Loading
;

Versatile, high-power 11x zoom with Vibration Reduction (VR II)

If you want just one lens to cover life’s many shooting opportunities, this may be the lens. Its powerful 11x zoom goes from wide-angle (18mm)—great for group shots, landscapes and more—to telephoto (200mm)—great for portraits and bringing the action close. Its equipped with Nikon’s advanced Vibration Reduction (VR II) for remarkable image clarity even when handheld shooting or in demanding lighting situations. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is a powerful, versatile photo and video partner.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
IF Lens
Silent Wave Motor
M/A
Vibration Reduction

Any subject. Anywhere.

Remarkable 11x zoom versatility

The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is an ideal one-lens solution for DX-format D-SLRs. Its powerful 11x zoom means you can capture just about any shot you encounter or imagine. From breathtaking wide-angle cityscapes and landscapes to action-stopping close-ups, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is adept in a huge range of shooting situations. It is a truly exceptional staple for any photographer’s camera bag.

Exceptional performance

Nikon technology for better shots

What’s versatility without quality? The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is as powerful as it is versatile. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements maximizes optical performance while minimizing chromatic aberration. Nikon’s Super Integrated Coating (SIC) enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare, and its exclusive Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables fast, accurate and ultra-quiet focusing.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: DX-format lenses are attached to a DX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II 4.4 5 339 340
For most applications, the only lens I need. Prior to obtaining the AF-S DX Nikkor 18--200 f/3.5=5.6G ED VR II, I used Nikkor 18-70mm and 70-300mm lenses and a Nikkor 60mm lens. The 18-200mm lens effectively replaces all of those lenses except for 1:1 macro work. August 1, 2010
Great Lens - full of features! I bought this lens with my D90 on a recommendation from a professional! It has been great! No hassles or any problems, quality is exceptional and it works great as an all around everyday lens. August 1, 2010
Great single lens to have If you only want to carry around one general purpose lens then this lens is great. It takes good pictures in low light situations August 1, 2010
this product is exactly what i wanted this product is easy to use ,and have great results. August 1, 2010
All-Purpose This was purchased as an all-purpose lens for my D-90. From the reviews I read this is not the best in its class at anything, but it is second-best at almost everything. In my opinion that is a true statement. Every lens has trade-offs, but with this one those trade-offs are small, especially when compared to the benefits. Any distortion is easily-correctable. It is so convenient to just carry just this lens and a couple of filters. Does a good job with macros, telephotos and wide angle shots. Truly an all-purpose lens. Build quality is solid. I'm glad Nikon decided to use a metal lens mount, as opposed to the flimsy plastic one that comes with the kit lenses. Some day I will be able to afford a lens that performs better in low light situations, but my 18-200 will be my workhorse for a long time. Good job on this one, Nikon! August 1, 2010
A camera bag by itself! Here is a lens for creative people. With it, we let ourselves go with the inspiration of the moment. If your SLR has to be fast, Nikkor 18-200mm will be at its service. It strives to make your life easier: compact, fast, quiet, powerful and stable. It does a lot of things, so, it is not perfect, optically — problems seen in testbeds — but that does not really appear on your travel pictures. Therefore, it is the permanent lens for many Nikon users. But remember, you will not get a unique perspective only by manipulating the zoom... Move too! July 31, 2010
Brillinat This lens does everything Nikon claims it will do. Had this lens just over 18 months and it has never failed to perform under semi-extreme conditions. I am a wilderness warrior and this lens has produced a lot of very fast quickly focused wildlife shots that are nothing short of breathtaking. I have been a Nikon owner for over 40 years and I have never had a moments doubt that I made the wrong choice of camera. July 31, 2010
Versatile lens but zoom doesn't hold when vertical This is an extremely versatile lens that allows me to keep it on my D200 except when I'm shooting macro; I've only had dust on the imaging chip once. It's not an f/2.8 lens, but at ISO 800 it's adequate for the majority of available light situations. It's fragile and has had to be returned under extended warranty twice for repairs of the focusing/zoom mechanism. The zoom will not hold when the camera is pointed vertically or close to vertical: it zooms in or out to the limits of the zoom all by itself. Even after factory repairs to "like-new" condition, it does this. The VR feature works really well with good hand-held shots down to 1/25 sec. It does require low-profile filters to avoid vignetting. That causes its own problems with fastening on a lens cap. Chromatic aberration is very low, with no purple fringing. For a fine-art photographer in the field, it's a perfect combination of small size, low weight and high resolution. I'm basically delighted. July 31, 2010
all in one I love this lens. It never comes off my D40X body. It lets me use the larger filters I already have for my medium format film cameras. July 31, 2010
Good lens overall It's versatile, 18-200 mm covers almost all my needs; however I wish it was at least 18-250, I would give it 5 stars then. It's sharp, AF is fast and quiet, and it's certainly not too heavy and bulky, comfortable enough to use it in travel. Besides, in my experience, it's more reliable than Tamron (which loosing connection to camera once in a while), and optically superior to Sigma, so it's clearly my choice for my travels, although I do use Tamron 18-270 around my neighborhood. And I do appreciate the VR feature. July 31, 2010
I like this versatile lens! I bought a new D-90 in November 2008. I bought this camera to replace the D-70 I gave my daughter. That camera had the 24-120 zoom lens. When I bought the D-90, I moved up to the 18-200 for more versatility. We have enjoyed travelling in the past 5 years and the Nikon lenses have been wonderful. I can take the 18-200 and never change lenses on a trip. People compliment me on my pictures. I plan to take a digital photography course in the next month to fine-tune and improve my skills. The only irritating thing about the lens is its tendency to extend when pointing down and collapse when pointing straight up. I've learned to deal with it and it is OK. July 31, 2010
All in One lens capabilities. Great lens. I was going to purchase a new camera and was trying to decide between a DX or FX format camera. I use my cameras to take reference pictures for my paintings. I am out in the field a lot and try to keep my equipment at a minimum. All of my equipment has been Nikon lens and cameras for years, but to be truthful I was considering changing this year. A friend told me about this lens and I had read positive reviews. So after much deliberation I purchased it along with the D300s. Incredible, the lens is sharp at all ranges. Now I only have to carry one lens and coupled with the D300s it is perfect for what I needed. I have no idea why I even considered straying from Nikon! July 31, 2010
Great lens, even for a beginner! I purchased this lens for the purpose of making it my everyday lens on my D90. I now have it attached to my newly purchased D300s. I couldn't be more pleased with the functionality and the ease of use of the lens. I immediately began obtaining great shots. I frequently photograph Tae Kwon Do tournaments and the range of the lens allows me to discretely photograph the action. This is a lens everyone should have in their gadget bag! July 31, 2010
18-200 i have this lenes for 5 years now and the only promblem i have is that the barrell comes out when you have it on your shoulder and it lose it focus i do have to say that nikon does fix the promblem but after my warrenty im going to have to pay for it which does not make me happy i wrote to nikon the last time i sent it which was a couple of months ago but they fix the lenes but did not answer my question ive been useing nikon products for the past 36 years and im happy with there stuff but now with this promblem im thinking about maybe changing my cameras i thought maybe i was the only photogrpher out there with this promblem but talk to other photogragher that have this lenes and some have the promblem and some dont i hope that nikon reads this and could get back to me thank you joe j July 31, 2010
No lens change needed in sports pictures This lens lets me follow my grandaughter's soccer game across the soccer field, near to far, without changing lenses. A D90 is set to high speed repeat. A speedy class 10 memory card is used to prevent the camera from pausing for memory transfer. If the ball lands near my kid, I hold down my trigger finger and take about dozen pictures. I usually end up with two pictures with the kid, the ball, and nobody blocking the picture. July 31, 2010
fab lens .If one lens to buy for aDX dslr its the one I have used it with my d200 . Its even better with my d700 but it crops the image and looses some telephoto effect. July 31, 2010
One Lens Solution is Right! I bought this lens when when I bought my D80 a couple of years ago. I take it everywhere. I upgraded to a D700 and still use the lens all the time. It's a great walk around lens. Having one great lens makes it easy to pick up the camera and go. July 30, 2010
Excellent! I gave my D80 along with all my old lenses to my daughter after her D40 was stolen. I did that because it gave me the opportunity to get my D90 along with this lens. I have been more than pleased with the whole arrangement and she is too. There is no doubt, your product is the best. I stuck a Tiffen 72mm UV Protector on the front of it and just left it there. Probably doesn't need it, but it takes care of the UV. Can't say enough for all your lenses - they're the best. It's impossible to take a bad picture with this or any of your lenses. You can only do that if you're a bad photographer. I only have the 18 to 200 because it serves all my near and far needs. Thank you! July 30, 2010
love this longish lens I own D5000, sold its kit 18-5mm to buy this very expensive (more then my D5000) lens. But it's the only one I own. I can't stand changing lenses. Can't stand carrying 5 primes even though they bring superior quality. I want to have a lens which does 99% of my photography. This is IT. It does an excellent job. In most situations it's perfect. I've owned it for about 8 month. And only on my Alaska trip and shooting a graduation at a stadium I wished for a higher zoom. On the downside I can't use a doubler with this lens. And I am not (yet) willing to buy 70-300mm or 200-400 July 30, 2010
Very Versatile Lens I use this lens on my D300s as well as a D300. Very versatile for "Portraits" as well as everyday shots. The lens works very well for sports as well. This is an everyday lens for me. July 30, 2010
Excellent pruct. Best lens I have ever owned. No need for carrying several lenses as this lens fits most situations and gives great results. July 30, 2010
excellent lens, but I bought this lens to go with my new D300s. I already had the original -1 version to go with my D200 (which will now be my to go in harms way camera and lens combo). The lens does everything well, and all the upgrades are beneficial and well thought out. My only gripe is that I can't use a teleconverter with it. That would really enhance the portability and capability of this camera/lens combo. July 30, 2010
Disappointing This was the first Nikon lens that I have ever owned, I have been very disappointed with it so far. Between the automatic focus feature breaking shortly after purchasing and the constant irritating lens creeping problem that Nikon says is "normal", it makes me wish I could have a "do over" on my lens selection. I have seen this same lens at camera stores around the country and it didn't creep there. Sounds more like a quality control problem that Nikon refuses to fix. I guess it's all in the luck of the draw that determines if you get a creeper or not. July 30, 2010
Excellent walk-around travel lens This is a lens that's worth buying a camera body just to have an excuse to have the lens. Mounted on my D300s it's easy to carry and versatile. I have been using it for about 3 months and most recently on a trip through the Pacific. I wish it was a faster lens, but it's and awesome compromise between range of focal lengths, compact size, quality of construction and price. on long trips, where you can't carry a full kit of lenses, this is the one to have on any Nikon DX camera body. July 30, 2010
I have had this lens for over a year now and have been very pleased with it. The one thing I would change is the wieght. I would make it lighter. Other than that it works great for close ups an long distance photos as well as responds quickly for sports and action. July 30, 2010
Great Lens Used on my D300S. Only lens I carry. Leave the rest on my backup. Love it.. this and some fast glass gets it all done. July 30, 2010
Excellant all around results on my D-300. Definitely recommend this lens and camera. July 30, 2010
Best lens I have ever owned. An excellent companion with my D300. I used it 90% of the time. It works everywhere. My other two lens are a f1.4 50mm for low light and a 70-300mm for sports events. The single and only drawback is the the tension holding the lenses together is too loose. If the camera is carried pointed down then the lens extents to full telephoto on its own. July 30, 2010
Best all-around travel lens This lens continues to surprise me in sharpness, color, focus speed and size. It's a great travel lens whether by bus tour, train, car or plane even when in motion. I use with my D40, the smallest setup in it's class and ready for action at a moments notice...at 18mm or 200mm. It's only challenge, which is to be expected, is in lower light indoor conditions. The follow-on to the D300s with higher ISO would be best as a companion. I would buy this lens again if I had to. July 30, 2010
Very versitle lens! I use this lens on a D80 body. It is so versitle, it's all I carry. Great close-ups. Pretty darn good zoom. The VR stabilization is quite helpful. Don't cheapie out & get the 18-200 Nikkor that doesn't have this feature. July 30, 2010
Page: 8 9 10 11 12 13
<<prev | next>>
69 Questions | 118 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
69 Questions | 118 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
11 Answers

Is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II weather & dust sealed ??

Apr 13, 2011 by
-1point
6out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful7
I'm planning to buy an D7000 with is obviously weather sealed and my choice lens AF-S DX NIKKOR
18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II along the body so i was wondering is this lens weather sealed so that i can do some photography while its raining ??

Thank you
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Animesh
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
11 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I highly recommend that you do not use the camera in the rain unless you use some kind of protection. A light shower won't get into the lens or camera but it is not waterproof. When I feel compelled to take photos in the rain I cut a hole in a large baggie and protect the camera. Overall I find my rainy day photos are pretty awful anyway what with rain drops on the lens filter so I avoid using my Nikon in the rain.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Biker
Hanwell NB

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
As a great fan of this lens, I recommend it highly and have used it in light rainy situations, BUT I try to protect it, in such situations, by placing a piece of "Saran Wrap" over the lens barrel. Camera bodies and lenses were not built to withstand heavy and/or sustained downpours.

Hurbee 04/16/11
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Hurbee
Bryn Mawr, PA

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
Absolutely not. I have has terrible problems with this lens even in the driest conditions. I would certainly not recommend this lens in wet weather. It will fail on you as it is extremely cheaply made.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've used it in dusty and rainy conditions without any ill effects. I wouldn't use it if it's pouring really hard, however. It's always good to carry your camera in a "holster" or some kind of protective containment so you can put it away if you get caught in a rainstorm.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
shawn
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Location : 
Stamford, CT & Fayston, VT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
NOT waterproof - camera and lens must be covered in heavy rain.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No it is not! Do not use it in very dusty environments. It's OK in rain provided you keep it dry or at least wipe the rain off before zooming it to the 18mm end. I got dust in my old version in the Sahara but then the sand there is so fine it gets into everything. It didn't cause any problems though with image quality so not much got in. If you are shooting in the rain then the biggest problem is keeping the lens raindrop free. Try using a lens hood as a rain shield and a plastic bag over the lens itself will keep the lens dry. It really isn't a problem. I use my D90 in the rain fairly often but not heavy rain because you can't keep the lens dry. An umbrella helps a lot in the rain.

BTW the D7000 is a wonderful camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used my 18-200 in all kinds of weather with great results. Had one on a D-200 for almost 5 years and never had to clean the interior or the sensor of the camera
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
it is no more weather sealed than any other lens. You might try one of those camera lens raincoats by manufacturers like Think Tank or others, or buy a small fold-up umbrella, and put the handle in your shirt's front top pocket.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
mephoto
West Palm Beach, FL
Location : 
West Palm Beach, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I do not believe the lens is weather sealed; I would not take it out in the rain; my husband and I both have one and we usually keep our camera and lens in a large plastic ziplock bag if there is rainy weather.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Flygirl
Overland Park, KS
Location : 
Overland Park, KS
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Because the lens barrel changes in length when zooming/focussing, the lens body acts as a pump, drawing in and expelling air and I presume moisture. I would therefore look for a lens with internal zoom/focus, or use some sort of rain protection (or underwater housing) to keep water at bay.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Donald
Durban, South Africa
Location : 
Durban, South Africa
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No its not weather sealed.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
8 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D50?

Apr 12, 2011 by
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
GK
Denver, CO
Location : 
Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
8 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a friend with the D50 and he has used my 18-200 without any problems.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Why not. If you are not sure, take your D50 to acamera store and try it.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is and it will be very good on the D50.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe it is but not positive. Contact Nikon USA for confirmation.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I did answer this but maybe it did not go.....I used it on my D50 for years
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I used this lens on my D50 until I replaced the camera with another newer model
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

is AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II good for portrait ?

Apr 21, 2011 by
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
i have d3100
plz tell which is the best lens for portrait
im thinking about get nikkor 18-200
but need to know from any other lens is good for portrait
3 years, 1 month ago
by
mody
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Wide angle lenses are best for capturing large amounts of areas. This comes at a small sacrifice of not having as much detail when you enlarge the photo. If your looking for a portrait lens, being head and shoulders, purchase a prime lens such as the 60mm 2.8G ED lens. It's very reasonably priced and will exceed your expectations..
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you want to get autofocus get the AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G

If you don't care in manual focus and want the BEST portrait lens ever done in any time and in any brand go and get AF DC-NIKKOR 135mm f/2D

But viewing the high price of the commented lens from above and considering you have a D3100 I think your best choice is AF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8G ED a FANTASTIC portrait lens.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I own an 18-200 VR II and need to ask some questions to help you in your decision process...

- Are you going to primarily do portraits or do you need a lens that does great portraits and supports other types of photography as well (e.g., action, sports, wild life)?

- Is weight a consideration? Are you OK with a 1+ lb lens or do you need something that is lighter or convenient for traveling?

- How far away will you be shooting these portraits and is that distance consistent?

- What other lenses do you own?
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Izzy
Dallas, TX
Location : 
Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
gold standard LENS FOR PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY=
"AF S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4 D lens"... NO WORDS MORE>>
JUST PURCHASE THIS workhorse.....
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
SunilS

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
it wont be quick but will do the job well - its a ggreat all round lens
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

Clicking Sound with VR

May 5, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
I have bought this lens 2 weeks ago for my D80. (the new Generation ED II VRII (with the 18 lock switch).
With the VR ON: Besides the Autofocus motor sound, there is a much louder Clicking sound (when moving the camera and the shutter half pressed), 3 times louder than the autofocus sound.
With the VR OFF, no clicking sound.
I suspect the VR motors (engaging/disengaging), but is it normally that loud? this is my first VR lens
Thanks
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your VR should be very silent. I recommend you submitting the lens to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't think it's loud at all. It's standard sound, I think. Unless you're trying to video something with it or next to it, it's quite a minor sound.
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is, it's the sound of clutches that activate the VR
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes thats quite normal, its the VR starting and stopping.
May 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible for Nikon D5100?

Apr 27, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5100.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this compatible with the d5000?

Apr 30, 2011 by
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
momi
hawaii
Location : 
hawaii
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What is the status on lense creep with this model historically notorious for this?

Jun 3, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
lens creep when going up or down with the camera
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have this lens and it creeps like crazy. If I point it toward the ground, it creeps from minimum length to 200mm in less than 2 seconds. The lens is less than a year old and in the shop to fix.
Jul 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont have much problem with this even when I am shooting objects at my feet. You can lock the zoom at 18mm. This is a new feature with the 18-200 II.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Location : 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
it is present but not that bad. the zoom lock locks the lens only in the 18mm position.
Jun 5, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

is this lens compatible with the d3000?

Apr 28, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Leadknife
trinidad
Location : 
trinidad
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
...and it's a great all-around lens. :)
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the Nikon D40?

May 30, 2014 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 weeks ago
by
RT
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II is compatible with the D40. For more information on choosing lenses for the D40 please visit: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an... .
May 30, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is
May 30, 2014 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Fully compatible.
May 30, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

is this lens comnpatible with the AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II or any other Teleconverter?

Apr 26, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
juan
argentina
Location : 
argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I wouldn't recommend tele-converters (extenders) due to them interfering with the designed engineering. If you need a longer focal length, grab another lens. Nikon does sell a Tele-Converter but its not that far priced from a much better solution of a longer focal length.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No its not compatable.
Apr 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers