Loading
;

Compact, fast f/1.8 prime lens for DX-format cameras

Optimized for DX-format cameras, the compact, lightweight AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G delivers the consistently stunning images you’d expect from a prime lens. Its fast f/1.8 maximum aperture is perfect for low-light shooting and creating softly blurred backgrounds; and its classic “normal” angle of view (approximating what we see with our eyes) makes it a great all-around lens.
Silent Wave Motor
AS
M/A
Rear Focusing

Beautiful background blur

Isolate your subject for a dramatic effect

The secret to creating beautifully blurred backgrounds in your photos and videos is using a lens with a wide maximum aperture. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G’s maximum aperture is f/1.8, which provides complete depth-of-field control for isolating your subject and creating stunning portraits.

Outstanding low-light performance

Shoot in a greater range of conditions

An f/1.8 maximum aperture isn’t just for creating blurred backgrounds—it’s also the key to exceptional low-light performance. With the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, you’ll be able to shoot in more situations with only the available light—indoors or out, from morning until night.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Rear Focusing
Rear Focusing System
A system in which only the rear lens group moves during focusing, thus eliminating changes in the physical length of the lens during focusing and enabling faster focusing. Such lenses are designated with RF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G 4.8 5 257 259
Excellent standard lens for D300 Perfect standard lens for general photography and for small group portraiture. Superior performance wide open at 1.8. July 30, 2010
excellent fast lens total nikon quality in a light, compact, fast lens for around town, low light situations and general photography. not the best bokeh but controllable with proper framing and perspective July 30, 2010
Great primary lens Fast, well built lens that is great for general photography.This lens is a must for any serious photographer. It is also very affordable. July 30, 2010
My favorite lens so far Since getting the lens, I don't think I've taken it off the camera. Well designed and very functional. July 30, 2010
Must Have Lens I've been a professional photographer for over 20 years. When I first started out, I wouldn't be caught dead using a zoom lens. With the digital age, I bent my rules a bit and got used to the ease of the zoom. What I forgot were the advantages of a prime. The photos taken with this lens are so much sharper and richer in color than anything I can take with a zoom. It's refreshing to have a "normal" lens attached to me camera again and I'm looking forward to putting it through it's paces at my next wedding job. This lens will be perfect for low light and is fantastic for depth of field control. For the price, everyone should have one of these in their bag. July 30, 2010
Excellent low light, light weight lens It can slip into your pocket! Incredibly useful lens if you enjoy close-up action or low light photography. the 35mm equivalent of a "standard" 50mm lens is ideal for all-around use. Inconspicuous on the camera; bright images in viewfinder. For the price, a must-have lens for low light and action photography. July 30, 2010
excellent lens for DX shooters I have several Nikor lens and I purchased this lens for low light indoors work. I have been very impressed with the sharpness and find that I also use it alot as a walk around lens for street photography. It is light and inobtrusive and produces excellent shots on my D90. It is a definite must for all DX shooters. July 30, 2010
Best bang for buck. perfect gift!. This lens is sharper than my 50mm G lens and costs about half. It is very light and focuses fast. I liked it so much that I had to give it away as a present to my brother so he could take wonderful images of his newborn. I will be buying my second copy of this lens and this time I will keep it for myself. July 30, 2010
Surpassed my expectations! I bought this lens to use with my D300 in limited light conditions. I took it with me to view and photograph the Macy's fireworks show in New York harbor on July 4th, 2010. We reserved a place on a small schooner that would go on to the Hudson River at around 4 PM until after the fireworks were over. This gave me the opportunity to photograph the many sights as the light moved from twilight into darkness. Although I had a sense when I was taking a good photo during daylight I was unsure what would happen when I would be photographing fireworks in darkness from the moving deck of a small boat with no opportunity to use a tripod. I set the apperture at f/8 and shutter about 1/125, ISO about 1800 and just grabbed the shots as the bursts of fireworks presented. With no opportunity to review the shots as I was taking them in rapid sucession, I was extremely pleased with the final results. With few exceptions, every spot of light from the buildings on shore or other boats was sharp with no noticeable aberation and I captured many winners under what I considered challenging circumstances. In my opinion the lens performed superbly, particularly for a non professional grade of equipment.. July 30, 2010
Fast & Easy I wanted a high speed, standard lens for my D90 that would work well in indoor and low light conditions. This lens has exceeded my expectations with excellent results for over 1,000 photos that I have taken with it. For the low price, it is an outstanding value. July 30, 2010
Great extra lens for something different... I use the 18-200MM VR Gen1 lens on my D90 for "walking around." Found that I wanted to use more natural lighting for indoor shots without breaking the bank or using my SB-600. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G is a great prime lens that I use from time to time for really great shots indoors, spots venues and more. Great addition to others in the bag. Priced just right. July 30, 2010
Must have - everyday photo grabber This is the perfect, lightweight lens to have on my camera body when I am out and about for the day. It is great for low light shots with the fast aperature. It allows a low ISO to get the best picture possible. It is quick and easy to get the photo that others miss because they are messing with a zoom ring... I could write a LOT more benefits of this lens. Can't go wrong with the lens. July 30, 2010
An EXCELLENT lens for controlling depth of field I bought this lens primarily for low light situations, however, I find that I am using it more and more for some fantastic pictures where I want to control the depth of field. I highly recommend this lens. And the price is right! July 30, 2010
Buy this lens! My favorite lens on my N90s flim camera was the little 50mm f/1.8 AFD. I bought an 18-70 with my D80 which was a great lens and continued to use my 'Nifty Fifty' quite a bit. I bought the 35mm F1.8/g on the day it was released, and never looked back. The 35 is the lens that is on my camera all the time and while I may leave all my other lenses at home - if I have something else on the camera the 35 is in my pocket. Once you learn to 'zoom with your feet' your need for other lenses will be reduced, inside and out. July 30, 2010
Excellent lens for the money I bought this lens as soon as it was released and was not disappointed. It quickly became my everyday, walk around lens. It's sharp, fast, light and great in low light. July 30, 2010
The go-to lens I cannot say enough good things about this lens. The only bad thing I've found is that the hood is loose fitting. That's the complete bad list. This lens focuses fast, is very light, and produces the highest quality photos I've ever taken. This lens is the one that stays on the camera the majority of the time. It makes me look like I know what I'm doing. July 30, 2010
Perfect for indoors. I have a D300 and was looking for a fast, normal lens for indoor, general use. I tried the 50 mm f 1.8 and while it is an excellent lens, I found it to be too long on the DX body. I was always backing up which is not always possible indoors. I now use it for outdoors and portraits. I then picked up this 35mm f1.8. It is fast, sharp and gives good colours and contrast. This is a great lens for the price. July 30, 2010
Best buy for your buck! I've had this little beauty for over a year now and am constantly amazed at it's performance! It's a little soft from 1.8 to 2.2, but at 2.8 and above it produces diamond sharp pictures!! There is some light fall off in the corners at 1.8....but nothing to get twisted about. I've seen worse...and those lenses didn't go to f1.8!!! It's light, inexpensive, sharp, fast...what's not to like? It spends a lot of time on my D300! The ultimate 'walk-about' lens! July 30, 2010
great prime lens for D90 the lens has performed well as in low light as well as an all around prime lens. have taken it on vacation as well as for general photography and it does not disappoint. great price for the quality. July 30, 2010
Great portrait lens I bought this lens to take pictures of my new granddaughter with my D 300. I wanted a lens I could use in low light situations with fast AF. I also had a Nikon 50mm f 1.8 AF lens that I could use. After using both, I settled on the 35mm f 1.8 DX because of its faster AF and more useful focal length on my D 300. Image quality is great! July 30, 2010
Just buy it! When Nikon announced this lens at a bargain price, I pre-ordered it. While I don't use the lens a great deal (I'm a macro fanatic) it's a wonderful addition to my kit. The small size, extremely fast focusing, fast aperture and superior optical characteristics make it the perfect tool for available light, candid shots and street shooting. The ability to isolate subjects at f1.8 with tremendous sharpness can result to beautiful images. The best "normal" lens if you shoot DX. July 22, 2010
Super lens at a bargain price Every Nikon DX owner needs this lens; it offers capabilities even the most expensive zoom lenses cannot offer. This lens is equivilent to a 52 mm "normal lens" in a 35mm format, and you will find you will use it a lot, indoors and out. With aperture settings from f1.8 to f22, depth of field can be controlled precisely, especially if your camera has a depth of field preview button (D90 and above). Nice features include a metal bayonet mount and the ability to manually focus the lens, even when it is set for autofocus. Plus, it is compact, lightweight and the viewfinder is bright, thanks to the f1.8 aperture. Buy it. July 20, 2010
Great upgrade lens from kit lens Bought my D5000 with 18-55 kit lens. Thought that was great, until I bought this on a recommendation. This lens is awesome for family bbq pictures and portrait pictures. July 20, 2010
Great Value Great when I don't want to use a flash for photographing grandchildren using only indoor lighting July 10, 2010
Stunning DX prime normal lens This is an excellent general purpose prime lens, which can be used for a wide range of photographic subjects, e.g. travel, full portraits, street photography, low light, etc. The len's bokeh is really pleasing and it is optically very sharp. The lens is compact and robustly constructed, coming complete with a lens pouch and dedicated lens hood. A must for all DX camera users. January 11, 2014
Fast, clear and amazing This lens is absolutely amazing for the price. I recommend it to anyone starting out in photography who wants a lens that will replace the kit one. It's amazingly fast and takes clear, vibrant photos. The bokeh you get is just fantastic. March 30, 2013
Excellent performance; even better price I can't say enough good things about this lens. It is fast and capable of use in low light conditions and takes phenomenal portraits. It is also well suited for landscape shots especially in low light. You just can't beat a super sharp prime such as this. The focus motor is quick and hassle free. December 29, 2012
Dream Come true well this is my dream lens. 35mm 1.8. i bought it yesterday (Boxing day.) for $139. i really really love this lens, this is the best lens you can get in your $150! Great for portraits :) im so excited this summer to try this lens.!! December 27, 2012
Buy fresh inspiration for less than $300.00 I bought this lens to use primarily with my D90. I bought this lens 12 hours ago. It's 1:29am and I can't put my camera down. It's as though I am rediscovering my love of photography all over again. I forgot how much fun such a simple (but diverse) lens can be and couldn't be happier with this little gem. Snappy and sharp with colour that is hard to beat at two or even three times the price. This lens will impress any enthusiast. March 23, 2012
Page: 6 7 8 9 10
<<prev | next>>
78 Questions | 136 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
78 Questions | 136 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
+19points
22out of 25found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful22unhelpful3
i want to buy another lens, but i dont know if this lens is a better choice for me, help guys.
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
RodolfoD
5 Answers

Answers

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
I was in the same situation. You will not be disappointed. Just look at all the reviews. I also purchased a refurbished Nikkor 50mm f/1.8. It is the best lens I have ever had.
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
For $200 this is the best choice.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
7out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful5
Answer: 
Maybe. This lens will allow you to shoot in lower light conditions than the 18-55mm lens that came with your D3100. This might include shooting indoors without flash and in museums and at shows with fast moving people, assuming you can get close enough. I own one and like it but I also have other more general purpose lenses.

I have a feeling that if you have to ask, this lens might not be the right choice for you. A wideangle lens that goes from about 10-20mm will open up a whole new world of photography not available to you now (good for some travel shots, but stitching photos together might also work) and a lens with more reach such as 18-105mm or 18-200mm might have a more immediate benefit. Portrait photos typically use a lens somewhat longer than 55 mm (maybe 85mm on your camera). One thing that is especially nice about the 35 mm lens is its compactness. With this lens I can put my whole camera into a vestpocket pouch and shoot images in an art museum that does not allow flash. I have framed copies of several masterpieces I've taken this way.

Because many people like a little more reach, the kit lenses of cameras that cost a little more come with the 18-105 mm lens. Also there is a 55-200 mm lens that can provide extra reach without duplicating what you already have.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+5points
8out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful3
Answer: 
Absolutely, yes!
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
Depends on what you are using now, if its the kit lens then possibly it could be better, obviously its going to be faster and sharper, but only you can decide if its what you need.
Apr 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
5 Answers

Will autofocus on a d3000?

Apr 24, 2011 by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Has staff answer
+12points
14out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful2
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Location : 
Miami,fl
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it will
May 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
As Yevgen said the Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G will autofocus in your D3000.

All lenses who contais S (AF-S) which means servo will focus in your camera.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+3points
6out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3
Answer: 
Hi Cisco
I am sorry, but "Number One Contributor" gave you the wrong answer.
Your camera (D3000) do not have internal auto focus motor, but to have autofocus you can use any Nikkor lenses, which start from "AF-S ...".
All this lenses, including "AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G", have internal silence auto focus motor.
And that means, that with this lens, your Nikon D3000 will have autofocus, I also can added: very fast , precise auto focus and this lens is really very sharp, very sharp for most price category.
Good luck Cisco.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
No, affriad not.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Will it auto focus with a D3100?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Ive read some reviews saying that it wont autofocus with the D3100 and others saying that it does. I really need to buy a fast lens but I cant decide, and I really need the auto focus :s main use is for portraits :)
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
Location : 
Dominican Republic
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, worked perfect with my 3100. Very pleased; bought to take daughter's Senior Portraits with.
Mar 7, 2012 by
by
Mickey
Broomfield, Co
Location : 
Broomfield, Co
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, up to full HD 1080, and full time focus
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! this lens is a DX format, same as the D3100, I have this lens, love it!
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Dec 4, 2011 by
by
SaikatC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Why would one the AF-S 35mm 1:1.8 lens if they have the 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 to use. Explain the difference when using these lens.

May 20, 2012 by
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Has staff answer
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Location : 
New Orleans
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
As mentioned, the difference that really matter here is aperture. In fact, a lens set to f/1.8 will let in 4 times the amount of light that the 18-55 zoom can at its widest aperture. This means greatly increased low-light performance as well as much more range in depth-of-field.

Prime (or fixed focal length) lenses also provide better sharpness and contrast in general over zooms.

Personally however, I love primes because a) they're smaller, lighter, with fewer moving parts and b) the focal range limitation encourages a more artistic process as you physically move around to find your shot, paying attention to your composition instead of your equipment and c) the results simply look better.
Apr 19, 2014 by
by
SunnKram
Aspen, CO, USA
Location : 
Aspen, CO, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
Probably the biggest difference is the aperture, f/1.8 will allow you to shoot in low light situations, and also allow you to blur the background when opening the lens wide. Fixed focal length lenses will often provide sharper images especially around the edges and corners of the frame.
May 22, 2012 by
by
Goodbye Canon
Portland, OR
Location : 
Portland, OR
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-10points
1out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful11
Answer: 
One is a zoom lens the other is fixed length, the 35mm being faster but lacks zoom and visa versa, cant really compare them and say you should have one over the other as they both have their uses.
May 21, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
6out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful7
Answer: 
Main difference is the angle of view and the aperture.
AF-S 35mm f/1.8 = Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 44°
AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 = Maximum Angle of View (DX-format) 76°, Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 28°50'
May 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

will this autofocus with the d40?

Mar 26, 2011 by
+7points
7out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. It works correctly on my D40X that does not have an internal motor, just like the D40.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 has no auto focus motor, but any AF-S lens is compatible to the D40 because it has a built in motor.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the 35mm f1.8 has its own AF motor, so the D40 can be used with no issues.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Will this auto focus with Nikon D60?

Mar 27, 2011 by
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
I own a Nikon D60, SB-400 flash and need to know if this lens will work correctly with my Nikon hardware?

Thank you,

Vadim
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
Location : 
Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have a D40X (has no internal motor, just like the D60) and it works fine on this camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA
Location : 
Boston, MA
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years

0points
4out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful4
Answer: 
Any AF-S will auto focus with the D60 because it has a built in motor. AF lenses don't and neither does the D60 so no auto focus.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
That will work perfectly as the 35mm lens has its own focusing motor. The sb-400, especially when bounced, will give plenty of wide light to capture with the viewing angle of the 35mm lens! Cheers!
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Is it compatible to autofocus with a D5000?

Apr 19, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a D5000, and the autofocus is excellent on this lens, even under lower light conditions. Be sure that you have your D5000 set up properly through the menus, then on the lens barrel itself, set the switch to the "M/A" position and it will do fine for you.
Mar 29, 2012 by
by
JargonTalk
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Location : 
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely.
Apr 23, 2011 by
by
ll
Montreal, QC
Location : 
Montreal, QC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is. And it's a great lens.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JamesD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

is it fit for D7000?

May 13, 2011 by
+10points
10out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
sumo
india
Location : 
india
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes! D7000 is a camera in DX format and this lense too.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very much so. That's the camera I am using it on.
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
Yamikaze
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sure, this lens will work well on all Nikon DX body like the D7000
May 13, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

can i zoom with these lenses?

Jun 16, 2011 by
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You cannot zoom, however the tradeoff is that the lens is more compact and the pictures are higher quality
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no this is constant focal length lense.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. With this lens you need to "zoom with your feet", but the advantages of this sort of lens are it's size, weight, sharpness and and the ability of it's wide maximum aperture to gather light. It's ideal for general photography, street shooting, and low light photography without flash.
Jun 16, 2011 by
by
JavamanEffstop
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
2 Answers

Will this auto focus with D90?

Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
+12points
12out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
Location : 
Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will auto focus on any of the newer bodies as it has its own AF motor built-in.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens will auto focus with D90 and with more simple DSRL - D50, D40 (which does not have internal AF motor inside the body).
D90 works with:
-all AF NIKKOR lenses D-/G-type (excluding IX NIKKOR lenses) with all functions possible (including 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode);
-all DX AF NIKKOR lenses (all functions possible);
-all AF NIKKOR lenses other than D-/G-type (excluding old lenses for F3AF) will also have all functions, except 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode;
-all old AF Nikkor without D-type will can not work in 3D Color Matrix Metering and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
- non AF lenses AI-P NIKKOR will not work in autofocus mode, 3D Color Matrix Metering II and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers