Loading

Balanced, fixed f/2.8 wide-angle to medium telephoto zoom lens

Praised for its reliability and overall image quality, this is a long-time favorite lens of passionate professionals. With a fast fixed aperture of f/2.8 across a 24–70mm zoom range, this lens provides both fine resolution and natural representation. A Nano Crystal Coat helps effectively reduce ghost and flare effects under harsh lighting for greater image clarity. Its Internal Focus (IF) provides fast and quiet auto focusing without changing the length of the lens, so you can retain subject to working distance through the entire focus range.
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens

Fast. Versatile. Exceptional.

f/2.8 fixed aperture 24–70mm zoom

The AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED delivers fast, wide-angle to medium telephoto zoom capabilty and is optimized for edge-to-edge sharpness on both Nikon FX and DX format D-SLRs. Its fast, fixed f/2.8 aperture enables exceptional low-light performance and consistent exposure across the entire zoom range. Enhanced optical formulas produce exceptional sharpness, contrast and color, rendering outstanding image and video integrity.

A favorite among professionals

Durable, reliable and remarkable

For those who demand reliable performance in challenging environments, the AF-S NIKKOR 24–70mm f/2.8G ED delivers. Its rugged construction includes professional-grade dust and moisture resistance. Three Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements and Precision Glass Mold (PGM) Aspherical lens elements control chromatic aberrations while enhancing sharpness and contrast, even at the widest aperture settings; and Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra high-speed auto focusing with pinpoint accuracy and super-quiet operation.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED 4.7 5 212 212
Another Must Have!!!! I wouldn't even think about shooting an event without this lens. It is one of three lenses I must have for my wedding shoots. It is just unbelievably great. Before I could afford this lens I rented it to do several shoots because it wasn't the same shooting without it. I'm in love with it!!!! This thing is so versatile!!!! June 13, 2013
Great Range/Fun to use Please see my reviews of the 12-24mm and the 70-200mm for context. I go back and forth between my choice of 'always on' lens -- it is usually this one but it might be the 12-24mm or the 50mm 1.4D. Regardless this is an easy lens to keep available since the range provides coverage which works for quick party snaps, animal portraits, industrial demonstration and even travel. The lens is constructed as you would expect a fine Nikon lens to be constructed and the controls fall where they should. In addition it focuses fast and, as would be expected, it is tack-sharp. One more thing: because of the resolving capabilities of the D800 this lens is a nice light option to go wildlife shooting. June 5, 2013
Workhorse lens Great mid range zoom. Goes hand in hand with the 70-200. April 18, 2013
Incredible clarity Had the the lens for 2 years and not a scintilla of a problem with it. It's what's always on the camera (D700) - no need for primes with this baby. Silky smooth telephoto and wicked fast autofocus. Lack of VR is not an issue. It can turn the most average shot into something much more. For anything within it's focal range, this is your guy. April 17, 2013
peeerrrrfect love this lens. so sharp. so sweet. i love the sharpness when im inside or out doing portraites. waited two years for this. March 7, 2013
STRONG, FAST, #1 LENS Best LENS I've ever used. It's so fast it doesn't even need VR. Built Quality is amazing and the weight just makes my camera body much much more AWESOME! March 4, 2013
Superb Quality and Color Rendition This was the first pro zoom I bought.It stays on my camera 85% of the time.Quick, precise and color rendition is fantastic.Build Quality is second to none. February 10, 2013
A fascinating piece of glass I received my lens yesterday. I mounted that on my Nikon D7000 and I was really blown by the quality of the pictures. The size and weight as well as the build quality of the lens are just amazing. The focus is a breeze. I am really very happy with it and I don't regret any dollar I paid for it. February 4, 2013
Great Lens WOW This is the first piece of a Pro Lens I've ever purchased. Clean, crystal clear, great color, fast. I tried a friends at church and put it on my D7000. I was blown away with her's shooting a program we were doing. Her lens was at least 5 years old. I was so impressed I had to break down and get it for Christmas. Granted its expensive, but wow what a difference compared to the standard kit lens. Can't wait to get a FX body. Mike December 25, 2012
Photographic gold... This lens is tight, bright, sharp -- basically awesome in all categories. Don't listen to anyone in these reviews on Nikon glass (or bodies for that matter -- I shoot a D600) complaining about weight (or size!). Those comments belong on the pocket-camera pages where it's relevant. It's kind of like buying a wicked-fast sports car and complaining the interior only seats two. The 24-70 is worth it's weight in photographic gold. December 9, 2012
Great Lens and value. Great lens. I am glade I made the purchase. Corner to corner very sharp. I have not taken it off my D800 and probably never will. Both the camera and lens exceed my ecpectations. October 11, 2012
Most useful of the Trinity Pros: Sharp at aperture 2.8, from 24 to 70 throughout MOST useful focal length range (for full frame) Weather seal Smooth focus ring Cons: Expensive Slight distortion at 24mm No VR Review: This lens never left my bag since the day I bought it. It is super sharp, focuses super fast and produces accurate colors and contrast. 70 mm at 2.8 will give you somewhat similar bokeh as a 50mm 1.8 would give. 24mm gives a superb wide view. This is the reason this focal length range is the most useful if you are using it on a full frame camera. This lens takes 77mm filters. Using ND/GND filters is much easier than using them on a 14-24mm 2.8G because the latter has a bulbous end and you need special holders to hold the filters infront of the lens. Most of us would take wide angle landscape pictures at small apertures(around 7-10) so as to get a sharp picture, but you can very well use this lens at 2.8, for example for a group portrait. It is sharp up to f/16. After that you might get slightly soft or hazy pictures because of increased diffraction. There is some distortion at 24mm, but it can easily be corrected during post processing. There is also some vignetting(the blackish shadow that you get on the edges of an image) but only when the lens is used wide open at 2.8, and when the background is white or gray. There is no vibration reduction in this lens, but one can take stable shots at shutter speeds as low as 1/50 at 70mm. Some third party companies are making 24-70 with vibration compensation/reduction which lets you shoot at slower shutter speeds. Briefly comparing it to the Tamron and Canon variants, what I like about Nikon’s version is the quality control and fast focus. I have used all 3. The canon 24-70 is as sharp as Nikon, but what I don’t like about it is its thickness. It is fatter than Nikon’s 24-70 and is made for bigger hands. Tamron is not as sharp as Canon and Nikon at the centre, but the edges are equally sharp at 2.8. The difference becomes unnoticeable as you decrease the aperture. About the quality control, Nikon makes sure that every lens performs equally unlike the problems I have had with a third party company in the past. Now this lens is expensive, but what makes the price worth buying? This lens has 3 ED elements and 3 Aspherical elements which help minimize chromatic aberration and make sure that you get sharpness both at the center and at the periphery. It has a nano crystal coat which is also responsible for this lens’ killer sharpness. It has a 9 bladed, rounded diaphragm which gives you lovely bokeh. It has a built-in autofocus motor, so it will auto focus even on cameras that do not have an auto focus motor. It focuses so fast, so fast that you don’t have to wait half way before fully pressing the shutter. You have to use it in order to believe it. For those who find it difficult to spend 1900$ on this lens but need an all rounder lens, can go for a Nikon 24-85 f/3.5-4.5 lens. This lens is for 1/3 the price. You lose the 2.8 aperture but this lens performs so well that you will never regret purchasing it. For the people who use DX ( cropped sensor cameras ): You can use this lens on a DX camera. It performs the same way as it does on an FX, the difference being the focal length change. On a dx, 24-70 would become 36-105mm. So on a DX, this lens can’t be called an all purpose lens since the wide angle 24mm is gone. I would rather use a 17-55 2.8 on a dx body so that it gives me an effective 25.5-82.5mm focal length. But keep in mind, you will not be able to use a 17-55 on a full frame unless you want to switch to dx mode. For those who own a Nikon 28-70 2.8: This lens is as good as 24-70 in terms of optics and image quality. The only difference is that 24 is noticeably wider than 28. October 11, 2012
Fantastic all around zoom I LOVE this lens. I switched from DX to FX and this lens replaced my 17-55, also an excellent lens. This 24-70 lens is absolutely superb ... ergonomics just right, balance great (it's heavy but that's part of the deal), zoom ring well placed, and the sharpness is phenomenal. I have been a Nikon user since 1980, and have owned or used (company equipment assigned to me) so many great Nikkors, and this is very high on the list. I do love primes, want the 35/1.4 and 105 Macro VR (the latter which I will get soon) but a short zoom is indispensable for photojournalism and other work. I can't imagine how they will improve on this lens, even with VR. July 29, 2012
Essential for anyone getting paid for photography This lens is fantastic. The only downside I can think of is that it is a bit heavy, but for the quality of the pictures, it is absolutely worth it. All the pictures are sharp and the color is spot on. The auto-focus is extremely fast and precise, and the M/A mode is wonderful. The Nano Crystal Coat works really well (that is what the "N" means on the lens). I recommend this to anyone that gets paid for their photography. If photography is your profession, this lens, as well as any f/2.8 "N" series lens, will increase the quality of your pictures so you can charge more for noticeable improvement. In that regards, it is worth every penny. May 12, 2012
Very Sharp Bought this lens about a year ago and since then it never failed me. Autofocus is fast, silent and accurate. Image quality is very sharp like super sharp. This is the lens that I will always bring wherever I go. May 9, 2012
LOVE IT ! 1 year ago I bought 85mm 1.4f for portrait work. It's fantastic glass BUT - this 24 - 70mm f2.8 it's pretty close and more flexible lens. Optical and build quality ***** five star ! It make me thinking to seal my 85mm 1.4f. Only reason to keep 85mm now is size. It's very light compare to 24-70. However from time I screw 24-70 to my body it's non stop there because its just perfect for most of situations and work... It's fantastic glass. May 3, 2012
yeah, it's the "real deal" i'll be brief: it does what you ask of it! heck, it'll even do things you just have no idea how to ask for! this piece of glass is "the real deal" and yes, i own the "trinity" all are way beyond your "idea" of what "works", highly recommended, regardless of the cost: remember, you do "get what you pay for" December 31, 2011
Simply WOW I have have always wanted a lens that would do the things that I wanted to do. I hate being inhibited by my equipment. I own other nikon lenses in this range but felt that they did not focus fast and as sharp as I wanted. I read almost all reviews of the lens I could get a hold of. I spoke to a few pro-photographers. No one had anything bad to say about this lens other than its heft. It IS a heavy lens, but you get used to it. The weight no longer becomes an issue once you feel the sheer joy of using this lens. It focuses fast, real fast. The image this lens produces is amazing. I own the Nikon 18-70 lens and let me say that this lens does not even compare to the sharpness and ease of use of the 24-70mm lens. It took me over a year to make the purchase. This was going to be my first pro level lens and to be frank, its a lot of money to put out there for an amateur photographer. But I finally bit the bullet and purchased the lens. I do not regret every penny I paid for it and wondered why I bought all the other lenses first. BUY THIS LENS. YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED!! I included a picture just to show you what this lens can do even in the hands of an amateur! December 26, 2011
new eyes with enhanced features The lens is amazing as it picks up those colors which you cant see but those color are eventually there. Use this lens and shoot in RAW only and turn off all the auto features from the camera and you will see the difference. The only issues is that sometime it miss to focus in low light or on a flat surface but you can always switch to manual mode to focus it right. Otherwise the lens is great to have for daily use. November 1, 2011
This lens is the real deal I've horsed around with good but not top notch Nikkor lens for several years. I finally found the guts to pop for a "Pro" level lens and man I can't believe the difference. Besides surgical sharpness, I found the need to Photoshop for contrast, light level, saturation, etc. to be almost gone. Maybe a tweak here and there but nothing big. Luckily The Nikkor's I had previously have good re-sale value so by selling one of these, I was able to reduce the monetary sting of buying this thing. if you are serious about producing great images, save your time and trouble and just go for the good stuff...Like this lens. October 18, 2011
Versatile lens, one flaw I use this lens for about 90% of my work. 2.8 is great for indoors and the focus is quiet and fast. Slight distortion at both ends of zoom, but that's to be expected. Only real drawback is that I've had to have the rubber zoom ring replaced twice (NPS). It stretches due to usage and binds up. For a lens that I expect to last decades, this aspect is troublesome. However, the rest of the lens is A+ perfect. September 29, 2011
Another one of the best! This is the lens that I carry all the times. Perfect for any midrange shooting and very nice bokeh. I sometimes use this for landscape shooting and it gives a good wide angle. Yes, it's a pricey lens for me but no doubt one of the best Nikkor lens. September 17, 2011
Excellent and superb performing lens! This lens is the one to go for! I use it on my D7000 and it serves very well as an event lens (with the 1.5x crop giving me an extra reach) and I'm a very happy user. I've bought this lens quickly after I had 1 months test with the D7000 and the basic lenses and I must say this combo is just right & perfect for me. Weight is not so much of an issue (I don't know why people complain about it so much...) it feels solid and I know what I've paid for delivers 3x more then usual. Plus the f/2.8 constant aperture is superb, it saves me when i'm indoors or places with low light conditions! Sharpness just hit the spot perfectly, my pictures are just too sharp that I will have to give this lens to you for a try out to see for yourself where the pictures can speak thousands of words! This lens rivals the basic 18-105mm f3.5-5.6 that came with the D7000 I had and it has saved me in many occasions where I didn't have flash and I need to get closer to my subjects. I really don't have any regrets or whatsoever because I knew it was an excellent performer through many experiences/reviews and I was confident about it, it has exceeded my expectations by a huge factor! I definitely recommend this lens if you want a zoom, either on DX or FX, it will do it's job well August 24, 2011
This is the lens that stays on my camera This lens provides consistent high quality and detailed shots. I use this for weddings, portraits, and commercial head shots. It provides the flexibility to get closeups yet can produce excellent wide angle shots necessary for larger groups. I love this wide-angle zoom lens. It is absolutely clear at all focal lengths. I would not hesitate to recommend this lens to any serious photographer. One of it's attributes is it's weight. It provides great stability. It reminds you that you are the great photographer you are. As far as looks are concerned, it communicates professionalism that you would expect from the Nikon name. The gold lettering on the lens is classy, as is the fact that there is only one option switch on the lens; Manual or Auto Focus. All other options are on the camera. It's clean, effective, and professional. I use this lens as my mainstay on a D700. The full frame shots are amazing. There is never a hesitation with this lens, and I've never found it to be slow or sloppy. While it's an investment, it pays great dividends by consistently producing super clear shots for you and your customers. August 19, 2011
Love it great glass I used to own an old Film Minolta camera and lenses and recently purchased the D7000. I decided to buy the body only and buy the best lenses as I intend to move to a D3x when I get more experienced. So I purchased this lens and the Nikkor 70 -200 mm f/2.8 VRII Here is a sample picture RAW, 70mm, ISO 100, f/4.8, 1/50 August 14, 2011
My new all-time favorite lens When I made the switch to Nikon this was first on my list along with a 70-200. This is my new workhorse lens. Dreamed of owning one and have rented a few, now that I own one, I will own it forever. Sweet and sharp right out of the box and have fallen in love all over again. Great lens and would highly recommend it. August 4, 2011
best general-purpose lens I've been using this lens for a couple years now, and can't get over how versatile and sharp it is. There was a brief period before I had the 24-70 where I used my old 17-55mm from my D200 on my D700 (*gasp*, I know) for those times when the nifty-fifty or 80-200 wouldn't cut it, and this lens outshines even the venerable (for a DX lens) 17-55 in terms of clarity and 'feel.' More Nikon magic, I guess... Who should buy this lens? *Anybody* with a full-frame Nikon camera. You won't regret it. August 1, 2011
Great lens but heloicod cam a weak spot Although I gave the lens an excellent rating be aware that the Helicoid cam fails more often on this lens then it should.I had to return to Nikon for repair. Others have had the same experience. I use this len on my D90 . Being equivalent to a 35mm to 105mm it is the lens I use most often. I think its major drawback for some is its weight and size. It is not a walk around lens .Optically it is superb and if you can afford it you will never regret the decision. July 28, 2011
It is an excellent lens,however it could have used an aperture ring so that it could be used on older film based cameras. July 27, 2011
Tack sharp pictures I knew immediately why I paid as much for this lens as I did. It stood out with it's tack sharp images and took my photography to another level. Great lens for portraits July 15, 2011
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 8
<<prev | next>>
50 Questions | 79 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
50 Questions | 79 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Marissa
Role: Semi-professional photographer
5 Answers

Answers

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is fully compatible with the D5100 camera. However, the D5100 is a DX camera, so it will crop the image that is projected by this lens. In doing so, it will make your images appear closer than when using the same lens on a Full Frame (FX) camera. The crop factor is 1.5, so the 24mm end will act like a 36mm lens on an FX camera. The 70mm end will act like a 105mm lens on an FX camera. If the range from 36mm to 105mm will do what you want it to do, then this will be a good lens for you.

However, most photographers prefer a range of 17-55mm on a DX camera when shooting people and events. Nikon makes a great 17-55mm f/2.8 DX lens specifically for this purpose. I recommend you consider it as an alternative. The image quality of the 17-55mm f/2.8 DX lens is essentually equal to the 24-70mm f/2.8 FX lens. I used the 17-55mm f/2.8 for several years for shooting weddings before I converted to FX with the D3 camera.
Oct 21, 2012 by
by
Russ
Richmond Hill, GA
Location : 
Richmond Hill, GA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
yes . it is an afs lens. it will work on your camera.
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
earl
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Location : 
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is fully compatible with the D5100.
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
Ric
Loveland, Oh
Location : 
Loveland, Oh
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Can you comment on this? I'm concerned that there must be a reason these posts are appearing on the Internet.
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Curiousnomad
Connecticut, USA
Location : 
Connecticut, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am sending my fairly new version of this lens back because it has never auto-focused on my D800, which I assume falls under the issues of quality control. Other lenses focus just fine of the D800, so this must be an issue with the lens and not the camera body I assume. If I find anythign else out after submitting the lens for Nikon warranty repair/service I wil advise.
Jul 22, 2014 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
There have been reports of focusing issues with the D800 and a fix is already rumored to exist. I have never heard of a QC problem with high end Nikon glass. I own the 24-70 and it is a very fine lens. I have quite a few Nikon lenses and I have not had a problem with quality. In any case, Nikon stands behind their products, so I would not be concerned.
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
PhotoGeek
Napa, CA
Location : 
Napa, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Dont believe all that you read on the interweb, it is a fast sharp well made lens.
Jul 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Look through the "ratings and reviews" section above...

Contact "Service and Support" in main menu above , ...
Jul 4, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
3 Answers

What is the Minimum Focus Distance of the 24-70F2.8????....

Oct 22, 2011 by
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Maybe I just can't see it, but I do not see the Minimum focus distance listed in the tech specs.
That is a very integral part of my shopping for a lens.

What is the Minimum FOCUS DISTANCE of the Nikkor AF-S 24-70 F2.8 VR????
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used the 24-70mm on my D300 at 1.4ft comfortably.
Jan 20, 2013 by
by
Liam
Ireland
Location : 
Ireland
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
tech specs say 1.2 ft.
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The minimum focus distance is 1.2ft / 0.38m.
Oct 22, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
3 Answers

Will the Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens work with the D700

May 7, 2012 by
by
Jen
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Jen
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
Location : 
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, in fact it is one of the very best lenses with the D700. I shoot with a D3, which has the same sensor as the D700, and about 95% of my shots use this lens. It is extremely sharp and low in distortion.
May 8, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes very good choice
May 8, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Most definitely!
May 7, 2012 by
by
Ric
Loveland, Oh
Location : 
Loveland, Oh
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED

Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Thomas
Las Vegas
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Hello

I bought this lens few weeks ago and I went outside to take pictures in national park, when It was dusty and windy. When I zoom, the dust sometimes get inside and when is there some dirt and I zoom again then it scratch a little bit and I do not know how to get rid of the dirt that is stuck in that place. Hopefully you know what spot do I mean where the small dirt can get. My question is if It damages lens at all or It is minor issue.
Another feature that I noticed is that when I use manual focus ring that I can turn around many times I can. I thought that I cam turn only a quarter of ring. Does it somehow damages lens if i turns it more that the quarter, because when I turn more the limit, there is some resistance but not that significant.
Thank you
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Thomas
Las Vegas
Location : 
Las Vegas
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Send it to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
get it serviced - if the glass gets scratched its ruined
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

D300s with 24-70 and 17-55

Jul 14, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I currently have a 17-55 on my D300s. I am thinking of getting the 24-70, my question is, is there any sense in getting the 24-70, since the focal length of the 17-55 pretty much is in range with the 24-70?

And since the 24-70 is a FX lens... What is the actual focal length of this lens and a DX body such as a D300s?

Thanks
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Mark
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you already have the 17-55 then I personally wouldnt bother woth the 24-70, however good it may be you will be spending money for an extra 15mm of reach. You may want to consider the 70-200 or similar to add to what you already use.
As for the focal lengths, the 24-70 will be a 24-70 on DX, the focal length doesnt change, its the angle of view that changes and if you have not used film or an FX body then I really wouldnt worry about the difference as its going to mean absolutely nothing to you, just use a lens that does what you want it to.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mark, it depends on your shooting profile and if you have other lens beyond 55. While initially the ranges seem similar their not. Because of the DX crop factor (1.522x). Actually the FX 24-70 on your DX camera would be actually 36-106. I suggest reviewing the metadata from your pictures to see what your shooting profile is (ie the focal range of the majority of your shots). Also recommend checking out Nikon's lens simulator so you can see the diffrence between the two lens. http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/lens/simulator/

Lastly, these are both great lens with the exception that one was made for DX cameras and the other for FX cameras. I own the 24-70 and its great for everyday.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
EdelS
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

will this lens work on a nikon 4004S (vintage 1989) and if so what features would not work?

Aug 5, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Bernie
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont believe this camera is listed even under the "Archived" section on site.
I would contact "Service and Support" in main menu
Jul 6, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the lens is compatible with the Nikon 4004s.
Aug 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

Will this work with the TC-14/17/20E II?

Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Bob G
California
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Bob G
California
Location : 
California
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
No.
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
This lens is not compatible with any of our teleconverters.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

is it compatible with 5100 body

Sep 19, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Vitalik
Age: 35-44
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S Lens Required for Autofocus
Compatible Lenses
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except 3D Color Matrix Metering II
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Can be used in mode M, but Exposure Meter does not Function; Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
Other AF NIKKOR (Excluding lenses for F3AF): All Functions Supported Except 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and some Shooting Modes

this is list of compatible lenses and requirements...
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Sep 20, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

Does this lense work on a D5000?

Dec 30, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is lenses listed for your camera D5000

AF-S Lens Required for Autofocus
Compatible Lenses AF NIKKOR for F3AF not Supported
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Can be used in mode M, but Exposure Meter does not Function; Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
Other AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except some Shooting Modes
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work (will autofocus) because this lens has a focus motor
Dec 30, 2011 by
by
MarkoM93
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers