Loading

The essential telephoto zoom lens for passionate shooters.

With a f/2.8 fixed maximum aperture, VR II image stabilization and Nikon’s advanced lens technologies, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II delivers a versatile telephoto zoom range and professional performance in nearly any light.  Whether you’re shooting low-light sports, wildlife, fashion, portraits or everyday subjects, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will reliably capture stunning, bright, razor-sharp images and HD videos
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
A-M
M/A
IF Lens

Catch the shots that matter

Fast f/2.8 maximum aperture and VR II

An update to Nikon’s legendary f/2.8 fixed aperture telephoto zoom lens, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II captures stunning full-frame images with remarkable speed. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-fast, ultra-quiet autofocusing with seamless manual focus override. No matter what you’re shooting, you’ll capture it with uncompromising speed and precision—at any focal length.

Images in a class of their own

Renowned NIKKOR optics and advanced Nikon lens technologies

Photos and HD videos captured with the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II are second to none. The lens draws peak performance from advanced D-SLRs for exceptional sharpness, contrast and color rendering. From its enhanced autofocusing (SWM), VR II image stabilization, Nano Crystal Coat (N), Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass and more, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will broaden your shooting potential and inspire some of your most impressive shots yet.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths. Nano Crystal Coat solves ghost effects caused by red light and effectively reduces ghost and flare caused by light entering the lens diagonally.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
A-M
A-M
A-M stands for Auto-Manual Mode. Thanks to a mechanism incorporated in the lens barrel, smooth focusing operation in Manual focus mode is realized in the same way as users have become accustomed to with conventional manual-focus lenses by adding an appropriate torque to the focus ring.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II 4.8 5 190 190
The greatest lens I have ever used. Hello all, wether you're wealthy and just scanning over a couple of quick reviews or obsessing over this lens like I did, you obviously want to know about this lens. I know that before I bought it I was constantly trying to justify the price as an aspiring photographer at the age of 15 who was lucky enough to get a summer job. I have personally tried the Nikon 70-200 f4, and the Sigma and Tamron 70-200 2.8s. Personally, (and If you're a Sigma user, brace yourself) If you're trying to decide between the 3 2.8s, I would forget about the Sigma entirely. Camera bodies will come and go, but good glass lasts forever which is why it's always best to buy the nicest quality glass, and the Sigma simply pales in comparison to the bad boy on your screen right now. I have had this lens for over a month now and it still does not cease to amaze me. Sure, its pretty big and fairly heavy when you get it, but those things I got used to within a couple of days of shooting with it. The image quality is nothing but the best coming from some of Nikon's best quality glass yet, and the VR works, as expected, like a dream. I was popping off shots handheld at 1/20 racked out at 200mm, and they're still incredibly, unbelievably, stupid sharp. I am totally comfortable taking this into torrential downpour, (obviously with a plastic bag over my D5100, which is by all means NOT weather sealed...) and shoot all day without a worry. I found the sigma's sharpness and VC to be slightly sub-par, and the image quality didn't have a whole lot of contrast. Did I mention this thing grabs focus like a freaking machine? Set it to infinity-5m and you've gone through it's range in 1/4 of a second. Great for wildlife and sports. Now, what it comes down to, or at least what it came down to for me, was this: What made this thing worth the extra $1,000 over the Tamron? and the truth is, not one single thing made me choose this one, rather a multitude of things. Its the many subtle yet obvious edges this lens has over the Tamron that make it an absolute joy to use. Everything about it is perfect in my mind, (then again, that may just be the honeymoon effect still taking place) and I definitely wouldn't trade it for a Tamron and $1,000. Best lens I've ever used. Magical. Bite hard and buy it. You won't regret it for a second. September 29, 2014
AFS probelm I purchased new lens a month back and its AFS does not works after 2 weeks. Is it a common problem with Nikon expensive kind lens. I am totally disappointed with this after it happens. Also it was purchased from US and I am working in Middle-east it is very hard to send back to US for repair and too expensive for shipping back to US. It is very bad such kind of expensive lense does not providing a one year international warranty minimum. September 27, 2014
Expensive for a Hobbyist but no Regrets As an amateur photographer, with an 80-400mm zoom lens already in my bag, this lens was a purchase of the heart, not the head. Any regrets? None. This lens is superb. While it may be a similar weight and length to the 80-400mm zoom, it is thinner, making it a little less obtrusive. The f2.8 aperture and fast auto-focus are wonderful. The image quality is 2nd to none. The negative, for me, weight and size. I travel almost weekly, and admit hauling a D610, plus a couple of lenses, can get tiring. On those weeks I want to travel light I take a 28 - 300mm lens. It does the job and fits in my carry on bags. Yes it is expensive for a non-professional, but if you are looking to purchase a lens that will give years of service, and thrill you with the quality of the pictures, the 70 - 200mm f2.8 has to be on the list. June 24, 2014
Fast focus, great IQ This lens was purchased when I owned a D700 and like my other Nikon lenses, was permanently mounted until I switched to D800 bodies. Still my fastest focusing lens, with great sharpness, color and contrast; the vibration reduction feature works very well to reduce motion blur while photographing from my kayak. June 19, 2014
Great Low Light lens. Sharp, vibration control excellent OK. I finally bought the lens that I needed and my photos of my daughter in her high school play were what I had always hoped I could capture. May 13, 2014
Quality Lens This is probably the Sports Nikon lens (Period) I recommend this lens for anyone that is serious about photography. Always get good shots with this one using a D4. May 6, 2014
content content wow , quelle merveille, rapide, silencieuse et précise, quelle différence avec la lentille que j'utilisais avantcelle-ci soit la 80-200mm 2.8. April 8, 2014
broken Unknown to me this was a gray market lens. The VR motor broke in less than a year and I am unable to repair the lens. It was a gift and when I registered the lens, there was no alert that it was gray market or I would have returned it. A very expensive paper weight. December 26, 2013
Great Lens Please check out my reviews of the 14-24mm and the 24-70mm lenses for context. I bought this lens after buying my dream lens (300mm, F2.8) and finding it was too heavy for an old guy like me...that was a sad day. However I checked out the 70-200mm VRII and found it better suited to my capabilities. Years ago this would not have been a discussion. Regardless I added a Nikon 1.4x teleconverter and a Nikon 2.0x teleconverter. The lens is typical of what one would expect from Nikon's Pro lenses: it is fast to focus, tack sharp and easy/intuitive to control. The only suggestion I would have would be the addition of a removable ring mount. June 5, 2013
Great Glass! I've had this lens for about a year and have taken many shots with it. While I do agree that this lens is a little heavy, it's a minor detail to get great photos. The AF is very fast and performs well even in low light. I haven't used the VR very much so can't comment on that. This lens delivers every time and is worth every cent. May 24, 2013
In Love I waited a year to buy this lens. It's truly amazing and worth every penny. The real test will be a horse show this weekend and I KNOW it won't disappoint. I bought a Carry Speed FS sling strap to make it more manageable to carry. It's definitely heavy but so worth the photos I can get with it! May 1, 2013
Great lens I purchased this lens a couple of months ago and have shot quite a lot with it on both my D800 and D7000 (with and without the TC20III extender). All combinations rendered nice crisp shots and on the D7000 a 600mm f5.6 to play with. Great wildlife and bird lens. April 18, 2013
Excellent optics Dont even think twice to buy this lens. It delivers every time. April 18, 2013
one of the best ever . very sharp this one was bought for following the grand kids. its so sharp and fast focus its scary. this with the 24/70 and i cant believe the difference in the rest of the lenses. theres no coparison . its a little heavy but if u want clarity and colors get one today. March 14, 2013
So annoyed...that I waited so long to buy one. Title says it all. For years I lusted after the 70-200 VR, and then VRII but never could pony up and buy one. Well I finally decided to pull the trigger, and I can't believe ups didn't do it sooner. It's just so good. Lighting fast auto-focus, super sharp, great DOF, VR is incredible. If you're like I was, and lusting...I recommend it. I immediately realized how much easier my life would have been with this lens years ago. March 11, 2013
FAST FAST FAST! Superb upgrade in the VR, Great optics and perfect AF for sports (though for kids and brides) I previously owned (and reviewed) the 80-200, but I upgraded to this lens a couple of months, and I've shot like crazy since then, lets start: The pros: Impecable performance of the AF, absolutely dead on, if you get OOF images it might be a selection point issue, I mean, if you select the 21 point AF-C setting (like the one on D700 and higher bodies) it is easy to get what you meant in focus, if it is not you may try with 9, because quicker bodies like D4 and D3s the average of hits of in focus images (depending on the technic) will sky rocket like in 100% like in my case that recently updated from the non VR 80-200. AF is just perfect in fewer words. I never owned but used fairly the VR I version of the 70-200 and I never felt in love with it, that was why I kept the non VR until I tried the VR II, but I have to say that it works as expected or better for a lens this price. You can get annoyed for the sound of the VR if you are in a really quiet environment, but if you are at the courtside of the gane you'll never notice it. IT DOES RECOGNIZE PERFECTLY THE PANNING MOVEMENT! like never before, like no other lens (the ones from the white teles company for example) this is more than welcome for sports, but useful for any kind of shooting. The "ACTIVE" mode works weird but fine also, I dont use it that much like the "NORMAL" mode anyway. The "FOCUS BREATHING ISSUE (FBI)": Not an issue to me, in fact it's kind of welcome to me for two reasons; first, it is only noticeable at 200mm at the really closest distance (which is way closer than the 80-200) and you forget about the focal length loss in about a couple of metter away from the minimum focus distance anyway; and second, it is not really noticeable at the 70mm end. Besides, the short focusing is so well improved that your eye will be so pleased for that reason that will loose track of the FBI. Image quality is just as great as the 80-200 or even better, I could say... if I I let out the pixel peep inside of all of us that It might be slightly softer at 2.8 at 200mm (and only there) compared to the 80-200. You might find also slight distorsion (ONLY IF YOU SHOOT AT PATTERNS, at 2.8, which you won't, this lens is not intent for that). Build quality is just superb, 'Nuf said, Weight: It is heavy, yes. Name a good 2.8 zoom that it is not... you can't, all good lenses have great heavy glass. Price: ok, it is pricey, again, name a good.... Tripod shoe: great! you can remove from the collar (not recommended with full bodies (D3series, D4)) works just fantastic. Collar stays put though. AF-S... ultra silent, super quick and super responsive, Manual overrides are easy and easier with the AF-M mode. This is a mayor improvement for the wedding photographer !!!! Super silent focusing. Ok, THE CONTRAS: G type... what if I want to use this lens in an really older camera? The lens hood is expensive if you lose it, and it is not as strong as the one used on the 80-200. You cannot place the lens with the hood facing down on the hood, since it is a tulip shaped you will drop the lens if you do. Summarizing: If you want it then get it, if you have the VR1 version UPGRADE IT, you wont regret it. If you own a 80-200 2.8 well... think really well about it, but you might be as happy as me anyway. March 2, 2013
Versatile gem I had tried one on my D7000 and loved it. Been saving up money from quitting smoking and finally bought my own, yesterday, from the Shutterbug, here in Eugene. Something not much talked about is just how versatile this lens is. With a TC-17 or TC-20ii, you get a birding lens that is every bit as good as the f4 300mm - as sharp as can be, fast autofocus, and zoom capable. This lens is simply amazing. February 24, 2013
Very good lens Recently upgraded to D600 and this lens from a D5000 and several DX lenses. I also have the 105mm 2.8 that I like very much. I've been wanting to upgrade to full frame and the 70-200mm 2.8 VRII for about 2 years. Very good lens that's excellent in low light. First images were taken on the Leeward coast of Oahu. Plan to purchase a 14-24mm 2.8, or the 24mm 1.4 next. February 1, 2013
Nikon es la mejor marca ami me sirve demaciado porque soy una fotografa profecional y me eh dado cuenta que hay otros productos Nikon que tambien son para pequeños December 22, 2012
Blurry images every time Hate it. And Nikon, blames me. Not in the auto mode, or this or that. Come on, own up, let me send it in already. The other lens of the holy triune, fantastic! December 10, 2012
Great Lens, when it works! IO have this lens for 6 months now, and since I got it I noticed that the VR takes too long to kick in and it makes the AF terribly slow and not precise. 30 days ago the lens simply stopped working in some occasions and I noticed that it was a little loose. It shows F/0 in the camera and the lens immediately stops working. I had it happening in several occasions and as I shoot weddings, this is unacceptable. November 29, 2012
Incredible Lens Even in Low Light The incredible sharpness, contrast and control of CA and other matters makes this the best, most versatile lens I have owned during 40 years of shooting with Nikon. I regularly push the envelope of slow shutter speeds, and the rate of keepers is amazing. I shoot it wide open and the smooth background and snappy subject detail leave me entirely satisfied. I like to photograph species of bees (I don't tell most people that), and the 70-200 VRII keeps up with them. I use a TC-14ii and don't see a difference in quaiity once one stop down. I normally handhold, but since I have an Arca-Swiss ball head, did replace the foot for convenience. Most of the time that stays in the bag because the 70-200 is SO good hand-held. Quite simply, about 70% of my images are made with this lens - the other 30% mostly with a 12-24 and the 40macro, and some with the 105macro. November 4, 2012
Stunning Lens Gets the results you wanted and much more. Very sharp images and with gentle bokeh for great portraits. Complements a mid-range "standard" zoom or shorter prime lens and almost certainly matches the later for image quality. Heavy, but that's a small penalty for using such a well made product. The weight makes you aim carefully and compose your shots properly. Certainly not for snapshots or casual use. Stunning! October 18, 2012
No regrets. For sports shooters, photojournalists, and portrait photographers, you can't go wrong with this one, it's amazing. particularly when I'm shooting portraits, this and the 85mm 1.4G are all that I need. If you're on the fence... jump. October 17, 2012
Best lens I have I had wanted this lens for a long time and when I finally ordered it, I was ecstatic! It completely fulfilled my expectations. I did test shots using my 18-200 lens and then this lens and the difference was amazing. With my old lens, the backround was very dark but with this lens, the image was much brighter and lighter in the background. This lens produces crystal clear images and it's my go to lens now. I have included samples below....and I am only using a d5000 camera. August 31, 2012
Performance Beyond Belief This lens is beyond amazing. I have owned it since the day it became available. The autofocus is lightning fast and the VRII lets me set up for outstanding sports images even in the early morning or earl evening light. I can photograph cyclists in triathlons and rip off a 20 frame burst and have 18-19 images in perfect focus while panning. Color reproduction is superb and excellent bokeh in nature and landscape images. Yes, it it big and heavy, but if you want a true pro lens that is what you will get. The removable tripod shoe is a huge plus for comfort when doing sports work as you can handhold just about anything. The zoom is firm but not difficult, with no creep. If you are into sports and action photography this is worth twice the price. August 17, 2012
There is a reason why this lens is so highly rated I debated for some time on getting this lens due to the weight, but the sharpness plus image isolation/ bokeh is excellent. I bought it just a short time ago. It focuses super fast and works like a dream on my D800, especially with the battery grip. The VRII is very effective and the whole lens is built like a tank. I would not worry in the rain at all. I actually feel that the weight and balance helps me in steadying it. Color rendition is, as expected, superb. On the topic of 'breathing', this is not a problem for me and to be honest, although it can be noticed, I am totally delighted with the package as a whole. July 22, 2012
I am the Biggest Nikon Fan! I have used Nikon lenses since late 1980s..I have used older lenses like 80-200mm f/2.8D for a long time, also used the 70-200mm f/2.8 VRI for a while and finally upgraded to NEW 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII..All I have to say is that this lens is 'SUPER FANTASTIC'..simply the BEST telephoto lens for portrait work. July 11, 2012
Excellent lens as usual I just got this lens last weekend and man am I impressed. Absolutely gorgeous images, my subjects 'pop' out of the frame. The colors and contrast are amazing. Yes this an expensive, heavy, large lens, but thats what pro equipment is. If you're considering this lens just buy it, you won't be disappointed. June 8, 2012
This is a fabulous lens I got this lens about 6 months ago. I have found it is my "go to" lens for a myriad of photo applications. One things that I found to be a little surprising was it makes for a great close up lens. Zoom up to 200mm focal length and then open it to f2.8 and get razor sharp subjects and luxurious bokeh. Stop it down to f8 or so and get a beefy DOF with almost no evidence of diffraction effects. June 5, 2012
  • 2015-04-17T14:37:09.155-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_190, tr_190
  • loc_en_US, sid_2185, prod, sort_default
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 8
<<prev | next>>
58 Questions | 89 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
58 Questions | 89 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

Will this lens work with my D90?

Apr 13, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
5out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful3
4 years ago
by
Tammer
Canada
Location : 
Canada
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
Answer: 
I use this lense on both a D90 and a D3S, and it works great.
Apr 22, 2011 by
by
Paul
Key West, FL
Location : 
Key West, FL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Oh yes
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes. But effective focal length will be 105 mm to 300 mm given 1.5 crop factor ( D90 is not full frame camera). LENS IS SO GOOD THAT YOU NEED TO TRY IT TO BELIEVE.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
docmic
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the lens will work with your D90.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

D80, will this lens work on it?

May 18, 2011 by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I'm planning on upgrading my camera at some point from a D80 to something better. I have two questions.

Will this lens work on it?

Can I use this lens on the camera witout having to have a monopod or tripod? I like to keep my camera in my hand via a secure strap. I'm wondering if I can do that same with this lens attached?

Thanks,

---Mark
3 years, 10 months ago by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
Location : 
Stanhope, NJ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! You can use this with your D80.
I'm using this with my D80, and it is completely hand holdable
Note, the lens will dwarf the camera. it makes the camera feel like a stack of post it notes.
All joking a side, it will focus just as great as it would on any other camera.
the measurements will lead to 105 - 300 F2.8 on the D80.
you dont even need to hold the camera so much, just the lens.
Yes, you can have this camera and lens secure by a trap, I recommend getting a sling so your gear won't weigh your neck down. and it just works!
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
RK
B.C Canada
Location : 
B.C Canada
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
on the shorter focal lengths, with VR turned on, you can use it handheld, however, it will be HEAVY. on longer focal lengths, unless you're using very fast shutter speeds, you will have to have at least a monopod. and an af-s lens is compatible with all D-series nikon bodies, and will be.
May 19, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80, And the monopod/tripod problem is really depend on what shutter speed you can work on, But it is better to have monopod/tripod when taking indoor/lowlight conduction because you can boost the ISO high enought on the D80 for a faster shutter speed
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

how will this lens work wih my 7000 camera

Mar 17, 2011 by
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
4 years ago
by
john
neenah wi
Location : 
neenah wi
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just upgrade from VRI to VRII for my D7000 and it is amazing.
If you are shooting at distance and you require the best possible results this is what you need.
Alex
Aug 2, 2013 by
by
Alex
London, UK
Location : 
London, UK
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
This lens works flawlessly with my D7000. I borrowed one for a wedding and it was a dream to use in the fact that I hardly thought about it the whole time, aside from wanting one!

Sample image was shot w/ a D7000 and the 70-200 VRII
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very well. I use this on my D7000 with no problem at all.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What kind of teleconvertes I can use?

Apr 3, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
4 years ago
by
gaby
bermuda
Location : 
bermuda
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1
Answer: 
It depends on what you are shooting but i would use the nikon 1.7x teleconverter. It's not too much of a decrement in autofocus speed and light loss but still 70% more zoom. Great fit.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
Answer: 
AF-S Teleconverters (TC-14E II /TC-17E II /TC-20E II)
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
Answer: 
TC-14E II, TC-17E II, TC-20E II and TC-20E III can all be used with the 70-200.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Aperture locked on f/2.8

Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Has staff answer
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
I realized today that my AF-S VR-NIKKOR 70-200mm 1:2.8 G ED lens does not respond to any camera it's mounted to as far as changing the aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture setting. Also, when attempting to preview using the "Depth Of Field Preview Button" on either my D200, D300, or D700, I can hear the click of the camera actuate the button, but it seems the camera is not receiving the change in aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture. I purchased the lens from B&H Photo as a factory refurbished lens and was wondering if by looking up the serial number, it can be determined if the reason it was refurbished was for the same reason.
4 years ago
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Dan The Photo Man, you are right on the money!!! I got a response from Nikon that made my head spin. Totally off base as far as I'm concerned. BUT...You, my friend were exactly on point! After reading your response, I took a look at the aperture arm and at first I didn't notice that it was bent. But it did not move freely in its slot. I the took a small needle nose and bent it a tiny bit, away from the side of the slot that it was rubbing against, and it sprung to the other end of the slot. It now moves freely and is spring loaded and when I tried it on the camera, it operated properly. Thanks a million, Dan!
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sounds like the aperture arm (a little metal piece that protrudes from the lens at the mounting end) is either damaged or has been bent. When you put the lens on the camera you have to be careful not to damage the arm.

It's a shiny silver piece that should move freely in it's slot (about a half inch back and forth) and as you manually move it you will see the aperture change. You may have to bend it slightly back to it's correct position so it will engage and function properly.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Dan the photo man
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Information regarding why it was refurbished is not shown with the serial number. You are welcome to send the lens for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

can i use this lens with a D3000 ?

Mar 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. No problem, but the images will be cropped. I use it on my DX body cameras.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use this lens with the D3000.
Mar 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Can I use with D7000 and D70?

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
cooknsouth
Tulare, CA
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
4 years ago
by
cooknsouth
Tulare, CA
Location : 
Tulare, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
D7000, yes. D70 yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the D7000 has a focusing motor in it as well so it can take both lenses w/ motors in them (like this 70-200) or without (like the 80-200). The D70 also has a built-in motor so it will work with both as well. The D7000's AF system is much more advanced, however, and is very quick in comparison to my D200's AF, fyi.

The sample image was taken w/ this 70-200 VRII and my D7000.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Is there another lens that may be more suitable for my needs?
3 years, 10 months ago by
by
todd
nyc
Location : 
nyc
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Personally, I wouldn't recommend that simply because you're gaining very little by putting on a teleconverter on the 70-200 lens when shooting sports. This lens is ideal for action that is happening closer to you. By putting a teleconverter on it, it makes it a little unwieldy to shoot with. That is when you will want to use a super telephoto lens (300mm and above). That is best for shooting subjects that are far away. Also, by putting the teleconverter on the 70-200, depending on which one you use, it will also decrease your effective f-stop accordingly. If you're shooting night sports, you're going to have a tougher time trying to stop the action and get good results. Best to leave it as-is and shoot it at wide open at f2.8 and enjoy its capabilities as originally intended. If you can't afford a super telephoto at the time, at least try renting one and see how it works for you. You'd be surprised at the results you'll get!
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Depends whether you need that bit extra reach or not, only you can answer that.
May 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Is this lense covered with international warranty?

Jun 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
or I have to pay extra bucks for it?
 
Products related to my question
 
3 years, 10 months ago by
by
kartik
india
Location : 
india
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
That depends on what you bought at the time of purchase - did you pay the USA or the International (gray market) price? If it said USA, then you got the USA warranty that covers it for five years. If you paid the International price, then you got the international warranty that is different from the USA warranty. It gets a little confusing, but that's the bottom line. They are different, and how Nikon handles repairs differs as well.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased.
Jun 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Which VR position do I use when using a monopod with the 70/200 f:2.8 VR Lens? Normal or Active

Jul 7, 2011 by
by
Joe P
Del Mar, CA
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Joe P
Del Mar, CA
Location : 
Del Mar, CA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Use Normal.
Active is for when in a moving vehicle, Car, Helicopter, Train..
Anything mobile that moves fast and can cause more than usual vibration/shake.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
RK
B.C Canada
Location : 
B.C Canada
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
both are OK, active is a mode that you use when you shoot video and you're doing a panning shot -- active "realizes" that you're panning and it doesn't try to compensate in the panning direction.
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
  • 2015-04-17T14:38:43.464-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_2185, prod, sort_default
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers