Loading
;

Versatile, high-power 11x zoom with Vibration Reduction (VR II)

If you want just one lens to cover life’s many shooting opportunities, this may be the lens. Its powerful 11x zoom goes from wide-angle (18mm)—great for group shots, landscapes and more—to telephoto (200mm)—great for portraits and bringing the action close. Its equipped with Nikon’s advanced Vibration Reduction (VR II) for remarkable image clarity even when handheld shooting or in demanding lighting situations. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is a powerful, versatile photo and video partner.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
IF Lens
Silent Wave Motor
M/A
Vibration Reduction

Any subject. Anywhere.

Remarkable 11x zoom versatility

The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is an ideal one-lens solution for DX-format D-SLRs. Its powerful 11x zoom means you can capture just about any shot you encounter or imagine. From breathtaking wide-angle cityscapes and landscapes to action-stopping close-ups, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is adept in a huge range of shooting situations. It is a truly exceptional staple for any photographer’s camera bag.

Exceptional performance

Nikon technology for better shots

What’s versatility without quality? The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is as powerful as it is versatile. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements maximizes optical performance while minimizing chromatic aberration. Nikon’s Super Integrated Coating (SIC) enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare, and its exclusive Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables fast, accurate and ultra-quiet focusing.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: DX-format lenses are attached to a DX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II 4.4 5 340 341
Excellent and highly versatile product. Good price considering the high level of quality. April 14, 2011
Fabulous Lens! I purchased an AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II to use with my new Nikon D90 and it has been an outstanding combination! This camera and zoom lens allow me to use one lens for all my needs, affording me great flexibility for travel and carrying. I love this lens and its clarity, functions and professional characteristics! Thank you NIkon! April 14, 2011
One word. WOW! I purchased this lens today with some reservations about the price. I'd read from several reputable sources what a performer this lens is regarding sharpness and contrast. I tried the lens and took some photos and when I saw them on my computer monitor, all I could say was WOW! WOW! WOW! Amazing sharpness, amazing crystal clarity, and amazing contrast. Beautiful capture of light and superb fast accurate focus. I recommend this product to anyone wanting to have a "do it all" lens. With range from 18-200, I think this lens will have a long nest on my all so fantastic d7000. I now see that the price tag that concerned me was absolutely justified and worth it. WOW! April 11, 2011
Great product. Awesome and very fast, the focus is sharp, the zoom mechanism feels good and the lens is constructed with a solid an rigid material. April 6, 2011
Broken after 2 weeks! Not very impressed!. I just upgraded my d90 to a d7000. Sold one of my off brand lenses (18-200) and bought the Nikkor 18-200. Brand New. I shot with it about 4 or or 5 time since about March 14th, 2011. Yesterday (March 30th, 2011) I put it back on my camera and the Auto focus is broken. It works off and on at different focal lengths then quits all together. I tried taking it of and on and a bunch of different focus options all unsuccessful. Called Nikon and they said to take it into a one of their servicing centers. Made in Thailand! Unbelievable! And my main reason for switching to a Nikkor 18-200 was I heard there were quality issues with off brand lenses! This is quite embarrassing for Nikon in my opinion. I had my off brand lens for over 3 years and never had an issue with it. Maybe this Nikon is just one bad lemon out of the bunch. Hopefully the service center can resolve the issue. April 2, 2011
AWESOME PRODUCT! I am totally in LOVE with this product. It gives me the ability to capture beautiful photos just the way i like..i totally recommend this product. March 27, 2011
This one does it all So far I have Nikon 18-200,Nikon 70-300 w/out vr, 50 mm1.4,which is great lens! and this one has become my personal favorite walk around lens.The picture quality is awesome,and VR comes real handy when taking children pictures, its little heavy but lets not forget ,its 28-300 and every oz is worth the weight, I'am happy and satisfied with my choice. March 14, 2011
Great Lens! Great Price! Great Company! I love Nikon, you can always count on getting a great product that they will stand behind with great service. I like this lens very much. It steadies quickly and always takes crystal clear pictures. I've paired it with a D7000 for most use, but my wife can use it on her D3100 too. It is fantastic! Check out these pictures and you decide. Thank you Nikon! February 14, 2011
Good for everything This lens is good for everyday. Both outdoor and indoor. Yet, probably still need one with larger aperture for better creamy bokeh portraits or low light environment. February 9, 2011
Good lens, some compromises This is a nice all purpose lens, in fact, I don't take it off the camera! I take a lot of photos on vacation and this lens is good for that. It does have some issues with distortion when photographing buildings but the effect is not hideous for vacation shots. The VR feature is fantastic. I've taken pictures out of cars and had clean, crisp pictures. I've taken pictures at night without pushing the ISO and had great pictures. The "auto" mode on the VR does seem to suck the camera battery, so use judiciously. Manual focus is easy to use, although I use the auto focus most of the time. It is sometimes slow to focus, but not a show stopper. February 8, 2011
Two lenses in one My previous, and excellent camera was the D5000. Along with the 18-55, and 55-200mm lenses. I just upgraded to the D7000, and bought the 18-200mm VRII lens. One word sums it up, Excellent! This lens is so fast, and the optics are just wonderful. I dont think this lens will ever come off the camera. Picture quality is absolutely perfect. Albeit a bit pricey, but worth every penny. Highly recommend everyone to upgrade from two lenses, to this great single lens. December 26, 2010
18-135 who? I cannot believe how impressed I am with this lens. I loved the underrated 18-135 for it's light weight and small size (I am a small person and needed a light, yet versatile lens). After 24 hours with this lens, I am so completely in love! It's a little heavier than I 'd like, but it's a fair trade in what you get in quality. Fast focus, quiet, small for range. Images are super clear!. The lock is nice too. Usually leave it unlocked, but good to have if you are walking around town. December 22, 2010
True Winner All In One "Go To Lens" Exceptional Lens. This lens offers flexibility with the quality you would expect from Nikon. I have used the previous VR lens until recently switching to the newer VR II version. I pair it up with a Nikon D300 camera to produce great Images. My forte' is automobile photography for Amos Auto Enthusiast, Collectible Automobile, AutoTrader Classics and others. With the 18X200 VR lens I took nearly 150,000 images with zero problems. The new 18x200 VR II has continued this trend with superior quality and worry free use. This lens produces great car to car action shots and dynamic static stills. I use it for most everything including interior, engine and details. Great lens and worth the money. I have shot over 10,000 images with the 18X200 VRII lens. This lens can replace many with it's wide angle, telephoto and VR II design features. December 18, 2010
Excellent overall lens I purchased this lens as an interium replacement for two lenses that were stolen along with my D80 intending to replace the stolen lenses. However with extended use I have come to really appreciate this lens. It is somewhat heavy and that takes time to adjust to. Also I've noticed some minor creep when shooting vertically, but not a major problem if you are aware of it. I have used this for photographing everything from active grandchildren, to work situations and landscape photograpy in both harsh conditions - construction and Yellowstone in the dead of winter and it has performed great. December 15, 2010
Disappointed I traded a Nikon 18-105mm and a 55-200mm lens in for this lens, and I wish I had my old lenses back. The 18-200mm works great at the wide angle end, but when I zoom out farther than 100mm the images are very soft. I am very conscious about what my shutter speed is when hand holding my Nikon D90, but still the images are just not sharp. December 7, 2010
Lens takes brilliant photos, very versatile - BUT I loved this lens when I first got it, and was amazed by the photos it took. But already it's in for repairs. Apparently it's so complicated internally, that it's very delicate, and will break easily. I hear a screw loose internally and sent it in for a free estimate, but because I bought it on ebay without a warranty, I'm probably screwed for the repair costs, even though I think the lens has only been out a year or so. If you buy this lens, GET THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. December 3, 2010
Great Beginner/Travel Lens This is a great lens to start with if your new to a DSLR it gives you great coverage that can handle almost every situation that presents itself. This is also a great lens to travel with. It lessens the amount of gear to carry while traveling which is ideal if you want to carry as little gear as possible. Although be warned after you move to a faster and better lens like the 17-55 f/2.8 or the 70-200 f/2.8 you will not want to use this lens as much as you did before due to it's slow speed and quality. One thing I don't like about this lens is that unlike other lenses the zoom and focus rings are placed on different areas from other lenses which can get annoying if you used another lens before this one. October 18, 2010
Ultimate Backpack Lens I've owned this lens for well over 2years and it was an amazing purchase. This lens essentially lives on my camera and covers most shooting situations i encounter. The 18-200mm range covers 99% of my shooting needs, build and picture quality are terrific. After i purchased this lens my need for frequent lens changes while traveling virtually vanished. Unless im shooting in the studio...this lens lives on my camera and i have to have a pretty specific reason to do a lens swap while mobile. Also I have not had the lens creep issue that some others have mentioned, mine is rock-solid and operating perfect! October 17, 2010
Excellent Lens Replaces two lens with one. Great for walking around Manhattan afterwork. From taking street level shots to images of gargoyles thousands of feet up on skyscrapers. No lens changing, 1 lens, 1 small bag and lots of great images. Fast focus and image stabilization. Crisp shots at all lengths. October 7, 2010
great all around purpose lens I have used this lens with great results in many shooting situations all with great results. Below are 3 shots taken at the Marine Air Show/I have used it at football games/museums/landscape/sea scape/portraits/driving in vehicles/flowers etc. Never once did this lens fail me.!!! September 29, 2010
Excellent lens with only one flaw I love this lens which because of its wide zoom range, suits my needs to the extent that it's now my primary lens. And the VR feature gives me sharper shots in low light and at tele settings. The only flaw is that the lens barrel creeps (slips) if pointed down or if extended and held upwards, creeps down. I come to expect tighter tolerances from Nikon since I've been a user for over 30 years. September 27, 2010
A versatile, sharp lens. I bought this lens new nearly two years ago and have used it on my Nikon D300. I find the image quality extremely sharp. The 18 - 200 mm zoom capability lends itself to many applications and is the first lens I select when I am traveling. The VR image stabilization feature is an added bonus. I highly recommend this lens. September 22, 2010
Favorite all around lens I really like the zoom range of this lens, the 18-200 means that for 80+ percent of what I need it suits my needs. The optical quality is pretty sharp, I have seen better but for less than a grand you can’t beat it. The auto focus is not super fast, but I find to be well within reasonable quickness. Only during moving wildlife shots do I wish for a quicker focus(and a few more mm as well). I have used this lens for landscape panoramas to extended exposure stair pics, this lens performs well in most lightning. My only real complaint is that while shooting strait up, say birds or rock-climbing the lens has a tendency to collapse to 18mm; likewise for carrying it by neck strap or shooting down the lens expanses to 200mm. Simple solution is to hold to focus, but the susceptibility to gravity is annoying sometimes. Bottom line is I really like this lens, its not perfect but for the price it’s pretty darn good. The positives defiantly out weight the negatives and I would recommend this lens to anyone. September 16, 2010
images are rarely sharp I have to say I am fairly disappointed with this lens and camera (D300). Out of 9000 images very, very few are sharp and suitable for production. I have produced a couple of focus tests and they are off slightly. I do realize the problem may be I don't know how to operate the focusing properly but even with manual focus the photos are just not sharp. September 15, 2010
great lens great lens the only problem is the drifting when shooting up at the sky or tall buildings motor is not strong enough to overcome the weight of the lens could not focus on airplanes and birds i was trying shoot. that is the only complaint i have missed some great shots September 6, 2010
Reliable Lense This lense is all around, very good lense for my D500.. September 6, 2010
Outstanding lens Used it in a trip to France and was able to take pictures in all kinds of conditions, both indoors and outdoors. It's versatile, strong ( metal barrel ) and very quick oudoors. August 28, 2010
Amazing Performer I'd read the reviews and thought this was a versatile performer. Little did I realize how versatile. How about a tack sharp portrait at 50 feet at 200mm, F5.6 at 1/25th" handheld. The VR is unbelieveable. I've put this lens through its paces at every focal length and lighting condition and it's incredibly sharp, fast focusing and easy to use. I've been leaving my tripod at home unless I want HDR or panoramic shots. It's the only lens on my Nikon D90 since I got it in my hands. August 27, 2010
Lens Creeping when pointing down This is a great overall lens. The only thing that keeps me from giving it a 5 star is that is creeps when pointed down. I sent it back to Nikon for repairs, now it is doing it again and it is out of warranty. August 25, 2010
Great product and versatility I have owned and used this lense now for about 2 years. I was impressed from the very beginning with the potential versatility and zoom range that it presented. It was a little pricy with the new introduction, but I knew early that it could save wear and tear as well as sensor debris with constant changing. It lived up to expectation. Quality and resolution are very satisfactory for me and I love the immediate versatility of the large zoom range. The only negative 1 star is because of slight vinyetting at 18 mm with a UV protector. (Polorizer is even worse) But I guess you can expect that from the wide angle? Great lens! August 22, 2010
Page: 6 7 8 9 10 ... 13
<<prev | next>>
70 Questions | 119 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
70 Questions | 119 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
11 Answers

Is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II weather & dust sealed ??

Apr 13, 2011 by
-1point
6out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful7
I'm planning to buy an D7000 with is obviously weather sealed and my choice lens AF-S DX NIKKOR
18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II along the body so i was wondering is this lens weather sealed so that i can do some photography while its raining ??

Thank you
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Animesh
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
11 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I highly recommend that you do not use the camera in the rain unless you use some kind of protection. A light shower won't get into the lens or camera but it is not waterproof. When I feel compelled to take photos in the rain I cut a hole in a large baggie and protect the camera. Overall I find my rainy day photos are pretty awful anyway what with rain drops on the lens filter so I avoid using my Nikon in the rain.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Biker
Hanwell NB

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
As a great fan of this lens, I recommend it highly and have used it in light rainy situations, BUT I try to protect it, in such situations, by placing a piece of "Saran Wrap" over the lens barrel. Camera bodies and lenses were not built to withstand heavy and/or sustained downpours.

Hurbee 04/16/11
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Hurbee
Bryn Mawr, PA

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
Absolutely not. I have has terrible problems with this lens even in the driest conditions. I would certainly not recommend this lens in wet weather. It will fail on you as it is extremely cheaply made.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've used it in dusty and rainy conditions without any ill effects. I wouldn't use it if it's pouring really hard, however. It's always good to carry your camera in a "holster" or some kind of protective containment so you can put it away if you get caught in a rainstorm.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
shawn
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Location : 
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
NOT waterproof - camera and lens must be covered in heavy rain.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No it is not! Do not use it in very dusty environments. It's OK in rain provided you keep it dry or at least wipe the rain off before zooming it to the 18mm end. I got dust in my old version in the Sahara but then the sand there is so fine it gets into everything. It didn't cause any problems though with image quality so not much got in. If you are shooting in the rain then the biggest problem is keeping the lens raindrop free. Try using a lens hood as a rain shield and a plastic bag over the lens itself will keep the lens dry. It really isn't a problem. I use my D90 in the rain fairly often but not heavy rain because you can't keep the lens dry. An umbrella helps a lot in the rain.

BTW the D7000 is a wonderful camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used my 18-200 in all kinds of weather with great results. Had one on a D-200 for almost 5 years and never had to clean the interior or the sensor of the camera
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
it is no more weather sealed than any other lens. You might try one of those camera lens raincoats by manufacturers like Think Tank or others, or buy a small fold-up umbrella, and put the handle in your shirt's front top pocket.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
mephoto
West Palm Beach, FL
Location : 
West Palm Beach, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I do not believe the lens is weather sealed; I would not take it out in the rain; my husband and I both have one and we usually keep our camera and lens in a large plastic ziplock bag if there is rainy weather.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Flygirl
Overland Park, KS
Location : 
Overland Park, KS
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Because the lens barrel changes in length when zooming/focussing, the lens body acts as a pump, drawing in and expelling air and I presume moisture. I would therefore look for a lens with internal zoom/focus, or use some sort of rain protection (or underwater housing) to keep water at bay.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Donald
Durban, South Africa
Location : 
Durban, South Africa
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No its not weather sealed.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
8 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D50?

Apr 12, 2011 by
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
GK
Denver, CO
Location : 
Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
8 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a friend with the D50 and he has used my 18-200 without any problems.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Why not. If you are not sure, take your D50 to acamera store and try it.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is and it will be very good on the D50.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe it is but not positive. Contact Nikon USA for confirmation.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I did answer this but maybe it did not go.....I used it on my D50 for years
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I used this lens on my D50 until I replaced the camera with another newer model
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II good for portrait ?

Apr 21, 2011 by
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
i have d3100
plz tell which is the best lens for portrait
im thinking about get nikkor 18-200
but need to know from any other lens is good for portrait
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
mody
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Wide angle lenses are best for capturing large amounts of areas. This comes at a small sacrifice of not having as much detail when you enlarge the photo. If your looking for a portrait lens, being head and shoulders, purchase a prime lens such as the 60mm 2.8G ED lens. It's very reasonably priced and will exceed your expectations..
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you want to get autofocus get the AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G

If you don't care in manual focus and want the BEST portrait lens ever done in any time and in any brand go and get AF DC-NIKKOR 135mm f/2D

But viewing the high price of the commented lens from above and considering you have a D3100 I think your best choice is AF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8G ED a FANTASTIC portrait lens.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I own an 18-200 VR II and need to ask some questions to help you in your decision process...

- Are you going to primarily do portraits or do you need a lens that does great portraits and supports other types of photography as well (e.g., action, sports, wild life)?

- Is weight a consideration? Are you OK with a 1+ lb lens or do you need something that is lighter or convenient for traveling?

- How far away will you be shooting these portraits and is that distance consistent?

- What other lenses do you own?
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Izzy
Dallas, TX
Location : 
Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
gold standard LENS FOR PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY=
"AF S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4 D lens"... NO WORDS MORE>>
JUST PURCHASE THIS workhorse.....
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
SunilS

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
it wont be quick but will do the job well - its a ggreat all round lens
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

Clicking Sound with VR

May 5, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
I have bought this lens 2 weeks ago for my D80. (the new Generation ED II VRII (with the 18 lock switch).
With the VR ON: Besides the Autofocus motor sound, there is a much louder Clicking sound (when moving the camera and the shutter half pressed), 3 times louder than the autofocus sound.
With the VR OFF, no clicking sound.
I suspect the VR motors (engaging/disengaging), but is it normally that loud? this is my first VR lens
Thanks
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your VR should be very silent. I recommend you submitting the lens to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't think it's loud at all. It's standard sound, I think. Unless you're trying to video something with it or next to it, it's quite a minor sound.
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is, it's the sound of clutches that activate the VR
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes thats quite normal, its the VR starting and stopping.
May 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D5100?

Apr 27, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5100.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this lens compatible with the d3000?

Apr 28, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Leadknife
trinidad
Location : 
trinidad
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
...and it's a great all-around lens. :)
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this compatible with the d5000?

Apr 30, 2011 by
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
momi
hawaii
Location : 
hawaii
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What is the status on lense creep with this model historically notorious for this?

Jun 3, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
lens creep when going up or down with the camera
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have this lens and it creeps like crazy. If I point it toward the ground, it creeps from minimum length to 200mm in less than 2 seconds. The lens is less than a year old and in the shop to fix.
Jul 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont have much problem with this even when I am shooting objects at my feet. You can lock the zoom at 18mm. This is a new feature with the 18-200 II.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Location : 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is present but not that bad. the zoom lock locks the lens only in the 18mm position.
Jun 5, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the Nikon D40?

May 30, 2014 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
RT
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is compatible with the D40. For more information on choosing lenses for the D40 please visit: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an... .
May 30, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is
May 30, 2014 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Fully compatible.
May 30, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

is this lens comnpatible with the AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II or any other Teleconverter?

Apr 26, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
juan
argentina
Location : 
argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I wouldn't recommend tele-converters (extenders) due to them interfering with the designed engineering. If you need a longer focal length, grab another lens. Nikon does sell a Tele-Converter but its not that far priced from a much better solution of a longer focal length.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No its not compatable.
Apr 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers