Loading

Versatile, high-power 10.7x zoom with VR II (Vibration Reduction)

A powerful zoom lens optimized for FX-format cameras, the AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR offers outstanding sharpness for a broad zoom range while maintaining an f/5.6 aperture at the telephoto end. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. A remarkably versatile zoom lens best suited for travel and other outdoor applications.
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens
Super Integrated Coating

Stability meets versatility

Powerful 10.7x zoom with Nikon’s VR II image stabilization

The versatility of the AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR offers a broad focal length range that’s perfect for travel, landscapes, portraits and distant subjects. Optimized for edge to edge sharpness on both FX and DX-format D-SLRs, this 10.7x zoom can focus as close as 18-inches from a subject.

Advanced and remarkable

Nikon lens technologies for exceptional performance in any setting

The AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR is an advanced lens that helps advanced Nikon D-SLR cameras achieve peak performance. In addition to its powerful 10.7x zoom capability, it boasts many of Nikon’s most advanced lens technologies and world-renowned NIKKOR quality glass for unrivaled performance in photography and video applications. 

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
Super Integrated Coating
Super Integrated Coating
Nikon Super Integrated Coating is Nikon's term for its multilayer coating of the optical elements in NIKKOR lenses.
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 4.6 5 100 100
Excellent FX travel lens Altho' a tad heavy, this is a reasonably compact and very versatile lens that is ideal for travel photography with a D800. No longer do I have to carry multiple lenses when touring with limited time and space; I still carry my AF-S 17-35mm f/2.8 for the extreme wide-angle perspective. Among often unmentioned assets is that it uses 77mm filters, the same size used with many of Nikon's best lenses (eg, 24-70mm f/2.8, 70-200mm f/2.8). At its focal-length extremes, it's not quite as sharp or as free from aberrations as one might like, yet its versatility and generally very good image quality make this a fine product. August 13, 2012
Great Lens..Everything I expected and much more.. This is a great lens to have in your bag. This one lens does it all, and I mean all.. From wide to telephoto to Macro...I have never been disappointed. July 25, 2012
Great travel lens I've been doing a lot of traveling in the last months, always having my Nikon gear with me. This lens has saved me a lot of effort avoiding to carry a few heavy lenses in my bag. On top the picture quality I get with the 28-200 is very good. June 23, 2012
Indispensable Quality Lens When walking around making images, I carry this lens affixed to my D3 with my 17-35/ 2.8 in my bag. These two quality lenses accommodate 99% of my creative vision and capture stunning photographs. The 10x+ zoom range is indispensable in composition. Quality Nikon optics make this lens a must-have for every photographer. June 5, 2012
Great All Around Lens I have been using Nikon equipment for over 25 years and managed a camera store for some years. I have used and owned several other brands, but have always stuck with Nikon. I use this fine lens on my D7000 with terrific results. While it's not the fastest lens in the world, it is extremely sharp and versatile. I find it useful in quite a variety of situations. It is smooth functioning and reliable. This tends to be the lens I have on my camrea 80% of the time, as I can catch most photos I want with it and only occasionally need to change it out. Very enthusiastically recommend this lens. March 20, 2012
Excellent all purpose lens! Of course for $1000, one cannot expect the performance of a $6000 professional lens, but for the serious hobbyist or travel photographer, this lens keeps things simple while shooting high quality photographs. In that regard, this lens is a bargain. Last summer, I spent four weeks on a scientific research vessel in the Amazon (constant heat, humidity, rain) and then two weeks in the Andes (bitter cold, dusty) and this lens performed well in all situations. I shot thousands of photos with the 28-300mm on my D300 almost exclusively, and In these difficult environments was most helpful to have only one lens for that very wide range. I now travel with a simple kit of the 28-300 and a close-up lens. Wonderful! March 13, 2012
WOW. Super Sharp I finally took the thousand dollar plunge. This lens will replace three of my lenses for my D7000. I no longer need the junk 18-105mm kit lens or my super sharp 70-300mm VR. With the VR2 on this lens, I don't see myself using my 35mm 1.8 dx much any more either. It is super sharp. I am counting eye lashes on my wife and daughter. The only softness I see is at 28mm f/3.5 but that sharpens greatly at 28mm f8. The lens is super sharp from 50mm to 300mm wide open. I rarely need wide for my style of shooting, but if I do my Tokina 11-16mm is available. March 7, 2012
Great lens - near and far Mount the 28-300 mm on your cam, and you are ready for almost every situation. I have taken astonishing photos at long distance from the town hall tower, indoor action with the swim team, as well as closeup pictures of flowers. The 300 mm multiplied by 1.5 on my D5000 bring birds and animals extremely close. March 3, 2012
Excellent walkaround lens especially for FX camera I love how this lens can be used as my 1 all-purpose setup. I look forward to taking this lens when I go traveling. The only thing I want to mention is that this lens does produce quite a bit of barrel distortion but it can be easily fixed in post-processing. Here is a pic I took at the 2012 Chicago Auto Show. February 28, 2012
Powerful Product This is an exceptional lens that provides optimum performance in any situation. It has a fast focus for sport shots and a wide range focal length to accommodate landscapes. Auto focus is spot-on and fast. It has become my workhorse. Especially appreciate the auto-manual mode. Although some may consider it weighty, I've given up the traditional straps for the Blackrapid sling which provides better stability and carry-ease. Zoom lock is a necessity and does not hinder rapid responses. I use it with the SB-700 speedlight at sport events with great results for close-ups and distance shots. I spent a lot of time researching the many brands and product lines for a 300 mm range lens and ultimately felt you get what you pay for; it was very true for this lens. I use it with my D90, and for the most part, it has replaced my other four lenses. Having used Nikons for 43 years, this was a key buy for me. February 8, 2012
Wow! I use this lens on my D90 and D7000 cameras, the images just outstanding. I already have 18-200mm VRII, but this lens just give that extra reach. So far it did not disappoint me. Perfect for traveling. This lens including Nikon 35mm f1.8, 17-55mm f2.8 & 10-24mm f3.5-4.5 I'm all set. This lens made in Thailand. Not heavy as I thought. So, I decided to purchase the lens after I borrowed from a friend of mine. I would recommend this to anyone that wants multi purpose or travel lens, works for DX and FX cameras. November 9, 2011
Brilliant "walk-around" lens Just purchased this a couple of weeks ago and am thrilled. I've taken just over 300 shots so far using a D700 and am amazed. For photo walks and travel it's a superb "all-in-one" lens. I'm no longer flipping back and forth between my 24-70 and 70-300 often causing the miss of good shots. There is noticeable distortion at the extreme but easily corrected in post-processing. This really is a must have in my opinion. October 21, 2011
Outstanding lens I can't be happier with this lens. I use it with my FX D700 camera and it saves me from switching lens back and forth and/or missing the shot. I have an 18-200 lens which I used with an older camera but it cannot be used with the FX format camera and still maintain all capabilities of the camera. This 28-300 performs well, has VR which works well and is fast enough for anything i have used it for. October 6, 2011
Mountain View I never spent so much money on a lens before. It took a good cup of coffee and a pleasant disposition to have the strength to hit the enter key of the computer and process the purchase from Nikon. My wife and I wanted a lens to utilize the potential of our new D5100. This turned out to be the right decision. Here are some pictures taken with this lens on our D5100. They are mountain pictures taken at 10,000 feet elevation looking 4.2 miles to the 14,259 foot elevation Longs Peak. The view was to the southeast looking into the sun at mid-morning on Labor Day. The sky was dirty from a forest fire. The camera was set at the “action setting” featuring fast shutter speeds; the VR was on at Normal. Picture A was at an indicated 50 mm to give a normal perspective. Picture B was at the indicated 300 mm. Picture C is a crop of the image of B showing four people on the summit. Picture B is 16 Mp = 4928 x 3264. (When viewed on my computer, the people are visible on picture B. If you know the place, then you will recognize that they are looking down the 1,000 foot vertical face of the diamond. But of course they must be taking photographs with their Nikon cameras!) I was concerned that the AF motor would run down the camera battery faster. But I did not notice any effect after 200 pictures per day. I use the viewfinder, not Live View. The lens is heavy; a noticeable feature of its quality and not a criticism. This is not my walk around lens. I found a neoprene bottle jacket that holds the lens and fits in the water bottle pouch (safely accessible) on my backpack. I use a tripod with this lens typically. This is my wife’s lens of choice. Best Features: Sharp focus. Constant focus through the zoom range. Focal length range. Quality & value. Worse Features: (Checking…) Recommended Accessories: Nikon’s cable release. Nikon’s coffee tumbler as shown in the Logo Shop. September 7, 2011
Fantastic Lens I am a Novice photographer and got this lens with a Nikon D7000. Although the D7000 is a DX format camera, I was unsure as to if I would ever upgrade to an FX format camera. So far, this lens is fantastic. a 1.5 foot minimum focus distance, this functions as both a long range zoom and a close up macro. It is great as I only need the one lens when going on hikes with my family. Have been raving about this to friends and co-workers. August 26, 2011
First Week So far I have taken about 400 pictures with this lens. I have already had some great results. I thought it may not be light sensitive enough, but I did some shooting in a naturally lit lodge and the results were amazing. I have taken shots at both ends of the range and the pictures are very nice. The lens and camera (D700) combination would probably seem heavy to some, but my F5 strengthended my neck over the past 10 years. This is the perfect lens for my hiking and back packing trips because you can pretty much shoot anything. I heard stories of massive distortion etc on some websites and those accusations have proven to be false. There may be some distortion on the far ends, but it doesn't seem to affect the eye appeal of the picture. August 25, 2011
One size fits all... This lens will do it all and do it well. Yes, it's heavy but then it is built extremely well. Examining shots wide open at all focal lengths is impressive, given the focal range. It is much sharper all around than the 18-200 with little distortion or vignetting. If you can only pack one lens, this is the one to pack. July 19, 2011
Best Walkaround Lens The 28-300 is probably the best walkaround lens for Nikon cameras. Its a beast, not as long in length as you would think, but very heavy. The 28-300 covers just about every shooting situation and is sharp at both ends. There is no lens creep as it is rather stiff to turn, but even if there was, there is a lens lock on it. It also offers both normal and "active" (high action) vibration reduction settings. Its a bit tricky to use at the long end on any camera mode but Auto, but if you know what you are doing, it produces great images. June 30, 2011
Great but fairly heavy do-everything lens The 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6 ("28-300", for short) is an all-around excellent lens for probably every possible occasion, despite its relatively heavy weight. This is the reason why you pay for Nikon glass over other brands, and why it's worth it. . First of all, this lens is fairly heavy, and if you walk around with this lens attached to the camera, moreso with the camera's relatively thin neck-strap, you'll feel its weight around your neck, and probably instinctively (as I've done and still do) cradle the lens with one hand to bear some/most of its weight to take some of it off of your neck. The advantage is that this one lens can replace several lenses, and obviate the need to carry any additional lenses, or worse, a second camera-body plus lens, if you do that to not need to hot-swap lenses on-the-fly. In fact, the only likely need for any additional lens would be for ultra-wide shots or specialty uses (extremely fast lens for low-light action shots, etc.). The only other lens I carry in my bag is the feather-light but optically superb 18-55mm kit-lens that came with my D3000, when I want wide landscape shots. . This is a full-frame (FX) lens, so it can be used on any DX/FX body, including film(!), not just DX bodies such as my D3000 or D7000. That 1.5x crop factor makes it effectively a 42-450mm lens on DX bodies. That being said, I can't gauge corner-to-corner sharpness, color-fringes, or vignetting, so I'll leave that to those who have an FX/full-frame camera body to test. But on even DX cameras, optical quality is amazingly crisp and clear. . I have a sample shot of a dragonfly, shown first as-is, simply resized to 800x536 for easy comparison, and second as a 100% crop (also to 800x536) of some extraordinary detail. Both photos are, other than the aforementioned resizing and cropping, respectively, right out of the tin, *ZERO* post-processing. No adjustments, sharpening, *ANYTHING*. Note the detail around the bug's face, the probably 1-pixel-wide "hairs". The (handheld) shot was taken approximately 3' away at full-zoom of 300mm, f/8, ISO-400, 1/400sec, -0.3EV compensation, on my lowly D3000. Graininess at ISO-400 on my D3000 is readily apparent in the 100% crop, but that's due to the 3k's sensor, *not* the lens. With the amazing clarity of this lens, you can take shots and crop-zoom the shot to unheard-of extremes to make, say, a shot of a full moon look as if it were taken at 1000mm or more. . For most peoples' uses, taking photos of friends, kids, dogs, parties, plus the occasional landscapes, close-ups of flowers, etc., the kit-lens which comes with the camera, such as the 18-55mm which comes with the D3000, or 18-105mm which comes with the D7000, will cover the majority of those shots admirably. But I chase birds around, and while I still love the 55-200mm telephoto which I also got with my 3k as an add-on, I just wanted a little more "reach". I considered various lenses, but I was sold on the review of the 28-300 by a rather well-known person, and decided to get one. . Again, aside from those infrequent wide-angle landscape shots I'd want (where the feather-light 18-55 fits in wonderfully), the over 10:1 zoom range of the 28-300, to me unheard of, would and should cover probably all my shooting needs. And I absolutely was not disappointed. In fact, it serves so many shooting types, from fairly wide-angle landscapes, to extreme zooms of distant objects and critters, to all types of pseudo-macro shots of buds and bugs. It became my default carry-with lens at all times, despite the weight. The 18-105 kit-lens of the 7k is so much lighter, even with its nearly 6:1 zoom ratio, but for the sheer utility of the 28-300, I gladly lug around all that extra weight. . VR2 is, in a word, fantastic. I recently took some rather long-distance skyline shots between 100mm and 120mm, and even at 1/4sec handheld shots (!!), was able to get some astoundingly steady shots that looked almost as if taken on a tripod when viewed fullsize, ie, at the pixel-level. Granted, it took a dozen or so shots and cherrypicking the steadiest shots of the lot, but just that it was possible at all was and is amazing. I haven't taken statistical samples of how many stops improvement I gain, but 2-3 full stops is easily achievable. . Action is universally smooth, from zooming from one extreme to the other, to the focussing ring when focussing manually. The 28mm lock does come in rather handy when the lens dangles downward hanging around your neck. With jiggling, it can "zoom in" (ie, extend towards 300mm) on its own from its own weight and become a pendulum, so the lock keeps the lens in-place when fully retracted. It may not be a necessity, but it is a nicety. I've gotten to use it similar to a car's parking-brake, engaging it out of habit, and it becomes second-nature in short order. . Distortion such as barrelling and pincushioning are there, but largely negligible and unnoticeable, at least on a DX camera, even at either extreme of the zoom range. Unless you routinely take photos of picket fences or brick walls, you're unlikely to notice any of either kind of distortion, even if looking for it. . Autofocus speed depends largely on the camera, I imagine. It's acceptable on my 3k, and would sometimes hunt in the wrong direction if the 3k got confused, but is spot-on and scary-fast on my 7k. . All in all, the 28-300 is a fairly heavy lens but well worth the extra weight if you want or need "reach" out to 300mm, and don't want to carry a second lens for wider shots, or v/v if you have your kit-lens but don't want to carry a second lens such as a 70-300 for longer-distance shots. The 18-200 might suit your needs as a do-all single lens solution if you don't need that 300mm reach, but if you do, the 28-300 is perfect as a single daily-carry lens. And if you still need something for those wider shots, the feather-light and optically-superb 18-55 is perfect, else consider a 10-24 or some low-mm prime lens to throw in your pocket. Whatever you'd decide, if you get the 28-300, you'll very soon wonder how you ever got along without it. . The ability to go from a 28mm wide-angle "Wow, what a gorgeous sunset!" shot to a 300mm extreme-zoom "Look at that bird!!" shot with just a split-second flick of the wrist, instead of having to grubble through your bag and then swap lenses -- and more than likely miss the shot completely -- is priceless. . And again, see my sample shots, taken on a "lowly" D3000, high-ISO grain and all from the 3k's sensor notwithstanding, for an example of the kind of crisp shots you can get, even when viewed at the pixel level. Individual hairs on the bug's face are easy to distinguish, barely a pixel-wide each. The more I try to push this lens to its limits, the more impressed with it I become. . Sadly, camera bodies become obsolete or at least obsolescent in just a few years as features improve, but lenses are an investment that will last the better part of a lifetime, and a lens which does as much as this one does and covers such a wide zoom-range (almost 11:1) and has so many uses, and has such incredible optical quality, is well worth that investment to make this a do-all carry-with lens, probably the only lens you'd even need to carry, as long as its extra weight doesn't become an issue. June 21, 2011
This is my walkaround lens it covers WA to tele. I am using the full frame D700. When I was using the DX DSLR(D100;D200;D300) my favorite lens was the 18-200 VR lens. I kept asking NIKON to come up with a lens that I could use for my new full frame camera D700 and they have!!! This lens is very sharp and remains on my camera whenever I walk around New York City streets. I find this lens is extremely sharp at most apertures. When I set it at f8 and Aperture preferred mode with the ISO at 1600 I am prepared for every occasion. Thanks NIKON. June 15, 2011
Perfect Lens This would be my first VR Lens that i purchased with my D7000 camera. The lens is perfect for my kids sport activities and church events. Pros: No need to keep changing with your other lens. Cons: A little bit heavy to carry around. I love Nikon. June 7, 2011
Great lense for multi purposes I used it on my D7000 at a family celebration in a large restaurant/dining hall which had several differing lighting environments. The lense produced clear immages under tough conditions. Easy to focus and frame in on normally hard-to-get candid shots. Those who received the photos thought I was a hired pro. I'm not. Would recommend this lense for anyone who wants versatility in a single lense. April 30, 2011
Excellant lens With this lens on a D700 it performs very well, making the image very sharp. April 26, 2011
Versatile and sharp a great combination. It is a good lens for capturing the moment, basically if you see it you can take it's picture. Has a bit more wieght than the average zoom, but balances well on the larger frame DSLR. Can easily make an outing a one lens affair. April 25, 2011
Great All-in-One lens I have this lens mounted on my D700. I love the flexibility. It's great for traveling, kid events, hiking, etc., where it's nice to have one compact lens that can shoot wide and zoomed. The lens lock is also nice. April 20, 2011
great lens I love this lens. It's sharp, compact, somewhat lightweight, and takes wonderful photos. The only thing I don't like is the lens hood. It is easy to accidently knock it off the camera. Mine has some nicks from hitting the ground. The lens hood on my 70-300mm lens is much better. April 19, 2011
Get it NOW! This lens was bought to replace a 24-120mm and a 70-300mm and cannot be more satisfied! Solid construction, compact, 77mm filter size- same as my prime Nikon lenses. A solid performer though not a fast lens exceeds my expectations. Comes very close to a One Size Fits All! April 18, 2011
Perfect Walk-a-round lens I had wide angle (12-24) and zooms (70-200 VR) and (18-55) as well as a couple fixed lens. I thought I would try the 28-300 and although not perfect, I am very thrilled with it. Since I bought it, I have not had the 70-200 (my best lens) on my camera. I still opt for the wide angle occasionally. The lens gives up slightly in the area of contrast and shapness especially when extended, but with post processing - one never knows the difference. It has fit the bill perfectly for the alll around lens. April 17, 2011
Great all around lens. Although I do shoot in studio and on location, my passion is landscape and wildlife photography. That's where I find the greatest challenges. Animals won't hold still, or pose for you. Lighting is constantly changing and challenging a photographer's skills. This new lens lets me have my wide angle and my long telephoto in one lens. It is my first VR lens and I am astounded! My first test of the VR was about 11 pm. I spotted a dimly lit fountain, which had a highway behind it. I chose center weighted metering on my D80 and took as stable a stance as possible held my breath and shot several frames. The water blurred nicely, showing motion, the fountain base was in perfect focus, and in the background there was a 2-3 inch line of light, which was from the headlights of a passing car. Amazing! HAND-HELD! I love it! Can't wait to pair it with my D700. It's a whole new world for this old school film photog. (Nikonian since 1972) April 17, 2011
Great lens for serious non-pro I purchased this lens with a D7000 body. I wanted one lens that would fulfill all my needs. It's some what heavy, but eliminates carrying other lens and changing back and forth. The picture quality is very good, as you would expect with Nikon. This lens is loaded with features that justify spending the money. I recommend this lens to those that are serious about photography, but can't afford professional grade. April 15, 2011
Page:2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
68 Questions | 107 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
68 Questions | 107 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
6 Answers

Is it fully compatible with Nikon D7000 camera?

Mar 27, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Hi,

One friend offered me a new kit with this lens; ( D7000 + 18-105 DX VR ) + 28-300 VRII.
1. May you please inform me, is it a good combination?
2. And for this 28-300mm; short description says "An ideal lens for FX-format D-SLRs...". Is this fully compatible with D7000?

Thank you and best regards.
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Marlon
Turkey
Location : 
Turkey
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The combination is good. The comment about FX cameras states that it is compatible with FX cameras but it will work with your D7000.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. 100%. I traded in a 18 - 105 for the 28 - 300. Did not think I would bother switching back. It's a little bigger and heavier but that is a very small difference.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
AspiringPro
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely, it is fully compatible.
Since you will have the asp-c sensor in the D7000,
your focal length will be extended to 42-400mm,
while staying with the 3.5-5.6 aperture range.
I shoot full-frame and asp-c (DX), but purchase only
full-frame, non-DX lenses so that they are all compatible
with either camera.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Sir K
Houston, Tx
Location : 
Houston, Tx
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the d7000 with the 28mm-300mm vr. Once you use this lens you won't be satisfied with the quality of the photos of the 18-105mm kit lens. I would recommend not to waste your money on that lens. Purchase the body by itself and invest the money you saved in the 10-24mm dx as a wide angle lens when you need it and the 28-300mm for everything else you will have the only lenses you will ever need and an amazing system.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
cj
Oro Valley, AZ
Location : 
Oro Valley, AZ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Remember that all Nikon AF-S lenses on any Nikon that has the F mount (which is almost all).
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use these lenses with the D7000.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
5 Answers

Is this lens compatible with a Nikon N90?

Apr 2, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Definitely yes, truly love this lens, portrait, landscape, zoom, it does it all, looking forward to numerous shots at Disneyland, Universal Studios, Leggoland, and the beaches of Southern Calif, July 2014. Highly recommend.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Jun 18, 2014 by
by
edball40
Sidney, OH, USA
Location : 
Sidney, OH, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes it is. My new camera The d7000 is the direct replacement for the d90 and it should perform exactly the same on the d90.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
cj
Oro Valley, AZ
Location : 
Oro Valley, AZ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-8points
0out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful8
Answer: 
No. The lens is an DX format lens, so the image circle will not cover the entire film area. The lens will mount, but the image itself will be unusable.
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
bkane
Los Angeles, CA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

If I had to buy one for all purposes, what would you recommend more 28-300 or 18- 200? I have a D60.

Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Catalina
Ridgewood NJ
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Catalina
Ridgewood NJ
Location : 
Ridgewood NJ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
This is not 28-300, it is essentially 28-200. At least the copy I received zoom only up to 200mm. Beyond that, just the ring rotates, no zooming!
Mar 5, 2013 by
by
Poor John
Baltimore, MD, USA
Location : 
Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4
Answer: 
Its a great Lens, but I think in DX mode you are better off with the 18-200. You will not have wide angle shots with this lens. Its equivalnet to a 50MM on a DX format.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
Ct Yankee
East Haddam, CT
Location : 
East Haddam, CT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
Answer: 
18-200 is lighter but 28-300 is better.
Aug 3, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The right selection for a lens will depend a lot on the type of photography that you are interesting. Some photographers look for faster lenses (large aperture ex. F/2.8), wide angle, Telephoto, Macro or zoom lenses.
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the D5000?

Mar 30, 2011 by
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it is an AFS auto-focus, which means it will work with cameras which don't have built in auto-focus.
Your aps-c sensor will extend the focal range to 42-400mm, while giving you the same 3.5-5.6 aperture range.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Sir K
Houston, Tx
Location : 
Houston, Tx
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4
Answer: 
It is compatible. The image quality will blow your mind. The only draw back is that the 24-70mm is actually for a FX (Full Frame) camera. Thus, the 24-70mmm is affectively a 35-105mm lens on your D5000 (DX) camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
pixMouse
Lawrence, KS
Location : 
Lawrence, KS
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes! but with crop factor x1.5
28mm=42mm
300mm=450mm
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
LiorF
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Is the AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatable with my D90?

Apr 1, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Athol
Trinidad
Location : 
Trinidad
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely. You will have the same aperture range, but the aps-c sensor will extend your lenses range to 42-400mm.
Actually, since this lens is an AFS lens it will even work with DSLRs with no auto-focus motor built into the camera, like the D40, for example.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Sir K
Houston,Tx
Location : 
Houston,Tx
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The lens can be used on your D90 without any problem.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D90.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Is it fully compatible with Nikon D700 camera?

May 31, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
We Have d700
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Ashish
India
Location : 
India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely. It is my walk around lens for my D700in New York City.
Jun 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the only lenses that you will see changes are the DX specific lenses in the more recent AF-S lenses.
May 31, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is.
May 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

compatible with d3100?

Aug 2, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
All AFS lenses will work on the D3100
Aug 4, 2011 by
by
HalE

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3100.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Kat
Orlando, FL, USA
Location : 
Orlando, FL, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
It is better than my Nikkor 70-300 VR, but remember that there is focus breathing. Check preview reviews on this
Mar 13, 2014 by
by
sharpshooter
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Location : 
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
hi
I would suggest asking Support and Service here, I’m sure they can give you some help.
I believe Popular Photography Magazine does extensive testing of lenses of all manufacturers as well...
hope this helps.
Jun 16, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No focus problems
Jun 16, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Is it fully compatible with Nikon D100 camera?

Apr 25, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
May 26, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D100.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Someone probed this lens on D3100?

Apr 26, 2011 by
by
Luchio1979
Argentina
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Luchio1979
Argentina
Location : 
Argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please re-state your question with more detail as we can respond accurately.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
not actually, but this the FX (full frame) version of the 18-200 lens (that is DX only). in theory, it should be just as fine, however, you lose the wide angle range of the 18-200.
Apr 27, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers