Loading

The essential telephoto zoom lens for passionate shooters.

With a f/2.8 fixed maximum aperture, VR II image stabilization and Nikon’s advanced lens technologies, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II delivers a versatile telephoto zoom range and professional performance in nearly any light.  Whether you’re shooting low-light sports, wildlife, fashion, portraits or everyday subjects, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will reliably capture stunning, bright, razor-sharp images and HD videos
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
A-M
M/A
IF Lens

Catch the shots that matter

Fast f/2.8 maximum aperture and VR II

An update to Nikon’s legendary f/2.8 fixed aperture telephoto zoom lens, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II captures stunning full-frame images with remarkable speed. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-fast, ultra-quiet autofocusing with seamless manual focus override. No matter what you’re shooting, you’ll capture it with uncompromising speed and precision—at any focal length.

Images in a class of their own

Renowned NIKKOR optics and advanced Nikon lens technologies

Photos and HD videos captured with the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II are second to none. The lens draws peak performance from advanced D-SLRs for exceptional sharpness, contrast and color rendering. From its enhanced autofocusing (SWM), VR II image stabilization, Nano Crystal Coat (N), Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass and more, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will broaden your shooting potential and inspire some of your most impressive shots yet.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths. Nano Crystal Coat solves ghost effects caused by red light and effectively reduces ghost and flare caused by light entering the lens diagonally.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
A-M
A-M
A-M stands for Auto-Manual Mode. Thanks to a mechanism incorporated in the lens barrel, smooth focusing operation in Manual focus mode is realized in the same way as users have become accustomed to with conventional manual-focus lenses by adding an appropriate torque to the focus ring.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II 4.8 5 188 188
Excellent High Performance Lens A great addition to my Nikon lens collection (24-70mm 2.8 and 14-24mm 2.8). This one lives up to the others in terms of performance. It feels like it will last forever, a bit on the heavy side but expected with this caliber of lens. September 1, 2010
VR is invaluable I shoot 95% available light. You don't know what you are missing (VR) until you try a VR lens. I did low light comparison tests (no VR and VR on) at 200mm, and VR makes a huge difference. I have a very steady hand, but VR gave me at least 2 extra stops of shutter speed. August 24, 2010
Heavy, but WOW! This lens is a heavy one...weighs more than the camera and needs a hardy arm to handle. But "holy cow!" at the ability of this lens to get your moment in low light. Beautiful output. August 14, 2010
Great Lens! Absolutely love this lens. It is perferct for outdoor or indoor sports. August 11, 2010
Must Have! I've owned 3 different generations of this same lens and they each have been excellent. If I could only have 2 lenses, this would be one of them. August 10, 2010
Superb Lens This lens replaced the original 70-200mm 2.8 VR lens which had issues with the FX format, This lens is FANTASTIC, I would put it in the same class as a prime lens as it has sharpness I have never seen in a zoom lens. We use this lens mostly to shoot Celebrity Children. I would not hesitate to suggest this lens to anyone. Great job NIKON August 8, 2010
"Wonderful!!!!!!!!!" Portraits and sporting events but always on the other body no matter what the shoot is, its absolutely wonderful. Has become my favorite lens for sporting events. Wonderful balance and tack sharp, a typical NIKON high quality lens. You will absolutely be more than pleased with this lens. August 7, 2010
Awesome lens It's unbelievable that anyone could handhold a 200mm lens and it still be sharp but with this lens it is. I absolutely love this lens. In my opinion it's the best zoom lens on the market. It's a little heavy but the picture quality makes it worth it. Buy it. August 4, 2010
The absolute best! Matched up with my D300 results in a sweet combo that does not disappoint on any front. Very fast focus for taking eagle photos along the Mississippi. August 4, 2010
always gets the shot This lens is as close as any I have seen (in addition to possibly the 24-70) for which I would say it always gets the shot. The photographer obviously makes a difference, but all the qualities that people rave about like clarity, sharpness, fast focusing, and vibration reduction, etc. make this a trustworthy lens in any circumstance in which it can be used. I use it a lot for low light music photography, and I have to say that I haven't seen a lot of difference between it and my older 70-200 VR (which I still have and use for travel). But I'll trust all the reviews that say it's a tad sharper and truer in dimension. I know I (and my clients) like the results, and I am amazed they can be achieved in such low light while hand held. August 3, 2010
A very good lens. This lens is one of the best I have ever used. It is very sharp and fast focusing. I shoot a lot of photos in low light and the VR lets me handhold the lens using a slower shutter speed than ever before. Coupled with the D3 it has handled every shoot with ease. August 3, 2010
Worth the Price This is a superb fast lens, It a 105mm to 300mm in the DX format if you add a TC-20E II you have a 210 to 600mm lens in the again in the DX format. Because is a constant 2.8 there is the likelihood you add two stops and still get a great shots. Not many of us can afford a quality 600mm lens or would like to carry one all day, this combination opens the door for a quality telephoto lens at a lower cost and weight. The lens is well made as I often backpack, mule pack, or canoe with this lens and it still works faultless. I love the Boken I get from this lens it is brilliant. The lens is a bit heavy and best used on a tri-pod but with the VR on I do not hesitate to shoot hand held. For wild life photography this is a must have lens It will render top quality prints throughout the range. In summary this lens is well worth the price and I believe will hold its value for years. August 3, 2010
Fantastic Lens I shoot live entertainment shows and with the combination of the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II and the Nikon D3s camera body the skies the limit for what you can do and the results are 5 starts all the way. August 1, 2010
Favorite lens This is by far my favorite lens. It is very sharp, focuses very quickly and accurately, and has fabulous bokeh. It is a bit of a load on my D3s, but well worth it. I replaced the first generation VR lens, and this lens is a big enough improvement to be worth the cost. I had trouble with the old lens not focusing if I accidently touched the focusing ring while using the autofocus. This lens doesn't do that. My only suggestion would be to use the collapsable lens hood from Mamiya that screws on the lens. It stops the lens hood from coming off and still gives the lens protection. Scott Kelby recommended it, and as he says, it rocks. Overall, this is a fabulous lens! August 1, 2010
I love this lens This lens stays on my camera 99% of the time. Beautiful bokeh for portraits. Super fast focusing. Perfect for portraits of fast moving children, sports, everything! August 1, 2010
Absolute BEST Have had many zoom lenses over the years, this one is the BEST yet! I shoot on the beach and in gardens with a D3, and this lens performs so well that I use it almost exclusively - for family and wedding portraiture. The VRII is tac-sharp, and so fast that I don't even have to think about it while working. If I would change anything, I'd figure out a way to lock all of the slide-switches as I've inadvertently moved them while shooting/panning for action shots. Buy this lens! August 1, 2010
Impressive...as are all Nikon products I have been a semi-professional photographer since the mid 70's doing mostly nature work and astronomical photography (astrophotography). I bought my first Nikon F2S in '76, and FT2 in '77 and many Nikon lenses...all of which produced superior results that have been shown in various astronomical magazines since 1976. Now comes the digital age...so I bypassed my darkroom, bought a D-80, a D-90 and several Nikon lenses to support my work. The 70-200 mm f/2.8 is expensive but produces the same superior results that I have always come to expect from Nikon. At f/2.8 stellar images are crisp and clear. And since a 200 mm lens really equates to a 300 mm lens with an SLR "film" camera, the added advantage of extra focal length makes this lens more versatile. VR stabilizes an image (that may be induced may by a cable release) to produce "long shot" lunar and deep sky photographs that are absolutely stunning. I even added the Nikon AF 35 mm f/1.8 lens for wide field astrophotography. Photographs of the constellation of Orion or the Milky Way from Cygnus through Sagittarius have produced outstanding results with this wide angle lens. July 31, 2010
Best of the BEST of in its class I have purchse and use the previous model and sold it to purchase this new generation, best move ever made. This lens speaks for it self July 31, 2010
A Phenomenal Lens I really really wanted this lens last year, but I needed to replace my 3rd party 24-70 2.8 so I opted to purchase the Nikkor 24-70 2.8 (Incredible in its own right) before acquiring my 70-200 2.8 VRII. I am using my new lens with my D300 (Not "S") and Man oh man is this lens great. Very fast to focus, quiet, the VRII is fantastic and it is as sharp as a scalpel. I also like the new M/A switch making the autofocus secondary manual focus. It is a hefty beast. That being said, it is very well balanced and easy to handle making it a non issue for me. It is a testament to the build quality and materials used to create such a fine product. Now I can't wait until Nikon has more TC-20E III 2X Teleconverters available. Nikon has a real winner here... July 31, 2010
Bought it again I love this lens, 6 months ago I bought this lens after waiting on a long list I finally got it, I used it for 6 months then on a shoot it went swimming with the fishes, in SanFrancisco bay, I found out that my insurance would not cover it (Fair warning) I loved it so much I went out and bought another one just like it, I am not rich it hurt the pocket book but it was worht it. July 31, 2010
Excellent glass, some quibbles Excellent resolution, fast, very sharp, easy to use, quiet, comfortable, good length reduction for bag fit, a bit heavy, differing focal length slight problem, some slight vignetting, overall, Excellent -. If the quibbles were not there, it would be Excellent +. July 31, 2010
BETTER THAN THE PHOTOGRAPHER Taking mostly sports action shots under artificial light this lens surprised me with how well it performed. The results were better than what I expected after downloading to a larger screen. Very easy to use. July 31, 2010
A Must Have Lens!! I got this lens specifically for my sons baseball games. UNBELIEVABLE, is the best phrase I can use. I have also used this lens at my daughters dance performances where flashes are not allowed, and she is under low light, again UNBELIEVABLE!! I paired this with my D300s. July 31, 2010
my perfect lens Love this lens, fast aperture, tack sharp and nicely balanced, this is my primary lens. Perfect for indoor events and low light, with the VR hand holding becomes possible where I used to need a monopod or even tripod at 200mm under these conditions (I shoot at ISO 200 or less only). Being a wildlife/landscape photographer, another place I use this lens is from the driver seat of my truck, It's a great length to swing around, even in close quarters. Perfect lens! I'll keep buying these as Nikon keeps upgrading them. July 31, 2010
Great Lens! Very good lens! VERY sharp images. Lens is heavy. When attached to your camera, you should get use to carrying this set-up by the len's body rather than the camera's body. I use an over the shoulder strap that attaches to the lens tripod mount. Worth the investment. July 31, 2010
a great lens I can't believe how this lens has changed my style of photography. I have become a snipper capturing images without the clients knowing I'm photographing them. The lens is fast and sharp and well worth the investment. July 31, 2010
the nature lens of choice when here in jersey this is the lens of choice for shooting in the dog park of the meadowlands bird sanctuary. this is my third favorite lens from nikon but again my lens of choice for nature. I have the d 300 and d 700 I only use the 14 to 24 the 24 to 70 and 70 to 200. These five peices of equipment and constantly teavhing me to see thw orld and capture the moments in new ways. I love NIKON products!!! July 31, 2010
Best 70-200 I have ever used Simply put this is the best 70-200 I have ever used. I had the older Nikon and have owned the Canon. I always felt that the 70-200 was a must for a pro photographer but the quality was hit and miss. Some had focusing issues and others were just a little soft. The new 70-200 II is very accurate and focuses well in low light. It is also as sharp as many primes. Nikon got this one right. I can't recommend this lens highly enough. July 31, 2010
Incredible sports lens I use it for indoor high school basketball and nighttime baseball. Lightning focus with tracking on my D700 and plenty sharp wide open. July 30, 2010
Nikon's Best Lens Ever? This is arguably Nikon's best lens ever produced for a DSLR. It produces unbelievably sharp images throughout its aperature range. I have only had it for the last three or four months, but during that time, it has become my favorite lens. The lens is big and it is heavy but its VRII system allows me to take hand-held shots that I would not attempt with any other lens. The silent wave motor allows for fast, accurate, and quiet focusing in the AF mode. My words can't begin to describe just how good this lens is. If this lens will fill a need in your lens collection, buy it. I guarantee that you will love it. July 30, 2010
Page: 4 5 6 7 8
<<prev | next>>
57 Questions | 87 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
57 Questions | 87 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

Will this lens work with my D90?

Apr 13, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
3out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Tammer
Canada
Location : 
Canada
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
I use this lense on both a D90 and a D3S, and it works great.
Apr 22, 2011 by
by
Paul
Key West, FL
Location : 
Key West, FL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Oh yes
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes. But effective focal length will be 105 mm to 300 mm given 1.5 crop factor ( D90 is not full frame camera). LENS IS SO GOOD THAT YOU NEED TO TRY IT TO BELIEVE.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
docmic
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the lens will work with your D90.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

D80, will this lens work on it?

May 18, 2011 by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I'm planning on upgrading my camera at some point from a D80 to something better. I have two questions.

Will this lens work on it?

Can I use this lens on the camera witout having to have a monopod or tripod? I like to keep my camera in my hand via a secure strap. I'm wondering if I can do that same with this lens attached?

Thanks,

---Mark
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
Location : 
Stanhope, NJ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! You can use this with your D80.
I'm using this with my D80, and it is completely hand holdable
Note, the lens will dwarf the camera. it makes the camera feel like a stack of post it notes.
All joking a side, it will focus just as great as it would on any other camera.
the measurements will lead to 105 - 300 F2.8 on the D80.
you dont even need to hold the camera so much, just the lens.
Yes, you can have this camera and lens secure by a trap, I recommend getting a sling so your gear won't weigh your neck down. and it just works!
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
RK
B.C Canada
Location : 
B.C Canada
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
on the shorter focal lengths, with VR turned on, you can use it handheld, however, it will be HEAVY. on longer focal lengths, unless you're using very fast shutter speeds, you will have to have at least a monopod. and an af-s lens is compatible with all D-series nikon bodies, and will be.
May 19, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80, And the monopod/tripod problem is really depend on what shutter speed you can work on, But it is better to have monopod/tripod when taking indoor/lowlight conduction because you can boost the ISO high enought on the D80 for a faster shutter speed
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

how will this lens work wih my 7000 camera

Mar 17, 2011 by
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
john
neenah wi
Location : 
neenah wi
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just upgrade from VRI to VRII for my D7000 and it is amazing.
If you are shooting at distance and you require the best possible results this is what you need.
Alex
Aug 2, 2013 by
by
Alex
London, UK
Location : 
London, UK
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
This lens works flawlessly with my D7000. I borrowed one for a wedding and it was a dream to use in the fact that I hardly thought about it the whole time, aside from wanting one!

Sample image was shot w/ a D7000 and the 70-200 VRII
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very well. I use this on my D7000 with no problem at all.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What kind of teleconvertes I can use?

Apr 3, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
gaby
bermuda
Location : 
bermuda
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1
Answer: 
It depends on what you are shooting but i would use the nikon 1.7x teleconverter. It's not too much of a decrement in autofocus speed and light loss but still 70% more zoom. Great fit.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
Answer: 
AF-S Teleconverters (TC-14E II /TC-17E II /TC-20E II)
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
Answer: 
TC-14E II, TC-17E II, TC-20E II and TC-20E III can all be used with the 70-200.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Aperture locked on f/2.8

Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Has staff answer
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
I realized today that my AF-S VR-NIKKOR 70-200mm 1:2.8 G ED lens does not respond to any camera it's mounted to as far as changing the aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture setting. Also, when attempting to preview using the "Depth Of Field Preview Button" on either my D200, D300, or D700, I can hear the click of the camera actuate the button, but it seems the camera is not receiving the change in aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture. I purchased the lens from B&H Photo as a factory refurbished lens and was wondering if by looking up the serial number, it can be determined if the reason it was refurbished was for the same reason.
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Dan The Photo Man, you are right on the money!!! I got a response from Nikon that made my head spin. Totally off base as far as I'm concerned. BUT...You, my friend were exactly on point! After reading your response, I took a look at the aperture arm and at first I didn't notice that it was bent. But it did not move freely in its slot. I the took a small needle nose and bent it a tiny bit, away from the side of the slot that it was rubbing against, and it sprung to the other end of the slot. It now moves freely and is spring loaded and when I tried it on the camera, it operated properly. Thanks a million, Dan!
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sounds like the aperture arm (a little metal piece that protrudes from the lens at the mounting end) is either damaged or has been bent. When you put the lens on the camera you have to be careful not to damage the arm.

It's a shiny silver piece that should move freely in it's slot (about a half inch back and forth) and as you manually move it you will see the aperture change. You may have to bend it slightly back to it's correct position so it will engage and function properly.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Dan the photo man
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Information regarding why it was refurbished is not shown with the serial number. You are welcome to send the lens for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

can i use this lens with a D3000 ?

Mar 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. No problem, but the images will be cropped. I use it on my DX body cameras.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use this lens with the D3000.
Mar 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Can I use with D7000 and D70?

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
cooknsouth
Tulare, CA
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
cooknsouth
Tulare, CA
Location : 
Tulare, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
D7000, yes. D70 yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the D7000 has a focusing motor in it as well so it can take both lenses w/ motors in them (like this 70-200) or without (like the 80-200). The D70 also has a built-in motor so it will work with both as well. The D7000's AF system is much more advanced, however, and is very quick in comparison to my D200's AF, fyi.

The sample image was taken w/ this 70-200 VRII and my D7000.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

will this lens work with my d3100?

May 24, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens will definitely work with your D3100. As long as the lens is an AF-S type lens, then it will function with the DSLR body at hand. Also, as a VR G type lens, it will offer those functions as well. So, you really have nothing to worry about.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3100.
May 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Is this lense covered with international warranty?

Jun 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
or I have to pay extra bucks for it?
 
Products related to my question
 
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
kartik
india
Location : 
india
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
That depends on what you bought at the time of purchase - did you pay the USA or the International (gray market) price? If it said USA, then you got the USA warranty that covers it for five years. If you paid the International price, then you got the international warranty that is different from the USA warranty. It gets a little confusing, but that's the bottom line. They are different, and how Nikon handles repairs differs as well.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased.
Jun 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Is it possible to purchase a replacement foot for the lens collar?

Jul 12, 2011 by
by
Uncle Bob
Atlanta
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am looking for a replacement foot for the lens collar. I have the collar, but not foot. Internet search didn't turn up anything.
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Uncle Bob
Atlanta
Location : 
Atlanta
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Take a look at Kirk or Really Right Stuff, both do replacement feet for the 70-200.
Jul 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please get in contact with Nikon Parts Department
7AM - 3PM (Pacific) Monday - Friday
310-414-8107/ Fax- 310-322-6979
Jul 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers