Loading

The essential telephoto zoom lens for passionate shooters.

With a f/2.8 fixed maximum aperture, VR II image stabilization and Nikon’s advanced lens technologies, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II delivers a versatile telephoto zoom range and professional performance in nearly any light.  Whether you’re shooting low-light sports, wildlife, fashion, portraits or everyday subjects, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will reliably capture stunning, bright, razor-sharp images and HD videos
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
A-M
M/A
IF Lens

Catch the shots that matter

Fast f/2.8 maximum aperture and VR II

An update to Nikon’s legendary f/2.8 fixed aperture telephoto zoom lens, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II captures stunning full-frame images with remarkable speed. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-fast, ultra-quiet autofocusing with seamless manual focus override. No matter what you’re shooting, you’ll capture it with uncompromising speed and precision—at any focal length.

Images in a class of their own

Renowned NIKKOR optics and advanced Nikon lens technologies

Photos and HD videos captured with the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II are second to none. The lens draws peak performance from advanced D-SLRs for exceptional sharpness, contrast and color rendering. From its enhanced autofocusing (SWM), VR II image stabilization, Nano Crystal Coat (N), Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass and more, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will broaden your shooting potential and inspire some of your most impressive shots yet.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths. Nano Crystal Coat solves ghost effects caused by red light and effectively reduces ghost and flare caused by light entering the lens diagonally.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
A-M
A-M
A-M stands for Auto-Manual Mode. Thanks to a mechanism incorporated in the lens barrel, smooth focusing operation in Manual focus mode is realized in the same way as users have become accustomed to with conventional manual-focus lenses by adding an appropriate torque to the focus ring.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II 4.8 5 179 179
Best Lens I've Ever Owned The speed and precision on this lens are top notch! I cannot say enough for it's image quality, color, even the weight. I like a nice heavy lens, it makes you feel powerful and when I see my images, I feel that power and passion. This alongside the 24-70mm are the only match a photographer needs... and of course the little sister 50mm 1.8... it's the Corvette of lenses... which makes the 70-200 the Viper! April 14, 2011
Fast and Accurate I have this lens on a Nikon D300s with an MD-D10 battery pack, and I use it mainly for photographing sports with our four children, in everything from dimly lit gymnasiums to sunny outdoor stadiums. Beyond its low-light capabilities, a remarkable quality of this lens is its autofocus speed under all conditions. When used in continuous focus mode it is lightning quick, and always very sharp. It is much faster at focusing than my Nikkor AF-S VR 70-300mm f4.5-5.6G IF-ED, my other outdoor sports telephoto (and not a bad lens). The 70-200m 2.8 is heavy and difficult to handhold for several hours, but it can be done when you don't want to carry extra gear. This lens makes it easy to isolate a player in tack-sharp focus from the action in front of and behind the subject. A great lens, price appropriately for its level of performance. April 14, 2011
Nice! This is by far the best telephoto zoom lens I have ever owned. Very sharp, fast auto focus, and an excellent VR system. This lens is an excellent choice for shooting action in low light. My only complaint is the price. It's VERY expensive so you'll want to take good care of this lens. April 14, 2011
zoom lens great lens. sharp and the lower aperature makes it great. the bokeh you can get off it, the added speed for sports and nature, is fantastic. the only thing i hate about it is the weight, but that's what you pay for, when you want the speed. not a big deal if you drive to your locations, but it's a pain to lug around... April 14, 2011
Fantastic lens At first I was a bit hesitant to buy this lens due to the price. I was thinking of getting the sigma OS version mainly due to the fact that it's available in my country and was cheaper. I tried it but decided to take the jump into the nikon one and bought it online. I must say that when I received I found it to be relatively heavy on my D300s but after several use I completely forgot about the weight and find it well balanced with a MB D10 attached. The colour, contrast and the bokeh are simply awesome compared to the sigma. The VR II allows me to shoot at 1/20 and still get fantastic shots. It is very durable and well weather sealed. It sometimes got wet in the rain but after a quick dry I could shoot again. I really like the versatility of the zoom even thougth on a DX DSLR it narrows the field of view but I like it as I am more into the wildlife photography. For this instance I bought the Nikon TC-20E III 2x Teleconverter for this beast to shoot birds. The output is fantastic and the focus is dead on. The lens now remains on my D300s most of the time and I carry it often to school. The only downside is the fact that the focal length change. It's not a big problem for me as my subjects are mostly far away but for the pros out there who use it for portraits, they seem to be put off. Overall I love this lens and I think it is good for nearly everything. April 13, 2011
Wonderfully fast and sharp tele-zoom I borrowed this lens for a recent wedding shoot and couldn't have been happier with it. Super sharp and the AF was lightning fast. Highly recommended. March 28, 2011
New 70-200mm VR II is impressive It focuses twice as fast as the older 70-200mm and SHARP!! I didn’t think the new 70-200mm could get any sharper, but it does. If you’re a Pro, it’s worth the addition expense. Whether your doing portrait or sports with a wide open lens, you will be impressed. March 16, 2011
AFS-70-200MM F/2.8 VR ll Nikon really stepped up their game with this one. This is a very expensive tool for an amature photographer / collector. The lens is packaged very nicely with a nice soft case, and a soft cover instruction manual. The lens is heavy but very well balanced, and the new tripod foot is perfect for me. I hold the tripod foot when shooting. With the vr and fast F/2.8 I do not need a tripod. The lens is very sharp wide open, and the boken is beautiful. This lens handles much better than the 80-200mm F/2.8 that it replaces in my collection, and the new soft case is easy to transport, so I will use this lens a lot more. I am hoping that Nikon will produce a 35-150mm focal length just like this one, but a little cheaper. If there is any negative with this lens it is not a close focusing lens. It is best used at medium to far distances. This lens is new to me ,so I am just so excited by this lens. March 10, 2011
This is one sweet lens! This lens is great. I use it mainly for shooting Portraits, Wildlife, Sports, Concerts, but will also use it for many other types of Photography. The color and contrast are beautiful. It has extremely sharp and lightning-fast focus. The VR II enables this lens to perform extremely well in some very difficult situations. The SWM makes it great for Nature but also during weddings and in situations where noise is a negative. It will go everywhere with me. Nikon held nothing back when developing this one... BAM, right on target! March 8, 2011
Outstanding Lens This lens is very sharp and creates creamy bokeh, just the way I like it. Get it, you would not regret your purchase. I use mine on my D90 & D7K. March 2, 2011
Preaching to the Choir I know I am just another of the big fans of this lens, but I wanted to add my voice to the chorus of believers. The price of this lens kept me from getting it for a good while, so I wasted a lot of money getting other lenses that emulated this beauty. It is, hands down, the best in this range. It is fast, sharp, accurate and down right fun to use. Nikon got it right on this one! January 23, 2011
Excellent product One of the best lenses I have ever used. Extremely sharp and very fast focus. January 13, 2011
Exceeds expectations. The lighting conditions typically necessary for shooting a telephoto lens can be a real obstacle, but this unbelievably fast lens is up to the challenge. It excels at creating crisp, vivid images where I would not have thought it possible. Thus far I have been shooting without a tripod and am simply amazed at what I can get away with. It allows incredible portraits and sports/action shots. The vibration reduction is clearly very effective. Quiet, smooth operation, which is completely unobtrusive. Heavy and perhaps costly, yes, but this is the price for stellar performance. I have no reservation recommending this lens- you will not be disappointed! December 27, 2010
An exceptional but heavy lens I have had this lens for a while now. I still quiver when I see how sharp and steady it is even in my unsteady hand. It's low light capabilities are unreal but it's portrait range is as unreal. From 70mm to 200mm it is a distinct lens producing exceptional images. Pricey? Yes, but does it produce? Absolutely and beyond expectations even up close. I love it! November 8, 2010
Superb Lens - Great Investment This is the best lens I've ever been lucky enough to own. The focus is super-fast and spot-on every time. Sharpness is superb at every aperture zoomed to 200mm, and is even very good wide open at 70mm. I use this lens with an APS-C sensor (D300S). Hopefully soon I will be able to step up to a full-frame sensor and take full advantage of this lens. I tried the Tamron 70-200 f/2.8 and was severely disappointed. Even though the Tamron ran less than half the price, you really get what you pay for. The lens had terrible focus problems, was loud, and had questionable build quality compared to the Nikkor IMHO. The only two lenses you need are the 70-200 f/2.8 VRII and the 50mm f/1.4G for everyday shooting or portraits. October 25, 2010
Winner Every Nikon photographer needs to own this lens. It is very sharp and focuses almost faster than I can press the button. My only real complaint isn't a real complaint at all; its just not tight enough for my daily use on my D700. I need it to get closer for sports. October 20, 2010
Great Lens I love the lens. I know it says that it weighs more than my 80-200, but it just doesn't seem like it. I believe it is better balanced. Sharpness is great, but I would not say its better than the 80-200. Then again I'm still using a three year old D300. So your results may vary. It is very sharp however and the corners are way better than the 80-200. The lens focuses way faster of course. The VR works great, just remember if your subject is moving, this is not the cure for that. A great purchase, although expensive, it was worth it! All images are un- edited, straight from camera. Set on neutral color mode, and +1 saturation. September 28, 2010
Simply The Best I love this lens. Great build, super performance, image quality is fantastic, and of course focus is fast and accurate. In my many years using Nikon products, this is easily one of the best. Worth every penny, and I am sure will pay for itself. As much as I love and need this lens, you have to be honest with yourself if it's right for you. I make my income with imaging, so for me it's a perfect fit. However, even if you are a serious hobbyist, it may be overkill. It costs a king's ransom, and is significantly heavier than the consumer grade lenses out there. Simply put, you will not be taking this lens out on vacation. Way too big and heavy. I would also recommend using a Rapid R strap, or a similar strap system for a camera with this lens. It will certainly help during your work day. September 28, 2010
Must Have For Sports Photography If you're going to be doing a lot of sports photography this is must lens. The fast auto focus is tremendous!! So far I've used it for an IRL race, NHRA, and MotoGP and have come away with very sharp pictures. It's also good for portrait use with it's excellent Bokeh. You won't be disappointed with this purchase. September 17, 2010
Great lens, except for a front focus issue This is my first "pro" Nikkor lens, and after reading all the stellar reviews, I was expecting perfection. The build quality is obviously a step up from the other consumer-grade Nikkors I've bought, and in most respects it's a terrific product, but unfortunately a significant percentage of my images were not sharp - certainly much less consistent than my 300mm f/4 Nikkor. I eventually downloaded a focus test chart and discovered the lens has a severe front-focus problem. I had to use a +18 autofocus fine tune setting on my D300 to correct the problem. My backup camera body lacks the focus correction feature, so I can' t use it on that camera. I'm wondering if Nikon will replace this lens with one that focuses correctly. September 17, 2010
Outstanding pro lens I bought this lens for nature, event and portrait photography and couldn't be happier. Amazingly sharp at f/2.8 (even at the image edges) it is ideal for portrait and low light photography. VR II is extremely effective - I've shot handheld as slow as 1/8 sec with tack sharp results and It balances well on my D700. Bokeh is absolutely beautiful. I recommend this lens without reservation. If you can afford it, get it. September 14, 2010
Excellent High Performance Lens A great addition to my Nikon lens collection (24-70mm 2.8 and 14-24mm 2.8). This one lives up to the others in terms of performance. It feels like it will last forever, a bit on the heavy side but expected with this caliber of lens. September 1, 2010
VR is invaluable I shoot 95% available light. You don't know what you are missing (VR) until you try a VR lens. I did low light comparison tests (no VR and VR on) at 200mm, and VR makes a huge difference. I have a very steady hand, but VR gave me at least 2 extra stops of shutter speed. August 24, 2010
Heavy, but WOW! This lens is a heavy one...weighs more than the camera and needs a hardy arm to handle. But "holy cow!" at the ability of this lens to get your moment in low light. Beautiful output. August 14, 2010
Great Lens! Absolutely love this lens. It is perferct for outdoor or indoor sports. August 11, 2010
Must Have! I've owned 3 different generations of this same lens and they each have been excellent. If I could only have 2 lenses, this would be one of them. August 10, 2010
Superb Lens This lens replaced the original 70-200mm 2.8 VR lens which had issues with the FX format, This lens is FANTASTIC, I would put it in the same class as a prime lens as it has sharpness I have never seen in a zoom lens. We use this lens mostly to shoot Celebrity Children. I would not hesitate to suggest this lens to anyone. Great job NIKON August 8, 2010
"Wonderful!!!!!!!!!" Portraits and sporting events but always on the other body no matter what the shoot is, its absolutely wonderful. Has become my favorite lens for sporting events. Wonderful balance and tack sharp, a typical NIKON high quality lens. You will absolutely be more than pleased with this lens. August 7, 2010
Awesome lens It's unbelievable that anyone could handhold a 200mm lens and it still be sharp but with this lens it is. I absolutely love this lens. In my opinion it's the best zoom lens on the market. It's a little heavy but the picture quality makes it worth it. Buy it. August 4, 2010
The absolute best! Matched up with my D300 results in a sweet combo that does not disappoint on any front. Very fast focus for taking eagle photos along the Mississippi. August 4, 2010
Page: 3 4 5 6 7
<<prev | next>>
48 Questions | 78 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
48 Questions | 78 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

Will this lens work with my D90?

Apr 13, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
3out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
3 years ago
by
Tammer
Canada
Location : 
Canada
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
I use this lense on both a D90 and a D3S, and it works great.
Apr 22, 2011 by
by
Paul
Key West, FL
Location : 
Key West, FL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Oh yes
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes. But effective focal length will be 105 mm to 300 mm given 1.5 crop factor ( D90 is not full frame camera). LENS IS SO GOOD THAT YOU NEED TO TRY IT TO BELIEVE.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
docmic
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the lens will work with your D90.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

D80, will this lens work on it?

May 18, 2011 by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I'm planning on upgrading my camera at some point from a D80 to something better. I have two questions.

Will this lens work on it?

Can I use this lens on the camera witout having to have a monopod or tripod? I like to keep my camera in my hand via a secure strap. I'm wondering if I can do that same with this lens attached?

Thanks,

---Mark
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
Location : 
Stanhope, NJ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! You can use this with your D80.
I'm using this with my D80, and it is completely hand holdable
Note, the lens will dwarf the camera. it makes the camera feel like a stack of post it notes.
All joking a side, it will focus just as great as it would on any other camera.
the measurements will lead to 105 - 300 F2.8 on the D80.
you dont even need to hold the camera so much, just the lens.
Yes, you can have this camera and lens secure by a trap, I recommend getting a sling so your gear won't weigh your neck down. and it just works!
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
RK
B.C Canada
Location : 
B.C Canada
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
on the shorter focal lengths, with VR turned on, you can use it handheld, however, it will be HEAVY. on longer focal lengths, unless you're using very fast shutter speeds, you will have to have at least a monopod. and an af-s lens is compatible with all D-series nikon bodies, and will be.
May 19, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80, And the monopod/tripod problem is really depend on what shutter speed you can work on, But it is better to have monopod/tripod when taking indoor/lowlight conduction because you can boost the ISO high enought on the D80 for a faster shutter speed
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Aperture locked on f/2.8

Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
I realized today that my AF-S VR-NIKKOR 70-200mm 1:2.8 G ED lens does not respond to any camera it's mounted to as far as changing the aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture setting. Also, when attempting to preview using the "Depth Of Field Preview Button" on either my D200, D300, or D700, I can hear the click of the camera actuate the button, but it seems the camera is not receiving the change in aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture. I purchased the lens from B&H Photo as a factory refurbished lens and was wondering if by looking up the serial number, it can be determined if the reason it was refurbished was for the same reason.
3 years ago
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Dan The Photo Man, you are right on the money!!! I got a response from Nikon that made my head spin. Totally off base as far as I'm concerned. BUT...You, my friend were exactly on point! After reading your response, I took a look at the aperture arm and at first I didn't notice that it was bent. But it did not move freely in its slot. I the took a small needle nose and bent it a tiny bit, away from the side of the slot that it was rubbing against, and it sprung to the other end of the slot. It now moves freely and is spring loaded and when I tried it on the camera, it operated properly. Thanks a million, Dan!
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sounds like the aperture arm (a little metal piece that protrudes from the lens at the mounting end) is either damaged or has been bent. When you put the lens on the camera you have to be careful not to damage the arm.

It's a shiny silver piece that should move freely in it's slot (about a half inch back and forth) and as you manually move it you will see the aperture change. You may have to bend it slightly back to it's correct position so it will engage and function properly.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Dan the photo man
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Information regarding why it was refurbished is not shown with the serial number. You are welcome to send the lens for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What kind of teleconvertes I can use?

Apr 3, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
gaby
bermuda
Location : 
bermuda
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
It depends on what you are shooting but i would use the nikon 1.7x teleconverter. It's not too much of a decrement in autofocus speed and light loss but still 70% more zoom. Great fit.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
AF-S Teleconverters (TC-14E II /TC-17E II /TC-20E II)
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
TC-14E II, TC-17E II, TC-20E II and TC-20E III can all be used with the 70-200.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

how will this lens work wih my 7000 camera

Mar 17, 2011 by
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 1 month ago
by
john
neenah wi
Location : 
neenah wi
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just upgrade from VRI to VRII for my D7000 and it is amazing.
If you are shooting at distance and you require the best possible results this is what you need.
Alex
Aug 2, 2013 by
by
Alex
London, UK
Location : 
London, UK
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
This lens works flawlessly with my D7000. I borrowed one for a wedding and it was a dream to use in the fact that I hardly thought about it the whole time, aside from wanting one!

Sample image was shot w/ a D7000 and the 70-200 VRII
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very well. I use this on my D7000 with no problem at all.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

can i use this lens with a D3000 ?

Mar 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. No problem, but the images will be cropped. I use it on my DX body cameras.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use this lens with the D3000.
Mar 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

will this lens work with my d3100?

May 24, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens will definitely work with your D3100. As long as the lens is an AF-S type lens, then it will function with the DSLR body at hand. Also, as a VR G type lens, it will offer those functions as well. So, you really have nothing to worry about.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3100.
May 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Is there another lens that may be more suitable for my needs?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
todd
nyc
Location : 
nyc
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Personally, I wouldn't recommend that simply because you're gaining very little by putting on a teleconverter on the 70-200 lens when shooting sports. This lens is ideal for action that is happening closer to you. By putting a teleconverter on it, it makes it a little unwieldy to shoot with. That is when you will want to use a super telephoto lens (300mm and above). That is best for shooting subjects that are far away. Also, by putting the teleconverter on the 70-200, depending on which one you use, it will also decrease your effective f-stop accordingly. If you're shooting night sports, you're going to have a tougher time trying to stop the action and get good results. Best to leave it as-is and shoot it at wide open at f2.8 and enjoy its capabilities as originally intended. If you can't afford a super telephoto at the time, at least try renting one and see how it works for you. You'd be surprised at the results you'll get!
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Depends whether you need that bit extra reach or not, only you can answer that.
May 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Is this lense covered with international warranty?

Jun 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
or I have to pay extra bucks for it?
 
Products related to my question
 
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
kartik
india
Location : 
india
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
That depends on what you bought at the time of purchase - did you pay the USA or the International (gray market) price? If it said USA, then you got the USA warranty that covers it for five years. If you paid the International price, then you got the international warranty that is different from the USA warranty. It gets a little confusing, but that's the bottom line. They are different, and how Nikon handles repairs differs as well.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased.
Jun 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Which VR position do I use when using a monopod with the 70/200 f:2.8 VR Lens? Normal or Active

Jul 7, 2011 by
by
Joe P
Del Mar, CA
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Joe P
Del Mar, CA
Location : 
Del Mar, CA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Use Normal.
Active is for when in a moving vehicle, Car, Helicopter, Train..
Anything mobile that moves fast and can cause more than usual vibration/shake.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
RK
B.C Canada
Location : 
B.C Canada
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
both are OK, active is a mode that you use when you shoot video and you're doing a panning shot -- active "realizes" that you're panning and it doesn't try to compensate in the panning direction.
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers