Loading

Compact, fast f/1.8 prime lens for DX-format cameras

Optimized for DX-format cameras, the compact, lightweight AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G delivers the consistently stunning images you’d expect from a prime lens. Its fast f/1.8 maximum aperture is perfect for low-light shooting and creating softly blurred backgrounds; and its classic “normal” angle of view (approximating what we see with our eyes) makes it a great all-around lens.
Silent Wave Motor
AS
M/A
Rear Focusing

Beautiful background blur

Isolate your subject for a dramatic effect

The secret to creating beautifully blurred backgrounds in your photos and videos is using a lens with a wide maximum aperture. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G’s maximum aperture is f/1.8, which provides complete depth-of-field control for isolating your subject and creating stunning portraits.

Outstanding low-light performance

Shoot in a greater range of conditions

An f/1.8 maximum aperture isn’t just for creating blurred backgrounds—it’s also the key to exceptional low-light performance. With the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, you’ll be able to shoot in more situations with only the available light—indoors or out, from morning until night.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Rear Focusing
Rear Focusing System
A system in which only the rear lens group moves during focusing, thus eliminating changes in the physical length of the lens during focusing and enabling faster focusing. Such lenses are designated with RF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G 4.8 5 259 261
Buy fresh inspiration for less than $300.00 I bought this lens to use primarily with my D90. I bought this lens 12 hours ago. It's 1:29am and I can't put my camera down. It's as though I am rediscovering my love of photography all over again. I forgot how much fun such a simple (but diverse) lens can be and couldn't be happier with this little gem. Snappy and sharp with colour that is hard to beat at two or even three times the price. This lens will impress any enthusiast. March 23, 2012
Genial! Excelente objetivo! Las imágenes me gustan muchísimo. La nitidez es sorprendente. Estoy muy contento con este objetivo. August 20, 2014
Bókeh y nitidéz gracias a la gran apertura Viendo videos de tips de fotografía me di cuenta que mucha gente realmente recomendaba tener un lente primo, y haciendo un poco más de investigación vi que también mucha gente recomendaba este lente, así que decidí adquirirlo. Debo decir que para nada me decepcionó. Es un lente recomendado más que nada para retratos y situaciones de poca luz, y vaya que funciona muy bien en esas circunstancias. La apertura de 1.8 permite elevar la velocidad del obturador y así conseguir fotos más nítidas y, con el bókeh que eso produce, eliminas practicamente cualquier distracción del sujeto. Lo recomiendo mucho y además, es un lente barato para la calidad que ofrece. La única "queja" que podría tener es el sistema A/M de enfoque; se me hace innecesario (o tal vez no entiendo cómo usarlo todavía). Hubiera preferido el clásico A y M por separado. April 5, 2014
Ótima para Paisagens A melhor lente para paisagens, tanto noturna quanto diurna November 24, 2013
buen objetivo tenía mis dudas en adquirir un lente fijo, realmente me gustó mucho, aun cuando no sé mucho de fotografía aprecio la calidad de las tomas en relación con el lente que ya traía mi cámara d5100 March 22, 2013
Clareza e nitidez Esse lente tem uma qualidade de imagem impressionante. Nitidez, clareza, sem distorção nem flare, com foco rápido e resultado surpreendente. Uso na Nikon D5100 em substituição à 18-55mm que vem no kit básico da câmera. Nunca mais usei outra lente para retratos e documentar eventos familiares dentro e fora de casa. Lente leve que custa pouco pela qualidade que oferece. Veja a extraordinária qualidade e definição em ampliações de fotos como em 20x30cm e vai perceber. Prós: funciona bem com pouca luz, clareza e definição das imagens, preço. Contra: o motor da lente faz um barulhinho que não chega a incomodar. Recomendo a todos que começarem a exigir mais qualidade e sobretudo definição nas suas fotografias. Uma excelente lente. November 26, 2012
Gran calidad de imagen en situaciones criticas de luz. Pues después de ver a algunos amigos con este objetivo decidí adquirirlo, y desde las primeras pruebas me a sorprendido la calidad que tiene , y bajo las condiciones mas duras de baja luminosidad en conjunto con un iso elevado me a sorprendido lo bien que se puede trabajar se que aun falta ponerlo a prueba en situaciones mas exigentes, pero promete mucho. August 4, 2012
Objetivo Luminoso Pata Negra pues asi lo he bautizado a mi pequeño luminoso , este objetivo me ha permitio trabajar con luz natural, a velocidades de obturacion mayores a 1/800 llegando inclusive a velocidades de 1/4000, con una calidad muy buena, en iso 100. Su motor de enfoque es silencioso casi imperseptible. Ligeramente pesado eso es bueno porque defiende su calidad de las lentes. Me agradaria que todos los objetivos tengan ya de serie un filtro protector, asi no nos tendriamos que estar preocupando por la limpieza, y en caso de rayadura que se pueda cambiar asi como lo hacemos con filtros , pero que venga ya de fabrica. April 7, 2012
Beautiful Lens I just have bought this lens, took couple of shots; result is AMAZING!!. My suggestion, you should have this lens on your shopping list if you don't have one. Auto-focus response is quick & colors are just perfect. Another good aspect of this lens is Bokeh effect. If you are fond of putting Bokeh in your pictures, this is the lens you should not miss. March 6, 2013
Great little lens for the money The Nikkor 35mm f1.8 offers very decent image quality for a very modest price. I usually shoot with Nikkor zoom lenses and bought this little gem as more of a 'go-to' lens in lower light situations. Works well for that purpose and is certainly worth the modest price. November 29, 2012
Great lens with a minor quirk Very sharp and impressive lens. Great shots in low light when auto focusing can function. Only issue it is more difficult to manual focus than my other lenses I have, in extreme low light. Manually adjusting to infinity in low light such as night sky is extremely difficult due to adjustment turns past the infinity point on the lens, no distance indicator and no focusing screen in camera. I believe I can adjust to this just a small quirk as long it is not a quick shot. I would give 5 stars if not for the night manual adjustment. Still a great buy. March 15, 2012
Very nice lens Out of all the Nikkor lenses I have the 35/1.8 gives me consistently as good a picture as any of them. The problem for me is that in general I find the fixed focal length too limiting, so it is not on the camera as much as I would have hoped. But when the situation is right this is a very nice lens to have. February 29, 2012
Light and great this is very light, sharp, and have good price to buy. August 10, 2011
Wish I knew the 40mm micro was coming out A week after buying this 35mm 1.8, Nikon released the 40mm DX Micro. The next purchase on my list was a Macro lens, and I could have gotten one to save money. That being said, the f1.8 on this lens earns itself a high place on my list. I currently have the 50mm 1.8 and kit lens 18-55mm as well. This has become my default lens and people always ask me what lens I'm using now that I own this when they see my pictures. It is very sharp. It has a great depth of field. It is a useful range. It is light weight, does not extend or rotate while focusing and has manual override in auto focus mode. Great lens for the type of photography I do. If I want a panaramic shot I stitch multiple shots together so I don't have to carry a large, heavy, expensive wide angle lens like a Tokina 11-16mm. It's just a bit too wide for most portrait work, but I do it anyway.;) Great colors and fast enough to use indoors at concerts or programs where the overhead lights are off. Could go on forever, but it's a great choice for lower end cameras in place of a zoom lens. Primary reason to get this over a kit lens is that it is much sharper and can be used in lower light to get higher shutter speeds and capture action. I photographed break dancers at ISO 1600 and 1/250 at f/1.8 at a night club. Not going to happen with a kit lens. July 22, 2011
Good little all purpose fast lens I purchased this lens looking for a fast short prime lens for nature and environmental portraiture work. So far I have been very happy with the results. Placed on the front of my 3100, I have been impressed with it's ability to focus fairly quickly, especially with the MA setting. With a good set of close up filters you even get usable macro shots. Nice bokah as well, though not as great as some of the higher end models. For the price it is hard to beat though. Only quibble is that you can't change aperture on the lens. May 31, 2011
Good Value, sharp, The 35mm f/1.8 G is a great addition to any amateur or enthusiasts bag. It's sharp, small, takes up little space in the bag. Minor issue flare shooting a sunset the other night, but was shooting into the setting sun and it cropped out. For the money, it's hard to find a reason not to buy this lens. April 28, 2011
Excellent fast lens. Purchased to use for low light photography indoors (preferably without flash). Am extremely happy with the results so far. Excellent quality/price ratio. April 23, 2011
Just bough this lens in March 28-2011 this is a fast lens, taking pictures at very low light condition and sharp but disappoints is, I thought it was a wide angle one but it not, oh well April 18, 2011
Good performance at a reasonable price Pros: 1. Performance for cost is excellent 2. Nice that it has focus override 3. low geometric distortion - Cons: 1. pretty noticeable chromatic aberration (red/cyan) when used wide open. Close down to f2.5 to eliminate it. 2. High f stops in my sample result in about a 1-stop underexposure. - Summary: I'd buy it again in a heartbeat,as the negatives are easily dealt with with PP and attention to what f stop one is using. April 18, 2011
Wonderful and light for shooting This is an extremely light and easy to use lens. Pictures are crisp and it works great in low-light. Tried it on my D7000 and D200. Love this lens. April 18, 2011
evening queen It is great prime lens for low light bt crop camras. very good value for money and easy to use. I can recomend it to every photographer, from amator to pro. April 17, 2011
A must have for DX cameras This lens becomes 50mm lens for DX cameras which makes it a normal lens. Though a prime lens requires you to move a lot while composing the shot but on the positive side photo quality and bokeh are better than a zoom lens. This is the most versatile, low budget lens for a DX-camera. April 16, 2011
Perfect lens substititute for 50mm standard I use this lens on a Nikon D300 body and it is my go to lens for portraiture and general purpose use when I need a fast lens. It auto-focuses very fast and accurate and produces decent smooth out of focus areas. For the price it is a value for those who can not afford the f1.4. April 15, 2011
Disappointing I purchased the lens to lighten my D300 and to give me better low light performance. The D300 auto ISO is so effective that I never get the lens faster than 2.8. I've been so spoiled by my 18 - 200 Nikon lens that I found a 35 mm far too restrictive for my typical usage. April 14, 2011
Great lens I bought this lens not too long ago and love it! I love how small it is and so light weight too. It was a good price and I would recommend to get this lens! April 14, 2011
Great lens, wonderful value This lens lives on my D3000 almost all the time. You may have to do a little footwork to get your shots framed how you want, but the speed and flexibility this lens offers are well worth it. I use it for low-light shots, poor-man's macro shots with a set of close-up filters, and general walking around purposes. April 14, 2011
This lens has great overall performance! I bought this lens to use an auto-focus 'prime' for my D40 and it stayed on 85% of the time. When I upgraded to a D200 it still remained one of my favourite-use lenses. The colours are great, images sharp and low-light ability awesome. There are some noticeable CA issues but easily fixed in post. I have never seen or used the more expensive 1.4G but unless I move to full frame I can't see a compelling reason to. A great lens for everyday use. April 14, 2011
Love this lens! First lens I've ever owned. I love the focal length on my D90 and how sharp the images are. The colors and contrast are also nice. For the price this lens if fantastic. April 14, 2011
Good lens for the money. The 35mm f/1.8G is a decent lens for the money. It's fast enough for indoor photography without a flash. The body feels solid and chunky to hold and on the camera. The metal mount is a nice touch and adds to the durability. It's still not quite as fast as it's (cheaper) 50mm f/1.8 cousin, but all in all is still a great value lens. February 14, 2011
Great lens I recently got a D3000 and was happy with the 18-55mm lens, but wanted a new lens to expand my ability and saw this lens (I didn't really want to spend too much on a lens since I'm a beginner) and was impressed by the quality of the pictures after the first picture. I usually have the aperture set on 2.2 because anything under it gets a little blurry on the edges, but it still blurs the images background perfectly. When I was buying this I was a little hesitant about landscape shots, but while in the mall I was taking random pictures and they turned out great. All around this is a great lens! January 3, 2011
Page: 6 7 8 9 10
<<prev | next>>
79 Questions | 136 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
79 Questions | 136 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
+19points
22out of 25found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful22unhelpful3
i want to buy another lens, but i dont know if this lens is a better choice for me, help guys.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
RodolfoD
5 Answers

Answers

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
I was in the same situation. You will not be disappointed. Just look at all the reviews. I also purchased a refurbished Nikkor 50mm f/1.8. It is the best lens I have ever had.
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
For $200 this is the best choice.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
7out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful5
Answer: 
Maybe. This lens will allow you to shoot in lower light conditions than the 18-55mm lens that came with your D3100. This might include shooting indoors without flash and in museums and at shows with fast moving people, assuming you can get close enough. I own one and like it but I also have other more general purpose lenses.

I have a feeling that if you have to ask, this lens might not be the right choice for you. A wideangle lens that goes from about 10-20mm will open up a whole new world of photography not available to you now (good for some travel shots, but stitching photos together might also work) and a lens with more reach such as 18-105mm or 18-200mm might have a more immediate benefit. Portrait photos typically use a lens somewhat longer than 55 mm (maybe 85mm on your camera). One thing that is especially nice about the 35 mm lens is its compactness. With this lens I can put my whole camera into a vestpocket pouch and shoot images in an art museum that does not allow flash. I have framed copies of several masterpieces I've taken this way.

Because many people like a little more reach, the kit lenses of cameras that cost a little more come with the 18-105 mm lens. Also there is a 55-200 mm lens that can provide extra reach without duplicating what you already have.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+6points
9out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful3
Answer: 
Absolutely, yes!
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
Depends on what you are using now, if its the kit lens then possibly it could be better, obviously its going to be faster and sharper, but only you can decide if its what you need.
Apr 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
5 Answers

Will autofocus on a d3000?

Apr 24, 2011 by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Has staff answer
+12points
14out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful2
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Location : 
Miami,fl
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it will
May 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
As Yevgen said the Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G will autofocus in your D3000.

All lenses who contais S (AF-S) which means servo will focus in your camera.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+3points
6out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3
Answer: 
Hi Cisco
I am sorry, but "Number One Contributor" gave you the wrong answer.
Your camera (D3000) do not have internal auto focus motor, but to have autofocus you can use any Nikkor lenses, which start from "AF-S ...".
All this lenses, including "AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G", have internal silence auto focus motor.
And that means, that with this lens, your Nikon D3000 will have autofocus, I also can added: very fast , precise auto focus and this lens is really very sharp, very sharp for most price category.
Good luck Cisco.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
No, affriad not.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Will it auto focus with a D3100?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Ive read some reviews saying that it wont autofocus with the D3100 and others saying that it does. I really need to buy a fast lens but I cant decide, and I really need the auto focus :s main use is for portraits :)
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
Location : 
Dominican Republic
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, worked perfect with my 3100. Very pleased; bought to take daughter's Senior Portraits with.
Mar 7, 2012 by
by
Mickey
Broomfield, Co
Location : 
Broomfield, Co
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, up to full HD 1080, and full time focus
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! this lens is a DX format, same as the D3100, I have this lens, love it!
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Dec 4, 2011 by
by
SaikatC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Why would one the AF-S 35mm 1:1.8 lens if they have the 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 to use. Explain the difference when using these lens.

May 20, 2012 by
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Has staff answer
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Location : 
New Orleans
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
As mentioned, the difference that really matter here is aperture. In fact, a lens set to f/1.8 will let in 4 times the amount of light that the 18-55 zoom can at its widest aperture. This means greatly increased low-light performance as well as much more range in depth-of-field.

Prime (or fixed focal length) lenses also provide better sharpness and contrast in general over zooms.

Personally however, I love primes because a) they're smaller, lighter, with fewer moving parts and b) the focal range limitation encourages a more artistic process as you physically move around to find your shot, paying attention to your composition instead of your equipment and c) the results simply look better.
Apr 19, 2014 by
by
SunnKram
Aspen, CO, USA
Location : 
Aspen, CO, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
Probably the biggest difference is the aperture, f/1.8 will allow you to shoot in low light situations, and also allow you to blur the background when opening the lens wide. Fixed focal length lenses will often provide sharper images especially around the edges and corners of the frame.
May 22, 2012 by
by
Goodbye Canon
Portland, OR
Location : 
Portland, OR
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-10points
1out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful11
Answer: 
One is a zoom lens the other is fixed length, the 35mm being faster but lacks zoom and visa versa, cant really compare them and say you should have one over the other as they both have their uses.
May 21, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
6out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful7
Answer: 
Main difference is the angle of view and the aperture.
AF-S 35mm f/1.8 = Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 44°
AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 = Maximum Angle of View (DX-format) 76°, Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 28°50'
May 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

will this autofocus with the d40?

Mar 26, 2011 by
+7points
7out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. It works correctly on my D40X that does not have an internal motor, just like the D40.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 has no auto focus motor, but any AF-S lens is compatible to the D40 because it has a built in motor.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the 35mm f1.8 has its own AF motor, so the D40 can be used with no issues.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Will this auto focus with Nikon D60?

Mar 27, 2011 by
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
I own a Nikon D60, SB-400 flash and need to know if this lens will work correctly with my Nikon hardware?

Thank you,

Vadim
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
Location : 
Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have a D40X (has no internal motor, just like the D60) and it works fine on this camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA
Location : 
Boston, MA
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years

+1point
5out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful4
Answer: 
Any AF-S will auto focus with the D60 because it has a built in motor. AF lenses don't and neither does the D60 so no auto focus.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
That will work perfectly as the 35mm lens has its own focusing motor. The sb-400, especially when bounced, will give plenty of wide light to capture with the viewing angle of the 35mm lens! Cheers!
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Is it compatible to autofocus with a D5000?

Apr 19, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a D5000, and the autofocus is excellent on this lens, even under lower light conditions. Be sure that you have your D5000 set up properly through the menus, then on the lens barrel itself, set the switch to the "M/A" position and it will do fine for you.
Mar 29, 2012 by
by
JargonTalk
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Location : 
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely.
Apr 23, 2011 by
by
ll
Montreal, QC
Location : 
Montreal, QC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is. And it's a great lens.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JamesD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

is it fit for D7000?

May 13, 2011 by
+10points
10out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
sumo
india
Location : 
india
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes! D7000 is a camera in DX format and this lense too.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very much so. That's the camera I am using it on.
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
Yamikaze
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sure, this lens will work well on all Nikon DX body like the D7000
May 13, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

can i zoom with these lenses?

Jun 16, 2011 by
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You cannot zoom, however the tradeoff is that the lens is more compact and the pictures are higher quality
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no this is constant focal length lense.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. With this lens you need to "zoom with your feet", but the advantages of this sort of lens are it's size, weight, sharpness and and the ability of it's wide maximum aperture to gather light. It's ideal for general photography, street shooting, and low light photography without flash.
Jun 16, 2011 by
by
JavamanEffstop
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
2 Answers

Will this auto focus with D90?

Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
+12points
12out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
Location : 
Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will auto focus on any of the newer bodies as it has its own AF motor built-in.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens will auto focus with D90 and with more simple DSRL - D50, D40 (which does not have internal AF motor inside the body).
D90 works with:
-all AF NIKKOR lenses D-/G-type (excluding IX NIKKOR lenses) with all functions possible (including 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode);
-all DX AF NIKKOR lenses (all functions possible);
-all AF NIKKOR lenses other than D-/G-type (excluding old lenses for F3AF) will also have all functions, except 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode;
-all old AF Nikkor without D-type will can not work in 3D Color Matrix Metering and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
- non AF lenses AI-P NIKKOR will not work in autofocus mode, 3D Color Matrix Metering II and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers