Loading

The essential telephoto zoom lens for passionate shooters.

With a f/2.8 fixed maximum aperture, VR II image stabilization and Nikon’s advanced lens technologies, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II delivers a versatile telephoto zoom range and professional performance in nearly any light.  Whether you’re shooting low-light sports, wildlife, fashion, portraits or everyday subjects, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will reliably capture stunning, bright, razor-sharp images and HD videos
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
A-M
M/A
IF Lens

Catch the shots that matter

Fast f/2.8 maximum aperture and VR II

An update to Nikon’s legendary f/2.8 fixed aperture telephoto zoom lens, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II captures stunning full-frame images with remarkable speed. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-fast, ultra-quiet autofocusing with seamless manual focus override. No matter what you’re shooting, you’ll capture it with uncompromising speed and precision—at any focal length.

Images in a class of their own

Renowned NIKKOR optics and advanced Nikon lens technologies

Photos and HD videos captured with the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II are second to none. The lens draws peak performance from advanced D-SLRs for exceptional sharpness, contrast and color rendering. From its enhanced autofocusing (SWM), VR II image stabilization, Nano Crystal Coat (N), Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass and more, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will broaden your shooting potential and inspire some of your most impressive shots yet.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths. Nano Crystal Coat solves ghost effects caused by red light and effectively reduces ghost and flare caused by light entering the lens diagonally.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
A-M
A-M
A-M stands for Auto-Manual Mode. Thanks to a mechanism incorporated in the lens barrel, smooth focusing operation in Manual focus mode is realized in the same way as users have become accustomed to with conventional manual-focus lenses by adding an appropriate torque to the focus ring.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II 4.8 5 185 185
This one completes my bag. As a serious amateur who likes to shoot a variety of subjects I purchased an AF-S VR II NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G IF-ED a little over a year ago and found the features, focus speed, optics and build to be so superior to anything already in my bag that immediately placed my name on a pre-order list as soon as this one was announced. Needless to say I have not been disappointed with the quality and features and it has become the most used lens in my bag; a truly impressive lens! July 30, 2010
Simply Awesome I upgraded from the 2 ring 80-200 f2.8 to the 70-200 VRII. Yes, it costs more. It weighs about the same though and handles better. But the upgraded optics (didn't think that was possible) and the over due tripod mount change, but most of all I love the VR!!! July 30, 2010
Get This Lens!! I toyed around with the 80-200 f/2.8 and used 70-200 f/2.8 VRI but decided to go for it and purchase this lens. This lens rocks and rarely comes off my camera body. I use it mainly for portraits and it does an awesome job. Get this lens... you won't regret it! July 30, 2010
Best tele zoom for FX I had my doubts about the price and weight of this lens when I first ordered it. However, thousands of shots later, I think I have put those doubts to rest. This is probably the best tele zoom I've used for the full frame format. Its predecesor had too much vignetting for my taste and this lense fixes all that. Corners are sharp and clear now even wide open. This lens also produces brighter images at the same f/stop compared to the prior design. This means it has a better transmission figure than then prior. But by far, the best feature was the new VR system. I was able without much effort to achieve sharp shots at night handholding the lens at as low as 1/10s. This is amazing and I could hardly believe my eyes. The only minor issue is that this lens has quite a bit of focus breathing at short distances. While this is not really an issue in most situations, you are better off getting a dedicated macro lens if you need to get really tight or really close detail of something. However, I use it mostly for portraits, and can say that this lens is able to produce very tight head shots. Any tighter and you'd be cropping ears. So I do not find the focus breathing to be a real problem in the field. For DX cropped users, this lens does not really offer that many advantages since a lot of the improvements were made to help FX shooters. July 30, 2010
most used lens for low light sports and events I have owned this lens for about 4 years and have taken tens of thousands of sports photos with it. I now use my more recent purchase, an 80-400 VR ED f4-5.6, for outdoor daytime soccer and wildlife photos because of its greater reach. But the 70-200 is the lens I use for basketball, football and all nighttime and indoor events because of its f 2.8 aperature. The VR works as advertised, and the focusing is very quick, which is essential for sports like football and basketball. But the 70-200 gets perhaps the most use of my lenses overall. The mounting ring is good, much better than on the 80-400, and I like the detachable mounting foot. The overall construction quality is excellent, solid and durable. I have used this lens for hours in the rain (covered as best I could manage), with no damage. If I were to buy one telephoto lens, this would probably be the one, but as you can tell I am also a fan of the 80-400 despite its smaller aperature, slower focusing and inadequate mounting ring. July 30, 2010
Lightning fast response and acurate focus My newest toy is Nikon's 70-200mm 2.8 VRII. I've been using it for about a year now and was quite happy with the results. Until last weekend, the Rodeo came to town. The actual speed of this lens totally shocked me. The accuracy of the focus amazed me. When I got home and D/L my cards, the results impressed me. I took 638 images, after going through and deleting the unfixables I had 622 pics of totally squirlly bronco and bull sequences. I know most of the blurred shots where my fault. All I can say is pay the price and pick one up.....its well worth it & you'll be glad you did July 30, 2010
Fantastic Lens I originally intended to use this lens with a tripod because of its weight and size. However, I find myself shooting it hand-held almost constantly. The VR II really works as advertised and I can hand-hold and shoot at 1/200th sec (FX body) with no camera shake blurring. I have not pushed it slower than this but I suspect it could do even better. The image quality is superb. The only problem I now have is that I want to lug it around everywhere just to get those fantastic shots. July 30, 2010
This a great lens for portraits and general Wowww...This is a great lens for portraits and general nature/wild life photography..Very sharp even at full aperature of F2.8. I love that lens and the final results....I'm very happy. July 30, 2010
Excellent build and optics I shoot mostly nature/wildlife and love this lens. I use it with the 1.4 and 1.7 T/C and the images are great, although the 1.7 suffers a little, still quite acceptable. The build is solid and professional, auto focus very fast and accuarate. The lens tends to "breath" on close focus, but that is not a problem for most of my shots. My favorite lens and it stays on my D300s 90% of the time. July 30, 2010
unimaginable This lens is one of great lens made by Nikon for portraits and nature/wild life photography. it is very shap over all range of aperature and very fast to focus. When I saw the very first shot I took, I'm amazed by the result which can compared with my nikon 105 vr. VR II is also a great feature of this lens. July 30, 2010
Best lens I have had Other than the prime lenses I have, this one is the best so far. I have been using it for birding with the 1:4 Telextender. It has proven it's self in action shots at dawn and dusk when the feeding activity and demand for light is highest. It is fast to focus, and the colors and detail are amazing. I am always tempted by new camera bodies, but I have to continually remind myself that it is the lens, and this lens is worth every penny. July 30, 2010
Wonderful Lens I use this lens on a D300S and infrequently on a D60. I am very pleased with the sharpness, which is consistently sharp across the entire zoom range. I shoot mostly at f2.8 to get that wonderful blurred background, even in bright light. This is my first VR lens and I am able to hand hold at very low shutter speeds in the 1/30th of a second range...much better than I had anticipated. I was also surprised at how well it works for relatively close shots of flowers. Just a great all around lens. Makes for a heavy combination with the D300S, but well worth it. Bob July 30, 2010
70-200mm f2.8 VRII My #2 lens. Perfect on my D3 bodies. Robust build, balances well, what a zoom should be like. Had the previous 70-200 VR, hated to cough up the money, but works much better on the FX format bodies. If all zooms were this good, fewer prime lenses would be sold. Does everything well, have found no weaknesses. None. I keep this lens on one of my D3's at all times. Could do roughly 1/2 of my shooting with just this lens. If the 300mm f2.8 is the king, this lens is the prince. Built to last a pro a long, long time. July 30, 2010
I love this lens I love this lens. This is most likely the best telephoto zoom ever made by Nikon at any price. For coliseums and dim locations I demand performance. The more light that gets to the AF sensors, the better, and that's one of the reasons why I opted for the f/2.8 I use this lens for weddings, ballroom events, portraits, products, funerals, horse events and anything everything else in between. I wish all my other lenses was as razor sharp as this lens. Not withstanding its bulk and weight, this lens produces the best pictures in any environment or lighting condition. However I do wish it was lighter but considering the accurate auto-focus and rugged construction, I'm not complaining. The bokeh is extremely pleasing and flattering to the subject matter. I've also shot complete concerts without a flash as well as other after dark events and this lens has never disappointed me. If you can afford to buy this lens, then do so. You won't be disappointed July 30, 2010
Fantastic Let's get this out of the way: it's heavy and expensive. For portraits, it's a good thing the upper length is 200mm, because at a close distance, the mass of this lens can be off-putting to the sitter. Stand too far away, and it's easy for the sitter to loose the personal connection with the photographer. All of my other Nikon equipment I purchased second-hand from photographers upgrading their equipment, but this lens I bought new. Some say that the problem with many high end goods is that most people are either too young to afford them or too old to enjoy them. Fortunately, that's not true for photography. This lens is the closest I have used to what feels like an intuitive experience--one where I am able to easily and quickly frame what I want, and then capture what I see while relying on the camera's setup to focus and expose the image the way I intended. Even though I am using this lens with a DX sensor, the angle of view within the zoom range is very comfortable to me for the types of subjects/scenes I photograph. What makes this lens/camera system work for me is not any one characteristic, but the resulting synergy of light gathering, quick focus, VRII, and clarity that enables a quality camera with the latitude it needs to respond quickly to dynamic situations, creative impulses. July 30, 2010
Great on D700 Great on D700, Fast and dead on AF. Very useable f2.8, wide open. In fact, I am there most of the time. (and at 200mm) Love it, my favoite lens ... by far. July 30, 2010
Sharp and Fast Focus I purchased this lens for a trip. My camera strap failed and the lens and D-300 went crashing straight down on concrete. It survived! The lens hood took the blow. Everything is still working wonderfully. Very fast focus and sharp. Heavy but a pleasure to have. Love the results. July 30, 2010
I bought this lens to complete the focal lengths I had available when I traveled to Easter Island to view the eclispe and through northern Chile. This lens performed very well with no major complaints. I would think Nikon would have used an Arco-sized plate ($100 aftermarket item) for mounting, not the narrow one included. Also, the lens cap is difficult to attach when the shade is in place. There has to be a better method? Those are my only two minor complaints. The lens performed well as I lugged it around Chile for 3 weeks. July 30, 2010
Best Lens Ever After I bought my D700, I traded in my 80-200 because I felt it was too soft. I didn't buy the 70-200 VR which was available at the time because of the corner softness. Instead, I purchased three primes, an 85 f1.4, the 105 f2.0 and the 180 f2.8, to cover the same range. I was quite happy until I compared shots with a friend, who had a D700 with the 70-200 VR II. Wow! To me it blew away the primes. I immediately traded in my old glass. Yes, this lens is heavier but I just love the sharpness, not to mention the convenience of not having to constantly swap lenses. I also appreciate that the foot can be removed for hand held shots (unlike my old 80-200) and the VR is a real plus. Coupled with my 24-70 I have all the range I need for the way I shoot. I'm a very happy camper. July 30, 2010
One of the best lens made This lens is great for sports and also portraits. Once I started using this lens (and that goes back to the 80-200mm 2.8) my portrait and sport pictures had the wow effect. I became an instant excellent photographer. July 30, 2010
Will not be disapointed!! I have never seen a negitive remark about this lens. It is large and heavy, but will shine when others can't provide you with the results. Low light, fast action . A real Pro. Save up for this one, you will not be disapointed!! July 30, 2010
great expensive product fast, sharp, lots of fun!!! heavy, expensive, big!!! July 30, 2010
Good lens!!! It is a good lens only! (4 STARS) for when I mounted the lens to my D-700, the lens did not hold firmly to the camera body as my other Nikon lens. I am not happy about this; please advise. Thank you July 30, 2010
Severe magnification loss at close range is a prob I have been a working professional for over 30 years and have been using Nikon for nearly 40. Although wonderful optically and improved in that way from it's successor I am in a quandry about this lens. The lens has SEVERE magnification loss when working at close ranges. I have heard the tech explanations , etc etc. I don't care. When I shoot a portrait at 5-6' away and want to get tight this lens only gives me the "equivalent" of 135mm's. That mean I need another long lens. It DEFEATS the purpose of having a zoom lens which is meant to REPLACE several fixed focal lengths. I could maybe live with this phenomenon in a cheaper kit lens, maybe, but not with a $2,400 pro lens. July 30, 2010
Best Lens Evar Wow, this thing totally rocks! It's a little on the heavy side, but that's to be expected when you're toting around enough glass to choke a donkey. Focus is instant. There have been a couple times when it's hunted for focus, but these are really low contrast situations with the D300s set to spot focus. Activate the Dynamic Area focus and this puppy hits it every time. Images are crisp from edge-to-edge, with a very pleasing bokeh. I was a little turned off from buying this at first because of the price, but convinced myself that if it was as good as everyone had said then it would keep its value, and it is! I plan on keeping this lens for many years to come, but if I ever need to sell it I know I'll get my investment back. July 30, 2010
Spectacular! Tack sharp at all apertures, including wide open...focuses so fast it's unbelievable...and, no fall off in the corners with FX bodies. I traded my Nikkor 80-200 2.8 AF for this one (plus some cash, of course), and have been absoutlutely thrilled with the images this lens produces. The Nano Crystal coating adds it's customary "sparkle" to the results, increasing apparent contrast, and the build is exceptional even by Nikkor standards. July 30, 2010
Wow. I, too, hesitated, mainly b/c I'm a rank amateur on the road to serious hobbyist. But like anything, when you play with the best, you learn to play up. This lense has had that effect. It's a revelation in tubular form. It's actually teaching me a new way to look at the world. July 28, 2010
Excellent lens..Designed for FX.. This is a great lens for portraits and general nature/wild life photography..Very sharp even at full aperature of F2.8. VR II is outstanding. Long range photos are sharp and not blurred even at 1/10 sec handheld. You will need to use it to believe it. This lens is built like a tank and is slightly heavy especially if you need to carry it for longer hours at a stretch. Autofocus is super fast on my D700. No loss of light even at the corners. Bit costly. But you will get more out of it in the long run. July 19, 2010
Outstanding ! I procrastinated for a long time on buying this lens. In the meantime VR11 was added & the price increased. I'm glad I waited. This lens is Beautiful,Quiet, Fast & Sharp. Heavy ? you should carry the 200-400 Nikkor f4, 7.3# without the camera. Stop whining, I'm 73 years old & carry them, camera attached. Wonderful lenses, both of them. July 15, 2010
good lens it is indeed! this lens is awesome . SMW really works as they claim it does, fast and quiet! AF is especially fast. and above all these is its superior image quality throughout the zoom range. if you need it dont hesitate it really is worth getting ! its a bit heavy though for every day use but even that isnt a problem compared to its great performance July 13, 2010
Page: 3 4 5 6 7
<<prev
56 Questions | 86 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
56 Questions | 86 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

Will this lens work with my D90?

Apr 13, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
3out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Tammer
Canada
Location : 
Canada
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
I use this lense on both a D90 and a D3S, and it works great.
Apr 22, 2011 by
by
Paul
Key West, FL
Location : 
Key West, FL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Oh yes
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes. But effective focal length will be 105 mm to 300 mm given 1.5 crop factor ( D90 is not full frame camera). LENS IS SO GOOD THAT YOU NEED TO TRY IT TO BELIEVE.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
docmic
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the lens will work with your D90.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

D80, will this lens work on it?

May 18, 2011 by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I'm planning on upgrading my camera at some point from a D80 to something better. I have two questions.

Will this lens work on it?

Can I use this lens on the camera witout having to have a monopod or tripod? I like to keep my camera in my hand via a secure strap. I'm wondering if I can do that same with this lens attached?

Thanks,

---Mark
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
Location : 
Stanhope, NJ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! You can use this with your D80.
I'm using this with my D80, and it is completely hand holdable
Note, the lens will dwarf the camera. it makes the camera feel like a stack of post it notes.
All joking a side, it will focus just as great as it would on any other camera.
the measurements will lead to 105 - 300 F2.8 on the D80.
you dont even need to hold the camera so much, just the lens.
Yes, you can have this camera and lens secure by a trap, I recommend getting a sling so your gear won't weigh your neck down. and it just works!
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
RK
B.C Canada
Location : 
B.C Canada
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
on the shorter focal lengths, with VR turned on, you can use it handheld, however, it will be HEAVY. on longer focal lengths, unless you're using very fast shutter speeds, you will have to have at least a monopod. and an af-s lens is compatible with all D-series nikon bodies, and will be.
May 19, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80, And the monopod/tripod problem is really depend on what shutter speed you can work on, But it is better to have monopod/tripod when taking indoor/lowlight conduction because you can boost the ISO high enought on the D80 for a faster shutter speed
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

how will this lens work wih my 7000 camera

Mar 17, 2011 by
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
john
neenah wi
Location : 
neenah wi
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just upgrade from VRI to VRII for my D7000 and it is amazing.
If you are shooting at distance and you require the best possible results this is what you need.
Alex
Aug 2, 2013 by
by
Alex
London, UK
Location : 
London, UK
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
This lens works flawlessly with my D7000. I borrowed one for a wedding and it was a dream to use in the fact that I hardly thought about it the whole time, aside from wanting one!

Sample image was shot w/ a D7000 and the 70-200 VRII
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very well. I use this on my D7000 with no problem at all.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What kind of teleconvertes I can use?

Apr 3, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
gaby
bermuda
Location : 
bermuda
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
Answer: 
It depends on what you are shooting but i would use the nikon 1.7x teleconverter. It's not too much of a decrement in autofocus speed and light loss but still 70% more zoom. Great fit.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
AF-S Teleconverters (TC-14E II /TC-17E II /TC-20E II)
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
TC-14E II, TC-17E II, TC-20E II and TC-20E III can all be used with the 70-200.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Aperture locked on f/2.8

Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
I realized today that my AF-S VR-NIKKOR 70-200mm 1:2.8 G ED lens does not respond to any camera it's mounted to as far as changing the aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture setting. Also, when attempting to preview using the "Depth Of Field Preview Button" on either my D200, D300, or D700, I can hear the click of the camera actuate the button, but it seems the camera is not receiving the change in aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture. I purchased the lens from B&H Photo as a factory refurbished lens and was wondering if by looking up the serial number, it can be determined if the reason it was refurbished was for the same reason.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Dan The Photo Man, you are right on the money!!! I got a response from Nikon that made my head spin. Totally off base as far as I'm concerned. BUT...You, my friend were exactly on point! After reading your response, I took a look at the aperture arm and at first I didn't notice that it was bent. But it did not move freely in its slot. I the took a small needle nose and bent it a tiny bit, away from the side of the slot that it was rubbing against, and it sprung to the other end of the slot. It now moves freely and is spring loaded and when I tried it on the camera, it operated properly. Thanks a million, Dan!
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sounds like the aperture arm (a little metal piece that protrudes from the lens at the mounting end) is either damaged or has been bent. When you put the lens on the camera you have to be careful not to damage the arm.

It's a shiny silver piece that should move freely in it's slot (about a half inch back and forth) and as you manually move it you will see the aperture change. You may have to bend it slightly back to it's correct position so it will engage and function properly.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Dan the photo man
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Information regarding why it was refurbished is not shown with the serial number. You are welcome to send the lens for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

can i use this lens with a D3000 ?

Mar 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. No problem, but the images will be cropped. I use it on my DX body cameras.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use this lens with the D3000.
Mar 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Can I use with D7000 and D70?

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
cooknsouth
Tulare, CA
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
cooknsouth
Tulare, CA
Location : 
Tulare, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
D7000, yes. D70 yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the D7000 has a focusing motor in it as well so it can take both lenses w/ motors in them (like this 70-200) or without (like the 80-200). The D70 also has a built-in motor so it will work with both as well. The D7000's AF system is much more advanced, however, and is very quick in comparison to my D200's AF, fyi.

The sample image was taken w/ this 70-200 VRII and my D7000.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

will this lens work with my d3100?

May 24, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens will definitely work with your D3100. As long as the lens is an AF-S type lens, then it will function with the DSLR body at hand. Also, as a VR G type lens, it will offer those functions as well. So, you really have nothing to worry about.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3100.
May 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Is there another lens that may be more suitable for my needs?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
todd
nyc
Location : 
nyc
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Personally, I wouldn't recommend that simply because you're gaining very little by putting on a teleconverter on the 70-200 lens when shooting sports. This lens is ideal for action that is happening closer to you. By putting a teleconverter on it, it makes it a little unwieldy to shoot with. That is when you will want to use a super telephoto lens (300mm and above). That is best for shooting subjects that are far away. Also, by putting the teleconverter on the 70-200, depending on which one you use, it will also decrease your effective f-stop accordingly. If you're shooting night sports, you're going to have a tougher time trying to stop the action and get good results. Best to leave it as-is and shoot it at wide open at f2.8 and enjoy its capabilities as originally intended. If you can't afford a super telephoto at the time, at least try renting one and see how it works for you. You'd be surprised at the results you'll get!
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Depends whether you need that bit extra reach or not, only you can answer that.
May 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Is this lense covered with international warranty?

Jun 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
or I have to pay extra bucks for it?
 
Products related to my question
 
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
kartik
india
Location : 
india
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
That depends on what you bought at the time of purchase - did you pay the USA or the International (gray market) price? If it said USA, then you got the USA warranty that covers it for five years. If you paid the International price, then you got the international warranty that is different from the USA warranty. It gets a little confusing, but that's the bottom line. They are different, and how Nikon handles repairs differs as well.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased.
Jun 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers