Loading

Versatile, high-power 10.7x zoom with VR II (Vibration Reduction)

A powerful zoom lens optimized for FX-format cameras, the AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR offers outstanding sharpness for a broad zoom range while maintaining an f/5.6 aperture at the telephoto end. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. A remarkably versatile zoom lens best suited for travel and other outdoor applications.
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens
Super Integrated Coating

Stability meets versatility

Powerful 10.7x zoom with Nikon’s VR II image stabilization

The versatility of the AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR offers a broad focal length range that’s perfect for travel, landscapes, portraits and distant subjects. Optimized for edge to edge sharpness on both FX and DX-format D-SLRs, this 10.7x zoom can focus as close as 18-inches from a subject.

Advanced and remarkable

Nikon lens technologies for exceptional performance in any setting

The AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR is an advanced lens that helps advanced Nikon D-SLR cameras achieve peak performance. In addition to its powerful 10.7x zoom capability, it boasts many of Nikon’s most advanced lens technologies and world-renowned NIKKOR quality glass for unrivaled performance in photography and video applications. 

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
Super Integrated Coating
Super Integrated Coating
Nikon Super Integrated Coating is Nikon's term for its multilayer coating of the optical elements in NIKKOR lenses.
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 4.6 5 99 99
Great lenses This lens is great, it took the place of three lens I had and I have never been disappointed April 15, 2011
This is a great lens for wildlife photos This lens is very good for wildlife photo shoots.At the price it is about as good as is gets.I use this lens for all my nature shoots.Whenfully exstended it is zooming almost 500mm.It is mounted on a NikonD90.As is with my 18-200,I only need to carry two lens.I highly recommend it for those on a budjet. April 15, 2011
This is the one! I am on several trips (Amazon, Eastern Europe, etc.) and needed a walk-around lense. This one fits my needs perfectly. I still bring my prime lense and wide angle zoom with me, but this is the first one that I turn to, in part because it works so well to take both video+stills using my D7000. April 15, 2011
This 28-300mm VR is Nikon's all-rounder of a lens. It does everything, and it does most of it very, very well. The 28-300mm VR is much better than I expected. April 15, 2011
Great all around lens I typically shoot sports and need faster lenses, but bought this one so I could travel light. It covers all the bases when on vacations and at family gatherings. The locking mechanism prevents lens slide which was annoying with my 18 -200 VR lens. Due to it's size, go with a higher flash than the built in one to prevent lens shadow. It is nice to have a lens that goes inside and out and provides a massive range without compromising picture quality. April 14, 2011
Beautiful glass I purchased this lens with a new D7000 body. It is a beautifully made Nikon Lens. When I first started to shoot with this lens I felt it was a little heavy. After shooting with it for a while I have no problems at all, I don't even think about the weight. The focus is smooth, very fast, and silent. To be able to go effectively from 42mm - 450mm using one lens is amazing. The photographs it produces are stunning, and the vr works flawlessly. I thought the lens would be a little slow, but with the vr I can shoot low light hand held, and telephoto out to 300mm without a tripod, and the results are nothing less than amazing. The Bokeh is beautiful as well. The only other lens I will ever need to carry in my bag is 10-24mm should I ever need a wider field of view. For the last month or so I didn't miss it. if I needed a wider shot I just moved back a little. Fantastic Nikon lens. The sample photo's I have posted are jpegs and the only post processing was reducing the image file size from almost 9mb to 188kb. Even with the dramatic reduction in file size you can see the quality this lens is capable of producing April 14, 2011
One lens that will do most of all you need Excellent lens to cover a majority of photo needs without changing lenses. Great for trips. Quality of photos is excellent. Can't ever beat Nikon glass! April 14, 2011
I really prefers to have 16-300 Nikkor lens. It looks same as 16-85 and 18-200. 16-300 will be so perfect to be used a lot. April 14, 2011
Excellent for Sports Photography Taking pictures of grandkid's sports stops the action with clear, colorful shots. April 14, 2011
All around carry lens The lens is GREAT. Easy to change focal lengths and now I don't have to carry a number of lens. No switching for close or if something is happening away for I won't miss the shot. Great for sports especially auto racing or any fast moving sport. The only thing that I did have to get used to is the fact the the lens is a little heavy. But after a very short time I adjusted. Takes great pictures. Here is one that I really didn't want to get too close but with the new lens no problem. April 14, 2011
Excellent Have just returned from the mid-east. This lens -- teamed with the D3s produces remarkable sharp photos. April 14, 2011
This one lens does everything!! This lens has been used for more than five thousand images since purchased as soon as available last year. Except for extreme low light situations, it works for almost every "normal" situation, including general photography and near macro work. Adding a super wide zoom or 18/20mm lens completes any reasonable requirements. April 14, 2011
This lens complete my D300. I have found that i have a Excellent Camera,( D-300 ) and with my new 28-300 mm lens I also have an Excellent lens. I now have a complete unit. April 14, 2011
The perfect all around lens This lens is worth every penny I paid for it! Great all around lens. Even does well in low light. Couple it with a D3 and it is a total package. The only thing I do not like about it is the lens hood. Very flimsy and will sometimes even fall off the lens when shooting. April 14, 2011
Perfect FX walk-around Lens !!! I have a D-700 and have been looking for a FX lens that i can use as a walk-around combination. The 28-300 mm is a perfect combination of good wide angle and pull from the 300mm range. April 14, 2011
Versatile and Capable When I have an outdoor non-sporting event to shoot this is the lens I take. Used the lens hand held at an MS Charity Walk to capture the energy of the event as well as individuals because of the 28-300 mm VR. The zoom range makes it easy to compose and fill the frame which reduces the need for cropping after the fact. Some sort of post processing lens correction is a must to remove distortion (I use LR3) but colors are true and the images are sharp. The only issue I have is the lens hood which does not have a positive latching design and has come loose. April 14, 2011
The Perfect walkaround lens Have had this lens on my camera since Sept/2010. Have only changed it out to put on a nifty fifty or super wide angle. I am primarily an outdoor photographer and this lens fits the bill very well. Mounted on a D300, it works flawlessly. Because it is a FX lens, I am shooting down the center of the glass and everything is as sharp as it can be. A bit slow to use indoors, but the D300 allows me to compensate easily to bring in the right exposure every time... Phenomenal lens!!!!!! April 14, 2011
Terrific lens This lens is the best I have ever used. I am currently shooting a D7000 but want to move to an FX camera in the future and this is my first FX lens. I am very pleased with the ease of use and the great photos is produces. April 14, 2011
good lens, glad I bought it Bought the 28-300 with the d7000 together and rcvd the $200 discount Nikon is currently offering on the lens when packaged with the d7000, so $1900. I did this because I wanted a higher quality all around lens...I'm glad I did. This lens works well indoors and outdoors on the d7000. Taking advantage of the 200-300 range outdoors, this combination worked well, and my pics have been fantastic. worth the money...only downside is it is a bit heavy, but that was expected..indoor pics good, but the 50mm 1.8 would make more sense at an indoor event/party. March 19, 2011
IMPRESSIVE Ive shot with almost every Nikon cam since the D70 up to the D300 and tons of lenses and this is a Remarkable lens. handheld shots with slow shutters are very manageable. Image clarity capabilities give you the ability to shoot a perfect shot without being absolute in every step. THIS GLASS IS WORTH EVERY PENNY !!!!! March 8, 2011
Great Lens for FX I got my lens yesterday and took a couple of photos.. For this price and zoom range, the lens is great...It will be my travel companion for my next holidays....Feel that the zoom ring is a bit tight, but it should be OK.. February 8, 2011
Better than 18-200 I bought this lens as a replacement for the Nikon 18-200 which I thought was a little soft on some of the focal lengths. My biggest concern was the weight because I use it more as a walk around type lens. It is heavier but I really do not have a problem. I use this with the Nikon D7000 and between the two I love the combination. I did not think I could hand hold a lens at 300mm plus the quality is much better than the 18-200. If you travel or you want to cut down on the number of lenses to use this one is for you. February 5, 2011
Love this lens The lens is great and I can tell a big diffrence in the quality over some other lens I have. One drawback though is that it is a heavy lens. January 14, 2011
Excellent general purpose lens I waited a few months until I could find enough reviews to read before I purchased this lens for my own use. The general view appeared to be that it was an OK lens but had a lot of distortion at the short and long ends. Well coming from a 24-120 mm F 3.5 lens, that I was already happy with, and given the reviews of that lens as well, I decided to take the plunge. I'm happy I did. I'm not a professional but I am a meticulous person, and I take a lot of pride in my photography work. For what I do, this lens looks like it is going to be perfect. I've already taken enough shots to know I made the right choice. Best of all, I'm not switching lenses around anywhere nearly as often as I did before I bought this one, and that can only help to keep my D700 sensor clean here in our dusty state of Nevada. I'm delighted with my decision and my purchase! By the way, my lens hood does not seem to "rattle" as reported by some in previous reviews. December 27, 2010
So far So good Having just received this lens a week ago I will not have any tech feedback but I want to point out one minor and annoying thing..... The supplied lens shade rattles as you move around with the camera . Like I said....minor but worth pointing out. December 16, 2010
Great lens; does it all and really well! Ooops! I goofed in my review when I said "It can't replace my 17-35mm.....". What I meant to say is at the wide end of the zoom range this lens can't replace my 17-35mm f2.8. When I first heard of this lens coming out I thought it was a gimmick, another one size fits all, do everything lens. It's no gimmick; it performs great throughout its zoom range and I'm glad I got my hands on one sooner rather than later. December 13, 2010
Great lens; does it all and really well! I shot with this lens on my D700 and D2x as soon as I got it and I was thrilled with the pictures; they are sharp. I like it better on the FX camera because the low end range on a DX camera is not as useful at 42mm but you get 450mm at the long end. The AF on my lens is spot on, the zoom is nice and smooth and it holds the focus while you zoom the lens. The lens has good build quality, great appearance and it will close focus down to about 18". It can't replace my 17-35mm f2.8 but Nikon didn't design it to do that. It's a great lens to throw on the camera as you're going out the door and leave the gear bag at home. December 10, 2010
Wow, fast and sharp First I am not a professional photographer. I never thought I would be able to hand hold a 300m lens and get sharp fast action pictures. this lens makes it possible. November 3, 2010
WOW Over the years I've owned many Nikon products. This may be as good as it gets for a multi purpose lens. A little heavy but very sharp. Plenty fast enough on a D700 October 22, 2010
Great new lense! I just bought this lense as I was looking for the versatility of the 18-200 DX lense along with the reach of the 70-300 full frame lense. This 28-300 is perfect. I use a D300s camera so I still get the wide 42mm and the reach of the 450mm. I also wanted a lense I could use for closeups so I didn't have to crop as much in post processing. This lense works perfect. Check out the pic of the berries- uncropped at f16. I highly recommend this lense if you want the perfect everyday lense with wide angle, close up and telephoto all in one. AMAZING! October 17, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
67 Questions | 106 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
67 Questions | 106 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
6 Answers

Is it fully compatible with Nikon D7000 camera?

Mar 27, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Hi,

One friend offered me a new kit with this lens; ( D7000 + 18-105 DX VR ) + 28-300 VRII.
1. May you please inform me, is it a good combination?
2. And for this 28-300mm; short description says "An ideal lens for FX-format D-SLRs...". Is this fully compatible with D7000?

Thank you and best regards.
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Marlon
Turkey
Location : 
Turkey
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The combination is good. The comment about FX cameras states that it is compatible with FX cameras but it will work with your D7000.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. 100%. I traded in a 18 - 105 for the 28 - 300. Did not think I would bother switching back. It's a little bigger and heavier but that is a very small difference.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
AspiringPro
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely, it is fully compatible.
Since you will have the asp-c sensor in the D7000,
your focal length will be extended to 42-400mm,
while staying with the 3.5-5.6 aperture range.
I shoot full-frame and asp-c (DX), but purchase only
full-frame, non-DX lenses so that they are all compatible
with either camera.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Sir K
Houston, Tx
Location : 
Houston, Tx
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the d7000 with the 28mm-300mm vr. Once you use this lens you won't be satisfied with the quality of the photos of the 18-105mm kit lens. I would recommend not to waste your money on that lens. Purchase the body by itself and invest the money you saved in the 10-24mm dx as a wide angle lens when you need it and the 28-300mm for everything else you will have the only lenses you will ever need and an amazing system.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
cj
Oro Valley, AZ
Location : 
Oro Valley, AZ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Remember that all Nikon AF-S lenses on any Nikon that has the F mount (which is almost all).
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use these lenses with the D7000.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
5 Answers

Is this lens compatible with a Nikon N90?

Apr 2, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Definitely yes, truly love this lens, portrait, landscape, zoom, it does it all, looking forward to numerous shots at Disneyland, Universal Studios, Leggoland, and the beaches of Southern Calif, July 2014. Highly recommend.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Jun 18, 2014 by
by
edball40
Sidney, OH, USA
Location : 
Sidney, OH, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes it is. My new camera The d7000 is the direct replacement for the d90 and it should perform exactly the same on the d90.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
cj
Oro Valley, AZ
Location : 
Oro Valley, AZ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-8points
0out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful8
Answer: 
No. The lens is an DX format lens, so the image circle will not cover the entire film area. The lens will mount, but the image itself will be unusable.
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
bkane
Los Angeles, CA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the D5000?

Mar 30, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it is an AFS auto-focus, which means it will work with cameras which don't have built in auto-focus.
Your aps-c sensor will extend the focal range to 42-400mm, while giving you the same 3.5-5.6 aperture range.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Sir K
Houston, Tx
Location : 
Houston, Tx
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4
Answer: 
It is compatible. The image quality will blow your mind. The only draw back is that the 24-70mm is actually for a FX (Full Frame) camera. Thus, the 24-70mmm is affectively a 35-105mm lens on your D5000 (DX) camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
pixMouse
Lawrence, KS
Location : 
Lawrence, KS
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes! but with crop factor x1.5
28mm=42mm
300mm=450mm
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
LiorF
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Is the AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatable with my D90?

Apr 1, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Athol
Trinidad
Location : 
Trinidad
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely. You will have the same aperture range, but the aps-c sensor will extend your lenses range to 42-400mm.
Actually, since this lens is an AFS lens it will even work with DSLRs with no auto-focus motor built into the camera, like the D40, for example.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Sir K
Houston,Tx
Location : 
Houston,Tx
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The lens can be used on your D90 without any problem.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D90.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

If I had to buy one for all purposes, what would you recommend more 28-300 or 18- 200? I have a D60.

Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Catalina
Ridgewood NJ
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Catalina
Ridgewood NJ
Location : 
Ridgewood NJ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
This is not 28-300, it is essentially 28-200. At least the copy I received zoom only up to 200mm. Beyond that, just the ring rotates, no zooming!
Mar 5, 2013 by
by
Poor John
Baltimore, MD, USA
Location : 
Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4
Answer: 
Its a great Lens, but I think in DX mode you are better off with the 18-200. You will not have wide angle shots with this lens. Its equivalnet to a 50MM on a DX format.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
Ct Yankee
East Haddam, CT
Location : 
East Haddam, CT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
Answer: 
18-200 is lighter but 28-300 is better.
Aug 3, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The right selection for a lens will depend a lot on the type of photography that you are interesting. Some photographers look for faster lenses (large aperture ex. F/2.8), wide angle, Telephoto, Macro or zoom lenses.
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Is it fully compatible with Nikon D700 camera?

May 31, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
We Have d700
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Ashish
India
Location : 
India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely. It is my walk around lens for my D700in New York City.
Jun 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the only lenses that you will see changes are the DX specific lenses in the more recent AF-S lenses.
May 31, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is.
May 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

compatible with d3100?

Aug 2, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
All AFS lenses will work on the D3100
Aug 4, 2011 by
by
HalE

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3100.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Kat
Orlando, FL, USA
Location : 
Orlando, FL, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
It is better than my Nikkor 70-300 VR, but remember that there is focus breathing. Check preview reviews on this
Mar 13, 2014 by
by
sharpshooter
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Location : 
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
hi
I would suggest asking Support and Service here, I’m sure they can give you some help.
I believe Popular Photography Magazine does extensive testing of lenses of all manufacturers as well...
hope this helps.
Jun 16, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No focus problems
Jun 16, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Is it fully compatible with Nikon D100 camera?

Apr 25, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
May 26, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D100.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Someone probed this lens on D3100?

Apr 26, 2011 by
by
Luchio1979
Argentina
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Luchio1979
Argentina
Location : 
Argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please re-state your question with more detail as we can respond accurately.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
not actually, but this the FX (full frame) version of the 18-200 lens (that is DX only). in theory, it should be just as fine, however, you lose the wide angle range of the 18-200.
Apr 27, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers