens does not respond to any camera it's mounted to as far as changing the aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture setting. Also, when attempting to preview using the "Depth Of Field Preview Button" on either my D200, D300, or D700, I can hear the click of the camera actuate the button, but it seems the camera is not receiving the change in aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture. I purchased the lens from B&H Photo as a factory refurbished lens and was wondering if by looking up the serial number, it can be determined if the reason it was refurbished was for the same reason.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Dan The Photo Man, you are right on the money!!! I got a response from Nikon that made my head spin. Totally off base as far as I'm concerned. BUT...You, my friend were exactly on point! After reading your response, I took a look at the aperture arm and at first I didn't notice that it was bent. But it did not move freely in its slot. I the took a small needle nose and bent it a tiny bit, away from the side of the slot that it was rubbing against, and it sprung to the other end of the slot. It now moves freely and is spring loaded and when I tried it on the camera, it operated properly. Thanks a million, Dan!
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sounds like the aperture arm (a little metal piece that protrudes from the lens at the mounting end) is either damaged or has been bent. When you put the lens on the camera you have to be careful not to damage the arm.

It's a shiny silver piece that should move freely in it's slot (about a half inch back and forth) and as you manually move it you will see the aperture change. You may have to bend it slightly back to it's correct position so it will engage and function properly.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Dan the photo man
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Information regarding why it was refurbished is not shown with the serial number. You are welcome to send the lens for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

can i use this lens with a D3000 ?

Mar 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. No problem, but the images will be cropped. I use it on my DX body cameras.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use this lens with the D3000.
Mar 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Can I use with D7000 and D70?

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
cooknsouth
Tulare, CA
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
cooknsouth
Tulare, CA
Location : 
Tulare, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
D7000, yes. D70 yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the D7000 has a focusing motor in it as well so it can take both lenses w/ motors in them (like this 70-200) or without (like the 80-200). The D70 also has a built-in motor so it will work with both as well. The D7000's AF system is much more advanced, however, and is very quick in comparison to my D200's AF, fyi.

The sample image was taken w/ this 70-200 VRII and my D7000.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

will this lens work with my d3100?

May 24, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens will definitely work with your D3100. As long as the lens is an AF-S type lens, then it will function with the DSLR body at hand. Also, as a VR G type lens, it will offer those functions as well. So, you really have nothing to worry about.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3100.
May 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Is there another lens that may be more suitable for my needs?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
todd
nyc
Location : 
nyc
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Personally, I wouldn't recommend that simply because you're gaining very little by putting on a teleconverter on the 70-200 lens when shooting sports. This lens is ideal for action that is happening closer to you. By putting a teleconverter on it, it makes it a little unwieldy to shoot with. That is when you will want to use a super telephoto lens (300mm and above). That is best for shooting subjects that are far away. Also, by putting the teleconverter on the 70-200, depending on which one you use, it will also decrease your effective f-stop accordingly. If you're shooting night sports, you're going to have a tougher time trying to stop the action and get good results. Best to leave it as-is and shoot it at wide open at f2.8 and enjoy its capabilities as originally intended. If you can't afford a super telephoto at the time, at least try renting one and see how it works for you. You'd be surprised at the results you'll get!
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Depends whether you need that bit extra reach or not, only you can answer that.
May 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Is this lense covered with international warranty?

Jun 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
or I have to pay extra bucks for it?
 
Products related to my question
 
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
kartik
india
Location : 
india
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
That depends on what you bought at the time of purchase - did you pay the USA or the International (gray market) price? If it said USA, then you got the USA warranty that covers it for five years. If you paid the International price, then you got the international warranty that is different from the USA warranty. It gets a little confusing, but that's the bottom line. They are different, and how Nikon handles repairs differs as well.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased.
Jun 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers