Loading

The essential telephoto zoom lens for passionate shooters.

With a f/2.8 fixed maximum aperture, VR II image stabilization and Nikon’s advanced lens technologies, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II delivers a versatile telephoto zoom range and professional performance in nearly any light.  Whether you’re shooting low-light sports, wildlife, fashion, portraits or everyday subjects, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will reliably capture stunning, bright, razor-sharp images and HD videos
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
A-M
M/A
IF Lens

Catch the shots that matter

Fast f/2.8 maximum aperture and VR II

An update to Nikon’s legendary f/2.8 fixed aperture telephoto zoom lens, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II captures stunning full-frame images with remarkable speed. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture. Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-fast, ultra-quiet autofocusing with seamless manual focus override. No matter what you’re shooting, you’ll capture it with uncompromising speed and precision—at any focal length.

Images in a class of their own

Renowned NIKKOR optics and advanced Nikon lens technologies

Photos and HD videos captured with the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II are second to none. The lens draws peak performance from advanced D-SLRs for exceptional sharpness, contrast and color rendering. From its enhanced autofocusing (SWM), VR II image stabilization, Nano Crystal Coat (N), Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass and more, the AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II will broaden your shooting potential and inspire some of your most impressive shots yet.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths. Nano Crystal Coat solves ghost effects caused by red light and effectively reduces ghost and flare caused by light entering the lens diagonally.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
A-M
A-M
A-M stands for Auto-Manual Mode. Thanks to a mechanism incorporated in the lens barrel, smooth focusing operation in Manual focus mode is realized in the same way as users have become accustomed to with conventional manual-focus lenses by adding an appropriate torque to the focus ring.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II 4.8 5 179 179
Great lens I purchased this lens a couple of months ago and have shot quite a lot with it on both my D800 and D7000 (with and without the TC20III extender). All combinations rendered nice crisp shots and on the D7000 a 600mm f5.6 to play with. Great wildlife and bird lens. April 18, 2013
Excellent optics Dont even think twice to buy this lens. It delivers every time. April 18, 2013
one of the best ever . very sharp this one was bought for following the grand kids. its so sharp and fast focus its scary. this with the 24/70 and i cant believe the difference in the rest of the lenses. theres no coparison . its a little heavy but if u want clarity and colors get one today. March 14, 2013
So annoyed...that I waited so long to buy one. Title says it all. For years I lusted after the 70-200 VR, and then VRII but never could pony up and buy one. Well I finally decided to pull the trigger, and I can't believe ups didn't do it sooner. It's just so good. Lighting fast auto-focus, super sharp, great DOF, VR is incredible. If you're like I was, and lusting...I recommend it. I immediately realized how much easier my life would have been with this lens years ago. March 11, 2013
FAST FAST FAST! Superb upgrade in the VR, Great optics and perfect AF for sports (though for kids and brides) I previously owned (and reviewed) the 80-200, but I upgraded to this lens a couple of months, and I've shot like crazy since then, lets start: The pros: Impecable performance of the AF, absolutely dead on, if you get OOF images it might be a selection point issue, I mean, if you select the 21 point AF-C setting (like the one on D700 and higher bodies) it is easy to get what you meant in focus, if it is not you may try with 9, because quicker bodies like D4 and D3s the average of hits of in focus images (depending on the technic) will sky rocket like in 100% like in my case that recently updated from the non VR 80-200. AF is just perfect in fewer words. I never owned but used fairly the VR I version of the 70-200 and I never felt in love with it, that was why I kept the non VR until I tried the VR II, but I have to say that it works as expected or better for a lens this price. You can get annoyed for the sound of the VR if you are in a really quiet environment, but if you are at the courtside of the gane you'll never notice it. IT DOES RECOGNIZE PERFECTLY THE PANNING MOVEMENT! like never before, like no other lens (the ones from the white teles company for example) this is more than welcome for sports, but useful for any kind of shooting. The "ACTIVE" mode works weird but fine also, I dont use it that much like the "NORMAL" mode anyway. The "FOCUS BREATHING ISSUE (FBI)": Not an issue to me, in fact it's kind of welcome to me for two reasons; first, it is only noticeable at 200mm at the really closest distance (which is way closer than the 80-200) and you forget about the focal length loss in about a couple of metter away from the minimum focus distance anyway; and second, it is not really noticeable at the 70mm end. Besides, the short focusing is so well improved that your eye will be so pleased for that reason that will loose track of the FBI. Image quality is just as great as the 80-200 or even better, I could say... if I I let out the pixel peep inside of all of us that It might be slightly softer at 2.8 at 200mm (and only there) compared to the 80-200. You might find also slight distorsion (ONLY IF YOU SHOOT AT PATTERNS, at 2.8, which you won't, this lens is not intent for that). Build quality is just superb, 'Nuf said, Weight: It is heavy, yes. Name a good 2.8 zoom that it is not... you can't, all good lenses have great heavy glass. Price: ok, it is pricey, again, name a good.... Tripod shoe: great! you can remove from the collar (not recommended with full bodies (D3series, D4)) works just fantastic. Collar stays put though. AF-S... ultra silent, super quick and super responsive, Manual overrides are easy and easier with the AF-M mode. This is a mayor improvement for the wedding photographer !!!! Super silent focusing. Ok, THE CONTRAS: G type... what if I want to use this lens in an really older camera? The lens hood is expensive if you lose it, and it is not as strong as the one used on the 80-200. You cannot place the lens with the hood facing down on the hood, since it is a tulip shaped you will drop the lens if you do. Summarizing: If you want it then get it, if you have the VR1 version UPGRADE IT, you wont regret it. If you own a 80-200 2.8 well... think really well about it, but you might be as happy as me anyway. March 2, 2013
Versatile gem I had tried one on my D7000 and loved it. Been saving up money from quitting smoking and finally bought my own, yesterday, from the Shutterbug, here in Eugene. Something not much talked about is just how versatile this lens is. With a TC-17 or TC-20ii, you get a birding lens that is every bit as good as the f4 300mm - as sharp as can be, fast autofocus, and zoom capable. This lens is simply amazing. February 24, 2013
Very good lens Recently upgraded to D600 and this lens from a D5000 and several DX lenses. I also have the 105mm 2.8 that I like very much. I've been wanting to upgrade to full frame and the 70-200mm 2.8 VRII for about 2 years. Very good lens that's excellent in low light. First images were taken on the Leeward coast of Oahu. Plan to purchase a 14-24mm 2.8, or the 24mm 1.4 next. February 1, 2013
Nikon es la mejor marca ami me sirve demaciado porque soy una fotografa profecional y me eh dado cuenta que hay otros productos Nikon que tambien son para pequeños December 22, 2012
Blurry images every time Hate it. And Nikon, blames me. Not in the auto mode, or this or that. Come on, own up, let me send it in already. The other lens of the holy triune, fantastic! December 10, 2012
Great Lens, when it works! IO have this lens for 6 months now, and since I got it I noticed that the VR takes too long to kick in and it makes the AF terribly slow and not precise. 30 days ago the lens simply stopped working in some occasions and I noticed that it was a little loose. It shows F/0 in the camera and the lens immediately stops working. I had it happening in several occasions and as I shoot weddings, this is unacceptable. November 29, 2012
Incredible Lens Even in Low Light The incredible sharpness, contrast and control of CA and other matters makes this the best, most versatile lens I have owned during 40 years of shooting with Nikon. I regularly push the envelope of slow shutter speeds, and the rate of keepers is amazing. I shoot it wide open and the smooth background and snappy subject detail leave me entirely satisfied. I like to photograph species of bees (I don't tell most people that), and the 70-200 VRII keeps up with them. I use a TC-14ii and don't see a difference in quaiity once one stop down. I normally handhold, but since I have an Arca-Swiss ball head, did replace the foot for convenience. Most of the time that stays in the bag because the 70-200 is SO good hand-held. Quite simply, about 70% of my images are made with this lens - the other 30% mostly with a 12-24 and the 40macro, and some with the 105macro. November 4, 2012
Stunning Lens Gets the results you wanted and much more. Very sharp images and with gentle bokeh for great portraits. Complements a mid-range "standard" zoom or shorter prime lens and almost certainly matches the later for image quality. Heavy, but that's a small penalty for using such a well made product. The weight makes you aim carefully and compose your shots properly. Certainly not for snapshots or casual use. Stunning! October 18, 2012
No regrets. For sports shooters, photojournalists, and portrait photographers, you can't go wrong with this one, it's amazing. particularly when I'm shooting portraits, this and the 85mm 1.4G are all that I need. If you're on the fence... jump. October 17, 2012
Best lens I have I had wanted this lens for a long time and when I finally ordered it, I was ecstatic! It completely fulfilled my expectations. I did test shots using my 18-200 lens and then this lens and the difference was amazing. With my old lens, the backround was very dark but with this lens, the image was much brighter and lighter in the background. This lens produces crystal clear images and it's my go to lens now. I have included samples below....and I am only using a d5000 camera. August 31, 2012
Performance Beyond Belief This lens is beyond amazing. I have owned it since the day it became available. The autofocus is lightning fast and the VRII lets me set up for outstanding sports images even in the early morning or earl evening light. I can photograph cyclists in triathlons and rip off a 20 frame burst and have 18-19 images in perfect focus while panning. Color reproduction is superb and excellent bokeh in nature and landscape images. Yes, it it big and heavy, but if you want a true pro lens that is what you will get. The removable tripod shoe is a huge plus for comfort when doing sports work as you can handhold just about anything. The zoom is firm but not difficult, with no creep. If you are into sports and action photography this is worth twice the price. August 17, 2012
There is a reason why this lens is so highly rated I debated for some time on getting this lens due to the weight, but the sharpness plus image isolation/ bokeh is excellent. I bought it just a short time ago. It focuses super fast and works like a dream on my D800, especially with the battery grip. The VRII is very effective and the whole lens is built like a tank. I would not worry in the rain at all. I actually feel that the weight and balance helps me in steadying it. Color rendition is, as expected, superb. On the topic of 'breathing', this is not a problem for me and to be honest, although it can be noticed, I am totally delighted with the package as a whole. July 22, 2012
I am the Biggest Nikon Fan! I have used Nikon lenses since late 1980s..I have used older lenses like 80-200mm f/2.8D for a long time, also used the 70-200mm f/2.8 VRI for a while and finally upgraded to NEW 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII..All I have to say is that this lens is 'SUPER FANTASTIC'..simply the BEST telephoto lens for portrait work. July 11, 2012
Excellent lens as usual I just got this lens last weekend and man am I impressed. Absolutely gorgeous images, my subjects 'pop' out of the frame. The colors and contrast are amazing. Yes this an expensive, heavy, large lens, but thats what pro equipment is. If you're considering this lens just buy it, you won't be disappointed. June 8, 2012
This is a fabulous lens I got this lens about 6 months ago. I have found it is my "go to" lens for a myriad of photo applications. One things that I found to be a little surprising was it makes for a great close up lens. Zoom up to 200mm focal length and then open it to f2.8 and get razor sharp subjects and luxurious bokeh. Stop it down to f8 or so and get a beefy DOF with almost no evidence of diffraction effects. June 5, 2012
Favorite NIKKOR I am totally blown away by Nikon's newest VR II version. The VR II really does seem to be 'magical,' and will certainly help your low-light or tougher shots where extra support is unavailable. It's a beast to carry around, so the higher end bodies (or a grip) is very helpful, but the astounding image, build, and general quality is more than worth it. May 19, 2012
right on The 70-200mm f/2.8 is as sharp as any lens that I have used .. I'm trying to find a difference in my 85mm f/1.4 and this lens but can't .. It is heavy, but a joy to shoot with .. Shooting portraits is giving me better results than I expected .. The reach is nice, but it is certainly not a long zoom .. Overall, very sharp, with great auto focus times .. A nice addition to my arsenal ... May 3, 2012
They say 'good things comes in small packages' This lens is one of a kind lens, with the 2.8 aperture you can do a lot of good work. I'd personaly recommend this lens, on the other side it is a little expensive not everybody can afford it but still it's a great lens. January 7, 2012
worth it!!! i have no idea what type of photographer you are, nor do i know of and/or appreciate your abilities. suffice it to say, if you're considering this lens buy it. no other need for discussion, nor listening to the opinions of others (including mine) buy it, period end of sentence. it's worth it December 31, 2011
Poor Lens I bought this lens a few months back. At the time I placed the order it was back ordered. The lens arrived when I was traveling and I did not have a chance to try it. By the time I used it, it was past 30 days. The lens had focusing issues when set on auto focus. The images manually focused were soft for certain distances. I had to send it to Nikon to get it fixed. Although they fixed it for free, I had to pay $60 for one way shipping.I was in disbelief that I paid $2300 for the piece of gear that was defective and wondered if nikon does a quality check on its products at all especially on their so called pro gear that they sell at steep prices. December 20, 2011
An excellent upgrade from the VR1 I received the lens last week so have not given it a thorough test but my initial range of shots have been impressive. What I hoped for when buying the lens was to match the contrast and full-frame sharpness of Nikon's other new professional zooms, the 14-24 and the 24-70, and I have not been disappointed. I have not tried it out with portraits or events but am confident the focal lengths of the lens will satisfy my needs in these areas. Strong build quality gives me confidence that the lens will hold up. October 24, 2011
Performs as advertised I received the AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f2.8 ED VRII refurbished lens on 10/12/2011 from the Nikon Store and immediately put it to work with my D200.The conditions were a typical Fall Western PA late afternoon, that being gloomy and gray. The lens performed as advertised. The colors of the remaining flowers were vibrant and and the VR system works great with a lens weighing more than three pounds. October 13, 2011
it,s very sturdy Haven't used it much yet, since I only had it for a couple of weeks, but hope to try it a lot in the near future. It seems very well built and have not noticed any thing as yet. Very proud to own one. September 26, 2011
Sharper than my kitchen knife! I bought this lens along with the D700 and have to say it is FANTASTIC! The image is tack sharp even at the widest aperture. It focuses right on the subject and hardly have the focus hunting issue. The VR system serves well in low light situation but it drains a lot of battery. Its weight is also another con - definitely not a lens for travelling unless you are in need of image quality or don't mind carrying. However, there is a breathing problem issue with this lens. There is a very small amount of dust that make its way into the lens over time - it does not affect image quality though. Overall, this lens is amazing. If you have enough bucks for this fantastic glass then I see no reason to pass it. September 21, 2011
One of Nikon's sharpest lenses Performance typically boils down to two things: autofocus speed and sharpness. So let's just cut to the chase: this is one of Nikon's sharpest lenses, and the AF-S system works just as fast and as quietly on this lens as it does on any other. Beautiful bokeh. Gorgeous out-of-focus rendering, perhaps as good as any existing Nikkor. September 19, 2011
A must for night football For dark nights at high school fields, this lens has proven to be a reliable asset for sports shooting. The VR feature does make a big difference in getting fast action shots during a pan as players move through the frame. September 15, 2011
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 7
<<prev | next>>
48 Questions | 78 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
48 Questions | 78 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
5 Answers

Will this lens work with my D90?

Apr 13, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
3out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
3 years ago
by
Tammer
Canada
Location : 
Canada
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
5 Answers

Answers

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
I use this lense on both a D90 and a D3S, and it works great.
Apr 22, 2011 by
by
Paul
Key West, FL
Location : 
Key West, FL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Oh yes
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes. But effective focal length will be 105 mm to 300 mm given 1.5 crop factor ( D90 is not full frame camera). LENS IS SO GOOD THAT YOU NEED TO TRY IT TO BELIEVE.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
docmic
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the lens will work with your D90.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
4 Answers

D80, will this lens work on it?

May 18, 2011 by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I'm planning on upgrading my camera at some point from a D80 to something better. I have two questions.

Will this lens work on it?

Can I use this lens on the camera witout having to have a monopod or tripod? I like to keep my camera in my hand via a secure strap. I'm wondering if I can do that same with this lens attached?

Thanks,

---Mark
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Mark
Stanhope, NJ
Location : 
Stanhope, NJ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! You can use this with your D80.
I'm using this with my D80, and it is completely hand holdable
Note, the lens will dwarf the camera. it makes the camera feel like a stack of post it notes.
All joking a side, it will focus just as great as it would on any other camera.
the measurements will lead to 105 - 300 F2.8 on the D80.
you dont even need to hold the camera so much, just the lens.
Yes, you can have this camera and lens secure by a trap, I recommend getting a sling so your gear won't weigh your neck down. and it just works!
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
RK
B.C Canada
Location : 
B.C Canada
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
on the shorter focal lengths, with VR turned on, you can use it handheld, however, it will be HEAVY. on longer focal lengths, unless you're using very fast shutter speeds, you will have to have at least a monopod. and an af-s lens is compatible with all D-series nikon bodies, and will be.
May 19, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80, And the monopod/tripod problem is really depend on what shutter speed you can work on, But it is better to have monopod/tripod when taking indoor/lowlight conduction because you can boost the ISO high enought on the D80 for a faster shutter speed
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, All AF-S lens will work with D80
May 19, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

how will this lens work wih my 7000 camera

Mar 17, 2011 by
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 1 month ago
by
john
neenah wi
Location : 
neenah wi
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just upgrade from VRI to VRII for my D7000 and it is amazing.
If you are shooting at distance and you require the best possible results this is what you need.
Alex
Aug 2, 2013 by
by
Alex
London, UK
Location : 
London, UK
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
This lens works flawlessly with my D7000. I borrowed one for a wedding and it was a dream to use in the fact that I hardly thought about it the whole time, aside from wanting one!

Sample image was shot w/ a D7000 and the 70-200 VRII
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very well. I use this on my D7000 with no problem at all.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

Aperture locked on f/2.8

Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
I realized today that my AF-S VR-NIKKOR 70-200mm 1:2.8 G ED lens does not respond to any camera it's mounted to as far as changing the aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture setting. Also, when attempting to preview using the "Depth Of Field Preview Button" on either my D200, D300, or D700, I can hear the click of the camera actuate the button, but it seems the camera is not receiving the change in aperture from f/2.8 to any other aperture. I purchased the lens from B&H Photo as a factory refurbished lens and was wondering if by looking up the serial number, it can be determined if the reason it was refurbished was for the same reason.
3 years ago
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Dan The Photo Man, you are right on the money!!! I got a response from Nikon that made my head spin. Totally off base as far as I'm concerned. BUT...You, my friend were exactly on point! After reading your response, I took a look at the aperture arm and at first I didn't notice that it was bent. But it did not move freely in its slot. I the took a small needle nose and bent it a tiny bit, away from the side of the slot that it was rubbing against, and it sprung to the other end of the slot. It now moves freely and is spring loaded and when I tried it on the camera, it operated properly. Thanks a million, Dan!
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Pat
White Plains, NY
Location : 
White Plains, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sounds like the aperture arm (a little metal piece that protrudes from the lens at the mounting end) is either damaged or has been bent. When you put the lens on the camera you have to be careful not to damage the arm.

It's a shiny silver piece that should move freely in it's slot (about a half inch back and forth) and as you manually move it you will see the aperture change. You may have to bend it slightly back to it's correct position so it will engage and function properly.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Dan the photo man
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Information regarding why it was refurbished is not shown with the serial number. You are welcome to send the lens for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
3 Answers

What kind of teleconvertes I can use?

Apr 3, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
gaby
bermuda
Location : 
bermuda
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
It depends on what you are shooting but i would use the nikon 1.7x teleconverter. It's not too much of a decrement in autofocus speed and light loss but still 70% more zoom. Great fit.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
AF-S Teleconverters (TC-14E II /TC-17E II /TC-20E II)
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
TC-14E II, TC-17E II, TC-20E II and TC-20E III can all be used with the 70-200.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

can i use this lens with a D3000 ?

Mar 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. No problem, but the images will be cropped. I use it on my DX body cameras.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use this lens with the D3000.
Mar 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Can I use with D7000 and D70?

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
cooknsouth
Tulare, CA
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
cooknsouth
Tulare, CA
Location : 
Tulare, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
D7000, yes. D70 yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the D7000 has a focusing motor in it as well so it can take both lenses w/ motors in them (like this 70-200) or without (like the 80-200). The D70 also has a built-in motor so it will work with both as well. The D7000's AF system is much more advanced, however, and is very quick in comparison to my D200's AF, fyi.

The sample image was taken w/ this 70-200 VRII and my D7000.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

will this lens work with my d3100?

May 24, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens will definitely work with your D3100. As long as the lens is an AF-S type lens, then it will function with the DSLR body at hand. Also, as a VR G type lens, it will offer those functions as well. So, you really have nothing to worry about.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3100.
May 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Is there another lens that may be more suitable for my needs?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
todd
nyc
Location : 
nyc
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Personally, I wouldn't recommend that simply because you're gaining very little by putting on a teleconverter on the 70-200 lens when shooting sports. This lens is ideal for action that is happening closer to you. By putting a teleconverter on it, it makes it a little unwieldy to shoot with. That is when you will want to use a super telephoto lens (300mm and above). That is best for shooting subjects that are far away. Also, by putting the teleconverter on the 70-200, depending on which one you use, it will also decrease your effective f-stop accordingly. If you're shooting night sports, you're going to have a tougher time trying to stop the action and get good results. Best to leave it as-is and shoot it at wide open at f2.8 and enjoy its capabilities as originally intended. If you can't afford a super telephoto at the time, at least try renting one and see how it works for you. You'd be surprised at the results you'll get!
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Depends whether you need that bit extra reach or not, only you can answer that.
May 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
 
2 Answers

Is this lense covered with international warranty?

Jun 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
or I have to pay extra bucks for it?
 
Products related to my question
 
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
kartik
india
Location : 
india
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
That depends on what you bought at the time of purchase - did you pay the USA or the International (gray market) price? If it said USA, then you got the USA warranty that covers it for five years. If you paid the International price, then you got the international warranty that is different from the USA warranty. It gets a little confusing, but that's the bottom line. They are different, and how Nikon handles repairs differs as well.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased.
Jun 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers