Loading

Versatile, high-power 11x zoom with Vibration Reduction (VR II)

If you want just one lens to cover life’s many shooting opportunities, this may be the lens. Its powerful 11x zoom goes from wide-angle (18mm)—great for group shots, landscapes and more—to telephoto (200mm)—great for portraits and bringing the action close. Its equipped with Nikon’s advanced Vibration Reduction (VR II) for remarkable image clarity even when handheld shooting or in demanding lighting situations. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is a powerful, versatile photo and video partner.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
IF Lens
Silent Wave Motor
M/A
Vibration Reduction

Any subject. Anywhere.

Remarkable 11x zoom versatility

The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is an ideal one-lens solution for DX-format D-SLRs. Its powerful 11x zoom means you can capture just about any shot you encounter or imagine. From breathtaking wide-angle cityscapes and landscapes to action-stopping close-ups, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is adept in a huge range of shooting situations. It is a truly exceptional staple for any photographer’s camera bag.

Exceptional performance

Nikon technology for better shots

What’s versatility without quality? The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is as powerful as it is versatile. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements maximizes optical performance while minimizing chromatic aberration. Nikon’s Super Integrated Coating (SIC) enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare, and its exclusive Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables fast, accurate and ultra-quiet focusing.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: DX-format lenses are attached to a DX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II 4.4 5 339 340
Good all around lens but, This lens performs well in most situations. I was a little disappointed with the resolution at its longer focal lengths. July 30, 2010
I truly enjoy this lens. I purchased this lens to help avoid switching lens in the field. This lens does a great job through the range intended. The image stabilizing feature was a main concern as well. All in all I do enjoy this lens. July 30, 2010
Versatile Lens I really appreciate the versatility of this lens. The wide zoom to telephoto makes it perfect for shooting architecture to portraits to close-up product shots and everything in between. The only drawbacks I've experienced are when shooting with the flip-up flash on my D300s the lens seems to block some of the light and make a shadow on the bottom of the foreground subject. Also, I wish the zoom lock worked at every setting instead of just the 18mm. It would be helpful for doing overhead shots that you want the exact same focal length for. July 30, 2010
Awesome!! The best there is to offer in my opinion. This has been my "Go-To" lens for two years! It is by far the most convenient and versatile. I have it as a permanent fixture on my D300. I have seen this used on he smallest camera body to the largest. (Wouldn't attempt this range without Vibration Reduction!!) Highly recommend you get this as your initial lens. Will easily take you through the learning curve from beginner to expert. July 30, 2010
Great Features and All Around Useability I bought this lens along with my D300 on the advice of a friend(He bought his at the same time). Everything I expected from this lens has been realized and more. I know that it is not overly fast, but it is sharp with great color control. It is the lens I use most of the time and I would not hesitate to reccomend it to anyone looking for a great All Purpose Lens. July 30, 2010
Excellent & Versatile Lens I have two of the 18-200mm Nikkor lens (one for my Nikon D40 and one for my Nikon D300s. It is a very high quality lens with no distortion. If you are only going to have one lens in your kit, I strongly recommend this one. July 30, 2010
Completely agree with first review Since my D80 was stolen, I bought a D90 with this lens as the D90 kit lens was 18-105 only. I was concerned about the weight but that is not a problem as the first review indicates. The best thing about my D90 package is the 18-200 lens and the VR II capability. Taking pictures in very low light has never been so easy. My only complaint is that the hood does not fit tight and is always falling off. I hate to even use the hood. July 30, 2010
Simple solution for a variety of problems I like this lens when I know I'll want to shoot near and far and will not have time to change lenses or will not be able to carry multiple lenses. I've been surprised at the consistently good quality of the images, and pleased to have a few pros compliment me on them. Also it is nice not to worry about accumulating trail dust on the sensor while changing lenses. July 30, 2010
Lots of "Good News", a little "Bad News" Pros: The best moderately priced travel lens I have ever owned. Great for scenic images and “candid” shots requiring the long reach and VR. At an higher ISO with no flash, hand held in a dark church yields good images. Cons: In Europe last year, the Automatic Focus failed. It was repaired by an Authorized Nikon shop and I paid the to and from freight. This year in Europe, same thing happened forcing me to use my Canon P&S but the lens recovered after several days. July 30, 2010
Great general purpose lens I wanted a wide focal /general use hand held lens and this is it. The only time I have a blurry shot is due to operator error. Take great action shots and has great focus on moving people and objects. Very quick and smooth to use. Size is very comfortable and the weight is about the same as the 18-70 lens that came with the camera. The camera/lens is about the same size as the original and fits in the same case on the camera. July 30, 2010
great all around lens for everyday shooting I first started using my kit lens but found it a hassle to keep changing between the 18-55mm and the 70-200 mm lens for shooting all around. When I heard about the 18-200 mm len, I knew I had to get it and have no regrets. I never have to change lens now, and with the VR, my shots are even clearer without as much ruined shots due to my unsteady hands. I can get shots both near and far with the lens and not worry about missing a close up shot due to having the 70-200 lens in place. I would recommend this lens to anybody that does alot of shooting for general photography. It is just too handy to miss out on. The VEII lens doesn't offer much more benefit expect cost and locking the lens due to migration. I haven't found it necessary yet. The only down side it that it is heavier and bulky, which you have to accept with the convenience trade-off. Oh yes, you should always have the filter lens in place and too bad that Nikon just doesn't include it on a routine state. July 30, 2010
Super versatile lens !!! Use this lens every day for work and personal craft and I'm very pleased with its results. Aspherical flaws can easily be corrected during CS5 processing, so this lens saves me from ever needing to carry anything else. July 30, 2010
All I need is this lens I was frustrated with having to switch lenses often, especially when photographing my children. This lens takes beautiful pictures and provides me a lot of versatility. I love not having to carry my camera case with my other lens with me eveywhere. It has made my hectic life a little bit simpler! July 30, 2010
If you can only have one this is THE one. I got this lens when I got my D300. Everything I read lead me to believe this lens would do the lion's share of work in most situations. I've got a fisheye and wide zoom. I have a long zoom. Truth is I hardly ever need to take this lens off my camera. It's up to most tasks and the performance is excellent. Now if there were just some cure for the annoying creep out. I'm just hoping there will be a clone for FX / 35mm so I can jump to a full size sensor and still have my favorite lens. July 30, 2010
A great travel lens it is a 27 to 300mm lens in the DX format, for family vacations or air travel it is the idea lens. It renders great photos across the range, although not professional quality lens it is so close your friends and family will not see the difference. The VR is helpful in hand held shots perhaps two (2) to three (3) stops. It does not balance well at 200mm but is balance at 17mm. It does tend to creep if held down. If you’re going out for the day with no real idea of what you’re going to shoot it’s the idea lens with its large zoom range. You do sacrifice speed for the wide zoom range but in most cases this is an acceptable trade off. I never go to Europe without this lens in my bag; it gives me the wide close up shots and the distance telephoto shots you run into on a daily bases in the old capitals of Europe. July 30, 2010
Amazing all purpose Lens I own two of these, use them with my D300's, for weddings, children, family, vacation, etc. When the light is bright, this lens allows me to not have to change lenses and gives great, sharp images. In low light, it I have to use my faster lenses, but if I could only take one lens, this would be it! July 30, 2010
Almost would not recommend I like the lens except for the zoom creep. Point the camera down and the barrel goes with it. Gravity assisted power zoom is not a good feature. July 30, 2010
Awesome Lens I have an older D40 that came with the 18-55 and purchased the 55-200 soon after. I saved my pennies and got the 18-200 and have never regretted it! I mostly photograph wildlife as a hobby and I missed some great shots because I had to swap out to a different lens to get a closer shot. It is probably the best overall lens you can get. July 30, 2010
I think this lens is mediocre at best. I use it only on Auto and it is slow and I get a lot of blur - even with the VR on. I am not talking about full action shots either (I've given up on getting those!) - just normal shots of people posing, scenery, etc. I really don't think it's me because I've never had this problem with other lenses I've used. Plus a big problem with this lens is that it "creeps" out ALL THE TIME!! I will have it all the way in and have it around my shoulder and before I know it the lens has extended all the way out without me realizing it. For the money this cost I do not recommend it at all. July 30, 2010
This lens creeps to distraction! I am forever distracted by this lens creeping open when i carry it. Is there no way to stop it ? July 30, 2010
This product is great for traveling Takes the plaace of multiple lens so when we travel I only need the one lens to cover everything from wide angle, portrait, and telephoto. Great works well and would highly recomment this lens to anyone that cares about photography. July 30, 2010
Excellent all-in one lens This lens has travelled with me through Asia (including all over China) and Europe, hot and cold, and never fails to produce excellent pictures. The range is amazing, allowing a one-lens solution to travel. On my last trip, its the only lens I took! The only down side is its not a quick lens, so be prepared with a small portable tripod for those night shows (with my D80 at least). Highly recommended! July 30, 2010
Wow...... I bought this lens with my Nikon D80 about 3 years ago and I am really glad I did. I wanted a great lens that would be able to shoot my daughter on the opposite side of the soccer field as well as on the near sideline. This fit the bill. Instead of having to switch lenses to get the right shot for the right moment, this lens does it all. I am planning on buying a 50mm portrait lens for those other indoor pictures, but for everything else, I really haven't found a need to use anything but this. I believe this lens ends up being about 11x zoom, so you can shoot just about anything under the sun....literally. July 30, 2010
Excellent lens ! Just one thing ... I have been using this lens for quite a while now and think it is excellent. Great optics design, Absolute great quality (as all Nikon products) and Great mechanical design overall except for one small detail that I would like to see implemented : After taking some shots I normally retract the lens to the 18mm position. As I walk with the camera hanging from my shoulder, even though the lens stays retracted most of the time, some times it starts "unfolding" up to the 200mm position due to my motion and gravity of course. I think it would be nice if this kind of zoom lenses had a gentle "notch" or "snap" at the 18mm position so to kind of lock the zoom part of the lens, that way the lens would stay in that position while one is walking and moving around with the camera hanging towards the ground. Just an opinion/request. Best regards, July 30, 2010
an excellent and versatile lens with one flaw The lens is an excellent performer. It is one of the best Nikkor lenses that I have had since starting with Nikon products in the 1950s. I have not owned any other brand of cameras or lenses since then. The one flaw is mechanical. The lens creeps.I understand that the weight of the lens contributes to this problem. I have read that a rubber band placed over the zoom selector helps reduce this problem. I have not been able to find a rubber band of the proper width and proper elasticity to accomplish this 'fix'. If Nikon were willing to supply me with such an elastic band, I would be grateful and would even pay shipping costs July 30, 2010
My first Nikon DSLR. Great to own a Nikon again. I have owned Nikon cameras and lens for over 50 years . I am delighted with my first Nikon DSLR which came with a Nikkor 18-55mm zoom. It is a good lens but I needed a wider range, so I added the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II. With this lens on my camera, I am ready to capture most all photo opportunities. July 30, 2010
Great travel lens Original 'VR': Compact, versatile. Required Nikon service for VR failure. July 30, 2010
Excellent Travel Lens The 18-200 is now my one lens for travel. It is mounted to my D200 and is also used for real estate work, family snapshots and all general use. Its 18mm wide angle makes it excellent for close work in confined areas. The lens is very sharp, light, rugged and compact. The VR works very well. The lens hood is a bit fragile, so consider buying a spare. This lens is the best value in the Nikkor line. July 30, 2010
Good lens I'm very happy with it as a do-almost-everything travel lens. July 30, 2010
Sweet Lens I love this lens... This is The lens that stays on my camera. I have and use several others however for those, have to get it now moments, you just can't go wrong. It has good control of depth of field and focus is very fast and quiet. I only have one complaint and it is small. If you are working in a lens down situation the lens can creep on you. However I have few that won't! Enjoy!! July 30, 2010
Page: 9 10 11 12 13
<<prev | next>>
65 Questions | 110 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
65 Questions | 110 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
11 Answers

Is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II weather & dust sealed ??

Apr 13, 2011 by
0points
6out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful6
I'm planning to buy an D7000 with is obviously weather sealed and my choice lens AF-S DX NIKKOR
18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II along the body so i was wondering is this lens weather sealed so that i can do some photography while its raining ??

Thank you
3 years ago
by
Animesh
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
11 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I highly recommend that you do not use the camera in the rain unless you use some kind of protection. A light shower won't get into the lens or camera but it is not waterproof. When I feel compelled to take photos in the rain I cut a hole in a large baggie and protect the camera. Overall I find my rainy day photos are pretty awful anyway what with rain drops on the lens filter so I avoid using my Nikon in the rain.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Biker
Hanwell NB

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
As a great fan of this lens, I recommend it highly and have used it in light rainy situations, BUT I try to protect it, in such situations, by placing a piece of "Saran Wrap" over the lens barrel. Camera bodies and lenses were not built to withstand heavy and/or sustained downpours.

Hurbee 04/16/11
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Hurbee
Bryn Mawr, PA

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
Absolutely not. I have has terrible problems with this lens even in the driest conditions. I would certainly not recommend this lens in wet weather. It will fail on you as it is extremely cheaply made.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've used it in dusty and rainy conditions without any ill effects. I wouldn't use it if it's pouring really hard, however. It's always good to carry your camera in a "holster" or some kind of protective containment so you can put it away if you get caught in a rainstorm.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
shawn
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Location : 
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
NOT waterproof - camera and lens must be covered in heavy rain.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
No it is not! Do not use it in very dusty environments. It's OK in rain provided you keep it dry or at least wipe the rain off before zooming it to the 18mm end. I got dust in my old version in the Sahara but then the sand there is so fine it gets into everything. It didn't cause any problems though with image quality so not much got in. If you are shooting in the rain then the biggest problem is keeping the lens raindrop free. Try using a lens hood as a rain shield and a plastic bag over the lens itself will keep the lens dry. It really isn't a problem. I use my D90 in the rain fairly often but not heavy rain because you can't keep the lens dry. An umbrella helps a lot in the rain.

BTW the D7000 is a wonderful camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used my 18-200 in all kinds of weather with great results. Had one on a D-200 for almost 5 years and never had to clean the interior or the sensor of the camera
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
it is no more weather sealed than any other lens. You might try one of those camera lens raincoats by manufacturers like Think Tank or others, or buy a small fold-up umbrella, and put the handle in your shirt's front top pocket.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
mephoto
West Palm Beach, FL
Location : 
West Palm Beach, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I do not believe the lens is weather sealed; I would not take it out in the rain; my husband and I both have one and we usually keep our camera and lens in a large plastic ziplock bag if there is rainy weather.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Flygirl
Overland Park, KS
Location : 
Overland Park, KS
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Because the lens barrel changes in length when zooming/focussing, the lens body acts as a pump, drawing in and expelling air and I presume moisture. I would therefore look for a lens with internal zoom/focus, or use some sort of rain protection (or underwater housing) to keep water at bay.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Donald
Durban, South Africa
Location : 
Durban, South Africa
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No its not weather sealed.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
8 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D50?

Apr 12, 2011 by
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
GK
Denver, CO
Location : 
Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
8 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a friend with the D50 and he has used my 18-200 without any problems.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Why not. If you are not sure, take your D50 to acamera store and try it.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is and it will be very good on the D50.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe it is but not positive. Contact Nikon USA for confirmation.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I did answer this but maybe it did not go.....I used it on my D50 for years
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I used this lens on my D50 until I replaced the camera with another newer model
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II good for portrait ?

Apr 21, 2011 by
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
i have d3100
plz tell which is the best lens for portrait
im thinking about get nikkor 18-200
but need to know from any other lens is good for portrait
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
mody
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Wide angle lenses are best for capturing large amounts of areas. This comes at a small sacrifice of not having as much detail when you enlarge the photo. If your looking for a portrait lens, being head and shoulders, purchase a prime lens such as the 60mm 2.8G ED lens. It's very reasonably priced and will exceed your expectations..
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you want to get autofocus get the AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G

If you don't care in manual focus and want the BEST portrait lens ever done in any time and in any brand go and get AF DC-NIKKOR 135mm f/2D

But viewing the high price of the commented lens from above and considering you have a D3100 I think your best choice is AF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8G ED a FANTASTIC portrait lens.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I own an 18-200 VR II and need to ask some questions to help you in your decision process...

- Are you going to primarily do portraits or do you need a lens that does great portraits and supports other types of photography as well (e.g., action, sports, wild life)?

- Is weight a consideration? Are you OK with a 1+ lb lens or do you need something that is lighter or convenient for traveling?

- How far away will you be shooting these portraits and is that distance consistent?

- What other lenses do you own?
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Izzy
Dallas, TX
Location : 
Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
gold standard LENS FOR PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY=
"AF S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4 D lens"... NO WORDS MORE>>
JUST PURCHASE THIS workhorse.....
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
SunilS

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
it wont be quick but will do the job well - its a ggreat all round lens
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

Clicking Sound with VR

May 5, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
I have bought this lens 2 weeks ago for my D80. (the new Generation ED II VRII (with the 18 lock switch).
With the VR ON: Besides the Autofocus motor sound, there is a much louder Clicking sound (when moving the camera and the shutter half pressed), 3 times louder than the autofocus sound.
With the VR OFF, no clicking sound.
I suspect the VR motors (engaging/disengaging), but is it normally that loud? this is my first VR lens
Thanks
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your VR should be very silent. I recommend you submitting the lens to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't think it's loud at all. It's standard sound, I think. Unless you're trying to video something with it or next to it, it's quite a minor sound.
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is, it's the sound of clutches that activate the VR
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes thats quite normal, its the VR starting and stopping.
May 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D5100?

Apr 27, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5100.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this lens compatible with the d3000?

Apr 28, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Leadknife
trinidad
Location : 
trinidad
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
...and it's a great all-around lens. :)
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this compatible with the d5000?

Apr 30, 2011 by
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
momi
hawaii
Location : 
hawaii
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What is the status on lense creep with this model historically notorious for this?

Jun 3, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
lens creep when going up or down with the camera
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have this lens and it creeps like crazy. If I point it toward the ground, it creeps from minimum length to 200mm in less than 2 seconds. The lens is less than a year old and in the shop to fix.
Jul 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont have much problem with this even when I am shooting objects at my feet. You can lock the zoom at 18mm. This is a new feature with the 18-200 II.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Location : 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is present but not that bad. the zoom lock locks the lens only in the 18mm position.
Jun 5, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

is this lens comnpatible with the AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II or any other Teleconverter?

Apr 26, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
juan
argentina
Location : 
argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I wouldn't recommend tele-converters (extenders) due to them interfering with the designed engineering. If you need a longer focal length, grab another lens. Nikon does sell a Tele-Converter but its not that far priced from a much better solution of a longer focal length.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No its not compatable.
Apr 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Is the lens compatible with a Nikon tele-extender?

May 26, 2011 by
by
Kountry Road
Parrish, FL
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am consideering purchasing this lens as a replacement to another brand that is not VR.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Kountry Road
Parrish, FL
Location : 
Parrish, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I wouldn't recommend tele-converters (extenders) due to them interfering with the designed engineering. If you need a longer focal length, grab another lens. Nikon does sell a Tele-Converter but its not that far priced from a much better solution of a longer focal length like the 70-300mm VR AF-S lens.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
This lens is not compatible with any of our current teleconverters.
May 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers