Loading

Versatile, high-power 11x zoom with Vibration Reduction (VR II)

If you want just one lens to cover life’s many shooting opportunities, this may be the lens. Its powerful 11x zoom goes from wide-angle (18mm)—great for group shots, landscapes and more—to telephoto (200mm)—great for portraits and bringing the action close. Its equipped with Nikon’s advanced Vibration Reduction (VR II) for remarkable image clarity even when handheld shooting or in demanding lighting situations. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is a powerful, versatile photo and video partner.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
IF Lens
Silent Wave Motor
M/A
Vibration Reduction

Any subject. Anywhere.

Remarkable 11x zoom versatility

The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is an ideal one-lens solution for DX-format D-SLRs. Its powerful 11x zoom means you can capture just about any shot you encounter or imagine. From breathtaking wide-angle cityscapes and landscapes to action-stopping close-ups, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is adept in a huge range of shooting situations. It is a truly exceptional staple for any photographer’s camera bag.

Exceptional performance

Nikon technology for better shots

What’s versatility without quality? The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is as powerful as it is versatile. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements maximizes optical performance while minimizing chromatic aberration. Nikon’s Super Integrated Coating (SIC) enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare, and its exclusive Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables fast, accurate and ultra-quiet focusing.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: DX-format lenses are attached to a DX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II 4.4 5 340 341
Fantastic Lens Went on my dream vacation, purchase this lens for my Nikon D300S. Took about 5000 pictures and only had to delete a dozen. All the pictures came out perfect, I'm happy I purchased this lens. September 16, 2011
Awesome Lens This lens is awesome.I took pictures of water falls,kids,pets.I had no lens creep what so ever.The photos were crisp and clean. September 5, 2011
Very dissapointed Bought the lens, wanted a great multipurpose lens for my D90, and bought it after reading other commentary here. I found the lens to be a massive disappointment, for the following reasons; Most importantly the images were not very sharp. Really performed poorly in low light Did not respond as smoothly as the stock lens that came with the D90 The VR reduction made a ridiculously loud clicking noise when engaged and took a second to actually make the click The autofocus just would not work well with this lens Not sure if I bought a lemon or if the lens just generally has issues. I could not return it because I bought it and immediately went on a long vacation with the lens, I had become so used to Nikon quality that I also failed to bring the warranty, and since you need to mail it back within a set period of days, I blew past that as well. BTW, why do they make you mail the warranty!?!? You should be able to fill it in online, ridiculous in this day and age. Bottom line is that I have an expensive paper weight at the moment instead of a great multipurpose lens, for this amount of money, I am profoundly upset. September 1, 2011
versatile all-time-the-time-carry-around lens This lens serves its purpose: versatility. It is expensive, to begin with. But, takes the hassle of bringing several lenses to the location. Lens lock switch is useful, prevents lens damage during work and storage. August 24, 2011
Lens Feedback I started using this lens recently taking it on vacation and signing up for a digital photography class. While the photographs turn out very clear, you MUST lock it when carrying. Even if you put it on a tripod and point the camera downward, gravity takes over and causes the lens to fully extend which is very frustrating. With taking a digital photo class this past month I was told this is not something that should occur and the unit is probably defective. Something I would of rather heard when the warranty was active. They said some people use a rubber band to hold the unit. For what it cost it should stay stationary at least on the tripod. August 23, 2011
Not rugged enough Problem with all Nikon lenses is the rubber rings for focus and zoom. They do not stand up to heavy use. They become stretched from heat and sweat. A serious design change would be welcomed such that those rings (and other rubber/vinyl parts) be replaced with checked surface plastic/acrylic. August 8, 2011
Unhappy My lens came with a D200 camera. In 2009 it stopped functioning; the autofocus quit. Nikon took it back in 12.2009 and finally returned it in 3.2010 which was an inordinately long time. It is now broken again. Same issue. The repair department doesn't seem to be very responsive thus far and I cannot say that I'd be another buyer for a Nikon product at this juncture. Still awaiting a reply July 26, 2011
very good general purpose lens On a D300s. Rating VERY GOOD + This lens is perfect for it's intended purpose. . Good optics, minimal vignetting. Stabilization works well. Useful zoom range. Excellent candid shot lens. Very good lens if you are traveling light, and or you want to keep the camera sealed against the elements as much as possible, not changing lenses back and forth. Unless you are a Pro looking at things on the pixel level, you likely won't have any complaints about this lens. I took mine to Southeast Asia for six months, took thousands of photos of everything. It can focus close enough at zoom to get reasonable macro. Add a fast standard and wide angle for very adequate coverage. Downside..... zooming in and out sucks air, humidity and what goes with it, into the lens. After about five months, I noticed there was an ecosystem growing inside the lens, and it had to be serviced. I was careful, keeping everything as clean and dry as I could, carrying in a bag, but 32*+ and the humidity was too much. This coming trip I'm taking desiccant to put in the storage/overnight container to remove any humidity from the equipment, see how that works out. July 19, 2011
Great Standard Lens This is a great lens which I use as my standard lens. It covers a wide range of focal lengths and enables me to be a distance away and still take great close-ups, The quality and clarity are excellent and I would recommend this lens to everyone. July 11, 2011
Excellent zoom Great clarity. VR phenomenal. Auto-focus exceelent although auto focus function just died and required trip to Nikon repair July 5, 2011
Nice lens when it's working... When this lens is working, it is a thing of beauty, taking some of the most brilliant photos I've ever seen or taken for that matter. However, the auto-focus on mine stopped working only after about three(3) years... Lens is well kept in cool and low humidity environment, in a specialized suitcase/gadget carrier... I paid about $800.00 for the lens and to get it fixed is going to cost me $145.00... Go figure... It's a great lens for vacations, given that the focal length is so great thus negating the need to switch lenses frequently, if at all... The vibration resistant feature is a thing of beauty, allowing for photos in lower light conditions, without the need for any flash enhancement to ambient lighting... July 4, 2011
poorly made after spending over 7299 dollars and being loyal to nikon im very upset that the lens is poorly made and the tab broke while camera was on tripod, even though it was under warranty nikon said the tab wasnt. so loyalty means nothing so im hoping that canon will supply my needs from now on June 30, 2011
Great all around lens The nice thing about this lens is the focal range is such that it is on the camera the majority of the time. The VRII is nice, this is the first lens I have had with VR so my comment is more related to the VR in general but it is nice to be able to handhold the camera in situations where previously it would not be possible. June 30, 2011
I am impressed! I shoot nature, birds, animals and landscapes. I used to shoot commercially, people, events, a lot of things. Now, I only shoot what I want. I'm a recent convert to digital. Most of my history involves film, in Nikons, Hasselblads and a whole range of other film cameras. I spent a number of years away from this passion, but I'm back! About 3 years ago, I purchased a little P80 for a trip. It worked well, but wasn't up to the expectations that I have for cameras. Last December I purchased a P100. I was very happy with that camera. I still use it, but when the P500 came out, I got one. I've worked that camera hard and kind of fell in love with the capabilities of a camera that almost fits in a pocket. But, I needed better for some websites that my wife and I are developing. So, we went for a D7000 and one lens. That is all the budget we have for a while. The lens chosen is the 18-200 VRII and I've now run about 400 shots with the combo. Both my wife and I have again fallen in love! I'm going to have to fight to keep my hands on the D7000. The lens makes this camera ready for almost anything and is proving to be very fast focussing, sharp as a tack and light enough to carry all day. The images produced while testing this outfit have satisfied both of us beyond expectation. I would like more reach than we currently have, but I think there may be an 80-400 in our future. I was looking at price points for other lens manufacturers, but after a week with the 18-200 I've resolved that there is no need to look beyond Nikkor lenses. They may cost a bit more than something from an aftermarket maker, but there is a harmony that seems to run with a full Nikon outfit. Yes, I still have other maker's lenses in my bag, but they will be replaced with Nikkor as the budget allows. We're taking our websites to a commercial level and we're receiving very nice comments from people around the world. Our websites are image based and we like to offer the best that we can. The next few weeks will hold some tough subjects and I am confident that we can do justice to them with just the one lens. I never thought that I'd be able to say that, but even a shot that needs to be heavily cropped will stand up to high standards. The lens has an amazing range and it is providing fantastic images of whatever I've pointed it at. We're also compiling a microstock site and have no hesitation to recommend both the D7000 and the 18-200 VRII for serious photography. June 29, 2011
Great lens This lens is a great lens if you are looking for a DSLR and don't want to have to keep changing lenses and risk missing a shot. Wonderful! June 24, 2011
super one-lens solution almost all the time The 18-200 has lived up to and surpassed my expectations. The images are crisp and nicely saturated, the focusing on my D5100 is incredibly quick and accurate, and silent! The VR feature really does work as described. I rarely use a tripod, and I have yet to be bothered by camera shake,even at 200mm. Sometime in the future I may add a very fast Nikkor lens, or a very wide zoom, but for now this lens does it all for me. June 19, 2011
Excellent Should you want an all around lens attached to your camera, this is the one! June 16, 2011
Undecided I purchased the AFS DX 18-200mm ED VRII to pair with my D5000 in May of 2010. I found that the lens is good for use during daytime photography under good lighting. Using the crop factor of my camera sensor I get an equivalent 27mm to 300mm. Using the attached camera flash with the lens causes dark spots along the edges. Auto focus for medium to still moving objects are good. I had to send the lens in for repair because it stop auto focus at full length. Awaiting return of lens. Nice clear pics and wide focal length. June 13, 2011
Great multipurpose lens! This is the only lens that I take on vacation with me, it is wonderful! June 8, 2011
Nice overall lens if you are taking one lens This lens covers most of the range that you could use on a trip. Distortion was minimal and easily corrected in Lightroom. It is fast enough to capture good quality images and with the VRII it does well in low light situations. It is heavier that I would have liked but then it is only one lense. It can lock in the 18mm postition so that when it is being carried the zoom does not extend out. I would really like to be able to lock it in different focal lengths as well - such as 35, 50 and 85 but we can't have evereything. June 3, 2011
Incredible lens !!! Incredible lens with fantastic range...If there is a "one size fits all" lens, this is it. Its versatility is well worth the price. I'm still blown away with this lens and the D7000. May 30, 2011
Great Lens Purchased this lens as an add on to my 18mm-55mm lens.This lens takes better pictures all around. Great Lens for the price. May 30, 2011
Excellent lens for one-stop/shop application. I have taken this lens as my only lens for my D60 on numerous trips to SEAsia, India, Australia, New Zealand and Italy. I don't think there is a better single lens to have when traveling. It has adequate zoom and range to cover 95+% of my needs and works well in low to modest light allowing for great photos inside museums with no flash. I have just purchased a D7000 and the first photos were stunning. I do recommend this lens to friends and thank my buddy Dan for letting me try his. May 26, 2011
The 18-200mm is my go to lens. It covers a great range. I shoot a lot of group settings. This lens allows you to get right in for the close up, without have to be next to the subject. It's great for capturing lots of activity! May 26, 2011
Terrific multi-purpose lens! I got this lens as I didn't want to swap lenses while on vacation and travelling. I did that on my old setup and it drove me nuts. This lens I find works fantastic is most situations when lighting is good. The only time I have had issue is when lighting is bad and flash is not an option for whatever reason. If I could change 2 things (without compromising quality) would be to make it lighter and not have the lens roll-out to full zoom on it's own when slung over my shoulder. But if you want a great all-purpose lens this one is a dream in my opinion. May 26, 2011
Best all-in-one zoom lens There are many alternative all-in-one zoom lens in the market. But the Nikon 18-200 VR II is the absolute winner and the best all-in-one zoom lens in the world. No other competitors can catch the 18-200 VR II in terms of image quality and sharpness. If I had only one lens, this would be the one. May 25, 2011
Ignore the negative reviewers. I had to say that in the title. Wanna know why? It's because there is no other lens with these features at this price. A Nikon glass, with VR II, DX format sure, but with zoom range from 28-300 equivalent in this compact size at this price range? The Tamrons and Sigmas may have similar types, but they're not Nikon glass, know what I mean? The VR absolutely trumps the others. This is the perfect all around lens for the DX format, and you can't go wrong. From a nice wide angle to a really decent zoom option, it'll give you plenty of options to do all around photography. May 25, 2011
Great lens, learned about it from Costco Kit If you wnat a versatile lens, this is the one. You do not carry a lot of lens in your bag. Just this one does the enitre job. May 24, 2011
Very Versatile Lens This is a do-almost-everything lens. I rarely change it for a more purpose-built lens, such as a macro or super wide angle. It does exhibit barrel and pincushion distortions at wide and telephoto settings, respectively, though, and the lens is very soft at the 135mm setting, which is a very useful length. I try to shoot only at F11 at that setting if I can. The distortions are easily corrected using Len Corrections in editing programs. It also works well with a short extension tube for near-macro shots. May 23, 2011
THIS LENS IS THE GREATEST LENSE I HAVE! I love the lense, sure it is slow on some settings but if you know how to photograph it is great! You and your camera can adjust to the shot, if you can't no lense will work for you! May 20, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 13
<<prev | next>>
72 Questions | 122 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
72 Questions | 122 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
11 Answers

Is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II weather & dust sealed ??

Apr 13, 2011 by
-1point
6out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful7
I'm planning to buy an D7000 with is obviously weather sealed and my choice lens AF-S DX NIKKOR
18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II along the body so i was wondering is this lens weather sealed so that i can do some photography while its raining ??

Thank you
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Animesh
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
11 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I highly recommend that you do not use the camera in the rain unless you use some kind of protection. A light shower won't get into the lens or camera but it is not waterproof. When I feel compelled to take photos in the rain I cut a hole in a large baggie and protect the camera. Overall I find my rainy day photos are pretty awful anyway what with rain drops on the lens filter so I avoid using my Nikon in the rain.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Biker
Hanwell NB

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
As a great fan of this lens, I recommend it highly and have used it in light rainy situations, BUT I try to protect it, in such situations, by placing a piece of "Saran Wrap" over the lens barrel. Camera bodies and lenses were not built to withstand heavy and/or sustained downpours.

Hurbee 04/16/11
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Hurbee
Bryn Mawr, PA

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
Absolutely not. I have has terrible problems with this lens even in the driest conditions. I would certainly not recommend this lens in wet weather. It will fail on you as it is extremely cheaply made.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've used it in dusty and rainy conditions without any ill effects. I wouldn't use it if it's pouring really hard, however. It's always good to carry your camera in a "holster" or some kind of protective containment so you can put it away if you get caught in a rainstorm.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
shawn
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Location : 
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
NOT waterproof - camera and lens must be covered in heavy rain.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
No it is not! Do not use it in very dusty environments. It's OK in rain provided you keep it dry or at least wipe the rain off before zooming it to the 18mm end. I got dust in my old version in the Sahara but then the sand there is so fine it gets into everything. It didn't cause any problems though with image quality so not much got in. If you are shooting in the rain then the biggest problem is keeping the lens raindrop free. Try using a lens hood as a rain shield and a plastic bag over the lens itself will keep the lens dry. It really isn't a problem. I use my D90 in the rain fairly often but not heavy rain because you can't keep the lens dry. An umbrella helps a lot in the rain.

BTW the D7000 is a wonderful camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used my 18-200 in all kinds of weather with great results. Had one on a D-200 for almost 5 years and never had to clean the interior or the sensor of the camera
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
it is no more weather sealed than any other lens. You might try one of those camera lens raincoats by manufacturers like Think Tank or others, or buy a small fold-up umbrella, and put the handle in your shirt's front top pocket.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
mephoto
West Palm Beach, FL
Location : 
West Palm Beach, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I do not believe the lens is weather sealed; I would not take it out in the rain; my husband and I both have one and we usually keep our camera and lens in a large plastic ziplock bag if there is rainy weather.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Flygirl
Overland Park, KS
Location : 
Overland Park, KS
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Because the lens barrel changes in length when zooming/focussing, the lens body acts as a pump, drawing in and expelling air and I presume moisture. I would therefore look for a lens with internal zoom/focus, or use some sort of rain protection (or underwater housing) to keep water at bay.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Donald
Durban, South Africa
Location : 
Durban, South Africa
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No its not weather sealed.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
8 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D50?

Apr 12, 2011 by
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
GK
Denver, CO
Location : 
Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
8 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a friend with the D50 and he has used my 18-200 without any problems.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Why not. If you are not sure, take your D50 to acamera store and try it.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is and it will be very good on the D50.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe it is but not positive. Contact Nikon USA for confirmation.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I did answer this but maybe it did not go.....I used it on my D50 for years
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I used this lens on my D50 until I replaced the camera with another newer model
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II good for portrait ?

Apr 21, 2011 by
-1point
2out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
i have d3100
plz tell which is the best lens for portrait
im thinking about get nikkor 18-200
but need to know from any other lens is good for portrait
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
mody
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Wide angle lenses are best for capturing large amounts of areas. This comes at a small sacrifice of not having as much detail when you enlarge the photo. If your looking for a portrait lens, being head and shoulders, purchase a prime lens such as the 60mm 2.8G ED lens. It's very reasonably priced and will exceed your expectations..
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you want to get autofocus get the AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G

If you don't care in manual focus and want the BEST portrait lens ever done in any time and in any brand go and get AF DC-NIKKOR 135mm f/2D

But viewing the high price of the commented lens from above and considering you have a D3100 I think your best choice is AF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8G ED a FANTASTIC portrait lens.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I own an 18-200 VR II and need to ask some questions to help you in your decision process...

- Are you going to primarily do portraits or do you need a lens that does great portraits and supports other types of photography as well (e.g., action, sports, wild life)?

- Is weight a consideration? Are you OK with a 1+ lb lens or do you need something that is lighter or convenient for traveling?

- How far away will you be shooting these portraits and is that distance consistent?

- What other lenses do you own?
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Izzy
Dallas, TX
Location : 
Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
gold standard LENS FOR PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY=
"AF S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4 D lens"... NO WORDS MORE>>
JUST PURCHASE THIS workhorse.....
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
SunilS

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
it wont be quick but will do the job well - its a ggreat all round lens
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

Clicking Sound with VR

May 5, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
I have bought this lens 2 weeks ago for my D80. (the new Generation ED II VRII (with the 18 lock switch).
With the VR ON: Besides the Autofocus motor sound, there is a much louder Clicking sound (when moving the camera and the shutter half pressed), 3 times louder than the autofocus sound.
With the VR OFF, no clicking sound.
I suspect the VR motors (engaging/disengaging), but is it normally that loud? this is my first VR lens
Thanks
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your VR should be very silent. I recommend you submitting the lens to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't think it's loud at all. It's standard sound, I think. Unless you're trying to video something with it or next to it, it's quite a minor sound.
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is, it's the sound of clutches that activate the VR
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes thats quite normal, its the VR starting and stopping.
May 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D5100?

Apr 27, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5100.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this lens compatible with the d3000?

Apr 28, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Leadknife
trinidad
Location : 
trinidad
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
...and it's a great all-around lens. :)
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this compatible with the d5000?

Apr 30, 2011 by
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
momi
hawaii
Location : 
hawaii
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What is the status on lense creep with this model historically notorious for this?

Jun 3, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
lens creep when going up or down with the camera
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have this lens and it creeps like crazy. If I point it toward the ground, it creeps from minimum length to 200mm in less than 2 seconds. The lens is less than a year old and in the shop to fix.
Jul 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont have much problem with this even when I am shooting objects at my feet. You can lock the zoom at 18mm. This is a new feature with the 18-200 II.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Location : 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is present but not that bad. the zoom lock locks the lens only in the 18mm position.
Jun 5, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the Nikon D40?

May 30, 2014 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
RT
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is compatible with the D40. For more information on choosing lenses for the D40 please visit: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an... .
May 30, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is
May 30, 2014 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Fully compatible.
May 30, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

is this lens comnpatible with the AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II or any other Teleconverter?

Apr 26, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
juan
argentina
Location : 
argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I wouldn't recommend tele-converters (extenders) due to them interfering with the designed engineering. If you need a longer focal length, grab another lens. Nikon does sell a Tele-Converter but its not that far priced from a much better solution of a longer focal length.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No its not compatable.
Apr 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers