Loading

Advanced medium-telephoto macro lens with VR II image stabilization.

This versatile medium-telephoto macro lens delivers fantastic close-up, macro and even portrait shooting with Vibration Reduction (VR II) image stabilization. Enjoy ample working distance and exceptional sharpness—even during handheld shooting—while creating lifesize (1:1 reproduction ratio) images. Advanced Nikon lens technologies provide consistently stunning performance with close-up subjects, flowers, insects, portraits and more.
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
M/A
IF Lens

Exquisite detail

Sharpness from life-size (1:1) to infinity

The compact AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 85mm f/3.5G ED VR is ideal for extreme close-up and general photography. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.0 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Discover a world of unseen detail with stunning sharpness and beautiful background bokeh in close-up, nature, portrait and general photography applications.

Surprising versatility

Stunning results in many applications

Optimized for DX-format cameras, the AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 85mm f/3.5G ED VR delivers exceptional images, reproducing every detail in true-to-life brilliance thanks to a host of Nikon lens technologies. Silent Wave Motor (SWM) provides ultra-fast, ultra-quiet internal autofocusing from infinity to life-size (1:1 reproduction ratio). SWM also allows for seamless manual focus override—key when shooting live subjects like insects or flowers. Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements provide superior sharpness and color reproduction, and Super Integrated Coating (SIC) virtually eliminates ghosting and lens flare.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: DX-format compatible lenses are attached to an DX-format digital SLR camera.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR 4.9 5 24 24
Super sharp details in all photos taken at all distances. I have taken over 400 photos of different subjects at different distances. The details are sharp clean and crisp in all the photos, except those where I failed to hold the camera steady or where I snapped the shutter before the AF functioned. A photo of a pecan laid on a table cloth snapped at a distance of about 12 inches was so sharp that the linen fibers in the threads on the table cloth were visible and all the texture on the pecan was lear. Photos of a rosemary plant at 30 ft showed the texture of the leaves. Color was correct on all subjects. specially nice is a shot of ice covered tree limbs with the sun shining through and a deep blue sky background. I have six other lenses ranging from a 50 mm prime to a 150-500 mm zoom. so far, none of them are superior to the 85mm f3.5. December 26, 2013
A Brand New World! I knew I wanted a macro lens. It would be my first, and as all my other lenses are Nikon made, I wanted to 'keep it in the family'. Like many, I did my research before committing to a purchase. I chose this, the 85mm after careful consideration and many great reviews on various sites. For a maiden voyage, I took it to a combo flower/butterfly show. How did it fair? Incredible, fantastic, marvelous...need I go on? I won't say every shot was perfect. They never are, right? Yet, when I got home and had the chance to really see what I'd shot on my 27" LED monitor, I almost couldn't believe my eyes. Bottom line? I'm thrilled with this lens! I feel like I've opened the door to a brand new world of creative possibilities. Now go get yours! I'll try to get some of those first shots up soon! November 1, 2013
Nice macro and portrait lens I was looking for an 85 for portraits on my D7000, with the DX crop that would be close to what a 135 would be on a film camera. I also wanted a macro to shoot food and flowers. After some research I decided on this lens. After four months of use I can say it was a good purchase. This is a nice lens that performs well. It does hunt occasionally, the nature of the beast, and when it does I switch to manual focus and move the camera back and forth to get what i want. For portraiture it gives a nice blurred background (I don't like the term Bokeh). August 29, 2013
Great little macro lens for the money! The Nikkor Micro 85 mm VR is a great macro lens for the money. Quite sharp with almost no distortion at all. For DX users this is a superb addition to your kit. The VR enables good macro results hand held, and the 85mm focal length is great for general photos and portrait work (as long as you don't need super smooth bokeh). For a modest price this macro lens opens up a whole new world of creativity. November 29, 2012
Big surprise in small package I waited a few weeks before writing this review. One to get familiar with the true macro lens and to work out my kinks. I ordered this Nikon 85mm micro lens after many weeks of researching what I should get. I have used all the various attachments, i.e. magnifiers, extension rings, x times filters and the Raynox M-250 ring. Which is great in a pinch. Not to mention the macro feature of a Tamron 70-300 zoom with macro feature. They all do a really good job and I never thought I would see a big difference in an actual macro lens. As the Pro’s say, there’s nothing like a real macro 1:1 lens. I’m now a believer. I struggled with various brands, sizes, etc. Let’s remember everyone has their own specific needs and price range. I actually wanted everything, distance, VR, internal focus, light weight, quality and because of the price, I was hoping to get more use out of this one lens, I did. I must say I almost made the wrong choice for me, but I’m glad I kept thinking about it. After much review and study, the Nikon (Nikkor) 85mm micro lens was the one. It seemed to fit right in the middle of what I wanted, needed and could afford. The Nikon delivers. I use this on a D7000. I have included a few pics for sampling. I found that very helpful when I was researching the various lenses. Although I not sure what size and quality the samples actual post at. The lens is sharp, fast and very responsive. I realize when shooting macro, a tripod is the way to go, but that is fine when you have a setup shot. A spontaneous moment requires that grab the camera and shoot. That’s one of the best features of the Nikon, the VR. The internal focus (so the lens does not get any longer) is also a Great feature. You can be at a very reasonable distance 9-10 inches at 1:1 for a great shot. The Infinity range of the lens takes good shots also, what a nice short telephoto lens. I’m sure going forward I will have more uses for this lens. I won’t go on about the other brands I checked out, and I sure there are good ones out there, but I am very very satisfied with the 85mm Nikkor. I would recommend it to anyone. If I had a Full frame camera, the 105 would have been my choice, but not this time. By the way, the samples I have included were all taken with the camera hand held. Limitation to file size though. I hope this review helps other to make a good decision, and to find the lens right for you. May 11, 2012
Page: 2
next>>
34 Questions | 41 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
34 Questions | 41 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Does it work with Nikon D 7000?

May 28, 2011 by
by
Tarzan
Pula, Croatia
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Tarzan
Pula, Croatia
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I use it with my D7000; it works fantastically. Definitely recommend the combination.
Jun 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely
May 31, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does.
May 28, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Where is this lens made?

Jan 17, 2012 by
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Ron
AZ
Location : 
AZ
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Nikon operates factories all across the globe and each operate to the same high standard. While individual cameras are marked with their country of manufacture we can't make a blanket statement about which camera is produced where.
Jan 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
My 105mm Micro nikkor is made in China. I'll assume the 85mm is also made in China to Nikon specs.
I can find no fault with these lenses, They are superb in every way.
Jan 18, 2012 by
by
Buster
South Oregon coast
Location : 
South Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
China.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Does it work for D5000?

Nov 29, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
kapakli
Turkey
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Nov 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5000.
Nov 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Does it work with D90?

Apr 2, 2012 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
haas
Michigan, USA
Location : 
Michigan, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your D90 has an inbuilt focus motor so should work with almost all nikkor and other manufacturers Nikon comparable AF lenses.
Apr 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 2, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Minimum Aperture

Mar 3, 2013 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Hi,

Why our Tech Specs says Minimum Aperture f32, when my camera shows f36? I have d300.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S DX Micro 85mm f/3.5 G Lens has a minimum aperture of f/32 at infinity focus. However, when shooting with micro lenses, increasing the reproduction ratio decreases the amount of light that is projected onto the sensor. This decrease in light causes the "effective f-number" of the lens to be higher than the original value. The camera will display the effective f-number in order to give the user an accurate representation of exposure.

For more information on this please see pages 17 and 148 of the AF-S DX Micro 85mm f/3.5 G Lens Manual. A copy of this manual can be downloaded from this page:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 4, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
f/32 at infinity. f/45 minimum focus distance.
Mar 4, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
1 answer

Does it work with a Nikon D 3100?

Jun 4, 2011 by
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does.
Jun 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
1 answer

does this lens work/fit a D80?

Jun 26, 2011 by
by
rebo
south louisiana
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
rebo
south louisiana
Location : 
south louisiana
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jun 26, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
1 answer

Does this lens work on the D 300?

Jul 21, 2011 by
Has staff answer
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Jeannie
SD
Location : 
SD
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D300.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
1 answer

Does it work with a D 70s ?

Oct 1, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, fully compatible.
Oct 1, 2011 by
by
MichaelL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
 
1 answer

Does this work with D5100

Nov 14, 2011 by
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, all functions will work
Nov 14, 2011 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers