Loading

Versatile, high-power 11x zoom with Vibration Reduction (VR II)

If you want just one lens to cover life’s many shooting opportunities, this may be the lens. Its powerful 11x zoom goes from wide-angle (18mm)—great for group shots, landscapes and more—to telephoto (200mm)—great for portraits and bringing the action close. Its equipped with Nikon’s advanced Vibration Reduction (VR II) for remarkable image clarity even when handheld shooting or in demanding lighting situations. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is a powerful, versatile photo and video partner.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
IF Lens
Silent Wave Motor
M/A
Vibration Reduction

Any subject. Anywhere.

Remarkable 11x zoom versatility

The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is an ideal one-lens solution for DX-format D-SLRs. Its powerful 11x zoom means you can capture just about any shot you encounter or imagine. From breathtaking wide-angle cityscapes and landscapes to action-stopping close-ups, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is adept in a huge range of shooting situations. It is a truly exceptional staple for any photographer’s camera bag.

Exceptional performance

Nikon technology for better shots

What’s versatility without quality? The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is as powerful as it is versatile. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements maximizes optical performance while minimizing chromatic aberration. Nikon’s Super Integrated Coating (SIC) enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare, and its exclusive Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables fast, accurate and ultra-quiet focusing.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: DX-format lenses are attached to a DX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II 4.4 5 340 341
Sweet Lens I love this lens... This is The lens that stays on my camera. I have and use several others however for those, have to get it now moments, you just can't go wrong. It has good control of depth of field and focus is very fast and quiet. I only have one complaint and it is small. If you are working in a lens down situation the lens can creep on you. However I have few that won't! Enjoy!! July 30, 2010
The Only Lens I Need Although I've only had this lens for a couple of weeks, I have probably taken close to three hundred pictures with it. I am very pleased with the overall quality and the perrformance of this lens. For me it will probably be the only lens I'll ever need on my D90. I would recommend this lens to anyone who is looking for a one lens solution for their needs. July 30, 2010
Good lens, but not outstanding I bought this lens shortly after it was put in the market. Reviews praised its image quality, but to my disappointment, I wasn't impressed at all. After several test shots, I also learned that very noticeable vignetting occurs with zoom fully extended (tele mode). I wasn't expecting that from an $800 plus lens. Overall, it is a very practical lens since you don't need to carry around any other lens. It covers pretty much all of my needs, and the VR is very helpful in low light situations. July 30, 2010
Outstanding tourist lens I bought my D60 in the summer of 2008 just before we went on a month-long tour of the west. It came with the kit zoom lens and a 55-200mm zoom. Four days into the trip and after struggling with changing lenses and being caught in places with the wrong lens, I broke down and bought the 18-200mm zoom. What a difference. I now have the correct lens almost all the time. I don't know if a pro would be satisfied with it, but for tourism, it can't be beat. The pictures I get are beautiful. July 30, 2010
Great lens for most situations After nearly three years using this lens on a D300 body, it rarely disappoints. Fast, versatile, easy to adjust, light enough to go most places. The only times I use different lenses are in low lighting situations in which I can't (or don't want to) use a flash or occasionally when I want to shoot specific shots with a prime lens. This is the lens that is on the camera at least 90% of the time. A great choice for my purposes (varied situations on trips). July 30, 2010
Great lens This is my fifth NIKKOR lens for a DSLR format. It has replaced the need of two other lens, the 18-55 na my 55-200. IMHO it is superior to either lens alone or combined, producing even a better picture. It has become my "go to" lens for many different functions. Well built and solid in my hands. Quiet and versatile. Great lens! July 30, 2010
Great product! I've owned this lens for three years and use it most often on a D200 body. In the past, I used at least two lenses for covering events and shooting feature bikes for motorcycle magazines. Now, I use the 18-200 exclusively and have published hundreds of images captured with it. It has never let me down and is vastly more convenient and comfortable to work with than the f2.8 70-200 AF-S Auto-Nikkor I used before. I was concerned that a loss of bokeh would detract from some shots, but haven't found that to be true. Great lens, great price. July 30, 2010
Great flexibility With multiple lenses available, this is the one that seems to stay on the camera. It has great flexibility in terms of zooming to frame all kinds of shooting... landscape to babies... Performance is also excellent. The downsides are: 1. a bit bulky particularly when travelling. 2. The tendency for the lens to extend when pointed down. July 30, 2010
Great Glass Fabulous multi-purpose lens. I use it for portraits, landscapes, macro, sprots, etc. with excellent results. July 30, 2010
Good Lens but some drawbacks The lens does take crisp clear pictures. The only two issues are 1) It's heavy. I have a Nikon D80, and the camera, lens, and flash weigh almost 5 pounds. 2) When zooming in anywhere other than brightly lit outdoors, the aperature range limitations seem to make all pictures pretty dark. An optional flash is almost always required. July 30, 2010
Great multi-purpose lens for travel I read many professional reviews of this lens but the one by a friend who bought and used this lens traveling in Egypt convinced me to try it. Well, as I was told, it is a marvelous lens with unending capabilities. Although one can argue that no zoom can match a fixed focal length lens, the 18-200 does a remarkable job of providing a full range of capabilities in a tight, easy to handle body. I can walk along a path, record the image of a flower up-close and personal and then fully extend to capture a telephoto shot of family. I have used this lens for casual portrait work and for all-purpose photography. It is a lot of lens capability with brilliant optics in one body. This lens is well worth the investment; it will be a work-horse lens in your arsenal. July 30, 2010
I love the lens, but I did have an issue on trip I have had this lens for about a year. After a lot of deliberation and looking at a number of reviews of lenses (on Ken Rockwell and Thom Hogan) I decided that rather than carry 3 lenses, I should just get one that has most of the practical range that I want. I did not want to be changing lenses while I was traveling. This lens is used on a D90 body. I recently went on a 10 day trip through Zion, Bryce, Monument Valley, Capitol Reef, Antelope Canyon etc. Took about 2000 photos. The quality of the pictures is excellent, and the camera and lens combination worked really well. I only noticed one potential problem - I am not sure it is the camera or the lens. When the lens is set to infinity and I tried to take a picture of a distant scene (where the lens would focus on infinity), the auto focus would not lock and allow me to take the picture. This was very annoying. I had to physically move the lens barrel to some other setting, and then it would zoom and lock. This happened many times, and I need to talk with Nikon to see what the problem might be. July 30, 2010
A great all around lens. I have owned mine for nearly 2 years and it stays on my D300 85% of the time. To me a camera-lens is a means to an end, to aid me practice residential design and to record my family, travels and work. To me the 18-200 is a fine compromise , a high compliment. I do not want to carry multiple lenses and whereas there are better individual lenses none come close to the 18-200 for my main purposes. It is excellent for my needs, I use a 12-24 for wide shots. July 30, 2010
Easy to shoot but poor results I photograph Graduating Seniors and this lens in NOT sharp. It does not meet my standards, I sold it. July 30, 2010
great one lens solution but don't bend over :) We have been very happy with this lens. The only downside is that it does not stay in place when you let the camera angle go vertical. The lens zooms out very quickly and will hit whatever is in its way. Be very careful. I thought Nikon had discontinued this lens because of this issue, Its easy to make a very expensive mistake. July 30, 2010
Enjoying the experience with my new lens Have taken thousands of photos with the 18-200 really have enjoyed it and am well pleased. Have not done much out door and landscape yet but looking forward to that experience and expecting the same type results. Using the lens on Nikon D90. Wonderful combination, and now don't have to change lens often, oh happy day! July 30, 2010
The one lens to have If you only had one lens, this is the one to have. I have 5 others but this gets used the most. Pair it with the DX 10-24 and you've got an excellent compact travel kit. It's not perfect, with some pincusion distortion at wide angle, but not that objectionable unless you are doing critical architecural photography. It's also not super fast, but the VR helps. A true jack-of-all-trades. July 30, 2010
great all-around lens The zoom range is so wide that this lens can serve as an all-purpose lens. It is very light and easy to use. The only caveats are that it is rather slow, making it difficult to limit depth of field when shallow depth is desired, and it has significant barrel distortion when shooting very close at the widest settings. Fortunately, Photoshop CS5's Camera Raw can largely correct this. I like the lens so much that I have never removed it from my D200. July 30, 2010
Good daily lens to keep on body For the most part working with this lens has been great. It has a very good range that causes one to simply leave it on the camera (in my case a D90) and just shoot away. The only downside to the lens seems to be that it now already "creeps"; i.e., when shooting something below you, the telephoto slowly extends, something that makes shooting from high points very frustrating. As the lens is only 8 months old, I am thinking of returning it for repair. July 30, 2010
Great all around lens. I was torn between buying the 50-200mm lens to compliment the 18-55mm lens which came with the camera, or the 18-200mm. I decided on the 18-200 as I now do not have to change between two lenses when i want close-ups. It is a great lens for a great Nikon camera. Takes excellent photos, though poor in low light and a little pricey for a standard zoom. July 30, 2010
The Ultimate Single-Lens Solution Everyone raves about this lens and for good reason. It is the ultimate single-lens solution. If you can only carry one lens and you need to cover a wide range of subjects, having a 35mm eq. of 27 to 300 in one lens is just amazing. However, there are two reasons why I don't give the lens 5 stars. First, my version (original) of the lens creeps. This makes using a neck strap difficult because with just modest bouncing the lens extends. When fully extended, it is unwieldy. Where I used to have this lens on the camera by default, now I pull it out only when I need the reach. I am told there is less creep with the newest version and, of course, there is a lock. Second, I think the open end of the f-stop range is misleading. By the time the lens is zoomed to 35-45mm, the smallest f-stop is nearly 4.5. This is not uncommon among long zooms but it does mean relying on VR to buy f-stops in the low-middle portion of the range. Having used this lens extensively, I think my style of shooting will be better served with the great f1.8 35mm "normal" lens plus the excellent 55-200mm VR lens for the reach when I need it. 90% of my shooting is in the normal range anyway. This two-lens combo is much cheaper than the single 18-200, something to consider. I have really enjoyed using the 18-200 and have no problem recommending it, subject to my caveats. July 30, 2010
Excellent lens I have been using this lens for last four months. excellent. love the VRII feature. I am using it on a D70 and can't believe how good my pictures have become on the same camera body. July 30, 2010
best one zoom travel lens well...don't expect this to be a sharp lens at 200mm and f/3.5...but i really enjoy it when I can only carry one lens with me....price is a bit high... July 30, 2010
An excellent lens overall. I purchased the 18-200 with a D300S body and the combination is great. The lens produces very sharp images across most of the focal range. On the D300S, the lens focuses almost instantantiously. I have used the lens for travel - to Peru and Spain and it has consistently produced excellent results. It feels very comfortable on the D300S - provides a nice balance for a relatively heavy camera. I would highly recommend this lens. July 30, 2010
Great lens I've owned this lens for over two years and use it on a Nikon D200 body.I've used this for thousands of images and find it to be the perfect lens for my photography. It offers sharp, clear photos and is compact, relatively light weight and rugged. The 18-200mm balances nicely on the D200 and is comfortable to carry. One problem I have is the rubber zoom ring on my two lens have come loose and after time will come off the lens. July 30, 2010
Absolutely love this lens for it's versatility! I bought the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 11 lens along with my D80 Nikon DSLR specifically for taking cruise and adventure travel pictures. The best part is not having to change lenses all the time and worrying about getting dust and salt spray inside the camera body. I get lots of comments on it from onlookers who can't believe how easy it is to use and the range. The one thing I still haven't figured out, is how to adjust and overcome that the lens is overly sensitive to reflections from bright sunlight, a clear blue sky, asphalt on the road, etc. I always get the overexposure warning and the image ends up washed out in most of my pics. I have tried adjusting the white balance and other setting, without any luck. I always have to make adjustments to the pics with software afterwards, but with little luck due to the overexposure and lack of detail as a result. I am thinking it is just user error based on settings I am using. I wish I knew a resource to help me overcome this minor inconvenience. Otherwise the lens is perfect for all my travel and hobby pics around the house. It is without a doubt worth the extra $$ invested. I recommend it to anyone looking for one lens that can capture just about any great moment with relative ease. July 30, 2010
A great lens This is one of the most versatile Nikkor lenses. It's a thing of beauty. The 18-200 range is common for my shooting style. Now I can do it without a lens change. The VR feature is like buying added fstop when shooting telephoto in low light. July 30, 2010
If you lucky... Unfortunately my copy of the lens performed worse than 18-135 Nikkor that I previously owned. For the open aperture for almost all focal distances it is sharp only about 1/2 of the image - in the center and get quickly out of focus toward the edges. I send for repair right after 1-st week of use - they did inspection cleaning and found nothing wrong - I suspect they even did not open the lens - but after that lens performed normally for a month - than this started again - I care of lens and did not drop or so - so I am suggested never buy this type of product online - you can be surprised - better go in shop and selected and tested with you own methods. I am unhappy with my purchase overall. I used it with D80. July 30, 2010
Great features at a reasonable cost. I really like this lens. It's fast enough to catch my grandchildren but slow enough to catch a bird at one of my feeders in the back yard. I really like the "anti-shake" feature offered by this lens since as I get older (57) my hands are less steady than they used to be. This was the primary reason I got rid of my old 35 mm. slr's and went with a Nikon D5000 with the VR feature in the lens. This lens even is improved upon thus the VRII rating. You won't be sorry once you go with this lens. July 30, 2010
Nikkor 18-200 VR II In my D300 this lens is quite versatile with its wide range, However I found that it is not as sharp as my previous 18-200 VR and I was quite disappointed with the lens lock in that it locked in only one position. I cannot understand why Nikon cannot produce this lens without the creep, my 70-300 VR never creeps. Overall I would not recommend this new18-200 because of the lens creep problem. It also has the problem of the lens hood easily falling off when slightly bumped. My 70-300 does not. July 30, 2010
Page: 9 10 11 12 13
<<prev | next>>
72 Questions | 122 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
72 Questions | 122 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
11 Answers

Is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II weather & dust sealed ??

Apr 13, 2011 by
-1point
6out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful7
I'm planning to buy an D7000 with is obviously weather sealed and my choice lens AF-S DX NIKKOR
18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II along the body so i was wondering is this lens weather sealed so that i can do some photography while its raining ??

Thank you
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Animesh
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
11 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I highly recommend that you do not use the camera in the rain unless you use some kind of protection. A light shower won't get into the lens or camera but it is not waterproof. When I feel compelled to take photos in the rain I cut a hole in a large baggie and protect the camera. Overall I find my rainy day photos are pretty awful anyway what with rain drops on the lens filter so I avoid using my Nikon in the rain.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Biker
Hanwell NB

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
As a great fan of this lens, I recommend it highly and have used it in light rainy situations, BUT I try to protect it, in such situations, by placing a piece of "Saran Wrap" over the lens barrel. Camera bodies and lenses were not built to withstand heavy and/or sustained downpours.

Hurbee 04/16/11
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Hurbee
Bryn Mawr, PA

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
Absolutely not. I have has terrible problems with this lens even in the driest conditions. I would certainly not recommend this lens in wet weather. It will fail on you as it is extremely cheaply made.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've used it in dusty and rainy conditions without any ill effects. I wouldn't use it if it's pouring really hard, however. It's always good to carry your camera in a "holster" or some kind of protective containment so you can put it away if you get caught in a rainstorm.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
shawn
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Location : 
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
NOT waterproof - camera and lens must be covered in heavy rain.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
No it is not! Do not use it in very dusty environments. It's OK in rain provided you keep it dry or at least wipe the rain off before zooming it to the 18mm end. I got dust in my old version in the Sahara but then the sand there is so fine it gets into everything. It didn't cause any problems though with image quality so not much got in. If you are shooting in the rain then the biggest problem is keeping the lens raindrop free. Try using a lens hood as a rain shield and a plastic bag over the lens itself will keep the lens dry. It really isn't a problem. I use my D90 in the rain fairly often but not heavy rain because you can't keep the lens dry. An umbrella helps a lot in the rain.

BTW the D7000 is a wonderful camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used my 18-200 in all kinds of weather with great results. Had one on a D-200 for almost 5 years and never had to clean the interior or the sensor of the camera
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
it is no more weather sealed than any other lens. You might try one of those camera lens raincoats by manufacturers like Think Tank or others, or buy a small fold-up umbrella, and put the handle in your shirt's front top pocket.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
mephoto
West Palm Beach, FL
Location : 
West Palm Beach, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I do not believe the lens is weather sealed; I would not take it out in the rain; my husband and I both have one and we usually keep our camera and lens in a large plastic ziplock bag if there is rainy weather.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Flygirl
Overland Park, KS
Location : 
Overland Park, KS
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Because the lens barrel changes in length when zooming/focussing, the lens body acts as a pump, drawing in and expelling air and I presume moisture. I would therefore look for a lens with internal zoom/focus, or use some sort of rain protection (or underwater housing) to keep water at bay.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Donald
Durban, South Africa
Location : 
Durban, South Africa
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No its not weather sealed.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
8 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D50?

Apr 12, 2011 by
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
GK
Denver, CO
Location : 
Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
8 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a friend with the D50 and he has used my 18-200 without any problems.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Why not. If you are not sure, take your D50 to acamera store and try it.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is and it will be very good on the D50.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe it is but not positive. Contact Nikon USA for confirmation.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I did answer this but maybe it did not go.....I used it on my D50 for years
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I used this lens on my D50 until I replaced the camera with another newer model
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II good for portrait ?

Apr 21, 2011 by
-1point
2out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
i have d3100
plz tell which is the best lens for portrait
im thinking about get nikkor 18-200
but need to know from any other lens is good for portrait
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
mody
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Wide angle lenses are best for capturing large amounts of areas. This comes at a small sacrifice of not having as much detail when you enlarge the photo. If your looking for a portrait lens, being head and shoulders, purchase a prime lens such as the 60mm 2.8G ED lens. It's very reasonably priced and will exceed your expectations..
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you want to get autofocus get the AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G

If you don't care in manual focus and want the BEST portrait lens ever done in any time and in any brand go and get AF DC-NIKKOR 135mm f/2D

But viewing the high price of the commented lens from above and considering you have a D3100 I think your best choice is AF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8G ED a FANTASTIC portrait lens.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I own an 18-200 VR II and need to ask some questions to help you in your decision process...

- Are you going to primarily do portraits or do you need a lens that does great portraits and supports other types of photography as well (e.g., action, sports, wild life)?

- Is weight a consideration? Are you OK with a 1+ lb lens or do you need something that is lighter or convenient for traveling?

- How far away will you be shooting these portraits and is that distance consistent?

- What other lenses do you own?
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Izzy
Dallas, TX
Location : 
Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
gold standard LENS FOR PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY=
"AF S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4 D lens"... NO WORDS MORE>>
JUST PURCHASE THIS workhorse.....
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
SunilS

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
it wont be quick but will do the job well - its a ggreat all round lens
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

Clicking Sound with VR

May 5, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
I have bought this lens 2 weeks ago for my D80. (the new Generation ED II VRII (with the 18 lock switch).
With the VR ON: Besides the Autofocus motor sound, there is a much louder Clicking sound (when moving the camera and the shutter half pressed), 3 times louder than the autofocus sound.
With the VR OFF, no clicking sound.
I suspect the VR motors (engaging/disengaging), but is it normally that loud? this is my first VR lens
Thanks
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your VR should be very silent. I recommend you submitting the lens to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't think it's loud at all. It's standard sound, I think. Unless you're trying to video something with it or next to it, it's quite a minor sound.
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is, it's the sound of clutches that activate the VR
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes thats quite normal, its the VR starting and stopping.
May 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D5100?

Apr 27, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5100.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this lens compatible with the d3000?

Apr 28, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Leadknife
trinidad
Location : 
trinidad
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
...and it's a great all-around lens. :)
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this compatible with the d5000?

Apr 30, 2011 by
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
momi
hawaii
Location : 
hawaii
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What is the status on lense creep with this model historically notorious for this?

Jun 3, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
lens creep when going up or down with the camera
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have this lens and it creeps like crazy. If I point it toward the ground, it creeps from minimum length to 200mm in less than 2 seconds. The lens is less than a year old and in the shop to fix.
Jul 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont have much problem with this even when I am shooting objects at my feet. You can lock the zoom at 18mm. This is a new feature with the 18-200 II.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Location : 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is present but not that bad. the zoom lock locks the lens only in the 18mm position.
Jun 5, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the Nikon D40?

May 30, 2014 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
RT
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is compatible with the D40. For more information on choosing lenses for the D40 please visit: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an... .
May 30, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is
May 30, 2014 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Fully compatible.
May 30, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

is this lens comnpatible with the AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II or any other Teleconverter?

Apr 26, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
juan
argentina
Location : 
argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I wouldn't recommend tele-converters (extenders) due to them interfering with the designed engineering. If you need a longer focal length, grab another lens. Nikon does sell a Tele-Converter but its not that far priced from a much better solution of a longer focal length.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No its not compatable.
Apr 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers