Loading

Versatile, high-power 11x zoom with Vibration Reduction (VR II)

If you want just one lens to cover life’s many shooting opportunities, this may be the lens. Its powerful 11x zoom goes from wide-angle (18mm)—great for group shots, landscapes and more—to telephoto (200mm)—great for portraits and bringing the action close. Its equipped with Nikon’s advanced Vibration Reduction (VR II) for remarkable image clarity even when handheld shooting or in demanding lighting situations. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is a powerful, versatile photo and video partner.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
IF Lens
Silent Wave Motor
M/A
Vibration Reduction

Any subject. Anywhere.

Remarkable 11x zoom versatility

The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is an ideal one-lens solution for DX-format D-SLRs. Its powerful 11x zoom means you can capture just about any shot you encounter or imagine. From breathtaking wide-angle cityscapes and landscapes to action-stopping close-ups, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is adept in a huge range of shooting situations. It is a truly exceptional staple for any photographer’s camera bag.

Exceptional performance

Nikon technology for better shots

What’s versatility without quality? The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is as powerful as it is versatile. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements maximizes optical performance while minimizing chromatic aberration. Nikon’s Super Integrated Coating (SIC) enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare, and its exclusive Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables fast, accurate and ultra-quiet focusing.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: DX-format lenses are attached to a DX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II 4.4 5 339 340
Dissapointed Bought the lens for use with my D90, thought it would be a perfect all around lens, but have become very disenchanted with it. First I find that the lens does not work great with auto focus and also is very, very poor with low light. Not talking about poor light just low light. I spent a fair amount of time on a trip recently in a rain forest during the day, very difficult for the camera to respond during those trips. Also there is an audible clicking noise that seems to take a second or two shooting with VR on, when it engages. The clicking is distinct enough to make me think the lens has problems. Warranty does not seem to cover this. Wish I had bought a different lens, or not bought this one at all. Additionally, images appear sharper with VR turned off than on, overall the images do not seem as sharp to me with this lens. Again, dissapointed. May 2, 2011
Excellent stability and focus and resolution This lens has enabled me to utilize my D200 with much better focus and stability than my 300mm without the stability feature, allowing me to enlarge with greater quality than the larger and heavier lens. May 1, 2011
Its on OK lens It is an ideal one-lens solution but its has problems. The lens creep so the lens position does not hold. I may go with another lens the next time April 30, 2011
Very nice all round lens I really like this lens, If I was to pick just one lens for travel this would be it. the optical quality is good for the cost, the range of zoom is very impressive. The only thing is that there is a bit of distortion at 200mm right in the corners of the pic, but a light crop job take care of that. It focuses pretty close as well, I have taken some really nice pic of insects that are 50% of a full frame before cropping. April 27, 2011
Great all-around lens Perfect lens for those just getting into photography. It allows for wide angle shots as well as moderate zoomed in shots. Having this flexibility in a single lens means no need to swap lenses, therefore preventing dust from entering the camera in addition to less weight to carry around. The VR works very well and is quick to kick in. Bokeh is nice and blurry. April 27, 2011
Great walking-around lens Perfect? No, not quite. I would like it to be faster, if the magicians at Nikon could make it f2.8 through the zoom range, that would be nice, but keep the price under US$1,000. I know, that's a fantasy, and perhaps one that may come true someday. In the mean time, this lens is truly amazing for the price range. The only problem that I have found with it is that I have become reluctant to take it off the camera body. It is a general purpose workhorse. Sharp enough, fast enough, light enough - overall a great set of compromises on the part of the magicians at Nikon. April 27, 2011
This is an excellent carry around lens I got this lens with my new D7000 camera in time for our Disney vacation. I took advantage of the $250 discount they were offering when I bought the camera. It is an excellent lens that takes good portriat and landscape pics. The VRII keeps me from having to carry around a mono-pod on zoom pics and it's light enough to carry all day long. Shooting video with the camera, the lens stayed in focus as I moved the camera around. I am very satisfied with this purchase and it has become my new carry everywhere lens. April 26, 2011
Excellent quality I do a significant amount of travel and photography and it is great to have to only take one lense. The versatility of the 18-200 Nikkor lense was the main reason for my purchase. April 25, 2011
Nikkor 18-200 VR II 3.5 5.6 I have used this lens for a couple of month now. I am very pleased in the handling of the lens. The lens is very light, which is of a great advantage when shooting outdoor. The AF is fast very quiet and also seems to be very accurate. On another hand, the light indices are poor and somehow limited (contrast is too brutal). The definition of the lens is limited when zooming at 200 powers. The distortion of the lens bordure is acceptable when using the lens from 18 to 30 and become much better after these ranges. The protector front cat is tricky to place, especially when the lens is equipped with a filter. Overall, the lens is a very good adds for any amateur that which to reduce the number of lenses that he/she carry. April 24, 2011
a decent lens for all purpose shooting i bought this lens a couple years ago. the first one i got totally died within 2 weeks. total electronic failure. it was replaced and have used this lens a fair amount since then. its not super sharp, but sharp enough for the vast majority of work you will use it for. it has taken a fair amount of abuse and still kept on working. a very useful focal range to have in the camera bag. would be nice if it was a stop or so faster though. makes it less useful in low light situations as it is. April 24, 2011
Simplicity, but... When puchasing my Nikon D90, I evaluated the options and came down to either buying 3 lenses for $1200+ dollars (for the ideal shots) or choosing a single lens and making some sacrifices, namely weight & performance. The lens was the right choice for my family since they can take the camera and get great shots without having to think about the lens. Two reasons for giving this three stars: 1) I use a filters frequently because of indoor fluorescent lighting. When at the maximum zoom, I get rounding of the image corners because the filter ring is being picked up. 2) I had a problem with the lens that kept producing memory card errors. I spent 4 weeks bouncing between Nikon and the dealer as they pointed the finger at each other on who was responsible versus fixing the problem. Of course this happened between Thanksgiving and Christmas. A friend referred me to a local authorized Nikon repair dealer. In under 2 minutes, this individual identified the issue as dirty contacts. Thirty minutes later, the lens was working and I have had no issues since. I wish that little detail would have been in the Nikon Tech database somewhere. April 21, 2011
It is OK if you don't mind the sloppy zoom....... The premise of the lens is great. A travelers delight, moderate wide to moderate tele. In practice it should be shipped with a lifetime supply of duct tape or a warning beeper to let you know when the camera is not level and pointing down or up. If the lens is not fully zoomed to the widest the barrel will slip to the extreme on the other end when aimed down on a subject. Most inconvenient if you wanted to bracket long exposures without holding on to the lens...... April 21, 2011
The perfect all purpose lens! I've used this lens for over a year now, and it truly lives up to it's reputation! It simply does it all, freeing me from the inconvenience of dragging a "lens bag" around. It's the only lens I keep on my D40, and I plan to continue that practise when I upgrade to a D90 or D7000 in the near future. This airshow photo was taken using the D40 in "action" mode with the lens set at max telephoto, and then further cropped to size. April 20, 2011
Takes high quality pictures with 1 annoying flaw This lens is capable of taking very sharp photos with good color reproduction and fine detail. I love the focal range of the lens. However, the lens slides out when the camera is pointed down, thus changing the focal length. It is impossible to use the lens on a tripod and have the subject on the ground unless you hold the lens in place, which defeats the convenience of using a tripod. April 20, 2011
Definite Winner I use this lens a lot! It has great zoom and is also great for closer shots. April 20, 2011
Great focal range I purchased this lens almost nine months ago and it has been on my camera most of the time. I gave this purchase considerable thought since I already have the Nikon 70-300 AFS-VR but I wanted a lens that I would be ready for most any situation without having to switch lens or carry two cameras and this is what this lens does. The pictures have great contrast and color and the VR allows me to get pictures that I would not be able to capture without a tripod. April 19, 2011
Excellent focal range The 18-200 VRII is my go-to lens for shooting cycling races, especially when on the back of a moto. The focal range is excellent for 98% of the shots I make. This great portability means I need to carry only a single lens. And in often dusty or rainy environments, not having to change lenses protects the equipment that much more. Image quality is excellent for the job intended, as magazines and websites have responded favorably to thousands of images produced with this lens. Improvements? As has been done with the 24-120, giving the 18-200 a constant aperture of 3.5 throughout the focal range and of course improving the sharpness would make this lens simply stellar. Would I pay more for that? In a flash... April 19, 2011
Excelent "workhorse" lense This lense is my go to "workhorse" lense because of the wide range and quick response. I have used it for four plus years wiht very little problems. It has a couple of "eccentricities", the tube has a tendency to drift to extension when in a tube down position which will cause problems during extended use with in tripod settings. I have had to have it rebuilt once already, which helped the stability. The other problem is the auto exposeure tends to jam when camera battery power is low. These two problems aside this has been a very enjoyable lense to work with. April 19, 2011
Surprising clarity and sharpness This lens has excellent clarity and sharpness given the range of the zoom. Space is very limted when I shoot so carrying this one lens rather than two is very efficient. April 18, 2011
Excellent lens Provides an excellent range without having to change lenses. April 18, 2011
Love it This is my workhorse lens. I use the D5000 with this lens and carry it all over the continent on my motorcycle. Autofocuses quickly, easy to zoom, sharp edge to edge. Only problem was on a trip to Alaska when after two weeks of constant rain it would no longer focus at low focal lengths. Finished the trip as a 70 - 200 zoom and Nikon fixed the lens for a reasonable price. April 18, 2011
OK for the price After 2 years of very infrequent use the silent wave motor on the autofocus mechanism packed up. Luckily Nikon agreed to repair without charge. Zoom creep is a recognised problem with this lens and I guess I would concur with another reviewer that photos taken with it (on a D80 in my case) are lacking in sharpness compared to photos taken by my brother (who is a much better photographer) on his Canon. April 18, 2011
Perfect single lens solution. Other than the significant heft one would expect in a quality lens with this zoom range, this lens has almost no drawbacks. While it is certainly not the best for every situation, it is very usable in any situation I have come across. From portraits to wildlife to candids, keeping this lens on my camera lets me pick it up and shoot just about anything. For everyday shooting, walks in the woods, and situations where you don't know what you might need, it is amazing. For vacations there is no need to pack anything else. As I read before I bought it, there is some distortion, but it is fairly correctable in Photoshop, and if distortion is a concern, you probably aren't using this lens to begin with. I have also read that it lacks sharpness at some focal lengths, but I have yet to see any softness either. Another common complaint I read about before I bought it was zoom creep, but on the model I got it is nonexistent; the zoom is actually a little stiff for my tastes. I have never even had to use the zoom lock. If you want to take pictures of focus targets and test patterns, this lens may not be for you. If you want one lens to take anywhere and get great shots, near or far, this is a great choice. April 18, 2011
disappointed I 've had 40 years of Nikon products that I love. This lens was a big mistake - I've had it fixed/adjusted 3 times . The third time ( the zoom moves out of position by itself during high angle shots ) Nikon finally fixed the lens creep on the 3rd time. The worst is that I can't shoot wide open at F. 5.6 I miss the focus on auto and manual with a tripod. I was told by a Nikon repair technician that wide open at F 5.6 is not the best way to use this lens .I only use this lens with studio strobes at F.11 and above. The only good thing about this lens is that it has better contrast/color than the 18mm-70mm that came with my digital camera. April 17, 2011
Compact and Ready to Go! I have just returned from an extended vacation. I used this lenses as my primary photo outreach. It is compact, light weight and fast. I would have liked a little greater reach, but I have found that having shot in the RAW mode has allowed me to have great detail and permit larger format prints to provide compensation for the 200mm range limit. I avoided having to take 3 lenses. For this trip less was better. April 17, 2011
All around lens I use this as a walk around lens. I am by no means a professional, but like to use while traveling. It focuses quickly, typical Nikor quality, overall superior lens. the only issue I have with this lens: is lens creep, I would have liked Nikon to put a lock on this lens, since it's meant to be an overall walk about lens, I think something like a lock was not thought thru. This is something I have on a Tameron 18mm to 250mm I use on my D70. I purchased the Nikor 18mm to 200mm VR lens for my D90 Overall I'm still happy with it. April 17, 2011
Great everyday lens I love this zoom! I was concerned from the reviews I'd read that it would be heavy and large, but it was only a very small increment over the 18-135 lens it replaced. The VR feature really works (don't forget to turn it off if you're using a tripod, though), and the range is unbeatable. On a recent trip, of the 2900 pictures I took, 95% were with this zoom. I can see using it as an "only lens" almost all the time. April 17, 2011
Outstanding all purpose lens. Per usual, this lens meets all of my desires and expectations for Nikon photographic equipment. The 11x zoom ratio is outstanding, as is the mechanical design and performance, and fulfills all but the most extreme of optical requirements, ie longer lens focal length. This is an ideal design for the casual photographer, ie it's overall size and weight make for great convenience, while still providing a wide range in focal length for widely varying conditions. April 17, 2011
I use this lens 90% of the time. I vacation about 6 to 8 weeks a year. If I am going by car I bring all my cameras (3) and lenses (9). IF I am going by air I take only 1 camera body and 1 lens, a nikkor 18mm to 200mm zoom. That way I am traveling as light as possible and it meets almost all of my needs when on vacation. GREAT lens. April 17, 2011
Great all purpose lens! This lens has proven to be a great investment. I have used this lens for over two years and it is probably my most constantly used lens. I take it with me when I am not sure of the what the shooting situation might be or if I need a single good lens. Great quality and what an incredible range! Great lens! April 17, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13
<<prev | next>>
65 Questions | 110 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
65 Questions | 110 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
11 Answers

Is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II weather & dust sealed ??

Apr 13, 2011 by
0points
6out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful6
I'm planning to buy an D7000 with is obviously weather sealed and my choice lens AF-S DX NIKKOR
18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II along the body so i was wondering is this lens weather sealed so that i can do some photography while its raining ??

Thank you
3 years ago
by
Animesh
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
11 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I highly recommend that you do not use the camera in the rain unless you use some kind of protection. A light shower won't get into the lens or camera but it is not waterproof. When I feel compelled to take photos in the rain I cut a hole in a large baggie and protect the camera. Overall I find my rainy day photos are pretty awful anyway what with rain drops on the lens filter so I avoid using my Nikon in the rain.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Biker
Hanwell NB

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
As a great fan of this lens, I recommend it highly and have used it in light rainy situations, BUT I try to protect it, in such situations, by placing a piece of "Saran Wrap" over the lens barrel. Camera bodies and lenses were not built to withstand heavy and/or sustained downpours.

Hurbee 04/16/11
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Hurbee
Bryn Mawr, PA

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
Absolutely not. I have has terrible problems with this lens even in the driest conditions. I would certainly not recommend this lens in wet weather. It will fail on you as it is extremely cheaply made.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've used it in dusty and rainy conditions without any ill effects. I wouldn't use it if it's pouring really hard, however. It's always good to carry your camera in a "holster" or some kind of protective containment so you can put it away if you get caught in a rainstorm.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
shawn
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Location : 
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
NOT waterproof - camera and lens must be covered in heavy rain.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
No it is not! Do not use it in very dusty environments. It's OK in rain provided you keep it dry or at least wipe the rain off before zooming it to the 18mm end. I got dust in my old version in the Sahara but then the sand there is so fine it gets into everything. It didn't cause any problems though with image quality so not much got in. If you are shooting in the rain then the biggest problem is keeping the lens raindrop free. Try using a lens hood as a rain shield and a plastic bag over the lens itself will keep the lens dry. It really isn't a problem. I use my D90 in the rain fairly often but not heavy rain because you can't keep the lens dry. An umbrella helps a lot in the rain.

BTW the D7000 is a wonderful camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used my 18-200 in all kinds of weather with great results. Had one on a D-200 for almost 5 years and never had to clean the interior or the sensor of the camera
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
it is no more weather sealed than any other lens. You might try one of those camera lens raincoats by manufacturers like Think Tank or others, or buy a small fold-up umbrella, and put the handle in your shirt's front top pocket.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
mephoto
West Palm Beach, FL
Location : 
West Palm Beach, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I do not believe the lens is weather sealed; I would not take it out in the rain; my husband and I both have one and we usually keep our camera and lens in a large plastic ziplock bag if there is rainy weather.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Flygirl
Overland Park, KS
Location : 
Overland Park, KS
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Because the lens barrel changes in length when zooming/focussing, the lens body acts as a pump, drawing in and expelling air and I presume moisture. I would therefore look for a lens with internal zoom/focus, or use some sort of rain protection (or underwater housing) to keep water at bay.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Donald
Durban, South Africa
Location : 
Durban, South Africa
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No its not weather sealed.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
8 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D50?

Apr 12, 2011 by
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
GK
Denver, CO
Location : 
Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
8 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a friend with the D50 and he has used my 18-200 without any problems.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Why not. If you are not sure, take your D50 to acamera store and try it.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is and it will be very good on the D50.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe it is but not positive. Contact Nikon USA for confirmation.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I did answer this but maybe it did not go.....I used it on my D50 for years
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I used this lens on my D50 until I replaced the camera with another newer model
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II good for portrait ?

Apr 21, 2011 by
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
i have d3100
plz tell which is the best lens for portrait
im thinking about get nikkor 18-200
but need to know from any other lens is good for portrait
3 years ago
by
mody
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Wide angle lenses are best for capturing large amounts of areas. This comes at a small sacrifice of not having as much detail when you enlarge the photo. If your looking for a portrait lens, being head and shoulders, purchase a prime lens such as the 60mm 2.8G ED lens. It's very reasonably priced and will exceed your expectations..
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you want to get autofocus get the AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G

If you don't care in manual focus and want the BEST portrait lens ever done in any time and in any brand go and get AF DC-NIKKOR 135mm f/2D

But viewing the high price of the commented lens from above and considering you have a D3100 I think your best choice is AF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8G ED a FANTASTIC portrait lens.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I own an 18-200 VR II and need to ask some questions to help you in your decision process...

- Are you going to primarily do portraits or do you need a lens that does great portraits and supports other types of photography as well (e.g., action, sports, wild life)?

- Is weight a consideration? Are you OK with a 1+ lb lens or do you need something that is lighter or convenient for traveling?

- How far away will you be shooting these portraits and is that distance consistent?

- What other lenses do you own?
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Izzy
Dallas, TX
Location : 
Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
gold standard LENS FOR PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY=
"AF S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4 D lens"... NO WORDS MORE>>
JUST PURCHASE THIS workhorse.....
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
SunilS

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
it wont be quick but will do the job well - its a ggreat all round lens
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

Clicking Sound with VR

May 5, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
I have bought this lens 2 weeks ago for my D80. (the new Generation ED II VRII (with the 18 lock switch).
With the VR ON: Besides the Autofocus motor sound, there is a much louder Clicking sound (when moving the camera and the shutter half pressed), 3 times louder than the autofocus sound.
With the VR OFF, no clicking sound.
I suspect the VR motors (engaging/disengaging), but is it normally that loud? this is my first VR lens
Thanks
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your VR should be very silent. I recommend you submitting the lens to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't think it's loud at all. It's standard sound, I think. Unless you're trying to video something with it or next to it, it's quite a minor sound.
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is, it's the sound of clutches that activate the VR
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes thats quite normal, its the VR starting and stopping.
May 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D5100?

Apr 27, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5100.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this lens compatible with the d3000?

Apr 28, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Leadknife
trinidad
Location : 
trinidad
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
...and it's a great all-around lens. :)
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this compatible with the d5000?

Apr 30, 2011 by
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
momi
hawaii
Location : 
hawaii
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What is the status on lense creep with this model historically notorious for this?

Jun 3, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
lens creep when going up or down with the camera
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have this lens and it creeps like crazy. If I point it toward the ground, it creeps from minimum length to 200mm in less than 2 seconds. The lens is less than a year old and in the shop to fix.
Jul 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont have much problem with this even when I am shooting objects at my feet. You can lock the zoom at 18mm. This is a new feature with the 18-200 II.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Location : 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is present but not that bad. the zoom lock locks the lens only in the 18mm position.
Jun 5, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

is this lens comnpatible with the AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II or any other Teleconverter?

Apr 26, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
juan
argentina
Location : 
argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I wouldn't recommend tele-converters (extenders) due to them interfering with the designed engineering. If you need a longer focal length, grab another lens. Nikon does sell a Tele-Converter but its not that far priced from a much better solution of a longer focal length.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No its not compatable.
Apr 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Is the lens compatible with a Nikon tele-extender?

May 26, 2011 by
by
Kountry Road
Parrish, FL
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am consideering purchasing this lens as a replacement to another brand that is not VR.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Kountry Road
Parrish, FL
Location : 
Parrish, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I wouldn't recommend tele-converters (extenders) due to them interfering with the designed engineering. If you need a longer focal length, grab another lens. Nikon does sell a Tele-Converter but its not that far priced from a much better solution of a longer focal length like the 70-300mm VR AF-S lens.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
This lens is not compatible with any of our current teleconverters.
May 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers