Loading

The essential telephoto zoom lens for passionate shooters.

With a f/2.8 fixed maximum aperture, VR II image stabilization and Nikon’s advanced lens technologies, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II delivers a versatile telephoto zoom range and professional performance in nearly any light.  Whether you’re shooting low-light sports, wildlife, fashion, portraits or everyday subjects, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will reliably capture stunning, bright, razor-sharp images and HD videos
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
A-M
M/A
IF Lens

Catch the shots that matter

Fast f/2.8 maximum aperture and VR II

An update to Nikon’s legendary f/2.8 fixed aperture telephoto zoom lens, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II captures stunning full-frame images with remarkable speed. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-fast, ultra-quiet autofocusing with seamless manual focus override. No matter what you’re shooting, you’ll capture it with uncompromising speed and precision—at any focal length.

Images in a class of their own

Renowned NIKKOR optics and advanced Nikon lens technologies

Photos and HD videos captured with the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II are second to none. The lens draws peak performance from advanced D-SLRs for exceptional sharpness, contrast and color rendering. From its enhanced autofocusing (SWM), VR II image stabilization, Nano Crystal Coat (N), Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass and more, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will broaden your shooting potential and inspire some of your most impressive shots yet.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths. Nano Crystal Coat solves ghost effects caused by red light and effectively reduces ghost and flare caused by light entering the lens diagonally.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
A-M
A-M
A-M stands for Auto-Manual Mode. Thanks to a mechanism incorporated in the lens barrel, smooth focusing operation in Manual focus mode is realized in the same way as users have become accustomed to with conventional manual-focus lenses by adding an appropriate torque to the focus ring.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II 4.8 5 183 183
This lens has a very fast focus This lens has a very fast focus and the quality of pictures is very good. I would recommend this lens for anyone. I use it for almost all of my outdoor photos, portraits, landscapes, animals, and general shooting. Its versatility makes it unique and by adding a teleconverter, you can enjoy more zoom with very good results. My advice, BUY IT. April 18, 2011
My go to lens The 70-200 VR II lens is definitely my "Go to" lens for most of my wedding and lifestyle portrait work now. I was a big fan of the first version of this lens, but the latest incarnation of this classic is simply awesome! I shoot a lot of weddings in varied conditions including very low light and the ability of this lens to capture sharp contrasty images "wide open" at very slow shutter speeds due to the VR II and excellent optics, and to deliver, fast, accurate focus in low light has helped me to deliver images that my clients simply love when other photographers simply can't even get the shot. When photography is how you support your family, you need the best, most reliable, tools available and this lens delivers, time and time again. April 18, 2011
Best lens ever used I am an advanced amateur and have been doing photography for over 30 years. The AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II is clearly the best lens I have ever used. It renders great detail in the subject and the scene. Images are colorful and high in contrast. The lens handles flare very well. Great lens for portraits, weddings, indoor events and low-light photography. April 18, 2011
Optical perfection + mechanical excellence! The AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II has become my workhorse lens. Over a wide variety of conditions, and without apparent effort, it gives consistent optical performance that hovers somewhere between perfection and the merely excellent. This extraordinarily piece of glass performs way beyond my previous expectations in all departments: speed, contrast, sharpness corner-to-corner even at f/2.8; no chromatic aberration to speak of. Surprisingly little lens flare if sunlight falls on front element. VR II together with the D700's excellent high-ISO performance yields sharp hand held shots even when it's really too dark to see well. My only issue is minor: the lens hood does not always find its groove first time and I often have to try again to click it into place. My advice: Don't buy another photographic accessory until you've saved up enough money for this lens...it's not cheap, but the results are priceless! It does the job so well, I don't even mind the weight. Congratulations, Nikon, day after day you make my day!!! April 17, 2011
Fantastic sharpness A great lens. Well worth the price. You are only as good as your glass and this is one of the best I've ever used. I do high speed sports photography with landscapes on the side and I use this lens extensively for both. Amazing versatility. Stable and crisp photos at almost any speed. April 17, 2011
Excellent Purchase!! I bought this lens a year ago and it has been one of the best investments I have made! The weight is manageable, superfast focus and the VR is amazing! It is one of my workhorse lenses and its a must have for all Nikon shooters!! April 17, 2011
Truly Superb The contrast change alone is quite remarkable even from the mid level lenses. Edge acuity seems to be incredible. The ease of use is quite high as the layout of the controls is now becoming slightly standardized. The build quality is notable when comparing to lesser offerings. Using this in churches and other caves, the lower light capabilities are very useful in keeping the customer/photographer happy. The VRII while adding cost works most certainly too assure an increased number of keepers. With the 1.7X teleconverter and a macro tube I found the fantastic rendition of even bees in flight to be crisp at as close as 15 inches. Please...save the money and buy this. April 16, 2011
Excellent zoom lens!!!!!!!! This lens is excellent for nature photography especially wildlife. It works perfectly with the TC-20 III teleconverter giving me an effective 400mm lens that is tack sharp. The fast aperture makes this a nice sports lens as well. It is a wonderful companion to the 24-70 f/2.8. April 16, 2011
Overhaul a great lense, work well with a 2x very fast, light exellent to take pictures of flying birds I use it with a d70 then d200 after D2x and now with the D3. April 15, 2011
one of the best all around lens. This is my main lens I take it with me on all my photo outings.I get sharp crisp clear shots with this lens.The fast f2.8 & the VR are the main reasons I choose this lens. April 15, 2011
Nikon's Top Lens This is my go-to lens, hands down, in every situation. I am a lifestyle wedding photographer and this lens never lets me down. I am consistently amazed at the bokeh quality and this lens performs flawlessly in low-light situations, I never have any focus issues. This lens is the workhorse in my Nikon stable and works harder than any other lens at every wedding I photograph. April 15, 2011
Super! Fast, solid, Excelent optics,VR works great. A hand full,but worth every ounce! April 15, 2011
You will fall in love with it One of the sharpest and most amazing lenses I have. A nice range of zoom, high quality glass that will make your photos come to life. And with the aperture going to 2.8, you can easily isolate your subject by blurring the background. At almost 3 lbs, the only source of discomfort *may* be the weight, but I personally think that's a very cheap price to pay for the amazing photos you will get out of it. April 15, 2011
Unbelievable Autofocus is fast. VRII is handy and I can't compare the performance to my other lenses because they are a in a lesser league. My favorite lens by far! April 14, 2011
Versatile and sharp I have experienced phenomenal results for both single and panoramic shots. April 14, 2011
This is best Nikon lens I have ever used . I am an on location Professional Portrait Photographer. I have been using this lens and a Nikon digital camera, (the latest being the NikonD3) for the Last seven years. Before that I used a medium format camera. this 700-200f/2.8 lens has been a work horse for me. I use it exclusively for portraits, a good portion is High school Senior portraits. I have captured many thousands of images with out the slightest hesitation from the lens. It's incredibly sharp lens renders beautiful images. I do mostly available light work and often into the subdued light of the early evening to capture the sweet light. The fast lens and the VR function allow me to take it off the tripod and shoot quickly hand held in low light. This is worth the price of the lens many times over. A devoted Nikon user for over 40 years, I would never leave the studio with out this lens in my bag. Thanks Nikon, for making my life a little easier. Robert April 14, 2011
70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II Review I needed a fast lense with decent range to shoot HS soccer games at night. Using a monopod and a D300 with the 70-200 f/2.8 ED VR II gave me the distance and light capturing ability I needed to stop the action. All in all a great combination! April 14, 2011
Best lens on the planet! I owned both previous models (70-200VR1 and 80-200SWM) and debated if it was worth the upgrade to the VR2. After 2 days of ownership I sold the other two and kept this one as my favorite all time lens. Perfect for portraits & weddings, crisp, fast and exceptional! Worth every penny and more! April 14, 2011
No matter whether it is nature, portrait or telephoto landscape, this lens excels in everything. I wish every lens was as good as this one. I dont feel this lens is heavy as it is what photography should be. April 14, 2011
Smooth and easy use I bought the lens to enable me to get the photo definition from the right vantage point that was to far away for a standard 55mm lens. have never been dissipointed when coupled with my D200. April 14, 2011
Great Lens I have owned this lens for just under a year now. Its sharp at all focal lengths and apertures on my D300, and D700. Very quick and accurate autofocus. This lens is heavier than my 80-200 f/2.8 ED by the specs, but it is easier to handle and for some reason feels lighter. Great purchase, and worth it even though expensive! April 14, 2011
Outstanding The lens is very sharp and fast. Handheld is not a problem with VR. I shoot under dusty and extreme conditions and the lens is very very tight. Would not leave home without it in the bag. April 14, 2011
Outstanding, Tack Sharp Lens I use this lens with with either a Nikon D300 or a D700 and the images I have made on both the DX & FX format are wonderful. I often attach the 1.7 Nikon extender and notice very little difference in the image quality. I generally shoot on a tripod when I am using the extender, but I have had remarkable results shooting hand held. It is just a fun lens to take into the field and it is the lens that stays attached to the D700. As others have noted, it is not light, but that is to be expected. It is really good glass! The VR II has allowed me to hand hold the camera/lens and make numerous images of wildlife that I likely would have missed with the camera/lens mounted on a tripod. I love this lens! April 14, 2011
Impressive IQ Normally, it takes some experimentation with a new lens before obtaining quality/usable results. With this lens I was able to achieve this immediately. The most impressive part for me is the consistent sharpness across the zoom range. I tried an experiment where I photographed some birds that in reality were too far away, but I wanted to see what they would look like cropped down. The result was a very usable image. Obviously the image would not be salon worthy, but certainly good enough for web usage. April 14, 2011
Phenominal Lens I had 3 Nikkor 70-200 2.8 lenses, first one was the old push pull, second twist zoom with a tripod/monopod collar and finally this brand new one. Nikon has been great from the begining, but if your serious about your photos and are charging a customer good money for your prints then you need this lens. Quiet, Fast, Smooth and sharper than I've ever seen. Can't wait to see if the next series flies. April 14, 2011
Super fast zoom Even though it's big and heavy, my 70 - 200 zoom is my preferred lense. Some might call it an overkill for a DX size DSLR, but I'm possitioned for my next upgrade - to an FX body. The lens is super fast and due to an amazing 2.8 aperture all the way from 70 mm up to full zoom, it makes creative photography an easy task. I've fine tuned the focus a bit, which is an pretty easy task using the camera's setup menu and some reference tools. A highly recommended lense - also for owners of non-FX format cameras :-) April 14, 2011
Great Lens This lens is tack sharp....Period. I use to use a sharpening software on the keeper pics, but now I don't have too, it is razor sharp and worth the money in my opinion. The added benefit of f/2.8 throughout the range is a + as well. The VRII is a great help, both in f stops and image sharpness. The lens is heavy, but worth it to get "that shot" April 14, 2011
Simply fantastic lens great lens, amazing colors and sharpness. Have taken many wonderful hand held low light pictures with my D700. VR II works very well. Wonderful for portraits with my D700 April 14, 2011
Great Lens, eliminates the need for flash I do a lot of ballroom dance photography, and this lens is amazing. The event lighting in a ballroom is better than flash, and the speed of the lens allows me to shoot at f2.8 to f5.6 and ISO of 1200 to 1600. April 14, 2011
Awesome Lens I use this lens on a D300S mostly with excellent results. Once in awhile on a D60. The higher number of focus points on the D300S makes a differene. I am pleasantly surprised at the high percentage of in focus shots I get with this lens. For me, the lens is at its best at 200mm/f2.8. Shots at 70mm and/or stopped down significantly, i.e. - f8 or f11, don't seem to be quite as sharp, but still quite good. Lots of soccer pics of the grandkids turn out super. Lots of "event" type pics with our RV group outings also great. April 14, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5 6 7
<<prev | next>>
53 Questions | 83 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
53 Questions | 83 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

Will this lens work with my D90?

Apr 13, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
3out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Tammer
Canada
Location : 
Canada
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
I use this lense on both a D90 and a D3S, and it works great.
Apr 22, 2011 by
by
Paul
Key West, FL
Location : 
Key West, FL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Oh yes
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes. But effective focal length will be 105 mm to 300 mm given 1.5 crop factor ( D90 is not full frame camera). LENS IS SO GOOD THAT YOU NEED TO TRY IT TO BELIEVE.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
docmic
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the lens will work with your D90.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

D80, will this lens work on it?

May 18, 2011 by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I'm planning on upgrading my camera at some point from a D80 to something better. I have two questions.

Will this lens work on it?

Can I use this lens on the camera witout having to have a monopod or tripod? I like to keep my camera in my hand via a secure strap. I'm wondering if I can do that same with this lens attached?

Thanks,

---Mark
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
Location : 
Stanhope, NJ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! You can use this with your D80.
I'm using this with my D80, and it is completely hand holdable
Note, the lens will dwarf the camera. it makes the camera feel like a stack of post it notes.
All joking a side, it will focus just as great as it would on any other camera.
the measurements will lead to 105 - 300 F2.8 on the D80.
you dont even need to hold the camera so much, just the lens.
Yes, you can have this camera and lens secure by a trap, I recommend getting a sling so your gear won't weigh your neck down. and it just works!
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
RK
B.C Canada
Location : 
B.C Canada
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
on the shorter focal lengths, with VR turned on, you can use it handheld, however, it will be HEAVY. on longer focal lengths, unless you're using very fast shutter speeds, you will have to have at least a monopod. and an af-s lens is compatible with all D-series nikon bodies, and will be.
May 19, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80, And the monopod/tripod problem is really depend on what shutter speed you can work on, But it is better to have monopod/tripod when taking indoor/lowlight conduction because you can boost the ISO high enought on the D80 for a faster shutter speed
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

how will this lens work wih my 7000 camera

Mar 17, 2011 by
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
john
neenah wi
Location : 
neenah wi
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just upgrade from VRI to VRII for my D7000 and it is amazing.
If you are shooting at distance and you require the best possible results this is what you need.
Alex
Aug 2, 2013 by
by
Alex
London, UK
Location : 
London, UK
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
This lens works flawlessly with my D7000. I borrowed one for a wedding and it was a dream to use in the fact that I hardly thought about it the whole time, aside from wanting one!

Sample image was shot w/ a D7000 and the 70-200 VRII
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very well. I use this on my D7000 with no problem at all.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What kind of teleconvertes I can use?

Apr 3, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
gaby
bermuda
Location : 
bermuda
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
Answer: 
It depends on what you are shooting but i would use the nikon 1.7x teleconverter. It's not too much of a decrement in autofocus speed and light loss but still 70% more zoom. Great fit.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Answer: 
AF-S Teleconverters (TC-14E II /TC-17E II /TC-20E II)
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
TC-14E II, TC-17E II, TC-20E II and TC-20E III can all be used with the 70-200.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Aperture locked on f/2.8

Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
I realized today that my AF-S VR-NIKKOR 70-200mm 1:2.8 G ED lens does not respond to any camera it's mounted to as far as changing the aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture setting. Also, when attempting to preview using the "Depth Of Field Preview Button" on either my D200, D300, or D700, I can hear the click of the camera actuate the button, but it seems the camera is not receiving the change in aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture. I purchased the lens from B&H Photo as a factory refurbished lens and was wondering if by looking up the serial number, it can be determined if the reason it was refurbished was for the same reason.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Dan The Photo Man, you are right on the money!!! I got a response from Nikon that made my head spin. Totally off base as far as I'm concerned. BUT...You, my friend were exactly on point! After reading your response, I took a look at the aperture arm and at first I didn't notice that it was bent. But it did not move freely in its slot. I the took a small needle nose and bent it a tiny bit, away from the side of the slot that it was rubbing against, and it sprung to the other end of the slot. It now moves freely and is spring loaded and when I tried it on the camera, it operated properly. Thanks a million, Dan!
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sounds like the aperture arm (a little metal piece that protrudes from the lens at the mounting end) is either damaged or has been bent. When you put the lens on the camera you have to be careful not to damage the arm.

It's a shiny silver piece that should move freely in it's slot (about a half inch back and forth) and as you manually move it you will see the aperture change. You may have to bend it slightly back to it's correct position so it will engage and function properly.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Dan the photo man
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Information regarding why it was refurbished is not shown with the serial number. You are welcome to send the lens for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

can i use this lens with a D3000 ?

Mar 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. No problem, but the images will be cropped. I use it on my DX body cameras.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use this lens with the D3000.
Mar 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Can I use with D7000 and D70?

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
cooknsouth
Tulare, CA
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
cooknsouth
Tulare, CA
Location : 
Tulare, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
D7000, yes. D70 yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the D7000 has a focusing motor in it as well so it can take both lenses w/ motors in them (like this 70-200) or without (like the 80-200). The D70 also has a built-in motor so it will work with both as well. The D7000's AF system is much more advanced, however, and is very quick in comparison to my D200's AF, fyi.

The sample image was taken w/ this 70-200 VRII and my D7000.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

will this lens work with my d3100?

May 24, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens will definitely work with your D3100. As long as the lens is an AF-S type lens, then it will function with the DSLR body at hand. Also, as a VR G type lens, it will offer those functions as well. So, you really have nothing to worry about.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3100.
May 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Is there another lens that may be more suitable for my needs?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
todd
nyc
Location : 
nyc
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Personally, I wouldn't recommend that simply because you're gaining very little by putting on a teleconverter on the 70-200 lens when shooting sports. This lens is ideal for action that is happening closer to you. By putting a teleconverter on it, it makes it a little unwieldy to shoot with. That is when you will want to use a super telephoto lens (300mm and above). That is best for shooting subjects that are far away. Also, by putting the teleconverter on the 70-200, depending on which one you use, it will also decrease your effective f-stop accordingly. If you're shooting night sports, you're going to have a tougher time trying to stop the action and get good results. Best to leave it as-is and shoot it at wide open at f2.8 and enjoy its capabilities as originally intended. If you can't afford a super telephoto at the time, at least try renting one and see how it works for you. You'd be surprised at the results you'll get!
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Depends whether you need that bit extra reach or not, only you can answer that.
May 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Is this lense covered with international warranty?

Jun 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
or I have to pay extra bucks for it?
 
Products related to my question
 
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
kartik
india
Location : 
india
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
That depends on what you bought at the time of purchase - did you pay the USA or the International (gray market) price? If it said USA, then you got the USA warranty that covers it for five years. If you paid the International price, then you got the international warranty that is different from the USA warranty. It gets a little confusing, but that's the bottom line. They are different, and how Nikon handles repairs differs as well.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased.
Jun 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers