Loading

Versatile, high-power 11x zoom with Vibration Reduction (VR II)

If you want just one lens to cover life’s many shooting opportunities, this may be the lens. Its powerful 11x zoom goes from wide-angle (18mm)—great for group shots, landscapes and more—to telephoto (200mm)—great for portraits and bringing the action close. Its equipped with Nikon’s advanced Vibration Reduction (VR II) for remarkable image clarity even when handheld shooting or in demanding lighting situations. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is a powerful, versatile photo and video partner.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
IF Lens
Silent Wave Motor
M/A
Vibration Reduction

Any subject. Anywhere.

Remarkable 11x zoom versatility

The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is an ideal one-lens solution for DX-format D-SLRs. Its powerful 11x zoom means you can capture just about any shot you encounter or imagine. From breathtaking wide-angle cityscapes and landscapes to action-stopping close-ups, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is adept in a huge range of shooting situations. It is a truly exceptional staple for any photographer’s camera bag.

Exceptional performance

Nikon technology for better shots

What’s versatility without quality? The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is as powerful as it is versatile. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements maximizes optical performance while minimizing chromatic aberration. Nikon’s Super Integrated Coating (SIC) enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare, and its exclusive Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables fast, accurate and ultra-quiet focusing.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: DX-format lenses are attached to a DX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II 4.4 5 340 341
Great all around "Standard Lens" I purchased this lens as a kit with my D300, my first digital camera, in 2008. Over the past 3 years it has proven versatile and reliable, and satisfies 75-80% of my shooting needs as an advanced amateur. A great travel lens, and can do 'mild' macro in a pinch. My only criticism is that in time, racking the zoom sucks in dust that settles on the inner elements. This has not presented an image problem (yet) but does require having the lens cleaned periodically (great when it's under warranty, but when the warranty expires.....). Nikon has tweaked the mechanics of this lens at least once since I bought mine in 2008, and should do it again to address this issue. April 14, 2011
This is a weary good produck due to size quality. I bought this lens and I am weary pleased with it. The main reason is that I don’t have to change lens for different occasions this solves the most situations fore me. At the same time pictures are weary good so this lens is all you need. :-) April 14, 2011
Great all around lens Have been using this lens for over 3 years and have had no problems or complaints. This is a great all around use moderately priced lens. It is flexible enough to leave on the camera for most photography situations. Have done a lot of outdoor and mountain scenery shots in sub-zero temps and this lens has worked admirably. April 14, 2011
THIS IS THE BEST LENS FOR AERIALS I am using Nikon digital cameras with 18-200 for aerial work with the best results. I am an aerial photographer, with over 35 years shooting from my plane the best photos in Colombia South America. Today I just get the Nikon D 7000 camera with this wonderfull lens. April 14, 2011
Excellent Versatile Lens I have taken more than 15,000 images with this lens. it meets virtually all my needs, except I wish it went all the way out to 500 mm (well maybe I need 2 lenses). If one had to choose only one lense, this would be my choice. April 14, 2011
Robust lens with range of options During extended travel in Asia, the lens handled range of circumstances to capture excellent photographs. April 14, 2011
excellent all around lens if you want a killer all around no no nonsense lens.. This is it. I had the pleasure of going on safari with this thing and it did not dissappoint. I found myself saying "wow, I took that shot?' lens creep is the only criticism I would have. thing I'm an "enthusiast" not a pro, but i think this lens is great. April 14, 2011
Great all purpose lens I am a landscape artist, and purchased this lens to gather research material for painting initially. The wide focal length has been a great plus. This lens is very, very sharp all while being hand held. It has become my go to lens even though I own some high end f2. lenses as well. The only drawback to this lens is the push-pull zoom feature. after owning this lens for 5 years it is not that big a deal. April 14, 2011
Great all around lens I have owned this lens for 5 years, and used it for thousands of shots. I highly recommend it to be a single lens which you leave on your camera for all occasions. AF is nearly instantaneous and accurate. My only complaints, which others have noted are the tendency for the lens to creep, when hanging down, and vignetting from the sun shade at max wide angle. I own 4 Nikkor lenses, and this is my favorite. April 14, 2011
Great Lens This lens does just about everything that I want in a lens. I have only had it a month now, but am very pleased so far. Wide angle with a medium telephoto, with the vibration reduction is a great combination. The VR helps with f stop limitations. April 14, 2011
Great Travel Walk-around lens Bought this lens specifically for a trip to China; wanted a single lens to carry for 2 weeks. Connected to a D300 this lens provided exactly what I needed, wide angles for streets and close quarters, telephoto for longer shots line the Great Wall, plus with higher ISO settings it worked well for cultural shows and night shots. This lens was light enough that it's weight never became a problem. I have several F2.8 Nikon lens that I would have liked to have in China but when weight and space is critical factor this lens does the job in superior fashion. April 14, 2011
Lighten My Load I do alot of Event Photography as well as Wildlife & Nature Photography. I've been using the 18-70MM AFS Nikkor lens on my D 70 and the 55-200 MM AFS lens on my D 200. BUT now! I only need one camera and the 18-200MM ... a "do all" lens. The VR II works flawlessly and in some instances, eliminates the use of a tripod, not totally but it's so nice to get terrific handheld images Backpacking on the Appalachian Trail or Travel, this lens will do it all...and save on weight for you and your Camera gear. April 14, 2011
Great all purpose lens to 200mm This lens is a great multi-purpose lens that zooms to 200mm for even the best shot! When my husband and I go on long trips(he has one, too--by the way), we only use this lens. Why waste time and space carrying other lens when this one is so great? Nikon has really done us a favor with this lens! April 14, 2011
just love this lens Have had this lens for approx 3 years and it is without a doubt the best all around lens I have ever used. I have been a NIKON man for 40 years and this lens really fullfills the bill as a great lens...it is ideal for just about anything you want to shoot except for some sporting events when you need a longer telephoto. I RARELY take it off my camera to use another lens April 14, 2011
Great all in one lens Wanted one lens to keep things simple that had a fairly decent wide angle to zoom range. Although not a hard core enthusiast, I am very happy with this lens after 3-4 years of use now...have not felt the need to buy another wide angle or zoom to supplement this 18-200. Matches up to my D90 very nicely! April 14, 2011
"Lens Creep" sours me on this lens I saved and scrimped to get this lens. It pretty well met my expectations EXCEPT that the zoom would extend when shooting upwards and retract when going the other way. This precluded the use of this lens on a tripod or remote operation. The utility was destroyed. My contact with Nikon resulted in my being told that this "is normal" and in no way is it a warranty item. I cannot comment further without resorting to profanity. I feel that Nikon has broken faith with the photographic community by releasing such a design flawed product. It is the last Nikon lens I will buy or possibly even accept as a gift! April 14, 2011
Flimsy lens barrel Nikon has always produced excellent and robust cameras and lenses. Not so with this 18 - 200mm VR lens. Although the action is smooth and the optics pretty good, once zoomed out to 200mm the barrel is quite sloppy, moving a few mm from side to side. When the camera is held pointing downwards, the sloppy lens barrel will allow the zoom action to move towards 200mm by itself. The VR mechanism also seems suspect as both a friend and myself have had to have the VR mechanism replaced. April 14, 2011
Great lens for the serious amateur! Love the lens! Spent too much time switching back and forth with my other lenses. Now I can do all my work with one, convenient lens. I'm sure that there are other Nikon lenses that might be of better quality for sports etc. but this is the best lens for the average serious amateur. April 14, 2011
puny product Lens was not very sharp when new. Soon developed a "failure to focus" when zoomed past about 80mm. Sent it in to Nikon for warranty repair. It stayed fixed at the normal mediocre level for another year and then dropped back into the "failure to focus when zoomed" mode. By now it is out of warranty and I conclude I don't like the lens well enough to try for another fix. April 14, 2011
A lot of desireable features in a small package ! The Nikkor 18-200 VRll is my work horse lens. It is mounted on my D300 and is my favourite lens unless I'm doing macro or long telephoto. It does have one annoying drawback... When pointed down it "creeps" at a rapid pace. You must use one hand to hold the lens at the distance setting you select. April 14, 2011
Good lens, but design flaws Pros - I find the lens VG in color, contrast and sharpness. Quick focus in AF mode. Cons - Lens "zoom creep" is unacceptable for a Nikon product. When carrying the lens on shoulder or pointed downward, the zoom creeps outward to longer focal length, due to weight of glass. Very annoying and uncomfortable, A cam to prevent the zoom creep should be given consideration by engineers. The supplied petal sun shade has a weak twist locking configuration, causing the shade to easily disengage from the lens, especially when under run-and gun shooting. Built in flash not high enough when shooting at minimum focal length, causing image cutoff. Other than that, the lens performs very well. I'd recommend this lens with the above caveats. April 14, 2011
Good all around lens Good all around lens if you're only going to carry one around. April 14, 2011
I've used this lens since they came out and it is a great all around lens! It is a little heavy but I'm ok with it. April 14, 2011
Outstanding zoom optics The lens is great with one annoying matter. When held or carried in a downward slant, the lens slides to readily. Other zooms are built to restrain such movement while still providing easy manual zooming. It is especially problematic on tripod mounted shooting where an angle is required (closeup of objects or scenes that need an angle of view). April 14, 2011
wish it was better unfortunately, i cannot recommend this particular Nikon Lens. it is not sharp, and mine has been in repair 4 times now for various reasons. love all of my other Nikon Lenses but this one, misses the boat. April 14, 2011
Love/hate Love the versatility and performance of the lens. Truly, this lens will do it all. Hate that the lens extends automatically when it's pointed down. It just slides out, making the camera unwieldy, and losing the last zoom position. This is a known defect that Nikon has apparently not corrected. A shame. Because, otherwise, this is a great lens. April 14, 2011
No need to change lenses again With the range and VR, have all I need to shoot landscape, portraits, sports, close-ups and night scenes. So nice to attach to the D90 and forget about having to find the right lens for the right situation. Clear, sharp, fast and with great color. April 14, 2011
Perfect all around lens I have my 18 -200 mm on my D300 as my everyday lens. I use it for evidence photography of everything from entire buildings to small items. This lens gives me sharp clear images every shot. The zoom allows me to shoot items of interest without climbing up on a ladder, or changing to another lens. I have other lenses but I very rarely use them because this lens does it all. April 14, 2011
Great everyday lens I bought this as my full time lens on a D7000 instead of buying the kit lens. Excellent results across the entire zoom range, with and without flash. I'm really happy I got this lens. April 14, 2011
Fantastically versatile with expected limitations This is a fantastically versatile lens, perfect for travel. It goes from a very useful moderate wide-angle (27mm eqv) to a nice telephoto (300mm eqv). The Vibration Reduction system is very useful; it really does extend usable shutter speed by a couple of f-stops. Unsurprisingly, the lens has a certain amount of geometrical distortion, but it is well-corrected by software like DxO. The one big complaint I have about this lens is that it seems to suck lots of dust into interior lens surfaces. April 14, 2011
Page: 5 6 7 8 9 ... 13
<<prev | next>>
71 Questions | 121 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
71 Questions | 121 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
11 Answers

Is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II weather & dust sealed ??

Apr 13, 2011 by
-1point
6out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful7
I'm planning to buy an D7000 with is obviously weather sealed and my choice lens AF-S DX NIKKOR
18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II along the body so i was wondering is this lens weather sealed so that i can do some photography while its raining ??

Thank you
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Animesh
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
11 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I highly recommend that you do not use the camera in the rain unless you use some kind of protection. A light shower won't get into the lens or camera but it is not waterproof. When I feel compelled to take photos in the rain I cut a hole in a large baggie and protect the camera. Overall I find my rainy day photos are pretty awful anyway what with rain drops on the lens filter so I avoid using my Nikon in the rain.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Biker
Hanwell NB

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
As a great fan of this lens, I recommend it highly and have used it in light rainy situations, BUT I try to protect it, in such situations, by placing a piece of "Saran Wrap" over the lens barrel. Camera bodies and lenses were not built to withstand heavy and/or sustained downpours.

Hurbee 04/16/11
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Hurbee
Bryn Mawr, PA

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
Absolutely not. I have has terrible problems with this lens even in the driest conditions. I would certainly not recommend this lens in wet weather. It will fail on you as it is extremely cheaply made.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've used it in dusty and rainy conditions without any ill effects. I wouldn't use it if it's pouring really hard, however. It's always good to carry your camera in a "holster" or some kind of protective containment so you can put it away if you get caught in a rainstorm.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
shawn
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Location : 
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
NOT waterproof - camera and lens must be covered in heavy rain.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
No it is not! Do not use it in very dusty environments. It's OK in rain provided you keep it dry or at least wipe the rain off before zooming it to the 18mm end. I got dust in my old version in the Sahara but then the sand there is so fine it gets into everything. It didn't cause any problems though with image quality so not much got in. If you are shooting in the rain then the biggest problem is keeping the lens raindrop free. Try using a lens hood as a rain shield and a plastic bag over the lens itself will keep the lens dry. It really isn't a problem. I use my D90 in the rain fairly often but not heavy rain because you can't keep the lens dry. An umbrella helps a lot in the rain.

BTW the D7000 is a wonderful camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used my 18-200 in all kinds of weather with great results. Had one on a D-200 for almost 5 years and never had to clean the interior or the sensor of the camera
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
it is no more weather sealed than any other lens. You might try one of those camera lens raincoats by manufacturers like Think Tank or others, or buy a small fold-up umbrella, and put the handle in your shirt's front top pocket.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
mephoto
West Palm Beach, FL
Location : 
West Palm Beach, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I do not believe the lens is weather sealed; I would not take it out in the rain; my husband and I both have one and we usually keep our camera and lens in a large plastic ziplock bag if there is rainy weather.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Flygirl
Overland Park, KS
Location : 
Overland Park, KS
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Because the lens barrel changes in length when zooming/focussing, the lens body acts as a pump, drawing in and expelling air and I presume moisture. I would therefore look for a lens with internal zoom/focus, or use some sort of rain protection (or underwater housing) to keep water at bay.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Donald
Durban, South Africa
Location : 
Durban, South Africa
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No its not weather sealed.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
8 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D50?

Apr 12, 2011 by
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
GK
Denver, CO
Location : 
Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
8 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a friend with the D50 and he has used my 18-200 without any problems.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Why not. If you are not sure, take your D50 to acamera store and try it.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is and it will be very good on the D50.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe it is but not positive. Contact Nikon USA for confirmation.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I did answer this but maybe it did not go.....I used it on my D50 for years
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I used this lens on my D50 until I replaced the camera with another newer model
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II good for portrait ?

Apr 21, 2011 by
-1point
2out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
i have d3100
plz tell which is the best lens for portrait
im thinking about get nikkor 18-200
but need to know from any other lens is good for portrait
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
mody
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Wide angle lenses are best for capturing large amounts of areas. This comes at a small sacrifice of not having as much detail when you enlarge the photo. If your looking for a portrait lens, being head and shoulders, purchase a prime lens such as the 60mm 2.8G ED lens. It's very reasonably priced and will exceed your expectations..
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you want to get autofocus get the AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G

If you don't care in manual focus and want the BEST portrait lens ever done in any time and in any brand go and get AF DC-NIKKOR 135mm f/2D

But viewing the high price of the commented lens from above and considering you have a D3100 I think your best choice is AF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8G ED a FANTASTIC portrait lens.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I own an 18-200 VR II and need to ask some questions to help you in your decision process...

- Are you going to primarily do portraits or do you need a lens that does great portraits and supports other types of photography as well (e.g., action, sports, wild life)?

- Is weight a consideration? Are you OK with a 1+ lb lens or do you need something that is lighter or convenient for traveling?

- How far away will you be shooting these portraits and is that distance consistent?

- What other lenses do you own?
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Izzy
Dallas, TX
Location : 
Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
gold standard LENS FOR PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY=
"AF S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4 D lens"... NO WORDS MORE>>
JUST PURCHASE THIS workhorse.....
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
SunilS

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
it wont be quick but will do the job well - its a ggreat all round lens
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

Clicking Sound with VR

May 5, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
I have bought this lens 2 weeks ago for my D80. (the new Generation ED II VRII (with the 18 lock switch).
With the VR ON: Besides the Autofocus motor sound, there is a much louder Clicking sound (when moving the camera and the shutter half pressed), 3 times louder than the autofocus sound.
With the VR OFF, no clicking sound.
I suspect the VR motors (engaging/disengaging), but is it normally that loud? this is my first VR lens
Thanks
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your VR should be very silent. I recommend you submitting the lens to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't think it's loud at all. It's standard sound, I think. Unless you're trying to video something with it or next to it, it's quite a minor sound.
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is, it's the sound of clutches that activate the VR
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes thats quite normal, its the VR starting and stopping.
May 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D5100?

Apr 27, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5100.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this lens compatible with the d3000?

Apr 28, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Leadknife
trinidad
Location : 
trinidad
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
...and it's a great all-around lens. :)
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this compatible with the d5000?

Apr 30, 2011 by
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
momi
hawaii
Location : 
hawaii
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What is the status on lense creep with this model historically notorious for this?

Jun 3, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
lens creep when going up or down with the camera
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have this lens and it creeps like crazy. If I point it toward the ground, it creeps from minimum length to 200mm in less than 2 seconds. The lens is less than a year old and in the shop to fix.
Jul 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont have much problem with this even when I am shooting objects at my feet. You can lock the zoom at 18mm. This is a new feature with the 18-200 II.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Location : 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is present but not that bad. the zoom lock locks the lens only in the 18mm position.
Jun 5, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the Nikon D40?

May 30, 2014 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
RT
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is compatible with the D40. For more information on choosing lenses for the D40 please visit: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an... .
May 30, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is
May 30, 2014 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Fully compatible.
May 30, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

is this lens comnpatible with the AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II or any other Teleconverter?

Apr 26, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
juan
argentina
Location : 
argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I wouldn't recommend tele-converters (extenders) due to them interfering with the designed engineering. If you need a longer focal length, grab another lens. Nikon does sell a Tele-Converter but its not that far priced from a much better solution of a longer focal length.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No its not compatable.
Apr 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers