Loading

Advanced medium-telephoto macro lens with VR II image stabilization.

This versatile medium-telephoto macro lens delivers fantastic close-up, macro and even portrait shooting with Vibration Reduction (VR II) image stabilization. Enjoy ample working distance and exceptional sharpness—even during handheld shooting—while creating lifesize (1:1 reproduction ratio) images. Advanced Nikon lens technologies provide consistently stunning performance with close-up subjects, flowers, insects, portraits and more.
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
M/A
IF Lens

Exquisite detail

Sharpness from life-size (1:1) to infinity

The compact AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 85mm f/3.5G ED VR is ideal for extreme close-up and general photography. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.0 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Discover a world of unseen detail with stunning sharpness and beautiful background bokeh in close-up, nature, portrait and general photography applications.

Surprising versatility

Stunning results in many applications

Optimized for DX-format cameras, the AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 85mm f/3.5G ED VR delivers exceptional images, reproducing every detail in true-to-life brilliance thanks to a host of Nikon lens technologies. Silent Wave Motor (SWM) provides ultra-fast, ultra-quiet internal autofocusing from infinity to life-size (1:1 reproduction ratio). SWM also allows for seamless manual focus override—key when shooting live subjects like insects or flowers. Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements provide superior sharpness and color reproduction, and Super Integrated Coating (SIC) virtually eliminates ghosting and lens flare.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: DX-format compatible lenses are attached to an DX-format digital SLR camera.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR 4.9 5 26 26
Big surprise in small package I waited a few weeks before writing this review. One to get familiar with the true macro lens and to work out my kinks. I ordered this Nikon 85mm micro lens after many weeks of researching what I should get. I have used all the various attachments, i.e. magnifiers, extension rings, x times filters and the Raynox M-250 ring. Which is great in a pinch. Not to mention the macro feature of a Tamron 70-300 zoom with macro feature. They all do a really good job and I never thought I would see a big difference in an actual macro lens. As the Pro’s say, there’s nothing like a real macro 1:1 lens. I’m now a believer. I struggled with various brands, sizes, etc. Let’s remember everyone has their own specific needs and price range. I actually wanted everything, distance, VR, internal focus, light weight, quality and because of the price, I was hoping to get more use out of this one lens, I did. I must say I almost made the wrong choice for me, but I’m glad I kept thinking about it. After much review and study, the Nikon (Nikkor) 85mm micro lens was the one. It seemed to fit right in the middle of what I wanted, needed and could afford. The Nikon delivers. I use this on a D7000. I have included a few pics for sampling. I found that very helpful when I was researching the various lenses. Although I not sure what size and quality the samples actual post at. The lens is sharp, fast and very responsive. I realize when shooting macro, a tripod is the way to go, but that is fine when you have a setup shot. A spontaneous moment requires that grab the camera and shoot. That’s one of the best features of the Nikon, the VR. The internal focus (so the lens does not get any longer) is also a Great feature. You can be at a very reasonable distance 9-10 inches at 1:1 for a great shot. The Infinity range of the lens takes good shots also, what a nice short telephoto lens. I’m sure going forward I will have more uses for this lens. I won’t go on about the other brands I checked out, and I sure there are good ones out there, but I am very very satisfied with the 85mm Nikkor. I would recommend it to anyone. If I had a Full frame camera, the 105 would have been my choice, but not this time. By the way, the samples I have included were all taken with the camera hand held. Limitation to file size though. I hope this review helps other to make a good decision, and to find the lens right for you. May 11, 2012
A superb lens for a botany photographer! This lens is an excellent intro lens for those looking to practice micro/macro photography. It is fast, easy to focus, and very accurate. I use it in botanical gardens and have consistently turned out quality captures using the camera in a hand-held, rather than a tripod, shooting method. The lens produces images with great clarity for the price. I've also used it for portraits and it excels there as well, especially when you don't want to be too close to your subject. You can walk it out for landscapes, also. I have used this lens, simply because it is so much fun to use, more than my wide angle and zoom lenses. It opens up a whole new world of artistic expression and composition that you wouldn't suspect otherwise. Highly recommended! September 8, 2011
Awesome Lens I'v had this lens for a little over a year now and I love it. I am really into photographing flowers and it's perfect. It allows me to get in as close as I want and it always captures beautiful colors. July 9, 2011
Everyone who enjoys macro should own this lens. This lens is absolutely FANTASTIC! I love taking pictures of insects, and the amount of wonderful shots I've gotten this spring/summer so far is just amazing. I've never had so much fun. It takes you in close and the picture quality is astounding. I use it with my D3100 (A terrific, user friendly SLR). It's also very light and all the focusing and mechanics is internal so there is no lens movement to scare away potential subjects when you're in close. I will include a few of the shots I've gotten so far. This lens should be in everyone's camera bag. The price is right also. July 7, 2011
GREAT LENS This is my go-to lens. I have had great success with this lens in almost everything I've tried. It's great for close-ups and for landscapes. June 10, 2011
A Defining Lens !!!!! The Pinnacle has been set ! Using this lens with a D300 brings marvel with every photo !! Image quality is unmatched with all but the top end lenses over $2,000 and equivalent to those as well. The VR function allows you to reach alot further into demanding the shot that most lenses fall short of. I've shot with most of Nikon's lineup and used almost every lens available in Nikon's line up and this is in the Top 5 and THE TOP in its price range scaling $1000 up or down. IF YOU DON'T HAVE THIS LENS, YOU ARE NOT SEEING YOUR FULL POTENTIAL AS A PHOTOGRAPHER ON ANY LEVEL ! May 26, 2011
Compact, light, easy to use We bought both the 85 mm DX micro and the 105 mm micro for work. I read that the 85 has significant barrel distortions and is below par for a Nikon lens. In contrast, the 105 is considered excellent. I have used both extensively for close work on small inanimate objects. For what I am doing, I see no difference at all between the pictures I get with 85 and the 105. The 105 is certainly more solid, but considerably heavier and twice the price. If you rather carry around a much lighter lens, the 85 should do just fine. I find both VR and auto focusing to be quite helpful. I have never had to manually focus, despite what I have read about the need for doing so under high magnifications. I also take all my close-ups without a tripod because the VR works so well. This is certainly not the advice I have seen. Everything I read says that micro picture must be taken with a tripod. April 21, 2011
A 'must have' lens! I only learned about Nikkor Micro lenses relatively late in my film camera days, but they quickly became favorites. This 85mm is the best yet. I love taking pictures of the various plants and shrubs I have in my yard and the ability to get in close for a dramatic image has enhanced my enjoyment of both the plants and the photography. Mated with the D7000, I have the perfect 'rig' for taking these photos. The sharpness of the images and the smoothness of operation make taking pictures a lot more fun. The biggest surprise was the discovery of the fine, delicate, details of blossoms, leaves, etc. I had not seen them before. When I post some of them on my facebook page, I get almost immediate feedback. Some of it comes from folks I don't even know. If you haven't ever tried a micro lens, you owe it to yourself to do so. It will open your eyes to a whole new world of subject matter. April 19, 2011
Great for model closeups an portraiture I purchased this lens to explore 1:1 micro photography, but discovered it is great for portraits also. I also have used it for closeups of small architecture models in day lit conditions with good effect. April 18, 2011
great image quality I love the quality variance of color and sharpness of the images I get with this lens, I've used it from Macro to portraits and never fails to give me excellent results and all this for a lens that don't break the bank. I have 5 Nikon lenses and this is one of my favorites April 17, 2011
Just what I was looking for. This Nikon 85mm f/3.5 micro is a great lens. Edge to edge clarity and focus are very good, autofocus works very well and fast. It's light, easy to handle and easy to pack. April 14, 2011
Amazing! Super sharp and fast focus on my D90 & D7K. It's a whole new world when I take close-up or micro shot. The details just astonishing with this lens and the f3.5 great addition in low light too. March 2, 2011
Almost as good on DX as its big 105 mm FX sibling The AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 85mm f/3.5G ED VR has wonderful sharpness and contrast. When used on our D90, we have found the 85 mm to often be the equal, in sharpness and clarity, of its bigger and heavier sibling, the AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED used on a D300. This conclusion was based on hundreds of close-up hand-held insect photographs, taken under natural light and flash, using a monopod as an effective inertial stabilizer. August 31, 2010
Great closeups! I've been shooting with Nikon equipment, both as a pro and as a hobbyist for forty five years and have never been disappointed . I bought this lens a few weeks ago and immediately tested it out shooting in my garden...both flowers and insects. The lens provides incredible 1:1 detail. At this distance I usually focus manually, but I did shoot several shots on autofocus with good results. Another happy Nikon purchase! Now, if I could only get those bugs to sit still for a minute while I focus! July 30, 2010
Stunning quality of photos I recently purchased this lense to add to my arsenal. I have only had a couple of opportunities to take it out, but I was amazed at the detail I was able to capture. I was taking shots outside and this is by far one of my favorite lenses. I would definitely recommend this lense. July 30, 2010
GREAT!!!! THIS TELEPHOTO IS THE BEST!!!!! I´M A DOCTOR IN MEDICINE AND USE THE TELEPHOTO FOR MY HEART CIRURGICS. THE QUALITY IS BRILANT. THANK YOU. DALVO July 11, 2010
Worth the wait. Excellent clear close-ups. This is my 3rd foray into micro-nikkor lenses, and I just may hang on to this one! With the VR function it is easier to use, however at really close work a tripod is pretty much required to get the best out of the lens. I got it for a D5000, and have since moved to a D5300, and it is so clear and sharp, and the colours are very rich. It helped to adjust the camera to force the lens to a higher f-stop in order to get the depth of field needed for most three-dimensional items, With a little care to the camera work, the final results are certainly worth the effort! I have a list of small valuable items that will eventually get photographed, and I'm looking forward to the results. Attached image is mildly compressed to fit this website's requirements. September 26, 2014
Fantástica Excelente lente com um desfoque fantástico para retratos. December 3, 2013
Brilliant 1:1 I am fairly new to macro. Recently I found my ground and needed a good lens for a good price. I bought 40mm before this, but the distance was always an issue with me, so I ended up buying this and I know I will never regret this decision. The lens is amazing. The ergonomics are a little slow, but that could be because I am using d3100 with fewer focus points then a pro level camera, but this lens delivers! 1:1 ratio is amazing!! Only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 because, I would have liked to see f 2.8 instead of 3.5. I am learning and growing more into macro photography everyday because of this lens. Very soon, I am planning to upgrade to d7000. I hope this lens works on it. I really do ! If you are like me and make second - third decisions on everything. STOP! This is the right one. Buy this lens if you are serious about macro photography. Expand your horizons and grow. Below are some of my pictures. November 27, 2012
Great lens for macro and portrait This is a great lens to carry around for many uses. It is very sharp and the VR helps in low light or hand held macro photography. I have used this mainly as a walk around lens which will give me the ability to do macro photography if I find something to shoot close up. The portraits are also excellent. The lens is very sharp and fun to use. August 1, 2010
Love it Love this lens, image quality is flawless and crisp as a chip, my only gripe with this lense is the very narrow depth of field at any appture setting but that I can live with July 31, 2010
Page:2
<<prev
34 Questions | 41 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
34 Questions | 41 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Does it work with Nikon D 7000?

May 28, 2011 by
by
Tarzan
Pula, Croatia
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Tarzan
Pula, Croatia
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I use it with my D7000; it works fantastically. Definitely recommend the combination.
Jun 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely
May 31, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does.
May 28, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Where is this lens made?

Jan 17, 2012 by
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Ron
AZ
Location : 
AZ
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Nikon operates factories all across the globe and each operate to the same high standard. While individual cameras are marked with their country of manufacture we can't make a blanket statement about which camera is produced where.
Jan 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
My 105mm Micro nikkor is made in China. I'll assume the 85mm is also made in China to Nikon specs.
I can find no fault with these lenses, They are superb in every way.
Jan 18, 2012 by
by
Buster
South Oregon coast
Location : 
South Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
China.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Does it work for D5000?

Nov 29, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
kapakli
Turkey
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Nov 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5000.
Nov 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Does it work with D90?

Apr 2, 2012 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
haas
Michigan, USA
Location : 
Michigan, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your D90 has an inbuilt focus motor so should work with almost all nikkor and other manufacturers Nikon comparable AF lenses.
Apr 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 2, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Minimum Aperture

Mar 3, 2013 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Hi,

Why our Tech Specs says Minimum Aperture f32, when my camera shows f36? I have d300.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S DX Micro 85mm f/3.5 G Lens has a minimum aperture of f/32 at infinity focus. However, when shooting with micro lenses, increasing the reproduction ratio decreases the amount of light that is projected onto the sensor. This decrease in light causes the "effective f-number" of the lens to be higher than the original value. The camera will display the effective f-number in order to give the user an accurate representation of exposure.

For more information on this please see pages 17 and 148 of the AF-S DX Micro 85mm f/3.5 G Lens Manual. A copy of this manual can be downloaded from this page:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 4, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
f/32 at infinity. f/45 minimum focus distance.
Mar 4, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
1 answer

Does it work with a Nikon D 3100?

Jun 4, 2011 by
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does.
Jun 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
1 answer

does this lens work/fit a D80?

Jun 26, 2011 by
by
rebo
south louisiana
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
rebo
south louisiana
Location : 
south louisiana
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jun 26, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
1 answer

Does this lens work on the D 300?

Jul 21, 2011 by
Has staff answer
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Jeannie
SD
Location : 
SD
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D300.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
1 answer

Does it work with a D 70s ?

Oct 1, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, fully compatible.
Oct 1, 2011 by
by
MichaelL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
1 answer

Does this work with D5100

Nov 14, 2011 by
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, all functions will work
Nov 14, 2011 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers