Loading
;

Versatile, high-power 10.7x zoom with VR II (Vibration Reduction)

A powerful zoom lens optimized for FX-format cameras, the AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR offers outstanding sharpness for a broad zoom range while maintaining an f/5.6 aperture at the telephoto end. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. A remarkably versatile zoom lens best suited for travel and other outdoor applications.
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens
Super Integrated Coating

Stability meets versatility

Powerful 10.7x zoom with Nikon’s VR II image stabilization

The versatility of the AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR offers a broad focal length range that’s perfect for travel, landscapes, portraits and distant subjects. Optimized for edge to edge sharpness on both FX and DX-format D-SLRs, this 10.7x zoom can focus as close as 18-inches from a subject.

Advanced and remarkable

Nikon lens technologies for exceptional performance in any setting

The AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR is an advanced lens that helps advanced Nikon D-SLR cameras achieve peak performance. In addition to its powerful 10.7x zoom capability, it boasts many of Nikon’s most advanced lens technologies and world-renowned NIKKOR quality glass for unrivaled performance in photography and video applications. 

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
Super Integrated Coating
Super Integrated Coating
Nikon Super Integrated Coating is Nikon's term for its multilayer coating of the optical elements in NIKKOR lenses.
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 4.6 5 96 96
Sharp, fast autofocus and a keeper This lens is wonderful. Those who wondered how a 10X could remain sharp will be delighted. Though a bit heavy, its worth it. Great travel lens. Perfect for landscapes as well as urban vistas. October 4, 2010
Wow! What a Lens! This is the lens I've been waiting for. I bought this lens this morning to replace another mega-zoom lens from company "T an 18-270mm". I loved that lens but wow, what a difference the Nikon lens makes! I get the wide zoom range AND tack sharp images. I'm going out right now and use it in the "wild"!! September 25, 2010
A wonderful walk-around full frame lens For years I've been asking Nikon reps. to ask Nikon to make this lens, so that I could replace my old Tamron 28-300mm. lens with Nikon optics. Most recently I'd been heavily using the Tamron lens on my Nikon D3 and D3S. I used it so much over the years that it needed (and received) a rebuild. This new Nikon lens is wonderful. Due to its versatility I have no doubt that I will use it far more than any other lens I own. I've used it quite a bit already and I wholeheartedly recommend it. September 22, 2010
very good universal lens The lens has girth and weight and feels well balanced on my D3. The zoom ring is somewhat stiff but it displays no "creep" when carried unlocked. It accepts my 77mm filters and close-up lenses. It lacks acute sharpness and speed of focus when photographing dynamic subjects in low light situations but the images are more than acceptable. I purchased this lens to use as my universal urban travel lens and it will serve that purpose nicely. My travel kit in urban areas now consists of this lens, a 50mm (f/1.4), my D3 and soon the D7000 which will serve as an expensive 1.5x TC.. September 22, 2010
Best Single Lens Choice Wow I have VRII 18 - 200 mm But I wish I had one 28 - 300 mm for the convenience this offers in multiple and verity of options available in a single lens September 12, 2010
You can't go wrong with this lens I'm really happy with this lens. When I bought my D800 six months ago, I looked at the Nikon lens offering and debated the 28-300 vs 24-70 + 70-200 combination in order to get the focal length coverage I wanted for every-day picture taking. For once in my life, I decided to go with the cheaper solution. Am I ever glad that I did. While I lose a little at the wide end (28 vs 24 mm), I get an extra 100 mm at the narrow end. And, while I lost a few f stops in going with this lens, I saved enough to buy a 14-24 mm, f2.8 and a 50 mm f1.4 which more than makes up for lost stops. I've taken great portraits, great landscapes and great still-lifes (by my humble standards, anyway) with this lens. If you're a photo-enthusiast looking for an all purpose lens to cover 95% of your requirements - this lens is a great candidate. August 2, 2013
If you only buy one lens this is the one!! You have to remember that this is a zoom lens and not a fixed focal length lens. Its not a fast lens, its starts at F3.5-5.6. with that said, this lens is fantastic. I take portraits of people all day, and this lens works great for individuals and groups. I shoot in the studios at f9 mostly and I find my results are just great. Had 2- 24x30 prints made last week and I can't find anything that I could improve on from this lens. Camera is d800e, this lens gives me very thing I need for 90% of what I do. Yes i still need those fast lenses and if I want that soft bokeh I use my Dc 105mm F2. and if I'm in the hockey rink i still want my 80-200mm F2.8. But I did go on Vacation to the big US of A. and all i took was my 28-300mm and that was all i needed. No Camera bag just the camera over my shoulder and my sb800 in my wife's purse. I was in grand central station in new york one evening and was watching a young lady with this big canon camera and lens combo trying to capture the train station. Thing were not working out for her but i did want to say anything (because i never used a canon before or want to) I asked her to take a photo with my camera of my wife and I and i told her just push the button that was all she needed to do. with the camera set at 1/125 sec f.3.5 at 28mm iso set to 1600 and sb800 set TTL -1 stop. well the look on that photographers face was priceless. I think she wanted my camera. Just remember what you have, what your are using it for, then you will see that for the most part this lens is perfect for 90% of the stuff you need. Im a Master Photographer with 32 years in this field and i can tell you i have lots of lenses and cameras and i think i found a winner with this one. July 27, 2013
My best lens in 40 years Well, finally, after several months of sleepless nights, and reading countless reviews online, wondering if I should purchase the 28-300 lens for my built-like-a-tank D300, I finally took the plunge a few weeks ago. However, I had to return my first purchase because it had a focus problem. Sometimes I had to turn the camera off and then on again for it to focus properly. The one I now have is super, and actually, for the size of the lens, I think the focus time is very, very good. Also, from the reviews I have read online, it has received many good reviews. It is a little heavier than my 18-200mm was. But I have decided that this is a great all-in-one lens. It is good for sports, portraits, landscape, and wildlife. I’ve found that my lens hood fits it very nicely and is good and snug - no worries about it coming off. One of the main reasons for my purchase of the 28-300 FX lens , was my not-so-far-in-the-future plans are to purchase an FX camera. On my D300, I now get 42mm to 450mm, and find it really sucks the picture in close at 450mm. So, for now, my D300 and the 28-300mm lens will be my main pair, even if the two together weigh 7 pounds. I know that after a short while, I will not even notice the weight. I like to hold my camera with the strap on my shoulder, supporting the lens with my hand., I figure I can walk for 2 to 3 hours easily. Believe it or not, pictures with this lens are crystal clear, sharp images and colors are brighter than the 18-200 lens. $1,200 (tax included) is a chunk of money to me, and when I read reviews that call this lens a "cheap" lens, let them buy the new 800mm lens for the low price of $18,000.... that's right... look it up. Please remember this is only my opinion, and whatever you decide on, camera or lens, they are "old technology" as soon as you walk out of the store. I give this lens a 5 star rating, because it focuses quickly, gives you unbelievably crystal-clear, sharp images, awesome color, and for $1,200, in my opinion, it deserves it. March 23, 2013
An all-range high quality lens I’ve been with Nikon since 1993 and for the first time we now have a “full range” zoom for FX format (the 35mm for the old days). What I like is that this lens comes well when you want to “travel light” and you don’t want to bring all your gear. (If you are a pro or semipro). If you are an advanced amateur is the best option in FX. (You have another options in DX. The internal motor is both silent and fast and the VR feature allows you to take sharp pictures even at 1/125 sec at 300mm hand taken! (With a still subject). The range is very flexible in you can go easy from a group photo at 28mm to a close up just with a few hand movements. My only concern is that if you try portrait the depth of field is high so is not easy to get blurred backgrounds compared vs. the f/2.8 options (80-200mm & 70-200mm) An advantage is that the filter size is 77mm so if you already have pro series gear you can use the Circular Polarizer and the rest of the filters, you really save money with this. What I dislike is the fact that the lens “expands” as you move from 28mm to 300mm. I prefer the ones that are with a fixed length. Since I can remember all the Nikon (ED rated) are simple the best in class. The colors are true and the definition and sharpness always at the top. They worth the extra bucks! Conclusion, If you are someone interested to jump to the “FX-big format” this is a very good start. And for the pros, this lens is very versatile and still keep many of the features and advantages of the pro gear without sacrificing too much. (speed and depth of field). January 1, 2014
Nikkor 28-300mm Zoom I read many reviews on this lens before buying it and I'm happy to say I love the lens. I'm using it with a Nikon D800 and either do the lens correction through the camera menu option or via Photoshop ACR. The lens correction function helps minimize or eliminate CA, vignetting, pincushion, and barrel distortion. I've found the lens to be very sharp with the D800 ---- perhaps a more expensive lens would be sharper, but I'm very happy with the sharpness. I've actually done some indoor shots (without flash) using the VR function and Auto ISO with the ISO ranging from 1200 to 1800. The focus was fast and accurate and sharpness was excellent. Even at 1/30th second, f/8, and ISO 1800 the results were great without a tripod. I try to use the lens at f/5.6 or f/8 since that's where the lens seems to perform best. Most lenses don't perform well wide open, so stopping down roughly two stops is usually a good idea. I haven't tried the lens for action photos, but suspect it's not optimal for that kind of shooting ---- that's not to say you can't use it for that. However, you'd probably be better off using a faster lens like the more expensive f/2.8 70-200mm Nikkor. For what I do, the 28-300 is great. I'd recommend it for general photography and as a convenient extended range zoom for scenic work. My current lens lineup is a 10.5mm f/2.8 DX fish-eye, 16-35mm f/4 VR, old 35-70mm f/2.8, old 85mm f/1.8 manual focus, 50mm f/1.4, and the 28-300mm ----- all Nikon optics. The Nikkor 28-300mm lens isn't perfect, but after a few weeks of use I'd recommend this lens. The only negatives I can think of are the slightly heavy weight, the relatively slow f/3.5 maximum aperture, and the inferior lens hood (it doesn't stay in place and can easily come off the lens). August 17, 2012
satisfactory, somehow had this lens for a little while now, so far these are my observations: it produces remarkable color, all throughout the zoom range. focus is somewhat slow for $1000+ lens, but hardly disappoints for regular shooting needs. weight might be a concern for some people. this weighs the same as, if not more than, a d300 body. bokeh delivers nicely beginning around the 70mm+ range. somewhat flat images when used at the shortest length. my concern though is the overall build quality of the lens (it says weather sealed). my unit has begun to develop 2 tiny fungi spots despite being stored with gel silica (not in a drybox though) after a month of non-usage. i use this with my trusty d5000, and a slightly newer d300 and have been enjoying it. May 26, 2012
Great Travel Lens! Pack light with this great travel lens: Pros: Light weight one lens does it all. Sharp, 300mm zoom, great macro and well built. Cons: Not very fast lens and pretty expensive for a consumer grade lens. Vignetting!!! November 21, 2011
Good all-in-one lens Have it for couple of weeks now and took it out for the first time to Callaway Garden for test drive. Overall sharpness is pretty good but for closeup shots I got various results from shooting bees on flowers, etc.. I have not switched between active and normal mode and compare the difference, maybe that will improve the macro quality. I usually shoot with 24-85mm AF-S (or Tamron 24-135mm) to get wide angle shots, 70-300mm VR for wildlife and 105mm VR for macro. I don't think 28-300mm picture qualities wise are better than any of those three in their respective range, but for convenience sake it's definitely better than carrying 3 lenses if you want to travel light. May 23, 2011
Great all around lens This lens takes crisp clear pictures all day long. I used this on my D7000 for about 6 months. The weight of this lens is great for being 28-300mm. Wish it was a little faster. May 3, 2011
disappointing hood and especially service The hood supplied with the lens rattles and is loose. It will come off if brushed. Nikon's solution is to send the whole kit in. I have applied tape to the teeth in the hood - sorta/kinda works. A $1,000 lens and they won't supply a hood that fits! April 22, 2011
Good all around lens I like this lens. It take the place of 2 lens i don't carry around anymore. The one drawback is dark corners on an FX camera not sure how it work on DX camera.. The VR is helpful and focuses fast with color. April 14, 2011
Not for action shots... Bought this product like many of you to replace several lenses on Vacations or Business trips..overall Not Bad.. but not very fast for capturing action shots.. That was a problem for me! April 14, 2011
Great for the DX format This lens works great on my D7000. Because of the DX crop factor this lens is equivelent to 42mm - 450 mm lens! Images are sharp and crisp at all focal length.This lens is heavy. It weighs moer than the camera body. Thats ok for what I do (landscapes, wild life), but would not be good for street photography.It focuses faster and more accuratley than my 18-200 mm lens. The wide apeture lets in more light too. I can take better photos in slightly darker conditions. April 14, 2011
Great FX "walk-around" lens This lens is extremely versatile and is better than I had expected in terms of sharpness. The VR really works: I shot New Years Eve fireworks hand-held at 1/10th of a second @ 45mm and got great results (see below). January 8, 2011
Wow! Just took it out of the box, mounted it, went outside, took some shots, came back in and loaded them into Aperture. I'm dazzled so far December 7, 2010
very sharp, but lots of distortion below 35mm A very useful all pupose lense for travel photography on reasonable price, need not to carry full bag of lenses. it works perfectly on Nikon D-SLR both FX and DX....not useful for dim light sports action.... November 23, 2010
Great Lens This is a surprisingly sharp, great walk around lens with excellent color resolution. Works well with my Nikon D700. Only thing lacking is faster speed, then it would cost and weigh twice as much. A good investment to add to ones lens collection. October 17, 2010
Nice flexibility but vignettes badly Nice all in one lens with fast focusing but every picture needs retouching to remove vignetting. September 22, 2010
OK all around lens. Compact and light weight compared to my 24-70 f/2.8 or 70-200 f/2.8. This makes it a nice all around lens for traveling. I took it to Hawaii and got some nice shots. However, there is vignetting and some distortion that need to be corrected in post processing. The bokeh is not as nice as my 70-200VR. I don't believe it is a 300mm lens. Photos taken with my 70-200, at 200mm, look identical to this lens at 300mm. So, if you're looking for a nice 28-200mm lens that's light weight and you don't mind the slow glass, then this is a decent lens. July 27, 2012
Not very sharp. Poor low light performance. Not worth the price I paid. April 14, 2011
Good all purpose lens for FX or DX. This lens has average optical quality, but if stopped down to about f/5.6 or f/8, the quality improves a lot more. Smooth zoom action and fast auto focus response. VR works well. Some users find the lens heavy, but I do not. If lens is used carefully and properly, it is a very good all purpose lens. Good travel lens. April 14, 2011
Good lens but Received the lens today. Took few pictures. Good for regular use but not for professional. Also "Made in Thailand," cost reduction? September 9, 2010
dissapointed so far So far not so good. Thought this lense would perform much better than has so far. took shots under a fairly lit incadescent bulding and never got a good shot. Had to bump isos way up and then got lots of noise on the 300 mm end. took some shots outdoors crisp pics but bokeh rounded on close up. Maybe will have better luck later but seems this lense is not what its cracked up to be September 15, 2010
Defective product I have just returned my new 28-300mm f3.5-5.6G ED VR for a refund. My experience was so disappointing I asked for a refund rather than a replacement while I reconsider any further investment in Nikon. When the lens arrived I very carefully attempted to attach it to my D700. There was resistance and I thought I must have the threads misaligned, and was concerned I might be cross threading my equipment. I even more carefully removed the lens from the camera – examined both pieces very carefully - and even more carefully reattached them – it was not a smooth attachment as with my other 4 premium Nikon lenses, (count 1). Once attached, I decided to try it out. I was most disappointed on three additional counts: 1. Auto focus was hit or miss. By this I mean auto focus did not work on a high percentage of attempts. 2. I could achieve focus manually, but on occasions the camera would not fire even when focused manually. 3. My images were not sharp – they were fuzzy. When I removed the lens from the camera I had the same uneasy, noisy experience – the action was very rough as if the threads were not aligned correctly. The Nikon lens sent to me was a dud in every regard – and whether Nikon has a QA problem is for them to determine, but this defective piece of expensive, precision equipment is unacceptable and very disappointing. March 25, 2014
Not as sharp as expected. The photos are not as sharp as I expected with a $1,000 lens - at any focal length with the zoom. I am disappointed in this lens. The construction also makes the zoom ring difficult to turn with a "sandy" noise. My D800e Nikon camera has the notorious focusing problems (that Nikon will not address properly) so the left most focus points are always out of focus. Not sure if it is the lens or the camera causing that specific problem. Focus is quick, but sometimes inaccurate. Vibration reduction works fine. Sub par lens for the money. March 8, 2014
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
64 Questions | 103 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
64 Questions | 103 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
6 Answers

Is it fully compatible with Nikon D7000 camera?

Mar 27, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Hi,

One friend offered me a new kit with this lens; ( D7000 + 18-105 DX VR ) + 28-300 VRII.
1. May you please inform me, is it a good combination?
2. And for this 28-300mm; short description says "An ideal lens for FX-format D-SLRs...". Is this fully compatible with D7000?

Thank you and best regards.
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Marlon
Turkey
Location : 
Turkey
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The combination is good. The comment about FX cameras states that it is compatible with FX cameras but it will work with your D7000.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. 100%. I traded in a 18 - 105 for the 28 - 300. Did not think I would bother switching back. It's a little bigger and heavier but that is a very small difference.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
AspiringPro
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely, it is fully compatible.
Since you will have the asp-c sensor in the D7000,
your focal length will be extended to 42-400mm,
while staying with the 3.5-5.6 aperture range.
I shoot full-frame and asp-c (DX), but purchase only
full-frame, non-DX lenses so that they are all compatible
with either camera.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Sir K
Houston, Tx
Location : 
Houston, Tx
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the d7000 with the 28mm-300mm vr. Once you use this lens you won't be satisfied with the quality of the photos of the 18-105mm kit lens. I would recommend not to waste your money on that lens. Purchase the body by itself and invest the money you saved in the 10-24mm dx as a wide angle lens when you need it and the 28-300mm for everything else you will have the only lenses you will ever need and an amazing system.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
cj
Oro Valley, AZ
Location : 
Oro Valley, AZ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Remember that all Nikon AF-S lenses on any Nikon that has the F mount (which is almost all).
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use these lenses with the D7000.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
5 Answers

Is this lens compatible with a Nikon N90?

Apr 2, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Definitely yes, truly love this lens, portrait, landscape, zoom, it does it all, looking forward to numerous shots at Disneyland, Universal Studios, Leggoland, and the beaches of Southern Calif, July 2014. Highly recommend.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Jun 18, 2014 by
by
edball40
Sidney, OH, USA
Location : 
Sidney, OH, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes it is. My new camera The d7000 is the direct replacement for the d90 and it should perform exactly the same on the d90.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
cj
Oro Valley, AZ
Location : 
Oro Valley, AZ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-8points
0out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful8
Answer: 
No. The lens is an DX format lens, so the image circle will not cover the entire film area. The lens will mount, but the image itself will be unusable.
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
bkane
Los Angeles, CA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the D5000?

Mar 30, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it is an AFS auto-focus, which means it will work with cameras which don't have built in auto-focus.
Your aps-c sensor will extend the focal range to 42-400mm, while giving you the same 3.5-5.6 aperture range.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Sir K
Houston, Tx
Location : 
Houston, Tx
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4
Answer: 
It is compatible. The image quality will blow your mind. The only draw back is that the 24-70mm is actually for a FX (Full Frame) camera. Thus, the 24-70mmm is affectively a 35-105mm lens on your D5000 (DX) camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
pixMouse
Lawrence, KS
Location : 
Lawrence, KS
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes! but with crop factor x1.5
28mm=42mm
300mm=450mm
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
LiorF
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Is the AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatable with my D90?

Apr 1, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Athol
Trinidad
Location : 
Trinidad
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely. You will have the same aperture range, but the aps-c sensor will extend your lenses range to 42-400mm.
Actually, since this lens is an AFS lens it will even work with DSLRs with no auto-focus motor built into the camera, like the D40, for example.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Sir K
Houston,Tx
Location : 
Houston,Tx
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The lens can be used on your D90 without any problem.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D90.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

If I had to buy one for all purposes, what would you recommend more 28-300 or 18- 200? I have a D60.

Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Catalina
Ridgewood NJ
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Catalina
Ridgewood NJ
Location : 
Ridgewood NJ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
This is not 28-300, it is essentially 28-200. At least the copy I received zoom only up to 200mm. Beyond that, just the ring rotates, no zooming!
Mar 5, 2013 by
by
Poor John
Baltimore, MD, USA
Location : 
Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4
Answer: 
Its a great Lens, but I think in DX mode you are better off with the 18-200. You will not have wide angle shots with this lens. Its equivalnet to a 50MM on a DX format.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
Ct Yankee
East Haddam, CT
Location : 
East Haddam, CT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
Answer: 
18-200 is lighter but 28-300 is better.
Aug 3, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The right selection for a lens will depend a lot on the type of photography that you are interesting. Some photographers look for faster lenses (large aperture ex. F/2.8), wide angle, Telephoto, Macro or zoom lenses.
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Is it fully compatible with Nikon D700 camera?

May 31, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
We Have d700
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Ashish
India
Location : 
India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely. It is my walk around lens for my D700in New York City.
Jun 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the only lenses that you will see changes are the DX specific lenses in the more recent AF-S lenses.
May 31, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is.
May 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

compatible with d3100?

Aug 2, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
All AFS lenses will work on the D3100
Aug 4, 2011 by
by
HalE

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3100.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Kat
Orlando, FL, USA
Location : 
Orlando, FL, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
It is better than my Nikkor 70-300 VR, but remember that there is focus breathing. Check preview reviews on this
Mar 13, 2014 by
by
sharpshooter
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Location : 
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
hi
I would suggest asking Support and Service here, I’m sure they can give you some help.
I believe Popular Photography Magazine does extensive testing of lenses of all manufacturers as well...
hope this helps.
Jun 16, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No focus problems
Jun 16, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Is it fully compatible with Nikon D100 camera?

Apr 25, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
May 26, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D100.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Someone probed this lens on D3100?

Apr 26, 2011 by
by
Luchio1979
Argentina
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Luchio1979
Argentina
Location : 
Argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please re-state your question with more detail as we can respond accurately.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
not actually, but this the FX (full frame) version of the 18-200 lens (that is DX only). in theory, it should be just as fine, however, you lose the wide angle range of the 18-200.
Apr 27, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers