Loading

Compact, fast f/1.8 prime lens for DX-format cameras

Optimized for DX-format cameras, the compact, lightweight AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G delivers the consistently stunning images you’d expect from a prime lens. Its fast f/1.8 maximum aperture is perfect for low-light shooting and creating softly blurred backgrounds; and its classic “normal” angle of view (approximating what we see with our eyes) makes it a great all-around lens.
Silent Wave Motor
AS
M/A
Rear Focusing

Beautiful background blur

Isolate your subject for a dramatic effect

The secret to creating beautifully blurred backgrounds in your photos and videos is using a lens with a wide maximum aperture. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G’s maximum aperture is f/1.8, which provides complete depth-of-field control for isolating your subject and creating stunning portraits.

Outstanding low-light performance

Shoot in a greater range of conditions

An f/1.8 maximum aperture isn’t just for creating blurred backgrounds—it’s also the key to exceptional low-light performance. With the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, you’ll be able to shoot in more situations with only the available light—indoors or out, from morning until night.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Rear Focusing
Rear Focusing System
A system in which only the rear lens group moves during focusing, thus eliminating changes in the physical length of the lens during focusing and enabling faster focusing. Such lenses are designated with RF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G 4.8 5 247 249
For the money, you certainly get a lot out of this lense. Its great for portraits and I also use it for outdoor scenery as well. Even though it is a 35mm lense, you have to move a lot to get what you want due to the narrow view angle. Also, chromatic abberation can be an issue. It becomes prominent when shooting water (or wet/shiny) and chrome objects. Even a circular polarizer did not help. Other than that, its light, fast, affordable and takes great shots. August 2, 2010
DX Delight Gives DX cameras a lens with the same coverage as the standard 50mm on FX. This lens is as good as all of the FX 50mm lens that it emulates. If you are shooting indoors with available light then it is the lens to use. It is as you would expect. excellent low light performance, sharp, and it can focus in near darkness with incredible speed. August 2, 2010
Great lens! It's sharp as a tack, fast, light weight, render color excellent and great focal length for a DX crop sensor. August 2, 2010
Great in low light I needed something to handle low situations and this lense did/does the job. I've been adventuring deeper into photography and I am beginning to understand the importance of having good lenses. Shooting inside banquet rooms and churches can be difficult without flash. So, if a flash cannot be used, then you have to have a lense that has an aperture than can be dialed down. This lense will dial down to f1.8. Trust me, that is plenty. Not to mention the fast autofocus it has. I just love it. August 2, 2010
Excellent learner lens for D90 I chose this lens rather than the kit zoom lens because I will use it as my "normal" lens for people pictures and I wanted a fixed lens to simplify my learning experience on the D90 It has fine low light performance and is very sharp in normal lighting situations. August 1, 2010
Great lense Great inexpensive lens. Wonderful low light photos. Not having to use flash makes for better candid shots. August 1, 2010
Perfect. I had gotten this lens as a gift last year, and let me tell you it is wonderful. The light weight is nice but the quality is much better then it looks, the shots with this lens is amazing, as well as the sharpness and color. All in all a great lens to have on hand for those night shots you just can't pass up. August 1, 2010
sharp focus every time The AF-S feature improves focusing remarkably compared to the standard AF mechanism. The lens is very sharp (above f/2.8) and provides a quantum leap of focus capability. July 31, 2010
Quick and Sharp Little Lens! I have had my Nikkor 35mm f1.8 lens for about 8 months now and love it love it love it! It serves me in so many ways, most especially when the light is low and a flash is a bad idea. I use this lens about 50% of the time, maybe more, for groups, portraits, nature, and still life. I recommend it whenever I run into another Nikon user. July 31, 2010
Buy one There is not one thing bad that I have to say about this lens. At 1.8 it starts out good and stays good. The price is right. If you have a DX camera I would buy it just to be in the bag, you will use this far more than you would believe. I have shot 20x30s using this and my D5000 at 1.8 and their is no problems. July 31, 2010
Great product. An affordable prime lens for the DX format camera. July 31, 2010
My favorite lens... The 35 mm f1.8 was my 3rd lens, after the kit lens and the 55-200, and I use it almost all the time. It is so much sharper than the other lenses that I use it as long as I can. I'll stitch together panoramas rather than use the wide end of the kit lens. And the lens focuses close enough that I can use it for flowers and insects. It is not a macro lens, however, and cannot get right up into a bug's face. And while it works as a portrait lens, it brings me in a little closer than people expect. Nonetheless, it really is the cheapest way to get professional quality light. July 31, 2010
Super Fast Focus! The focus of this lens is so fast and so quiet I had to double check the camera was turned on the first time I mounted it. Everyone that owns a DX camera should own this lens. July 30, 2010
Great quality at a great price I've had this lens for about 5 months and it's on my D90 most of the time. You can shoot anything with this lens. And being a prime lens, it really forces you to think about where you're standing and what's in the frame. On a DX camera this lens is a must and at it's current price point don't even bother looking at any third party lenses. Just buy it, you will not regret it. July 30, 2010
Excellent Lens I am very pleased with this lens. The pictures are crisp and the minimum focal distance is small. Great lens for photographing my toddlers! July 30, 2010
Great product! Very nice and sharp, love it as a walk-around lens! Small, light, just great! July 30, 2010
You want to add this lens to your arsenal! While there seems to be a big push to zoom lenses, everyone should have a simple lens like this. The joy that comes with this lens is it makes you think about and work more to get the shot. Let’s face it; we can get lazy with a zoom lens. You have to move with this lens. It brought back some of that creativeness from my first 35mm SLR with a 50mm lens. VR is nice for low light as long as your subject is not moving, but there is no substitute for being able to "open her up a little wider" to get the light and freeze the shot. Do you want to make your subject pop out of the photo? Well then f1.8 does the trick a whole lot better than f3.5. This lens has been a solid performer for me on my D90. I got it when I first heard about it and have been very happy with my results. It is a simple lens and sometimes simple is better. July 30, 2010
As said by another reviewer, Just Buy It !!! I have the 18 to 200 and wondered why I would want this lens until I decided to just give it a try. The only thing I can say about it is WOW !! For low light and times when you don't need a zoom for any number of reasons, this lens fills the bill. Remember, once upon a time most of us bought cameras that only came with one lens, usually a 50 mm or less and that seemed OK. For getting back to bare bones photography, this is a great idiot proof lens. July 30, 2010
Fine low light general purpose lens Very useful for low light, indoor and night photography. As a normal lens it has good sharpness and contrast coupled with depth of field when used at f4.5 and higher. I also appreciate its compactness and low weight when used on my D300 in carry around conditions. July 30, 2010
Sharp,Chrisp, and Fast Got the 35mm F1.8 Fast lens to go with the Nikon D5K Kit 18-55mm and 55-200mm. A lens to use indoors in low light and as the Normal 50mm Film lens "52mm" in this case for regular casual shots. Outside= tested shooting flowers in shade and sunlight got the memory card into the computer and checked out the shots, bright, sharp, clear, and clean. In one shot of a flower from about 5' away, when enlarged there were spider legs with all the little hairs, wraped around some pettles in SHARP FOCUS, wow. Went back out and got some great Macro shots. Indoors= Took pics at a club meeting for the Newsletter, quite a few people questioned why no flash. Showed them the pics Bright ,Sharp, and Clear no flash needed. One of the Guys, the next Day ordered the D5K and the same lenses. Good lens for low light and Crisp,and Sharp all around shooting. July 30, 2010
Excellent standard lens for D300 Perfect standard lens for general photography and for small group portraiture. Superior performance wide open at 1.8. July 30, 2010
excellent fast lens total nikon quality in a light, compact, fast lens for around town, low light situations and general photography. not the best bokeh but controllable with proper framing and perspective July 30, 2010
Great primary lens Fast, well built lens that is great for general photography.This lens is a must for any serious photographer. It is also very affordable. July 30, 2010
My favorite lens so far Since getting the lens, I don't think I've taken it off the camera. Well designed and very functional. July 30, 2010
Must Have Lens I've been a professional photographer for over 20 years. When I first started out, I wouldn't be caught dead using a zoom lens. With the digital age, I bent my rules a bit and got used to the ease of the zoom. What I forgot were the advantages of a prime. The photos taken with this lens are so much sharper and richer in color than anything I can take with a zoom. It's refreshing to have a "normal" lens attached to me camera again and I'm looking forward to putting it through it's paces at my next wedding job. This lens will be perfect for low light and is fantastic for depth of field control. For the price, everyone should have one of these in their bag. July 30, 2010
Excellent low light, light weight lens It can slip into your pocket! Incredibly useful lens if you enjoy close-up action or low light photography. the 35mm equivalent of a "standard" 50mm lens is ideal for all-around use. Inconspicuous on the camera; bright images in viewfinder. For the price, a must-have lens for low light and action photography. July 30, 2010
excellent lens for DX shooters I have several Nikor lens and I purchased this lens for low light indoors work. I have been very impressed with the sharpness and find that I also use it alot as a walk around lens for street photography. It is light and inobtrusive and produces excellent shots on my D90. It is a definite must for all DX shooters. July 30, 2010
Best bang for buck. perfect gift!. This lens is sharper than my 50mm G lens and costs about half. It is very light and focuses fast. I liked it so much that I had to give it away as a present to my brother so he could take wonderful images of his newborn. I will be buying my second copy of this lens and this time I will keep it for myself. July 30, 2010
Surpassed my expectations! I bought this lens to use with my D300 in limited light conditions. I took it with me to view and photograph the Macy's fireworks show in New York harbor on July 4th, 2010. We reserved a place on a small schooner that would go on to the Hudson River at around 4 PM until after the fireworks were over. This gave me the opportunity to photograph the many sights as the light moved from twilight into darkness. Although I had a sense when I was taking a good photo during daylight I was unsure what would happen when I would be photographing fireworks in darkness from the moving deck of a small boat with no opportunity to use a tripod. I set the apperture at f/8 and shutter about 1/125, ISO about 1800 and just grabbed the shots as the bursts of fireworks presented. With no opportunity to review the shots as I was taking them in rapid sucession, I was extremely pleased with the final results. With few exceptions, every spot of light from the buildings on shore or other boats was sharp with no noticeable aberation and I captured many winners under what I considered challenging circumstances. In my opinion the lens performed superbly, particularly for a non professional grade of equipment.. July 30, 2010
Fast & Easy I wanted a high speed, standard lens for my D90 that would work well in indoor and low light conditions. This lens has exceeded my expectations with excellent results for over 1,000 photos that I have taken with it. For the low price, it is an outstanding value. July 30, 2010
Page: 5 6 7 8 9 10
<<prev | next>>
72 Questions | 128 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
72 Questions | 128 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
5 Answers

Will autofocus on a d3000?

Apr 24, 2011 by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Has staff answer
+12points
14out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful2
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Location : 
Miami,fl
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it will
May 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
As Yevgen said the Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G will autofocus in your D3000.

All lenses who contais S (AF-S) which means servo will focus in your camera.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
Answer: 
Hi Cisco
I am sorry, but "Number One Contributor" gave you the wrong answer.
Your camera (D3000) do not have internal auto focus motor, but to have autofocus you can use any Nikkor lenses, which start from "AF-S ...".
All this lenses, including "AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G", have internal silence auto focus motor.
And that means, that with this lens, your Nikon D3000 will have autofocus, I also can added: very fast , precise auto focus and this lens is really very sharp, very sharp for most price category.
Good luck Cisco.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
No, affriad not.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+19points
21out of 23found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful21unhelpful2
i want to buy another lens, but i dont know if this lens is a better choice for me, help guys.
3 years ago
by
RodolfoD
5 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
I was in the same situation. You will not be disappointed. Just look at all the reviews. I also purchased a refurbished Nikkor 50mm f/1.8. It is the best lens I have ever had.
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
For $200 this is the best choice.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
7out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful5
Answer: 
Maybe. This lens will allow you to shoot in lower light conditions than the 18-55mm lens that came with your D3100. This might include shooting indoors without flash and in museums and at shows with fast moving people, assuming you can get close enough. I own one and like it but I also have other more general purpose lenses.

I have a feeling that if you have to ask, this lens might not be the right choice for you. A wideangle lens that goes from about 10-20mm will open up a whole new world of photography not available to you now (good for some travel shots, but stitching photos together might also work) and a lens with more reach such as 18-105mm or 18-200mm might have a more immediate benefit. Portrait photos typically use a lens somewhat longer than 55 mm (maybe 85mm on your camera). One thing that is especially nice about the 35 mm lens is its compactness. With this lens I can put my whole camera into a vestpocket pouch and shoot images in an art museum that does not allow flash. I have framed copies of several masterpieces I've taken this way.

Because many people like a little more reach, the kit lenses of cameras that cost a little more come with the 18-105 mm lens. Also there is a 55-200 mm lens that can provide extra reach without duplicating what you already have.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+6points
8out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful2
Answer: 
Absolutely, yes!
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
Depends on what you are using now, if its the kit lens then possibly it could be better, obviously its going to be faster and sharper, but only you can decide if its what you need.
Apr 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Will it auto focus with a D3100?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Ive read some reviews saying that it wont autofocus with the D3100 and others saying that it does. I really need to buy a fast lens but I cant decide, and I really need the auto focus :s main use is for portraits :)
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
Location : 
Dominican Republic
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, worked perfect with my 3100. Very pleased; bought to take daughter's Senior Portraits with.
Mar 7, 2012 by
by
Mickey
Broomfield, Co
Location : 
Broomfield, Co
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, up to full HD 1080, and full time focus
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! this lens is a DX format, same as the D3100, I have this lens, love it!
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Dec 4, 2011 by
by
SaikatC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Why would one the AF-S 35mm 1:1.8 lens if they have the 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 to use. Explain the difference when using these lens.

May 20, 2012 by
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Location : 
New Orleans
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
As mentioned, the difference that really matter here is aperture. In fact, a lens set to f/1.8 will let in 4 times the amount of light that the 18-55 zoom can at its widest aperture. This means greatly increased low-light performance as well as much more range in depth-of-field.

Prime (or fixed focal length) lenses also provide better sharpness and contrast in general over zooms.

Personally however, I love primes because a) they're smaller, lighter, with fewer moving parts and b) the focal range limitation encourages a more artistic process as you physically move around to find your shot, paying attention to your composition instead of your equipment and c) the results simply look better.
Apr 19, 2014 by
by
SunnKram
Aspen, CO, USA
Location : 
Aspen, CO, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
Probably the biggest difference is the aperture, f/1.8 will allow you to shoot in low light situations, and also allow you to blur the background when opening the lens wide. Fixed focal length lenses will often provide sharper images especially around the edges and corners of the frame.
May 22, 2012 by
by
Goodbye Canon
Portland, OR
Location : 
Portland, OR
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-9points
1out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful10
Answer: 
One is a zoom lens the other is fixed length, the 35mm being faster but lacks zoom and visa versa, cant really compare them and say you should have one over the other as they both have their uses.
May 21, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
5out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful6
Answer: 
Main difference is the angle of view and the aperture.
AF-S 35mm f/1.8 = Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 44°
AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 = Maximum Angle of View (DX-format) 76°, Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 28°50'
May 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

is it fit for D7000?

May 13, 2011 by
+10points
10out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
sumo
india
Location : 
india
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes! D7000 is a camera in DX format and this lense too.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very much so. That's the camera I am using it on.
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
Yamikaze
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sure, this lens will work well on all Nikon DX body like the D7000
May 13, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Is it compatible to autofocus with a D5000?

Apr 19, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a D5000, and the autofocus is excellent on this lens, even under lower light conditions. Be sure that you have your D5000 set up properly through the menus, then on the lens barrel itself, set the switch to the "M/A" position and it will do fine for you.
Mar 29, 2012 by
by
JargonTalk
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Location : 
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely.
Apr 23, 2011 by
by
ll
Montreal, QC
Location : 
Montreal, QC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is. And it's a great lens.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JamesD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

can i zoom with these lenses?

Jun 16, 2011 by
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You cannot zoom, however the tradeoff is that the lens is more compact and the pictures are higher quality
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no this is constant focal length lense.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. With this lens you need to "zoom with your feet", but the advantages of this sort of lens are it's size, weight, sharpness and and the ability of it's wide maximum aperture to gather light. It's ideal for general photography, street shooting, and low light photography without flash.
Jun 16, 2011 by
by
JavamanEffstop
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

will this autofocus with the d40?

Mar 26, 2011 by
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. It works correctly on my D40X that does not have an internal motor, just like the D40.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 has no auto focus motor, but any AF-S lens is compatible to the D40 because it has a built in motor.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the 35mm f1.8 has its own AF motor, so the D40 can be used with no issues.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Will this auto focus with Nikon D60?

Mar 27, 2011 by
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
I own a Nikon D60, SB-400 flash and need to know if this lens will work correctly with my Nikon hardware?

Thank you,

Vadim
3 years ago
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
Location : 
Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have a D40X (has no internal motor, just like the D60) and it works fine on this camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA
Location : 
Boston, MA
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years

0points
4out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful4
Answer: 
Any AF-S will auto focus with the D60 because it has a built in motor. AF lenses don't and neither does the D60 so no auto focus.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
That will work perfectly as the 35mm lens has its own focusing motor. The sb-400, especially when bounced, will give plenty of wide light to capture with the viewing angle of the 35mm lens! Cheers!
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
2 Answers

Will this lens work in a D70s?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Andrea
Colorado
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Andrea
Colorado
Location : 
Colorado
Age: 25-34
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it will work on a D70S.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens works with the D70s.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers