Loading

Versatile, high-power 11x zoom with Vibration Reduction (VR II)

If you want just one lens to cover life’s many shooting opportunities, this may be the lens. Its powerful 11x zoom goes from wide-angle (18mm)—great for group shots, landscapes and more—to telephoto (200mm)—great for portraits and bringing the action close. Its equipped with Nikon’s advanced Vibration Reduction (VR II) for remarkable image clarity even when handheld shooting or in demanding lighting situations. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is a powerful, versatile photo and video partner.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
IF Lens
Silent Wave Motor
M/A
Vibration Reduction

Any subject. Anywhere.

Remarkable 11x zoom versatility

The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is an ideal one-lens solution for DX-format D-SLRs. Its powerful 11x zoom means you can capture just about any shot you encounter or imagine. From breathtaking wide-angle cityscapes and landscapes to action-stopping close-ups, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is adept in a huge range of shooting situations. It is a truly exceptional staple for any photographer’s camera bag.

Exceptional performance

Nikon technology for better shots

What’s versatility without quality? The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is as powerful as it is versatile. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements maximizes optical performance while minimizing chromatic aberration. Nikon’s Super Integrated Coating (SIC) enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare, and its exclusive Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables fast, accurate and ultra-quiet focusing.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: DX-format lenses are attached to a DX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II 4.4 5 340 341
Este lente no funciona con la D7000 Me compre la camara D7000 y el lente 18-200 VR II, pero con tanta distancia focal no se puede ajustar el foco con la camara, al hacer pruebas con una plantilla y la camara en tripie y a 45° , pude ajustar por ejemplo a 200 mm pero si el lente lo ponia a 18 mm no salian las fotos enfocadas y vicerversa si ajustaba el foco con el lente a 18 mm despues al hacer pruebas con el lente a 200 mm ya no enfocaba, en servicio Nikon me dicen que cada ves que cambie la distancia focal DEBO hacer el MICRO AJUSTE en la camara (que impractico para tomar fotos, no creen.....??????????), mejor me compre un 35 mm fijo que ya ajuste el foco y ya no se lo quito a la camara, y el lente 18-200 una lastima lo tengo guardado y todavia con su garantia. April 3, 2013
Great in concept, not in practice I love the broad range this lens covers, shooting with it offers everything you need on travel shoots and outings with the camera. It easily switched from wide angle room shots, to landscapes, and then decent close-ups of birds. The photo quality was great, the autofocus silent, nice lens.... ...then I took it on a winter day shoot. The autofocus stopped working completely around 30F and the lens creep was ridiculous, I'd frame my shot, go to adjust it slightly with the polarizer, or manual focus and everything in the shot would have changed. It wasn't a well made lens, and I so wanted it to be. I also use a UV filter with a polarizer (UV for lens protection) and the vignetting was horrible at 18mm unless I took a filter off. That might be true in all the DX wides though... Not sure. Anyway, had to return it, in the end for the lens creep, can't work with that. February 20, 2013
If Nikon improves the problems I would recommend with more stars Since the lens came with my D300 back in June 2010 I have owned it and used it as my primary lens. It is a great action lens, as well as a portrait lens. Just very good over all. So why do I give it lover marks? Becuase after the first year of usig it it started to have "Lens Creep" meaning if I was pointing up or down (other than level) it would start zooming on its own. I checked with other professionals with nikon equipment to only hear the same thing and that Nikon would not fix it as a defect. So I have a wide black rubber band around the barrel to hold the zoom in place. Also when I zoom it all the way to 200mm it now goes out of focus. So it is now a lens with limited uses for me. I have had to purchase other lens to replace it as a daily use lens. I'm still a die-hard Nikon user, have been for over 40 years. Just not happy with this lens. January 28, 2013
Lens creep My second time purchasing this lens. First purchase as brand new. Sold original to help finance purchase of a Tamron 70-200 2.8 (non-VC). Love the Tamron, but it's slow focus motor, and sometimes hunting for focus, and also it's big size and no image stabilization, had me longing for this lens again. So bought this lens once more, as refurbished, direct from Nikon's outlet store online. My first one had lens creep...where if you face it down, the lens will extend from the weight...this is a common complaint from lots of people, so I just accepted it as is... Also on that first lens, when I start zooming, the zooming feel was not consistent...where a. ...when I first zoom out from 18mm it was nice and "sticky" a little bit, but not enough to prevent lens creep. b. ...then became super loose c. ...then became "sticky" again d. ...then at far end loosened up just for a little bit of the last zoom ...also a common complaint by others.... Now with this refurbished lens, there is NO CREEP at all, and the "sticky"-ness of the zoom is pretty constant throughout! Much happier with this lens this time around! December 18, 2012
One lens to rule them all Did anybody say this lens isn't sharp? Mine sure is. I have a whole series of Nikon AF-D prime lenses and under normal lighting conditions there is barely any difference in the color or detail. I like the 18mm lock switch which makes for easy carrying between shots. You'll never again miss an opportunity while changing lenses and internal camera dust is minimized. Oh and by the way, leave the tripod at home. December 4, 2012
Excellent!! Must have as first lens!! I bought this lens along with my first D-SLR an year ago. Being a point-n-shoot type of a guy till my D-SLR happened, I wanted the ease of not changing lens to take different pictures, and have wide angle and zoom at the same time. This lens looked most versatile. And it lived up to its reputation. I am very happy with my decision to have it as my first lens. - It takes great pictures in daylight - It is very good for portraits. I love the bokeh it renders - It has a nice zoom - I love the wide angle it provides With my lens I haven't noticed any lens creep. It worked wonderfully, right out-of-the-box. I found few reviews complaining about the sharpness, but I have no complains. I am very happy with my lens. Even though it is expensive compared to the basic 18-55mm lens offered in most D-SLR/lens bundles, I would recommend all first timers to buy this lens. It's worth every penny!! November 17, 2012
Lens is not sharp Very versatile lens. Love wide range, BUT it is not a sharp lens. I've never abused the lens but I was never happy with results. Sent to authorized service center and spent $250 for servicing. It came back well serviced, but is still not sharp. It cannot compare to the old AF NIkkor 80-200 1:2.8 lens I've had forever. November 1, 2012
Excellent! Great walkabout lens that rarely leaves my camera! This lens came with my D200 when I bought it in 2006. I was skeptical at first, doubting that a single lens covering such a wide range of focal lenghs could possibly provide the quality results I needed. I fully expected to be buying a "real" lens within a few months. I could not have been more wrong. I fell in love instantly. I now have 30+ years of Nikon lenses I have aquired over the years that I could use but this lens is on my camera 99% of the time. The range, of course, is wonderful. I can walk through the forest and shoot everything from wide angle get-pulled-into-the-woods shots to a close up of bird without changing lenses. My wife has a D60 with an 18-55 and 55-200 and is often frustrated that whichever lens she has on, she sees something that requires the other! I have gotten shots that she has missed because all I had to do is shoot and not worry about changing lenses. The quality is excellent. One of my first projects was to shoot photos of my son's soccer games. I walked the sidelines shooting the action at a wide range of focal lengths. When I assembled them for presentaion I included wider shots of the team in action, but also included shots of individual players that I pulled out of the center of wider shots. Even those were great and everyone loved them. Nikon has sharper lenses available but the difference in sharpness is not going to be noticed by most of us in most applications. When I do need that difference, I use another lens. But that is rare and I would rather capture a beautiful image with an almost perfect lens than miss a great shot with the perfect lens! A note on LENS CREEP: Yes, if you are not paying attention while pointing up or down, the lens can be pulled down by gravity, changing the focal lengh. This has never been a huge issue for me and I think it is because of the way I hold my camera. I use the classic -read "old guy"- style of holding the lens and not the camera. I place the camera along the heal of my left palm, my thumb and middle finger in position to focus and change aperture. Well, used to anyway when everything was manual! But the same finger placement will adjust focal length and hold it in position. If you are used to holding a smaller camera by the edges your fingers won't be in position and will allow the lens to creep. August 24, 2012
A dependable and versatile workhorse This is my travel lens, and I travel a lot! It has proven durable and reliable, and the images are stunning. I haven't noticed any lens creep at all. The VR gives me the option of hand-holding to reasonably slow shutter speeds (or upping the ISO a bit - I shoot on both a D2X and my newer D7000). The 1080p HD video shot with this lens also looks great! All in all I'm very happy with this product and totally recommend this lens, particularly if you need a versatile workhorse while on the road. Even though the range is very good, I'm thinking of getting the 10-24 to give me a bit more wide angle and provide a two-lens complete kit. May 22, 2012
Shockingly Durable I have used this lens for years - since the D2X - never had a problem with creep - especially when comparing it to my old creepy Leica 90 mm - If it wasn't so heavy, I'd put it on and never need to change lens. I gave away my old 18-200 and just bought a new one. After taking it out of the box and going upstairs, I dropped it and watch it bounce down 2 flights of stairs. I had no expectations that I would remain alive and well. However it is working perfectly since the accident. Just one more anecdote that will keep me loyal to Nikon Forever. May 16, 2012
Zoom relativement puissant Excellent rapport qualité/prix. Images nettes, facile d'utilisation. May 3, 2012
Lens creep The lens started creeping within a few weeks of purchase ,I didnt worry about it too much at the time ...Nikon...A fine reputable company will be able to repair this lens when I return home to Australia, OK here goes nothing ,I am about to return the lens to the store ...wish me luck....!!!!!! April 16, 2012
lens creep on the 18-200 mm lens (VR I) I hate this creep (!). It is difficult to take pictures aiming the camera up or down. I checked the technical support and was told that there is nothing I can do about it. I am getting rid of this lens. Does the VR II creep similarly? Perhaps I should go to another lens manufacturer. March 25, 2012
Solid All Around Lens This is an overall solid lens. It has a good heft to it. But like many have complained about, there is quite a bit of lens creep in the mid-range of the lens, but I just put a rubber band where it turns, and it fixed up quite nicely. Because of the 18-200 range, it's a lens that I rarely take off of my d7000, although on occasion I do remove it for my 50mm 1.4G. Photo quality wise, I'm very happy with it, although this is coming from a guy who upgraded from a 55-200. The photos were sharp, and I was quite pleased with the quality. Just change the aperture a bit, and you really won't be able to complain about sharpness. There is some distortion at the extremes, but that's to be expected. The only real complaint I have is the fact that I had to fix the lens creep, but it really is no big deal. The photo of the puppy was shot at ISO 400, 135mm, f/5.6, 1/320 sec. March 24, 2012
Very versatile in a variety of situations I have now used this lens on my D7000 DSLR for almost a year. I am amazed at how versatile it is, from portraits to landscapes, action shots to movies. For my amateur photography, I do not need any other lenses. Since I am not a perfectionist, I am not 100% sure of the benefit of Vibration Reduction although I have used it without any problems, even in movie mode. Pictures are very sharp. Note - when subject is over 8 metres away, and the lighting requires a flash, the built-in flash on the D7000 is inadequate for this purpose. March 18, 2012
The one lens solution No, its not the equal of a half a dozen prime lenses. It's not the equal of Nikon's holy trinity of fixed aperture zoom lenses covering the same range. But its remarkably robust compared to the competition, its plenty sharp, and its distortion is acceptable in all but the most critical applications. Five stars for a lens that's good enough for all but the 99th percentile. The only lens I need in my bag. March 3, 2012
Alaska - Juneau Humpback Whale, May 2011 This pic was taken on a purchased used 18-200 VR. I also have new one. the 5000 has the old 18-200 and the 7000 has the newer model. The newer model is a little sharper, tighter and better sized rubber grips. Either of them will do the job. My other lens is a 80-400 VR. Anyway, there were 14 people on the boat, the only picture of the whale came from the 7000/18-200 setup. Whales are only out of the water for a moment, as they weight 30 tons, and you have to focus, and get the pic taken in milliseconds. That is my testimony to Nikon and i am sticking to it!! January 18, 2012
Overall a good lens I bought this lens last year and I am pretty much happy with it. Here is what I have found within this year Pros. 1. It's an excellent all purpose lens, you don't have to switch lenses back and forth. 2. Focus within 0.5 meter (I think good for beginner macro shooters, my opinion does not count because I am not a big fan of macro) 3. It has a focus ring (which is a plus) 4. Autofocus is okay (it is not the fastest one but acceptable) 5. I love the bokeh of this lens The most important feature of this lens is its versatility and a very good choice for beginners when people are not sure which focal length is perfect to photograph what. Cons. 1. The lens creeps, it is a big problem if you point it upward. 2. It has a lock button but it locks only on 18mm, so basically you can use lock button it you want to hang it on your shoulder. 3. The images are not crisp sharp! but the images are still very good. If you are the guy who swear on sharpness then it might disappoint you but for me it is okay. I am not sure why it's worth $100 more than its previous version, apparently there is not much difference except the lock button which is not very useful anyway. December 20, 2011
I usually steer away fron lenses with a wide range of focal lenghts and own several f2.8 pro lenses. After reading test result on this lens in Popular Photo who found that this lens has amazing optical qualities for a lens with this focal range, I decided to buy one. This lens will be perfect for when I don't want to carry around several heavy pro lens. I can mount this lens on My DSLR and go. I will still use my other lenses for specific needs, but this is the lens that I will use most of the time. November 21, 2011
After 4 years, I say: First of all, I mention what everybody already knows, this lens exudes Nikon quality. So precision, clarity, operation is flawless, and has been for me for the past 4 years. This is a great starting lens. with 18mm being the shortest focal length it outstrips other telephoto lenses in the wide-angle field. 200mm is a good zoom for many people, especially those who at higher fl display a shakey hand. I bought this for my wife, who asked for a point and shoot. Reasoning that this would be the most amazing point-and-shoot in the world, I remembered an old adage my dad used to say: "The bitterness of poor quality remains long after price is forgotten." November 17, 2011
Nice lens I had been using both the 18-55 zoom and 55-300 zoom on my D3100with great results but I wanted something a little easier to carry when traveling. This lens does the job. Smooth control, great sharpness and a generous zoom range. A bit heavier than my long zoom fixed lens camera, but a lot more detail and sharpness November 14, 2011
my do everything lense this lense does everything! portrait, landscape anything with my D7000! i don't know why the lense creep could really be an issue? if you set it at 200 and you shoot up, it does not creep down, however any settings below 200, it will creep, but at that point you should be holding the barrel while shooting either up or down or any other position (that is the normal way of shooting long barreled lense anyway)... my only complaint is when i forget to lock it at 18mm and the camera is dangling down from my waist (my normal way of carrying it using a sling-type camera strap), then barrel will extend down, real heavy creeping... but i can live with it! i just need to keep reminding myself to lock it when not in used... the IQ is so much better than the 18-55 and the 18-105 for sure! those lenses are for the low-end dx bodies, like d3x00 and d5x00 variants... if you are buying a d7000, you would want this lense, especially if you do not like the idea of missing a shot while changing lenses, do remember a moment happens in a split-sec, once the moment is gone, it can not be repeated again! i have used this lense in weddings, sports events and church activities among others... although it does not render the bokeh compared to the 80-200 or a 50 f1.8 prime, the flexibility is simply amazing, and it is as sharp and IQ is pretty much the same... November 6, 2011
Nice Lens for all purpose I just bought this lens about 3 months ago and Im glad I did. I use this in almost everything... Landscape, portrait, party, and I even use it as micro (Flowers & Insects). It does a good job so far, sharp and fast focus... Very happy with this lens... October 13, 2011
Great lens for all pupose... I use this lens for just almost everything... Landscape, micro (flowers or insects), and parties.. With my D7000, It doesn't disappoint me so far... October 13, 2011
lens creep is an issue I thought I had read enough reviews about this all-around great lens for non-pro enthusiasts. I bought the lens in New York City to go along with the D7000, however in NYC, your camera is pointed upwards a lot. When the salesman pointed out that there's a lock at 18mm, I immediately thought that Nikon knows about lens creep in the previous version of this lens and wanted to rectify the problem. Within several hours of shooting with this lens, it became apparent that lens creep is a big issue. I then came back home to and called Nikon The tech support person said this is a known problem and if severe, should be returned. Online there are plenty of reports and videos about this lens and it's "creep". One easy fix is a piece of black tape to the barrel, but with a brand new product, one should not be expected to "McGyver" it. This is probably the problem with all "super zooms" but I'm returning it for several shorter lenses. October 11, 2011
This product fills an important void for handicapp I have several Nikkor lenses obtained over 20+ years. This lens allows me to enjoy my photography from my wheelchair. It is very versitile. I am currently photographing flowers including close-ups. I call my pics "blossoms from a wheelchair". October 10, 2011
Oustanding Lens I bought the Nikon D5100 with the kit lens and then added the 55-200 kit add-on. I personally found it annoying to change lenses to have the higher zoom, so I did a lot of research and decided I really wanted one lens that did pretty much everything I needed. I looked at the Tamron 17-270 PZ, the Sigma 18-200 and after reading every review and user comment I could find, decided that as usual, the Nikon 18-200 VR II was the lens I wanted. I'm extremely happy with the lens. It feels very solid and I'm much happier with the metal mount. I was prepared for some zoom creep as I had read that it was still an issue for many. But my lens has none. If anything, the zoom ring is more stiff than I would have expected, but there is absolutely no lens creep whatsoever. The pictures I have taken with the lens at either end have been stunning. Much better than the kit lens for sure. And while there's supposed to be some sacrifice in distortion at the extremes, I've not been able to see any, even at 100% crop. At least for me, the lens is everything I could have hoped for and then some. I know that $849 is not inexpensive, but then in the world of lenses, this is an absolute bargain. It's a Nikkor lens through and through. And even though the D5100 is a smaller DSLR, it feels more stable on my camera than the kit lens did. As usual, I'm very happy with my Nkon products. I highly recommend this lens to anyone who is looking for one lens that will pretty much do it all, in one compact, yet highly versatile and well built package. If it also was a macro, that would make it the perfect lens for all situations, but that might be asking too much. October 8, 2011
This Is a great product for the $'s If your looking for a 2.8 you will be disappointed. SOFT no this is not a soft lens. Try using a better camera body. very quick and very versatile. October 4, 2011
This lens is soft I purchased this lens to accompany my D7000 body. Together they make a very balanced package and handle quite well. The overarching issue with the 18-200 lens is that it is very soft. I have never been so disappointed in the performance of a Nikon lens. A lens that lacks sharpness to this degree should not carry the Nikon nameplate. September 21, 2011
Great 'all around' lens If you are going out for the day with the kids, or just walking around in a new city and don't want to carry a bag-o-lenses, this is your go to lens. No it isn't tack sharp. No it isn't constant 2.8. No it didn't cost $$$$. Light enough. Sharp enough. More than versatile. Actually does suprisingly nice close-up work. VRII really does give you 3-4 stops. (If you put it on a tripod, remember to turn off the VR. It is sharper without it.) I haven't done any sports yet, but it seems fast enough at focusing. Great all around lens for $$. September 19, 2011
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 13
<<prev | next>>
72 Questions | 122 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
72 Questions | 122 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
11 Answers

Is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II weather & dust sealed ??

Apr 13, 2011 by
-1point
6out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful7
I'm planning to buy an D7000 with is obviously weather sealed and my choice lens AF-S DX NIKKOR
18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II along the body so i was wondering is this lens weather sealed so that i can do some photography while its raining ??

Thank you
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Animesh
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
11 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I highly recommend that you do not use the camera in the rain unless you use some kind of protection. A light shower won't get into the lens or camera but it is not waterproof. When I feel compelled to take photos in the rain I cut a hole in a large baggie and protect the camera. Overall I find my rainy day photos are pretty awful anyway what with rain drops on the lens filter so I avoid using my Nikon in the rain.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Biker
Hanwell NB

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
As a great fan of this lens, I recommend it highly and have used it in light rainy situations, BUT I try to protect it, in such situations, by placing a piece of "Saran Wrap" over the lens barrel. Camera bodies and lenses were not built to withstand heavy and/or sustained downpours.

Hurbee 04/16/11
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Hurbee
Bryn Mawr, PA

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
Absolutely not. I have has terrible problems with this lens even in the driest conditions. I would certainly not recommend this lens in wet weather. It will fail on you as it is extremely cheaply made.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've used it in dusty and rainy conditions without any ill effects. I wouldn't use it if it's pouring really hard, however. It's always good to carry your camera in a "holster" or some kind of protective containment so you can put it away if you get caught in a rainstorm.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
shawn
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Location : 
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
NOT waterproof - camera and lens must be covered in heavy rain.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
No it is not! Do not use it in very dusty environments. It's OK in rain provided you keep it dry or at least wipe the rain off before zooming it to the 18mm end. I got dust in my old version in the Sahara but then the sand there is so fine it gets into everything. It didn't cause any problems though with image quality so not much got in. If you are shooting in the rain then the biggest problem is keeping the lens raindrop free. Try using a lens hood as a rain shield and a plastic bag over the lens itself will keep the lens dry. It really isn't a problem. I use my D90 in the rain fairly often but not heavy rain because you can't keep the lens dry. An umbrella helps a lot in the rain.

BTW the D7000 is a wonderful camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used my 18-200 in all kinds of weather with great results. Had one on a D-200 for almost 5 years and never had to clean the interior or the sensor of the camera
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
it is no more weather sealed than any other lens. You might try one of those camera lens raincoats by manufacturers like Think Tank or others, or buy a small fold-up umbrella, and put the handle in your shirt's front top pocket.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
mephoto
West Palm Beach, FL
Location : 
West Palm Beach, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I do not believe the lens is weather sealed; I would not take it out in the rain; my husband and I both have one and we usually keep our camera and lens in a large plastic ziplock bag if there is rainy weather.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Flygirl
Overland Park, KS
Location : 
Overland Park, KS
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Because the lens barrel changes in length when zooming/focussing, the lens body acts as a pump, drawing in and expelling air and I presume moisture. I would therefore look for a lens with internal zoom/focus, or use some sort of rain protection (or underwater housing) to keep water at bay.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Donald
Durban, South Africa
Location : 
Durban, South Africa
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No its not weather sealed.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
8 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D50?

Apr 12, 2011 by
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
GK
Denver, CO
Location : 
Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
8 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a friend with the D50 and he has used my 18-200 without any problems.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Why not. If you are not sure, take your D50 to acamera store and try it.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is and it will be very good on the D50.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe it is but not positive. Contact Nikon USA for confirmation.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I did answer this but maybe it did not go.....I used it on my D50 for years
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I used this lens on my D50 until I replaced the camera with another newer model
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II good for portrait ?

Apr 21, 2011 by
-1point
2out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
i have d3100
plz tell which is the best lens for portrait
im thinking about get nikkor 18-200
but need to know from any other lens is good for portrait
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
mody
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Wide angle lenses are best for capturing large amounts of areas. This comes at a small sacrifice of not having as much detail when you enlarge the photo. If your looking for a portrait lens, being head and shoulders, purchase a prime lens such as the 60mm 2.8G ED lens. It's very reasonably priced and will exceed your expectations..
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you want to get autofocus get the AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G

If you don't care in manual focus and want the BEST portrait lens ever done in any time and in any brand go and get AF DC-NIKKOR 135mm f/2D

But viewing the high price of the commented lens from above and considering you have a D3100 I think your best choice is AF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8G ED a FANTASTIC portrait lens.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I own an 18-200 VR II and need to ask some questions to help you in your decision process...

- Are you going to primarily do portraits or do you need a lens that does great portraits and supports other types of photography as well (e.g., action, sports, wild life)?

- Is weight a consideration? Are you OK with a 1+ lb lens or do you need something that is lighter or convenient for traveling?

- How far away will you be shooting these portraits and is that distance consistent?

- What other lenses do you own?
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Izzy
Dallas, TX
Location : 
Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
gold standard LENS FOR PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY=
"AF S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4 D lens"... NO WORDS MORE>>
JUST PURCHASE THIS workhorse.....
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
SunilS

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
it wont be quick but will do the job well - its a ggreat all round lens
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

Clicking Sound with VR

May 5, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
I have bought this lens 2 weeks ago for my D80. (the new Generation ED II VRII (with the 18 lock switch).
With the VR ON: Besides the Autofocus motor sound, there is a much louder Clicking sound (when moving the camera and the shutter half pressed), 3 times louder than the autofocus sound.
With the VR OFF, no clicking sound.
I suspect the VR motors (engaging/disengaging), but is it normally that loud? this is my first VR lens
Thanks
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your VR should be very silent. I recommend you submitting the lens to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't think it's loud at all. It's standard sound, I think. Unless you're trying to video something with it or next to it, it's quite a minor sound.
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is, it's the sound of clutches that activate the VR
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes thats quite normal, its the VR starting and stopping.
May 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D5100?

Apr 27, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5100.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this lens compatible with the d3000?

Apr 28, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Leadknife
trinidad
Location : 
trinidad
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
...and it's a great all-around lens. :)
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this compatible with the d5000?

Apr 30, 2011 by
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
momi
hawaii
Location : 
hawaii
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What is the status on lense creep with this model historically notorious for this?

Jun 3, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
lens creep when going up or down with the camera
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have this lens and it creeps like crazy. If I point it toward the ground, it creeps from minimum length to 200mm in less than 2 seconds. The lens is less than a year old and in the shop to fix.
Jul 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont have much problem with this even when I am shooting objects at my feet. You can lock the zoom at 18mm. This is a new feature with the 18-200 II.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Location : 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is present but not that bad. the zoom lock locks the lens only in the 18mm position.
Jun 5, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the Nikon D40?

May 30, 2014 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
RT
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is compatible with the D40. For more information on choosing lenses for the D40 please visit: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an... .
May 30, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is
May 30, 2014 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Fully compatible.
May 30, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

is this lens comnpatible with the AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II or any other Teleconverter?

Apr 26, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
juan
argentina
Location : 
argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I wouldn't recommend tele-converters (extenders) due to them interfering with the designed engineering. If you need a longer focal length, grab another lens. Nikon does sell a Tele-Converter but its not that far priced from a much better solution of a longer focal length.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No its not compatable.
Apr 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers